STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

CHILDRENS HOSPITAL PEDIATRIC ASSOCIATES INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CHILDRENS HOSPITAL PEDIATRIC ASSOCIATES INC (EIN 43-1987409)
Tax period
2016-10-01 to 2017-09-30
Filed
2018-08-09
IRS object ID
201842219349300319
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-08-09T10:29:21-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010494526PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Baker Newman & Noyes LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1280 Fore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN431987409EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Children's Hospital PediatricBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2Associates IncBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCHILBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6173551952PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120 Overland StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02215ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGary R Fleisher MDPersonNm
Person TitlePresidentPersonTitleTxt
Phone6179192822PhoneNum
Signature2018-08-08SignatureDt

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonNicholas E PortoPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01310283PTIN
Phone8002447444PhoneNum
Preparation2018-08-08PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerGary R Fleisher MDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120 Overland StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02215ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$305,547,897GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2002FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Foundation provides medical, health care services, and educational services to (see Schedule O) Boston Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School. The Foundation also provides care for patients in need of health care services, regardless of their ability to pay, as well as providing community based services.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body18VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent1VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee475TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$11,336TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$8,627NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,300,000PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$634,000CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$260,470,092PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$274,848,314CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$20,389,655PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$14,065,583CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,538,732PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$284,698,479PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$289,547,897CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$15,289,107PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$13,024,306CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$190,127,937PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$206,168,280CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$56,874,305PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$55,193,552CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$262,291,349PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$274,386,138CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$22,407,130PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$15,161,759CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$418,055,009TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$458,846,223TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$52,485,559TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$58,341,725TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$365,569,450NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$400,504,498NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThe Foundation provides medical and health care services primarily to patients at Boston Children's Hospital, and at satellite locations. The Foundation carries on and promotes basic and applied medical research and education in the field of pediatric care by (Schedule O) teaching students and other medical and scientific personnel. The Foundation also provides care for patients regardless of their ability to pay.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$205,828,919ExpenseAmt
Grant$13,024,306GrantAmt
Revenue$231,744,343RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation was organized exclusively for charitable, scientific, and educational purposes. The Foundation provides medical and health care services primarily to patients at Boston Children's Hospital, and at satellite locations. The Foundation may charge for patient care and other medical services, provided that any net income be used for the charitable, scientific, and educational purposes for which the Foundation was created. The Foundation also provides care for patients regardless of their ability to pay, as well as providing and subsidizing hospital and community based services that are either unavailable or limited elsewhere in the community.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$7,439,599ExpenseAmt
Revenue$5,392,632RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation receives income from Boston Children's Hospital for providing administration, supervision, and teaching services. The Foundation carries on and promotes basic and applied medical research and education in the field of pediatric care by teaching students and other medical and scientific personnel; by providing or supplementing income to research personnel through fellowships, research grants, and stipends; and by giving lectures and publishing information concerning problems and research results in the field of pediatric care in order to educate the general public and the medical profession.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$34,718,131ExpenseAmt
Revenue$37,711,339RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation receives reimbursement of certain salary and fringe costs from grants from Boston Children's Hospital.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$247,986,649TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document42IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee475EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members18GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member1IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Vincent Chiang MDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6173551952PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120 Overland StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02215ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtInstitutional TrusteeInstitutionalTrusteeIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Gary R Fleisher MD
President55.005.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$875,482$0$100,267
Vincent Chiang MD
Treasurer/Clerk60.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$380,137$0$74,207
Richard Bachur MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$436,908$0$91,023
S Jean Emans MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$858,851$0$68,267
Raif S Geha MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$339,079$0$100,267
Craig Gerard MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$280,006$0$68,267
Stella Kourembana MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$422,596$0$97,303
Alan Leichtner MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$401,257$0$68,267
Wayne Lencer MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$367,619$0$96,267
Joseph A Majzoub MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$799,251$0$68,251
Stephen Harrison MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Schuster MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$420,771$0$68,251
Michael Wessels MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$284,663$0$99,023
David Williams MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$638,996$0$92,267
Christopher Walsh MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$97,286$0$61,014
Friedhelm Hildebrandt MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$536,735$0$88,023
Leonard Rappaport MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$486,945$0$92,699
Michael Agus MD
Trustee60.000.00Yes (X)$425,438$0$87,723
Physicians Organization at CH Inc
Institutional Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
William Tarvainen
Chief Operations Officer60.000.00$363,695$0$98,818Yes (X)
Alejandro Flores MD
Physician60.000.00$520,524$0$69,023Yes (X)
Scott Snapper MD
Physician60.000.00$478,652$0$69,023Yes (X)
Kenneth Mandl MD
Physician60.000.00$477,361$0$68,207Yes (X)
Patricia Ellen Grant MD
Physician60.000.00$425,811$0$72,115Yes (X)
Marilyn Liang MD
Physician60.000.00$421,664$0$64,655Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$10,739,727TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,863,227TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K417IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
44 Binney StreetBostonMA02115Oncology services$3,887,906
Boston Private Bank & Trust
Ten Post Office SquareBostonMA02109Investment Fees$1,120,923
CompHealth
PO Box 972651DallasTX75397Staffing services$782,476
Neonatology Associates LLP
100 MLK Jr BlvdWorcesterMA01608Neonatal services$255,293
Barton & Associates Inc
PO Box 417844BostonMA02241Staffing services$241,488
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K14CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$634,000RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Total Contributions$634,000TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Patient serv. rev., net of contr.621300$212,321,517$212,321,517
Research revenue621300$37,711,339$37,711,339
Contract revenue621300$19,422,826$19,422,826
Teaching, admin, & supervision re611710$3,134,051$3,134,051
Service, research, & other revenu611710$2,258,581$2,258,581
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$274,848,314TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,900,348TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$11,336UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,889,012ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$24,165,235SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$16,000,000SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$8,165,235SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,165,235TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$8,165,235ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$289,547,897TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$274,848,314RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$11,336UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$14,054,247ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,024,306TotalAmt
Program Services$13,024,306ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,011,842TotalAmt
Program Services$12,549,329ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$462,513ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$161,633,232TotalAmt
Program Services$146,601,782ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,031,450ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,087,783TotalAmt
Program Services$11,087,783ProgramServicesAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,752,482TotalAmt
Program Services$15,752,482ProgramServicesAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,682,941TotalAmt
Program Services$4,652,858ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,083ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$447,331TotalAmt
Management And General$447,331ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$47,048TotalAmt
Management And General$47,048ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,120,923TotalAmt
Management And General$1,120,923ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,527,365TotalAmt
Program Services$4,367,927ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$159,438ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$78,075TotalAmt
Management And General$78,075ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,169,795TotalAmt
Program Services$1,538,134ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$631,661ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$105,240TotalAmt
Management And General$105,240ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,122,404TotalAmt
Program Services$3,884,096ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$238,308ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$284,823TotalAmt
Program Services$284,823ProgramServicesAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$224,577TotalAmt
Program Services$224,577ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,790TotalAmt
Management And General$6,790ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,594,476TotalAmt
Program Services$2,576,947ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,529ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Research expenses$14,324,559$14,324,559
Bad debt expense$10,545,149$10,545,149
Billing fees$4,657,144$4,657,144
PO dues$3,438,016$1,225,775$2,212,241

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,499,837TotalAmt
Program Services$5,346,122ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,153,715ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$274,386,138TotalAmt
Program Services$247,986,649ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$26,399,489ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,306,088BOYAmt
EOY$30,211,915EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,449,253BOYAmt
EOY$17,434,127EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,201,289BOYAmt
EOY$21,687,844EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$861,774BOYAmt
EOY$515,002EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,254,199BOYAmt
EOY$6,098,485EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$758,132BOYAmt
EOY$815,973EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$462,495LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$460,502LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,783BOYAmt
EOY$1,993EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$291,829,825BOYAmt
EOY$313,235,341EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,695,463BOYAmt
EOY$44,387,683EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,690,203BOYAmt
EOY$24,457,860EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$418,055,009BOYAmt
EOY$458,846,223EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,267,914BOYAmt
EOY$13,247,592EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,217,645BOYAmt
EOY$45,094,133EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,485,559BOYAmt
EOY$58,341,725EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$362,445,778BOYAmt
EOY$398,285,826EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,123,672BOYAmt
EOY$2,218,672EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$365,569,450BOYAmt
EOY$400,504,498EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$418,055,009BOYAmt
EOY$458,846,223EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$15,161,759ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$19,773,289NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,200,000CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,053,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$900,000CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,300,000CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$634,000CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$13,087,000TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$212,686,140CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$223,433,888CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$232,038,121CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$260,470,092CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$274,848,314CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,203,476,555TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$214,886,140CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$230,486,888CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$232,938,121CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$262,770,092CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$275,482,314CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,216,563,555TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$1,216,563,555PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,458,639CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,005,951CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,389,286CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,633,663CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,889,012CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$26,376,551TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years-$1,839CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,777CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$19,395CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$8,679CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$11,336CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$48,348TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,456,800CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,016,728CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,408,681CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,642,342CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,900,348CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$26,424,899TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,538,732CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Total$1,538,732TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$219,342,940CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$235,503,616CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$238,346,802CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$269,951,166CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$281,382,662CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,244,527,186TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.97750PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.97790PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.02120InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.02080InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part III, Line 12, Explanation of Other Income:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationInsurance rebate - 2015 Amount: $ 1,538,732.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,123,672BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$634,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,539,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$2,218,672EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,275,389BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,300,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$451,717OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$3,123,672EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,740,706BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$900,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$8,365,317OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,275,389EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,249,500BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$7,053,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,561,794OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$8,740,706EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,923,875BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,200,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$2,874,375OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$3,249,500EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Term Endowment Balance EOY1.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$462,495OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$460,502DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,993BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,993TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
BCH Pooled Investment$2,594,033F
PO Pooled Investment Fund$41,793,650F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$44,387,683TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Due from Boston Children's Hospital$12,775,666
Malpractice insurance receivable$7,964,646
Other receivables$2,998,990
Due from other Foundations$248,747
Due from Physicians Organization$469,811
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$24,457,860TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Due to Boston Children's Hospital$15,837,982
Due to PO$3,193,526
Deferred compensation plans$14,978,691
Accrued professional liability$10,847,870
Due to other Foundations$236,064
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$45,094,133TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$309,321,186TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$19,773,289NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$19,773,289RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$289,547,897RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$289,547,897TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$274,386,138TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$274,386,138ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$274,386,138TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The Foundation has plans to use its endowment funds for the Quality and Charge Capture Project, physician recruitment expenses, education programs, and research initiatives.
Part X, Line 2:The Foundation is a tax-exempt corporation as described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code (the Code), and is exempt from federal income taxes on related income pursuant to Section 501(a) of the Code. In addition, the Foundation qualifies for the charitable contribution deduction under Section 170(b)(1)(A) and has been classified as an organization that is not a private foundation under Section 509(a)(2). Tax-exempt organizations could be required to record an obligation for income taxes as the result of a tax position they have historically taken on various tax exposure items, including unrelated business income or tax status. Management of the Foundation has evaluated the positions taken on the Foundation's filed tax returns and has concluded that no uncertain income tax positions exist at September 30, 2017. The Foundation's tax years from 2014 through 2017 are potentially subject to examination.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Boston Children's HospitalBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN042774441RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$13,023,056CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc
Purpose Of GrantGeneral SupportPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMonitoring is provided by Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc. (the Foundation) through oversight of the terms and conditions of a written grant agreement. Multiyear agreements require yearly progress and financial reports for continuation of funding. During the year ended September 30, 2017, the Foundation only provided grant donations to other 501(c)(3) organizations.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (23 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Gary R Fleisher MD
President$512,092$0$50,000$0$313,390$0$68,115$0$32,152$0$975,749$0$0$0
Vincent Chiang MD
Treasurer/Clerk$334,988$0$16,822$0$28,327$0$42,115$0$32,092$0$454,344$0$0$0
Richard Bachur MD
Trustee$412,731$0$5,000$0$19,177$0$58,115$0$32,908$0$527,931$0$0$0
S Jean Emans MD
Trustee$290,479$0$11,835$0$556,537$0$36,115$0$32,152$0$927,118$0$522,966$0
Raif S Geha MD
Trustee$265,000$0$40,508$0$33,571$0$68,115$0$32,152$0$439,346$0$0$0
Craig Gerard MD
Trustee$265,000$0$5,797$0$9,209$0$36,115$0$32,152$0$348,273$0$0$0
Stella Kourembana MD
Trustee$390,202$0$35,486$0-$3,092$0$65,115$0$32,188$0$519,899$0$0$0
Alan Leichtner MD
Trustee$372,338$0$10,595$0$18,324$0$36,115$0$32,152$0$469,524$0$0$0
Wayne Lencer MD
Trustee$312,315$0$38,030$0$17,274$0$64,115$0$32,152$0$463,886$0$0$0
Joseph A Majzoub MD
Trustee$271,834$0$5,000$0$522,417$0$36,115$0$32,136$0$867,502$0$502,052$0
Mark Schuster MD
Trustee$265,500$0$154,522$0$749$0$36,115$0$32,136$0$489,022$0$0$0
Michael Wessels MD
Trustee$265,100$0$10,354$0$9,209$0$66,115$0$32,908$0$383,686$0$0$0
David Williams MD
Trustee$435,664$0$169,123$0$34,209$0$60,115$0$32,152$0$731,263$0$0$0
Christopher Walsh MD
Trustee$25,000$0$0$0$72,286$0$29,000$0$32,014$0$158,300$0$0$0
Friedhelm Hildebrandt MD
Trustee$389,232$0$25,773$0$121,730$0$55,115$0$32,908$0$624,758$0$0$0
Leonard Rappaport MD
Trustee$464,671$0$5,000$0$17,274$0$60,115$0$32,584$0$579,644$0$0$0
Michael Agus MD
Trustee$358,049$0$11,230$0$56,159$0$54,815$0$32,908$0$513,161$0$0$0
William Tarvainen
Chief Operations Officer$326,583$0$0$0$37,112$0$68,115$0$30,703$0$462,513$0$31,000$0
Alejandro Flores MD
Physician$500,500$0$0$0$20,024$0$36,115$0$32,908$0$589,547$0$0$0
Scott Snapper MD
Physician$319,209$0$73,286$0$86,157$0$36,115$0$32,908$0$547,675$0$0$0
Kenneth Mandl MD
Physician$469,184$0$9,000$0-$823$0$36,115$0$32,092$0$545,568$0$0$0
Patricia Ellen Grant MD
Physician$398,993$0$22,000$0$4,818$0$36,115$0$36,000$0$497,926$0$0$0
Marilyn Liang MD
Physician$283,548$0$138,597$0-$481$0$36,115$0$28,540$0$486,319$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 4bThe Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc. (the Foundation) established the Ineligible Deferred Compensation Plan. This plan is intended to qualify under Section 457(f) of the Code, and is intended to constitute a "top-hat plan" described in Section 201(2) of ERISA. The payment of benefits under the plan is at the sole discretion of the Foundation. In meeting its funding obligation, the employer will hold employee contributions in a Rabbi Trust. Each employee who is: a) an officer or highly compensated employee of the Foundation; b) a professor at Harvard University, or its professional equivalent; and c) determined by the Foundation's President to be eligible, may participate in the plan. Additionally, each Trustee of the Foundation who is determined by the Foundation's President to be eligible may participate in the plan. Participants may elect to defer compensation by a specific amount which, for any taxable year, shall not exceed an amount established by the Plan Administrator. The Foundation may, but is not required to, contribute an amount determined at the sole discretion of the Foundation on behalf of one or more eligible participants for a plan year. Participants are fully vested in the funds credited to their accounts after seven consecutive years of service. The Foundation made the following contributions to the 457(f) plan for the employees listed on Part VII, Page 7: Gary R. Fleisher, MD, $32,000; Richard Bachur, MD, $22,000; Raif S. Geha, MD, $32,000; Stella Kourembanas, MD, $29,000; Wayne Lencer, MD, $28,000; Michael Wessels, MD, $30,000; David Williams, MD, $24,000; Leonard Rappaport, MD, $24,000; Vincent Chiang, MD, $6,000; Michael Agus, MD, $18,700; Christopher Walsh, MD, $26,000; Friedhelm Hildebrandt, MD, $19,000; William Tarvainen, $32,000; and William Barbaresi, MD. $12,000.
Part I, Line 7Bonus compensation methodology is reviewed and approved by Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc.'s (the Foundation's) finance committee. The bonuses are based on clinical and academic performance, along with individual citizenship. All final bonus amounts are approved by the applicable division chief and president of the Foundation.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (3 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
David Williams MD
TrusteePhysician recruitmentYes (X)$250,000$25,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
Christopher Walsh MD
TrusteePhysician recruitmentYes (X)$300,000$90,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
Friedhelm Hildebrandt MD
TrusteePhysician recruitmentYes (X)$881,000$400,0020Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$515,002TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule L, Part II:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc. (the Foundation) has developed a recruitment loan program for eligible employees as incentive for qualified employees to relocate to certain facilities as demands of the Foundation's practice arise. The loan proceeds are to be used for the purchase of a principal personal residence. The loans are secured by a promissory note and a second mortgage on the residence. The Foundation has provided four loans to three members of the board. However, the Foundation has provided loans to other employees. The amounts for the recruitment loans were originally funded by restricted donations provided by Boston Children's Hospital for use in recruitment. The loans will be forgiven over the terms of the notes if the recipients remain employed at the Foundation or its affiliates. If any borrower terminates his/her employment, the remaining balance becomes immediately due. The amount of the loan forgiveness will be included with accrued interest, if applicable, as compensation in the year forgiven.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The majority of the Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc. (the Foundation) board members are physicians who are not independent from the Foundation. However, the Foundation is part of an integrated delivery system with Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) which does have a community board. The Foundation was organized in 2002. At the time, the board was composed entirely of physicians, a board structure that was approved by the Internal Revenue Service. The Foundation has since adjusted the board structure by adding the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) as a member. See Schedule O, Part VI, Questions 3, 6, 7b, and 12 for more on the PO's rights.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 3The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) is a Class "C" member of Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc. (the Foundation). The PO provides management services for the Foundation. The PO has the power to approve the independent auditor and legal counsel of the Foundation from a list of firms mutually agreed to by the PO and the Foundation. The PO also has the right to review, but not to approve, the annual budgets and by-law changes of the Foundation. Lastly, Boston Children's Hospital has the right to review for compliance with applicable law, the general terms of and any modification to physician compensation and benefit plans for all physician employees of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6The Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc. (the Foundation) has four classes of members. The Pediatrician-in-Chief or any Acting Pediatrician-in-Chief, as Chief of the Department of Medicine (the Department) of Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital), is a Class "A" member. Any person who (i) is a physician-employee of the Foundation with an active medical staff appointment from the Hospital, and (ii) either (A) is a Division Chief of a Division of the Department whose faculty are on the Foundation's payroll or (B) functions as a Division Chief of a Division of the Department whose faculty are not on the Foundation payroll, or (C) has a faculty appointment from Harvard Medical School shall be a Class "B" member. The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) is a Class "C" member. All other individuals who hold Harvard appointments other than the Class "A and "B" members shall be Class "D" members.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe Pediatrician-in-Chief or any Acting Pediatrician-in-Chief, as Chief of the Department of Medicine of Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital), is the Class "A" member of Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc. (the Foundation). According to the Articles of Organization, the Class "A" member appoints the board members of the Foundation for a 3-year term at the Foundation's annual meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) is a Class "C" member of the Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc. (the Foundation). The PO provides management services for the Foundation. The PO has the power to approve the independent auditor and legal counsel of the Foundation from a list of firms mutually agreed to by the PO and the Foundation. The PO also has the right to review, but not to approve, the annual budgets and by-law changes of the Foundation. Lastly, Boston Children's Hospital has the right to review for compliance with applicable laws, the general terms of and any modification to physician compensation and benefit plans for all physician employees of the Foundation. As a Class "C" member of the Foundation, the PO attends the Foundation's annual meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bA review is conducted by the President of the Foundation, Gary R. Fleisher, MD; Controller, Gregory Beaumier; and the Chief Operating Officer, William Tarvainen. Copies of the 990 are sent to the board members prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) administers an annual conflict of interest disclosure process to all of its member Foundations, which asks physicians (officers, top management, and highly compensated employees) and selected Foundation staff to disclose potential conflicts. A disclosure statement will be circulated annually to members of the PO. The audit committee shall determine those individuals (including medical staff members) who shall be required to complete the disclosure statement. The audit committee, at its discretion, may either: 1) refer any or all disclosure statements to the Board of Directors; 2) appoint an ad hoc committee to review and resolve any conflict of interest issues; or 3) review and resolve any conflict of interest issues personally or through a designee(s). Any person not receiving a disclosure statement nevertheless has an affirmative obligation to disclose to the PO President, PO General Counsel, or his/her supervisor whenever he/she believes he/she has or may have a conflict of interest. Similarly, each person completing a disclosure statement has an affirmative obligation to update the statement any time circumstances change and/or he/she believes that a conflict of interest may exist. In the event a conflict of interest is found to exist, the Foundation prohibits the member from voting on any matter to which the conflict relates or otherwise influence the voting on such matter.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15All the physicians (top management, officers, and highly compensated individuals) fall under compensation guidelines determined by Harvard University, with limitations established for certain positions/ranks within the medical school. Annually, compensation is reviewed and reported to Boston Children's Hospital's (the Hospital's) Board of Trustees to ensure total direct and indirect compensation does not exceed the pre-determined guidelines of Harvard University. Any new indirect benefit plan requires approval by Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates, Inc.'s (the Foundation's) Board of Directors, which then must be reviewed and permitted by the Hospital. Major aspects of the approval process involve: comparing compensation data of physicians within the comparable field of medicine; indirect compensation currently being offered; and the financial stability of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Foundation maintains all financial statements, conflict of interest policies, and governing documents at its main office at 20 Overland Street, Boston, MA 02215. The documents are available upon request.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:The audit process and scope has not changed from the prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Boston Children's Hospital
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042774441HospitalMA501(c)(3)Line 3N/A0
Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115043266103Management servicesMA501(c)(3)Line 12c, III-FIN/A0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd