STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

MENTAL HEALTH CENTER OF DENVER: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MENTAL HEALTH CENTER OF DENVER (EIN 74-2499946)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-11
IRS object ID
201841319349301239
Schema version
2016v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-11T09:38:35-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BKD LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1111 South Tejon Suite 800AddressLine1Txt
CityColorado SpringsCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP809039848ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN742499946EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Mental Health Center of DenverBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% ANGELA OAKLEYInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlMENTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3035046500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14141 E Dickenson PlaceAddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP80222ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonANGELA OAKLEYPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3035046500PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAdam R Smith CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00958966PTIN
Phone7194714290PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCarl Clark CEOPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14141 E Dickenson PlaceAddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP80222ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$100,498,248GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.mhcd.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1987FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCOLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionMental Health Center of Denver provides outcomes-based mental health services in the Denver area.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent13VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1117TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers277TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,792,545PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,976,779CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$86,790,814PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$93,551,967CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$292,410PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$361,137CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$306,913PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$639,986CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$91,182,682PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$97,529,869CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$53,827,664PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$58,621,639CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$51,996PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$52,000CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$644,922CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$33,873,117PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$35,261,290CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$87,752,777PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$93,934,929CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,429,905PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,594,940CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$88,924,014TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$92,013,699TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$37,516,158TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$36,499,604TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$51,407,856NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$55,514,095NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionMHCD ADVANCES THE MISSION OF ENRICHING LIVES AND MINDS BY FOCUSING ON STRENGTHS AND WELL-BEING. BY CREATING A NETWORK OF PARTNERS, WE SEEK TO PROVIDE ACCESS TO CARE FOR ALL IN DENVER WHO NEED IT AND ADVANCE THE OVERALL WELL-BEING OF DENVER'S COMMUNITIES THROUGH TREATMENT, PREVENTION, CRISIS AND OUTREACH SERVICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$42,293,210ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$49,552,334RevenueAmt
DescADULT RECOVERY SERVICES: ENGAGES PEOPLE EXPERIENCING BEHAVIORAL HEALTH NEEDS FROM MILD TO SEVERE INCLUDING THOSE WHO ARE OR HAVE RECENTLY BEEN HOMELESS, HOSPITALIZED, OR INVOLVED IN THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM. SERVICES INCLUDE INDIVIDUAL AND GROUP THERAPY, PSYCHIATRY, PHARMACY, CASE MANAGEMENT, CRISIS AND EMERGENCY SERVICES, BENEFITS ACQUISITION, AND PRIMARY CARE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$17,535,027ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$19,048,842RevenueAmt
DescCHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES: OFFERS CLINICAL PROGRAMS FOR INFANTS, CHILDREN, ADOLESCENTS, AND FAMILIES LIVING WITH MENTAL ILLNESS AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH CONCERNS. SERVICES ARE PROVIDED IN OUTPATIENT CLINICS, PEDIATRIC PRIMARY CARE CLINICS, FAMILIES' HOMES, EARLY LEARNING CENTERS, COMMUNITY CENTERS, SCHOOLS, YOUTH JUSTICE SYSTEM, AND AN INTENSIVE DAY TREATMENT CLASSROOM FOR SCHOOL-AGED YOUTH. OTHER PROGRAMS ADDRESS YOUTH SUICIDE, BEHAVIORAL HEALTH NEEDS OF PEOPLE WHO ARE DEAF OR HARD OF HEARING, AND FAMILIES WHOSE PRIMARY LANGUAGE MAY BE SPANISH OR LANGUAGES OTHER THAN ENGLISH. OUR DAHLIA CAMPUS FOR HEALTH & WELL-BEING PROVIDES ACCESS TO FRESH PRODUCE AND HEALTHY PROTEIN FROM AN URBAN FARM AND AQUAPONICS GREENHOUSE. WE PARTNER WITH COMMUNITY ORGANIZATIONS TO OFFER NUTRITIONAL PROGRAMS, PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY AND PRESCHOOL TO ALLOW COMMUNITY MEMERS OF ALL AGES TO CONNECT, LEARN NEW SKILLS, AND FIND SUPPORTS NEEDED TO INCREASE THEIR HEALTH AND WELL-BEING.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$11,807,514ExpenseAmt
Revenue$14,377,942RevenueAmt
DescResidential Services: OFFERS ASSISTED LIVING RESIDENTIAL CARE FOR PEOPLE EXPERIENCING A MENTAL HEALTH DISORDER, AS WELL AS LONGER-TERM LIVING SOLUTIONS FOR PEOPLE WHO CONTINUE TO NEED INDEPENDENT LIVING SKILL ASSISTANCE. ALL RESIDENTIAL HOUSING OPTIONS PROVIDE A SAFE, SECURE ENVIRONMENT MODELED ON TRAUMA-INFORMED CARE PRINCIPLES AND SUPPORT RESIDENTS TO LIVE SUCCESSFULLY IN THE COMMUNITY. PROGRAMS INCLUDE ALTERNATIVES TO HOSPITALIZATION FOR BEHAVIORAL HEALTH TREATMENT, CO-OCCURING MENTAL HEALTH AND SUBSTANCE USE DISORDERS, AND HOUSING AND FINANCIAL SUPPORT FOR INDEPENDENT LIVING IN APARTMENT BUILDINGS. SERVICES ARE DESIGNED TO CREATE A STRONG LINK BETWEEN STABLE HOUSING AND EFFECTIVE SUPPORTIVE SERVICES THAT ENABLE PEOPLE TO LIVE PRODUCTIVE AND HEALTHY LIVES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (9 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtRevenueRevenueAmtDescDesc
$9,264,035$11,280,183REHABILITATION SERVICES:
SUPPORTS INDIVIDUALS IN ACHIEVING EDUCATIONAL,
EMPLOYMENT AND PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT OPPORTUNTIES
THEY NEED TO LEAD SUCCESSFUL AND EMPOWERED LIVES.
WITH ITS NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED APPROACH,
2SUCCEED HELPS PEOPLE LIVING WITH MENTAL ILLNESS
ADVANCE IN THEIR RECOVERY BY MATCHING THEM WITH
EDUCATIONAL AND WORK OPPORTUNITIES ALIGNED WITH
THEIR INTERESTS AND STRENGTHS.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$9,264,035TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$11,280,183TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$80,899,786TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (true)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (true)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document190IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee1117EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member13IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonANGELA OAKLEYPersonNm
Phone3035046500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14141 E DICKENSON PLACEAddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP80222ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (36 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Edie Sonn
Board Chair4.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Debra Demuth
Vice Chair and Treasurer4.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rick Simms
Past Chair4.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary Haynes
Secretary3.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Les Wallace
Director3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ann Boyd
Director3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Barbara Yondorf
Director3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Luis Duarte
Director3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Marjorie Lewis
Director3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nancy Gary
Director3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peggy Kozal
Director3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles Everill
Treasurer through 2/20173.02.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sarah Younggren
Director through 3/20173.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jennifer Bradbury
Director through 3/20173.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Curtis Smith
Director through 2/20173.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elizabeth Eldridge
Director through 2/20173.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lucille Johnson Campbell
Director through 2/20173.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RJ Ross
Director through 2/20173.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Judy Kilbourne
Director through 12/20163.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jesse Ogas
Director through 8/20163.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas Tsai
Director through 7/20163.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carl Clark
President and CEO40.02.0Yes (X)$689,496$0$18,023
Angela Oakley
VP and CFO Starting 11/201640.02.0Yes (X)$13,873$0$0
Forrest M Cason
VP and CFO through 8/201640.02.0Yes (X)$220,061$0$6,042
Cheryl A Clark
VP & Chief Medical Officer40.00.0$405,157$0$24,935Yes (X)
Kristi Mock
VP and COO40.02.0$242,356$0$33,321Yes (X)
Lydia M Prado
VP of Child and Family40.00.0$255,166$0$22,034Yes (X)
Jody T Ryan
Adult Svcs Medical Director40.00.0$330,004$0$28,079Yes (X)
John Flynn
VP of Adult Services40.00.0$166,894$0$31,321Yes (X)
Yvette Buxton
Child and Family Director40.00.0$364,540$0$9,275Yes (X)
Wesley M Williams
VP and CIO40.00.0$197,574$0$5,415Yes (X)
Dallas Fleming III
Psychiatrist40.00.0$315,036$0$18,023Yes (X)
John Menninger
Psychiatrist40.00.0$296,791$0$35,674Yes (X)
John E Sadler
Psychiatrist40.00.0$310,165$0$3,992Yes (X)
Andrew P Sylvester
Psychiatrist40.00.0$293,444$0$17,916Yes (X)
Tina Le
Psychiatrist40.00.0$274,143$0$6,561Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$4,374,700TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$260,611TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K54IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Deneuve Construction Services
2344 Spruce St Suite BBOULDERCO80302Construction Svcs$9,119,241
NetSmart Technologies Inc
PO Box 823519PHILADELPHIAPA19182Electr Med Rcd Svcs$2,146,901
Taylor Kohrs LLC
12160 PennyslvaniaTHORNTONCO80241Construction Svcs$885,996
HostingCom Inc
PO Box 824164PHILADELPHIAPA19182Cloud Service$2,076,713
Maxim Healthcare Services
122558 Collections Center DRCHICAGOIL60693Temporary Staffing$853,339
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K27CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$138,954FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$1,659,501GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$1,178,324AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,976,779TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
MEDICAID623990$68,891,434$68,891,434
COLORADO BEHAVIORAL HEALTH623990$14,212,187$14,212,187
PHARMACY446110$6,162,701$6,162,701
CLIENT FEES623990$2,058,432$2,058,432
OTHER PROGRAM SERVICE REVENUE623990$2,460,254$2,460,254

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$233,041TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$233,041RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$93,551,967TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$327,612TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$327,612ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,882,631SecuritiesAmt
Other$51,925OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,869,563SecuritiesAmt
Other$31,468OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$13,068SecuritiesAmt
Other$20,457OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$33,525TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$33,525ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$138,954ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$67,348FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$67,348TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$67,348ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
MISCELLANEOUS INCOME900099$509,332$509,332
LOW INCOME HOUSING DEVELOPMENT FEE900099$198,002$198,002
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$707,334OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$97,529,869TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$94,259,301RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$293,789ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,629,658TotalAmt
Program Services$2,231,238ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$398,420ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,126,326TotalAmt
Program Services$38,329,838ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,397,177ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$399,311FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$853,566TotalAmt
Program Services$706,528ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$142,534ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,504FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,702,578TotalAmt
Program Services$4,758,008ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$920,506ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,064FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,309,511TotalAmt
Program Services$2,653,248ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$632,138ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,125FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$186,372TotalAmt
Program Services$45,505ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$140,867ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,000TotalAmt
Management And General$50,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$52,000TotalAmt
Fundraising$52,000FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,541,020TotalAmt
Program Services$3,541,020ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$217,705TotalAmt
Program Services$217,705ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,640,169TotalAmt
Program Services$1,212,571ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$413,973ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$13,625FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,746,997TotalAmt
Program Services$3,939,869ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$766,161ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$40,967FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,676,918TotalAmt
Program Services$3,606,147ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,771ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,471,826TotalAmt
Program Services$910,507ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$509,274ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$52,045FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,817TotalAmt
Management And General$65,817ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,268,743TotalAmt
Program Services$1,210,181ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$57,758ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$804FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,041,529TotalAmt
Program Services$2,681,389ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$351,321ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,819FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$805,243TotalAmt
Program Services$626,862ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$175,394ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,987FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
PHARMACEUTICAL$9,824,708$9,824,708
MEDICAL AND LAB$2,994,008$2,994,008
MAINTENANCE AND REPAIRS$569,508$466,446$102,125$937
MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES$1,160,727$944,008$195,985$20,734

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$93,934,929TotalAmt
Program Services$80,899,786ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,390,221ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$644,922FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,070,642BOYAmt
EOY$15,384,891EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,186,889BOYAmt
EOY$1,850,282EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,630,448BOYAmt
EOY$2,192,544EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,315,169BOYAmt
EOY$10,860,938EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$600,132BOYAmt
EOY$605,906EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,192,186BOYAmt
EOY$1,266,172EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$68,027,438LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$25,013,374LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,241,418BOYAmt
EOY$43,014,064EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,885,163BOYAmt
EOY$11,877,560EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,590,805BOYAmt
EOY$2,387,764EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,211,162BOYAmt
EOY$2,573,578EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$88,924,014BOYAmt
EOY$92,013,699EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,969,119BOYAmt
EOY$11,136,653EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$578,475BOYAmt
EOY$1,436,486EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,749,189BOYAmt
EOY$22,393,532EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$794,958BOYAmt
EOY$829,483EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$703,427BOYAmt
EOY$703,450EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,720,990BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,516,158BOYAmt
EOY$36,499,604EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,774,044BOYAmt
EOY$53,392,492EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$633,812BOYAmt
EOY$2,121,603EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,407,856BOYAmt
EOY$55,514,095EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$88,924,014BOYAmt
EOY$92,013,699EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,594,940ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$286,577NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$224,722DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,034,286CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,814,819CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,096,220CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,792,545CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,976,779CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$28,714,649TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,034,286CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,814,819CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,096,220CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,792,545CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,976,779CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$28,714,649TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$3,058,439SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$25,656,210PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$65,056CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$45,782CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$106,575CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$224,809CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$327,612CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$769,834TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$29,484,483TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$390,301,947GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.87016PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.86662PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Grassroots LobbyingTotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp
Total Direct LobbyingTotalDirectLobbyingGrp
Total Lobbying ExpendTotalLobbyingExpendGrp
Other Exempt Purpose ExpendOtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp
Total Exempt Purpose ExpendTotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp
Lobbying Nontaxable AmountLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
Grassroots NontaxableGrassrootsNontaxableGrp
Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non TxTotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp
Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non TxTotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsYes (true)DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Direct Contact Legislators$50,000DirectContactLegislatorsAmt
Rallies DemonstrationsfalseRalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesfalseOtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$50,000TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1gFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMental Health Center of Denver is a member of the Colorado Behavioral Healthcare Council and National Council for Behavioral Health, which monitors state and national legislation affecting the mental health industry. Staff and board members attend the state and national hill day gatherings to meet state representatives and provide them with the perspectives of the Mental Health Center of Denver. Mental Health Center of Denver also has an annual legislative briefing for state legislators.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
Agent Trustee EtcfalseAgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (true)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$262,451BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$38,125InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$2,748AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$297,828EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$273,558BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$8,470InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$2,637AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$262,451EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$269,225BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,030InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$2,697AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$273,558EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$237,579BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$34,152InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$2,506AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$269,225EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$224,608BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$15,262InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$2,291AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$237,579EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY1.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,380,356OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,380,356BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$48,361,147OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,251,343DepreciationAmt
Book Value$32,109,804BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$839,887OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$506,695DepreciationAmt
Book Value$278,937BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,990,541OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,860,983DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,129,558BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$455,507OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$340,098DepreciationAmt
Book Value$115,409BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$43,014,064TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$98,719,336TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$286,577NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$835,542DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$67,348OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,189,467RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$97,529,869RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$97,529,869TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$94,613,097TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$610,820DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$67,348OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$678,168ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$93,934,929ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$93,934,929TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part IV, Line 2BESCROW AND CUSTODIAL ARRANGEMENTS: MHCD maintains bank accounts on behalf of its consumers who receive disability benefits.
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4PURPOSE OF ENDOWMENT FUNDS: To help sustain Mental Health Center of Denver's future growth
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2Uncertain Tax Positions: Management has evaluated their income tax positions under the guidance included in ASC 740. Based on their review, management has not identified any material uncertain tax positions to be recorded or disclosed in the financial statements.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2DAMOUNTS INCLUDED IN AUDIT REVENUE BUT NOT ON THE TAX RETURN: Fundraising event expense 67,348
SCHEDULE D, Part XII, Line 2DAMOUNTS INCLUDED IN AUDIT EXPENSE BUT NOT ON THE TAX RETURN: Fundraising event expense 67,348

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Solicitation Of Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (true)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRDM CommunicationsPersonNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line136601 S Yosemite Street Ste 600AddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP80227ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ActivityConsultingActivityTxt
Fundraiser Control Of FundsfalseFundraiserControlOfFundsInd
Gross Receipts$0GrossReceiptsAmt
Retained By Contractor$52,000RetainedByContractorAmt
Net To Organization-$52,000NetToOrganizationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Gross Receipts$0TotalGrossReceiptsAmt
Total Retained By Contractors$52,000TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Total Net To Organization-$52,000TotalNetToOrganizationAmt
Licensed StatesCOLicensedStatesCd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1GOH BreakfastEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$138,954GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$138,954CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$18,094RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$23,648FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$17,514EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$9,092OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Other Events Total0OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Total$138,954GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$138,954CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$18,094RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$23,648FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$17,514EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$9,092OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$68,348DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$68,348NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Carl Clark
President and CEO$520,842$166,441$2,213$9,275$8,748$707,519
Forrest M Cason
VP and CFO through 8/2016$182,120$36,048$1,893$6,042$0$226,103
Cheryl A Clark
VP & Chief Medical Officer$302,692$101,168$1,297$9,275$15,660$430,092
Kristi Mock
VP and COO$171,528$70,161$667$6,033$27,288$275,677
Lydia M Prado
VP of Child and Family$193,132$61,354$680$6,374$15,660$277,200
Jody T Ryan
Adult Svcs Medical Director$275,687$53,706$611$9,275$18,804$358,083
John Flynn
VP of Adult Services$119,309$47,405$180$4,033$27,288$198,215
Yvette Buxton
Child and Family Director$303,449$59,794$1,297$9,275$0$373,815
Wesley M Williams
VP and CIO$154,898$42,488$188$5,415$0$202,989
Dallas Fleming III
Psychiatrist$269,490$45,309$237$9,275$8,748$333,059
John Menninger
Psychiatrist$241,219$54,595$977$8,386$27,288$332,465
John E Sadler
Psychiatrist$276,199$29,112$4,854$3,992$0$314,157
Andrew P Sylvester
Psychiatrist$261,329$31,722$393$9,168$8,748$311,360
Tina Le
Psychiatrist$246,473$27,460$210$0$6,561$280,704

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Colorado Health and Facilities AuthorityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN840752932BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP19648AS30CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2014-02-19BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$23,285,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeConstruction and Refunding SeriesPurposeDesc
DefeasedfalseDefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingfalsePoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$889,773RetiredAmt
Bond Defeased$0BondDefeasedAmt
Total Proceeds$22,963,180TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$1,655,000InReserveFundAmt
Capitalized Interest$0CapitalizedInterestAmt
Refunding Escrow$0RefundingEscrowAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$402,087IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Credit Enhancement$0CreditEnhancementAmt
Working Capital Expenditures$0WorkingCapitalExpendituresAmt
Capital Expenditures$8,607,043CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$12,299,050OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$0UnspentAmt
Substantial Completion2015SubstantialCompletionYr
Current RefundingYes (true)CurrentRefundingInd
Advance RefundingfalseAdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (true)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (true)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed PropertyfalseOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease ArrangementsfalseAnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropfalseMgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research AgreementsfalseAnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestfalseBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed PropfalseChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Remedial Action TakenfalseRemedialActionTakenInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (true)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledfalseForm8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (true)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To RebatefalseExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DuefalseNoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssuefalseVariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecfalseHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd

Hedge Provider Name HedgeProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line10BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Proceeds Invested In GICfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd

GIC Provider Name GICProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line10BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Proceeds InvestedfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (true)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (true)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part II, Line 3, Column (A)Although the issue price per Form 8038 was authorized to be $23,285,000, the bond instead issued proceeds of $22,963,180, equal to its stated redemption price at maturity.
Schedule K, Part II, Line 11, Column (A)THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON LINE 11 ($12,299,050) REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT USED TO CURRENTLY REFUND A PRIOR ISSUE.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 1ACOMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD: The board of directors, by resolution, may designate one or more standing committees, including but not limited to, an executive committee consisting of two or more of the MHCD Board of Directors. Such committee or committees shall have such names and exercise such powers of the Board of Directors as may be determined by resolution of the Board of Directors. The presence of a majority of the members of a committee shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business by the committee. The action of a majority of the committee members present at meetings at which a quorum is present shall be the action of such committee. The board has designated the executive committee to act with the full authority of the board between meetings. The executive committee did not make any decision on behalf of the full board during fiscal year 2016. The full board voted to remove the executive committee's authority to act on its behalf in fiscal year 2016.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Lines 6, 7a, 7bORGANIZATION'S MEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERS: According to the bylaws, the Mayor of the City and County of Denver appointed one third of the directors of Mental Health Center of Denver. Any change or amendment to the bylaws regarding the Mayor's power to appoint directors must also be approved in writing by the Mayor of the City and County of Denver.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11BFORM 990 REVIEW PROCESS: The audit committee will review the completed Form 990 with the preparer, an outside CPA firm. The completed Form 990 is then presented to the entire board prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12CHOW THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS MONITORED AND ENFORCED: MHCD annually requires all board members to complete a conflict of interest form. Conflicts are reviewed by the Executive Committee of the Board. Board members who disclose conflicts are required to refrain from discussing or voting on the particular transaction in which he/she has an interest, or otherwise attempting to exert any influence on MHCD or its components to affect a decision to participate or not participate in such transaction. All proceedings related to conflicts of interest are documented in the meeting minutes.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Lines 15A & 15BEXECUTIVE COMPENSATION POLICY AND PROCEDURES: The board retained the firm of Longnecker and Associates to complete a CEO salary comparability study. This is completed approximately every three years. Longnecker and Associates uses a number of surveys, comparing salaries based on the size of the organization, healthcare, mental health, non-profit, region, and other factors. The board has a CEO compensation subcommittee which is comprised of the personnel committee and executive committee members who consider the data reported from Longnecker and Associates as well as MSEC data and other sources of information in determining the CEO's salary and incentive compensation. The process was last undertaken in 2015. A similar process is undertaken for the other officers and key employees of the organization. Similarly, the board retained the services of the firm of Longnecker and Associates to prepare a salary comparability study for these other individuals. The board then has oversight and communication with the CEO over the executive team compensation packages, reviews performance metrics within the compensation package quarterly, and authorized the CEO to operate within the parameters of the agreed upon compensation structure. This process was last performed in 2015 for the executive team.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19How documents are made available to the public: The organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request. Previously filed Forms 990 are available to the public on the organization's website.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Sanderson LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14141 E Dickenson PlaceAddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP80222ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN810823822EIN
Primary ActivitiesHousg ProjectPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateCOLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$185EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MHCDBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Sabin Group Inc
4141 East Dickenson PlaceDenverCO80222742510947HousingCO501(c)(3)Line 10MHCDYes (true)
Sabin Group I
4141 East Dickenson PlaceDenverCO80222841171536HousingCO501(c)(3)Line 10SabinGrp IncYes (true)
Park East House Inc
4141 East Dickenson PlaceDenverCO80222742374685HousingCO501(c)(3)Line 10SabinGrp IncYes (true)
Lowell Terrace Corp
4141 East Dickenson PlaceDenverCO80222311601975HousingCO501(c)(3)Line 10SabinGrp IncYes (true)

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Sanderson LLLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14141 E Dickenson PLaceAddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP80222ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN371799349EIN
Primary ActivitiesHousing ProjePrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateCOLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Sanderson LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Predominant Income TypeHousingPredominantIncomeTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$0ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$185ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Disproportionate AllocationsfalseDisproportionateAllocationsInd
UBI Code V$0UBICodeVAmt
General Or Managing PartnerYes (true)GeneralOrManagingPartnerInd
Ownership0.00010OwnershipPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (9 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Sabin Group Inc
D$446,631Intercompany
Sabin Group I
D$237,666Intercompany
Lowell Terrace Corp
D$151,633Intercompany
Park East House
D$203,243Intercompany
Sanderson LLLP
D$1,330,312Intercompany
Sabin Group Inc
K$357,484Cash/Alloc
Sabin Group Inc
Q$213,863Cash/Alloc
Sabin Group I
Q$72,737Cash/Alloc
Park East House
Q$74,284Cash/Alloc