STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

MIDDLE TENNESSEE ELECTRIC MEMBERSHI P CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MIDDLE TENNESSEE ELECTRIC MEMBERSHI P CORPORATION (EIN 62-0293472)
Tax period
2015-07-01 to 2016-06-30
Filed
2017-02-09
IRS object ID
201700409349300310
Schema version
2015v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-02-09T13:34:04-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN620808829PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WINNETT ASSOCIATES PLLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 745AddressLine1Txt
CitySHELBYVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP371620745ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN620293472EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MIDDLE TENNESSEE ELECTRICBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2MEMBERSHIP CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMIDDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6154941551PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1555 NEW SALEM HIGHWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityMURFREESBOROCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37129ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCHRIS JONESPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone6154941551PhoneNum
Signature2017-02-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonPATRICK R LILEPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01067422PTIN
Phone9316847142PhoneNum
Preparation2017-02-08PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCHRIS JONESPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1555 NEW SALEM HIGHWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityMURFREESBOROCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37129ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$545,977,056GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.MTEMC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionRURAL ELECTRICITY DISTRIBUTION.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee427TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$554,593,539PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$539,977,489CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$612,487PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$269,886CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$789,723PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,990,973CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$555,995,749PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$542,238,348CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$34,813,281PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$37,863,755CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$508,291,385PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$494,318,816CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$543,104,666PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$532,182,571CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$12,891,083PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$10,055,777CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$584,782,632TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$593,578,647TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$197,298,806TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$195,071,144TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$387,483,826NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$398,507,503NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionNONEMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescRURAL ELECTRICITY DISTRIBUTION TO APPROXIMATELY 213,000 MEMBERS LOCATED IN RUTHERFORD, WILSON, CANNON, MAURY, SMITH, TROUSDALE, DEKALB, AND WILLIAMSON COUNTIES IN MIDDLE TENNESSEE.Desc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document235IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee427EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$539,977,489MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$2,121,218OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesfalseMinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CINDY LAYNE CFO-VP OF FINANCEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6154941551PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1555 NEW SALEM HWYAddressLine1Txt
CityMURFREESBOROCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37129ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MIKE WOODS
BOARD CHAIRM8.000.10Yes (X)Yes (X)$19,196$0$0
TOM PURKEY
BOARD VICE C8.000.25Yes (X)Yes (X)$17,986$0$0
GORDON BONE
DIRECTOR6.000.25Yes (X)Yes (X)$17,426$0$0
RICHARD D SMITH
DIRECTOR EME8.003.00Yes (X)$17,238$0$0
DAVID LEE
DIRECTOR8.000.25Yes (X)$17,038$0$0
ANN LITTLE
DIRECTOR8.000.25Yes (X)$16,343$0$0
STEVE SEGER
BOARD SECRET8.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$15,738$0$0
WILL JORDAN
DIRECTOR8.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$15,538$0$0
CHARLES BOWMAN
DIRECTOR8.000.00Yes (X)$15,448$0$0
GLORIA O' STEEN
DIRECTOR10.001.00Yes (X)$15,058$0$0
JAMES E MILLS
DIRECTOR8.000.25Yes (X)$14,776$0$0
CHRIS JONES
PRESIDENT54.001.00Yes (X)$377,997$0$168,796
BERNIE STEEN
VP-FINANCE/C45.001.00Yes (X)$197,239$0$111,807
CINDY LAYNE
VP-FINANCE/C45.000.20Yes (X)$156,696$0$52,868
THOMAS SUGGS
COO45.000.00$227,174$0$120,492Yes (X)
BRAD GIBSON
CCBO50.001.00$197,149$0$42,587Yes (X)
JOHN FLORIDA
VP-INFORMATI45.000.00$179,515$0$73,383Yes (X)
GRAY BATEMAN
VP-HUMAN SER60.000.00$169,876$0$84,912Yes (X)
SAMUEL THOMASON
VP-ENGINEERI47.000.00$152,356$0$77,844Yes (X)
DANIEL DEMENT
VP-OPERATION50.000.00$152,159$0$153,154Yes (X)
RONALD WASHINGTON
DISTRICT MAN40.000.00$255,145$0$6,506Yes (X)
DANE APPALSAMMY
I.T. MANAGER40.000.00$151,074$0$41,392Yes (X)
MICHAEL ALEXANDER
SUPERVISOR40.000.00$146,305$0$74,714Yes (X)
KENNETH MALONE
SUP. ENGIN.40.000.00$140,897$0$106,077Yes (X)
STEVEN HOWARD
NETWORK SRVC40.000.00$138,353$0$45,336Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,823,720TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,159,868TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K68IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
SERVICE ELECTRIC COMPANY
PO BOX 277790ATLANTAGA303847790ELECTR. CONTRAC$5,669,682
ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT CO INC
1700 SOLUTIONS CENTERCHICAGOIL606771700TREE TRIMMING$2,217,323
BUSH METER READING INC
1842 LOCKE CREEK ROADREADYVILLETN37149METER READING$1,737,531
ABC PROFESSIONAL TREE SERVICES INC
201 FLINT RIDGE ROADWEBSTERTX77598TREE TRIMMING$1,617,060STE 201
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K28CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescELECTRIC REVENUESDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$539,977,489TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$539,977,489RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$539,977,489TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$171,956TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$171,956ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$3,878,350RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$3,732,882RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$145,468RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$145,468TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$145,468ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$103,756SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,826SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$97,930SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$97,930TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$97,930ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPATRONAGE CAPITALDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,845,505TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,845,505RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,845,505OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$542,238,348TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$541,822,994RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$415,354ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,617,567TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,286,465TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,192,350TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,083,725TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,683,648TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$479,198TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,053TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,860,725TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,403,386TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,515,914TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,673,442TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF ELECTRICITY SOLD$434,256,349
LINE MAINTENANCE EXPENSE$11,720,525
CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS EXPENSE$8,081,168
LINE OPERATING EXPENSE$4,921,237

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,367,819TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$532,182,571TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,876,601BOYAmt
EOY$6,311,674EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,111,747BOYAmt
EOY$67,873,615EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,776,214BOYAmt
EOY$38,487,210EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,357,839BOYAmt
EOY$5,181,250EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,158,547BOYAmt
EOY$4,496,859EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,515,437BOYAmt
EOY$4,447,444EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$657,049,083LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$232,089,004LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$395,853,614BOYAmt
EOY$424,960,079EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,836,650BOYAmt
EOY$7,695,981EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,295,983BOYAmt
EOY$34,124,535EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$584,782,632BOYAmt
EOY$593,578,647EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,561,362BOYAmt
EOY$57,854,617EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,348,821BOYAmt
EOY$67,146,259EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,388,623BOYAmt
EOY$70,070,268EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$197,298,806BOYAmt
EOY$195,071,144EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$387,483,826BOYAmt
EOY$398,507,503EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$387,483,826BOYAmt
EOY$398,507,503EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$584,782,632BOYAmt
EOY$593,578,647EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$10,055,777ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$967,900OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteefalseAuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,451,291OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$11,451,291BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$25,055,966OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,559,441DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,496,525BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$178,640,486OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$100,108,739DepreciationAmt
Book Value$78,531,747BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$441,901,340OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$125,420,824DepreciationAmt
Book Value$316,480,516BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$424,960,079TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
ACCRUED UTILITY REVENUE$21,884,397
PREPAID PENSION COST$10,822,410
POLE RENTS RECEIVABLE$1,387,728
INTEREST RECEIVABLE$30,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$34,124,535TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
POST RETIREMENT BENEFIT LIABILITY$51,101,567
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$13,021,350
ADVANCES FROM TVA CONS. LOANS$4,733,615
SALES TAX COLLECTIONS PAYABLE$1,019,939
PLANT ACQUISITION$188,570
CAPITAL LEASE$5,227
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$70,070,268TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$545,971,230TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Subtotal$545,971,230RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$3,732,882OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$3,732,882RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$542,238,348TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$535,915,453TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$3,732,882OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$3,732,882ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$532,182,571ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$532,182,571TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BRENTAL EXPENSES IN PART VIII LINE 6B -3,732,882
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DRENTAL EXPENSES IN PART VIII LINE 6B 3,732,882

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount
CHRIS JONES
PRESIDENT$357,285$20,712$152,702$16,094$546,793
BERNIE STEEN
VP-FINANCE/CFO$181,464$15,775$95,713$16,094$309,046
CINDY LAYNE
VP-FINANCE/CFO$143,403$9,793$36,774$16,094$209,564$3,500
THOMAS SUGGS
COO$210,674$16,500$104,398$16,094$347,666
BRAD GIBSON
CCBO$196,585$564$26,493$16,094$239,736
JOHN FLORIDA
VP-INFORMATION SYST.$170,890$8,625$57,289$16,094$252,898
GRAY BATEMAN
VP-HUMAN SERV.$160,404$9,472$68,818$16,094$254,788
SAMUEL THOMASON
VP-ENGINEERING$148,786$3,570$61,750$16,094$230,200
DANIEL DEMENT
VP-OPERATIONS$143,303$8,856$137,060$16,094$305,313
RONALD WASHINGTON
DISTRICT MANAGER$91,246$163,899$1,178$5,328$261,651
DANE APPALSAMMY
I.T. MANAGER$143,065$8,009$25,298$16,094$192,466
MICHAEL ALEXANDER
SUPERVISOR$145,549$756$58,620$16,094$221,019
KENNETH MALONE
SUP. ENGIN. SUPERVIS$138,247$2,650$89,983$16,094$246,974
STEVEN HOWARD
NETWORK SRVCS MNGR$137,478$875$29,242$16,094$183,689

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6THERE IS ONLY ONE CLASS OF MEMBERS. ALL MEMBERS HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT THE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS (THE GOVERNING BODY OF MTEMC).
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7ATHERE IS ONLY ONE CLASS OF MEMBERS AND ALL MEMBERS MAY VOTE TO FILL VACANCIES ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. DIRECTORS MUST BE MEMBERS AND ARE ELECTED BASED ON GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATIONS AS STATED IN THE BYLAWS. DIRECTORS SERVE THREE YEAR TERMS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7BTHE BYLAWS MAY BE ALTERED, AMENDED OR REPEALED BY THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BAFTER PERFORMING AN INDIVIDAUL REVIEW OF THE FORM 990, THE CFO/ VP OF FINANCE REVIEWS IT WITH THE PRESIDENT AND FINANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CMTEMC HAS SEVERAL POLICIES THAT ADDRESS CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THESE POLICIES APPLY TO DIRECTORS AND EMPLOYEES AND ARE RENEWED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. EMPLOYEES ARE TO REPORT CONFLICTS OF INTEREST TO THEIR SUPERVISORS. WHEN FAMILY MEMBERS OF DIRECTORS OR EMPLOYEES SEEK TO DO BUSINESS WITH MTEMC SEALED BIDS ARE REQUIRED. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS RESPONSIBLE FOR RESOLVING ANY DISPUTES CONCERNING CONFLICTS OF INTEREST.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ACOMPENSATION OF THE PRESIDENT IS DETERMINED BY ANNUAL REVIEW MADE BY THE PERFORMANCE AND APPRAISAL COMMITTEE. THE COMMITTEE'S RECOMMENDATION IS GIVEN TO THE FULL BOARD FOR APPROVAL. THE EVALUATION INCLUDES SALARY COMPARIBILITY DATA. BOARD APPROVAL IS DOCUMENTED IN THE MINUTES.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS AND RULES AND REGULATIONS ARE MADE AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE. GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICTS OF INTEREST POLICY (S), AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO OUR MEMBERS UPON REQUEST. SUMMARIZED FINANCIAL INFORMATION IS PUBLISHED ANNUALLY IN THE TENNESSEE MAGAZINE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9AMORTIZATION OF ACTUARIAL LOSS-POSTRETIREMENT BENE 967,900 TOTAL 967,900

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MIDDLE TN ELEC SHARING CHANGE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1555 NEW SALEM ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMURFREESBOROCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37129ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN431958410EIN
Primary ActivitiesPART VIIPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501C3ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status9PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
MIDDLE TN ELEC SHARING CHANGE INC
R$757,724VALUE OF CASH TRANSFERRED
MIDDLE TN ELEC SHARING CHANGE INC
B$596,780VALUE OF CASH DONATED

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE RFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHEDULE R, PART II, COLUMN (B) PRIMARY ACTIVITY: ACCUMULATION AND DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS FOR CHARITABLE PURPOSES.ExplanationTxt