STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

BRENAU UNIVERSITY INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BRENAU UNIVERSITY INC (EIN 58-0566143)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-03-27
IRS object ID
201800869349300500
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-03-27T05:04:30-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN454084437PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Warren Averett LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Six Concourse Parkway Suite 600AddressLine1Txt
CityAtlantaCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30328ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN580566143EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Brenau University IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBRENBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7705346268PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Washington Street SEAddressLine1Txt
CityGainesvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP305013628ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonToby R HintonPersonNm
Person TitleVP for Financial ServicesPersonTitleTxt
Phone7705346257PhoneNum
Signature2018-03-26SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSusan HillPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00846200PTIN
Phone7703961100PhoneNum
Preparation2018-03-26PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address209.136.244.2IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-03-26IPDt
IP Tm15:43:29IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdC70E3F426783170CBDE098DBA453DC3451340313AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDr Edward L Schrader JPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Washington Street SEAddressLine1Txt
CityGainesvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP305013628ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$65,750,600GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.brenau.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1878FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSee Schedule OActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body25VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent23VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1050TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers275TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,569,915PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,920,993CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$53,493,896PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$55,771,010CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,660,346PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,184,880CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$221,544PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$180,760CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$57,502,613PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$63,696,123CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$9,998,932PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$10,242,294CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,650,631PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,480,684CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$198,039PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$106,875CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$981,051CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$18,964,926PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$22,823,837CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$56,812,528PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$60,653,690CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$690,085PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,042,433CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$115,847,159TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$120,662,720TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$31,428,410TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$30,429,447TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$84,418,749NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$90,233,273NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSee Schedule OMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$17,501,017ExpenseAmt
Grant$9,617,026GrantAmt
Revenue$15,650,765RevenueAmt
DescBrenau University is a private, comprehensive university that includes the Undergraduate Residential School, the Undergraduate Nonresidential School, the Graduate School, and the Early College Program.Each component of the University enhances the others through shared resources, facilities, faculty and cultural opportunities with some limited cross-enrollment opportunities available. However, each unit is defined by distinct characteristics.The Undergraduate Residential School, or Women's College, offers baccalaureate programs, some of which feed into graduate programs, with a multi-discipline liberal arts foundation that enables students to explore general interests as well as pursue specialized studies. Women have opportunities to develop leadership skills in an environment that encourages awareness of and participation in a world characterized by pluralism and to explore and prepare for various career opportunities.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$19,137,892ExpenseAmt
Grant$536,521GrantAmt
Revenue$21,292,473RevenueAmt
DescThe Undergraduate Nonresidential School offers studies leading to associate and baccalaureate degrees and is open to men and women. The programs provide foundations for individual and professional growth and competence.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$13,260,046ExpenseAmt
Grant$78,747GrantAmt
Revenue$17,893,234RevenueAmt
DescThe Graduate School offers studies leading to masters and educational specialist degrees as well as graduate certificates and is open to men and women. The programs encourage students to develop the proficiency and professionalism necessary to meet the challenges inherent in their fields of study.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$3,301,501ExpenseAmt
Grant$10,000GrantAmt
Revenue$934,537RevenueAmt
DescAuxiliary Enterprises - Enrichment programs and other support for the instructional programs of the University.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$3,301,501TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$10,000TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$934,537TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$53,200,456TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgYes (1)MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (1)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (1)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionYes (1)DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document84IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee1050EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns Filed0EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members25GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member23IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Toby R HintonBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7705346257PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Washington Street SEAddressLine1Txt
CityGainesvilleCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP305013628ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Peter D Miller
Chair1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Philip A Wilheit Sr
Vice Chair1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James A Walters
Secretary1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Carole Ann Carter Daniel
Treasurer1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Gale J Allen
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robin Smith Dudley
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathryn Dunlap
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Emilie Henderson Howard
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
M Douglas Ivester
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anna A Jacobs
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Emily Lawson
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Antonina G Lerch
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ben E Lilly
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James E Mathis Jr
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steve P McKibbon
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James H Moore
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Betty Verson Norton
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gary L Riley
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lawrence B Schrage
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Amanda Slavin
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gail A Smith
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mike H Smith
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Shay English Stafford
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bob Swoszowski
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Patricia E Wolfe
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Edward L Schrader Jr
President40.00$1,053,571$0$83,941Yes (X)
Dr David Barnett
Sr. VP & CFO40.00$233,510$0$23,359Yes (X)
Dr Nancy Krippel
Provost & VPAA40.00$200,028$0$34,587Yes (X)
Jack Matthew Thomas
VP for External Relations40.00$167,558$0$35,864Yes (X)
David Morrison
VP Communications & Public40.00$128,268$0$21,248Yes (X)
C Ray Tatum
VP of Enrollment Management40.00$139,480$0$27,310Yes (X)
Kathye Light
Dept Chair - Physical Ther40.00$185,115$0$33,182Yes (X)
Dr Gale H Starich
Dean, School of Health & S40.00$138,161$0$12,912Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,245,691TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$272,403TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Helix Education Inc
PO Box 894Salt Lake CityUT84110Advertising/Recruiting$6,338,669
ARAMARK CORPORATION
1101 Market StreetPhiladelphiaPA191072988MAINTENANCE$1,728,205
Aramark Services Inc
1101 Market StreetPhiladelphiaPA191072988Food service vendor$1,509,626
Carroll Daniel Construction Co
921 Athens St SEGainesvilleGA30501Construction contractors$1,348,322
Aramark Facility Services
1101 Market StreetPhiladelphiaPA191072988Custodial services$771,475
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K32CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$285,887GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$4,635,106AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$609,377NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,920,993TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and fees611710$50,221,556$50,221,556
Sales of auxiliary enterprises611710$5,549,454$5,549,454
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$55,771,010TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,586,243TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,586,243ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$52,887RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$233,647RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$180,760RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$180,760TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$180,760ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,419,467SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,820,830SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$598,637SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$598,637TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$598,637ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$63,696,123TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$55,771,010RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,004,120ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,294,097TotalAmt
Program Services$9,294,097ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$948,197TotalAmt
Program Services$948,197ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,428,528TotalAmt
Program Services$614,964ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,505,035ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$308,529FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,400,804TotalAmt
Program Services$17,409,293ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,676,703ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$314,808FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$876,570TotalAmt
Program Services$778,400ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$69,301ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$28,869FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,216,466TotalAmt
Program Services$2,647,523ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$503,143ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$65,800FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,558,316TotalAmt
Program Services$1,285,612ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$223,328ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$49,376FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$67,165TotalAmt
Management And General$67,165ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$91,130TotalAmt
Management And General$91,130ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$106,875TotalAmt
Fundraising$106,875FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,911TotalAmt
Management And General$42,911ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,695,059TotalAmt
Program Services$2,658,622ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,437ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$379,245TotalAmt
Program Services$373,348ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,897ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,538,530TotalAmt
Program Services$933,999ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$561,205ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$43,326FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$994,312TotalAmt
Program Services$924,637ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$69,675ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$552,405TotalAmt
Program Services$441,001ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$82,299ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$29,105FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,394TotalAmt
Management And General$19,394ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$545,500TotalAmt
Program Services$535,681ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,819ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,414,481TotalAmt
Program Services$2,361,479ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,461ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,541FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$321,024TotalAmt
Program Services$3,500ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$317,524ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Recruiting$6,687,172$6,687,172
Rental$1,669,709$1,669,709
Food and dining service$1,443,207$1,443,207
Operations$861,812$588,949$264,630$8,233

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,500,781TotalAmt
Program Services$1,601,066ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$883,126ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$16,589FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,653,690TotalAmt
Program Services$53,200,456ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,472,183ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$981,051FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,504,098BOYAmt
EOY$1,613,314EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,438,594BOYAmt
EOY$2,464,796EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,393,727BOYAmt
EOY$6,395,786EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,137,133BOYAmt
EOY$3,558,198EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,189BOYAmt
EOY$59,972EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$84,830,307LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$35,820,214LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$48,727,454BOYAmt
EOY$49,010,093EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,037,762BOYAmt
EOY$46,458,238EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,701,756BOYAmt
EOY$2,104,151EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,832,446BOYAmt
EOY$8,998,172EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,847,159BOYAmt
EOY$120,662,720EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,247,263BOYAmt
EOY$3,707,079EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,806,023BOYAmt
EOY$5,188,256EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,717,247BOYAmt
EOY$18,680,445EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,657,877BOYAmt
EOY$2,853,667EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,428,410BOYAmt
EOY$30,429,447EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,680,683BOYAmt
EOY$37,204,939EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,924,290BOYAmt
EOY$20,024,182EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,813,776BOYAmt
EOY$33,004,152EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$84,418,749BOYAmt
EOY$90,233,273EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,847,159BOYAmt
EOY$120,662,720EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,042,433ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$2,660,627NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$111,464OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,647,477CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,787,770CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,560,957CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,569,915CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,920,993CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$19,487,112TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,647,477CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,787,770CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,560,957CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,569,915CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,920,993CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$19,487,112TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$6,529,129SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$12,957,983PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,258,181CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,021,829CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,155,701CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,277,162CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,639,130CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,352,003TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$104,942CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Total$104,942TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$26,944,057TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$254,802,121GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.48090PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.62630PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Revenues Included$259,095RevenuesIncludedAmt
Assets Included$8,574,901AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$38,344,473BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,998,082ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,320,049InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,408,625OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$45,253,979EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$38,670,897BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$916,113ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$265,663InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,508,200OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$38,344,473EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$38,353,646BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$167,632ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,170,319InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,020,700OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$38,670,897EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$32,706,736BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$515,891ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,933,049InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$802,030OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$38,353,646EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$29,323,374BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$383,782ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,670,729InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$671,149OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$32,706,736EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.31720PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.68280TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,444,137OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,444,137BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$57,824,979OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,747,227DepreciationAmt
Book Value$37,077,752BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,909,176OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,381,985DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,527,191BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$16,652,015OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$13,691,002DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,961,013BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$49,010,093TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Works of art$8,574,901
Other assets$423,271
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$8,998,172TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Advances from federal government$156,448
Interest rate swap$73,895
Lease obligations$354,277
Liabilities under deferred comp.$517,564
Liability under remainder trusts$835,412
Refundable advances$916,071
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,853,667TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$56,426,656TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$2,660,627NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$68,553OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,729,180RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$53,697,476RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$9,998,647OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$9,998,647RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$63,696,123TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$50,612,132TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$233,647OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$233,647ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$50,378,485ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$10,275,205OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$10,275,205ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$60,653,690TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part III, Line 4:The University owns approximately 3,151 works of art as follows: Photographs 296 Paintings 1008 Works on paper 1,285 Sculpture (ceramics included) 516 Textile (does not include the Textile Collections) 46 The collection furthers the University's exempt purpose as an educational institution by providing an invaluable educational resource. The collection highlights the notable art trends and focuses on contemporary art and art created by women. The collection helps students broaden their world view by exposing them to a variety of modes of self expression.
Part V, Line 4:The University's endowment consists of 128 donor-restricted funds established for scholarships, building maintenance, and other programs.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Change in split interest agreement -142,743. Valuation adjustment for interest rate swap agreement 254,207. Trust adminstration expenses -42,911.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Financial aid 10,232,294. Direct rental expenses -233,647.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Direct rental expenses 233,647.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Financial aid 10,232,294. Trust administration expenses 42,911.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3The University publishes its nondiscriminatory policy on its website at: http://catalog.brenau.edu/
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6The University receives Federal Student Financial Aid.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
CHINA00PROGRAM SERVICESSTUDY ABROAD AND FOREIGN EXCHANGE$105,041
MEXICO00PROGRAM SERVICESSTUDY ABROAD$7,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$112,041SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$112,041TotalSpentAmt

Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionNorth America - Canada and Mexico, butRegionTxt
Purpose Of GrantEducationalPurposeOfGrantTxt
Cash Grant$10,000CashGrantAmt
Manner Of Cash DisbursementWireMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org0Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (8 entries)

Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxtRegionRegionTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtManner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
Financial assistance/scholarshipsEast Asia and the Pacific28$414,882Posted to student accountFMV
Financial assistance/scholarshipsEurope9$282,408Posted to student accountFMV
Financial assistance/scholarshipsMiddle East and North Africa - Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt,1$19,885Posted to student accountFMV
Financial assistance/scholarshipsNorth America - Canada and Mexico, but3$80,927Posted to student accountFMV
Financial assistance/scholarshipsRussia & the Newly Independent States -1$39,570Posted to student accountFMV
Financial assistance/scholarshipsSouth America1$36,570Posted to student accountFMV
Financial assistance/scholarshipsSouth Asia1$39,670Posted to student accountFMV
Financial assistance/scholarshipsSub-Saharan Africa2$24,285Posted to student accountFMV
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe grants reported in Part III are scholarships to students. The use of scholarships is controlled by applying such amounts directly against balances owed by the student for tuition, fees and other qualifying educational expenses.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
Phone SolicitationsYes (X)PhoneSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Solicitation Of Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (1)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdActivityActivityTxtFundraiser Control Of FundsFundraiserControlOfFundsIndGross ReceiptsGrossReceiptsAmtRetained By ContractorRetainedByContractorAmtNet To OrganizationNetToOrganizationAmt
Dr John S Burd
2900 Club PlaceGainesvilleGA30506Consultant/Contractor soliciting gifts of art0$249,595$22,096$227,499
Coxe Curry & Associates
191 Peachtree Street NEAtlantaGA30303Consultant for Capital Campaign0$0$84,779-$84,779
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Gross Receipts$249,595TotalGrossReceiptsAmt
Total Retained By Contractors$106,875TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Total Net To Organization$142,720TotalNetToOrganizationAmt
Licensed StatesGALicensedStatesCd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule G, Part I, Line 2b, Column (v)FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe University is exempt for registration in the State of Georgia. .LIST 88 _ 1 gj - 01/18/16 12:25PM Interview Form 990G-1ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarships and Financial aidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient2710RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$9,294,097CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe University's financial aid department monitors and maintains records regarding all financial aid awards.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Dr Edward L Schrader Jr
President$273,064$0$133,000$0$647,507$0$61,392$0$22,549$0$1,137,512$0$498,594$0
Dr David Barnett
Sr. VP & CFO$180,117$0$40,000$0$13,393$0$13,994$0$9,365$0$256,869$0$0$0
Dr Nancy Krippel
Provost & VPAA$169,869$0$20,000$0$10,159$0$23,966$0$10,621$0$234,615$0$0$0
Jack Matthew Thomas
VP for External Relations$140,961$0$25,000$0$1,597$0$12,208$0$23,656$0$203,422$0$0$0
C Ray Tatum
VP of Enrollment Management$123,661$0$12,150$0$3,669$0$6,673$0$20,637$0$166,790$0$0$0
Kathye Light
Dept Chair - Physical Ther$177,467$0$0$0$7,648$0$14,816$0$18,366$0$218,297$0$0$0
Dr Gale H Starich
Dean, School of Health & S$121,021$0$0$0$17,140$0$1,248$0$11,664$0$151,073$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aPart I, line 1a: First class travel - The University provides first class travel when the President travels. Part I, line 1a: Travel for companions - The University pays for the President's wife to travel with him. Tax indemnification and gross-up payments - The University's President received tax gross-up payments included as compensation in taxable income. Part I, line 1a: Discretionary spending account - The University's President received a discretionary spending allowance that is reported in taxable income. Part I, line 1a: Housing allowance or residence for personal use - The President is provided with a housing allowance that is reported in taxable income. Part I, line 1a: Social club dues - The University pays dues on behalf of the President. Part I, line 1a: Personal services - Cleaning services and lawn maintenance are provided for the University's President's personal residence. The value of this benefit is included in taxable income.
Part I, Line 4bThe University contributed 37,503 to a 457(f) for the President of the University.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
Gainesville Redevelopment Authority
A5815202092013-02-01$13,500,000Refinance Series 1999 Bonds and fund renovation of Downtown Center000
Gainesville and Hall County Redevelopment Authority
B5815018262014-06-06$7,900,000Acquisition, constructions and installation of campus facilities000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$3,499,988$13,500,000$76,728$3,123,272$10,300,000Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$428,315$7,900,000$52,950$7,847,09200Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A000000Yes (1)
B000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndBusiness Name Line2HedgeProviderName/BusinessNameLine2TxtTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
Branch Banking &
A0000Yes (1)Yes (1)Trust Company8.00000000000000000
(no name)
B000000000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
A0
B0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDr Gale H StarichPersonNm
Relationship With OrgDean of Graduate School and College of Health SciencesRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeEmployee debtLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$140,226OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$59,972BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$59,972TotalBalanceDueAmt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (5 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Featherbone Center LLC
Trustees Philip A. Wilheit & James A. Walters are partners in Featherbone$466,158The University entered into a 57,776 square foot operating lease for its nursing facility,dance classroom space and occupational therapy facilities. An extensive search based on cost, suitability, and proximity to the main campus was made before selecting the property at the Featherbone Center. Mr. Walters and Mr. Wilheit abstained from voting.0
Dr Edward L Schrader Jr
University President$0The University has a 31.7 percent ownership interest in the home of the University President. Upon sale of the home the University will receive a return of its investment of 226,500 plus 31.7 percent of the increase in the value of the home.0
Carroll Daniel Construction Company
Trustee Carole Ann Daniel is employed by & has ownership in Company$1,348,322The University entered into construction contracts with this family owned business. Ms. Daniel is the Vice President and has an ownership interest in the company. Competitive bids were taken to ensure fees are reasonable.0
Mrs Myra L Schrader
University President is married to Myra L. Schrader$10,000The University compensates the President's spouse, Myra Schrader, for her services to the University in hosting numerous business and social events annually with a net contribution to her TIAA-CREF retirement account during the time Dr. Schrader is serving as President of the University.0
Norton Agency
Trustees Frank and Betty Norton have ownership in Company$409,729The University purchases general insurance from the Company. The Trustees have an ownership interest in the Company. Competitive bids were taken to ensure fees are reasonable.0

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution7ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$259,095NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFair market valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$8,058NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFair market valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Other RealEstateOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$250,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAPPRAISALMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (2 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)Miscellaneous56$78,471Fair Market Value
Yes (X)Lawn Care Products5$13,753Fair Market Value
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 32b:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe University uses the President Emeritus as an outside contractor to solicit gifts of art, and uses investment brokers to sell gifts of stock.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part I, Line 1Brenau University challenges students to live extraordinary lives of personal and professional fulfillment. As students pursue undergraduate and graduate degrees or non-degree programs at Brenau campuses and online, each prepares for a lifetime of intellectual accomplishment and appreciation of artistic expression through a curriculum enriched by the liberal arts, scientific inquiry and global awareness.
Form 990, Part III, Line 1, Description of Organization Mission:Brenau University challenges students to live extraordinary lives of personal and professional fulfillment. As students pursue undergraduate and graduate degrees or non-degree programs at Brenau campuses and online, each prepares for a lifetime of intellectual accomplishment and appreciation of artistic expression through a curriculum enriched by the liberal arts, scientific inquiry and global awareness.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The Executive Committee is composed of the Chairman, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and the Chairs of the Finance, External Relations, Facilities, Audit, Healthcare Education, Trusteeship, and Compensation Committees. The Executive Committee can act on behalf of the Board in all matters with respect to the affairs of the University when the Board of Trustees is not in session.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2Two University Trustees are members of a limited liability company that leases educational facilities to the University. See Schedule L.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 is reviewed by the Finance Committee of the Board of Trustees and made available online to the full board for review prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cTrustees and officers are required to disclose annually any potential conflicts of interest which are reviewed and monitored by the University.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Compensation Committee of the Board of Trustees reviews comparability data supplied by a consultant to determine compensation of the President. The President uses comparability data to determine recommended compensation of top management and key employees to the Compensation Committee.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 18The University's federal filings are available upon request.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The University's governing documents are available upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Changes in split interest agreement -142,743. Valuation adjustment for interest rate swap 254,207.