STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

PRINCETON UNIVERSITY PRESS: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PRINCETON UNIVERSITY PRESS (EIN 21-0634483)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-11
IRS object ID
201841319349303059
Schema version
2016v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-11T12:50:10-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WITHUM SMITH BROWN PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1506 CARNEGIE CENTER STE 400AddressLine1Txt
CityPRINCETONCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP085406243ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN210634483EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Princeton University PressBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% SCOT KUEHMInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlPRINBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6092584900PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line141 William StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPrincetonCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP08540ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCHRISTIE HENRYPersonNm
Person TitlesecretaryPersonTitleTxt
Phone6092584900PhoneNum
Signature2017-11-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCARL H DOBESPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00635925PTIN
Phone6095201188PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCHRISTIE HENRYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line141 WILLIAM STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityPRINCETONCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP08540ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$30,395,808GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressHTTP://PRESS.PRINCETON.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization AssocYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationAssocInd
Formation1905FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNJLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionBrings scholarly ideas to the world. Publish books for scholars, students and serious readers everywhere to connect authors and readers to advance and enrich conversation.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent5VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee149TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers15TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$496,964PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$1,987,447PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$918,820CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$5,804,613PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$31,369CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$15,823,670PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$17,623,702CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$24,112,694PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$18,573,891CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$31,300PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$30,550CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,997,247PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,356,317CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$8,943,430PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$11,280,807CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$20,971,977PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$23,667,674CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,140,717PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$5,093,783CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$145,326,721TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$101,749,670TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$8,792,178TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$8,727,661TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$136,534,543NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$93,022,009NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionOUR FUNDAMENTAL MISSION IS TO bring scholarly ideas to the world. We publish books that connect authors and readers across spheres of knowledge to advance and enrich the human conversation. We embrace the highest standards in our publishing as embodied in the work of our authors from Albert Einstein in our earliest years to the present. In keeping with Princeton Universitys commitment to serve the nation and the world, we publish for scholars, students, and serious readers everywhere.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$16,408,158ExpenseAmt
Grant$30,550GrantAmt
Revenue$18,461,964RevenueAmt
DescPrinceton University Press (PUP) seeks to publish the innovative works of the greatest minds in Academia, from the most respected senior scholar to the extraordinarily promising graduate students in each of the disciplines in which we publish. PUP consciously acquires a collection of titles - a coherent "list" of books from each discipline, providing focus, continuity, and a basis for development of future publications. Since PUP's inception in 1905, they have published many influential, "field-defining" award winning books. PUP currently has 8,221 titles in print and publishes over 330 titles annually. PUP serves more than 3,900 customers, wholesale and retail, including college bookstores throughout all regions of the country.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$16,408,158TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (true)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgYes (true)TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document4004IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee149EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryUKForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member5IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSCOT KUEHMPersonNm
Phone6092588602PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line141 WILLIAM STAddressLine1Txt
CityPRINCETONCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP085405237ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (23 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DRAKE MCFEELY
CHAIRMAN4.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTOPHER L EISGRUBER
VICE CHAIR4.040.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$102$876,296$48,624
PETER DOUGHERTY
SECRETARY40.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$410,091$0$16,104
YOUNGSUK CHI
TRUSTEE4.00.0Yes (X)$200$0$0
JOSHUA KATZ
TRUSTEE4.040.0Yes (X)$200$233,613$38,231
LINDA STEINMAN
TRUSTEE4.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEREMY ADELMAN
TRUSTEE4.040.0Yes (X)$3,695$301,122$43,559
NAOMI LEONARD
TRUSTEE4.040.0Yes (X)$1,400$300,429$49,073
ANDREA SCHULZ
TRUSTEE4.00.0Yes (X)$200$0$0
MELISSA LANE
TRUSTEE4.040.0Yes (X)$1,900$348,941$48,995
CAROLYN AINSLIE
TREASURER4.040.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$515,232$51,173
ELDAR SHAFIR
TRUSTEE4.040.0Yes (X)$3,379$345,870$48,623
JILL DOLAN
TRUSTEE4.040.0Yes (X)$50$387,677$43,964
SIMON GIKANDI
TRUSTEE4.040.0Yes (X)$1,144$358,129$51,296
ANNE JARVIS
TRUSTEE4.040.0Yes (X)$0$80,347$17,337
ELIZABETH WIDDICOMBE
TRUSTEE4.00.0Yes (X)$4,200$0$0
AL BERTRAND
ASSOC PUBL DIR/EDITOR IN CHIEF40.00.0$216,402$0$21,527Yes (X)
SCOT KUEHM
ASSOC. DIRECTOR/CFO40.00.0$278,444$0$38,819Yes (X)
ADAM FORTGANG
ASSIST.DIRECTOR/MARKET. DIR40.00.0$220,987$0$14,800Yes (X)
NEIL LITT
ASST DIR., DIR. EDITING&DESIGN40.00.0$163,627$0$15,077Yes (X)
BRIGITTA VANRHEINBERG
ASST. DIR/DIR OF GLOBAL DEV40.00.0$175,700$0$21,308Yes (X)
DENNIS LANGLOIS
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER40.00.0$192,737$0$7,764Yes (X)
JAMES JORDAN
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE OPERATIONS40.00.0$156,443$0$21,308Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,830,901TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$3,747,656TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$597,582TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K13IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line1ContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CityNmProvince Or StateContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/ProvinceOrStateNmCountryContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CountryCdForeign PostalContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/ForeignPostalCd
MAPLE PRESS COMPANY
PO BOX 12892PHILADELPHIAPA191760892PRINTING/BINDING$2,368,898
SHERIDAN BOOKS
613 EAST INDUSTRIAL DRIVECHELSEAMI48118PRINTING/BINDING$1,330,387
UNIVERSITY PRESS GROUP
MKTG/PROMO SERVICES$848,227UNIT 3 1 OLDLANDS WAYBOGNOR REGISENGLANDUKP0229SA
CA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY
DIV OF HUM SOC SCI AT CALTECH 228PASADENACA91125EINSTEIN PAPERS PROJ$656,000
FISH PARTNERSHIP
ACCOUNTING SERVICES$593,396THE MILL HOUSE BOUNDARY RDLOUDWATERHIGH WYCOMBE, BUCUKHP10 9QN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K27CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
ROYALTIES511130$498,991$498,991
RIGHTS511130$24,389$24,389
PERMISSION FEES511130$320,652$320,652
BOOK CLUB511130$4,482$4,482
MISCELLANEOUS INCOME511130$70,306$70,306
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$918,820TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$31,369TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$31,369ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$124,629RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$44,071RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$80,558RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$80,558TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$80,558ExclusionAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$29,263,809GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$11,777,846CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$17,485,963TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$17,485,963RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$57,181TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$57,181RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$57,181OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$18,573,891TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$18,461,964RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$111,927ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,550TotalAmt
Program Services$30,550ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,005,253TotalAmt
Program Services$672,793ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,332,460ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,222,938TotalAmt
Program Services$5,035,444ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,187,494ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$749,198TotalAmt
Program Services$66,729ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$682,469ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,759,478TotalAmt
Program Services$1,297,330ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$462,148ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$619,450TotalAmt
Program Services$403,173ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$216,277ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$218,179TotalAmt
Program Services$34,939ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$183,240ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$103,223TotalAmt
Management And General$103,223ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$556,140TotalAmt
Program Services$341,625ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$214,515ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,336,197TotalAmt
Program Services$1,336,197ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$973,916TotalAmt
Program Services$850,411ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$123,505ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$842,051TotalAmt
Program Services$310,067ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$531,984ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$467,610TotalAmt
Management And General$467,610ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$632,090TotalAmt
Program Services$471,417ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$160,673ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$44,250TotalAmt
Program Services$6,728ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$37,522ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,691TotalAmt
Management And General$25,691ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$183,687TotalAmt
Management And General$183,687ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$99,370TotalAmt
Management And General$99,370ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
FULFILLMENT SERVICES$2,137,251$2,137,251
EINSTEIN PAPERS PROJECT PROD$1,656,471$1,656,471
COPY EDITING AND DESIGN$579,201$579,201
INTERNATIONAL SALE CONSORTIUM$361,979$361,979

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,063,501TotalAmt
Program Services$815,853ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$247,648ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,667,674TotalAmt
Program Services$16,408,158ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,259,516ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXInd

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,394,548BOYAmt
EOY-$139,169EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,831,346BOYAmt
EOY$3,278,852EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,840,806BOYAmt
EOY$3,802,312EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$555,337BOYAmt
EOY$555,337EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,430,783BOYAmt
EOY$5,173,690EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,719,356BOYAmt
EOY$5,289,236EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$11,062,677LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$7,149,962LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,023,295BOYAmt
EOY$3,912,715EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$116,104,602BOYAmt
EOY$77,703,692EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,426,648BOYAmt
EOY$2,173,005EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$145,326,721BOYAmt
EOY$101,749,670EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,656,606BOYAmt
EOY$2,460,395EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,135,572BOYAmt
EOY$6,267,266EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,792,178BOYAmt
EOY$8,727,661EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,288,064BOYAmt
EOY$70,255,461EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,246,479BOYAmt
EOY$22,766,548EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$136,534,543BOYAmt
EOY$93,022,009EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$145,326,721BOYAmt
EOY$101,749,670EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$5,093,783ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$5,378,636NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Prior Period Adjustments-$43,779,546PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$17,841OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type1Yes (X)SupportingOrgType1Ind
Supported Organizations1SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp

Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN210634501EIN
Organization Type2OrganizationTypeCd
Governing Document ListedYes (true)GoverningDocumentListedInd
Support$251,968SupportAmt
Other Support$0OtherSupportAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total1SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Support Sum$251,968SupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (true)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS DeterminationfalseSuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C456falseSupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized USfalseSupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt OrgfalseOrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported OrgfalseSupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial ContribtrfalsePaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified PersonfalseLoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified PrsnfalseControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings RulesfalseExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution ControllerfalseContributionControllerInd
Contribution FamilyfalseContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 ControlledfalseContribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Power Appoint Majority Dir TrstYes (true)PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd
Operate Benefit Non Suprt OrgfalseOperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$100,157,782BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$35,093,760InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$4,652,233OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$60,411,789EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$103,786,140BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,374,469InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$5,002,827OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$100,157,782EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$96,144,095BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$11,917,956InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$4,275,911OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$103,786,140EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$84,055,417BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$16,160,964InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$4,072,287OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$96,144,094EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$79,011,576BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,922,214InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,878,373OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$84,055,417EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.62310BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.37690PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (true)RelatedOrgListSchRInd
LandLandGrp

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$574,597OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$574,597DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,479,942OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,648,629DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,831,313BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,008,138OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,926,736DepreciationAmt
Book Value$81,402BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$3,912,715TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPRINCETON UNIV. PRIMARY POOLDesc
Book Value$77,703,692BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$77,703,692TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ROYALTIES PAYABLE$4,164,573
SUBSIDIES APPLICABLE TO FUTURE$1,404,076
POST RETIREMENT/MAJOR MEDICAL$698,617
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$6,267,266TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,612,891TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$5,378,636NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$11,819,370OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$17,198,006RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$18,414,885RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$159,006OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$159,006RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$18,573,891TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,345,879TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$11,837,211OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$11,837,211ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$23,508,668ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$159,006OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$159,006ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$23,667,674TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 4PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED NET ASSETS: THE EINSTEIN ENDOWMENT FUND WAS ESTABLISHED TO HELP FINANCE CERTAIN FUTURE COSTS OF THE ALBERT EINSTEIN PUBLICATION PROGRAM. BOARD DESIGNATED, UNRESTRICTED ENDOWMENTS: The Whitney Darrow Fund was established from funds distributed by Princeton University formerly held to support the Bollingen Series of books. This fund is unrestricted and has been designated by the Board to be used to help finance books and other publications which are not otherwise self-supporting as well as other projects which enhance the quality of the Press' publishing program. The McGraw Fund was established to help finance books and other publications of a scholarly and educational nature which are not otherwise self-supporting. The McGraw Fund was established through grants given by the former Chairman of the Board of Trustees. The Scribner Fund was established to help finance the cost of capital additions which must be made to carry out the publication program of the Press. The Johnson Letters Fund was established to help finance the future costs of the publication of the letters of Dr. Samuel Johnson.
SCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 3A(II)PUP'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE HELD AND ADMINISTERED BY PRINCETON UNIVERSITY, WHICH IS A RELATED PARTY (SEE SCHEDULE R). THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE INVESTED IN PRINCETON UNIVERSITY'S PRIMARY POOLS.
SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2DCost of good sold $11,777,846, Amortization of postretirement benefit plan cumulative gain: $41,524; TOTAL: $11,819,370
SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4BNet rental income netted with financial statement expenses: $80,558, Bank charges netted with financial statement other income: $52,757, Interest expense $25,691; TOTAL: $159,006
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4Bnet rental income netted with financial statement expenses: $80,558, Bank charges netted with financial statement other income: $52,757, Interest expense $25,691; TOTAL: $159,006
SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2The Press is a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and under current New Jersey tax statutes. Income derived from sources unrelated to the Press' tax-exempt status is not significant, and accordingly, no provision for income taxes has been provided. The Press files tax returns in the United States federal jurisdiction and complies with filing requirements in various states. The press had no unrecognized tax benefits at June 30, 2017 and 2016. In addition, the Press has no income tax related penalties or interest for the periods reported in the financial statements.
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DCost of good sold $11,777,846, Foreign Currency Loss $59,365; TOTAL: $11,837,211

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)112Program ServicesEDITORIAL/PUBLICITY$982,200
East Asia and the Pacific11Program ServicesMKTG & BUSINESS DEV$201,174
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices2SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees13SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office2TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee13TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$1,183,374SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$1,183,374TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (true)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
CHRISTOPHER L EISGRUBER
VICE CHAIR$0$793,724$0$0$102$82,572$0$32,996$0$15,628$102$924,920$0$0
PETER DOUGHERTY
SECRETARY$351,360$0$50,000$0$8,731$0$0$0$16,104$0$426,195$0$0$0
JOSHUA KATZ
TRUSTEE$0$180,488$0$0$200$53,125$0$27,667$0$10,564$200$271,844$0$0
ADAM FORTGANG
ASSIST.DIRECTOR/MARKET. DIR$186,732$0$30,000$0$4,255$0$0$0$14,800$0$235,787$0$0$0
NEIL LITT
ASST DIR., DIR. EDITING&DESIGN$128,131$0$30,000$0$5,496$0$0$0$15,077$0$178,704$0$0$0
BRIGITTA VANRHEINBERG
ASST. DIR/DIR OF GLOBAL DEV$143,623$0$30,000$0$2,077$0$0$0$21,308$0$197,008$0$0$0
AL BERTRAND
ASSOC PUBL DIR/EDITOR IN CHIEF$180,471$0$35,000$0$931$0$0$0$21,527$0$237,929$0$0$0
JEREMY ADELMAN
TRUSTEE$0$269,188$0$0$3,695$31,934$0$32,995$0$10,564$3,695$344,681$0$0
NAOMI LEONARD
TRUSTEE$0$220,875$0$0$1,400$79,554$0$32,996$0$16,077$1,400$349,502$0$0
MELISSA LANE
TRUSTEE$0$243,943$0$0$1,900$104,998$0$32,996$0$15,999$1,900$397,936$0$0
SCOT KUEHM
ASSOC. DIRECTOR/CFO$226,863$0$50,000$0$1,581$0$0$0$38,819$0$317,263$0$0$0
CAROLYN AINSLIE
TREASURER$0$473,894$0$0$0$41,338$0$32,995$0$18,178$0$566,405$0$0
ELDAR SHAFIR
TRUSTEE$0$266,264$0$0$3,379$79,606$0$32,995$0$15,628$3,379$394,493$0$0
DENNIS LANGLOIS
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER$167,173$0$25,000$0$564$0$0$0$7,764$0$200,501$0$0$0
JILL DOLAN
TRUSTEE$0$353,634$0$0$50$34,043$0$32,996$0$10,968$50$431,641$0$0
SIMON GIKANDI
TRUSTEE$0$259,571$0$0$1,144$98,558$0$32,995$0$18,301$1,144$409,425$0$0
JAMES JORDAN
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE OPERATIONS$130,424$0$25,000$0$1,019$0$0$0$21,308$0$177,751$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART 1, LINE 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNON-FIXED PAYMENTS INCLUDE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE BASED BONUSES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAL BERTRANDPersonNm
Relationship With OrgKEY EMPLOYEERelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeMORTGAGELoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$576,000OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$555,337BalanceDueAmt
DefaultfalseDefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (true)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (true)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$555,337TotalBalanceDueAmt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKaren FortgangPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionWife of key employeeRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$65,300TransactionAmt
TransactionEmployee/PayrollTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE AUDIT COMMITTEE WILL REVIEW THE FORM 990, MAKING THE ENTIRE BOARD AWARE OF ANY ISSUES AND ANSWERING ANY QUESTIONS. THE AUDIT COMMITTEE APPROVES THE FORM 990 AND PROVIDES THE BOARD A COPY OF THE FORM 990 PRIOR TO ITS SUBMISSION.
PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2009, ALL TRUSTEES AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW THE ORGANIZATION'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND, ON AN ANNUAL BASIS, SUBMIT A STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE AFFIRMATION. THIS PROCESS IS MONITORED REGULARLY BY THE ORGANIZATION'S DIRECTOR AS WELL AS CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND THE CHAIR OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.
PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15COMPENSATION FOR THE DIRECTOR AND ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR IS DETERMINED BY THE JOINT AGREEMENT OF THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND THE CHAIR OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. A COMPETENT SALARY SURVEY IS USED TO BENCHMARK COMPENSATION FOR THE POSITIONS UTILIZING INDUSTRY SPECIFIC REPORTS AND OTHER STUDIES. DURING THESE DELIBERATIONS, INPUT OBTAINED FROM OTHER BOARD MEMBERS, STAFF, PROFESSIONAL ADVISORS, AND OTHER INFORMED COMMUNITY LEADERS IS CONSIDERED. THE BOARD CHAIR NOTIFIES THE DIRECTOR TO DISCUSS AND DOCUMENT STRENGTHS, WEAKNESSES, AND GOALS FOR THE UPCOMING YEAR. COMPENSATION FOR BOTH THE DIRECTOR AND ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR FOR EACH YEAR IS COMMUNICATED AND DOCUMENTED. THE KEY EMPLOYEES SALARY INCREASES ARE DETERMINED BY THE DIRECTOR AND ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR/CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, USING THE SALARY INCREASE GUIDELINES IN THE ANNUAL BUDGET THAT IS APPROVED BY THE BOARD.
PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
PART XI, LINE 9AMORTIZATION OF POST-RETIREMENT BENEFIT PLAN GAIN NOT INCLUDED ON TAX RETURN: $41,524, FOREIGN CURRENCY EXCHANGE LOSS NOT INCLUDED ON TAX RETURN: $(59,365): TOTAL $(17,841)
PART XI, LINE 8Prior Period Adjustment: During the year ended June 30, 2017, Princeton University performed a review of investments included in the Universitys managed investment pool. As a result, it was determined that the Paul Mellon Fund, historically recorded as an investment of Princeton University Press, was actually gifted to Princeton University and is recorded on the universitys financial statements and thus, is not restricted to use by the Press, as previously thought. The Press will continue to receive earnings on a portion of the Paul Mellon Fund but the investment asset should not be recorded on the Press Statement of Financial Position. Accordingly, the Press has recorded a prior period adjustment in the amount of $43,779,546 to correct the investment balance. It is reported as an adjustment to beginning net assets on the Consolidated Statement of Activities and Changes in Net Assets for the year ended June 30, 2017.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Princeton Asia (Beijing) Consulting CoBusinessNameLine1Txt

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Rm 542S Floor 5 Block 1 No15AddressLine1Txt
CityChaowaiCityNm
Province Or StateBeijingProvinceOrStateNm
CountryCHCountryCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesMktg Bus DevPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile Foreign CountryCHLegalDomicileForeignCountryCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$152,293EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PUPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PRINCETON UNIVERSITYAddressLine1Txt
CityPRINCETONCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP08540ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN210634501EIN
Primary ActivitiesEDUCATIONPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNJLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status2PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY
M$44,071CASH
THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY
P$251,968CASH
THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY
J$124,629CASH