STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

STEUBEN RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
STEUBEN RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 16-0650108)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-10-22
IRS object ID
201842959349300774
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-10-22T10:33:07-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN161117932PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BUFFAMANTE WHIPPLE BUTTAFARO PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1201 WEST THIRD STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityJAMESTOWNCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP14701ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN160650108EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1STEUBEN RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSTEUBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6077764161PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line19 WILSON AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityBATHCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP14810ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBRYANT DILLONPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone6077764161PhoneNum
Signature2018-10-22SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDAVID V DITANNA CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01368498PTIN
Phone7166645104PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address72.45.244.226IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-10-22IPDt
IP Tm11:31:21IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id0F8E2851FD416ACFB00AA7630511EF29DE290C73AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id144B106FAA225AD05E01E1A70B93B16EB1BDB105AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2018-06-14 16:35:46ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBRYANT DILLONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line19 WILSON AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityBATHCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP14810ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$10,758,113GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.STEUBENREC.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1941FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE MISSION OF STEUBEN RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE IS TO IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF RURAL LIFE BY PROVIDING OUR MEMBERS WITH LOW COST, RELIABLE ELECTRICITY AND RELATED SERVICES IN A SAFE MANNER.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee34TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$10,128,232PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$10,079,646CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$151,798PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$137,059CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$264,398PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$79,678CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$10,544,428PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$10,296,383CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$389,257PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$471,363CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$278,592PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$354,541CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$9,207,384PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$9,367,713CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$9,875,233PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$10,193,617CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$669,195PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$102,766CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$41,890,527TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$40,504,589TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$25,595,821TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$24,099,592TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$16,294,706NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$16,404,997NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE MISSION OF STEUBEN RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE IS TO IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF RURAL LIFE BY PROVIDING OUR MEMBERS WITH LOW COST, RELIABLE ELECTRICITY AND RELATED SERVICES IN A SAFE MANNER.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$9,907,056ExpenseAmt
Revenue$10,159,324RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDING RELIABLE ELECTRICITY AND RELATED SERVICES TO OUR MEMBERS IN A SAFE MANNER. STEUBEN COUNTY RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. SERVES OVER 6,300 MEMBERS THROUGHOUT FOUR COUNTIES.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$9,907,056TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document43IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee34EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$9,734,865MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$691,819OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BRYANT DILLONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6077764161PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line19 WILSON AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityBATHCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP14810ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerInd
JOSEPH HAURYSKI
DIRECTOR1.75Yes (X)$5,120$0$0
GARY BROCKWAY
DIRECTOR3.75Yes (X)$9,800$0$0
GORDON FOSTER
DIRECTOR3.50Yes (X)$8,760$0$0
WILLIAM H MOSS III
DIRECTOR3.75Yes (X)$5,860$0$0
RANDY STANKEY
DIRECTOR3.50Yes (X)$8,720$0$0
JAMES R MCCORMICK
PRESIDENT6.25Yes (X)$13,180$0$0Yes (X)
JENNIFER THURBER
VICE PRESIDENT1.50Yes (X)$4,780$0$0Yes (X)
JANICE HOAD
SECRETARY4.25Yes (X)$11,360$0$0Yes (X)
ROBERT V NICHOLS
TREASURER4.50Yes (X)$11,880$0$0Yes (X)
MOLLY BAILEY
GENERAL MANAGER (FORMER)40.00$103,420$0$34,440Yes (X)
BRYANT DILLON
GENERAL MANAGER40.00$97,897$0$39,324Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$280,777TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$73,764TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
STRAUSS TREE SERVICE INC
10646 COUNTY ROUTE 119ADDISONNY14801TREE CLEARING$387,882
ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT
708 BLAIR MILL ROADWILLOW GROVEPA19090TREE CLEARING$143,560
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescELECTRIC SERVICE REVENUEDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$10,079,646TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$10,079,646RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$10,079,646TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$137,059TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$137,059ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$749RealAmt
Personal$531,088PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$461,730PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$749RealAmt
Personal$69,358PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$70,107TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$70,107RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISCELLANEOUS REVENUEDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$9,571TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$9,571RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$9,571OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,296,383TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$10,159,324RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$137,059ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$471,363TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$354,541TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$707,152TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,194,435TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF PURCHASED POWER$2,263,104
DISTRIBUTION EXP-OPERAT$1,621,064
DISTRIBUTION EXP-MAINTE$1,469,767
ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENE$899,497

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,212,694TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,193,617TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,367,749BOYAmt
EOY$1,437,774EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$202,163BOYAmt
EOY$202,544EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,157,169BOYAmt
EOY$2,730,343EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,326,719BOYAmt
EOY$2,500,000EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$436,760BOYAmt
EOY$445,526EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$614,020BOYAmt
EOY$554,931EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$54,740,366LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$20,744,825LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,370,986BOYAmt
EOY$33,995,541EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$1,517,311BOYAmt
EOY-$2,158,232EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$932,272BOYAmt
EOY$796,162EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,890,527BOYAmt
EOY$40,504,589EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$963,154BOYAmt
EOY$951,947EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,339,409BOYAmt
EOY$22,906,971EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$293,258BOYAmt
EOY$240,674EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,595,821BOYAmt
EOY$24,099,592EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,294,706BOYAmt
EOY$16,404,997EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,294,706BOYAmt
EOY$16,404,997EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,890,527BOYAmt
EOY$40,504,589EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$102,766ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$7,525OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$41,039OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$41,039BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,836,958OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,645,676DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,191,282BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$50,840,579OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,099,149DepreciationAmt
Book Value$31,741,430BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,790OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$21,790BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$33,995,541TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITSDesc
Amt$240,674Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$240,674TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$10,758,112TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$461,729OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$461,729RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$10,296,383RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$10,296,383TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$10,183,984TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$461,729OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$461,729ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$9,722,255ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$471,362OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$471,362ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$10,193,617TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS A NOT-FOR-PROFIT, MEMBERSHIP COOPERATIVE UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND THEREFORE, THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES. PURSUANT TO THE NEW YORK RURAL ELECTRIFICATION LAW, THE COOPERATIVE IS ALSO EXEMPT FROM STATE INCOME TAXES. ACCORDINGLY, NO PROVISION FOR SUCH TAXES HAS BEEN MADE IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. CERTAIN INCOME EARNED FROM OTHER UNRELATED PRODUCTS AND SERVICES MAY REQUIRE THE COOPERATIVE TO PAY FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. IF THIS SITUATION SHOULD ARISE, THE NECESSARY PROVISIONS FOR INCOME TAX LIABILITIES ARE RECORDED IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. NO SUCH TAX LIABILITIES EXISTED AT DECEMBER 31, 2017 AND 2016. THE COOPERATIVE IS REQUIRED TO FILE INFORMATIONAL RETURNS WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE. THE TAX YEARS FROM 2013 TO 2015 REMAIN SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LANDFILL GAS DEPRECIATION 339,458. DEBT SERVICE - INTEREST & AMORTIZATION 122,271.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LANDFILL GAS DEPRECIATION 339,458. DEBT SERVICE - INTEREST & AMORTIZATION 122,271.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CURRENT YEAR RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS 611,577. LESS: DISCOUNT ON CAPITAL CREDITS -22,354. LESS: UNCLAIMED CAPITAL CREDITS -117,861.
PART XII, LINE 4BTHE COOPERATIVE HAD NET RETIREMENTS OF CAPITAL CREDITS OF $471,362 TO ITS MEMBERS IN 2017. THIS AMOUNT IS INCLUDED IN BENEFITS PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS AS INDICATED ON SCHEDULE O.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
JAMES MCCORMICK
BOARD MEMBER$669,941INDIVIDUAL IS A BOARD OFFICER0
GORDON FOSTER
BOARD MEMBER$669,941INDIVIDUAL IS A BOARD OFFICER0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCH L, PART IV, BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS INVOLVING INTERESTED PERSONS:(A) NAME OF PERSON: JAMES MCCORMICK(D) DESCRIPTION OF TRANSACTION: INDIVIDUAL IS A BOARD OFFICER OF THE STEUBEN RURAL COOPERATIVE, INC. THE INDIVIDUAL ALSO SERVES AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE'S WHOLLY OWNED SUBSIDIARY, SREC GENERATING COMPANY, INC. TRANSACTION AMOUNTS REPRESENT THE ACCOUNTING OF INTERCOMPANY EQUITY.
SCH L, PART IV, BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS INVOLVING INTERESTED PERSONS:(A) NAME OF PERSON: GORDON FOSTER(D) DESCRIPTION OF TRANSACTION: INDIVIDUAL IS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE STEUBEN RURAL COOPERATIVE, INC. THE INDIVIDUAL ALSO SERVES AS A BOARD MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE'S WHOLLY OWNED SUBSIDIARY, SREC GENERATING COMPANY, INC. TRANSACTION AMOUNTS REPRESENT THE ACCOUNTING OF INTERCOMPANY EQUITY.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ANY PERSON, FIRM, ASSOCIATION, CORPORATION OR BODY POLITIC OR SUBDIVISION THEREOF MAY BECOME A MEMBER IN STEUBEN RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC BY A) FILING A WRITTEN APPLICATION FOR MEMBERSHIP THEREIN, B) AGREEING TO PURCHASE ELECTRIC ENERGY FROM THE COOPERATIVE, C) AGREEING TO COMPLY WITH AND BE BOUND BY THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION AND BYLAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE AND ANY RULES AND REGULATIONS ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, AND D) PAYING THE MEMBERSHIP FEE. NO MEMBER MAY HOLD MORE THAN ONE MEMBERSHIP IN THE COOPERATIVE, AND NO MEMBERSHIP IN THE COOPERATIVE SHALL BE TRANSFERABLE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHERE IS A NOMINATING COMMITTEE MADE UP OF CO-OP MEMBERS (NONE ARE ON THE BOARD) THAT MEET AT LEAST ONCE PER YEAR. EACH MEMBER PRESENTS AT LEAST TWO CANDIDATES TO RUN FOR SEATS UP FOR ELECTION. PER THE BYLAWS, CANDIDATES MAY ALSO BE NOMINATED BY PETITION. CANDIDATES CAN ALSO BE NOMINATED FROM THE FLOOR DURING THE COOPERATIVE'S ANNUAL MEETING. ALL CANDIDATES ARE THEN VOTED ON BY THE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING AND BY ANY PROXIES RECEIVED PRIOR TO OR AT THE MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BBOARD DECISIONS ARE PASSED BY A MAJORITY VOTE OF BOARD MEMBERS. ANY PROPOSED BYLAW CHANGES ARE VOTED ON BY THE MEMBERS AT THE NEXT ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE COOPERATIVE BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BALL DIRECTORS RECEIVE A DRAFT COPY OF THE COMPLETED FORM 990 AND ARE ASKED TO PROVIDE CHANGES/CORRECTIONS WHICH ARE DOCUMENTED IN BOARD MEETING MINUTES. THE FINAL COMPLETED FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE AUDITOR FOR SUBMISSION TO THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEWS, DISCUSSES, AND RESOLVES CONFLICTS ON AN ONGOING BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEET TO DISCUSS PROPOSED COMPENSATION INCREASES. RECOMMENDATIONS ARE PASSED BY A MAJORITY VOTE OF THE BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE SHALL PRODUCE THE DOCUMENTS UPON RECEIPT OF A WRITTEN REQUEST OF THE PUBLIC. THE COOPERATIVE KEEPS A RECORD OF THE WRITTEN REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24ELOSS FROM SUBSIDIARY 669,941. CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS EXPENSE 430,286. CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INFORMATION EXPENSE 97,398. OTHER EXPENSE 15,069.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:MEMBERSHIPS ISSUED 7,525.
PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 5PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SREC GENERATING COMPANY INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line19 WILSON AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityBATHCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP14810ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN263794241EIN
Primary ActivitiesGENERATIONPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income-$669,941ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$390,721ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (1)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (1)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (5 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
SREC GENERATING COMPANY INC
J$531,088CONTRACT
SREC GENERATING COMPANY INC
O$31,315ESTIMATED COST
SREC GENERATING COMPANY INC
D$2,500,000ACTUAL COST
SREC GENERATING COMPANY INC
L$70,946ACTUAL COST
SREC GENERATING COMPANY INC
A$62,259ACTUAL COST