STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

JACKSON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
JACKSON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 74-0708876)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-11-13
IRS object ID
201703179349305785
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-11-13T15:31:40-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN740708876EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JACKSON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlJACKBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3617714400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1189AddressLine1Txt
CityEDNACityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP779571189ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJAMES COLEMANPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone3617714400PhoneNum
Signature2017-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2017-11-13PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address65.182.80.152IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-11-13IPDt
IP Tm09:36:38IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdBB0A6EFF21CE0653C6B3B49029A3E11A3F81D504AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdF209397801A578BBC6965567C9535F5B1AD51342AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2017-02-10 21:41:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJAMES COLEMANPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1189AddressLine1Txt
CityEDNACityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP779571189ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$53,553,363GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.JECEC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee78TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$2,279,439TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$143,681NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$49,228,424PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$50,820,921CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$376,087PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$299,489CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$3,008,290PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$2,337,342CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$52,612,801PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$53,457,752CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$8,124PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$8,930CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$4,636,417PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,247,217CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,272,793PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,424,855CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$43,695,467PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$45,684,799CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$52,612,801PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$51,365,801CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,091,951CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$91,908,411TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$107,614,900TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$43,845,226TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$56,021,158TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$48,063,185NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$51,593,742NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionPROVIDE DEPENDABLE ELECTRIC AND SUBSIDIARY SERVICES AT COMPETITIVE PRICES, TO MAINTAIN LINES OF COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, MANAGEMENT, EMPLOYEES, MEMBERS AND COMMUNITY LEADERS TO ACTIVELY PARTICIPATE IN COMMUNITY AFFAIRS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcYes (1)SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS - 15,577 CONNECTED METERS AT YEAR END WERE PROVIDED ELECTRICITY ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document60IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee78EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$49,617,820MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$2,692,555OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JAMES COLEMAN GENERAL MANAGERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3617714400PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18925 STATE HIGHWAY 111 SOUTHAddressLine1Txt
CityGANADOCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77962ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
LH CORNELIUS JR
PRESIDENT4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$13,650$0$0
DICK KOOP
VICE PRESIDENT2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$12,450$0$0
MICHAEL JACOBS
SECRETARY/TREASURER3.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$11,550$0$0
BRUCE ELLIOTT
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$13,950$0$0
RAY BRUNDRETT
DIRECTOR7.00Yes (X)$16,350$0$0
WILLIAM HANSEN
DIRECTOR2.50Yes (X)$14,400$0$0
JAMES HOFFMEISTER
DIRECTOR5.00Yes (X)$12,900$0$0
TOM HUDGINS
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$13,050$0$0
LAVAL SIMONS
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$12,000$0$0
TOM WARD
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$14,250$0$0
W H WEBERNICK
DIRECTOR2.50Yes (X)$12,750$0$0
JAMES E COLEMAN
GENERAL MANAGER60.00Yes (X)$184,372$0$56,503
RICHARD BOURLAND
OPERATIONS50.00$112,110$0$32,371Yes (X)
MARTIN FLORES
LINEMAN52.00$102,421$0$31,480Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$546,203TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$120,354TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
COOPERATIVE BLDG SOLUTIONS
77 WESTPORT PLAZA STE 250ST LOUISEMO63146NEW BLDG CONTRACTOR$3,623,213
POWERLINE CONSTRUCTION INC
PO BOX 889EDNATX77957LINE CONSTRUCTION$1,180,543
ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT CO
621 DIAMOND CUT DRCORPUS CHRISTITX78409TREE TRIMMING$346,622
SOUTHEASTERN DATA COOPERATIVE
100 ASHFORD CTR NATLANTAGA30338BILL PRINTING AND COMPUTER SUPPORT$229,159
FUTURA SYSTEMS INC
100 ASHFORD CTR N STE 501ATLANTAGA30338MAPPING SOFTWARE & SUPPORT$152,801
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$48,655,932$48,655,932
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$1,979,478$1,979,478
SERVICE FEES221000$185,511$185,511
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$50,820,921TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$286,839TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$286,839ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$12,650SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$12,650SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$12,650TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$12,650ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$129,334GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$95,611CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$33,723TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$33,723RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
SALES OF PROPANE453000$2,268,105$2,268,105
POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME221000$24,180$24,180
INTERNET SERVICES PROVIDER517000$11,334$11,334
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$2,303,619OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$53,457,752TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$50,854,644RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,279,439UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$323,669ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,930TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,247,217TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$388,175TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,964,465TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$425,752TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$438,302TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$208,161TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,443,849TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,104,331TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$33,993,039
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$3,019,077
PROPANE OPERATIONS$1,360,378
UNRELATED BUS. INC. TAX$195,315

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,568,810TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,365,801TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,930,244BOYAmt
EOY$2,756,524EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$168,458BOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,092,481BOYAmt
EOY$4,084,357EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,896BOYAmt
EOY$2,568EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,152,028BOYAmt
EOY$1,058,787EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$421,218BOYAmt
EOY$393,947EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$91,651,528LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$19,336,078LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,593,941BOYAmt
EOY$72,315,450EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,648,511BOYAmt
EOY$4,244,615EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,897,335BOYAmt
EOY$22,744,170EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$299BOYAmt
EOY$14,482EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,908,411BOYAmt
EOY$107,614,900EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,697,611BOYAmt
EOY$5,849,070EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,248,364BOYAmt
EOY$3,304,577EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$168,294BOYAmt
EOY$158,541EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,109,227BOYAmt
EOY$45,672,561EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,621,730BOYAmt
EOY$1,036,409EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,845,226BOYAmt
EOY$56,021,158EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$189,560BOYAmt
EOY$187,955EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,388,294BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,485,331BOYAmt
EOY$51,405,787EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$48,063,185BOYAmt
EOY$51,593,742EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,908,411BOYAmt
EOY$107,614,900EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,091,951ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$192,992NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,245,614OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,501,966OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,501,966BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,831,442OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,831,442BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$74,324,163OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,336,078DepreciationAmt
Book Value$54,988,085BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,993,957OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$10,993,957BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$72,315,450TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (8 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - TEC$346,917C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$721,145C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - STEC$20,564,109C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - SEDC$110,815C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRTC$5,244C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES$921,007C
OTHER INVESTMENTS$2,976C
NON-UTILITY PLANT - UNAMORTIZED GOODWILL$71,957C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$22,744,170TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$986,624
ACCRUED TAXES$5,783
OTHER CURRENT & ACCRUED LIABILITIES$44,002
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,036,409TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$53,462,031TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$192,992NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$192,992RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$53,269,039RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$188,713OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$188,713RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$53,457,752TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$49,929,871TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$49,929,871ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,435,930OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,435,930ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$51,365,801TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR SCHOLARSHIPS TO ENABLE STUDENTS FROM RURAL AREAS TO ATTEND COLLEGE, TECHNICAL SCHOOL OR OTHER POST SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTION. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED.
PART X, LINE 2:ASC TOPIC #740, "INCOME TAXES", REQUIRES THAT AN ENTERPRISE CANNOT RECOGNIZE A TAX BENEFIT IN ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS UNLESS IT CONCLUDES THAT IT IS "MORE LIKELY THAN NOT" THAT THE BENEFIT WILL BE SUSTAINED ON AUDIT BY THE TAXING AUTHORITY. TAX-EXEMPT AND NOT-FOR-PROFIT ENTERPRISES ARE ALSO WITHIN THE SCOPE OF THE ASC, SINCE THE DECISION THAT SOME OR ALL OF AN ENTERPRISE'S ACTIVITIES ARE NOT SUBJECT TO INCOME TAXES IS ITSELF A TAX POSITION FOR WHICH THE INTERPRETATION REQUIRES EVALUATION. AT ADOPTION, AND ANNUALLY THEREAFTER, JACKSON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. APPLIES THE REQUIREMENTS TO ALL TAX POSITIONS FOR WHICH THE STATUE OF LIMITATIONS REMAINED OPEN. JACKSON ELECTRIC RECOGNIZES THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT BENEFIT OF A TAX POSITION ONLY AFTER DETERMINING THAT THE RELEVANT TAX AUTHORITY WOULD MORE LIKELY THAN NOT SUSTAIN THE POSITION FOLLOWING AN AUDIT. JACKSON ELECTRIC WAS DETERMINED BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE TO BE AN EXEMPT COOPERATIVE FOR PURPOSES OF FEDERAL INCOME TAXES, UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE, IN YEARS WHEN RECEIPTS FROM MEMBERS, FOR THE PURPOSE OF MEETING LOSSES AND EXPENSES, ARE AT LEAST 85 PERCENT OF TOTAL INCOME. THE AMOUNT OF UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2016 AND 2015 WAS ZERO.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INVESTMENT EXP INCLUDED IN NONOPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSE 25,567. INTERNET SERVICE EXP INCLUDED IN NONOPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSE 163,146.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INVESTMENT EXP INCLUDED IN NONOPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSE 25,567. INTERNET SERVICE EXP INCLUDED IN NONOPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSE 163,146. PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNED 1,247,217.
PART IXTHE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5 PERCENT OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4BFOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID OR ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss0WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation Required0SubstantiationRequiredInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJAMES E COLEMANPersonNm
TitleGENERAL MANAGERTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$155,211BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$1,614BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$27,547OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$36,162DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$20,341NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$240,875TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$0CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1APART I, LINE 1A - HEALTH OR SOCIAL CLUB DUES OR INITIATION FEES - THE COOPERATIVE HAS A WELLNESS PROGRAM IN WHICH THE COOPERATIVE WILL DEDUCT $10 PER MONTH PER ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEE AND INCUR THE ENTIRE BILLING COSTS FOR EMPLOYEE SELECTED WELLNESS VENDORS.
PART II, COLUMN CINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. JAMES COLEMAN: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 36,162 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 0 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 36,162 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (36,162) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 35,892 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 35,892

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDAMIEN COLEMANPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFAMILY RELATIONSHIPRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$72,500TransactionAmt
TransactionDAMIEN COLEMAN RECEIVED COMPENSATION AS AN EMPLOYEE OF THE COOPERATIVE. HE AND JAMES COLEMAN, OFFICER OF THE COOPERATIVE, ARE FAMILY MEMBERS PER THE 990 DEFINITION OF FAMILY MEMBERS.TransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 2INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE. 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE; 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION; 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS; 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CON A MONTHLY BASIS, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS REVIEW ALL TRANSACTIONS THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. ADDITIONALLY, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO BE FAMILIAR WITH THE POLICIES OUTLINED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY ACTION OR SITUATION THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE POLICY TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. IF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST ARISES THE INVOLVED DIRECTOR WILL NOT VOTE ON THE ISSUE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS USE A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE SURVEY SHOWS COMPARATIVE SALARIES FOR GENERAL MANAGERS FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES LOCATED IN TEXAS AND THE NATION. THE BOARD AND THE GENERAL MANAGER USE A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICER AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY. THE SURVEY INCLUDES SALARIES FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES THROUGHOUT TEXAS AND THE NATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, OR GOVERNING DOCUMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN FIN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING THE EMPLOYEE OFFICER AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH, DENTAL, VISION AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE EMPLOYEE OFFICER AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT.
FORM 990, PART VII, SECTION ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS CONSIDERS THE GENERAL MANAGER TO BE BOTH THE TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIAL AND THE TOP FINANCIAL OFFICIAL. THEREFORE, ONLY THE GENERAL MANAGER IS LISTED AS AN EMPLOYEE OFFICER.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IXTHE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS AS PRESCRIBED BY THE FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION FOR CLASS A AND B ELECTRIC UTILITIES MODIFIED FOR ELECTRIC BORROWERS OF THE NATIONAL RURAL UTILITIES COOPERATIVE FINANCE CORPORATION (CFC). THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTING DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1 - 23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1 - 23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 3,352,640 LESS DIRECTORS FEES REPORTED ON 1099-MISC (147,300) LESS EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (56,503) PLUS SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 1,114,866 PLUS SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 258,079 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 4,521,782
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24EOTHER EXPENSES ARE COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: OFFICE SUPPLIES AND EXPENSE $ 390,854 OUTSIDE SERVICES EMPLOYED 904,696 INSURANCE 132,087 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 80,847 REGULATORY COMMISSION EXPENSE 87,923 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL EXPENSE 485,187 CUSTOMER SERVICE 274,512 INTERNET PROGRAMMING SALES EXPENSE 163,146 INVESTMENT EXPENSES 25,567 TAXES 23,991 TOTAL OTHER EXPENSE PER 990, LINE 24E $ 2,568,810
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2016 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 1ALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS AND DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA. ALL DONATIONS ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT, SPONSORSHIP, AND/OR DONATION MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PART II.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNED 1,247,217. NET CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIP -1,603.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JEC BROADBAND LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO 1189AddressLine1Txt
CityEDNACityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP779571189ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesBROADBAND SERVICE PROVIDER TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$0EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JACKSON ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt