STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SIU PHYSICIANS & SURGEONS INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SIU PHYSICIANS & SURGEONS INC (EIN 36-4143823)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-04
IRS object ID
201821249349301502
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-04T15:27:44-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN430352985PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KERBER ECK & BRAECKEL LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13200 ROBBINS RD STE 200AAddressLine1Txt
CitySPRINGFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62704ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN364143823EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SIU PHYSICIANS & SURGEONS INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSIUPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2175458000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 19639AddressLine1Txt
CitySPRINGFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62794ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonNELSON WEICHOLDPersonNm
Person TitleTREASURER/EXECUTIVE DIRECTORPersonTitleTxt
Phone2175458000PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-03SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDANIELLE M HUNTPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00343541PTIN
Phone2177890960PhoneNum
Preparation2018-05-03PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SIU HEALTHCAREBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerNELSON WEICHOLDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 19639AddressLine1Txt
CitySPRINGFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP627949639ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$105,355,108GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.SIUMED.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1997FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionASSIST SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF MEDICINE'S MEDICAL EDUCATION ACTIVITIES THROUGH PROVIDING PATIENT CARE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent3VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee301TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$107,180,653PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$103,878,227CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$604,249PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$708,244CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$107,784,902PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$104,586,471CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,237,293PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,146,071CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$69,930,217PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$68,973,348CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$103,167,510PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$102,119,419CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,617,392PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,467,052CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$56,272,232TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$58,280,434TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$9,072,314TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$9,152,965TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$47,199,918NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$49,127,469NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO BE A LEADER IN QUALITY HEALTH CARE TO ALL PEOPLE OF CENTRAL AND SOUTHERN ILLINOIS IN SUPPORT OF THE MISSION OF THE SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF MEDICINE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$95,960,852ExpenseAmt
Revenue$103,878,227RevenueAmt
DescHEALTH CARE DELIVERY: PHYSICIANS AND OTHER HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS OF SIU PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS, INC. ASSISTED IN THE TRAINING OF 293 UNDERGRADUATE MEDICAL STUDENTS AND 332 MEDICAL RESIDENTS AND FELLOWS WHILE PROVIDING MEDICAL SERVICES IN THE COMMUNITIES WE SERVE. (OVER 548,000 PATIENT VISITS)Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$95,960,852TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document51IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee301EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member3IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SIU SCHOOL OF MEDICINEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2175455791PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1327 W CALHOUNAddressLine1Txt
CitySPRINGFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP62794ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (23 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
ALBERS MD JANET
SECRETARY2.0048.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$363,838$31,978
BUESCHER MD LUCINDA
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50Yes (X)$130,511$156,678$46,520
CARLSON MD DOUGLAS
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50Yes (X)$22,667$441,557$41,868
DECKARD MD ALAN
VICE CHAIR24.5025.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$21,815$214,859$30,282
HAZELRIGG MD STEPHEN
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50Yes (X)$417,656$503,750$79,465
HOFFMAN ZACHARY
CHAIR2.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
KRUSE MD JERRY
DEAN AND CEO24.5025.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$437,852$347,499$105,700
MINER MD MICHELLE
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50Yes (X)$91,904$125,033$37,447
NEUMEISTER MD MICHAEL
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50Yes (X)$242,922$747,402$87,560
O'KEEFE DWIGHT
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SMITH JR HD
BOARD MEMBER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WEICHOLD NELSON
TREASURER50.000.00Yes (X)$171,342$140,721$58,925
ABRAMS MD ROBERT
PHYSICIAN24.5025.50$398,585$499,100$111,476Yes (X)
LORET DE MOLA MD RICARDO
PHYSICIAN24.5025.50$372,170$528,529$88,076Yes (X)
MCVARY MD KEVIN
PHYSICIAN24.5025.50$204,204$495,926$82,692Yes (X)
STEVENS MD WILLIAM
PHYSICIAN24.5025.50$481,829$253,750$69,013Yes (X)
COZZENS MD JEFFREY
PHYSICIAN24.5025.50$121,587$549,454$43,308Yes (X)
BRADLEY JOHN
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50$36,480$0$9,346Yes (X)
COX-LARGENT WENDY
FORMER OFFICER10.0040.00$45,000$228,949$24,057Yes (X)
DORSEY MD PHD J KEVIN
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER10.0040.00$60,867$333,335$28,080Yes (X)
GILCHRIST MD JAMES
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50$48,169$359,858$46,005Yes (X)
HODGSON KIM
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50$126,624$502,211$57,473Yes (X)
SOLTYS STEPHEN
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER24.5025.50$20,780$141,942$10,947Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,452,964TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$6,934,391TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,090,218TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K97IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ANTHELIO HEALTHCARE SOLUTIONS
ONE LINCOLN CENTRE 5400 LBJ FREEWADALLASTX75240CONSULTING SERVICES$1,089,917
MEMORIAL MEDICAL CENTER
701 N FIRST STSPRINGFIELDIL62702REFERENCE LAB/CATERING/RESEARCH SUPPORT$345,740
WEATHERBY LOCUMS INCORPORATED
PO BOX 972633DALLASTX75397CLINICAL SERVICES$231,338
HEALTHLINK INCORPORATED
1831 CHESTNUT STST LOUISMO63103ADMINISTRATION FEE$180,000
JOHN A SHOUDEL
7 QUAIL CROSSINGROCHESTERIL62563CLINICAL SERVICES$173,908
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
MEDICAL FEES621110$94,468,369$94,468,369
CONTRACTUAL SERVICES621110$5,252,859$5,252,859
TRAUMA/ON CALL FEES621110$2,511,030$2,511,030
MEANINGFUL USE/MGMT & PROVIDER SV621110$1,645,969$1,645,969
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$103,878,227TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$724,361TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$724,361ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$752,520SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$752,273SecuritiesAmt
Other$16,364OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$247SecuritiesAmt
Other-$16,364OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$16,117TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$16,117ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$104,586,471TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$103,878,227RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$708,244ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,580,550TotalAmt
Program Services$1,009,750ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$570,800ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,903,726TotalAmt
Program Services$26,913,353ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,990,373ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,661,795TotalAmt
Program Services$1,473,830ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$187,965ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,941,610TotalAmt
Program Services$2,941,610ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$211,027TotalAmt
Management And General$211,027ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,808,153TotalAmt
Program Services$11,736,930ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,071,223ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,380,058TotalAmt
Program Services$1,380,058ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$82,849TotalAmt
Management And General$82,849ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$44,475TotalAmt
Program Services$44,475ProgramServicesAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,643TotalAmt
Program Services$21,643ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$295,531TotalAmt
Program Services$251,201ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$44,330ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$488,882TotalAmt
Program Services$488,882ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
UNIVERSITY OVERHEAD$41,025,420$41,025,420
ACADEMIC DEVELOPMENT$8,321,495$8,321,495
MISCELLANEOUS$352,205$352,205

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,119,419TotalAmt
Program Services$95,960,852ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,158,567ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,504,682BOYAmt
EOY$1,925,712EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,441,951BOYAmt
EOY$23,605,292EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,994,068BOYAmt
EOY$1,695,631EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$76,967BOYAmt
EOY$5,969EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$4,017,534LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$3,174,678LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$952,852BOYAmt
EOY$842,856EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,851,288BOYAmt
EOY$24,837,006EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,450,424BOYAmt
EOY$5,367,968EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,272,232BOYAmt
EOY$58,280,434EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,685,796BOYAmt
EOY$6,117,900EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,386,518BOYAmt
EOY$3,035,065EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,072,314BOYAmt
EOY$9,152,965EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,247,066BOYAmt
EOY$48,284,613EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$952,852BOYAmt
EOY$842,856EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,199,918BOYAmt
EOY$49,127,469EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,272,232BOYAmt
EOY$58,280,434EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,467,052ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$539,501NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type3 Func IntYes (X)SupportingOrgType3FuncIntInd
Supported Organizations1SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp

Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN376005961EIN
Organization Type6OrganizationTypeCd
Governing Document ListedYes (1)GoverningDocumentListedInd
Support$49,346,634SupportAmt
Other Support$0OtherSupportAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total1SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Support Sum$49,346,634SupportSumAmt
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (1)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS Determination0SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C4560SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized US0SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt Org0OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported Org0SupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial Contribtr0PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified Person0LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified Prsn0ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll Int0DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int0DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings Rules0ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution Controller0ContributionControllerInd
Contribution Family0ContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 Controlled0Contribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type3 Sprt Org All Form990SchAType3SprtOrgAllGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Timely Provided DocumentsYes (1)TimelyProvidedDocumentsInd
Officers Close RelationshipYes (1)OfficersCloseRelationshipInd
Supported Org Voice Investment0SupportedOrgVoiceInvestmentInd

Form990 Sch A Type3 Func Int Form990SchAType3FuncIntGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Governmental EntityYes (X)GovernmentalEntityInd

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A SECTION E 1CFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION OPERATES AS A MULTI-SPECIALTY PHYSICIAN GROUP WHICH BOTH AIDS IN THE TRAINING OF MEDICAL STUDENTS AND RESIDENTS AND PROVIDES CLINICAL SERVICES. THE REVENUES RECEIVED BY SIUHC ARE IN PART USED TO SUPPORT RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES OF THE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE, WHICH IN TURN, SUPPORTS THE OVERALL EDUCATIONAL MISSION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,997,629OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,158,713DepreciationAmt
Book Value$838,916BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,905OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,965DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,940BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$842,856TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
DEPOSITS WITH SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY$5,069,771
ACCRUED INTEREST RECEIVABLE$298,197
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$5,367,968TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDUE TO SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITYDesc
Amt$3,035,065Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,035,065TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$104,063,333TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$539,501NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$539,501RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$104,602,834RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$16,363OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$16,363RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$104,586,471TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$102,135,782TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$16,363OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$16,363ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$102,119,419ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$102,119,419TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF FIXED ASSETS
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF FIXED ASSETS
PART X, LINE 2SIU PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS OWES SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY FOR SERVICES PERFORMED ON OUR BEHALF. THESE SERVICES INCLUDE STAFF, SUPPLIES, AND FACILITIES EXPENSES.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ALBERS MD JANET
SECRETARY$0$363,838$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$31,978$0$395,816$0$0
BUESCHER MD LUCINDA
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$130,511$156,678$0$0$0$0$13,050$0$1,492$31,978$145,053$188,656$0$0
CARLSON MD DOUGLAS
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$22,667$441,557$0$0$0$0$5,667$0$1,985$34,216$30,319$475,773$0$0
DECKARD MD ALAN
VICE CHAIR$21,815$214,859$0$0$0$0$3,925$0$1,119$25,238$26,859$240,097$0$0
HAZELRIGG MD STEPHEN
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$417,656$503,750$0$0$0$0$41,892$0$1,985$35,588$461,533$539,338$0$0
KRUSE MD JERRY
DEAN AND CEO$374,852$347,499$63,000$0$0$0$32,793$46,865$1,985$24,057$472,630$418,421$0$0
MINER MD MICHELLE
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$91,904$125,033$0$0$0$0$9,189$0$1,158$27,100$102,251$152,133$0$0
NEUMEISTER MD MICHAEL
FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$242,922$747,402$0$0$0$0$49,987$0$1,985$35,588$294,894$782,990$0$0
WEICHOLD NELSON
TREASURER$112,842$140,721$58,500$0$0$0$25,558$0$1,389$31,978$198,289$172,699$0$0
ABRAMS MD ROBERT
PHYSICIAN$398,585$499,100$0$0$0$0$77,513$0$1,985$31,978$478,083$531,078$0$0
LORET DE MOLA MD RICARDO
PHYSICIAN$372,170$528,529$0$0$0$0$53,050$0$1,985$33,041$427,205$561,570$0$0
MCVARY MD KEVIN
PHYSICIAN$204,204$495,926$0$0$0$0$50,826$0$1,985$29,881$257,015$525,807$0$0
STEVENS MD WILLIAM
PHYSICIAN$481,829$253,750$0$0$0$0$31,440$0$1,985$35,588$515,254$289,338$0$0
COZZENS MD JEFFREY
PHYSICIAN$121,587$549,454$0$0$0$0$17,108$0$1,985$24,215$140,680$573,669$0$0
BRADLEY JOHN
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$36,480$0$0$0$0$0$9,120$0$226$0$45,826$0$0$0
COX-LARGENT WENDY
FORMER OFFICER$0$228,949$45,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$24,057$45,000$253,006$0$0
DORSEY MD PHD J KEVIN
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$60,867$333,335$0$0$0$0$15,217$0$1,985$10,878$78,069$344,213$0$0
GILCHRIST MD JAMES
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$48,169$359,858$0$0$0$0$12,042$0$1,985$31,978$62,196$391,836$0$0
HODGSON KIM
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$126,624$502,211$0$0$0$0$31,431$0$1,985$24,057$160,040$526,268$0$0
SOLTYS STEPHEN
FORMER FACULTY BOARD MEMBER$20,780$141,942$0$0$0$0$2,078$0$615$8,254$23,473$150,196$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION HAS MEMBERS AS DESCRIBED IN THE ORGANIZATIONAL BYLAWS. THESE BYLAWS LAY OUT THE SPECIFIC REQUIREMENT FOR MEMBERSHIP.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AFOUR DIRECTORS ARE ELECTED BY THE MEMBERSHIP REPRESENTING EACH OF THE MAJOR PRIMARY CARE OR SPECIALTY DEPARTMENTS AND 1 MEMBER-AT-LARGE. A NOMINATING COMMITTEE IS APPOINTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WHO SOLICITS NOMINATIONS FROM THE MEMBERSHIP. THE MEMBERS THEN VOTE IN ONE OF THE CATEGORIES FOR A DIRECTOR. EACH DIRECTOR IS ELECTED TO A THREE YEAR TERM AND CAN SERVE NO MORE THAN TWO CONSECUTIVE TERMS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE ONLY DECISION OF THE GOVERNING BOARD THAT IS SUBJECT TO THE MEMBERSHIP IS A CHANGE IN THE BYLAWS. A BYLAWS CHANGE REQUIRES A SIMPLE MAJORITY OF THE VOTING MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BFORM 990 IS INITIALLY REVIEWED BY THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER. A COPY IS PROVIDED TO THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THEIR REVIEW AND RECOMMENDATION TO THE BOARD FOR APPROVAL. ANY QUESTIONS OR CHANGES ARE ADDRESSED BY THE CFO.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CCONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENTS ARE SUBMITTED ANNUALLY TO THE CORPORATE COMPLIANCE OFFICER WHO REVIEWS FOR POTENTIAL CONFLICTS. AT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETINGS, THE DIRECTORS ARE ASKED AT EACH MEETING OF ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS RELATED TO THE MEETING AGENDA. POTENTIAL CONFLICTS ARE DISCUSSED AND WHEN THEY EXIST, BOARD MEMBERS EITHER RECUSE THEMSELVES FROM DISCUSSION,VOTING, OR THE MEETING AS APPROPRIATE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15EXTERNAL COMPENSATION DATA IS USED FOR ALL DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS. DATA TYPICALLY USED WOULD INCLUDE NATIONAL TRADE ASSOCIATION DATA SUCH AS MGMA OR AAMC. COMPENSATION CAPS ARE SET FROM MEDIUM TO NO GREATER THAN THE 90 PERCENTILE. ONCE AN EMPLOYEE EXCEEDS THE ABSOLUTE COMPENSATION CAP, NO ADDITIONAL INCOME CAN BE EARNED. THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE, WHICH CONSISTS OF INDEPENDENT VOTING MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, REVIEWS THE RECOMMENDATIONS AND MAKE CHANGES OR APPROVE. THIS PROCESS OCCURS ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19SIU PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS MAKES ITS MOST RECENT BOARD MEEETING MINUTES, BYLAWS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AVAILABLE ON ITS PUBLIC WEBSITE. EACH BOARD MEETING STARTS WITH A REQUEST FOR DISCLOSURE OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST FOR THE MEETING AGENDA. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED ON ANOTHER WEBSITE, GUIDESTAR.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:NO CHANGE FROM PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11263 LINCOLN DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCARBONDALECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP629016899ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN376005961EIN
Primary ActivitiesHIGHER EDUCATIONPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section170(B)(1)(A)(V)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY
P$41,025,139CASH
SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY
R$8,321,495CASH