WEST FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSO INC: Form 990, tax year 2017
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- WEST FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSO INC (EIN 59-0504115)
- Tax period
- 2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
- Filed
- 2018-10-24
- IRS object ID
- 201812979349300741
- Schema version
- 2017v2.3
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2018-10-24T12:46:49-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2017-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 721396621 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CARR RIGGS & INGRAM LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1117 BOLL WEEVIL CIRCLE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ENTERPRISE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | AL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 36330 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2017-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 590504115 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WEST FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | ASSOCIATION INC | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | WEST | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8502633231 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 127 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | GRACEVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 32440 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | RUSSELL L DUNAWAY | PersonNm |
| Person Title | EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT AND CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8502633231 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2018-09-25 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | HILTON GALLOWAY | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00964983 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3343470088 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2018-09-25 | PreparationDt |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 198.73.26.130 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2018-09-25 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 13:34:37 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | CD | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | DA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 656EC0ADFC79B72E610A27679372F67A64A362E5 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2017 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2018-06-14 16:35:46Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | RUSSELL L DUNAWAY | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 127 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | GRACEVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 32440 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $59,202,309 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.WFECA.COM | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1937 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | FL | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | WEST FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION, INC. IS IN BUSINESS TO PROVIDE ITS MEMBERS WITH A RELIABLE SOURCE OF ELECTRICITY AND OTHER RELATED, SELF-SUSTAINING SERVICES AT THE LOWEST POSSIBLE COST CONSISTENT WITH ITS EXTERNAL FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS AND SOUND MANAGEMENT PRACTICES. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 108 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $356,406 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | -$42,367 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $58,507,376 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $57,911,151 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $102,232 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $153,225 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $1,036,292 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $1,137,933 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $59,645,900 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $59,202,309 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,049,390 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,154,395 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $54,522,606 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $54,702,200 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $56,571,996 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $56,856,595 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $3,073,904 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,345,714 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $120,758,814 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $124,384,442 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $57,159,705 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $58,785,127 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $63,599,109 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $65,599,315 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | WEST FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION, INC. IS IN BUSINESS TO PROVIDE ITS MEMBERS WITH A RELIABLE SOURCE OF ELECTRICITY AND OTHER RELATED, SELF-SUSTAINING SERVICES AT THE LOWEST POSSIBLE COST CONSISTENT WITH ITS EXTERNAL FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS AND SOUND MANAGEMENT PRACTICES. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $52,981,574 | ExpenseAmt |
| Desc | PROVIDING ELECTRICITY TO MEMBERS | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $52,981,574 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (1) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 247 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 108 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Members And Shr Gross Income | $57,911,151 | MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt |
| Other Sources Gross Income | $892,385 | OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | RUSSELL DUNAWAY | PersonNm |
| Phone | 8502633231 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 127 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | GRACEVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 32440 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AC MILES | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOHN W ADAMS | |||||||
| SECRETARY-TREASURER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $17,750 | $0 | $0 | ||
| EUGENE ALFORD | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $1,100 | $0 | $0 | ||
| GEORGE OWENS | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $18,450 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOHN C PATRICK SR | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $16,700 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOE RONE | |||||||
| PRESIDENT | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $16,700 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MYRON HUDSON | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $18,450 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ELLIS NICHOLS | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $10,650 | $24,260 | $0 | ||
| TIM ALFORD | |||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $10,800 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JAMES T PEEL | |||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | 40.00 | $160,794 | $0 | $28,259 | Yes (X) | ||
| RUSSELL DUNAWAY | |||||||
| CEO | 40.00 | $167,231 | $21,928 | $62,709 | Yes (X) | ||
| KEITH VARNUM | |||||||
| MANAGER - ENGINEERING | 40.00 | $114,825 | $0 | $95,068 | Yes (X) | ||
| MARIE ASHWORTH | |||||||
| CFO | 40.00 | $115,584 | $0 | $88,584 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $669,034 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $46,188 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $274,620 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT CO | |||||
| 708 BLAIR MILL ROAD | WILLOW GRAVE | PA | 19090 | RIGHT OF WAY SERVICES | $1,667,629 |
| PIKE ELECTRIC LLC | |||||
| P O BOX 1000 | MEMPHIS | TN | 38148 | CONSTRUCTION | $518,425 |
| ABC PROFESSIONAL TREE SERVICE | |||||
| 201 FLINT RIDGE RD | WEBSTER | TX | 77598 | RIGHT OF WAY SERVICES | $159,790 |
| OSMOSE WOOD PRESERVING | |||||
| DEPT NO 560 P O BOX 8000 | BUFFALO | NY | 14267 | WOOD PRESERVING | $113,576 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | ELECTRIC SALES | Desc |
| Business | 221000 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $57,911,151 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $57,911,151 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $57,911,151 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $153,225 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $153,225 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| G&T AND OTHER CAPITAL CREDITS | 221000 | $781,527 | $781,527 | |
| NON UTILITY OPERATIONS | 900099 | $356,406 | $356,406 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $1,137,933 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $59,202,309 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $58,845,903 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $356,406 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,488,711 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,488,711 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $665,684 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $665,684 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $101,248 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $101,248 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $711,476 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $711,476 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $74,896 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $74,896 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $65,957 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $65,957 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,973,288 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,973,288 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,166,017 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,166,017 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| COST OF POWER | $37,011,276 | $37,011,276 |
| DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE - | $3,361,406 | $3,361,406 |
| DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE - | $2,734,028 | $2,734,028 |
| CONSUMER ACCOUNT EXPENS | $1,830,314 | $1,830,314 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,672,294 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,905,245 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $767,049 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $56,856,595 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $52,981,574 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,875,021 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,886,637 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,044,737 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,655,766 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,313,696 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,091,612 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,925,736 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $251,693 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $52,965 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $128,796,693 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $40,573,308 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $85,646,775 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $88,223,385 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $23,087,433 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,697,026 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,138,898 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,126,897 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $120,758,814 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $124,384,442 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,998,687 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,534,827 | EOYAmt |
Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $500,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $500,000 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $49,354,870 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $50,293,156 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,306,148 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,457,144 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $57,159,705 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $58,785,127 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $142,735 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $142,385 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $63,456,374 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $65,456,930 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $63,599,109 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $65,599,315 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $120,758,814 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $124,384,442 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $2,345,714 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$345,508 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $107,212 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $107,212 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $4,728,121 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $4,728,121 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $122,566,172 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $40,573,308 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $81,992,864 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,395,188 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $1,395,188 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $88,223,385 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | INVESTMENTS IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS | Desc |
| Book Value | $23,697,026 | BookValueAmt |
| Method Valuation | C | MethodValuationCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $23,697,026 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| DEFERRED COMPENSATION | $761,179 |
| CONSUMER DEPOSITS | $1,370,456 |
| DEFERRED CREDITS | $325,509 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $2,457,144 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $59,202,309 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $59,202,309 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $59,202,309 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $57,255,368 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $398,773 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $398,773 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $56,856,595 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $56,856,595 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE ON ANY INCOME RELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE. THE COOPERATIVE INCURS UNRELATED BUSINESS TAXABLE INCOME (UBTI) UNDER THE CODE ON CERTAIN REVENUE STREAMS. THERE ARE NO PROVISIONS FOR INCOME TAXES FOR 2017 OR 2016. THE COOPERATIVE HAS A NET OPERATING LOSS CARRYFORWARD OF $475,655 TO OFFSET FUTURE TAXABLE INCOME AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2017. THE COOPERATIVE UTILIZES THE ACCOUNTING GUIDANCE FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES USING THE PROVISION OF FASB ASC 740, INCOME TAXES. USING THAT GUIDANCE, TAX POSITIONS INITIALLY NEED TO BE RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS WHEN IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THE POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE TAXING AUTHORITIES. SUCH TAX POSITIONS INITIALLY AND SUBSEQUENTLY NEED TO BE MEASURED AS THE LARGEST AMOUNT OF TAX BENEFIT THAT HAS A GREATER THAN 50% LIKELIHOOD OF BEING REALIZED UPON ULTIMATE SETTLEMENT WITH THE TAXING AUTHORITY ASSUMING FULL KNOWLEDGE OF THE POSITION AND RELEVANT FACTS. THE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES THAT IT HAS APPROPRIATE SUPPORT FOR THE INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN AND TO BE TAKEN ON ITS TAX RETURNS AND THAT ITS ACCRUALS FOR TAX LIABILITIES, IF ANY, ARE ADEQUATE FOR ALL OPEN TAX YEARS (AFTER 2011 FOR FEDERAL AND STATE) BASED ON AN ASSESSMENT OF MANY FACTORS INCLUDING EXPERIENCE AND INTERPRETATIONS OF TAX LAWS APPLIED TO THE FACTS OF EACH MATTER. THE COOPERATIVE EVALUATED ITS INCOME TAX POSITIONS ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THERE ARE NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AT DECEMBER 31, 2017 AND 2016 THAT MEET THE CRITERIA FOR RECOGNITION IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COOPERATIVE WOULD RECOGNIZE FUTURE ACCRUED INTEREST AND PENALTIES RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX POSITIONS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IF INCURRED. GENERALLY, THE COOPERATIVE IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO FEDERAL TAX EXAMINATIONS BY TAX AUTHORITIES FOR TAX PERIODS BEFORE 2014. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | NON UTILITY OPERATIONS EXPENSES REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 398,773. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JAMES T PEEL | ||||||||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | $160,794 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $22,583 | $0 | $5,676 | $0 | $189,053 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| RUSSELL DUNAWAY | ||||||||||||||
| CEO | $167,231 | $21,928 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $49,950 | $0 | $12,759 | $0 | $229,940 | $21,928 | $0 | $0 |
| KEITH VARNUM | ||||||||||||||
| MANAGER - ENGINEERING | $114,825 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $81,892 | $0 | $13,176 | $0 | $209,893 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MARIE ASHWORTH | ||||||||||||||
| CFO | $115,584 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $75,408 | $0 | $13,176 | $0 | $204,168 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | WEST FLORIDA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION, INC., IS A MEMBER-OWNED, NON-PROFIT ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCORPORATED IN 1937 UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF THE RURAL ELECTRIFICATION ADMINISTRATION ACT TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY AND OTHER SERVICES TO ITS MEMBERSHIP. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | THE BYLAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDE FOR NINE MEMBERS TO MAKE UP ITS BOARD OF TRUSTEES REPRESENTING A CROSS-SECTION OF ITS MEMBERSHIP. EACH OF THE NINE DISTRICTS ARE REPRESENTED BY A MEMBER-ELECTED TRUSTEE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE COMPLETED FORM 990 IS REVIEWED FOR ACCURACY BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, THEN PRESENTED TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR APPROVAL BEFORE BEING EXECUTED AND FILED EACH YEAR. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | EACH YEAR BOARD MEMBERS ARE REQUIRED TO CERTIFY THEY DO NO HAVE A CONFLICT. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | CEO SALARY IS SET BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES BASED ON COMPENSATION SURVEYS FOR ELECTRIC CO-OPS OF SIMILAR SIZE. CEO SETS SALARY FOR KEY EMPLOYEES BASED ON COMPENSATION SURVEY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE DISTRIBUTED AT THE ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | OTHER INCREASES 53,265. NON UTILITY OPERATIONS EXPENSES -398,773. |