STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

MARTINS POINT HEALTH CARE INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MARTINS POINT HEALTH CARE INC (EIN 01-0353275)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-11-13
IRS object ID
201743179349302164
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-11-13T09:42:46-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010494526PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Baker Newman & NoyesBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 507AddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04112ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN010353275EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Martin's Point Health Care IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMARTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2077745801PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1331 Veranda StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP041035545ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDavid H Howes MDPersonNm
Person TitlePresident & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2077745801PhoneNum
Signature2017-11-07SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonNicholas E PortoPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01310283PTIN
Phone2078792100PhoneNum
Preparation2017-11-07PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address208.105.168.164IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-11-07IPDt
IP Tm10:17:06IPTm
IP TimezoneESIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id45A87A58F6C00BCB2409326513FED20CCB94F06DAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id2CC4C4610C7CE537855CCDE76D04A8640C960E3EAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2018-03-14 21:41:22ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDavid H Howes MDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1331 Veranda StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP041035545ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$485,126,542GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.martinspoint.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1971FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSee Schedule O for a description of the Organization's most significant activities.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee971TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$18,882TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$15,585NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$636,596,048PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$399,265,957CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$16,447,876PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,352,480CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$90,582CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$653,043,924PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$402,709,019CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$264,841PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$254,514CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$77,810,183PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$73,923,909CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$569,280,803PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$308,488,896CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$647,355,827PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$382,667,319CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,688,097PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$20,041,700CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$336,790,419TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$293,468,604TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$87,547,097TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$72,405,668TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$249,243,322NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$221,062,936NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThe mission of Martin's Point Health Care is to create a healthier community through authentic relationships built on trust.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangeYes (1)SignificantChangeInd
Expense$318,546,721ExpenseAmt
Grant$254,514GrantAmt
Revenue$350,323,224RevenueAmt
DescProvision of Health Plan Services - Please see not-for-profit narrative statement for Martin's Point on Schedule O.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$47,183,107ExpenseAmt
Revenue$48,942,733RevenueAmt
DescDelivery of Medical Care - Please see not-for-profit narrative statement for Martin's Point on Schedule O.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$365,729,828TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document4302IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee971EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Daniel ChojnowskiBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2077745801PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1331 Veranda StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP041035545ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Warren D Alpern MD
Board Member1.000.50Yes (X)$19,495$0$0
George N Campbell Jr
Board Member1.000.50Yes (X)$9,816$0$0
Ronald F Dixon MD
Board Member1.000.50Yes (X)$14,440$0$0
James A Hester Jr PhD
Board Member1.000.50Yes (X)$11,140$0$0
Daniel K Onion MD
Board Member1.000.50Yes (X)$15,403$0$0
Michael E Thomas
Board Member1.000.50Yes (X)$14,822$0$0
Barbara E Trethaway JD
Board Member1.000.50Yes (X)$12,106$0$0
Robert A Moore
Board Member - Chair1.000.50Yes (X)$16,830$0$0Yes (X)
Paul F Kasuba MD
Board Member - Vice Chair1.000.50Yes (X)$9,991$0$0Yes (X)
Edward C Dupont Jr
Board Member - Treasurer1.000.50Yes (X)$16,908$0$0Yes (X)
David H Howes MD
Chief Executive Officer20.0020.00Yes (X)$986,900$0$194,090Yes (X)
David Currier Esq
Board Secretary1.000.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
Daniel B Chojnowski
Chief Financial Officer20.0020.00$333,459$0$29,916Yes (X)
Sandra L Monfiletto
COO - Delivery Systems40.000.00$456,721$0$43,529Yes (X)
Lawrence D Henry
COO - Health Plans10.0030.00$470,560$0$25,791Yes (X)
Jonathan Easton Harvey MD
Chief Medical Officer40.000.00$414,455$0$41,398Yes (X)
Patrick Connolly MD
Physician40.000.00$366,861$0$25,498Yes (X)
Roy M Nakamura MD
Physician40.000.00$352,860$0$27,741Yes (X)
Dale H Bradford
Former CFO0.000.00$239,751$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,762,518TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$387,963TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K144IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Maine Medical Center
22 Bramhall StreetPortlandME04102Medical Services$11,798,773
Eastern Maine Medical Center
43 Whiting Hill Road Suite 300BrewerME04412Medical Services$9,593,751
Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital
1 Medical Center DriveLebanonNH03756Medical Services$7,680,335
HCA Health Services of NH Inc
PO Box 402894AtlantaGA30384Medical Services$6,963,199
Mid Coast Hospital
123 Medical Center DriveBrunswickME04011Medical Services$5,408,344
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K386CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Provision of Health Plan Services524114$350,323,224$350,323,224
Delivery of Medical Care621110$48,942,733$48,942,733
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$399,265,957TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,763,402TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$18,882UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,744,520ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$90,582RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$90,582RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$90,582TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$90,582ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$82,006,601SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$82,236,069SecuritiesAmt
Other$181,454OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$229,468SecuritiesAmt
Other-$181,454OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$410,922TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$410,922ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$402,709,019TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$399,265,957RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$18,882UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,424,180ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$254,514TotalAmt
Program Services$254,514ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,685,316TotalAmt
Program Services$1,079,080ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$606,236ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,286,298TotalAmt
Program Services$47,806,650ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,479,648ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,700,967TotalAmt
Program Services$2,164,834ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$536,133ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,443,518TotalAmt
Program Services$6,801,072ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$642,446ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,807,810TotalAmt
Program Services$3,403,630ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$404,180ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,603,817TotalAmt
Program Services$6,004,396ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$599,421ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$964,053TotalAmt
Program Services$845,748ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$118,305ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$213,155TotalAmt
Program Services$61,100ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$152,055ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$704,807TotalAmt
Management And General$704,807ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,598,757TotalAmt
Program Services$1,353,363ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$245,394ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$601,034TotalAmt
Program Services$599,344ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,690ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,535,427TotalAmt
Program Services$2,686,326ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$849,101ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,996,278TotalAmt
Program Services$4,910,326ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$85,952ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,160,489TotalAmt
Program Services$6,019,798ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$140,691ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$306,521TotalAmt
Program Services$22,604ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$283,917ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,656,657TotalAmt
Program Services$1,149,417ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$507,240ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$335,615TotalAmt
Management And General$335,615ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,088,434TotalAmt
Program Services$3,974,395ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$114,039ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$568,535TotalAmt
Program Services$451,231ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$117,304ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Medical Services & Phar$257,711,524$257,711,524
Medical Supplies & Expe$16,477,404$16,464,087$13,317
Provision for Uncollect$1,380,476$1,380,476
Claims Administration C$585,913$585,913

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$382,667,319TotalAmt
Program Services$365,729,828ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,937,491ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,852BOYAmt
EOY$7,852EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,411,412BOYAmt
EOY$23,650,810EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,879,594BOYAmt
EOY$8,573,568EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$993,898BOYAmt
EOY$780,219EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,377,088BOYAmt
EOY$3,472,249EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$102,349,698LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$49,358,406LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,389,764BOYAmt
EOY$52,991,292EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$172,925,484BOYAmt
EOY$142,918,833EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,763,009BOYAmt
EOY$51,822,704EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,786BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,972,532BOYAmt
EOY$9,251,077EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$336,790,419BOYAmt
EOY$293,468,604EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,580,421BOYAmt
EOY$58,850,803EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$753,183BOYAmt
EOY$783,400EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,213,493BOYAmt
EOY$12,771,465EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$87,547,097BOYAmt
EOY$72,405,668EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$249,243,322BOYAmt
EOY$221,062,936EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$249,243,322BOYAmt
EOY$221,062,936EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$336,790,419BOYAmt
EOY$293,468,604EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$20,041,700ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$10,060,813NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$58,282,899OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$457,847,695CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$488,932,381CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$573,469,568CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$636,596,048CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$399,265,957CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,556,111,649TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$457,847,695CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$488,932,381CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$573,469,568CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$636,596,048CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$399,265,957CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,556,111,649TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$2,556,111,649PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,720,880CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,500,019CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,785,713CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,479,357CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,835,102CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$19,321,071TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,720,880CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,500,019CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,785,713CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,479,357CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,835,102CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$19,321,071TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$94,139CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$149,247CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$174,113CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$40,630CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$18,882CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$477,011TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$461,662,714CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$492,581,647CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$578,429,394CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$640,116,035CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$403,119,941CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,575,909,731TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.99230PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.99230PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00750InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00750InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementYes (1)PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Grants Other Organizations$67,007GrantsOtherOrganizationsAmt
Direct Contact LegislatorsYes (1)DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Direct Contact Legislators$2,557DirectContactLegislatorsAmt
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$251,815OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$321,379TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPart II-B, Line 1f: Martin's Point pays the cost of the lobbying portion of dues to trade associations. These expenses are incurred to help track and discuss legislation affecting health care policy. Martin's Point partners with various like-minded trade associations who support policy focused on improving health outcomes and the experience of care while reducing overall cost of care. Part II-B, Line 1b & 1g: The direct cost of wages for time the Martin's Point President, Dr. David Howes spends attending legislative lobbying meetings. Part II-B, Line 1i: Martin's Point engages consulting firms to provide support and occasional lobbying services to Martin's Point officials.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,564,533OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,564,533BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$45,834,113OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,745,209DepreciationAmt
Book Value$33,088,904BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,834,690OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,364,467DepreciationAmt
Book Value$470,223BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$39,703,565OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$34,455,376DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,248,189BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,412,797OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$793,354DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,619,443BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$52,991,292TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescAlternative InvestmentsDesc
Book Value$51,822,704BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$51,822,704TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$412,065,025TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$10,060,813NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$10,060,813RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$402,004,212RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$704,807InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$704,807RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$402,709,019TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$381,962,512TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$381,962,512ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$704,807InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$704,807ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$382,667,319TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart X, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Company is exempt from income taxes on related business income under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Company could be required to record an obligation for income taxes as the result of a tax position they have historically taken on various tax exposure items including unrelated business income or tax status. Under guidance issued by the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), assets and liabilities are established for uncertain tax positions taken or positions expected to be taken in income tax returns when such positions are judged to not meet the "more-likely-than-not" threshold, based upon the technical merits of the position. Estimated interest and penalties, if applicable, related to uncertain tax positions are included as a component of income tax expense. The Company has evaluated the positions taken on its filed informational tax returns. The Company has concluded no uncertain income tax positions exist at December 31, 2016.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the Caribbean - Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas,RegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedInvestments - FMV as of 12/31/16TypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$14,742,000RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$14,742,000SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$14,742,000TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule F, Part IV:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Organization meets the exception for tax-exempt organizations with respect to filing Form 8621. Form 8621 is not required to be filed for this fiscal year. The organization did not have an ownership of any foreign partnership or corporation that exceeded the filing thresholds for Form 8865 or Form 5471 during the fiscal year. Accordingly, these IRS Forms are not required to be filed.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (10 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
United Way of Greater Portland
One Canal Plaza Suite 300PortlandME04101010241767501(c)(3)$32,230General Support
Community Health Charities of Maine
39 Mechanic Street Suite 100WestbrookME04092222478946501(c)(3)$8,533General Support
American Heart Association
7272 Greenville AvenueDallasTX75231135613797501(c)(3)$20,500General Support
Southern Maine Agency on Aging
136 US Route 1ScarboroughME04101010360259501(c)(3)$37,500Meals on Wheels Program
American Diabetes Association
PO Box 10310PortlandME04104131623888501(c)(3)$20,000General Support
Veteran's Outreach Center
459 South AvenueRochesterNY16201161137379501(c)(3)$8,000General Support
Oasis Free Clinics
66 Baribeau Drive Suite 5B Box 1BrunswickME04011010497587501(c)(3)$6,000Expansion of Dental Services in Community.
Sexual Assault Response Services of Southern Maine
175 Lancaster Street Suite 217APortlandME04101010343943501(c)(3)$6,000General Support
University of Southern Maine
PO Box 9300PortlandME04101043350930Governmental$9,500Gorham Campus Alumni Reunion
MaineShare
PO Box 2095AugustaME04330010444245501(c)(3)$11,512General Support
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org10Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAll requests, solicited or unsolicited, are reviewed by the Martin's Point Health Care, Inc. Charitable Contributions Committee (CCC). The CCC ensures continuity and consistency with the Organization's stated objective. The CCC reviews requests. A charitable contributions/sponsorship application is submitted providing program details and funds requested. The CCC also reviews program results and the financial health of the organizations as needed.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
David H Howes MD
Chief Executive Officer$616,346$0$351,721$0$18,833$0$176,719$0$17,371$0$1,180,990$0$351,721$0
Daniel B Chojnowski
Chief Financial Officer$272,395$0$49,968$0$11,096$0$4,125$0$25,791$0$363,375$0$49,968$0
Sandra L Monfiletto
COO - Delivery Systems$341,984$0$101,189$0$13,548$0$17,100$0$26,429$0$500,250$0$101,189$0
Lawrence D Henry
COO - Health Plans$344,391$0$126,169$0$0$0$0$0$25,791$0$496,351$0$101,169$0
Jonathan Easton Harvey MD
Chief Medical Officer$319,771$0$94,684$0$0$0$16,000$0$25,398$0$455,853$0$94,684$0
Patrick Connolly MD
Physician$156,559$0$204,404$0$5,898$0$0$0$25,498$0$392,359$0$0$0
Roy M Nakamura MD
Physician$152,176$0$194,781$0$5,903$0$0$0$27,741$0$380,601$0$0$0
Dale H Bradford
Former CFO$0$0$0$0$239,751$0$0$0$0$0$239,751$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aCumberland Club membership with costs of $2,936 for David H. Howes, President. This is a business club, the membership to which is used exclusively for business purposes.
Part I, Lines 4a-bSeverance payments were made to Dale Bradford, Chief Financial Officer, in the amount of $239,751. This amount was included as reportable compensation on his Form W-2. Members of senior leadership participate in a long term incentive program and a retention award program. Deferred compensation was reported to individuals as part of these programs. Payments under these programs were made to David H. Howes ($351,721), Daniel B. Chojnowski ($49,968), Lawrence D. Henry ($101,169), Sandra L. Monfiletto ($101,189), and Jonathan E. Harvey ($94,684). These payments were reported in Box 5 of the individuals' W-2 and was previously reported on Form 990, Schedule J, Part II, Column C as deferred compensation in prior years.
Part I, Line 7Some of the compensation for individuals listed in Part VII of Form 990 is calculated through the Achievement Plan (The Plan). The Plan is an earned bonus which is variable based on obtaining a combination of corporate goals. The goal of the Achievement Plan is to focus employees on meeting critical performance measures.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
MHHEFA
A010314384560425L402007-07-18$10,395,000Provide funds to refund 2000 issue00Yes (1)
Finance Authority of Maine
B0103920062016-12-15$6,100,000Funding for 18,000 sq ft Health Care Center000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$2,610,000$10,537,113$756,100$1,614$129,918$10,444,6622007Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$6,100,000$100,876$5,999,124201600Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.000000.000000.00000000
B00000.000000.000000.00000000

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndTerm Of GICTermOfGICPctRegulatory Safe Harbor StsfdRegulatorySafeHarborStsfdIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
TransAmerica
A000Yes (1)00Yes (1)23.000000000000Yes (1)00
(no name)
B0Yes (1)00Yes (1)0000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
A0
B0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Date Rebate Computation PerformedIssuer Name: MHHEFA Date the Rebate Computation was Performed: 07/18/2013
Schedule K, Part I, Line A, Column e:For the MHHEFA issue, the issue price listed differs from the amount reported on Form 8038, Part III of $97,716,087. This is due to the bond issuance being made as part of a pooled financing issue. The amount reported by the Organization on Schedule K is representative of the amount of the issue allocated to the Organization.
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2cFor the MHHEFA issue, the rebate computation was performed on July 18, 2013. No report was filed with the IRS as there was no rebate liability.
Schedule K, Part III, Line 9, Part IV, line 7 and Part V:Martin's Point Health Care has no written policies of their own, however, the issuers of the bonds has written post issuance compliance procedures in place and Martin's Point Health Care, Inc. has a Tax Regulatory Agreement with the issuers.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, line 3Effective January 1, 2016, Martin's Point Generations, LLC (Generations) transferred all of its assets and liabilities to Martin's Point Generations Advantage, Inc. (MPGA), a newly formed wholly-owned subsidiary of Martin's Point Health Care, Inc. which was formed to accept the transfer of assets and liabilities of Generations for the purpose of continuing the operation of the Medicare Advantage health plan previously maintained by Generations. Prior to the transfer, MPGA had applied for and was granted tax-exempt status under 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Medicare Advantage health plan is a complete health care plan that combines all the benefits of Medicare Parts A and B with Part D prescription coverage. The assets and liabilities of Generations were transferred to MPGA at market value. That net amount transferred was below 25% of the total net assets at the beginning of the transfer period and is thus below the threshold required to be further disclosed in Schedule N in accordance with IRS instructions.
Form 990, Part III, Line 4a & 4b:Martin's Point Health Care is a progressive, not-for-profit health care organization, based in Portland, Maine, that is dedicated to providing affordable, high-quality health care in the communities we serve. At Martin's Point, our primary goal is to help our patients and members live healthier lives by providing them with the best possible health care experience, offering high-quality health care and treating our customers with warmth and concern. We help our patients and members take an active role in making good health decisions which lead to happier and healthier lives. This work is achieved in three ways: 1. By providing high-quality primary care and select specialty and ancillary services to patients at six locations throughout Maine and one location in New Hampshire, including onsite pharmacy, radiology, and lab services at most locations; 2. By providing comprehensive medical services to qualifying federal government beneficiaries under a full-risk payment arrangement in Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, and Vermont. 3. By making positive improvements that help transform the health care system in the communities we serve and that can also serve as models of improved care beyond our communities, statewide, and nationally. PROVIDING HIGH-QUALITY PRIMARY CARE In 2016, Martin's Point Health Care: -Served 78,000 patients through family medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine, cardiology, sports medicine, cosmetic dermatology, physical therapy, and more. Many patients were also able to take advantage of onsite radiology, pharmacy, and laboratory services. -Opened a new health care center in Scarborough, Maine which includes a dedicated community center. This space allows us to host community events and provide services to keep the senior population active - both physically and mentally - through activities such as weekly lunches, yoga, bingo, healthy living seminars, and much more. -Continued integrating behavioral health services at four of our locations (Brunswick Farley Road, Brunswick Baribeau Drive, Portland, and Scarborough). -Continued work on our model of care where physicians and other medical staff are grouped into "care teams." Through this team set-up, they are able to more effectively work together to anticipate patients' needs, better coordinate their care, and help create better health outcomes and experiences. -Provided $235,000 of financial assistance to patients who were unable to pay for services. PROVIDING HEALTH PLANS FOR MEMBERS Martin's Point offers health plan services for select groups throughout the Northeast. Our plan members receive comprehensive benefits and quality care, and they consistently give us high ratings for exemplary service and satisfaction. In 2016, Martin's Point Health Care: -Served as one of six contracted health plan administrators to the Department of Defense of the US Family Health Plan for military beneficiaries. Through this plan, Martin's Point serves families of active-duty personnel including activated National Guard, Reserve, and military retirees and their families across Northern New England, Upstate New York and Northern Pennsylvania. In 2016, our US Family Health Plan served 46,000 members. In over 35 years of providing this TRICARE Prime option, we consistently have earned high marks for customer service and member satisfaction. The National Committee on Quality Assurance (NCQA) has awarded the Martin's Point US Family Health Plan in Maine a "5-Star" rating, one of only 13 health plans in the category nationally to receive such a high rating. The Martin's Point US Family Health Plan in New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, and Vermont received a very commendable 4.5-Star rating. COMMITTED TO TRANSFORMING THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM Martin's Point is leading the way to transforming the health care system in the communities we serve and beyond. We are dedicated to participating in, and creating opportunities to share, innovative solutions with others towards our common goal of creating a sustainable, quality health care delivery system, both in Maine and throughout the nation. Our work is driven by three principles: 1) to improve the experience of care, 2) to improve health outcomes, and 3) to reduce overall costs. To achieve these goals, we are working to make systemic changes to the way primary care is delivered and coordinated. In 2016, Martin's Point Health Care: -Continued to enhance our Primary Care Comprehensive Payment model to encourage and reward quality care and a better health care experience. -Participated as a member of the national Alliance of Community Health Plans, which is comprised of 20 of the top performing community and regional non-profit health plans. MARTIN'S POINT - MAKING A DIFFERENCE IN OUR COMMUNITY Martin's Point is committed to making a difference and improving lives in the communities we serve. In addition to doing this through our services for patients and members, the organization also serves as a leader in the philanthropic community. In 2016, Martin's Point Health Care: -Contributed over $211,000 in financial support to over 80 health care and community nonprofit organizations, agencies, and groups throughout Maine, New Hampshire, and New York. -Employees personally and collectively contributed $32,588 of their wages to their local United Ways and other charities. -Employees from across the organization also actively volunteered their own time to represent Martin's Point Health Care in significant fundraising events for the American Diabetes Association, American Heart Association, Maine Cancer Foundation, Maine Lung Association, Preble Street, and many more. Martin's Point is proud to support our employees in their efforts and ability to make a difference in our communities. Thus, Martin's Point provides a volunteer time-off policy which makes it easier for our employees to do direct volunteer service and serve on community boards and committees. -In 2016, our employees worked together to build and maintain a community garden near our Portland Health Care Center. Employees harvested 335 pounds of fresh, organic produce, which were donated to a local food shelter. -In 2016, our employees volunteered over 1,729 hours, which totals $71,986 paid in wages to employees for volunteer time. In addition, Martin's Point donated close to $30,000 in monetary support to over 30 charitable organizations and efforts in which our employees are engaged.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 is prepared internally with assistance from an outside CPA firm. The return is reviewed in detail by management. A copy of the Form 990 is provided to the Board of Directors before filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cEach new hire is required to complete a New Hire Compliance Training within the first 30 days of employment. This training includes compliance guidelines for the conflict of interest policy. The new hire is prompted to report any conflict of interest they may have as defined in the policy. All employees, as a condition of employment, take the annual compliance training which includes conflict of interest training. Questions specific to identifying conflicts of interest are answered by each employee. The responses are monitored for conflict of interest indicators. All board directors receive conflict of interest training and must attest to no conflicts.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Each year, Martin's Point Health Care's compensation committee, which is comprised of independent board members, works with an independent health care compensation consulting firm to obtain third-party market data for positions that are functionally comparable to those held by our executives in organizations of comparable size based on net revenue and/or health plan membership. This data, as well as the consultant's report showing where our executives fall in relation to the market data, is reviewed by the committee prior to determining compensation adjustments for the chief executive officer and other executives. The committee's deliberations in this regard are documented in its meeting minutes.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and audited financial statements available to the general public upon request.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 1b:The individuals listed in Part VII as board members of the Organization received reportable compensation from the Organization in excess of $10,000. Other than the CEO, members were not compensated as employees of the Organization or a related organization during the current tax year. Furthermore, those members did not receive total compensation or other payments exceeding $10,000 during the Organization's tax year from the Organization or related organization for services as an independent contractor other than services rendered as board members. All compensation reported in Part VII for those individuals is reasonable compensation for services provided in their capacity as a member of the governing body.
Form 990, Part VIII, Line 3c:The Organization's 990-T filing is related to Schedule K-1's received from Nyes Ledge Capital Partners, LP for investment-related income of $18,882.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Transfer to Subsidiary -58,282,899.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:The audit process has not changed from the prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
Martin's Point Generations LLC
331 Veranda StreetPortlandME04103204505084Inactive - Dissolved 2016ME$0$0Martin's Point Health Care Inc
Martin's Point Community Health Administrators LLC
331 Veranda StreetPortlandME04103800647782InactiveME$0$0Martin's Point Health Care Inc

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Martin's Point Generations Advantage IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1331 Veranda StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN474682941EIN
Primary ActivitiesMedicare Limited HMOPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(4)ExemptCodeSectionTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Martin's Point Health CareBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Martin's Point Community Health Plan IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1331 Veranda StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN800647785EIN
Primary ActivitiesInactivePrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Martin's Point Health Care IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Martin's Point Generations Advantage Inc
R$58,282,899Cash
Martin's Point Generations Advantage Inc
L$23,041,082Cash