STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

BOONE ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BOONE ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE (EIN 43-0188985)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-09-03
IRS object ID
201822469349300302
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-09-03T10:46:51-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN208896204PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Dennis G Koch CPABusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1007AddressLine1Txt
CityQuincyCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP623061007ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN430188985EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Boone Electric CooperativeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBOONBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5734494181PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 797AddressLine1Txt
CityColumbiaCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP652050797ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTodd CulleyPersonNm
Person TitleGeneral ManagerPersonTitleTxt
Phone5734494181PhoneNum
Signature2018-09-03SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDennis G KochPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01210686PTIN
Phone2172248484PhoneNum
Preparation2018-09-03PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTodd CulleyPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11413 Rangeline StAddressLine1Txt
CityColumbiaCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP65201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$58,946,239GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.booneelectric.coopWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMOLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo provide electricity to our cooperative membersActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee104TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$57,779,683PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$58,867,031CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$57,112PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$79,208CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$57,836,795PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$58,946,239CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$208,215PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$125,155CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,430,572PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$2,201,092CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$548,075PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$605,022CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$53,034,998PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$53,842,680CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$56,221,860PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$56,773,949CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,614,935PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,172,290CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$143,949,916TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$151,645,561TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$81,021,578TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$86,544,933TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$62,928,338NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$65,100,628NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe mission of Boone Electric Cooperative is to be responsive to our members' needs by providing a dependable supply of electric energy and other services at the lowest possible cost consistent with sound business practices and cooperative principles.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$56,773,949ExpenseAmt
Grant$125,155GrantAmt
Revenue$58,946,239RevenueAmt
DescRetail sale of electricity to members, owners and consumersDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$56,773,949TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document40IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee104EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$57,701,593MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$1,244,646OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The OrganizationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5734494181PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 797AddressLine1Txt
CityColumbiaCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP652050797ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Joel Bullard
President14.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$25,408$0$0
Karen McBride Kinkead
Vice President4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$28,371$0$0
Frank Glenn
Secretary6.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$13,837$0$0
Keith Schnarre
Treasurer4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$15,779$0$0
Jay Turner
Director7.00Yes (X)$27,151$0$0
Glen Beckmeyer
Director5.00Yes (X)$22,575$0$0
Andrew Stanton
Director4.00Yes (X)$29,361$0$0
Wayne Wilcox
Director5.00Yes (X)$27,352$0$0
Kimberly Ponder
Director5.00Yes (X)$13,560$0$0
Todd Culley
CEO50.00Yes (X)$238,886$0$89,9773.00
Ryan Euliss
CFO/Manager of Finance50.00Yes (X)$162,742$0$81,607
Vicki Kemna
Assistant Manager45.00$179,008$0$163,057Yes (X)
Andrew Petri
Manager of Engineering and55.00$135,439$0$59,391Yes (X)
James Goodnight
Operations Manager55.00$129,546$0$69,402Yes (X)
Christopher Rohlfing
Manager of Member Services50.00$127,290$0$59,729Yes (X)
Ronald Morse
UG Const Foreman48.00$118,594$0$41,825Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,294,899TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$564,988TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K20IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
GE Energy Mgt Services LLC
PO Box 743509AtlantaGA30379Energy Mgt Svcs$1,483,983
Arbor Row
PO Box 571OsceolaMO64776ROW Clearing$785,656
NISC
PO Box 1147MandonND58554Billing & Accounting Software$456,659
Burbridge Tree Service LLC
4301 W Hwy 124HarrisburgMO65256ROW Clearing$425,751
LandisGyr Technology Inc
PO Box 78000DetroitMI48278Tech Services$153,653
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Sales of Energy221000$56,202,998$56,202,998
Capital Credits221000$1,948,209$1,948,209
Other Electric Revenues221000$577,917$577,917
Non-Operating Margins221000$137,907$137,907
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$58,867,031TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$79,208TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$79,208RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$58,946,239TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$58,946,239RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$125,155TotalAmt
Program Services$125,155ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,201,092TotalAmt
Program Services$2,201,092ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$605,022TotalAmt
Program Services$605,022ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,719,740TotalAmt
Program Services$3,719,740ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,442,588TotalAmt
Program Services$4,442,588ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Cost of Purchased Power$31,950,519$31,950,519
Distribution Exp-Mainte$3,949,265$3,949,265
Administrative and Gene$3,396,145$3,396,145
Distribution Exp-Operat$3,186,764$3,186,764

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,197,659TotalAmt
Program Services$3,197,659ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,773,949TotalAmt
Program Services$56,773,949ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,574,152BOYAmt
EOY$4,880,617EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,051,710BOYAmt
EOY$5,258,918EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$216,000BOYAmt
EOY$180,000EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,269,092BOYAmt
EOY$1,128,943EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$174,423BOYAmt
EOY$171,714EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$151,837,897LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$44,182,195LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$104,638,895BOYAmt
EOY$107,655,702EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,683,784BOYAmt
EOY$30,418,117EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,341,860BOYAmt
EOY$1,951,550EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$143,949,916BOYAmt
EOY$151,645,561EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,349,253BOYAmt
EOY$7,747,446EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,421,715BOYAmt
EOY$77,587,558EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,250,610BOYAmt
EOY$1,209,929EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,021,578BOYAmt
EOY$86,544,933EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,928,338BOYAmt
EOY$65,100,628EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,928,338BOYAmt
EOY$65,100,628EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$143,949,916BOYAmt
EOY$151,645,561EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,172,290ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$840,905OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$840,905BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,563,054OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,943,618DepreciationAmt
Book Value$619,436BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$145,433,938OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$39,238,577DepreciationAmt
Book Value$106,195,361BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$107,655,702TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Boone Electric Supply Company$276C
Boone Electric Satellite Systems Inc$2,539,126C
A Prime LLC$7,334C
NRUCFC - Capital Term Certificates$1,614,402C
Patronage Capital - Associated Orgs$26,255,729C
Miscellaneous$1,250C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$30,418,117TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
RUS Discount$148,589
Customer Deposits$1,061,340
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,209,929TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$58,946,239TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$58,946,239RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$58,946,239TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$54,447,702TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$54,447,702ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,326,247OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,326,247ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$56,773,949TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCapital Credits Retired, reported as amounts paid to members on Form 990 2,201,092. Capital Credits donated to Boone Electric Community Trust, Reported as Grant 125,155.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Boone Electric Community TrustBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 797AddressLine1Txt
CityColumbiaCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP652050797ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN431790785RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Purpose Of GrantTo provide grants for economic, youth, rural development, education, health and researchPurposeOfGrantTxt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Cooperative grants unclaimed capital credits to the Boone Electric Community Trust. The Trust has a separate board of trustees who monitor and select the recipients within the Cooperative's service area. Reports are available to the Cooperative and a member of the Cooperative's management team sits on the Trust's board.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Todd Culley
CEO$237,579$0$0$0$1,307$0$66,091$0$23,886$0$328,863$0$0$0
Ryan Euliss
CFO/Manager of Finance$161,870$0$0$0$872$0$63,476$0$18,131$0$244,349$0$0$0
Vicki Kemna
Assistant Manager$178,205$0$0$0$803$0$140,036$0$23,021$0$342,065$0$0$0
Andrew Petri
Manager of Engineering and$135,056$0$0$0$383$0$36,948$0$22,443$0$194,830$0$0$0
James Goodnight
Operations Manager$128,761$0$0$0$785$0$46,781$0$22,621$0$198,948$0$0$0
Christopher Rohlfing
Manager of Member Services$124,653$0$0$0$2,637$0$35,229$0$24,500$0$187,019$0$0$0
Ronald Morse
UG Const Foreman$117,989$0$0$0$605$0$23,414$0$18,411$0$160,419$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Board of directors approves the salary of the CEO annually, based on market conditions and information about other electric cooperatives of similar size.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Central Electric Power CooperativeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionGenerating and Transmitting Cooperative partially owned by CooperativeRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$31,950,519TransactionAmt
TransactionThe Cooperative purchases it's energy from Central Electric Power for resale to its member/consumers.TransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesYes (1)SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6All of the Cooperative customers are members of the cooperative
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aMembers of the Cooperative meet at an annual meeting to vote on the board of directors and any changes to the bylaws of the Cooperative
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bCooperative member/consumers meet at an annual meeting to vote on proposed changes to the bylaws
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bCopies of Federal Form 990 are reviewed by the Board of Directors and formally approved before the return is filed.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe organization requires an annual declaration by board members with notification of any change of status during the year. The Cooperative monitors compliance with the policy.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Compensation of the Organization's CEO is determined by the Board of Directors based on performance and comparability studies of similar organizations and documented in the minutes of the executive session of the board meetings.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 18Information is available upon request
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19Information on the Cooperative's governing documents are provided to all members and are available upon request from the Cooperative

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Central Electric Power CooperativeBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 269AddressLine1Txt
CityJefferson CityCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP651020269ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN440542660EIN
Primary ActivitiesGenerating & Transmitting CooperativePrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMOLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(12)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Boone Electric Satellite Systems Inc
1413 Rangeline StColumbiaMO65201431455156Satellite SalesMOC-$79,739$2,549,2101.000000
Boone Electric Service Company
1413 Rangeline StColumbiaMO65201431436074Service CompanyMOC$4051.000000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Boone Electric Satellite Systems Inc
J$25,200Cost
Boone Electric Satellite Systems Inc
Q$18,825Cost
Boone Electric Satellite Systems Inc
N

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule R, Part V, Question 1 & 2, (n)FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBoone Electric Cooperative (Cooperative) collects payments for services provided by Boone Electric Satellite Systems, Inc. (Systems). Collections are remitted to Systems on a daily basis. In addition, the Cooperative provides employee labor, facilities use, accounting and record keeping, and other asministrative services to Systems. Systems reimburses the Cooperative for these services on a monthly basis, based on actual cost.ExplanationTxt