STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

NOTRE DAME OF MARYLAND UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NOTRE DAME OF MARYLAND UNIVERSITY (EIN 52-0591641)
Tax period
2015-07-01 to 2016-06-30
Filed
2017-05-11
IRS object ID
201701319349305915
Schema version
2015v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-05-11T19:49:07-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11676 International Drive Ste 1200AddressLine1Txt
CityMcLeanCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN520591641EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Notre Dame of Maryland University IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% BARBARA A MORRISInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlNOTRBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4105325367PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14701 N Charles StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBaltimoreCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP212102404ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBARBARA A MORRISPersonNm
Person TitleCONTROLLERPersonTitleTxt
Phone4105325367PhoneNum
Signature2017-05-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonRAYMOND LYPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01205643PTIN
Phone7032868000PhoneNum
Preparation2017-05-09PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMarylou YamPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14701 N Charles StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBaltimoreCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP212102404ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$65,392,886GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.ndm.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1957FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionEmbracing the vision of the founders, the school sisters of Notre Dame, the university provides a liberal arts education in the Catholic tradition.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body24VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent24VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1018TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers270TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$535,879TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$5,401,885PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$7,198,014CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$45,641,055PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$46,499,589CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,208,863PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$5,815,978CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$53,251,803PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$59,513,581CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$9,269,025PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$9,454,489CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,555,619PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,437,785CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$915,824CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$20,376,851PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,885,462CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$57,201,495PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$55,777,736CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,949,692PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,735,845CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$149,439,082TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$145,147,244TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$43,339,022TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$41,218,739TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$106,100,060NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$103,928,505NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionNOTRE DAME OF MARYLAND UNIVERSITY EDUCATES LEADERS TO TRANSFORM THE WORLD. EMBRACING THE VISION OF THE FOUNDERS, THE SCHOOL SISTERS OF NOTRE DAME, THE UNIVERSITY PROMOTES THE ADVANCEMENT OF WOMEN AND PROVIDES A LIBERAL ARTS EDUCATION IN THE CATHOLIC TRADITION. NOTRE DAME CHALLENGES WOMEN AND MEN TO: *STRIVE FOR INTELLECTUAL AND PROFESSIONAL EXCELLENCE, *BUILD INCLUSIVE COMMUNITIES, *ENGAGE IN SERVICE TO OTHERS, AND *PROMOTE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$29,478,858ExpenseAmt
Revenue$46,256,548RevenueAmt
DescHIGHER EDUCATION: EDUCATION OF STUDENTSDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,454,489ExpenseAmt
Grant$9,454,489GrantAmt
DescSCHOLARSHIP PROGRAMS: STUDENT AIDDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,544,651ExpenseAmt
DescAUXILIARY ENTERPRISES INCLUDE ROOM AND BOARD, USE OF FACILITIES, AND "A CHILD'S PLACE" AN INTERNATIONAL PRE-SCHOOL AND KINDERGARTEN.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$41,477,998TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document3969IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1018EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members24GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member24IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyfalseWhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBARBARA A MORRISPersonNm
Phone4105325367PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14701 N CHARLES STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP212102404ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (42 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
KATHLEEN O'FERRALL-FRIEDMAN
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY NOEL ALBERS SSND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA M C BROWN
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
EDWARD S CIVERA
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHLEEN D CORNELL SSND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOAN DAVIDSON
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY-AGNES EVANS-MORELAND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA FLYNN SSND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHRYN B FREELAND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA HILLMAN
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRENDA L JEWS
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
OWEN KNOTT
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
NEIL METZLER
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA M MCCARRON SSND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
M MARC MUNAFO
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA MURPHY SSND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANTHONY N O'BRIEN
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEBORAH PHELPS
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUDITH SCHAUM SSND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY IAN STEWART SSND
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES W CONSTABLE
EX OFFICIO5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
GABRIELLE DOW
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JANESE F MURRAY
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
TAMARA P WIGGS
TRUSTEE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELIZABETH TRAN
STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
GEOFF DELANOY
FACULTY REPRESENTATIVE5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
GINO GEMIGNANI
TRUSTEE - CHAIR5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA BOSSE END 6302015
VP FOR INSTIT ADVANCEMENT50.00.0$103,818$0$16,671Yes (X)
TANYA EASTON BEG 712015
VP FOR INSTIT ADVANCEMENT50.00.0$74,541$0$17,662Yes (X)
JOHN KEENAN END 2272015
VP FOR FIN & ADMIN50.00.0$35,307$0$96Yes (X)
CHRISTINE DEVINNE
VP FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS50.00.0$0$0$10,222Yes (X)
HEIDI FLETCHER
VP FOR ENROLLMENT MANAGEMENT50.00.0$173,971$0$15,305Yes (X)
REBECCA SAWYER
VP FOR STUDENT LIFE50.00.0$140,457$0$20,537Yes (X)
EILEEN O'DEA SSND
VP FOR MISSION50.00.0$0$0$11,457Yes (X)
DEBORAH ASBURY BEG 2272015
VP FOR FIN & ADMIN50.00.0$142,926$0$11,948Yes (X)
MARYLOU YAM
PRESIDENT50.00.0$303,888$0$33,645Yes (X)
HERBERT R HANSEN JR
VP FOR FIN & ADMIN50.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
JAMES CULHANE
PROFESSOR - SCHOOL OF PHARMACY50.00.0$141,845$0$38,193Yes (X)
WARREN SZELISTOWSKI
DTR. OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY50.00.0$128,746$0$37,025Yes (X)
VALERIE HOGUE
ASSOC DEAN-SCHOOL OF PHARMACY50.00.0$139,177$0$30,502Yes (X)
ANNE LIN
DEAN - SCHOOL OF PHARMACY50.00.0$235,264$0$51,108Yes (X)
PAUL VITALE
PROFESSOR - SCHOOL OF PHARMACY50.00.0$139,887$0$29,108Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,759,827TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$323,479TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K29IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Sage Dining Services
1402 York Road Suite 100LUTHERVILLEMD21093Dining Services$1,892,428
United Building Services Inc
200 Little Falls StreetFALLS CHURCHVA22046Janitorial Service$658,511
Melville Thomas Architects Inc
600 Wyndhurst AveBALTIMOREMD21210Architects$367,548
Riggs Counselman Michaels Downe
555 Fairmont AveTOWSONMD21286Liabiity Insurance$345,046
Ellucian
4375 Fair Lakes CourtFAIRFAXVA22033Maintenance Agreemnt$323,216
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K13CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$2,660,972GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$4,537,042AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$7,198,014TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
TUITION AND FEES900099$42,667,795$42,667,795
AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES900099$3,831,794$3,588,753$243,041
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$46,499,589TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,780,700TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$292,838UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,487,862ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$8,914,583SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,879,305SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,035,278SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,035,278TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,035,278ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$59,513,581TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$46,256,548RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$535,879UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,523,140ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,454,489TotalAmt
Program Services$9,454,489ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,061,538TotalAmt
Program Services$314,758ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$644,780ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$102,000FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,523,572TotalAmt
Program Services$16,637,234ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,395,652ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$490,686FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$434,688TotalAmt
Program Services$290,033ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$134,728ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,927FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,862,462TotalAmt
Program Services$1,864,855ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$937,276ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$60,331FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,555,525TotalAmt
Program Services$1,174,274ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$330,792ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$50,459FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$111,782TotalAmt
Management And General$111,782ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$168,400TotalAmt
Management And General$168,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,015TotalAmt
Management And General$7,015ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$70,820TotalAmt
Management And General$70,820ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,819,140TotalAmt
Program Services$530,766ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,207,879ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$80,495FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$509,604TotalAmt
Program Services$509,604ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,434,670TotalAmt
Program Services$671,029ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$710,659ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$52,982FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$259,008TotalAmt
Program Services$110,652ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$148,356ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,865,449TotalAmt
Program Services$123,429ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,742,020ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$267,391TotalAmt
Program Services$177,664ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$83,567ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,160FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$293,262TotalAmt
Program Services$235,200ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,814ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,248FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,352,095TotalAmt
Program Services$1,352,095ProgramServicesAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,162,223TotalAmt
Program Services$4,162,223ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,335TotalAmt
Program Services$5,347ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$49,988ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
CONTRACTED SERVICES$3,150,541$505,619$2,596,386$48,536
EXPENSE FROM 3RD PARTY GRANT$1,054,778$1,054,778
FOOD SERVICE$1,344,454$1,344,454
LIBRARY$959,495$959,495

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,777,736TotalAmt
Program Services$41,477,998ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,383,914ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$915,824FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,700,478BOYAmt
EOY$1,700,478EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,511,779BOYAmt
EOY$3,395,034EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,492,946BOYAmt
EOY$8,991,842EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$95,751BOYAmt
EOY$95,751EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$644,616BOYAmt
EOY$529,772EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$152,501,136LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$72,624,705LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,604,325BOYAmt
EOY$79,876,431EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,303,723BOYAmt
EOY$33,982,752EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,262,243BOYAmt
EOY$1,236,331EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,823,221BOYAmt
EOY$15,338,853EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$149,439,082BOYAmt
EOY$145,147,244EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,071,056BOYAmt
EOY$3,427,137EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$682,877BOYAmt
EOY$951,609EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,995,622BOYAmt
EOY$1,003,228EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,020,000BOYAmt
EOY$29,120,000EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,900,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,900,000EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,396,379BOYAmt
EOY$3,579,217EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,273,088BOYAmt
EOY$1,237,548EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,339,022BOYAmt
EOY$41,218,739EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,771,543BOYAmt
EOY$59,634,665EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,582,516BOYAmt
EOY$14,826,864EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,746,001BOYAmt
EOY$29,466,976EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$106,100,060BOYAmt
EOY$103,928,505EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$149,439,082BOYAmt
EOY$145,147,244EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,735,845ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$6,049,040NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Investment Expense$141,640InvestmentExpenseAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,861,163CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,801,873CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,368,220CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,851,734CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,198,014CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$30,081,004TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,861,163CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,801,873CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,368,220CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,851,734CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,198,014CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$30,081,004TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$0SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$30,081,004PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years-$314,204CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$731,289CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,354,503CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,883,544CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,627,929CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,283,061TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years-$93,649CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years-$61,403CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$20,144CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Total-$134,908TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$36,229,157TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.83030PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.74510PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Grassroots LobbyingTotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp
Total Direct LobbyingTotalDirectLobbyingGrp
Total Lobbying ExpendTotalLobbyingExpendGrp
Other Exempt Purpose ExpendOtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp
Total Exempt Purpose ExpendTotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp
Lobbying Nontaxable AmountLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
Grassroots NontaxableGrassrootsNontaxableGrp
Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non TxTotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp
Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non TxTotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsfalseDirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies DemonstrationsfalseRalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (true)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$7,015OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$7,015TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceOTHER ACTIVITIES, SCHEDULE C, PART II-B, LINE 1IFormAndLineReferenceDesc
Explanationthe University is a member of the Maryland Independent College and University Association (MICUA). MICUA advised the University that an estimated 12% of dues paid for FY 2015-2016 is allocated to nondeductible lobbying and political expenditures under Section 162(e). Total dues for FY 2015-2016 = $58,459. 12% = $7,015.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$39,303,723BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$618,137ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$391,937InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,547,171GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$33,982,752EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$38,980,248BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$582,613ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,386,841InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,645,979GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$39,303,723EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$33,819,886BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,409,198ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,321,062InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,569,898GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$38,980,248EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,370,925BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$436,775ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,517,185InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,504,999GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$33,819,886EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$32,628,656BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$132,420ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$118,912InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,509,063GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$31,370,925EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.27920BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.39700PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.32380TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$678,276OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$678,276BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$54,076,396OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,696,819DepreciationAmt
Book Value$33,379,577BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$80,170,316OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$38,389,810DepreciationAmt
Book Value$41,780,506BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,576,148OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$13,538,076DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,038,072BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Land BuildingsOtherLandBuildingsGrp
Total Book Value Land Buildings$79,876,431TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
ALTERNATIVE INVESTMENTS$11,383,950F
EQUITY MUTUAL FUNDS$14,254,519F
FIXED INCOME SECURITIES$3,161,187F
SHORT TERM INVESTMENTS$5,183,096F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$33,982,752TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescINT IN KNOTT PERPETUAL TRUSTDesc
Book Value$15,338,853BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$15,338,853TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescREFUNDABLE ADVANCES FROM US GODesc
Amt$1,237,548Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,237,548TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$44,494,420TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$5,564,672NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$5,564,672RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$50,059,092RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$9,454,489OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$9,454,489RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$59,513,581TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$46,252,427TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$46,252,427ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$70,820InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$9,454,489OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$9,525,309ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$55,777,736TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FIN 48 (ASC 740) FOOTNOTEFORM SCH D PART X LINE 2 AS AN EDUCATION INSTITUTION MEETING THE REQUIREMENTS OF SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE, THE UNIVERSITY IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES ON INCOME RELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE AS PROVIDED IN SECTION 501(A), EXCEPT TO THE EXTENT IT HAS TAXABLE INCOME FROM ACTIVITIES THAT ARE NOT RELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE. THE UNIVERSITY EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED THERE WERE NO UNCERTAIN POSITIONS IN 2016 OR 2015. NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES WERE REQUIRED FOR 2016 OR 2015.
SCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 4The University uses the endowment funds to provide scholarships to those students who meet the criteria of each scholarship.
SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4BFINANCIAL AID RECLASSIFICATION FROM REVENUE $9,454,489
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4BFINANCIAL AID RECLASSIFICATION TO EXPENSES $9,454,489

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form Sch E Part I Line 3Racially Nondiscriminatory Policy. Due to the length of racially nondiscriminatory policy, the policy is not included in the newspaper or broadcast media; however, the policy is on the University's website. All newspaper and broadcast media include a link or reference to the University's website.
Form Sch E Part I Line 6aFinancial Aid from a governmental agency. The University receives funding from the state of Maryland as part of the Joseph A. Sellinger state aid program. The funding is based on Full time employee headcount.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (4 entries)

RegionRegionTxtType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Program ServicesStudy Abroad Expenses$66,160
Central America and the CaribbeanProgram ServicesStudy Abroad Expenses$9,050
Middle East and North AfricaProgram ServicesStudy Abroad Expenses$15,950
Central America and the CaribbeanInvestments$769,278
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Spent$860,438SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$860,438TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (true)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (true)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (true)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (true)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFinancial AidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient2267RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$9,454,489CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePROCEDURES FOR MONITORING USE OF GRANT FUNDSFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationForm Sch I Part I Line 2 The University offers merit and talent scholarships on a competitive basis to all students. These awards do affect consideration for need based financial aid. If eligible for financial aid, these awards will be counted as resources and will become part of the financial aid package. The University also offers endowed scholarships to all students who meet the criteria of each scholarship. Students who file the financial aid from will automatically be considered when financial need is required. Grants are available annually from current funds to full-time students with documented financial need. Financial aid consists of scholarships, grants, loans, and paid employment. Scholarships and grants do not have to be repaid. Loans are offered at low interest rates on the condition that they be repaid. Paid employment is an earning program. The amount offered is the amount that they may earn. The student is paid an hourly rate for work actually performed.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
HEIDI FLETCHER
VP FOR ENROLLMENT MANAGEMENT$151,771$0$22,200$0$0$0$7,660$0$7,645$0$189,276$0$0$0
REBECCA SAWYER
VP FOR STUDENT LIFE$127,957$0$12,500$0$0$0$9,282$0$11,255$0$160,994$0$0$0
DEBORAH ASBURY BEG 2272015
VP FOR FIN & ADMIN$142,926$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$11,948$0$154,874$0$0$0
MARYLOU YAM
PRESIDENT$296,188$0$0$0$7,700$0$24,000$0$9,645$0$337,533$0$0$0
JAMES CULHANE
PROFESSOR - SCHOOL OF PHARMACY$141,845$0$0$0$0$0$11,826$0$26,367$0$180,038$0$0$0
WARREN SZELISTOWSKI
DTR. OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY$108,746$0$20,000$0$0$0$18,279$0$18,746$0$165,771$0$0$0
VALERIE HOGUE
ASSOC DEAN-SCHOOL OF PHARMACY$139,177$0$0$0$0$0$4,358$0$26,144$0$169,679$0$0$0
ANNE LIN
DEAN - SCHOOL OF PHARMACY$235,264$0$0$0$0$0$17,032$0$34,076$0$286,372$0$0$0
PAUL VITALE
PROFESSOR - SCHOOL OF PHARMACY$139,887$0$0$0$0$0$10,342$0$18,766$0$168,995$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Housing Allowance or Residence1) The President, Marylou Yam, is provided university housing as a condition of her employment, the housing is valued at $28,316. The President received a $7,700 vehicle allowance. The allowances are treated as taxable compensation and are reflected in her W-2. Vehicle allowance: The Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Patricia Bosse, is provided a $3,000 vehicle allowance. The allowance is reflected in her W-2. The new Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Tanya Easton, does not receive a vehicle allowance. Health or Social Club Dues: The University pays the President's dues to social clubs. The President uses these venues for business meetings and entertainment of donors. The social club dues are treated as non-taxable.
The President's compensationSchedule J, Part I, line 3. The President's compensation contract is prepared using an independent consultant, compensation surveys, and the compensation committee of the Board of Trustees. After approval by the compensation committee of the Board of Trustees, the contract is presented to the Board of Trustees for their review and approval. The President's contract is reviewed annually. Minutes of deliberations are contemporaneously maintained.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
REFUND BONDS ISSUED 101498 COST
A5209360915742177Z22010-11-24$11,789,076REFUND BONDS ISSUED 10/14/98 COSTfalsefalsefalse
MD HEALTH & HIGHER EDUC FACILITIES AUTH
B520936091574218KH52012-06-25$17,029,269CONSTRUCT AN ACADEMIC BUILDING, BUfalsefalsefalse
MD HEALTH & HIGHER EDUC FACILITIES AUTH
C520936091574218KE22012-06-25$4,822,723DEFEASANCE OF BONDS ISSUED 10/14/9falsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$0$0$11,789,076$0$0$3,621,532$174,095$0$0$7,993,449$0$02012Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$0$0$17,029,269$1,325,183$0$0$210,548$0$0$15,493,538$0$02013falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)
C$0$0$4,822,723$375,296$0$4,387,350$60,077$0$0$0$0$0falseYes (true)Yes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndRemedial Action TakenRemedialActionTakenIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalse0.014770.01477falsefalsefalseYes (true)
Bfalsefalsefalsefalse0.012360.01236falsefalsefalseYes (true)
C0

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndBusiness Name Line1GICProviderName/BusinessNameLine1TxtGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
0
AfalsefalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)
0
BfalsefalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)
0
CfalsefalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)
CYes (true)

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, PART III, LINE 4DFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTHER PROGRAM SERVICES HIGHER EDUCATION: STUDENT SERVICES - ADMISSION, REGISTRATION, COUNSELING, FINANCIAL AID, STUDENT ACTIVITIES AND HEALTH SERVICES. Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11B. The 990 is prepared by the controller/director of financial services, Reviewed by the staff accountant, reviewed by the vice president for finance and administration and the President. The 990 is reviewed by the independent accounting firm KPMG. Access to the file is provided to all members of the Board of Trustees and members of the audit/finance committee for review, comment, and questions. Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c. All members of the Board of Trustees (The Board) including non-voting members, officers, and key employees are required on an annual basis to read the policy and affirm that they understand and agree to comply with the conflict of interest policy (the Policy). The policy includes language that requires disclosure of conflict as soon as it is known. The policy identified "interested personsthe "duty to disclosureexamples of conflict of interest. The policy requires that the Trustees shall absent himself or herself from discussion of an abstaining from voting on such matters under consideration by the Board or its committees which present a conflict of interest or possible conflict. When a possible conflict is discovered, the President is responsible for reviewing the matter and may take appropriate action as is necessary to protect the interest of the University. The President shall report forthwith to the chair of the Board the results of the review and the action taken. The chair shall determine if any further board review or action is required. Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15. The organization seeks to ensure that compensation is reasonable and represents fair market value for services rendered. The organization periodically obtains information on compensation of functionally comparable positions for similarly qualified persons at similarly situated organizations. If any individual board member has a conflict of interest, he or she would be required to be excluded from the discussion and decision under the organization's conflict of interest policy. Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19. The University does not make its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public. If the University receives a request for any of these documents, senior management and the Board of Trustees determine if delivery of the requested documents is appropriate. Form 990, Part XI, Line 9. Change in value of Perpetual Trust.ExplanationTxt

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1100 ST ALBANS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14701 N Charles StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21212ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN520591641EIN
Primary ActivitiesHOLDING COPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMDLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$1,951,976EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NDMUBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
MARION I & HENRY J KNOTT FUND INC
4501 N CHARLES STREETBALTIMOREMD21210521097109SUPPORT ORGMD501(C)(3)11D: III-ONAfalse
THE LOYOLA NOTRE DAME LIBRARY INC
200 WINSTON AVENUEBALTIMOREMD21212520881396SUPPORT ORGMD501(C)(3)11C: IIINAfalse