STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

ST MARY'S BANK CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ST MARY'S BANK CREDIT UNION (EIN 02-0187390)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-10-26
IRS object ID
201812999349301461
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-10-26T14:40:15-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN390758449PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WIPFLI LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line130 LONG CREEK DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CitySOUTH PORTLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04106ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN020187390EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ST MARY'S BANK CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSTMABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6036694600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 990AddressLine1Txt
CityMANCHESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03105ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonROBERT A DESMEULESPersonNm
Person TitleCFO & TREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone6036694600PhoneNum
Signature2018-10-19SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonALISON HERRICKPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01268903PTIN
Phone2077745701PhoneNum
Preparation2018-10-19PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address66.186.191.122IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-10-19IPDt
IP Tm15:32:38IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id73EA22D443C915D57CDC8816F95B5C158DF4318DAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id84A036BCD2E026D9F28A709FC8E8904A9A527089AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2018-06-14 16:35:46ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRONALD COVEYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 990AddressLine1Txt
CityMANCHESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03105ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$149,128,176GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.STMARYSBANK.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1908FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDE MEMBERS WITH SAVINGS AND LOAN SERVICES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee287TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$603,551TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$132,684NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$39,286,763PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$41,376,140CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,935,176PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,474,178CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$43,221,939PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$44,850,318CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$124,105PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$176,631CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$3,674,367PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$3,987,032CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,359,288PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,557,795CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$19,357,227PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$19,879,647CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$39,514,987PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$40,601,105CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,706,952PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$4,249,213CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$960,178,956TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$988,973,237TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$895,515,895TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$919,532,120TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$64,663,061NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$69,441,117NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionPROVIDE MEMBERS WITH SAVINGS AND LOAN SERVICES TO EFFECTIVELY SERVE OUR MEMBERS BY PROVIDING TRUSTED ETHICAL ADVICE THAT HELPS MEMBERS ACHIEVE THEIR FINANCIAL GOALS, A FULL ARRAY OF FINANCIAL SERVICES THAT OFFER REAL ECONOMIC VALUE, AND BEST IN THE MARKET SERVICE THAT RESULTS IN LONG-TERM LOYALTY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTHE CREDIT UNION HAS 101,501 MEMBERS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2017. MEMBERS HAVE ACCESS TO A WIDE VARIETY OF LOW-COST, HIGH-QUALITY SERVICES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescST. MARY'S BANK IS COMMITTED TO THE CREDIT UNION PHILOSOPHY OF "PEOPLE HELPING PEOPLE." WE DEDICATE RESOURCES TO THE COMMUNITIES WE SERVE AND PROVIDE OPPORTUNITIES FOR INDIVIDUALS AND FAMILIES, ESPECIALLY THOSE OF MODEST MEANS, SO THAT ALL MAY IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF THEIR LIVES.ST. MARY'S BANK'S CHARITABLE GIVING THEME IS CHILDREN, FAMILIES AND INDIVIDUALS IN NEED. ST. MARY'S BANK PROACTIVELY SUPPORTS THE COMMUNITIES IT SERVES THROUGH A NUMBER OF PROGRAMS AND INITIATIVES WITH THE COMMITMENT OF MONETARY AND NON-MONETARY RESOURCES. ST. MARY'S SUPPORTS MANY NON-PROFIT AND SOCIAL SERVICE AGENCIES THROUGH DONATIONS AND SPONSORSHIPS. IN 2017, ST. MARY'S BANK SUPPORTED 132 ORGANIZATIONS THROUGH DONATIONS AND SPONSORSHIPS FOR A TOTAL OF $181,520.IN 2017 ST. MARY'S ALSO HAD A FORMAL COMMUNITY OUTREACH PROGRAM THAT IS DELIVERED THROUGH PARTNERSHIPS WITH LOCAL NON-PROFIT AND SOCIAL SERVICES AGENCIES. IN 2017, ST. MARY'S AWARDED FIVE (5) GRANTS FROM THE "1908 FUND" TOTALING $9,500 TO NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS TO FOCUS FINANCIAL INDEPENDENCE. IN ADDITION, ST. MARY'S AWARDED $7,500 IN COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIPS TO OUR MEMBERS.THE TWO ST. MARY'S BANK MEDALLION SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS - ST. MARY'S BANK MEDALLION FUND AND ARMAND LEMIRE MEDALLION FUND RESPECTIVELY. THESE FUNDS ARE ADMINISTERED BY THE NH CHARITABLE FOUNDATION AND INTENDED TO ASSIST MEMBERS ENROLLING IN ACCREDITED VOCATIONAL OR TECHNICAL PROGRAMS. IN 2017, A TOTAL OF FOUR (4) SCHOLARSHIPS FOR A TOTAL OF $6,250 WERE AWARDED. IN ADDITION, LAST YEAR OUR EMPLOYEES COLLECTIVELY VOLUNTEERED APPROXIMATELY 1,893 HOURS (FOR A VOLUNTEER WORTH OF $44,600 BASED ON WWW.INDEPENDENTSECTOR.ORG) OF THEIR TIME BY SERVING ON BOARDS OF NON-PROFITS AND VOLUNTEERING FOR VARIOUS COMMUNITY RELATED EVENTS. ST. MARY'S ALSO ALLOWS NON-PROFIT PARTNERS TO USE MEETING SPACE AT THE OPERATIONS & EDUCATION CENTER FREE OF CHARGE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescST. MARY'S BANK PARTICIPATES WITH A NUMBER OF LENDER ORGANIZATIONS OFFERING HOMEOWNERSHIP PROGRAMS THAT ASSISTS THE UNDER-SERVED INCLUDING; FHA, VA, USDA-RD, NHHFA, FNMA-MY COMMUNITY, FNMA-ROC, AND FNMA-HARP. ST. MARY'S BANK ALSO OFFERS PORTFOLIO FINANCING OPTIONS AND IN 2017 CONTINUED ITS "WELCOME HOME FIRST-TIME HOMEBUYER PROGRAM" PROGRAM.ST. MARY'S WELCOME HOME PROGRAM IS DESIGNED TO HELP BORROWERS BETTER UNDERSTAND THEIR OVERALL CREDIT, DETERMINE HOW MUCH HOUSE THEY CAN AFFORD, CHOOSE THE RIGHT MORTGAGE AND AVOID POTENTIAL PITFALLS. AS IMPORTANT, THE PROGRAM OFFERS REAL MONETARY BENEFITS INCLUDING: -REDUCED INTERIM RATE CAP -MORTGAGE INSURANCE PREMIUM REDUCTION -ACCESS TO A FULL-RANGE OF ONLINE RESEARCH TOOLS -ACCESS TO FREE HOMEBUYER EDUCATIONIN ADDITION TO IDENTIFYING LENDING OPPORTUNITIES FOR FIRST-TIME HOMEBUYERS, WE WILL ALSO CONTINUE TO FOCUS ON LENDING TO INCOME-ELIGIBLE FAMILIES. MORE SPECIFICALLY, LENDING TO FAMILIES WHOSE HOUSEHOLD INCOME IS AT OR BELOW 115% OF THE AREA MEDIAN FAMILY INCOME (DEFINED AND PUBLISHED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT).Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document20735IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee287EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ROBERT DESMEULESBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6036694600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 MCGREGOR STAddressLine1Txt
CityMANCHESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03101ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
GUY D CHAPDELAINE
VICE CHAIRMAN3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$6,150$0$0
DANIEL J HEALY
CHAIRMAN3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$3,750$0$0
DAVID H BELLMAN
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$3,800$0$0
GINA M BALKUS
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$3,500$0$0
JOSEPH G FREMEAU
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$3,250$0$0
RONALD J RIOUX
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$6,150$0$0
STEPHEN J GRZYWACZ
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$6,150$0$0
SUZANNE I VACHON
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$6,150$0$0
ELIZABETH HITCHCOCK
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$4,650$0$0
RONALD COVEY JR
CEO40.00Yes (X)$496,909$0$22,069
ROBERT DESMEULES
CFO & TREASURER40.00Yes (X)$216,023$0$11,124
JUDY LECLERC
SR. RESIDENTIAL LOAN OFFICER40.00$231,209$0$19,972Yes (X)
IAN LUCY
EXEC. DIRECTOR OF OPS AND IT40.00$338,947$0$19,578Yes (X)
DONALD ST GERMAIN
CHIEF LENDING OFFICER40.00$217,065$0$19,052Yes (X)
KENNETH SENUS
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER40.00$169,258$0$22,156Yes (X)
SUNSHINE VOISINE
RESIDENTIAL LOAN ORIG40.00$175,950$0$5,481Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,888,911TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$119,432TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K20IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CU COOPERATIVE SYSTEMS INC
9692 HAVEN AVERANCHO CUCAMONGACA02920ATM NETWORK$583,106
TOTAL SYSTEM SERVICES INC
PO BOX 2506COLUMBUSGA31902CREDIT CARD PROCESSING$418,320
SYNERGENT
PO BOX 1236PORTLANDME04104STATEMENT SERVICES AND POSTAGE$342,755
ARKATECHTURE
433 US RTE ONE STE 206YORKME03909DATA WAREHOUSE REPORTING$287,569
BIRCHWOOD CREDIT SERVICES INC
PO BOX 266391WESTONFL33326CREDIT REPORTING/UNDERWRITING$150,871
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K14CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
LOAN INCOME FROM MEMBERS522100$30,357,036$30,357,036
SERVICE CHARGES522100$8,691,075$8,186,351$504,724
OTHER OPERATING INCOME522100$2,328,029$2,328,029
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$41,376,140TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,335,810TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$98,827UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,236,983ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$104,040,490SecuritiesAmt
Other$2,375,736OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$101,571,271SecuritiesAmt
Other$2,706,587OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,469,219SecuritiesAmt
Other-$330,851OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,138,368TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,138,368ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$44,850,318TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$40,871,416RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$603,551UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,375,351ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$176,631TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,987,032TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$789,675TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,894,289TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,291,013TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,587,548TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$995,270TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,671TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$416,355TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$438,296TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$857,708TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$677,996TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,468,513TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$144,711TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$71,735TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$949,669TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,011,925TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$156,103TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$4,482,434
OTHER EQUIPMENT$2,685,356
DEBIT CARD EXPENSE$1,059,359
CREDIT BUREAU/UNDERWRIT$486,713

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,919,103TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,601,105TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,405,869BOYAmt
EOY$4,191,890EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,029,235BOYAmt
EOY$53,026,512EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,042,038BOYAmt
EOY$2,317,629EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$807,435,005BOYAmt
EOY$850,680,130EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,385,275BOYAmt
EOY$1,241,679EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$35,814,761LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$13,519,313LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,677,250BOYAmt
EOY$22,295,448EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,301,094BOYAmt
EOY$18,725,202EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,517,600BOYAmt
EOY$3,130,000EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,385,590BOYAmt
EOY$33,364,747EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$960,178,956BOYAmt
EOY$988,973,237EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$209,713BOYAmt
EOY$190,269EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$591,008BOYAmt
EOY$547,067EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,300,000BOYAmt
EOY$48,300,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$856,415,174BOYAmt
EOY$870,494,784EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$895,515,895BOYAmt
EOY$919,532,120EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,663,061BOYAmt
EOY$69,441,117EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,663,061BOYAmt
EOY$69,441,117EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$960,178,956BOYAmt
EOY$988,973,237EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$4,249,213ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$118,975NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$4PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$409,864OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$612,760OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$612,760BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,749,718OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,638,831DepreciationAmt
Book Value$16,110,887BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,429,830OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,858,029DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,571,801BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$22,453OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$22,453DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$22,295,448TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
MEMBERS' SHARES$856,510,300
OTHER LIABILITIES$13,984,484
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$870,494,784TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$44,090,521TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$44,090,521RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$759,797OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$759,797RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$44,850,318TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$39,841,308TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$39,841,308ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$759,797OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$759,797ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$40,601,105TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:THE CREDIT UNION HOLDS FUNDS IN ESCROW FOR ITS MORTGAGE LOANS TO PAY TAXES AND INSURANCE ON BEHALF OF THE MEMBER.
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES. HOWEVER, THE CREDIT UNION MAY BE SUBJECT TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX (UBIT). THERE WAS NO UBIT EXPENSE FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2017 AND 2016; HOWEVER, THE CREDIT UNION MAY BE SUBJECT TO UBIT AS FURTHER DISCUSSED IN NOTE 9. FASB HAS GUIDANCE ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES. MANAGEMENT EVALUATED THE CREDIT UNION'S TAX POSITIONS AND CONCLUDED THAT THE CREDIT UNION HAS TAKEN NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT REQUIRE ADJUSTMENT TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO COMPLY WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THIS GUIDANCE. THE CREDIT UNION FILES FORM 990 AND FORM 990T IN THE U.S. FEDERAL JURISDICTION. WITH FEW EXCEPTIONS, THE CREDIT UNION IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) FOR YEARS BEFORE 2013.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:OMSR EXPENSES 686,515. ORIGINATION FEES 73,282.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:OMSR EXPENSES 686,515. ORIGINATION FEES 73,282.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (7 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
BOYS & GIRLS CLUB OF MANCHESTER
555 UNION STREETMANCHESTERNH03104020226033501(C)(3)$15,000CHARITABLE SUPPORT
CATHOLIC MEDICAL CENTER
100 MCGREGOR STREETMANCHESTERNH031023770020315693501(C)(3)$6,200CHARITABLE SUPPORT
EASTER SEALS NH
555 AUBURN STREETMANCHESTERNH03103020272825501(C)(3)$5,700CHARITABLE SUPPORT
GRANITE UNITED WAY
22 CONCORD STREET FLOOR 2MANCHESTERNH03101026006033501(C)(3)$32,000CHARITABLE SUPPORT
MANCHESTER HISTORICAL SOCIETY
129 AMHERST STREETMANCHESTERNH03101020223390501(C)(3)$7,500CHARITABLE SUPPORT
NH INSTITUTE OF ART
148 CONCORD STREETMANCHESTERNH03104020222154501(C)(3)$6,000CHARITABLE SUPPORT
NH VETERANS CEMETARY ASSOCIATES
PO BOX 626CONCORDNH03302020519618501(C)(3)$10,000CHARITABLE SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org7Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION ENSURES THAT THE RECIPIENT ORGANIZATION IS A QUALIFIED SECTION 501(C)(3) PUBLIC CHARITY AND NO GRANT MONITORING IS DEEMED NECESSARY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
RONALD COVEY JR
CEO$364,786$0$99,841$0$32,282$0$4,050$0$18,019$0$518,978$0$0$0
ROBERT DESMEULES
CFO & TREASURER$180,598$0$31,775$0$3,650$0$3,267$0$7,857$0$227,147$0$0$0
JUDY LECLERC
SR. RESIDENTIAL LOAN OFFICER$67,861$0$136,942$0$26,406$0$3,552$0$16,420$0$251,181$0$0$0
IAN LUCY
EXEC. DIRECTOR OF OPS AND IT$246,378$0$81,664$0$10,905$0$4,050$0$15,528$0$358,525$0$0$0
DONALD ST GERMAIN
CHIEF LENDING OFFICER$183,906$0$31,482$0$1,677$0$3,322$0$15,730$0$236,117$0$0$0
KENNETH SENUS
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER$163,308$0$0$0$5,950$0$2,656$0$19,500$0$191,414$0$0$0
SUNSHINE VOISINE
RESIDENTIAL LOAN ORIG$34,829$0$137,866$0$3,255$0$2,681$0$2,800$0$181,431$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CREDIT UNION'S MEMBERS HAVE RIGHTS TO ELECT THE MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY. DIVIDENDS ON MEMBERS' SHARES ARE BASED ON AVAILABLE EARNINGS AT THE END OF A DIVIDEND PERIOD AND ARE NOT GUARANTEED BY THE CREDIT UNION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT ONE OR MORE MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BODY, WHETHER PERIODICALLY, OR AS VACANCIES ARISE, OR OTHERWISE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE CFO/TREASURER WILL REVIEW FORM 990 FOR ACCURACY AND REASONABLENESS. THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE WILL REVIEW AND APPROVE THE FORM 990 AND THEN PROVIDE A COPY TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THEIR REVIEW, PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CNEW EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEY HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND THIS POLICY. AS UPDATES TO THE POLICY OCCUR, ALL SMB EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEY HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND THE REVISED POLICY AS APPLICABLE. IN ADDITION, THE DIRECTOR OF HR SENDS OUT AN ANNUAL "ALL EMPLOYEE" COMMUNICATION REMINDING EMPLOYEES TO USE THE REVIEW PROCESS FOR ANY SITUATIONS THAT MIGHT BE PERCEIVED AS QUESTIONABLE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15SMB USES A THIRD PARTY VENDOR APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS TO SET MARKET BASED SALARY RANGES FOR EACH POSITION IN THE CREDIT UNION. THE VENDOR ALSO MAKES RECOMMENDATIONS REGARDING ANNUAL MARKET INCREASES EACH YEAR. SMB'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPROVES SALARY RANGES FOR EACH YEAR. THE BOARD ALSO APPROVES THE BUDGET WHICH CONTAINS MERIT INCREASES FOR EACH YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR ST. MARY'S BANK CREDIT UNION ARE DISTRIBUTED TO ALL MEMBERS WHO ATTEND THE ANNUAL MEETING AND ALSO MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON WRITTEN REQUEST. THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. ALL REQUESTS FOR THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE REFERRED TO THE MARKETING DEPARTMENT TO ASSESS ANY POTENTIAL PUBLIC RELATIONS ISSUES.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:NET DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION COSTS ADJUSTMENT 409,864.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RIVERSIDE FINANCIAL SERVICES INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 MCGREGOR STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMANCHESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN020419388EIN
Primary ActivitiesINACTIVEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNHLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ST MARY'S BANK CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd