ALLIANCE FOR CLINICAL TRIALS IN ONCOLOGY FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2016
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- ALLIANCE FOR CLINICAL TRIALS IN ONCOLOGY FOUNDATION (EIN 02-0464400)
- Tax period
- 2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
- Filed
- 2017-11-07
- IRS object ID
- 201713119349301156
- Schema version
- 2016v3.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2017-11-07T09:01:27-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2016-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 381357951 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | PLANTE & MORAN PLLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 10 S Riverside Plaza 9th Floor | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Chicago | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 60606 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2016-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 020464400 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | ALLIANCE FOR CLINICAL TRIALS IN ONCOLOGY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | FOUNDATION | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | ALLI | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 7737029171 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 125 S WACKER DRIVE No 1600 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CHICAGO | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 60606 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MONICA BERTAGNOLLI MD | PersonNm |
| Person Title | PRESIDENT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 7737029171 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2017-10-24 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Kimberly A Haumann | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00546491 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3122071040 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2017-10-20 | PreparationDt |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 67.59.56.31 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2017-10-24 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 12:19:29 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | CD | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | DA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 4F551198EC90A92CA2ED3AE42C89D47A164E6F16 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2016 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2018-03-14 21:41:22Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | MONICA BERTAGNOLLI MD | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 125 S WACKER DRIVE No 1600 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CHICAGO | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 60606 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $30,832,503 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.allianceforclinicaltrialsinoncology.org | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1993 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | IL | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | The Foundation raises funds to help the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology answer important treatment questions through large-scale clinical trials. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 37 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 37 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 35 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 37 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $11,310,467 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $7,237,730 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $4,164,689 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $11,319,751 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $631,123 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,148,100 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $16,106,279 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $19,705,581 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $9,598,416 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $8,157,022 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $1,249,280 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,085,260 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $241,729 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $2,889,830 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $7,330,802 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $13,737,526 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $17,573,084 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,368,753 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,132,497 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $80,899,736 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $94,521,173 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $50,542,868 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $62,580,543 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $30,356,868 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $31,940,630 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | The Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology Foundation is a nonprofit, tax-exempt foundation that raises funds to help the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology answer important treatment questions through large-scale clinical trials. Through efforts of the foundation in support of Alliance clinical trials and laboratory research, donors can help find new ways to prevent, treat and cure many types of cancer, and help educate the medical community on methods of cancer diagnosis, treatment and prevention. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $3,171,016 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $3,171,016 | GrantAmt |
| Desc | ANCILLARY PROJECT GRANTS - PROVIDE SUPPORT FOR EXPENSES OF MULTIDISCIPLINARY COMPANION STUDIES OF ALLIANCE FOR CLINICAL TRIALS IN ONCOLOGY AND ALLIANCE TREATMENT STUDIES RELATING TO CANCER AND LEUKEMIA RESEARCH. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $3,957,408 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $3,957,408 | GrantAmt |
| Desc | STATISTICAL AND DATA MANAGEMENT GRANTS - PROVIDE SUPPORT FOR COSTS INCURRED TO DEVELOP CLINICAL TRIALS, COLLECT PATIENT DATA FROM INSTITUTIONS AND ANALYZE DATA FOR PUBLICATION OF RESULTS OF STUDIES. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $4,848,789 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $11,319,751 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | ALLIANCE FOUNDATION TRIALS CONDUCTS CANCER CLINICAL RESEARCH AND ADDRESSES MEDICAL CARE AND TREATMENT THROUGH LARGE-SCALE CLINICAL TRIALS INVOLVING VARIOUS RELATED PARTNERS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,784,421 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $1,028,597 | GrantAmt |
| Desc | INSTITUTION PER-CASE GRANTS - PROVIDE SUPPORT FOR COSTS INSTITUTIONS INCUR IN COLLECTING DATA ON PATIENTS PARTICIPATING IN CLINICAL TRIALS RELATING TO CANCER & LEUKEMIA RESEARCH. OTHER RELATED PROGRAMS INCLUDE EXECUTIVE OFFICER TRAINING, CENTRAL OFFICE RESOURCES, JUNIOR FACULTY GRANTS, BIOREPOSITORY SUPPORT, INSTITUTION GRANTS, LABORATORY SUPPORT, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, PUBLICATIONS, MEETING AND CONSULTING. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Other Prog Srvc Expense | $1,784,421 | TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Grant | $1,028,597 | TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $13,761,634 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | Yes (1) | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | Yes (1) | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | 0 | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | Yes (1) | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 97 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 35 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 37 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 37 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | 0 | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | IL | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | DHRUVA GOLLERKERI | PersonNm |
| Phone | 6177327898 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 221 LONGWOOD AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | BOSTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 02115 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (44 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monica Bertagnolli | |||||||
| President/Trustee | 6.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| suzanne george | |||||||
| Vice President/Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Denise Brennan | |||||||
| Treasurer | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $5,120 | $0 | $0 | |
| Trinidad Ajazi | |||||||
| Secretary | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $21,000 | $0 | $0 | |
| James Atkins | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Nancy Bartlett | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Luda Bazhenova | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Robert Behrens | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Edward Benz Jr | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Clara Bloomfield | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jan Buckner | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Daniel Budman | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Harold Burstein | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jeffrey Crawford | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Maura Dickler | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Konstantin Dragnev | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Martin Edelman | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| John Ellerton | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Gini Fleming | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Richard Goldberg | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Stephen Graziano | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Steve Grubbs | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Clifford Hudis | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Kelly Hunt | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| David Hurd | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Hedy Kindler | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| John Leonard | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Ellis Levine | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Minetta Liu | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Alan Lyss | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Charles Ryan | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Richard Schilsky | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Michael Schwartz | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Thomas Shea | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Patricia Spears | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Phillip Stella | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Everett Vokes | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Eric Winer | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Marie Wood | |||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Edward Habermehl | |||||||
| COO | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $38,234 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Dhruva Gollerkeri | |||||||
| Controller | 40.00 | $131,851 | $0 | $7,289 | Yes (X) | ||
| JENNIFER GASKIN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR OF QUALITY & COMPLIANCE | 40.00 | $126,617 | $0 | $8,527 | Yes (X) | ||
| CARTER DUFRANE | |||||||
| SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER | 40.00 | $111,318 | $0 | $6,415 | Yes (X) | ||
| JANE LANZILLOTTI | |||||||
| SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER | 40.00 | $107,750 | $0 | $15,227 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $541,890 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $37,458 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | 0 | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mayo Clinic | |||||
| 200 First Street SW | Rochester | MN | 55905 | Statistics and Data Management | $2,246,461 |
| BiologicsInc | |||||
| 120 Weston Oaks Court | Cary | NC | 27513 | Research | $458,586 |
| WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY | |||||
| 660 S EUCLID AVE BOX 8118 | ST LOUIS | MO | 63110 | BIOREPOSITORY SERVICES | $415,715 |
| GNS HEALTHCARE INC | |||||
| 196 BROADWAY | CAMBRIDGE | MA | 02139 | REsearch | $350,000 |
| Halloran Consulting Group Inc | |||||
| 266 Summer Street 8th Floor | Boston | MA | 02210 | IT/Business Processes Consulting Service | $306,399 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 7 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| All Other Contributions | $7,237,730 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $12,484 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $7,237,730 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | RESEARCH CONTRACTS | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $11,319,751 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $11,319,751 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $11,319,751 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $389,545 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $389,545 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $11,885,477 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $11,126,922 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $758,555 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $758,555 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $758,555 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $19,705,581 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $11,319,751 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,148,100 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $8,150,022 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $8,150,022 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,000 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $26,120 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,697 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $18,702 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $721 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,725,519 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $668,665 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $984,908 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $71,946 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $333,621 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $115,982 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $202,892 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $14,747 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $47,120 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $19,878 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $25,639 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,603 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $97,281 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $41,039 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $52,933 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,309 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $132,512 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $132,512 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,040,193 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $296,425 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $688,928 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $54,840 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,770,296 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $950,262 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $774,733 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $45,301 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $119,845 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $119,539 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $288 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $18 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $33,473 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,779 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $24,548 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $2,146 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $140,636 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $33,794 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $98,711 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $8,131 | FundraisingAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $252,602 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $60,699 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $177,298 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $14,605 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $673,840 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $284,266 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $366,652 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $22,922 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $28,749 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $12,128 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $15,643 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $978 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| SITE PAYMENTS | $1,921,589 | $1,921,589 |
| BIOREPOSITORY | $587,366 | $587,366 |
| DRUG DISTRIBUTION | $303,157 | $303,157 |
| REGULATORY | $144,421 | $144,421 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $37,722 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $31,926 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $5,334 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $462 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,573,084 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $13,761,634 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,569,721 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $241,729 | FundraisingAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $59,356,256 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,613,730 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,039,347 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,682,474 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,082,758 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,553,135 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $633,555 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,369,883 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $2,613,586 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $781,676 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,498,575 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,831,910 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,278,784 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $48,433,383 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,461 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $36,658 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $80,899,736 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $94,521,173 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,477,047 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,404,886 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $24,179,592 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $33,726,450 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $21,886,229 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,449,207 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $50,542,868 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $62,580,543 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $25,289,566 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $27,867,750 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,067,302 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,072,880 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $30,356,868 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $31,940,630 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $80,899,736 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $94,521,173 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $2,132,497 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$548,735 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $10,124,096 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $6,051,173 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $6,567,166 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $6,489,424 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $5,588,356 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $34,820,215 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $10,124,096 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $6,051,173 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $6,567,166 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $6,489,424 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $5,588,356 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $34,820,215 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $22,270,721 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $12,549,494 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $267,975 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $260,583 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $303,865 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $307,356 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $389,545 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $1,529,324 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $36,349,539 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $16,809,360 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.34520 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.33540 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $17,423,742 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $17,423,742 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $16,491,179 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,074,623 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$13,836 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $128,224 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $17,423,742 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $15,189,242 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $752,266 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $662,754 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $113,083 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $16,491,179 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $13,285,096 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $572,500 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $1,421,889 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $90,243 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $15,189,242 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $8,925,016 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $3,586,727 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $851,807 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $78,454 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $13,285,096 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 1.00000 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,613,586 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $781,676 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,831,910 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $1,831,910 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| GRANT ADVANCES | $21,779,468 |
| FUNDS HELD FOR OTHERS | $2,669,739 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $24,449,207 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $19,180,364 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$548,735 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $23,518 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$525,217 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $19,705,581 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $19,705,581 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $17,596,602 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $23,518 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $23,518 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $17,573,084 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $17,573,084 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part V, Line 4: | THE BOARD DESIGNATED ENDOWMENT FUND IS SPECIFICALLY DESIGNATED TO SUPPORT FUTURE ACTIVITIES. IN CASE OF A FUNDING EMERGENCY, ACCESS TO THESE FUNDS MAY ONLY BE AUTHORIZED BY VOTE OF THE TRUSTEES. |
| Part X, Line 2: | The Alliance Foundation Trials, LLC and Mastering Breast Cancer, LLC are considered disregarded entities for tax reporting purposes. Accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America require management to evaluate tax positions taken by the Foundation and recognize a tax liability if the Organization has taken an uncertain position that more likely than not would not be sustained upon examination by the IRS or other applicable taxing authorities. Management has analyzed the tax positions taken by the Organization and has concluded that as of December 31, 2016, there are no uncertain positions taken or expected to be taken that would require recognition of a liability or disclosure in the consolidated financial statements. |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
| Subtotal Offices | 0 | SubtotalOfficesCnt |
| Subtotal Employees | 0 | SubtotalEmployeesCnt |
| Continutation Total Office | 0 | ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt |
| Continutation Total Employee | 0 | ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Office | 0 | TotalOfficeCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Subtotal Spent | $0 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Continuation Spent | $0 | ContinuationSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $0 | TotalSpentAmt |
Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Region | North America - Canada and Mexico, but not the United States | RegionTxt |
| Purpose Of Grant | Institutional support for cancer research | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
| Cash Grant | $7,000 | CashGrantAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 1 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | 0 | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | 0 | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | 0 | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | 0 | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | 0 | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | 0 | BoycottCountriesInd |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (37 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt | Address Line2USAddress/AddressLine2Txt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American College of Surgeons | ||||||||
| 633 N Saint Clair Street | Chicago | IL | 60611 | 362192800 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $95,095 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Board of Regents of University of Wisconsin System | ||||||||
| UW-Madison Office of Research | Milwaukee | WI | 532780538 | 396006492 | Other: Exempt | $378,424 | Institutional support for cancer research | Sponsored Programs |
| Brigham & Women's Hospital | ||||||||
| 75 Francis Street | Boston | MA | 02115 | 042312909 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $7,040 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Cleveland Clinic Foundation | ||||||||
| 9500 Euclid Avenue | Cleveland | OH | 44195 | 340714585 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $10,000 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Dana-Farber Cancer Institute | ||||||||
| 44 Binney Street | Boston | MA | 021156084 | 042263040 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $186,597 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Decatur Memorial Hospital | ||||||||
| 2300 North Edward Street | Decatur | IL | 62526 | 370661199 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $8,190 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Duke University Medical Center | ||||||||
| 2301 Erwin Road | Durham | NC | 27710 | 560532129 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $148,493 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| ECOG-ACRIN Medical Research Foundation Inc | ||||||||
| 1818 Market Street Suite 1100 | Philadelphia | PA | 19103 | 460745339 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $32,532 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Feinstein Institute for Medical Research | ||||||||
| 350 Community Drive | Manhasset | NY | 11030 | 112673595 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $14,804 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Health Research Inc | ||||||||
| Elm Carlton Streets | Buffalo | NY | 14263 | 141402155 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $67,947 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Iowa Oncology Research Association | ||||||||
| 300 East Locust Street Suite 350 | Des Moines | IA | 50309 | 421104334 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $10,000 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Massachusetts General Hospital | ||||||||
| 55 Fruit Street | Boston | MA | 02114 | 042697983 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $64,538 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Mayo Clinic | ||||||||
| 200 First Street SW | Rochester | MN | 55905 | 416011702 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $1,845,269 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Medical University of South Carolina | ||||||||
| 171 Ashley Avenue | Charleston | SC | 29425 | 576000722 | Other: State | $5,994 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center | ||||||||
| 1275 York Avenue | New York | NY | 37206 | 131624182 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $175,093 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Northwestern University | ||||||||
| 750 N Lake Shore Drive | Chicago | IL | 60611 | 362167817 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $6,000 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| NRG Oncology Foundation Inc | ||||||||
| 1600 John F Kennedy Blvd Suite 1020 | Philadelphia | PA | 19103 | 900912747 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $20,836 | Institutional support for cancer research | 1020 |
| Regents of University of California | ||||||||
| 924 Westwood Blvd Suite 710 | Los Angeles | CA | 90095 | 954684995 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $8,167 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Sentara Hospitals | ||||||||
| 6015 Poplar Hall Drive | Norfolk | VA | 23502 | 541547408 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $7,000 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| SWOG - Clinical Trials Initiative LLC | ||||||||
| 24 Frank Lloyd Wright Drive | Ann Arbor | MI | 48106 | 261145046 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $11,779 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| The Ohio State University | ||||||||
| 1960 Kenny Road | Columbus | OH | 43210 | 316025986 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $223,920 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia | ||||||||
| PO Box 800793 | Charlottesville | VA | 22908 | 546001796 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $228,070 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| The Regents of the University of California San Francisco | ||||||||
| 1600 Divisadero Street | San Francisco | CA | 94143 | 946036493 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $150,811 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| The Research Foundation of The State University of New York | ||||||||
| 750 E Adams Street | Syracuse | NY | 13210 | 141368361 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $22,804 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| The Trustees of Columbia University in the City of New York | ||||||||
| 615 West 131st Street 3rd Floor | New York | NY | 10027 | 135598093 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $15,380 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| The Trustees of Indiana University | ||||||||
| 400 E 7th Street | Bloomington | IN | 47405 | 356001673 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $44,000 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| The University of Iowa | ||||||||
| 105 Jessup Hall | Iowa City | IA | 52242 | 426004813 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $9,624 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center | ||||||||
| 1515 Holcombe Boulevard | Houston | TX | 77030 | 746001118 | Other - State Agency | $406,859 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| University of Alabama Birmingham | ||||||||
| 701 20th Street South | Birmingham | AL | 35294 | 636005396 | Other - State Univer | $10,000 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| University of Chicago | ||||||||
| 5841 S Maryland Avenue | Chicago | IL | 606371470 | 362177139 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $475,487 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | ||||||||
| 3009 Old Blinic Bldg | Chapel Hill | NC | 275997305 | 566001393 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $286,738 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| University of Pittsburgh | ||||||||
| 5150 Center Avenue | Pittsburgh | PA | 15232 | 250965591 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $145,079 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| University of Utah | ||||||||
| 2000 Circle of Hope | Salt Lake City | UT | 84112 | 876000525 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $12,778 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| University of Wisconsin System | ||||||||
| 21 North Park Street | Madison | WI | 53715 | 391805963 | Other: Exempt | $47,267 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Wake Forest University Health Sciences | ||||||||
| Medical Center Blvd | WinstonSalem | NC | 27157 | 223849199 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $24,361 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Washington University | ||||||||
| 660 S Euclid | St Louis | MO | 63110 | 430653611 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $79,911 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Weill Medical College of Cornell University | ||||||||
| 1300 York Avenue | New York | NY | 10065 | 131623978 | 501(c)(3) Public Cha | $46,089 | Institutional support for cancer research | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 32 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 5 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS IS MONITORED BY THE BOARD TREASURER AND TRACKED THROUGH THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | THE BOARD RETAINS THE SERVICES OF AN INDEPENDENT CPA FIRM TO PREPARE THE ORGANIZATIONS FORM 990. THE FORM 990 WAS REVIEWED BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE, THE BOARD TREASURER, THE CORPORATE OFFICERS, AND LEGAL COUNSEL PRIOR TO FILING WITH A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO REVIEW AND RETURN ANY QUESTIONS OR OBSERVATION DIRECTLY TO THE ORGANIZATION. THE GOVERNING BODY IS PROVIDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO REVIEW THE RETURN AND ASK ANY QUESTIONS DIRECTLY TO ORGANIZATION MANAGEMENT OR THE CONTACT AT THE INDEPENDENT CPA FIRM PRIOR TO FILING. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, TRUSTEES AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE ANNUALLY REQUIRED TO COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURE STATEMENT AS A PRECURSOR TO THEIR SERVICE TO THE ORGANIZATION. POTENTIAL CONFLICTS ARE LOGGED WITH AND MONITORED BY THE SECRETARY OF THE BOARD. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15b | THE ORGANIZATION USES VARIOUS COMPARABILITY DATA FROM INDEPENDENT CONSULTANTS AS WELL AS OTHER MARKET SURVEYS TO SET COMPENSATION GUIDELINES. THESE GUIDELINES INCLUDE REVIEW OF THE MARKET BY LOOKING AT SALARIES FOR COMPARABLE POSITIONS AS WELL AS A MERIT AND BONUS PROGRAM BASED ON PERFORMANCE. COMPENSATION DECISIONS ARE MADE BY PERSONS WHO ARE INDEPENDENT OF THE EMPLOYEES FOR WHOM THE COMPENSATION IS BEING DETERMINED. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Total IncomeTotalIncomeAmt | End Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alliance Foundation Trials LLC | ||||||||
| 125 S Wacker Dr Suite 1600 | CHICAGO | IL | 60606 | 465750590 | Clinical Trials | IL | $11,326,742 | $40,692,719 |
| Mastering Breast Cancer LLC | ||||||||
| 125 S Wacker Dr Suite 1600 | CHICAGO | IL | 60606 | 473387139 | Clinical Trials | IL | $1,000,052 | $1,000,052 |