UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2016
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION INC (EIN 58-1353149)
- Tax period
- 2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
- Filed
- 2017-11-10
- IRS object ID
- 201743149349302194
- Schema version
- 2016v3.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule F
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule O
- Schedule R
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2017-11-10T11:57:19-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2017-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 560574444 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CHERRY BEKAERT LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1029 Greene Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Augusta | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | GA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 30901 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2016-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 581353149 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | University of Georgia Research | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | Foundation | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | UNIV | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 7065426860 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 324 Business Svces 456 East Broad | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Athens | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | GA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 30602 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | RYAN NESBIT | PersonNm |
| Person Title | FINANCIAL VP AND TREASURER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 7065411361 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2017-11-02 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Heather Morin | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01270715 | PTIN |
| Phone | 7067243557 | PhoneNum |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 70.88.29.50 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2017-11-02 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 14:50:58 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | ED | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | DA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | B5C0B14ED87105292589A5DCE7C563DDDBD44F0E | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2016 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2018-03-14 21:41:22Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | RYAN NESBIT | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | administration building | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | athens | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | GA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 30602 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $216,489,686 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.ovpr.uga.edu/ugarf/ | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1978 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | GA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | THE FOUNDATION OBTAINS GOVERNMENT AND PRIVATE RESEARCH GRANTS ON BEHALF OF THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA. GRANTS ARE AWARDED TO FACULTY RESEARCHERS AT THE UNIVERSITY. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 17 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 10 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $160,445,433 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $182,409,293 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $0 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $0 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,191,637 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $2,343,119 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $9,774,638 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $9,331,551 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $171,411,708 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $194,083,963 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $156,356,506 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $177,729,229 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $0 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $0 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $12,350,880 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $13,099,178 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $168,707,386 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $190,828,407 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,704,322 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $3,255,556 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $99,737,020 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $113,585,507 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $54,114,787 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $64,068,268 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $45,622,233 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $49,517,239 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION IS ORGANIZED TO FULFILL BROAD SCIENTIFIC, LITERARY, EDUCATIONAL, AND CHARITABLE PURPOSES AND OPERATES TO ENHANCE THE MISSION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA OF TEACHING, RESEARCH, AND PUBLIC SERVICE.THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION CONTRIBUTES TO THE RESEARCH FUNCTION OF THE UNIVERSITY BY SECURING RESEARCH CONTRACTS, GRANTS, AND AWARDS FROM INDIVIDUALS, INSTITUTIONS, PRIVATE ORGANIZATIONS, AND GOVERNMENT AGENCIES FOR THE PERFORMANCE OF SPONSORED RESEARCH IN THE VARIOUS UNIVERSITY COLLEGES, SCHOOLS, DEPARTMENTS, AND OTHER UNITS.IN THE INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ADMINISTRATION AGREEMENT, THE BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF GEORGIA AUTHORIZED THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION TO SERVE AS THE OFFICIAL RECIPIENT OF ALL RESEARCH CONTRACTS, GRANTS, AND AWARDS FOR THE CONDUCT OF SPONSORED RESEARCH AT THE UNIVERSITY. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $12,390,262 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $8,733,292 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | PROGRAM SERVICES RELATED TO RESEARCH PROJECTS FUNDED BY GRANTS AND ROYALTIES FROM PATENTS DEVELOPED | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $177,729,229 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $177,729,229 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $182,409,293 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | RESEARCH SUBCONTRACTS - UGA | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Expenses | $190,119,491 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | 0 | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | Yes (1) | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | 0 | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | Yes (1) | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 178 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 0 | EmployeeCnt |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | Yes (1) | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Foreign Country | CJ | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | VI | ForeignCountryCd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 17 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 10 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | 0 | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | GA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CHAD CLEVELAND | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 7065426860 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 456 E BROAD STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | athens | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | GA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 30602 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Former Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JERE W MOREHEAD | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT/CHAIR | 5.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $616,944 | $244,234 | |
| PAMELA S WHITTEN | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $408,514 | $43,012 | |
| JESSICA ORBOCK | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $201,174 | $24,567 | ||
| RYAN A NESBIT | ||||||||
| FINANCIAL VP/TREASURER | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $269,127 | $66,339 | |
| ALAN DARVILL | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $287,789 | $42,606 | ||
| C Greg Guyer | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CADER COX | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Christopher Cummiskey | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| F ABIT MASSEY | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| GREGORY H ROBINSON | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $316,316 | $71,924 | ||
| JOSEF M BRODER | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $211,180 | $49,817 | ||
| N KIRBY ALTON | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Sonia M Altizer | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $114,705 | $31,367 | ||
| SUSAN WALTMAN | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SUSANNE HOLLINGER | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SYLVIA Q GIRAUDO | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $104,364 | $33,177 | ||
| WILLIAM S KISAALITA | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $148,723 | $32,938 | ||
| DAVID C LEE | ||||||||
| EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $294,899 | $46,610 | |
| DEREK E EBERHART | ||||||||
| CHIEF LICENSING OFFICER | 1.00 | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $198,914 | $27,858 | ||
| LIBBY V MORRIS | ||||||||
| FORMER VICE CHAIR | 1.00 | 40.00 | $0 | $228,828 | $48,114 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $0 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $3,401,477 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $762,563 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 0 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | Yes (1) | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MUETING RAASCH & GEBHARDT PA | |||||
| 111 THIRD AVE S SUITE 350 | MINNEAPOLIS | MN | 55401 | LEGAL FEES | $877,368 |
| THOMAS HORSTEMEYER LLP | |||||
| 3200 Windy Hill Rd SE STE 1600E | ATLANTA | GA | 30339 | LEGAL FEES | $236,990 |
| COSUD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY SOLUTIONS (S | |||||
| 714 COLORADO AVE | BRIDGEPORT | CT | 06605 | LEGAL FEES | $136,792 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 3 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $182,409,293 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $182,409,293 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $756,197 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $756,197 | ExclusionAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $8,733,292 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $8,733,292 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $75,300 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $75,300 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $75,300 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $75,300 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $23,992,645 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $22,405,723 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,586,922 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,586,922 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,586,922 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | BIOBUSINESS CENTER | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $522,959 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $522,959 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $522,959 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $194,083,963 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $522,959 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $11,151,711 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $177,729,229 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $177,729,229 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,153 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,153 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $44,300 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $44,300 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $152,026 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $152,026 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,649,123 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,649,123 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $11,340 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $11,340 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,565 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $4,565 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $30,650 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $30,650 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $95,008 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $95,008 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| RESEARCH PROGRAM ENHANC | $4,463,889 | $4,463,889 | |
| LICENSES, PATENTS, & CO | $1,277,250 | $1,277,250 | |
| LOSS FROM PASSTHROUGH | $281,358 | $281,358 | |
| MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSE | $88,516 | $88,516 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $190,828,407 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $190,119,491 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $708,916 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,939,988 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $17,571,113 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $840,447 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $997,388 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $1,252,307 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $1,142,307 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $110,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $110,000 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $39,268,856 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $38,673,811 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $949,080 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $754,033 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $48,628,649 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $55,479,162 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $99,737,020 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $113,585,507 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $35,462,518 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $41,521,574 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,275 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,275 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,645,994 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $22,540,419 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $54,114,787 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $64,068,268 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $45,622,233 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $49,517,239 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $45,622,233 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $49,517,239 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $99,737,020 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $113,585,507 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $3,255,556 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $563,341 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $76,109 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consol And Sep Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $145,225,538 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $139,674,036 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $147,634,867 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $160,445,433 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $182,409,293 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $775,389,167 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $145,225,538 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $139,674,036 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $147,634,867 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $160,445,433 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $182,409,293 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $775,389,167 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support Total170 | $775,389,167 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $8,916,825 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $10,728,252 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $8,022,623 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $10,411,542 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $9,564,789 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $47,644,031 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $249,668 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $376,275 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $400,096 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $498,545 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $522,959 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $2,047,543 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $825,080,741 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.93980 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.93840 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $110,000 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $110,000 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,142,307 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,142,307 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $0 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $110,000 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| GRANTS, CONTRACTS AND ROYALTIES RECEIVABLE | $35,096,248 |
| FUNDS DEPOSITED WITH THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA | $20,382,914 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $55,479,162 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | ADVANCED PAYMENTS ON CONTRACTS | Desc |
| Amt | $22,540,419 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $22,540,419 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $194,647,304 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $563,341 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $563,341 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $194,083,963 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $194,083,963 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $190,752,298 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $190,752,298 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $76,109 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $76,109 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $190,828,407 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | LOSS ADJUSTMENT FROM VARIOUS INVESTING ACTIVITIES 76,109. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Region | Central America and the Caribbean | RegionTxt |
| Type Of Activities Conducted | investment | TypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt |
| Region Total Expenditures | $4,008,654 | RegionTotalExpendituresAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Subtotal Offices | 0 | SubtotalOfficesCnt |
| Subtotal Employees | 0 | SubtotalEmployeesCnt |
| Continutation Total Office | 0 | ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt |
| Continutation Total Employee | 0 | ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Office | 0 | TotalOfficeCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Subtotal Spent | $4,008,654 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Continuation Spent | $0 | ContinuationSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $4,008,654 | TotalSpentAmt |
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | 0 | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | 0 | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | 0 | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | Yes (1) | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | Yes (1) | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | 0 | BoycottCountriesInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART IV, LINE 4 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE ORGANIZATION IS AN INVESTOR IN ONE OR MORE "PASSIVE FOREIGN INVESTMENT COMPANIES" ("PFICS"). THE ORGANIZATION DID NOT RECEIVE ANY TAXABLE DISTRIBUTIONS FROM ANY OF THE PFICS DURING FISCAL YEAR 2017. FORM 8621 IS NOT BEING FILED PURSUANT TO IRS GUIDANCE SET FORTH IN REG. SEC. 1.1291-1(E)." | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable
Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 456 E BROAD STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ATHENS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | GA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 30602 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Recipient EIN | 586001998 | RecipientEIN |
| IRC Section | 115(1) | IRCSectionDesc |
| Cash Grant | $177,729,229 | CashGrantAmt |
| Valuation Method Used | book | ValuationMethodUsedDesc |
| Purpose Of Grant | FUNDS ARE PAID TO THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOR EDUCATIONAL AND RESERACH PURPOSES AND ACADEMIC SUPPORT. | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 1 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part I, Line 2: | THE ORGANIZATION HAS DESIGNED AND IMPLEMENTED INTERNAL CONTROLS OVER COMPLIANCE WITH GRANT REQUIREMENTS. THE ORGANIZATION IS ALSO SUBJECT TO AN ANNUAL AUDIT, WHICH TESTS THE ORGANIZATION'S INTERNAL CONTROLS OVER COMPLIANCE FOR FEDERAL GRANT COMPLIANCE REQUIREMENTS UNDER NEW UNIFORM GUIDANCE (UNIFORM ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS, COST PRINCIPLES, AND AUDIT REQUIREMENTS FOR FEDERAL AWARDS), FORMERLY OMB CIRCULAR A-133. |
| Schedule I | ALL GRANTS RECEIVED BY UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION ARE SUBCONTRACTED TO the UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (1) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JERE W MOREHEAD | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT/CHAIR | $0 | $592,944 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $24,000 | $0 | $236,148 | $0 | $8,086 | $0 | $861,178 | $0 | $0 |
| PAMELA S WHITTEN | ||||||||||||||
| VICE CHAIR | $0 | $384,514 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $24,000 | $0 | $24,486 | $0 | $18,526 | $0 | $451,526 | $0 | $0 |
| JESSICA ORBOCK | ||||||||||||||
| SECRETARY | $0 | $183,012 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $18,162 | $0 | $19,069 | $0 | $5,498 | $0 | $225,741 | $0 | $0 |
| RYAN A NESBIT | ||||||||||||||
| FINANCIAL VP/TREASURER | $0 | $248,358 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $20,769 | $0 | $39,945 | $0 | $26,394 | $0 | $335,466 | $0 | $0 |
| ALAN DARVILL | ||||||||||||||
| Director | $0 | $272,789 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $15,000 | $0 | $27,100 | $0 | $15,506 | $0 | $330,395 | $0 | $0 |
| GREGORY H ROBINSON | ||||||||||||||
| Director | $0 | $316,124 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $192 | $0 | $46,607 | $0 | $25,317 | $0 | $388,240 | $0 | $0 |
| JOSEF M BRODER | ||||||||||||||
| Director | $0 | $211,076 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $104 | $0 | $31,331 | $0 | $18,486 | $0 | $260,997 | $0 | $0 |
| WILLIAM S KISAALITA | ||||||||||||||
| Director | $0 | $148,723 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $14,335 | $0 | $18,603 | $0 | $181,661 | $0 | $0 |
| DAVID C LEE | ||||||||||||||
| EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT | $0 | $290,537 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $4,362 | $0 | $24,486 | $0 | $22,124 | $0 | $341,509 | $0 | $0 |
| DEREK E EBERHART | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF LICENSING OFFICER | $0 | $198,599 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $315 | $0 | $18,705 | $0 | $9,153 | $0 | $226,772 | $0 | $0 |
| LIBBY V MORRIS | ||||||||||||||
| FORMER VICE CHAIR | $0 | $228,513 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $315 | $0 | $33,296 | $0 | $14,818 | $0 | $276,942 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE J: | UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION (UGARF) HAS NO EMPLOYEES. OFFICERS AND SOME DIRECTORS OF UGARF ARE EMPLOYED BY THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA (UGA) AND ARE COMPENSATED FOR THE ROLE PERFORMED FOR UGA. OFFICERS OF UGARF ARE ALSO OFFICERS OF UGA WHICH IS THE SUBCONTRACTOR ON ALL SPONSORED RESEARCH RECEIVED BY UGARF. |
| PART I, LINE 3: | THE PRESIDENT/CHAIR OF UGARF IS PAID DIRECTLY BY UGA FOR HIS ROLE AS PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY. THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF GEORGIA BOARD OF REGENTS ESTABLISHES THE PRESIDENT'S ANNUAL COMPENSATION THROUGH THE USE OF WRITTEN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT, COMPENSATION SURVEY OR STUDY, AND THE APPROVAL BY THE BOARD OR COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. |
| PART I, LINE 4B: | THE COMPENSATION REPORTED IN PART II, COLUMN C INCLUDES DEFERRED COMPENSATION OF $204,014 PAID BY UGA AS PART OF A 457(F) DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7a | UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION'S PRESIDENT, VICE CHAIR, EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT AND FINANCIAL VICE PRESIDENT (ALL VOTING MEMBERS) ARE ELECTED OR APPOINTED AS EX-OFFICIO, MEMBERS BY VIRTUE OF THEIR UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA POSITION. THREE VOTING MEMBERS ARE APPOINTED OR ELECTED BY ALUMNI ASSOCIATION. THREE VOTING MEMBERS ARE APPOINTED OR ELECTED BY UNIVERSITY COUNCIL. THREE VOTING MEMBERS ARE APPOINTED OR ELECTED BY the UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION. FOUR VOTING MEMBERS ARE ELECTED BY VOTE OF THE UNIVERSITY of GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | FORM 990 is PROVIDED ELECTRONICALLY TO BOARD MEMBERS PRIOR TO the FILING DEADLINE WITH SUFFICIENT LEAD-TIME TO ALLOW FOR REVIEW BY BOARD MEMBERS. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | BOARD MEMBERS OF UGA RESEARCH FOUNDATION, INC. ARE GIVEN A FORM TO COMPLETE EACH YEAR REQUESTING DISCLOSURE OF ALL RELATED ENTITIES AND TRANSACTIONS. ANY CONFLICTS NOTED ARE DISCUSSED AND APPROPRIATE ACTION TAKEN, IF DEEMED NECESSARY. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 18 | UGA RESEARCH FOUNDATION'S FORM 1023 AND 990 CAN BE REQUESTED THROUGH AN ELECTRONIC REQUEST FORM ON THE FOUNDATION'S WEBSITE. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | UGA RESEARCH FOUNDATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ON THE FOUNDATION'S WEBSITE. |
| Form 990, Part XI, line 9: | Loss ADJUSTMENT FROM VARIOUS INVESTING ACTIVITIES 76,109. |
| FORM 990, PART xii, line 2c | THE AUDIT COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT PROCESS AND THE SELECTION OF INDEPENDENT AUDITORS. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd | Direct Controlling NADirectControllingNACd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UGA REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION INC | |||||||||||
| 1280 SOUTH LUMPKIN STREET | ATHENS | GA | 30602 | 582491922 | REAL ESTATE DEVELOPMENT | GA | 501(C)(3) | LINE 12, TYPE 1 | UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION | Yes (1) | |
| THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA (UGA) | |||||||||||
| 456 E BROAD STREET | ATHENS | GA | 30602 | 586001998 | STATE UNIVERSITY - EDUCATION AND RESEARCH | GA | 115(1) | 0 | N/A | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | Yes (1) | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | Yes (1) | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | Yes (1) | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (1) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA | ||
| B | $180,331,063 | per financial statement |
| UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA | ||
| J | $75,300 | per financial statement |
| uNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA | ||
| P | $7,331,644 | per financial statement |