STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CENTRAL VIRGINIA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CENTRAL VIRGINIA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE (EIN 54-0164798)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-10-30
IRS object ID
201843039349300734
Schema version
2017v2.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-10-30T08:14:35-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN541320089PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ADAMS JENKINS CHEATHAM PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1231 WYLDEROSE DRAddressLine1Txt
CityMIDLOTHIANCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP231136845ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540164798EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CENTRAL VIRGINIA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCENTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4342638336PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 247AddressLine1Txt
CityLOVINGSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22949ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGARY E WOODPersonNm
Person TitlePresident & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Signature2018-10-30SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonG STEVEN GILLIAM CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00348264PTIN
Phone8043231313PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2018-06-14 16:35:46ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerGARY E WOODPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 Cooperative WayAddressLine1Txt
CityArringtonCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22922ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$80,836,662GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
All Affiliates IncludedfalseAllAffiliatesIncludedInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSAfe and effective DISTRIBUTION OF ELECTRICITY TO the members of Central Virginia Electric CooperativeActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee118TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$429TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$1,771NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$85,924,522PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$80,434,242CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income-$81,368PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$119,391CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$202,683PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$212,195CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$86,045,837PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$80,765,828CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,092,465PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$3,028,413CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,819,958PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,957,382CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$70,868,891PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$65,235,107CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$84,781,314PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$80,220,902CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,264,523PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$544,926CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$185,005,983TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$196,827,820TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$130,306,901TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$140,256,923TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$54,699,082NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$56,570,897NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSAfe and effective DISTRIBUTION OF ELECTRICITY TO the members of Central Virginia Electric CooperativeMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescSAFE AND EFFECTIVE DISTRIBUTION OF ELECTRICITY TO The MEMBERS of Central Virginia Electric Cooperative. THE THREE LARGEST PROGRAM SERVICES AS MEASURED BY EXPENSES ARE AS FOLLOWS:COST OF POWER $47,191,308OTHER SALARIES AND WAGES $7,730,796DEPRECIATION $7,467,341Desc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document56IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee118EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledfalseForm990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
DAF Excess Business HoldingsfalseDAFExcessBusinessHoldingsInd
Taxable DistributionsfalseTaxableDistributionsInd
Distribution To DonorfalseDistributionToDonorInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$79,692,234MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$932,662OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Org Filed In Lieu Of Form1041falseOrgFiledInLieuOfForm1041Ind
Licensed More Than One StatefalseLicensedMoreThanOneStateInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesfalseMinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTHE CORPORATIONPersonNm
Phone4342638336PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 COOPERATIVE WAYAddressLine1Txt
CityARRINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22922ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
GLORIA W VEST
Secretary10.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$25,600$0$0
R KINCKLE ROBINSON
Vice Chairman8.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$25,100$0$0
JACE GOODLING
Director7.000.00Yes (X)$24,350$0$0
HENRY CHILES
Director6.000.00Yes (X)$22,100$0$0
ROBERTA HARLOWE
Treasurer10.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$28,600$0$0
HT Brown JR
Chairman8.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$25,850$0$0
GEORGE GOIN
Director15.000.00Yes (X)$24,600$0$0
Robert Duncan
Retired8.000.00Yes (X)$15,400$0$0
Brian Bates
Director8.000.00Yes (X)$2,300$0$0
FRANK BABER III
Director8.000.00Yes (X)$26,100$0$0
CHARLES MAURHOFF
VP Oper. & Eng.55.000.00Yes (X)$167,827$0$61,575
GARY E WOOD
President & CEO55.000.00Yes (X)$370,256$0$64,159
TINA M MALLIA
Vice President55.000.00Yes (X)$147,435$0$40,360
Robert Harris
Engineer40.000.00$115,761$0$41,357Yes (X)
Jason Palmer
Operations Mgr40.000.00$113,113$0$26,961Yes (X)
Joseph Key
Engineering Mgr40.000.00$127,364$0$51,354Yes (X)
Matthew Wood
Info Tech Mgr40.000.00$138,569$0$36,359Yes (X)
Thomas Gardner
Foreman40.000.00$113,300$0$37,516Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,513,625TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$359,641TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K23IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
GD FERGUSON & CO INC
235 Cat Rock Mtn LnRoselandVA22967Tree Trimming Cont.$899,891
LEE ELECTRICAL CONSTRUCTION
PO BOX 55ABERDEENNC28315Construction$982,387
WA STRATTON CONSTRUCTION
PO BOX 969APPOMATTOXVA24522CONSTRUCTION$1,747,386
THE LE MYERS CO
22386 Network PlChicagoIL60673CONSTRUCTION$1,307,112
XYLEM TREE EXPERTS
208 E PLUME STNORFOLKVA23510Tree Trimming$1,290,802
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K13CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
CONTRIB. IN AID OF CONST.221000$582,908$582,908
PATRONAGE ALLOCATIONS REC221000$159,100$159,100
SALE & DIST. OF ELECT.221000$79,692,234$79,692,234
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$80,434,242TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$79,906TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$79,906ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$211,766PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$211,766PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$211,766TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$211,766ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$110,319SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$70,834SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$39,485SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$39,485TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$39,485ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPNG COMMISSIONSDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$429TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$429UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$429OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$80,765,828TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$80,434,242RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$429UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$331,157ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,028,413TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,071,612TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,730,796TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,169,849TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$311,820TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$673,305TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$191,678TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,743,236TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,736TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,805,654TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,467,341TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$47,191,308
DISTRIBUTION - MAINTENANCE$3,502,927
ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL$2,525,323
DISTRIBUTION - OPERATION$2,294,400

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$4,508,496TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$80,220,902TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,682,904BOYAmt
EOY$859,497EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,089,628BOYAmt
EOY$11,537,428EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,320,705BOYAmt
EOY$2,199,489EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,913,918BOYAmt
EOY$4,359,251EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$246,311,893LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$71,798,926LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$162,823,640BOYAmt
EOY$174,512,967EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,411,230BOYAmt
EOY$2,564,839EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$763,958BOYAmt
EOY$794,349EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$185,005,983BOYAmt
EOY$196,827,820EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,247,298BOYAmt
EOY$7,439,104EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$117,926,394BOYAmt
EOY$125,661,018EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,133,209BOYAmt
EOY$7,156,801EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$130,306,901BOYAmt
EOY$140,256,923EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,699,082BOYAmt
EOY$56,570,897EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,699,082BOYAmt
EOY$56,570,897EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$185,005,983BOYAmt
EOY$196,827,820EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$544,926ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,326,889OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$246,311,893OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$71,798,926DepreciationAmt
Book Value$174,512,967BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$174,512,967TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATIONS$1,410,222C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES$1,151,146C
MEMBERSHIP FEES$3,471C

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCRUED POSTRETIREMENT BENEFIT COST$2,018,565
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$1,977,978
DEFERRED COMPENSATION$400,000
DEFERRED CREDITS$2,760,258
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$7,156,801TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$80,340,722TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$157,802OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$157,802RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$80,182,920RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$582,908OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$582,908RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$80,765,828TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$77,192,489TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$77,192,489ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,028,413OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,028,413ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$80,220,902TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X : FIN48 FootnoteThe Cooperative follows the guidance for "uncertain tax positions" in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America. The Cooperative has determined that it is more likely than not that its tax positions will be sustained upon examination by the Internal Revenue Service.
Part XI, Line 2d: Other revenue amounts included in F/S but not included on form 990non-cash patronage allocation adjustment $157802
Part XI, Line 4b: Other revenue amounts included on 990 but not included in F/Scontributions in aid of construction $582908
Part XII, Line 4b: Other revenue amounts included on 990 but not included in F/SPatronage Div. paid to members' accts. $3028413

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
CHARLES MAURHOFF
VP Oper. & Eng.$163,680$4,147$46,261$15,314$229,402
GARY E WOOD
President & CEO$367,227$3,029$48,845$15,314$434,415
Joseph Key
Engineering Mgr$127,364$36,040$15,314$178,718
Matthew Wood
Info Tech Mgr$136,341$2,228$21,045$15,314$174,928
Robert Harris
Engineer$115,761$26,043$15,314$157,118
Thomas Gardner
Foreman$113,300$22,202$15,314$150,816
TINA M MALLIA
Vice President$143,172$4,263$25,046$15,314$187,795

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (14 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6: Explanation of Classes of Members or ShareholderCentral Virginia Electric Cooperative is an electric cooperative that delivers electricity to the members of the cooperative. The members elect the board of directors, which is the governing body of the cooperative.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a: How Members or Shareholders Elect Governing BodyMembers of the governing board are elected by the membership of the cooperative. Each member receives one vote. The board has monthly meetings and an annual meeting that is open to the entire membership.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b: Describe Decisions of Governing Body Approval by Members or ShareholdersCertain decisions of the governing body are subject to approval by the members as provided for in the cooperative bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessThe CEO and CFO along with the Finance and Accounting Manager review a draft of the 990 with the board of directors. A copy of the 990 is provided to the directors electronically through a director portal prior to the filing of the tax return.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsThe Cooperative's legal counsel annually reviews the conflict of interest compliance and enforcement with the governing board. In addition, each director must annually complete and sign a conflict of interest certification and disclosure form.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b: Compensation Review and Approval Process for Officers and Key EmployeesThe governing board has a compensation committee that reviews the CEO's performance annually and recommends salary changes to the board. As part of this review, the committee considers salary data nationally as well as other statewide comparison data from electric cooperatives throughout the state.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableFinancial data is provided to the membership at the annual regularly scheduled membership meeting. Financial data is also provided in the member newsletter that gives the notice of the annual meeting. Other governing documents are available upon request.
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesCONTRIBUTIONS IN AID OF CONSTRUCTION NOT REVENUE PER GAAP = -$582908
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesNET RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS PAID = -$1380011
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other IncreasesNON-CASH PATRONAGE ALLOCATIONS NOT REVENUE PER IRS = $157802
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other IncreasesPATRONAGE DIV PAID TO MEMBERS' ACCTS NOT EXPENSE PER GAAP = $3028413
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other IncreasesUNRECOGNIZED POST RETIREMENT ACTUARIAL GAIN = $103593
990 Part IX Line 17 Travel ExpenseTravel costs includes the expenses of purchasing, leasing, operating, and repairing any vehicles owned by the Corporation and used in the Corporation's activities. Travel costs also include transportation costs, meals and lodging, and per diem payments.
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 4 - BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERSPATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO MEMBERS' ACCOUNTS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION IN CENTRAL VA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE'S BY-LAWS. THE COOPERATIVE IS OBLIGATED TO PAY BY CREDITS TO A CAPITAL ACCOUNT FOR EACH PATRON ALL SUCH AMOUNTS IN EXCESS OF OPERATING COSTS AND EXPENSES. IRS INSTRUCTIONS FOR LINE 4 CHANGED IN 2011 TO INCLUDE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID BY SECTION 501(C)(12) ORGANIZATIONS TO THEIR MEMBERS. ACCORDINGLY, THESE AMOUNTS ARE NOW REPORTED ON LINE 4.