CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2017
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-1602298)
- Tax period
- 2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
- Filed
- 2018-10-22
- IRS object ID
- 201842959349301284
- Schema version
- 2017v2.3
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2018-10-22T21:46:28-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2017-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 382492570 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | DOEREN MAYHEW | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 305 WEST BIG BEAVER ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TROY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 48084 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2017-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 381602298 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | TBA CREDIT UNION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | TBAC | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2319467090 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 630 EAST FRONT STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TRAVERSE CITY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 49686 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | KAREN E BROWNE | PersonNm |
| Person Title | PRESIDENT/CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2319467090 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2018-10-19 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | ROBERT PARKS CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00740435 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2482443000 | PhoneNum |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 64.95.240.2 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2018-10-19 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 08:49:49 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | ED | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | 5C10503600C6A44598C4573B9F16AA1A88D12859 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | A7DB26C3BB201601930FCFA0C4651552B54C26A2 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2017 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2018-06-14 16:35:46Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | KAREN E BROWNE | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 630 EAST FRONT STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TRAVERSE CITY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 49686 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $9,220,012 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.TBACU.COM | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Other | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationOtherInd |
| Other Organization Dsc | CREDIT UNION | OtherOrganizationDsc |
| Formation | 1955 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MI | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | TO PROVIDE FINANCIAL SERVICES TO MEMBER OWNERS WITH A COMMON BOND. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 7 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 7 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 69 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 7 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $37,653 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | -$121,980 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $8,116,897 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $8,717,800 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $357,439 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $452,532 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $13,869 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $1,316 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $8,488,205 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $9,171,648 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,693,833 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,868,530 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $3,954,321 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $4,649,205 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $6,648,154 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $7,517,735 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,840,051 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,653,913 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $191,325,200 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $205,341,026 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $163,379,320 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $175,753,465 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $27,945,880 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $29,587,561 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | TO SERVE THE COMMUNITY AND BUILD TRUSTED RELATIONSHIPS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | Yes (1) | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | Yes (1) | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | PROVIDE 17,035 MEMBERS WITH REGULAR SAVINGS, SHARE DRAFTS, CERTIFICATE OF DEPOSITS, AND IRA ACCOUNTS TOTALING 32,802. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PROVIDE 12,474 LOANS INCLUDING VEHICLE, OVERDRAFT PROTECTION, MORTGAGE, HOME EQUITY, SIGNATURE, CREDIT CARD, AND RECREATIONAL VEHICLE LOANS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | OFFER AUTOMATED TELLER MACHINES, DEBIT CARDS, MONEY ORDERS, SAFE DEPOSIT BOXES, BILL PAYMENT, TRAVELERS CHECKS, SECURELOCK EQUIP CARD MOBILE APP, DIGITAL WALLET-APPLE, GOOGLE PAY, SAMSUNG PAY AND VARIOUS INSURANCE PROGRAMS. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (1) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 3342 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 69 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 7 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 7 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | Yes (1) | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | 0 | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | 0 | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | TBA CREDIT UNION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2319467090 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 630 E FRONT STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TRAVERSE CITY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 496851049 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (9 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADAM BEVIER | ||||||
| CHAIRPERSON | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| DAN BRADY | ||||||
| VICE CHAIRPERSON | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| DAVID SEMAN | ||||||
| SECRETARY | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| ROBERT WITKOP | ||||||
| TREASURER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| ERIC DREIER | ||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| KATHERINE WALKER-TELMA | ||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| KATHLEEN MAISONVILLE-DOUGLASS | ||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| KAREN E BROWNE | ||||||
| PRESIDENT/CEO | 40.00 | $189,894 | $0 | $34,634 | Yes (X) | |
| ROBIN WYBENGA | ||||||
| CFO | 40.00 | $87,358 | $0 | $18,475 | Yes (X) | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $277,252 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $53,109 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 1 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUANSWERS | |||||
| 6000 28TH STREET SE SUITE 100 | GRAND RAPIDS | MI | 495466927 | DATA PROCESSING SERVICES | $433,493 |
| BLUE CARE NETWORK | |||||
| PO BOX 33608 | DETROIT | MI | 482325608 | HEALTH CARE BENEFITS | $313,838 |
| FIS | |||||
| 11601 ROOSEVELT BOULEVARD | ST PETERSBURG | FL | 33716 | DEBIT/CREDIT CARD PROCESSING | $292,692 |
| CITY OF TRAVERSE CITY | |||||
| 400 BOARDMAN AVENUE | TRAVERSE CITY | MI | 496850592 | PROPERTY TAXES | $121,553 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LOAN INTEREST | 522100 | $6,725,551 | $6,725,551 | |
| FEE INCOME | 522100 | $1,954,596 | $1,954,596 | |
| UNRELATED INSURANCE IN | 524298 | $20,071 | $20,071 | |
| NON-MEMBER ATM FEES | 900099 | $10,469 | $10,469 | |
| NON-MEMBER SHARED BRAN | 522100 | $4,395 | $4,395 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $2,718 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $2,718 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $8,717,800 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $451,472 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $451,472 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $49,680 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $48,364 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $1,316 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,316 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $1,316 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $1,060 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $1,060 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,060 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $1,060 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $9,171,648 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $9,133,995 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $37,653 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $330,361 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,005,821 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $78,671 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $268,640 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $185,037 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,120 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,608 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $86,934 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $203,368 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $704,726 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $254,792 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $282,830 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $26,140 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $37,533 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $467,353 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $280,790 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $63,825 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| LOAN SERVICING | $1,077,385 |
| PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS | $1,008,808 |
| MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSE | $53,202 |
| EXAMINATION FEES | $45,120 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $35,671 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,517,735 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,293,557 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,342,258 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $21,968 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $42,094 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $585,647 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $533,556 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $148,773,044 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $153,227,524 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $991,575 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $188,606 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $9,897,148 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $1,651,502 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,519,524 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,245,646 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,774,420 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $22,261,204 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,505,730 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,408,821 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,859,735 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,091,317 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $191,325,200 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $205,341,026 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,435,896 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,447,439 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $1,411,152 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $159,943,424 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $171,894,874 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $163,379,320 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $175,753,465 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,945,880 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,587,561 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,945,880 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,587,561 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $191,325,200 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $205,341,026 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,653,913 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$12,232 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $3,160,238 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $3,160,238 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $5,399,891 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $799,176 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $4,600,715 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,337,019 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $852,326 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $484,693 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $8,245,646 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (7 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT | $17,861,000 | C |
| FHLB CAPITAL STOCK | $368,800 | C |
| CO-OP NETWORK STOCK | $100 | C |
| XTEND STOCK | $5,000 | C |
| CU*ANSWERS INVESTMENTS | $60,000 | C |
| OTHER INVESTMENTS | $3,882,354 | C |
| CUSG SHARES | $83,950 | C |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $22,261,204 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | CORPORATE CREDIT UNIONS | Desc |
| Book Value | $14,408,821 | BookValueAmt |
| Method Valuation | C | MethodValuationCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $14,408,821 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MEMBER SHARES AND DEPOSITS | Desc |
| Amt | $171,894,874 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $171,894,874 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $9,220,012 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $9,220,012 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | -$48,364 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | -$48,364 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $9,171,648 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $7,566,099 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $48,364 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $48,364 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $7,517,735 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $7,517,735 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT BY STATUTE FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES, BUT STILL MAY BE SUBJECT TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX (UBIT). UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME IS INCOME FROM A TRADE OR BUSINESS REGULARLY CARRIED ON BY A TAX EXEMPT ORGANIZATION THAT IS NOT SUBSTANTIALLY RELATED TO THE ORGANIZATION'S EXEMPT PURPOSES. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | RENTAL EXPENSE REPORTED WITHIN EXPENSES IN AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, BUT REPORTED IN STATEMENT OF REVENUE IN FORM 990 -48,364. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | RENTAL EXPENSE REPORTED WITHIN EXPENSES IN AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, BUT REPORTED IN STATEMENT OF REVENUE IN FORM 990 48,364. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | KAREN E BROWNE | PersonNm |
| Title | PRESIDENT/CEO | TitleTxt |
| Base Compensation Filing Org | $164,894 | BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs | $0 | CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt |
| Bonus Filing Organization | $25,000 | BonusFilingOrganizationAmount |
| Bonus Related Organizations | $0 | BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt |
| Other Compensation Filing Org | $0 | OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Other Compensation Rltd Orgs | $0 | OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt |
| Deferred Compensation Flng Org | $12,713 | DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt |
| Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs | $0 | DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt |
| Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org | $21,921 | NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt |
| Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs | $0 | NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt |
| Total Compensation Filing Org | $224,528 | TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Total Compensation Rltd Orgs | $0 | TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt |
| Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org | $0 | CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt |
| Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs | $0 | CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 2 | THE CREDIT UNION BEGAN OFFERING SECURLOCK EQUIP CARD MOBILE APP, DIGITAL WALLET FOR APPLE, GOOGLE PAY, SAMSUNG PAY, SAME DAY ACH ORIGINATING/RECEIVING AND ONLINE MEMBERSHIP ACCOUNT OPENING FOR ALL ELIGIBLE MEMBERS. |
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 3 | THE CREDIT UNION MOVED ATM PIN PROCESSING AND ATM SERVICES TO FIS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 4 | THE CREDIT UNION WAS APPROVED A FIELD OF MEMBERSHIP EXPANSION TO INCLUDE ANYONE WHO LIVES, WORKS, OR WORSHIPS IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | THE CREDIT UNION HAS A SINGLE CLASS OF MEMBERS WITH EQUAL RIGHTS OF OWNERSHIP, GOVERNANCE, AND VOTING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE ELECTED BY THE MEMBERSHIP AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. EACH BOARD MEMBER IS ELECTED FOR A THREE YEAR TERM. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | CREDIT UNION DECISIONS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO MEMBERSHIP APPROVAL ARE BY-LAW CHANGES. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE FORM 990 IS PRESENTED AT A BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING PRIOR TO SUBMISSION TO THE IRS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S COMPENSATION COMMITTEE COMPLETES A PERFORMANCE APPRAISAL OF THE PRESIDENT/CEO, ANNUALLY. SALARY INCREASES ARE BASED ON PERFORMANCE OF PRE-DETERMINED GOALS AND COMPANY FINANCIAL TARGETS. THE PRESIDENT/CEO PERFORMS ANNUAL EVALUATIONS OF THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER AND THE CHIEF LENDING OFFICER. SALARY INCREASES ARE BASED ON OVERALL PERFORMANCE. BOTH REVIEW PROCESSES WERE COMPLETED IN 2017. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED IN THE CREDIT UNION LOBBY. OTHER DOCUMENTS AND POLICIES ARE AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | MEMBERSHIP FEES 16,310. OTHER COMPREHENSIVE INCOME -28,542. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C | THERE WERE NO CHANGES IN THE PROCESS OF THE COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY OF THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT AND SELECTION OF THE INDEPENDENT AUDITOR. |