STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

BARTON COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BARTON COLLEGE (EIN 56-0529933)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-15
IRS object ID
201821359349307182
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-15T13:13:50-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN540504608PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BROWN EDWARDS & COMPANY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11715 PRATT DRIVE SUITE 2700AddressLine1Txt
CityBLACKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP24060ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN560529933EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BARTON COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBARTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2523996331PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5000AddressLine1Txt
CityWILSONCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP278937000ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDAVID A BROWNINGPersonNm
Person TitleVP FOR ADMIN AND FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone2523996328PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-15SignatureDt

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMARK WOOLWINEPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00647446PTIN
Phone5404433606PhoneNum
Preparation2018-05-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDOUGLAS N SEARCYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5000AddressLine1Txt
CityWILSONCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP278937000ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$37,765,343GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.BARTON.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1902FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionLOCATED IN WILSON, NORTH CAROLINA, BARTON COLLEGE IS AN ACADEMIC COMMUNITY OF APPROXIMATELY 1,000 STUDENTS AND 200 FACULTY AND STAFF. NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED FOR ITS PROGRAMS IN EDUCATION, DEAF EDUCATION, NURSING, AND SOCIAL WORK AND ITS CHAMPIONSHIP MEN'S ATHLETICS TEAMS, THE SCHOOL MAINTAINS A CLOSE-KNIT ATMOSPHERE AND EMPHASIZES INDIVIDUAL ATTENTION AND ENGAGED LEARNING. THE 65-ACRE CAMPUS IS HOME TO BARTON BULLDOGS VARSITY ATHLETICS AND BOASTS FIVE RESIDENCE HALLS, THE W.N. HACKNEY LIBRARY, THE KENNEDY RECREATION & INTRAMURAL CENTER, AND OTHER STATE-OF-THE-ART FACILITIES. IN 1923 THE COLLEGE ADOPTED THE WORDS HABEBUNT LUMEN VITAE - "THEY SHALL HAVE THE LIGHT OF LIFE" - AS ITS OFFICIAL COLLEGE MOTTO. IN 1955, THE COLLEGE WAS ACCREDITED BY THE SOUTHERN ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES AND SCHOOLS COMMISSION ON COLLEGES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body36VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent36VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee669TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$12,216,704PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,860,391CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$29,849,019PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$31,844,893CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,076,169PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,688,851CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$322,662PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$371,208CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$43,464,554PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$37,765,343CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$10,700,968PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$11,770,683CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,046,276PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,014,156CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,279,635CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,927,426PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$12,490,268CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$35,674,670PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$37,275,107CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$7,789,884PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$490,236CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$74,681,636TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$71,110,405TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$22,335,722TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$18,300,733TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$52,345,914NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$52,809,672NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionBARTON COLLEGE IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING PROGRAMS AND OPPORTUNITIES TO ENCOURAGE THE INTELLECTUAL, SPIRITUAL, SOCIAL, AND CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT OF ITS STUDENTS AND TO CHALLENGE THEM FOR FUTURE LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE TO THEIR LOCAL AND GLOBAL COMMUNITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$9,370,491ExpenseAmt
Revenue$27,683,220RevenueAmt
DescINSTRUCTION: ACCREDITATED ACADEMIC PROGRAMS WITH 27 MAJORS AND 29 MINORS FOR UNDERGRADUATES, 8 ACCELERATED PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS, AND 4 GRADUATE DEGREE PROGRAMS. AWARDED 265 DEGREES IN 2016-17. SERVING APPROXIMATELY 1,000 UNDERGRADUATES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,997,930ExpenseAmt
Revenue$4,532,881RevenueAmt
DescAUXILIARY SERVICES: ROOM, BOARD, AND BOOKSTORE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$11,770,683ExpenseAmt
Grant$11,770,683GrantAmt
DescINSTITUTIONAL AID AND SCHOLARSHIPS FROM ENDOWMENT, RESTRICTED SCHOLARSHIPS, AND INSTITUTIONAL DISCOUNT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$6,605,669ExpenseAmt
DescSTUDENT SERVICES; ENROLLMENT SERVICES, FINANCIAL AID, POST OFFICE, CO-CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES IN STUDENT LIFE, AND COLLEGIATE ATHLETICS (NCAA DIVISION II WITH 8 MEN'S VARSITY TEAMS AND 8 WOMEN'S VARSITY TEAMS).Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$6,605,669TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$30,744,773TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document145IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee669EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members36GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member36IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DAVID A BROWNINGBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2523996328PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1311 HARPER HALLAddressLine1Txt
CityWILSONCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP278937000ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (42 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MR WILLIAM DENNIS ADAMS III
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR DUDLEY B ANDERSON
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ROBERT VAN ANDREWS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR SUSAN K BLUE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JOHN C BRANTLEY III
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS JOSEPHINE M BROWN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR ROBERT B CAYTON
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES EARL COBB JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS LINDA DAWSON CONNOR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR SCOTT C CRUIKSHANK
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GROVER T DEES SR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GREGG A DEMAR
VICE PRESIDENT2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MR BARRY F DILLEHAY
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR DAVID A EVANS JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR DONALD I EVANS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GEORGE CHARLES FINKLEA JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ASHELY T HOOKS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR HARLOW Z HEAD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GARETH CARL HOSFORD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR KENNETH A JONES
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR KENNETH DURWOOD KENNEDY III
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JOHN FLOYD LEE
BOARD CHAIR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS TRACY O MITCHELL
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES SELBY PRIDGEN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THE REVEREND JOHN M RICHARDSON
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR THOMAS E QUINN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR L DAIL TURNER
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR E JEROME VICK
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR D STUART WALSTON JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR PHILIP H WARREN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR GARNETT B WHITEHURST
BOARD VICE CHAIR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS SHEILA BARKER WIGGINS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR LUKE DANIEL WILKINS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR R ALLEN WINGATE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS TAMMY STARLING WINGATE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS ANNE M ODDEN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR DOUGLAS SEARCY
PRESIDENT50.00$252,402$0$63,721Yes (X)
MR DAVID BROWNING
VP ADMINISTRATION AND FINA50.00$144,800$0$16,171Yes (X)
DR GARY DAYNES
PROVOST & VP FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS50.00$176,281$0$19,055Yes (X)
JAN MERIWETHER
VP FOR INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT50.00$145,791$0$17,680Yes (X)
CAROLYN LEE HARMON
SENIOR ADVISOR TO THE PRESIDENT50.00$107,529$0$12,764Yes (X)
GEORGE SOLAN
VP FOR STUDENT AFFAIRS50.00$101,513$0$15,111Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$928,316TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$144,502TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K6IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ARAMARK
27310 NETWORK PLACECHICAGOIL60673FACILITIES CONTRACT/FOOD SERVICES$4,128,823
CITY OF WILSON
PO BOX 2407WILSONNC27894SECURITY SERVICES$260,566
RUFFALO NOEL LEVITZ
PO BOX 718DES MOINESIA50303ENROLLMENT MANAGEMENT$244,357
CT WILSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC
PO BOX 2011DURHAMNC27702CONSTRUCTION$206,280
STYLE MASTERS CHARTER
3210 N TILGHMAN RDWILSONNC27896TRANSPORTATION SERVICES$188,171
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K7CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$135,634GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$2,724,757AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$121,253NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,860,391TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611310$27,312,012$27,312,012
HOUSING, FOOD AND OTHER SERVICES611710$4,532,881$4,532,881
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$31,844,893TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$893,545TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$893,545ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,795,306SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,795,306SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,795,306TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,795,306ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business611710BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$371,208TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$371,208RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$371,208OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$37,765,343TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$32,216,101RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,688,851ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,770,683TotalAmt
Program Services$11,770,683ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$399,626TotalAmt
Management And General$399,626ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,961,125TotalAmt
Program Services$8,100,284ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,129,807ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$731,034FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$255,705TotalAmt
Program Services$193,091ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,899ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$19,715FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,677,433TotalAmt
Program Services$1,016,159ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$606,374ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$54,900FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$720,267TotalAmt
Program Services$577,332ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$90,902ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$52,033FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,983TotalAmt
Management And General$24,983ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,584TotalAmt
Management And General$19,584ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,977,425TotalAmt
Program Services$2,680,386ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$297,039ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,175,432TotalAmt
Program Services$789,890ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$331,472ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$54,070FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$542,260TotalAmt
Program Services$531,541ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,806ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,913FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$136,121TotalAmt
Program Services$94,601ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$14,777ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$26,743FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$394,231TotalAmt
Program Services$327,192ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$67,039ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,672,213TotalAmt
Program Services$1,123,727ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$471,564ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$76,922FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$198,059TotalAmt
Management And General$198,059ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
OTHER EXPENSES$1,990,562$1,374,344$445,767$170,451
OPERATIONS & MAINTENANC$1,835,777$1,233,642$517,689$84,446
SUPPLIES, PHOTOCOPYING$756,242$715,813$37,021$3,408
BAD DEBTS$551,291$551,291

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$216,088TotalAmt
Program Services$216,088ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,275,107TotalAmt
Program Services$30,744,773ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,250,699ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,279,635FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$95,136BOYAmt
EOY$1,881,189EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,489,717BOYAmt
EOY$1,341,081EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,897,705BOYAmt
EOY$1,880,384EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,060,646BOYAmt
EOY$1,213,548EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$628,658BOYAmt
EOY$511,188EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,832BOYAmt
EOY$33,937EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$164,139BOYAmt
EOY$162,945EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$63,824,148LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$29,242,201LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,139,374BOYAmt
EOY$34,581,947EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,726,429BOYAmt
EOY$28,124,186EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,380,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,380,000EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,681,636BOYAmt
EOY$71,110,405EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,481,576BOYAmt
EOY$1,630,696EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,065,769BOYAmt
EOY$1,025,085EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$5,000,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,030,020BOYAmt
EOY$9,060,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,758,357BOYAmt
EOY$1,584,952EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,335,722BOYAmt
EOY$18,300,733EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,711,288BOYAmt
EOY$14,405,976EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,283,367BOYAmt
EOY$12,489,677EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,351,259BOYAmt
EOY$25,914,019EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,345,914BOYAmt
EOY$52,809,672EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,681,636BOYAmt
EOY$71,110,405EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$490,236ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$26,478NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,695,131CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,452,352CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,101,379CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$12,216,704CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,860,391CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$24,325,957TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,695,131CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,452,352CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,101,379CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$12,216,704CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,860,391CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$24,325,957TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$8,212,451SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$16,113,506PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$662,761CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,075,356CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,006,955CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$730,350CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$893,545CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,368,967TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$383,792CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$268,920CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$238,855CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$322,662CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$371,208CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,585,437TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$30,280,361TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.53210PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.59250PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COLLEGE IS CLASSIFIED AS A PUBLIC CHARITY, A SCHOOL, IN ACCORDANCE WITH SECTION 170(B)(1)(A)(II) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. HOWEVER, THE COLLEGE HAS ELECTED TO FOLLOW THE "SPECIAL RULE" FOR SCHEDULE B WHICH PROVIDES THAT 501(C)(3) ORGANIZATIONS THAT SATISFY THE 33 1/3% SUPPORT TEST OF SECTIONS 509(A)(1)/170(B)(1)(A)(VI) NEED ONLY LIST THE GREATER OF (1) $5,000 OR (2) 2% OF TOTAL CONTRIBUTIONS, GIFTS, GRANTS AND SIMILAR AMOUNTS RECEIVED. THEREFORE, THE COLLEGE HAS CHECKED SCHEDULE A, PART 1, BOX 7 AND COMPLETED THE SUPPORT SCHEDULE IN PART II TO SUBSTANTIATE THAT IT MEETS THE PUBLIC SUPPORT TEST. THE COLLEGE CONTINUES TO QUALIFY AS A SCHOOL.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$25,859,405BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$842,020ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,663,411InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,185,902OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$28,178,934EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$28,964,495BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$671,102ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$436,976InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,339,216OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$25,859,405EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$28,720,632BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$765,643ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$813,098InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,334,878OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$28,964,495EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$25,481,294BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$515,206ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,290,753InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$566,621OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$28,720,632EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$23,190,444BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$373,102ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,048,286InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,130,538OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$25,481,294EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.01170BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.87420PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.11410TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,703,250OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,703,250BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$43,594,983OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,622,608DepreciationAmt
Book Value$23,972,375BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,426,316OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,667,777DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,758,539BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,099,599OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,951,816DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,147,783BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$34,581,947TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
ALTERNATIVE INVESTMENTS$2,239,914F
DEBT SECURITIES$8,490,327F
EQUITY SECURITIES$17,393,945F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$28,124,186TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATION$1,019,330
STUDENT LOAN ADVANCES$430,823
DEPOSITS AND STUDENT CREDIT BALANCES$102,611
CAPITAL LEASE PAYABLE$32,188
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,584,952TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,948,598TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$26,478NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$11,770,683OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$11,797,161RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$37,745,759RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$19,584InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$19,584RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$37,765,343TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,484,840TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$25,484,840ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$19,584InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$11,770,683OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$11,790,267ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$37,275,107TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE COLLEGE'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF APPROXIMATELY 400 INDIVIDUAL FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES INCLUDING BOTH DONOR-RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT FUNDS AND FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FUNCTION AS ENDOWMENTS. NET ASSETS ASSOCIATED WITH ENDOWMENT FUNDS, INCLUDING FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FUNCTION AS ENDOWMENTS, ARE CLASSIFIED BASED ON THE EXISTENCE OR ABSENCE OF DONOR-IMPOSED RESTRICTIONS.
PART X, LINE 2:THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE HAS DETERMINED THAT THE COLLEGE QUALIFIES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND IS, THEREFORE, NOT GENERALLY SUBJECT TO INCOME TAXES UNDER PRESENT TAX LAWS EXCEPT ON INCOME UNRELATED TO ITS EXEMPT FUNCTION, IF ANY. IN ACCORDANCE WITH GUIDANCE ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES, THE COLLEGE'S POLICY IS TO RECORD A LIABILITY FOR ANY TAX POSITION TAKEN THAT IS BENEFICIAL TO THE COLLEGE, INCLUDING ANY RELATED INTEREST AND PENALTIES, WHEN IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THE POSITION TAKEN BY MANAGEMENT WITH RESPECT TO A TRANSACTION OR CLASS OF TRANSACTIONS WILL BE OVERTURNED BY A TAXING AUTHORITY UPON EXAMINATION. MANAGEMENT BELIEVES THERE ARE NO SUCH POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2017 AND 2016 AND, ACCORDINGLY, NO LIABILITY HAS BEEN ACCRUED. THE COLLEGE IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO TAX EXAMINATIONS FOR THE YEARS PRIOR TO 2013.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS SHOWN NET OF TUITION AND FEES ON FINANCIALS -11,770,683.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS SHOWN NET OF TUITION AND FEES ON FINANCIALS 11,770,683.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3THE COLLEGE PUBLICIZES ITS RACIALLY NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY IN ALL ADVERTISEMENTS FOR OPEN POSITIONS, THE COLLEGE CATALOG (WHICH IS ALSO ON THE WEBSITE), AND ALL FINANCIAL AID PUBLICATIONS.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE COLLEGE RECEIVES FEDERAL AND STATE AWARDS FROM THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA AND THE US DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION FOR THE PURPOSE OF STUDENT GRANTS, LOANS AND SCHOLARSHIPS.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionEUROPE & ASIARegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedINVESTMENTSTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$1,984,751RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$1,984,751SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$1,984,751TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient935RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$11,770,683CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHOLARSHIPS AND FINANCIAL AID FUNDS ARE AWARDED BY THE FINANCIAL AID DEPARTMENT AND APPLIED DIRECTLY TO STUDENT ACCOUNTS. STUDENT ACCOUNT BALANCES ARE THEN MONITORED BY THE BUSINESS OFFICE AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY AND ACADEMIA ARE MONITORED BY THE REGISTRAR.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DR DOUGLAS SEARCY
PRESIDENT$252,402$0$0$0$0$0$12,153$0$51,568$0$316,123$0$0$0
MR DAVID BROWNING
VP ADMINISTRATION AND FINA$144,800$0$0$0$0$0$7,443$0$8,728$0$160,971$0$0$0
DR GARY DAYNES
PROVOST & VP FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS$176,281$0$0$0$0$0$9,018$0$10,037$0$195,336$0$0$0
JAN MERIWETHER
VP FOR INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT$145,791$0$0$0$0$0$7,443$0$10,237$0$163,471$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 1AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COLLEGE PROVIDES HOUSING TO THE PRESIDENT FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF THE EMPLOYER SO THAT THE PRESIDENT CAN PERFORM ESSENTIAL COLLEGE BUSINESS AND ACTIVITIES AT THE HOME. FIRST CLASS TRAVEL WAS PROVIDED AS PART OF A CONTRACTUAL COMMITMENT TO THE PAST PRESIDENT. ALL TRAVEL WAS SUPPORTING A BONAFIDE BUSINESS PURPOSE AND CONNECTED TO FUNDRAISING ACTIVITIES. ADDITIONALLY, THE PRESIDENT WAS PROVIDED A MEMBERSHIP AT A LOCAL COUNTRY CLUB TO BE USED FOR BUSINESS PURPOSES AND FUNDRAISING ACTIVITIES. USE OF THE MEMBERSHIP IS WELL DOCUMENTED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution18ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$121,253NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE AUDIT COMMITTEE WILL REVIEW AND APPROVE THE 990 PRIOR TO FILING. IN ADDITION, THE 990 WILL BE MADE AVAILABLE TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD REVIEWS CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENTS AS THEY ARE SUBMITTED BY THE TRUSTEES. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETS SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE YEAR. AS STATED IN THE BYLAWS, ALL TRUSTEES SHALL DISCLOSE TO THE BOARD ANY POSSIBLE CONFLICT OF INTEREST AT THE EARLIEST PRACTICABLE TIME. NO TRUSTEE SHALL VOTE ON ANY MATTER UNDER CONSIDERATION AT A BOARD OR COMMITTEE MEETING IN WHICH THE TRUSTEE HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. THE MINUTES OF SAID MEETING SHALL REFLECT THAT A DISCLOSURE WAS MADE THAT THE TRUSTEE HAVING A CONFLICT OF INTEREST ABSTAINED FROM VOTING. ANY TRUSTEE WHO IS UNCERTAIN WHETHER HE/SHE HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST IN ANY MATTER MAY REQUEST THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE TO DETERMINE IF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS, AND THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL RESOLVE THE QUESTION BY AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF A MAJORITY OF ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO (PRESIDENT) IS LED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE AND TRUSTEESHIP COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD. THESE COMMITTEES MEET WITH FACULTY, STAFF, STUDENTS AND ADMINISTRATORS TO EVALUATE THE PRESIDENT'S JOB PERFORMANCE. THEY ALSO REVIEW THE PRESIDENT'S ANNUAL REPORT TO ASSESS ACCOMPLISHMENTS. COMPENSATION SURVEYS FROM NATIONAL AND STATE INSTITUTIONS (COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES PERSONNEL ASSOCIATION AND NORTH CAROLINA INDEPENDENT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES) ARE REVIEWED TO DETERMINE A REASONABLE COMPENSATION RANGE. THE PRESIDENT DETERMINES THE COMPENSATION FOR ALL OTHER KEY EMPLOYEES AND RECEIVES EVALUATIONS FROM THEIR DIRECT REPORTS. HE ALSO USES COMPENSATION INFORMATION FROM NATIONAL AND STATE SURVEYS TO DETERMINE APPROPRIATENESS OF COMPENSATION LEVEL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COLLEGES GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE BY REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.