BALTIMORE EDUCATIONAL SCHOLARSHIP TRUST INC: Form 990, tax year 2015
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- BALTIMORE EDUCATIONAL SCHOLARSHIP TRUST INC (EIN 52-1072250)
- Tax period
- 2015-07-01 to 2016-06-30
- Filed
- 2017-05-11
- IRS object ID
- 201701319349303895
- Schema version
- 2015v3.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2017-05-11T15:17:45-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2016-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 202153727 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SB & Company LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 200 International Cir Suite 5500 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Hunt Valley | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21030 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2015-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 521072250 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Baltimore Educational Scholarship Trust | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | BALT | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 4107522225 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 808 North Charles Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Baltimore | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21201 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Jessica Suriano | PersonNm |
| Person Title | Executive Director | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 4107522225 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2017-05-11 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Sheila Eichelberger | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00743897 | PTIN |
| Phone | 4105840060 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2017-05-08 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2015 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2021-01-29 14:40:06Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Jessica Suriano | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 808 North Charles Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Baltimore | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21201 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $2,434,111 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.besttrust.org | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1987 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MD | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | The Baltimore Educational Scholarship Trust, in partnership with our nineteen independent member schools, recruits and supports through the admissions process academically ambitious, African American students with financial need from the Baltimore area. Once students are enrolled, B.E.S.T. positions them for success through academic preparation, character and leadership development and support programs. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 43 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 43 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 17 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 43 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $739,089 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $734,177 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $385,793 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $396,696 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $336,756 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $281,855 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $1,461,638 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $1,412,728 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $533,819 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $561,911 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $644,042 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $677,864 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $163,765 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $263,469 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $280,852 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $1,441,330 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $1,520,627 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $20,308 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$107,899 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $10,361,470 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $9,954,449 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $313,316 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $325,422 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $10,048,154 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $9,629,027 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | The Baltimore Educational Scholarship Trust, in partnership with our nineteen independent member schools, recruits and supports through the admissions process academically ambitious, African American students with financial need from the Baltimore area. Once students are enrolled, B.E.S.T. positions them for success through academic preparation, character and leadership development and support programs. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $1,196,658 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $561,911 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $396,696 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | The three greatest accomplishments of the Baltimore Educational Scholarship Trust include our admissions support, our student / parent programs and our facilitation of private and public school partnerships. In admissions, we provide individualized admissions and financial aid counseling to applicants and their parents. Our student and parent programs include academic enrichment, leadership development, parent networking and college-bound support. In addition, B.E.S.T. builds partnerships and facilitates collaborations between private and public educational leaders throughout Baltimore. The totality of our programmatic work supports applicant students and parents, enrolled students and parents and the educational community in Baltimore. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $1,196,658 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | Yes (1) | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | 0 | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 0 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 17 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 43 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 43 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | Yes (1) | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MD | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Jill Wood | PersonNm |
| Phone | 4107522225 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 808 North Charles Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Baltimore | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 21201 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part VII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (52 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simms Stuart O | ||||||
| Board President | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Collins Tiffani S | ||||||
| Board Vice President | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Schmick John E | ||||||
| Board Second Vice President | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Kirby Alex W | ||||||
| Board Treasurer | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Berrier Christopher A | ||||||
| Board Secretary | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Alexander Teri | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Britton Charles W | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Brune Jean Waller | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Cashman Kimberly H | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Dixon W Boulton | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Doak Brian C | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Evins Penny B | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Faus David C | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Finney Redmond CS | ||||||
| Emeritus | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Ford Tracey H | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Foxworth Domonique | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Hagerman Dr Parnell P | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Harvey III F Barton | ||||||
| Emeritus | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Hathaway Molly M | ||||||
| Emeritus | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Holcomb-McCoy Dr Cheryl | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Holmgren Andrew | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Hunter David | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Hurley Cheo D | ||||||
| Trustee | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Hutchins Diane | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Jacks III Grant | ||||||
| Emeritus | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Lagarde Douglas | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Micciche Matthew W | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Nespole Matthew | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Owen Lee S | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Paradis Daniel J | ||||||
| Trustee | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Perkins III Thomas P | ||||||
| Emeritus | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Post Christopher J | ||||||
| Trustee | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Reid Jr Vernon A | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Roberts Dr Kimberley J | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Rodgers Theo C | ||||||
| Emeritus | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Rubin The Honorable Julie R | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Shifrin Ben | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Smyth Henry PA | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Snyder Lawrence R | ||||||
| Trustee | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Staley Anne | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Stevens Randy S | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Sweeney Martha H | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Timken John H | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Walsh Maureen E | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Watson Craig S | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Weinfeld Michael J | ||||||
| Trustee | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Whitehead Pat | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Young Karlo G | ||||||
| Trustee | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Lee Crystal | ||||||
| Director of Advancement | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $90,059 | $0 | $5,957 |
| Stokes Toni | ||||||
| Admissions Officer | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $76,229 | $0 | $5,814 |
| Suriano Jessica | ||||||
| Executive Director | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $115,757 | $0 | $489 |
| Wood Jill | ||||||
| Director of Finance & Operations | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $74,727 | $0 | $7,823 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $356,772 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $20,083 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 1 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | 0 | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 0 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| All Other Contributions | $734,177 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $734,177 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| School membership fees | 900099 | $386,000 | $386,000 |
| Application fees and other | 900099 | $10,696 | $10,696 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $396,696 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $176,055 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $176,055 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,127,183 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,021,383 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $105,800 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $105,800 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $105,800 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,412,728 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $396,696 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $281,855 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $561,911 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $561,911 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $387,877 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $250,997 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $66,954 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $69,926 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $200,326 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $129,636 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $34,580 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $36,110 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $11,725 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,587 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,024 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $2,114 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $34,967 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $22,628 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $6,031 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $6,308 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $42,969 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $27,806 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $7,417 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $7,746 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $145 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $97 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $26 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $22 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $14,800 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $9,916 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,664 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $2,220 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $10,905 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,307 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,963 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,635 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $34,765 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $16,948 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,513 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $13,304 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $26,702 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $17,890 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,806 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,006 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $54,930 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $38,451 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $10,986 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $5,493 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,983 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,790 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $895 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $298 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $12,571 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $12,571 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $8,967 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,380 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,690 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $897 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Student Prgms/Svcs Expe | $84,332 | $84,332 | ||
| Cultivation and Steward | $12,313 | $12,313 | ||
| Miscellaneous | $10,900 | $7,443 | $1,373 | $2,084 |
| Projects and Events | $6,539 | $6,539 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,520,627 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,196,658 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $160,204 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $163,765 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $176,258 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $169,931 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,397 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $18,133 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,430 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $10,092 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $133,942 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $114,359 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $29,091 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $19,583 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,117,294 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,736,710 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,361,470 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,954,449 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,092 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,613 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $303,224 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $310,809 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $313,316 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $325,422 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $193,220 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $262,247 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,390,387 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,902,233 | EOYAmt |
Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,464,547 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,464,547 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,048,154 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,629,027 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,361,470 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,954,449 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$107,899 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$311,228 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $689,580 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $716,939 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $713,162 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $739,089 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $734,177 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $3,592,947 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $689,580 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $716,939 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $713,162 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $739,089 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $734,177 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $3,592,947 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $353,967 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $3,238,980 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $128,481 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $208,585 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $266,757 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $164,662 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $176,055 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $944,540 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $4,537,487 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $1,926,889 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.71380 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.71080 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $9,459,905 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$29,111 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $452,308 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $8,978,486 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $9,689,524 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $183,614 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $413,233 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $9,459,905 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $8,671,007 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $1,424,701 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $406,184 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $9,689,524 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $8,153,932 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $907,024 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $389,949 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $8,671,007 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $8,929,574 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $123,853 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $899,495 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $8,153,932 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.60860 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.39140 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $133,942 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $114,359 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $19,583 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $19,583 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| Money market funds | $823,559 | F |
| Domestic US Stocks/Funds | $4,765,919 | F |
| International (non-U.S.) Stocks/Funds | $1,180,437 | F |
| Fixed Income | $2,966,795 | F |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $9,736,710 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Distributions payable to schools | $308,800 |
| Capital Lease | $2,009 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $310,809 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $1,101,500 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$311,228 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$311,228 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $1,412,728 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $1,412,728 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $1,520,627 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $1,520,627 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $1,520,627 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part X, Line 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Under the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code, B.E.S.T. is exempt from federal and state income taxes as a charitable organization under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). B.E.S.T. files information returns in the U.S. federal jurisdiction and is no longer subject to tax examinations by tax authorities for years before 2013. There are no interest and penalties related to income taxes recognized in the financial statements as of June 30, 2016 and 2015. B.E.S.T. has not taken any tax positions that would significantly increase or decrease any unrecognized tax benefit within twelve months of the reporting date. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (18 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roland Park Country School Inc | |||||||
| 5204 Roland Ave | Baltimore | MD | 21210 | 520591631 | 501(c)(3) | $57,586 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, Tuition for the Schools' Endowed Scholar, and 1 Gap Funding grant |
| Gilman School Inc | |||||||
| 5407 Roland Ave | Baltimore | MD | 21210 | 520591604 | 501(c)(3) | $55,580 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, Tuition for the Schools' Chick Lord Scholar, and 1 Emergency Fund grant |
| Bryn Mawr School | |||||||
| 109 W Melrose Ave | Baltimore | MD | 21210 | 520258140 | 501(c)(3) | $41,954 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, and 3 Emergency Fund grants |
| The Boys' Latin School of Maryland | |||||||
| 822 W Lake Ave | Baltimore | MD | 21210 | 520735085 | 501(c)(3) | $38,458 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, Stanley I Panitz award, and 2 Emergency Fund grants |
| St Paul's School for Girls Inc | |||||||
| 11232 Falls Rd | Brooklandville | MD | 21022 | 520709497 | 501(c)(3) | $36,217 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, and 2 Emergency Fund grants |
| St Paul's School | |||||||
| 11152 Falls Rd | Brooklandville | MD | 21022 | 520591463 | 501(c)(3) | $35,068 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, and 1 Emergency Fund grant |
| The Jemicy School Inc | |||||||
| 11 Celadon Rd | Owings Mills | MD | 21117 | 520976194 | 501(c)(3) | $33,421 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, and 1 Emergency Fund grant |
| Maryvale Preparatory School | |||||||
| 11300 Falls Rs | Lutherville | MD | 21093 | 521160935 | 501(c)(3) | $32,891 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, 2 Gap Funding grants, and 3 Emergency Fund grants |
| Friends School of Baltimore Inc | |||||||
| 5114 North Charles St | Baltimore | MD | 21210 | 520591602 | 501(c)(3) | $31,374 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, and 1 Emergency Fund grant |
| McDonogh School | |||||||
| PO Box 380 | Owings Mills | MD | 21117 | 526001577 | 501(c)(3) | $31,128 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, and 2 Emergency Fund grants |
| Garrison Forest School Inc | |||||||
| 300 Garrison Forest Rd | Owings Mills | MD | 21117 | 520591516 | 501(c)(3) | $28,534 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, Stanley I Panitz award, and 1 Emergency Fund grant |
| The Park School of Baltimore | |||||||
| PO Box 8200 | Brooklandville | MD | 21022 | 520591625 | 501(c)(3) | $26,485 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, and 1 Emergency Fund grant |
| Calvert School Inc | |||||||
| 105 Tuscany Rd | Baltimore | MD | 21210 | 520591510 | 501(c)(3) | $23,473 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF |
| Severn School Inc | |||||||
| 201 Water St | Severna Park | MD | 211464599 | 520591466 | 501(c)(3) | $17,642 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF |
| Key School Inc | |||||||
| 543 Hillsmere Dr | Annapolis | MD | 21403 | 520701774 | 501(c)(3) | $17,116 | Annual Fund Gift |
| The Waldorf School of Baltimore Inc | |||||||
| 4801 Tamarind Rd | Baltimore | MD | 21209 | 237305478 | 501(c)(3) | $16,921 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF, and 1 Gap Funding grant |
| Corporation of St Timothy's School | |||||||
| 8400 Greenspring Ave | Stevenson | MD | 21153 | 520591488 | 501(c)(3) | $14,842 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF |
| Oldfields School Inc | |||||||
| 1500 Glencoe Rd | Glencoe | MD | 21152 | 520591645 | 501(c)(3) | $14,421 | Annual Fund Gift, SHDF |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 18 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | When B.E.S.T. provides grants for Annual Fund gifts, the School Head Discretionary Fund, Emergency Fund, Endowed Scholars, Gap Fund, and the Stanley I Panitz Award, they send a check and a letter to each of the schools, stating the intended use of the money being sent to the schools. Annual Fund gifts are provided to our member schools to be used for financial aid for students. The Annual Fund gift letters state the amount of the grant awarded to each school and that it is directed toward the school's financial aid budget. The purpose of the School Head's Discretionary Fund (SHDF) at the Baltimore Educational Scholarship Trust is to provide school Heads auxiliary funding to support B.E.S.T. students on their campuses. The support can include necessary services as well as experiential learning opportunities at the discretion of the School Head. The funds may not be used to supplement tuition. Each year the school must submit a detailed report to B.E.S.T. on how the funds were used. Emergency Funds are provided to our member schools. These funds are for B.E.S.T. students currently enrolled who experience financial difficulties with regards to meeting their tuition obligation. The requests for Emergency Funding come from the students' school. Emergency Fund grant letters state the amount of tuition assistance and the student's name. The fund provides tuition support and allows students to remain enrolled at their school. Endowed Scholar gifts are provided to the specific member schools with an Endowed Scholar. B.E.S.T. pays 75% of the current tuition for the Endowed Scholar. There were 2 Endowed Scholars for fiscal year 2016. One Endowed Scholar was at Roland Park Country School. The other Endowed Scholar at Gilman School, Inc., is named the Chick Lord Scholar. B.E.S.T. includes the student's name in the grant letter. Gap Funds are a one-time grant to member schools. These grants help a new B.E.S.T. applicant to enroll at their new member school. B.E.S.T. pays a portion of the tuition to support the student during their initial enrollment year, and the school makes a commitment to cover the difference moving forward. Gap Funding grant letters state the amount and the student's name. The Stanley I. Panitz Leadership Award is presented annually to 2 students selected from the entire pool of B.E.S.T. juniors attending our member schools. Students are nominated to receive the Stanley I. Panitz Leadership Award by their Head of School during the second semester of their junior year. The recipients of the award are one B.E.S.T. young woman and one B.E.S.T. young man, in recognition of their academic achievement and demonstrated leadership in both their school and the broader Baltimore community. The award is a $1,000 directed gift from the Stanley I. Panitz Leadership Fund of B.E.S.T. to each recipient's independent school to be applied to the family contribution of their student's senior year tuition. Copies of the checks and the grant letters sent to the schools are maintained in files in B.E.S.T.'s finance department. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11 | A copy of the Form 990 is distributed to the Finance and Audit Committee of the Board so they may review, edit and approve the document. Once the draft is reviewed, edited and approved, the Form 990 is considered complete and the Executive Director signs the final version. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | All trustees and key employees are required each year to sign the conflict of interest policy. The signed trustee forms are stored at B.E.S.T. in the Trustee's individual files in the executive office. The signed conflict of interest forms for the key employees are stored in the personnel files of the individuals. If a conflict exists, the Executive Director would review with the Board President. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | Research of salaries for similar positions and similar organizations is reviewed and compared. The Board President and Executive Committee reviewed the salary of the Executive Director. The Executive Director reviewed the salary for the Admissions Officer I, the Admissions Officer II, the Director of Finance and Operations, the Director of Advancement, the Executive Associate, the Associate of External Relations, and the Director of Programs and Alumni Relations. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | The organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request. |
| Form 990, Part VII Contact Addresses for Officers, Directors, Etc: | Alexander, Teri 216 Ridgewood Road Baltimore, MD 21210 Berrier, Christopher A. 240 Hopkins Lane Owings Mills, MD 21117 Britton, Charles W. 8600 McDonogh Rd Owings Mills, MD 21117 Brune, Jean Waller 6 Upland Road, Apt F4 Baltimore, MD 21210 Cashman, Kimberly 1406 Walnut Hill Lane Towson, MD 21204 Collins, Tiffani S. 5876 Pimlico Road Baltimore, MD 21209 Dixon, W. Boulton 509 Whithorn Court Lutherville, MD 21093 Doak, Brian C. 307 International Circle 4th Floor Hunt Valley, MD 21031 Evins, Penny B. 11232 Falls Rd Brooklandville, MD 21022 Faus, David C. 11152 Falls Rd, P.O. Box 8100 Brooklandville, MD 21022 Finney, Redmond C.S. 15601 Dover Rd Upperco, MD 21155 Ford, Tracey H. 11300 Falls Rd Lutherville, MD 21093 Foxworth, Domonique 808 N. Charles St. Baltimore, MD 21201 Hagerman, Dr. Parnell P. 808 North Charles Street Baltimore, MD 21201 Harvey III, F. Barton 10227 Wincopin Circle Columbia, MD 21044 Hathaway, Molly M. 6525 Montrose Ave Baltimore, MD 21212 Holcomb-McCoy, Dr. Cheryl 10503 Tulip Lane Potomac, MD 20854 Holmgren, Andrew 105 Tuscany Rd Baltimore, MD 21210 Hunter, David 901 S. Bond St, Suite 400 Baltimore, MD 21231 Hurley, Cheo D. 3707 Edgewood Rd Baltimore, MD 21215 Hutchins, Diane 103 Stone Point Dr, Unit 373 Annapolis, MD 21401 Jacks III, Grant 529 Overbrook Rd Baltimore, MD 21212 Kirby, Alex W. 23 Yogurt Lane Baltimore, MD 21231 Lagarde, Douglas 201 Water St Severna Park, MD 21146 Micciche, Matthew W. 5114 N. Charles St Baltimore, MD 21210 Nespole, Matthew 534 Hillsmere Dr Annapolis, MD 21403 Owen, Lee S. 96 Lighthouse Dr Jupiter, FL 33469 Paradis, Daniel J. P.O. Box 8200 Brooklandville, MD 21022 Perkins III, Thomas P. 840 East 40th St Baltimore, MD 21211 Post, Christopher J. 822 West Lake Ave Baltimore, MD 21210 Reid, Jr., Vernon A. 100 E. Pratt St, 7th Floor Baltimore, MD 21202 Roberts, Dr. Kimberley J. 300 Garrison Forest Rd Owings Mills, MD 21117 Rodgers, Theo C. 1040 Park Ave, Suite 300 Baltimore, MD 21201 Rubin, The Honorable Julie R. 2327 Boston St, No.14 Baltimore, MD 21224 Schmick, John E. 6432 Cloister Gate Dr Baltimore, MD 21212 Shifrin, Ben 11202 Garrison Forest Rd Owings Mills, MD 21117 Simms, Stuart O. 120 E. Baltimore St, Suite 1700 Baltimore, MD 21202 Smyth, Henry, P.A. 5407 Roland Ave Baltimore, MD 21210 Snyder, Lawrence 3119 Royston Ave Baltimore, MD 21214 Staley, Anne 1300 Berwick Rd Baltimore, MD 21204 Stevens, Randy S. 8400 Greenspring Ave Stevenson, MD 21153 Sweeney, Martha H. 3257 Bridle Ridge Lane Stevenson, MD 21153 Timken, John H. 3111 Gold Course West Owings Mills, MD 21117 Walsh, Maureen E. 109 West Melrose Ave Baltimore, MD 21210 Watson, Craig S. 6325 Kerne Court Clarksville, MD 21029 Weinfeld, Michael J. P.O. Box 251 Brooklandville, MD 21022 Whitehead, Pat 4801 Tamarind Rd Baltimore, MD 21209 Young, Karlo G. 3511 Stoney Creek Court Owings Mills, MD 21117 |
| Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c: | The process has not changed from prior year. |