STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

BAY PATH UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BAY PATH UNIVERSITY (EIN 04-2103865)
Tax period
2015-07-01 to 2016-06-30
Filed
2017-05-12
IRS object ID
201701329349300420
Schema version
2015v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-05-12T07:18:26-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line160 South StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02111ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN042103865EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Bay Path UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% John E O'Rourke IIIInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlBAYPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4135651000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1588 Longmeadow StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityLongmeadowCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP01106ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMICHAEL GIAMPIETROPersonNm
Person TitleVP FINANCE & ADMINPersonTitleTxt
Phone4135651000PhoneNum
Signature2017-05-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSHY JOSEPHPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01085371PTIN
Phone6179881000PhoneNum
Preparation2017-05-08PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMICHAEL GIAMPIETROPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1588 Longmeadow StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityLongmeadowCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP01106ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$75,748,909GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.baypath.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1940FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionA BAY PATH UNIVERSITY EDUCATION EMPOWERS UNDERGRADUATE WOMEN AND GRADUATE WOMEN AND MEN TO BECOME LEADERS IN THEIR CAREERS AND COMMUNITIES WITH AN INNOVATIVE APPROACH TO LEARNING.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body36VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent36VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1352TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers195TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$1,391TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$4,761NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,752,705PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,060,212CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$52,337,399PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$59,088,701CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,227,006PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,930,210CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$738,655PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$850,647CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$59,055,765PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$66,929,770CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$10,717,109PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$12,067,820CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,015,690PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$29,240,027CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$21,277PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$21,045CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,043,813CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$17,414,679PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,857,348CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$55,168,755PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$60,186,240CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,887,010PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,743,530CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$97,840,995TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$101,810,985TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$27,169,173TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$28,400,044TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$70,671,822NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$73,410,941NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionA Bay Path University education empowers undergraduate women and graduate women and men to become leaders in their careers and communities with an innovative approach to learning that prepares students to flourish in a constantly changing world. see schedule o.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$49,828,971ExpenseAmt
Grant$12,067,820GrantAmt
Revenue$55,697,885RevenueAmt
DescThe University provides instructions, academic support, student services, and student financial aid to carry out its exempt purposes, serving approximately 3110 students.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,039,597ExpenseAmt
Revenue$4,131,681RevenueAmt
DescAuxiliary enterprises provide services for the convenience of the students, faculty, and staff. This includes dining services, student housing, the bookstore, and other miscellaneous services. The University served approximately 3,110 students, including approximately 300 resident students.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$51,868,568TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (true)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (true)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (true)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document4101IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1352EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryCJForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members36GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member36IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohn E O'Rourke IIIPersonNm
Phone4135651219PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1585 Longmeadow StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityLongmeadowCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP01106ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (46 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Susan Davis Abello
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Delcie D Bean IV
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kay Bernon
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jonathan F Besse
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Roberta B Bolduc
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
James M Brennan
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cindy M Burke
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carrie Burr
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary A Bushnell
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Martin M Caine
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susanne E Churchill
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Andrew M Davis
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathleen A Devlin
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dianne Fuller Doherty
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Karen L Glaser
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anne B Hammer
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Samuel R Hanmer
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
John F Heaps Jr
trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephen D Hoyt
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
George C Keady III
Trustee, Board Chair5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Estela R Lopez PhD
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Grace Makari-Judson MD
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Angie B McGinnis
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robyn A Newhouse PhD
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Patricia J Pierce CFA
Trustee, Board Vice Chair2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Millie Roman-Buday
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lori S Roop
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jane E Roulier
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Barbara Sadowsky
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Yesenia Y Santos
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gloria Smith
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary Ann Spencer CFA
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard B Steele
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Brian Tuohey
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joel L Vengco
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hamline C Wilson
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carol A Leary
President55.00.0$391,571$0$78,545Yes (X)
Melissa Morriss-Olson
Provost/VP Academic Affairs50.00.0$205,894$0$26,803Yes (X)
Michael Giampietro
VP Finance & Admin Services50.00.0$194,262$0$39,249Yes (X)
Barbara Kochon
Secretary50.00.0$98,305$0$25,874Yes (X)
Kathleen Bourque
VP Institutional Advancement50.00.0$151,201$0$15,893Yes (X)
Elizabeth Fleming
Dean Ed. Human Health Sciences50.00.0$148,163$0$24,022Yes (X)
Vana Nespor
TAWC Cheif Strategy Officer50.00.0$142,810$0$15,642Yes (X)
Caron Hobin
Cheif Learning Officer50.00.0$141,004$0$28,826Yes (X)
Thomas Loper
Dean Sciences and Management50.00.0$131,277$0$27,186Yes (X)
Ann Dobmeyer
Dean Research & Acad Resources50.00.0$129,812$0$20,709Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,734,299TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$302,749TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K26IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Aramark Services Inc
1101 Market StreetPhiladelphiaPA19107Food Service$1,535,336
Crocker Building Company Inc
186 Stafford StreetSpringfieldMA01104Construction$1,147,315
ReachLocal
75 Wells Avenue Suite 105NewtonMA02459Adv. & Marketing$894,441
Pandora Media Inc
25601 Network PlaceChicagoIL606731256ADVERTISING$346,296
Masslivecom
1350 Main StreetSpringfieldMA01103ADVERTISING$327,643
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K18CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$1,266FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$2,388,661GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$1,670,285AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$76,538NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,060,212TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and Fees611310$54,600,363$54,600,363
Residence and Dining611710$4,133,576$4,133,576
Women's Conference611710$343,349$343,349
Theater Department711110$11,413$11,413
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$59,088,701TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$738,258TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$4,308UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$742,566ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$173,000RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$77,934RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$95,066RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$95,066TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$95,066ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$10,928,407SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$8,736,455SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,191,952SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,191,952TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$3,201UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,188,751ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$9,865FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$1,266ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$2,232FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,633TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$7,633ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$7,103GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$2,518GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,585TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,585ExclusionAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Foodservice624200$261,279$258,781$2,498
Bookstore451211$40,960$40,960
Other revenue900099$441,124$441,124
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$743,363OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$66,929,770TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$59,829,566RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$1,391UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,038,601ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,100TotalAmt
Program Services$10,100ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,954,904TotalAmt
Program Services$11,954,904ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,816TotalAmt
Program Services$102,816ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,547,946TotalAmt
Program Services$575,498ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$838,944ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$133,504FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,800,968TotalAmt
Program Services$19,352,664ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,867,626ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$580,678FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,464,680TotalAmt
Program Services$1,197,705ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$240,591ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$26,384FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,570,869TotalAmt
Program Services$1,199,523ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$299,262ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$72,084FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,855,564TotalAmt
Program Services$1,574,938ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$233,370ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$47,256FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$95,380TotalAmt
Management And General$95,380ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$93,500TotalAmt
Management And General$93,500ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,045TotalAmt
Fundraising$21,045FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,532,095TotalAmt
Program Services$2,839,510ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$648,450ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$44,135FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,419,297TotalAmt
Program Services$4,307,313ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$111,984ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,810,200TotalAmt
Program Services$1,569,661ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$208,109ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,430FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$504,622TotalAmt
Program Services$461,242ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,380ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,475,469TotalAmt
Program Services$1,270,085ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$205,384ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$408,575TotalAmt
Program Services$352,608ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$32,927ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$23,040FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$145,065TotalAmt
Program Services$106,442ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$32,230ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,393FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$631,518TotalAmt
Program Services$505,214ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$126,304ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,134,047TotalAmt
Program Services$2,728,199ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$405,848ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$209,018TotalAmt
Management And General$209,018ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Student Board$1,218,047$1,218,047
Memberships$123,726$72,723$48,204$2,799
Entertainment$590,452$418,270$118,228$53,954
.$0$0$0$0

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$466,337TotalAmt
Program Services$51,106ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$415,120ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$111FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,186,240TotalAmt
Program Services$51,868,568ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,273,859ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,043,813FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,343,388BOYAmt
EOY$3,069,256EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,137,982BOYAmt
EOY$1,157,637EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,125,715BOYAmt
EOY$2,252,024EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,415,750BOYAmt
EOY$2,402,606EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,685BOYAmt
EOY$47,312EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$836,298BOYAmt
EOY$796,675EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$81,603,419LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$41,538,723LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,873,961BOYAmt
EOY$40,064,696EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,579,715BOYAmt
EOY$48,809,238EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,478,501BOYAmt
EOY$3,211,541EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,840,995BOYAmt
EOY$101,810,985EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,415,618BOYAmt
EOY$3,872,615EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$752,904BOYAmt
EOY$752,904EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,656,057BOYAmt
EOY$2,928,172EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,364,699BOYAmt
EOY$18,809,227EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$141,743BOYAmt
EOY$143,300EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,838,152BOYAmt
EOY$1,893,826EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,169,173BOYAmt
EOY$28,400,044EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,614,802BOYAmt
EOY$61,416,128EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,838,404BOYAmt
EOY$3,526,222EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,218,616BOYAmt
EOY$8,468,591EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$70,671,822BOYAmt
EOY$73,410,941EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,840,995BOYAmt
EOY$101,810,985EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,743,530ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$4,001,356NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$3,055OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
Agent Trustee EtcfalseAgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (true)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$41,457,507BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$657,398ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,064,015InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$206,603GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$19,495OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$40,824,792EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$40,865,240BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$826,440ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$53,727InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$161,243GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$19,203OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$41,457,507EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$35,354,876BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$583,754ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,399,947InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$137,567GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$335,770OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$40,865,240EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,742,637BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$562,033ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,214,619InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$150,208GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$14,205OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$35,354,876EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,902,121BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$422,915ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$405,706InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$156,926GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$19,767OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$31,742,637EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.78150BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.20200PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.01650TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,671,967OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,671,967BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$820,039InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$49,414,871OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,360,255DepreciationAmt
Book Value$29,874,655BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$649,043OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$553,972DepreciationAmt
Book Value$95,071BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$24,185,022OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,624,496DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,560,526BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$862,477OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$862,477BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$40,064,696TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATIONS$1,585,310
ANNUITY OBLIGATIONS$308,516
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,893,826TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$50,915,992TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$4,001,356NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$12,057,480OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$16,058,836RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$66,974,828RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$45,058OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$45,058RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$66,929,770TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$48,178,403TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$49,643OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$49,643ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$48,128,760ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$12,057,480OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$12,057,480ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$60,186,240TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part IV, Line 2bThe University holds deposits from students as security for residential dormitory damage, as well as tuition deposits, In addition, the University owns and rents residential properties near the campus. The tenants security deposits are maintained in escrow accounts at a local bank.
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4The Universitys endowment fund is an investment portfolio comprised of donor-restricted (true) and board-designated (quasi) endowment funds. The intentions of the fund are to generate a total return that preserves the long-term real purchasing power of the endowment funds and provides a relatively predictable and increasing revenue stream to be used for donor-specified and board-designated purposes that support the mission of the University. For Schedule D, University contributions include funds transferred from donor restricted funds to the unrestricted quasi-endowment fund to support the donor-restricted scholarships awarded during the year from liquid, unrestricted investments.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2The University was granted an exempt status under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 501(a) as an organization described under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). Under IRC Section 501(a), the University is generally exempt from taxes on related income. Tax positions taken or expected to be taken, including the position that the University qualifies as a tax exempt entity, are required to be evaluated to determine whether the tax positions are 'more-likely-than-not' to be upheld under regulatory review. Tax positions not deemed to meet the more-likely-than not threshold would be accrued and disclosed in the financial statements. There are no uncertain tax positions that require accrual or disclosure at June 30, 2016 or 2015.
SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2DSCHOLARSHIPS $(12,057,480) SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4B RENTAL PROPERTY EXPENSE $ (47,411) RAFFLE NET INCOME $ 4,585 FUNDRAISING EXPENSE $ (2,232) ----------- TOTAL $ (45,058)
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DRENTAL PROPERTY EXPENSE $ 47,411 FUNDRAISING EXPENSE $ 2,232 --------- TOTAL $ 49,643
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4BSCHOLARSHIPS $ 12,057,480

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Publications, applications, registration forms, newspaper advertisements, and summer program materials make reference to the Universitys racially nondiscriminatory policy.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6All federal and state funds received are expended entirely for student financial aid in accordance with the U.S. Office of Management and Budget Circular A-133 for federal funds, and with specific requirements applicable to the Massachusetts Office of Student Financial Assistance Programs for state funds.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (9 entries)

RegionRegionTxtType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Program ServicesStudy Abroad$9,483
East Asia and the PacificProgram ServicesMarketing$3,167
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Program ServicesLaboratory Licensing$25,000
East Asia and the PacificProgram ServicesAgents' Commissions$1,697
East Asia and the PacificGrantmaking$73,276
Middle East and North AfricaGrantmaking$21,050
Sub-Saharan AfricaGrantmaking$2,500
North AmericaGrantmaking$8,250
Central America and the CaribbeanInvestments$2,671,124
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Spent$2,815,547SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$2,815,547TotalSpentAmt

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (3 entries)

Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxtRegionRegionTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtManner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt
EducationEast Asia and the Pacific5$73,276Credit Acct
EducationMiddle East and North Africa3$21,050Credit Acct
EDUCATIONNorth America1$8,250CREDIT ACCT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (true)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (true)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (true)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (true)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesYes (true)BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule F, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAll grants and assistance to individuals outside of the United States are given as scholarships toward tuition for foreign students to attend Bay Path University. These scholarships are monitored by the Universitys Financial Aid staff based on the students merit and need.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
Phone SolicitationsYes (X)PhoneSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Solicitation Of Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (true)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWashburn McGoldrick LLCPersonNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line124 N Bryn Mawr Ave 252AddressLine1Txt
CityBryn MawrCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP19010ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ActivityConsultingActivityTxt
Fundraiser Control Of FundsfalseFundraiserControlOfFundsInd
Retained By Contractor$21,045RetainedByContractorAmt
Net To Organization-$21,045NetToOrganizationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Retained By Contractors$21,045TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Total Net To Organization-$21,045TotalNetToOrganizationAmt
Licensed StatesMALicensedStatesCd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SPRINGFIELD PUBLIC FORUM INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5374AddressLine1Txt
CitySPRINGFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP01101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN046190443RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(C)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$6,250CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantSPEAKER SERIESPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarships and aid to studentsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient987RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$11,954,904CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBay Path University receives grant money from federal and state government agencies for student financial aid. This grant money is disbursed to student accounts as it is received by the University. Student awards are based on the federal and state guidelines for each type of grant. Grants to charitable organizations are made in accordance with established financial policies and procedures.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Carol A Leary
President$391,571$0$0$0$0$0$40,500$0$38,045$0$470,116$0$0$0
Melissa Morriss-Olson
Provost/VP Academic Affairs$205,120$0$0$0$774$0$18,330$0$8,473$0$232,697$0$0$0
Michael Giampietro
VP Finance & Admin Services$193,850$0$0$0$412$0$18,057$0$21,192$0$233,511$0$0$0
Kathleen Bourque
VP Institutional Advancement$150,695$0$0$0$506$0$13,427$0$2,466$0$167,094$0$0$0
Elizabeth Fleming
Dean Ed. Human Health Sciences$147,411$0$0$0$752$0$13,453$0$10,569$0$172,185$0$0$0
Vana Nespor
TAWC Cheif Strategy Officer$142,175$0$0$0$635$0$12,726$0$2,916$0$158,452$0$0$0
Caron Hobin
Cheif Learning Officer$140,503$0$0$0$501$0$13,228$0$15,598$0$169,830$0$0$0
Thomas Loper
Dean Sciences and Management$130,712$0$0$0$565$0$12,308$0$14,878$0$158,463$0$0$0
Ann Dobmeyer
Dean Research & Acad Resources$129,290$0$0$0$522$0$11,657$0$9,052$0$150,521$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Presidents employment contract allows for spousal travel. The travel is on a limited basis and typically involves the spouses service as a chaperone on the annual honors students trip to a world capital. The President resides in a University-owned house near the campus as required in her contract. Numerous functions take place at the Presidents home in support of the Universitys mission. Donors, staff, and students are welcomed throughout the year. Given the visibility of and the many events that take place at the Presidents residence, a University employee cleans the home at virtually no extra costs to the University. The availability and approachability of the President is a key element to instilling the sense of community and caring that is central to the Universitys mission. The University pays for the Presidents membership in a local country club and a social club, entirely for business purposes. The value of the Presidents housing is $18,648 for the year and is included in her Schedule J, Part II, Column (D) compensation.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Massachuesetts Development Fin Agency SERIES 2013BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN043431814BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2013-12-23BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$19,500,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeCONSTRUCT/EQUIPT/REFUND 2006PurposeDesc
DefeasedfalseDefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingfalsePoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$561,230RetiredAmt
Bond Defeased$0BondDefeasedAmt
Total Proceeds$19,500,000TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$0InReserveFundAmt
Capitalized Interest$0CapitalizedInterestAmt
Refunding Escrow$0RefundingEscrowAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$100,000IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Credit Enhancement$0CreditEnhancementAmt
Working Capital Expenditures$0WorkingCapitalExpendituresAmt
Capital Expenditures$12,108,657CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$6,734,874OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$556,469UnspentAmt
Substantial Completion2014SubstantialCompletionYr
Current RefundingYes (true)CurrentRefundingInd
Advance RefundingfalseAdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation MadefalseFinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (true)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed PropertyfalseOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease ArrangementsfalseAnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropYes (true)MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Engage Bond Counsel ContractsYes (true)EngageBondCounselContractsInd
Any Research AgreementsfalseAnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00004PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Total Private Business Use0.00004TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestfalseBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed PropfalseChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Remedial Action TakenfalseRemedialActionTakenInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (true)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledfalseForm8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (true)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To RebateYes (true)ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DuefalseNoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (true)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecfalseHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd

Hedge Provider Name HedgeProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line10BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Proceeds Invested In GICfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd

GIC Provider Name GICProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line10BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Proceeds InvestedfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (true)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionfalseProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part II, Line 1112/23/2013 $19,500,000 Massachusetts Development Finance Agency Other spent proceeds of $6,734,874 represents the amount used to pay off the outstanding balance of a prior bond issue.
SCHEDULE K, PART VTHE COLLEGE IS WORKING TO REVISE THEIR WRITTEN POLICY TO ENSURE THAT VIOLATIONS OF FEDERAL TAX REQUIREMENTS ARE TIMELY IDENTIFIED AND CORRECTED THROUGH THE VOLUNTARY CLOSING AGREEMENT PROGRAM.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR$1,521,354FOOD SERVICEfalse
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR$1,167,044GROUP INSURANCE PREMIUMSfalse
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR$315,759BOND INTERESTfalse
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR
SUBSTANTIAL CONTRIBUTOR$281,312CONSTRUCTIONfalse

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp
Books And PublicationsBooksAndPublicationsGrp
Clothing And Household GoodsClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp
Cars And Other VehiclesCarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution11ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$76,538NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp
Real Estate OtherRealEstateOtherGrp
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule M, Part I, Line 32bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe University used a third party to sell gifts of stock.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, Line 1The Bay Path experience is nothing less than transformational. Our women-only undergraduate programs and our coeducational graduate programs are offered both on-campus and online, providing a flexible, 21st-Century education for learners at all stages of life and career. Bay Path students find a supportive and diverse community, close mentoring, and rigorous preparation for success in a complex and globally interdependent society. Students graduate with the applied knowledge, portable skillset, and confidence to thrive in their professions, identify and realize their dreams, and make a lasting difference in the world.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bPrior to the filing of the Form 990, a complete copy is reviewed by the Universitys Vice President for Finance & Administrative Services, as well as the Audit Committee of the Board of Trustees. A public disclosure copy is provided, via the Trustees internet portal, to all members of the Board of Trustees prior to the filing date. At the June meeting of the full Board of Trustees, the Audit Committee chairperson delivers a summary report of the Form 990.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cIn accordance with the Universitys Conflict of Interest Policy for Trustees, as contained in the Board of Trustees Bylaws, all trustees and officers are required to complete at least annually a Conflict of Interest Questionnaire and submit it to the Audit Committee of the Board of Trustees. Additionally, any potential conflict of interest which arises mid-term is required to be submitted to the Audit Committee at the earliest practical time. No trustee or officer shall vote or participate in any discussion on any matter under consideration at a Board or committee meeting, in which such trustee or officer has a conflict of interest. Any trustee or officer who is uncertain whether he/she has a conflict of interest may request the Audit Committee to make a determination in such regard, and the Audit Committee may seek an opinion from counsel for the University in such matter. The University also requires all employees to complete annually a Conflict of interest Disclosure Form and submit it to their respective divisional vice president for review. If an employee discloses active or intended participation in an activity that is a potential conflict of interest, the supervisor and divisional vice president will evaluate the disclosure to determine the appropriate action to be taken. The employee may be asked to discontinue participation in the activity if it is determined to be a conflict of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The Compensation Sub-committee ('Sub-committee') of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees has the responsibility for reviewing and recommending the University Presidents and Officers'/Key Employees compensation to the Executive Committee. The sub-committee considers comparative data from peer institutions, other womens colleges, and other colleges in Massachusetts in determining the amount of compensation. The sub-committee also reviews accomplishments in comparison to planned goals and objectives. The Executive Committee, comprised of independent Board of Trustee members, approves the Presidents and Officers'/Key Employees compensation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19The Universitys Form 990 and 990-T are available for public inspection at the office of the Vice President for Finance & Administrative Services upon written request. Additionally, the Universitys Federal Form 990 and Massachusetts Form PC, as well as audited financial statements, are available on the website of the Massachusetts Attorney Generals office, Public Charities Division. Requests for copies of bylaws, conflict of interest policies, and financial statements are directed to the Vice President for Finance & Administrative Services for a response.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETS OR FUND BALANCES RAFFLE NET INCOME $(4,585) PRIOR PERIOD ADJUSTMENT $ 1,530 ----------- TOTAL $(3,055)