STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION EDUCATIONAL FUND INC: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION EDUCATIONAL FUND INC (EIN 45-4533237)
Tax period
2023-04-01 to 2024-03-31
Filed
2025-02-06
IRS object ID
202530379349301683
Schema version
2023v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-02-06T16:33:09-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-03-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BDO USABusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line110999 IH-10W Suite 255AddressLine1Txt
CitySan AntonioCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP78230ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-04-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN454533237EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2EDUCATIONAL FUND INCBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% JAMIE BROWNInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlSANABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2102255851PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 200230AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN ANTONIOCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP782200230ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCODY DAVENPORTPersonNm
Person TitleEXEC DIR/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2102255851PhoneNum
Signature2025-02-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAnn M PenaPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00671430PTIN
Phone2103428000PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCODY DAVENPORTPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 200230AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN ANTONIOCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP782200230ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$10,427,362GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.sarodeo.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization AssocYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationAssocInd
Formation2011FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSEE SCHEDULE OActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,650,701PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,775,054CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$73,661PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$241,085CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$3,724,362PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$5,016,139CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$3,462,714PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,486,098CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$244,821PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$215,839CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$3,707,535PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$2,701,937CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$16,827PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,314,202CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$22,697,233TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$27,685,304TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$12,737,136TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$11,880,933TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$9,960,097NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$15,804,371NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSEE SCHEDULE O.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$2,684,343ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,486,098GrantAmt
DescDURING THE FISCAL_YEAR ENDED MARCH 31, 2015 S.A.L.E. (SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION, INC.) TRANSFERRED CASH, INVESTMENTS AND THE CORRESPONDING SCHOLARSHIP AND GRANT LIABILITY TO THE EDUCATION FUND (SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION EDUCATIONAL FUND, INC.) SUCH THAT IT COULD ADMINISTER AND PAY THE SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS. S.A.L.E. AND THE EDUCATION FUND HAD AN AUDIT PERFORMED OF THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THEIR FISCAL YEAR ENDED MARCH 31, 2024. IN THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED MARCH 31, 2024 SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS OF $3,380,310 (527 Recipients) WERE AWARDED.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$2,684,343TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentfalseReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document0IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyfalseWhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJAMIE BROWNPersonNm
Phone2102255851PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1723 FROST BANK CENTER DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CitySAN ANTONIOCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP78219ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
No Listed Persons CompensatedYes (X)NoListedPersonsCompensatedInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Cody Davenport
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/CEO30.050.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$513,487$44,819
Joe Soules
Director2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Colaw
Director2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dick Evans
Vice President2.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bert Pfiester
President2.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Paul Bracher
SECRETARY2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Todd Brockwell
Director2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Pat Frost
Director2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tina Haynes
Director2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$513,487TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$44,819TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$4,775,054AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,775,054TotalContributionsAmt
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$687,852TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$687,852ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,964,456SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,411,223SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$446,767SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$446,767TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$446,767ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,016,139TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$241,085ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,486,098TotalAmt
Program Services$2,486,098ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
MANAGEMENT FEE$125,000$125,000$0$0
INVESTMENT FEES & CHARGES$73,245$73,245$0$0
INSURANCE$12,014$0$12,014$0
LEGAL & PROFESSIONAL$5,580$5,580

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,701,937TotalAmt
Program Services$2,684,343ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,594ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,887,550BOYAmt
EOY$1,617,799EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,069BOYAmt
EOY$23,352EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,008BOYAmt
EOY$6,007EOYAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,473,907BOYAmt
EOY$19,608,506EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,301,699BOYAmt
EOY$6,429,640EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,697,233BOYAmt
EOY$27,685,304EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,737,136BOYAmt
EOY$11,880,933EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,737,136BOYAmt
EOY$11,880,933EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,648,884BOYAmt
EOY$15,427,493EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$311,213BOYAmt
EOY$376,878EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,960,097BOYAmt
EOY$15,804,371EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,697,233BOYAmt
EOY$27,685,304EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,314,202ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,530,072NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting CashYes (X)MethodOfAccountingCashInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type1Yes (X)SupportingOrgType1Ind
IRS Written DeterminationYes (X)IRSWrittenDeterminationInd
Supported Organizations1SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp

Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN741075466EIN
Organization Type10OrganizationTypeCd
Governing Document ListedfalseGoverningDocumentListedInd
Support$0SupportAmt
Other Support$0OtherSupportAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total1SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Support Sum$0SupportSumAmt
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (true)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS DeterminationfalseSuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C456falseSupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized USfalseSupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt OrgfalseOrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported OrgfalseSupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial ContribtrfalsePaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified PersonfalseLoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified PrsnfalseControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings RulesfalseExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution ControllerfalseContributionControllerInd
Contribution FamilyfalseContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 ControlledfalseContribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Power Appoint Majority Dir TrstYes (true)PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd
Operate Benefit Non Suprt OrgfalseOperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,411,031BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$311,213ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$65,665InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$3,787,909EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,099,818BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$325,514ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$14,301InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$3,411,031EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,774,304BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$329,042ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$3,528InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$3,099,818EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,563,203BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$63,900ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$147,201InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$2,774,304EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,452,889BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$74,856ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$35,458InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$2,563,203EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
LandLandGrp
BuildingsBuildingsGrp
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp
EquipmentEquipmentGrp
Other Land BuildingsOtherLandBuildingsGrp
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescFROST TOTAL RETURN BOND FUNDDesc
Book Value$9,788,401BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$9,788,401TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$57,749,624TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,530,072NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$49,203,413OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$52,733,485RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$5,016,139RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$5,016,139TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$48,981,052TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$46,279,115OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$46,279,115ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$2,701,937ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$2,701,937TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4 - INTENDED USES OF ENDOWMENT FUNDTHE INITIAL PRINCIPAL CONTRIBUTION IS PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED AND THE EARNINGS FROM THIS IS TO BE USED TO FUND SCHOLARSHIPS. THE INITIAL CONTRIBUTIONS WERE FOR $229,936. THE BOARD TRANSFERRED THESE FUNDS AND AN ADDITIONAL $1,836,152 DURING THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED 3/31/17 AND CREATED THE KEITH MARTIN ENDOWMENT FUND. THE BALANCE IN THE KEITH MARTIN ENDOWMENT FUND WAS $3,079,926 AS OF MARCH 31, 2024. ALTHOUGH NOT FORMALIZED, THE AGREEMENTS WOULD LIMIT THE EARNINGS FROM THESE ENDOWMENTS TO BE USED TO FUND SCHOLARSHIPS FOR THE POOR AND NEEDY.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2DCONSOLIDATED COMPANY-S.A.L.E. $53,893,413 CONSOLIDATED COMPANY-BORDERLAND TEQUILA $ 209,053 ELIMINATIONS $(4,899,054) TOTAL ADJUSTMENT $49,203,412
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DCONSOLIDATED COMPANY-S.A.L.E. $48,981,052 CONSOLIDATED COMPANY-BORDERLAND TEQUILA $ 404,964 ELIMINATIONS $(4,899,054) TOTAL ADJUSTMENT $46,279,115

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (44 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Alamo Community College District
811 W Houston St Suite 204San AntonioTX78204746002173$32,970SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Angelo State University
PO Box 11015San AngeloTX76909756002403$155,457SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Blinn College
902 College AveBrenhamTX77833746000400$83,250SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Sam Houston State University
PO Box 2537HuntsvilleTX77341746001430$158,513SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
South Plains College
1401 S College AveLevellandTX79336756004667$16,250SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Stephen F Austin State University
1936 North StNacogdochesTX75962756002514$41,582SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Tarleton State University
1333 W WashingtonStephenvilleTX76402756001870$173,868SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas A & M University
401 George Bush DrCollege StationTX77840746000531$1,048,550SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas A & M University at San Antonio
1450 Gillette BlvdSan AntonioTX78224264168896$12,250SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas A & M University Commerce
PO Box 3011CommerceTX75429756001353$20,589SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas A & M University Corpus Christi
6300 Ocean DrCorpus ChristiTX78412741760663$6,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas A & M University Kingsville
700 University BlvdKingsvilleTX78363746001530$38,213SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas Agrilife Extension Service
2147 TAMUCollege StationTX77843746000531$64,000General support
Texas State University
601 University DrSan MarcosTX78666746002248$95,250SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas Tech University System
Box 41091LubbockTX79409756002622$522,970SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
University of Dallas
1845 E Northgate DrIrvingTX75062750926755$10,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
University of Houston System
5000 Gulf Fwy Bldg Rm 109HoustonTX772040907746001399$19,500SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
University of North Texas
PO Box 311370DentonTX76203756002149$15,250SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
University of Texas at Austin
110 Inner Campus Drive Stop K5300AustinTX78712746000203$38,625SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
University of Texas at San Antonio
6900 N Loop 1604San AntonioTX78249741717115$33,137SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
University of Texas at Tyler
3900 University DrTylerTX75799751396988$8,689SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Weatherford College
225 College Park DrWeatherfordTX76086756002862$6,251SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
West Texas A & M University
WTAMU Box 60939CanyonTX79016756031405$181,747SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Abilene Christian University
ACU Box 29007AbileneTX79699750851900$13,934SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Baylor University
One Bear PlaceWacoTX76798741159753$30,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Savannah College of Art & Design
PO Box 2701SavannahGA31402581357177$6,500SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
St Mary's University
One Camino Santa MariaSan AntonioTX78228741143128$25,095SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas Tech Foundation
PO Box 45025LubbockTX79409756043842$100,000General support
Trinity University
715 Stadium DrSan AntonioTX78212741109633$15,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
TSTC Foundation The DBA TSTC Regent's Circle
3801 Campus DrWacoTX76705752892470$36,083SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
University of the Incarnate Word
4301 BroadwaySan AntonioTX78209741109661$12,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Cisco Junior College
101 College HeightsCiscoTX76437751164343$10,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
N E Texas Community College
P O Box 1307Mount PleasantTX75456751963242$14,110SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas A & M University at Galveston
PO Box 1675GalvestonTX77553742125225$6,250SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
University of Texas at El Paso
500 W University AveEl PasoTX79968746000813$6,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Alamo Colleges Foundation Inc
Institutional Advancement 1819 N MSan AntonioTX78212742422589$26,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas 4-H Youth Development Foundation
PO Box 11020College StationTX77842$30,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Texas State Technical College
3801 Campus DrWacoTX76705$7,500SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
UCLA Extension
1145 Gayley Ave FI 2Los AngelesAP90024$8,714SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
East Foundation
200 Concord Plaza Dr Ste 410San AntonioTX78216$15,000SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Hill College
PO Box 619HillsboroTX76645$6,667SCHOLARSHIP FOR STUDENTS
Texas A&M University Prairie View
PO Box 1005Prairie ViewTX77446746001078$38,375SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
Sul Ross State University
PO Box C-144AlpineTX79832$81,500SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS
WyoTech
4373 N 3rd StLaramieWY82072$9,300SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2 - PROCEDURES FOR MONITORING USE OF GRANTS FUNDS IN U.S.FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION GIVES OUT GRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS TO SCHOOLS AND OTHER TAX-EXEMPT ENTITIES TO FURTHER THEIR EXEMPT PURPOSE. THE ORGANIZATION REQUIRES THE AWARDED ENTITIES TO SUBMIT REPORTS RELATED TO THE USAGE OF THE FUNDS RECEIVED, WHICH HELPS IN THE DETERMINATION OF FUTURE AWARDS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCody DavenportPersonNm
TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/CEOTitleTxt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$413,487CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Related Organizations$100,000BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$19,800DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$25,019NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$558,306TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIN 2008, THE AUDIT, FINANCE AND COMPENSATION SUBCOMMITTEE OF S.A.L.E. ESTABLISHED A SUPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE RETIREMENT PLAN (SERP) FOR THE EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP OF S.A.L.E. WITH THE INTENT TO PROMOTE STABILITY, RETENTION, CAPABILITY AND ATTRACTIVENESS TO THE EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP. SINCE THE PREVIOUS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR HAD BEEN WORKING AT S.A.L.E. SINCE 1989 AND THE OTHERS FOR SHORTER PERIODS, S.A.L.E. WAS HAVING TO ACCELERATE PAYMENTS TO FUND THE PLAN. THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS WERE PARTICIPANTS IN THE SECTION 457(F) NONQUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN, FOR WHICH AN INCREASE OF $245,922 WAS RECORDED DURING THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED MARCH 31, 2024. THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS WERE PARTICIPANTS DURING THE BEGINNING OF THE YEAR: JAMIE BROWN, KAREN CARAWAN, CHRISTOPHER DERBY, JOHN PHELPS, AND SETH C. DAVENPORT, AND THE FOLLOWING WERE PARTICIPANTS AT THE END OF THE YEAR: JAMIE BROWN, KAREN CARAWAN, CHRISTOPHER DERBY, JOHN PHELPS, AND SETH C. DAVENPORT. IN ADDITION, AN ACCRUAL OF THESE BENEFITS WAS $245,922 FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED MARCH 31, 2024. INCLUDED IN PART II, COLUMN C (BUT ALSO INCLUDES THE EMPLOYER'S CONTRIBUTION TO THEIR RETIREMENT PLAN) ARE THE CURRENT YEAR DEFERRALS FOR THE SERP. THE TOTALS ARE AS FOLLOWS: JAMIE BROWN - $24,914, SETH C. DAVENPORT - $135,819, CHRISTOPHER DERBY - $22,345, KAREN CARAWAN - $12,576, THOMAS D. ADAMS - $16,534, CODY O. THARP - $12,398, AND JOHN PHELPS - $21,335. A FEW OTHER THINGS CONSIDERED WHEN DRAFTING THE ARRANGEMENT TOOK INTO EFFECT 1) THE FUNDS ARE PAYABLE AT RETIREMENT AND SUBJECT TO SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF FORFEITURE, 2) THE AUDIT, FINANCE AND COMPENSATION SUBCOMMITTEE HAS REVIEWED THE FORM 990, AND 3) S.A.L.E. RELIED UPON REBUTTABLE PRESUMPTION GUIDELINES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART I, LINE 1 - ORGANIZATION MISSION OR SIGNIFICANT ACTIVITIESTHE SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION EDUCATION FUND, INC. (EDUCATION FUND) WAS FORMED IN 2011 AND RECEIVED IRS APPROVAL AS A NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION IN FEBRUARY 2013. IT WAS FORMED AS A SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION TO SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION, INC (S.A.L.E.) FEDERAL ID# 74-1075466, AND WILL BE OPERATED EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF, TO PERFORM THE FUNCTIONS OF, OR TO CARRY OUT THE PURPOSES OF S.A.L.E. THE EDUCATION FUND IS INTENDED TO BE A TYPE I SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION, ONE THAT IS OPERATED, SUPERVISED OR CONTROLLED BY A PUBLICLY SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 1 - ORGANIZATION MISSIONTHE SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION EDUCATION FUND, INC. (EDUCATION FUND) WAS FORMED IN 2011 AND RECEIVED IRS APPROVAL AS A NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION IN FEBRUARY 2013. IT WAS FORMED AS A SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION TO SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION, INC (S.A.L.E.) FEDERAL ID# 74-1075466, AND WILL BE OPERATED EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF, TO PERFORM THE FUNCTIONS OF, OR TO CARRY OUT THE PURPOSES OF S.A.L.E. THE EDUCATION FUND IS INTENDED TO BE A TYPE I SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION, ONE THAT IS OPERATED, SUPERVISED OR CONTROLLED BY A PUBLICLY SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 2 - BUSINESS OR FAMILY RELATIONSHIP OF OFFICERS, DONE OF THE DIRECTORS IS AN OFFICER/PART OWNER OF A BANK THAT PROVIDES SERVICES FOR THE ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 7A - HOW MEMBERS OR SHAREHOLDERS ELECT GOVERNING BDURING S.A.L.E.'S ANNUAL MEETING, THE LIFE MEMBERS ELECT S.A.L.E.'S CURRENT YEAR'S OFFICERS FROM A SELECTED GROUP OF INDIVIDUALS NOMINATED BY THE ELECTION COMMITTEE. THE BOARD MEMBERS OF THE EDUCATION FUND ARE SELECTED FROM THIS GROUP OF ELECTED OFFICERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 11B- FORM 990 REVIEW PROCESSTHE AUDIT COMMITTEE, A SUB-COMMITTEE OF S.A.L.E.'S FINANCE COMMITTEE/EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, ALONG WITH SENIOR MANAGEMENT OF S.A.L.E., REVIEWS THE FORM 990, AND ANY RECOMMENDATIONS ARE INCORPORATED IN THE RETURN, FOR WHICH THEY GIVE THEIR FINAL APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 12C - EXPLANATION OF MONITORING AND ENFORCEMENT OFCONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENTS ARE CIRCULATED TO THE STAFF AND DIRECTORS EACH YEAR AND ANY CONFLICTING INTERESTS ARE NOTED AND FOLLOWED.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 19- OTHER ORGANIZATION DOCUMENTS PUBLICLY AVAILABLTHE ORGANIZATION WILL FURNISH A COPY OF THEIR GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS UPON WRITTEN REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2 - CHANGE OF OVERSIGHT OR SELECTION PROCESSTHERE HAS BEEN NO CHANGE FROM THE PRIOR YEAR IN THE OVERSIGHT OR SELECTION PROCESS PERFORMED BY THE BOARD IN REVIEWING THE AUDIT AND TAX RETURN AND THE SELECTION OF THE AUDITING TEAM.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1San Antonio Livestock ExpositionBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1SALE - PO Box 200230AddressLine1Txt
CitySan AntonioCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP78220ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesSupport OrgPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusLine 10PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SALE IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION INC
C$4,774,054ACTUAL TRANSFER
SAN ANTONIO LIVESTOCK EXPOSITION INC
N$125,000ACTUAL TRANSFER