STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

CONCORDIA UNIVERSITY ST PAUL: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CONCORDIA UNIVERSITY ST PAUL (EIN 41-0696906)
Tax period
2024-07-01 to 2025-06-30
Filed
2025-10-09
IRS object ID
202542829349301879
Schema version
2024v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-10-09T11:08:07-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN410696906EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CONCORDIA UNIVERSITY ST PAULBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCONCBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6516418811PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11282 CONCORDIA AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityST PAULCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP551045494ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMichael DornerPersonNm
Person TitleVice President - FinancePersonTitleTxt
Phone6516418811PhoneNum
Signature2025-10-15SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBrian FriedrichPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11282 Concordia AveAddressLine1Txt
CitySt PaulCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55104ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$123,729,019GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption1709GroupExemptionNum
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.csp.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1955FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or Missionprivate, post-secondary higher education on the undergraduate and graduate levelsActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body17VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent17VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1327TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers5TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$1,442,557TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$402,432NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$7,806,360PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$12,606,324CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$101,635,884PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$107,952,002CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,808,325PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,606,965CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$569,648PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$563,728CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$112,820,217PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$123,729,019CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$16,399,123PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$18,788,434CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$35,283,596PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$37,581,823CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$192,751PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$134,530CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,001,842CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$55,525,363PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$61,750,999CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$107,400,833PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$118,255,786CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,419,384PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$5,473,233CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$182,392,091TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$197,678,001TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$23,336,581TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$27,364,901TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$159,055,510NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$170,313,100NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe mission of Concordia University, St. Paul, a university of The Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod, is to prepare students for thoughtful and informed living, for dedicated service to God and humanity, for enlightened care of God's creation, all within the context of the Christian Gospel.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$18,788,434ExpenseAmt
Grant$18,788,434GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescHigher education: financial aid to assist students unable to pay fully for the liberal arts or religious education and support programs.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$5,650,821ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$8,323,989RevenueAmt
DescHigher education: Auxiliary enterprises such as student housing, food service, facility rentals and the bookstore.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$69,916,054ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescHigher education: educational and instructional divisions including support programs devoted to the liberal arts and/or religious education, encouragement and understandingDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$94,355,309TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (1)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document0IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1327EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members17GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member17IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMichael DornerPersonNm
Phone6516418811PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Concordia University St PaulAddressLine1Txt
Address Line21282 Concordia AveAddressLine2Txt
CitySt PaulCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP551045494ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (31 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Eric LaMott
Provost500Yes (X)$255,844$0$0
Brian Friedrich
President500Yes (X)$238,282$0$0
Kim Craig
Vice Provost500$210,748$0$0Yes (X)
Katie Fischer
Professor500$183,626$0$0Yes (X)
Peter Rundquist
Professor500$175,741$0$0Yes (X)
Michael Dorner
Vice President500Yes (X)$175,425$0$0
Mark Hill
Vice President500$174,594$0$0Yes (X)
Hollie Caldwell
Professor500$173,307$0$0Yes (X)
Jason Rahn
Vice President500$171,237$0$0Yes (X)
Holly Tapper
Professor500$163,792$0$0Yes (X)
Heather Wegwerth
Professor500$157,370$0$0Yes (X)
Kevin Hall
Vice Provost500$113,223$0$0Yes (X)
Mark Koschmann
Vice President500$60,856$0$0Yes (X)
Karl Abbott
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
David Bell
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Andrew Braun
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rev Don Fondow
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rev Andrew Herzberg
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Paul Hinz
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rev Jeremiah Johnson
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Paul Kieffer
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mark L'Heureux
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jim Linnett
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Carrie Meyer
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rosa Summers
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Naomi Teske
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Lori Utech
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Gary Volberding
Board member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Pangjua Xiong
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rev Lucas Woodford
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
Daniel Zismer
Board Member20$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,254,045TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$0TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K34IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
Orbis Education Services
11595 N Meridian StCarmelIN46032Enrollment management$16,398,843
Sodexo Inc
9801 Washingtonian BlvdGaithersburgMD20878Food service and facilities management$6,945,648
Risepoint LLC
700 N Pearl St SteDallasTX75201Enrollment management$4,253,512Suite 600
TDB LLC
476 Snelling Ave SSt PaulMN55105campus remodeling$3,564,861
K-12 Teachers Alliance
20624 Abbey Woods Ct NFrankfortIL60423Enrollment management$1,963,110
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K56CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$53,367RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$2,334,402GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$10,218,555AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$0NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$12,606,324TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Tuition and fees611310$99,628,013$99,628,013$0$0
Auxiliary enterprises611310$6,881,432$6,881,432$0$0
Conference rentals711190$268,730$0$268,730$0
Office rental531120$1,173,827$0$1,173,827$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$107,952,002TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,606,965TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,606,965RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$563,728TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$563,728RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$563,728OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$123,729,019TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$109,680,138RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$1,442,557UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,788,434TotalAmt
Program Services$18,788,434ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,254,045TotalAmt
Program Services$1,052,195ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,027,256ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$174,594FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,090,438TotalAmt
Program Services$22,946,368ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,399,074ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$744,996FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,230,979TotalAmt
Program Services$1,646,669ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$502,147ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$82,163FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,918,105TotalAmt
Program Services$2,120,748ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$690,334ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$107,023FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,088,256TotalAmt
Program Services$1,734,244ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$297,512ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$56,500FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$166,658TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$166,658FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$557,293TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$557,293ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$94,985TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$94,985ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$195,381TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$195,381ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$134,530TotalAmt
Fundraising$134,530FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$180,326TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$180,326ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,443,257TotalAmt
Program Services$3,379,635ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,063,622ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,033,957TotalAmt
Program Services$413,653ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$582,930ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,374FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,685,537TotalAmt
Program Services$629,868ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$908,925ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$146,744FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,280,721TotalAmt
Program Services$2,101,716ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,057,231ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$121,774FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,868,847TotalAmt
Program Services$7,018,308ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,825,904ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,635FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,613,479TotalAmt
Program Services$1,477,264ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$97,926ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$38,289FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$202,794TotalAmt
Program Services$119,829ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$60,427ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$22,538FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$535,647TotalAmt
Program Services$493,479ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,168ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,812,014TotalAmt
Program Services$2,688,379ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,116,975ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,660FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$633,758TotalAmt
Program Services$4,920ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$586,388ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42,450FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Recruitment$26,670,129$26,472,111$198,018$0
Lawsuit settlement$1,700,000$0$1,700,000$0
Bad debt and bank fees$1,248,482$694$1,237,905$9,883
Hospitality$768,439$622,703$66,777$78,959

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,059,295TotalAmt
Program Services$644,092ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$409,131ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,072FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$118,255,786TotalAmt
Program Services$94,355,309ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,898,635ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,001,842FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,281,740BOYAmt
EOY$24,101,416EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,933,147BOYAmt
EOY$5,590,472EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,090,923BOYAmt
EOY$3,572,586EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$150,329BOYAmt
EOY$86,946EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,146,330BOYAmt
EOY$1,367,377EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$129,271,070LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$61,724,025LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,563,095BOYAmt
EOY$67,547,045EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,709,328BOYAmt
EOY$20,575,384EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,748,084BOYAmt
EOY$55,076,344EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$5,072,577EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,769,115BOYAmt
EOY$14,687,854EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$182,392,091BOYAmt
EOY$197,678,001EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,662,550BOYAmt
EOY$6,206,824EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,403,475BOYAmt
EOY$6,411,063EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$10,100,000EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$3,772,034EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,270,556BOYAmt
EOY$874,980EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,336,581BOYAmt
EOY$27,364,901EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$95,175,328BOYAmt
EOY$96,719,665EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$63,880,182BOYAmt
EOY$73,593,435EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$159,055,510BOYAmt
EOY$170,313,100EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$182,392,091BOYAmt
EOY$197,678,001EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$5,473,233ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$5,784,357NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Grants Other Organizations$195,381GrantsOtherOrganizationsAmt
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other Activities0OtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$195,381TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationConcordia University is a member of the Minnesota Private College Council (MPCC), an organization described in section 501(c)4 of the Internal Revenue Code. MPCC is an association of private nonprofit institutions of higher education that serves a variety of its members' shared needs, including, but not only, nonpartisan and non-electoral advocacy for public policy that meets students' needs and advances the interests of private higher education. Concordia University paid this amount in membership dues to MPCC during the taxable year. A portion of this amount, but not all of it, supported attempts to influence legislation within the meaning of section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code ("lobbying"). The amount of lobbying expenses paid from Concordia University's dues was significantly less than that amount.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$52,401,212BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,182,509ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$6,462,736InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$897,098GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$434,983OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$180,326AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$60,534,050EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$45,677,629BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,138,241ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,902,194InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$733,267GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$410,186OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$173,399AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$52,401,212EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$40,644,953BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,195,769ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,174,836InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$801,284GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$373,457OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$163,188AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$45,677,629EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$45,931,521BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,907,141ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$6,391,997InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$432,747GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$197,420OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$171,545AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$40,644,953EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$35,623,629BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,991,684ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,467,761InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$665,817GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$327,518OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$158,218AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$45,931,521EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.08BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.81PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.11TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$9,945,591InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$9,945,591BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$98,461,594InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$46,463,465DepreciationAmt
Book Value$51,998,129BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$4,958,820InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,070,093DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,888,727BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$15,905,065InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,190,467DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,714,598BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$67,547,045TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Financial Derivatives FinancialDerivativesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Closely Held Equity Interests CloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$55,076,344BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$55,076,344TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Right-of-use asset - finance, net$75,546
Right-of-use asset - operating, net$3,504,087
Funds held by third-party trustees$10,678,567
Cash value of life insurance$429,654
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$14,687,854TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Deposits payable$910,657
Refundable advance - food service company$76,923
Refundable advances - federal Perkins Loan program$126,510
Deferred bond acquisition costs-$239,110
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$874,980TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$110,544,616TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$5,784,357NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$5,784,357RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$104,760,259RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$180,326InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$18,788,434OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$18,968,760RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$123,729,019TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$99,287,026TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$99,287,026ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$180,326InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$18,788,434OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$18,968,760ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$118,255,786TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4The primary use of the endowment is for student scholarships, and the secondary use is to support general operations.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2The university is exempt from federal income taxes under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code. The university qualifies for the charitable deduction under Section 170(b)(1)(a) and has been classified as an organization that is not a private foundation under Section 509(a)(2). The university's tax returns are subject to review and examination by federal, state, and local authorities. The university follows the accounting standards for contingencies in evaluating uncertain tax positions. This guidance prescribes threshold recognition principles for the financial statement recognition of tax positions taken or expected to be taken on a tax return that are not certain to be realized.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4bScholarships awarded to students.
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bScholarships awarded to students.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Concordia University publishes its policy of non-discrimination in The Lutheran Witness magazine, the LCMS Reporter newspaper, the Star Tribune and Pioneer Press newspapers, its academic catalog, and its website, www.csp.edu, and the literature available to prospective students in the admissions office.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Concordia University participates in the U.S. Department of Education federal financial aid programs - Perkins Loans, Pell Grants, Teach Grants, SEOG, work-study, and Direct Loans, as well as the Minnesota State Grant program and work-study.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (1)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BWFBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17900 Xerxes Ave SAddressLine1Txt
CityBloomingtonCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55431ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ActivityConsulting services for a future campaign.ActivityTxt
Fundraiser Control Of Funds0FundraiserControlOfFundsInd
Gross Receipts$0GrossReceiptsAmt
Retained By Contractor$88,357RetainedByContractorAmt
Net To Organization-$88,357NetToOrganizationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Gross Receipts$0TotalGrossReceiptsAmt
Total Retained By Contractors$88,357TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Total Net To Organization-$88,357TotalNetToOrganizationAmt
All StatesAll StatesAllStatesCd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFinancial aid to studentsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient2751RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$18,788,434CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFunds are awarded to students eligible for financial aid following institutional, state, and federal guidelines.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Eric LaMott
Provost$255,844$0$0$0$0$0$131,766$0$8,743$0$396,353$0$0$0
Brian Friedrich
President$238,282$0$0$0$0$0-$64,168$0$42,838$0$216,952$0$0$0
Kim Craig
Vice Provost$210,748$0$0$0$0$0$18,762$0$0$0$229,510$0$0$0
Michael Dorner
Vice President$175,425$0$0$0$0$0$46,245$0$43,743$0$265,413$0$0$0
Kevin Hall
Vice Provost$113,223$0$0$0$0$0-$63,527$0$58,838$0$108,534$0$0$0
Mark Hill
Vice President$174,594$0$0$0$0$0$20,939$0$8,743$0$204,276$0$0$0
Mark Koschmann
Vice President$60,856$0$0$0$0$0$1,263$0$60,000$0$122,119$0$0$0
Jason Rahn
Vice President$171,237$0$0$0$0$0$9,029$0$0$0$180,266$0$0$0
Peter Rundquist
Professor$175,741$0$0$0$0$0$29,908$0$8,743$0$214,392$0$0$0
Katie Fischer
Professor$183,626$0$0$0$0$0$1,831$0$0$0$185,457$0$0$0
Hollie Caldwell
Professor$173,307$0$0$0$0$0$16,347$0$0$0$189,654$0$0$0
Holly Tapper
Professor$163,792$0$0$0$0$0$4,127$0$11,719$0$179,638$0$0$0
Heather Wegwerth
Professor$157,370$0$0$0$0$0$51$0$970$0$158,391$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1aThe president and two vice presidents are ordained and commissioned ministers of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod and are eligible to receive a housing allowance.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 3The board of regents determines the salary for the president. The provost reviews the salaries for the other officers and key employees by working with the human resources office and the information provided by CUPA, the College and University Professional Association for Human Resources.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Minnesota Higher Education Facilities AuthorityBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2Variable Rate Demand Revenue Bond Series Six QBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN410988525BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP60416HKM5CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2007-10-18BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$18,155,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeConstruction of residence hallPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerYes (1)OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$8,055,000RetiredAmt
Bond Defeased$0BondDefeasedAmt
Total Proceeds$18,155,000TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$0InReserveFundAmt
Capitalized Interest$0CapitalizedInterestAmt
Refunding Escrow$0RefundingEscrowAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$0IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Credit Enhancement$0CreditEnhancementAmt
Working Capital Expenditures$0WorkingCapitalExpendituresAmt
Capital Expenditures$16,435,000CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$0OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$0UnspentAmt
Substantial Completion2008SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds0RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestYes (1)BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledYes (1)Form8038TFiledInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (1)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecYes (1)HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd

Hedge Provider Name HedgeProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1US BankBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2MinneapolisBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Term Of Hedge10TermOfHedgePct
Superintegrated Hedge0SuperintegratedHedgeInd
Hedge TerminatedYes (1)HedgeTerminatedInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bThe vice president for finance completes the form and has the finance committee of the board of regents review the document before giving it to the board for final approval. After that approval, the vice president submits the return to the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cThe president monitors the conflict of interest forms for the governing board members. The provost monitors the forms for officers and key employees.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The board of regents determines the salary for the president. The provost reviews the salaries for the other officers and key employees by working with the human resources office and the information provided by CUPA, the College and University Professional Association for Human Resources.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19The financial statements and 990 return are available to the public on the website at the public on the website at https://www.csp.edu/business-office/ in the section for the vice president for finance.