STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

THE MASTERCARD FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
THE MASTERCARD FOUNDATION (EIN 98-0543843)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-05-13
IRS object ID
201701339349300640
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-05-13T12:50:51-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Deloitte LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer Foreign Address PreparerForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line122 Adelaide Street West Suite 200AddressLine1Txt
CityTorontoCityNm
Province Or StateOntarioProvinceOrStateNm
CountryCACountryCd
Foreign PostalM5H 0A9ForeignPostalCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN980543843EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE MASTERCARD FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% PEGGY WOOInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlMASTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4162142857PhoneNum

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1250 Yonge Street Suite 2400AddressLine1Txt
CityTORONTOCityNm
Province Or StateONTARIOProvinceOrStateNm
CountryCACountryCd
Foreign PostalM5B 2L7ForeignPostalCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonREETA ROYPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6472141923PhoneNum
Signature2017-05-12SignatureDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address72.28.80.45IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Federal Original Submission Id98055220171335000000FederalOriginalSubmissionId
Federal Original Submission Id2017-05-13FederalOriginalSubmissionIdDt
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdC2221C6518E27DA48E332C819A1BED7AFAF7B6FFAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdDAFE582D49AC74A24F2B8D054412328F06877926AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerREETA ROYPrincipalOfficerNm

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1250 Yonge Street Suite 2400AddressLine1Txt
CityTORONTOCityNm
Province Or StateONTARIOProvinceOrStateNm
CountryCACountryCd
Foreign PostalM5B 2L7ForeignPostalCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$289,460,599GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.mastercardfdn.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2005FormationYr
Activity Or MissionTHE MASTERCARD FOUNDATION ADVANCES YOUTH LEARNING AND FINANCIAL INCLUSION TO CATALYZE PROSPERITY IN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee2TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$110,258,304PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$126,672,015CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$557,094CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$110,258,304PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$127,229,109CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$186,453,404PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$256,538,221CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,092,123PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,276,996CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,762,349PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$12,793,356CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$206,307,876PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$277,608,573CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$96,049,572PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$150,379,464CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$9,179,286,169TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$9,660,981,405TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$3,435,825TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$2,353,720TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$9,175,850,344NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$9,658,627,685NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE MASTERCARD FOUNDATION ADVANCES EDUCATION AND FINANCIAL INCLUSION TO CATALYZE PROSPERITY IN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$9,980,178ExpenseAmt
Grant$9,980,178GrantAmt
DescThe MasterCard Foundation partners with Save the Children Canada in Youth Learning. The objective of the youth in action program is to educate rural out-of-school youth in Burkina Faso, Egypt, Malawi, Uganda, and Ethiopia and to support them in transitioning to better employment opportunities in the agricultural sector.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,823,770ExpenseAmt
Grant$9,823,770GrantAmt
DescThe MasterCard Foundation partners with KPMG East Africa Limited in Financial Inclusion. The objective of the Fund for Rural Prosperity is to improve the livelihoods and incomes of over 1,000,000 smallholder farmers by enabling financial service providers and agribusinesses to develop and expand access to their products, and promoting systemic change in agricultural finance.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$8,974,486ExpenseAmt
Grant$8,974,486GrantAmt
DescTHE MASTERCARD FOUNDATION PARTNERS WITH EQUITY GROUP FOUNDATION IN YOUTH LEARNING. The objective of the Wings to Fly program is to support 10,000 academically talented, yet financially disadvantaged students from Kenya to complete secondary education, while fostering their leadership skills and their capacity to give back to their communities.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (3 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtGrantGrantAmtDescDesc
$91,740,436$91,740,436OTHER FINANCIAL INCLUSION PROGRAMS
$136,019,350$136,019,350OTHER YOUTH LEARNING PROGRAMS
$11,429,558OTHER PROGRAM SERVICES EXPENSES
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$239,189,344TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$227,759,786TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$267,967,778TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgYes (true)MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document0IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee2EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryCAForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyfalseDocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPEGGY WOOPersonNm
Phone6478375802PhoneNum

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1250 Yonge Street Suite 2400AddressLine1Txt
CityTORONTOCityNm
Province Or StateOntarioProvinceOrStateNm
CountryCACountryCd
Foreign PostalM5B 2L7ForeignPostalCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd
JAMES JIM LEECH
BOARD CHAIR6.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
HUTHAM OLAYAN
DIRECTOR2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
FESTUS MOGAE
DIRECTOR2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DON MORRISON
BOARD SECRETARY/TREASURER3.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENDAYI FRAZER
DIRECTOR2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
CRAIG CALHOUN
DIRECTOR2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOUGLAS DOUG BAILLIE
BOARD VICE-CHAIR3.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
REETA ROY
PRESIDENT/CEO60.00.0Yes (X)$782,104$0-$161,273Yes (X)
PEGGY WOO
CFO55.00.0Yes (X)$191,435$0$4,867
TONI TIEMENS
DEPUTY DIRECTOR, COMMUNICATION40.00.0$146,215$0$9,204Yes (X)
ANN MILES
DIRECTOR, FINANCIAL INCLUSION45.00.0$301,549$0$37,605Yes (X)
PETER MATERU
DIRECTOR, EDU LEARNING & YOUTH45.00.0$255,527$0$34,487Yes (X)
LINDSAY WALLACE
DIRECTOR, LEARNING & STRATEGY45.00.0$156,237$0$9,203Yes (X)
JAMES COOKE
DIRECTOR, FINANCE & ACCOUNTING45.00.0$152,368$0$9,197Yes (X)
SHARON ALTON
DIRECTOR, HUMAN RESOURCES45.00.0$118,112$0$7,175Yes (X)
MEREDITH LEE
DEPUTY DIRECTOR, YOUTH LIVELIH40.00.0$128,910$0$9,199Yes (X)
GUI WONG
DIRECTOR, IT40.00.0$138,060$0$9,278Yes (X)
KIM KERR
DEPUTY DIRECTOR, Edu &learning40.00.0$137,862$0$8,335Yes (X)
ALEMAYEHU KONDE KORIA
SR PROGRAM MGR, YOUTH LIVELIHO40.00.0$130,487$0$9,200Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,638,866TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation-$13,523TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K21IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CityNmProvince Or StateContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/ProvinceOrStateNmCountryContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CountryCdForeign PostalContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/ForeignPostalCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd
DPI Construction Management
255 DUNCAN MILL RD SUITE 707TORONTOONCAM3B 3H9consulting and mgmt$716,471
KPMG LLP
SUITE 4600 333 BAY STREET BACTORONTOONCAM5H 2S5Consulting Services$806,921
Environics Communications
Public Relation Serv$713,8831101 Connecticut Avenue NW SuiteWASHINGTONDC20036
Millennium Travel Pty Ltd
22 1ST AVE DUNVEGANEDENVALE PO BOMODDERFONTEIN0SF1645Travel, Conference$585,927
Dalberg Consulting US LLC
consulting services$674,82199 Madison Ave Floor 17NEW YORKNY10016
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K29CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$93,026,865TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$93,026,865ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$557,094RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$557,094RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$557,094TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$557,094ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$195,876,640SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$162,231,490SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$33,645,150SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$33,645,150TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$33,645,150ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$127,229,109TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$127,229,109ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$112,394,383TotalAmt
Program Services$112,394,383ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$144,143,838TotalAmt
Program Services$144,143,838ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,928,725TotalAmt
Program Services$889,046ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,039,679ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,392,695TotalAmt
Program Services$3,665,698ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,726,997ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$955,576TotalAmt
Program Services$695,529ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$260,047ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$292,347TotalAmt
Program Services$73,172ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$219,175ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,689TotalAmt
Management And General$122,689ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,932,633TotalAmt
Program Services$2,474,386ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,458,247ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$769,314TotalAmt
Management And General$769,314ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$339,665TotalAmt
Management And General$339,665ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,305,178TotalAmt
Program Services$202,615ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,102,563ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,317,902TotalAmt
Program Services$758,470ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$559,432ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,621,336TotalAmt
Program Services$2,550,448ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,888ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$520,282TotalAmt
Management And General$520,282ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$103,866TotalAmt
Management And General$103,866ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescHUMAN RESOURCE COSTSDesc
Total$468,144TotalAmt
Program Services$120,193ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$347,951ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$277,608,573TotalAmt
Program Services$267,967,778ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,640,795ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,730,241BOYAmt
EOY$9,227,182EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$610,371BOYAmt
EOY$1,081,033EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$556,679BOYAmt
EOY$966,309EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$3,770,474LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$709,630LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,604,880BOYAmt
EOY$3,060,844EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,171,394,919BOYAmt
EOY$9,646,301,816EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$389,079BOYAmt
EOY$344,221EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,179,286,169BOYAmt
EOY$9,660,981,405EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,654,945BOYAmt
EOY$2,054,375EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$729,207BOYAmt
EOY$255,115EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,673BOYAmt
EOY$44,230EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,435,825BOYAmt
EOY$2,353,720EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,160,864BOYAmt
EOY$14,225,109EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,168,689,480BOYAmt
EOY$9,644,402,576EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,175,850,344BOYAmt
EOY$9,658,627,685EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,179,286,169BOYAmt
EOY$9,660,981,405EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$150,379,464ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$633,156,805NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$9,168,689,479BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$274,270,467InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$701AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$9,442,959,245EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,249,210,825BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$16,774,271ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$902,706,973InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$2,590AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$9,168,689,479EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,011,250,521BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$105,385,917ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$132,589,047InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$14,660AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$8,249,210,825EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,842,633,000BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$164,576,577ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,004,073,001InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$32,057AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$8,011,250,521EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,720,444,770BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,122,188,230InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$4,842,633,000EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.03000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.97000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
LandLandGrp
BuildingsBuildingsGrp

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,692,189OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$303,697DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,388,492BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$504,144OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$295,930DepreciationAmt
Book Value$208,214BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$574,141OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$110,003DepreciationAmt
Book Value$464,138BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$3,060,844TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTENANTS' DEPOSITSDesc
Amt$44,230Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$44,230TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$760,087,941TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$633,156,805NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$633,156,805RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$126,931,136RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$297,973OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$297,973RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$127,229,109TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$277,310,600TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$297,973OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$297,973ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$277,608,573ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$277,608,573TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 4THE FOUNDATION'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE INTENDED TO PROVIDE REVENUE TO FULFILL THE FOUNDATION'S MISSION OF HELPING TO CREATE OPPORTUNITIES FOR PEOPLE TO HARNESS THEIR OWN SKILLS AND RESOURCES TO IMPROVE THEIR QUALITY OF LIFE BY ADVANCING EFFECTIVE AND INNOVATIVE PROGRAMS IN FINANCIAL INCLUSION AND YOUTH LEARNING WORLDWIDE, WITH MAJOR FOCUS IN AFRICA.
SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4BTO REALLOCATE THE AGGREGATE NEGATIVE RESULT FROM BOTH REALIZED AND UNREALIZED FOREIGN EXCHANGE GAINS AND LOSSES TO THE REVENUE RECONCILIATION: -$297,973
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DTO REALLOCATE THE AGGREGATE NEGATIVE RESULT FROM BOTH REALIZED AND UNREALIZED FOREIGN EXCHANGE GAINS AND LOSSES TO THE REVENUE RECONCILIATION: $297,973

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (4 entries)

RegionRegionTxtType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmtEmployeeEmployeeCntOfficesOfficesCnt
Central America and the CaribbeanProgram Servicesyouth learning$6,793,481
Sub-Saharan AfricaProgram Servicesfinancial inclusion &$128,879,7483
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Program Servicesfinancial inclusion &$5,450,886
North AmericaProgram Servicesfinancial inclusion &$3,019,7231051
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices1SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees108SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office1TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee108TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$144,143,838SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$144,143,838TotalSpentAmt

Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp (86 entries)

RegionRegionTxtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Sub-Saharan AfricaFINANCIAL INCLUSION$2,974,826
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$8,974,486
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)FINANCIAL INCLUSION$197,165
North AmericaFINANCIAL INCLUSION$200,000
Sub-Saharan AfricaFINANCIAL INCLUSION$3,642,512
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$9,313,151
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$1,650,739
Sub-Saharan AfricaFINANCIAL INCLUSION$200,000
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth lEARNING$3,032,971
Central America and the CaribbeanYouth Learning$6,793,481
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$5,578,627
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$2,101,838
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$2,070,483
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$9,980,178
Sub-Saharan AfricaFINANCIAL INCLUSION$1,080,300
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$479,878
Sub-Saharan Africayouth Learning$386,544
North AmericaYouth learning$1,376,557
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$250,000
Sub-Saharan AfricaFINANCIAL INCLUSION$2,672,483
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING & SCHOLARS PROGRAM$4,930,840
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$1,228,557
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$2,856,838
Sub-Saharan AfricaFINANCIAL INCLUSION$4,008,142
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$2,830,770
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$1,982,408
Sub-Saharan AfricaFINANCIAL INCLUSION$186,366
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$1,919,961
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$574,560
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH Learning$196,412
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$50,000
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Financial Inclusion$1,721,689
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Youth Learning$72,557
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$69,981
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$12,913
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$157,827
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$2,059,538
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$15,963
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$5,851
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$7,266
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$1,696,462
Sub-Saharan AfricaYout Learning$793,892
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial inclusion$2,754,588
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$807,234
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion & YOUTH LEARNING$1,959,650
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$750,656
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$2,556,180
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$1,706,001
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$1,368,974
North AmericaYouth Learning$26,422
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$4,263,560
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$9,823,770
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$3,056,099
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$2,651,163
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$249,755
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$243,958
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$249,456
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$216,053
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion & YOUTH LEARNING$1,005,832
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$249,140
Sub-Saharan AfricayOUTH lEARNING$25,000
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$87,130
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$150,000
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$4,512,406
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$5,023,258
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$25,000
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$225,681
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH Learning$249,926
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH Learning$147,323
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$1,713,675
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$379,047
Sub-Saharan AfricaYOUTH LEARNING$29,690
Sub-Saharan AfricaYouth Learning$44,454
Sub-Saharan AfricaFinancial Inclusion$2,381,526
North AmericaYouth Learning$225,661
North AmericaYouth Learning$371,138
North AmericaYouth Learning$19,472
North AmericaYouth Learning$249,979
North AmericaYouth Learning$550,494
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)YOUTH Learning$135,733
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)youth learning$99,300
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Youth Learning$663,540
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Youth Learning$180,708
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Youth Learning$348,326
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Financial Inclusion$1,091,113
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Youth Learning$940,755
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org86TotalOtherOrgCnt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE F, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE FOUNDATION USES RISK CRITERIA AND TOOLS TO GUIDE THE APPROVAL OF PROJECTS THAT ARE CONSISTENT WITH THE FOUNDATION'S MANDATE AND TO MONITOR THE USE OF PROJECT FUNDS. THE FOUNDATION'S PROJECT AND PARTNER SELECTION AS WELL AS MANAGEMENT PROCESS INCLUDES SEVERAL STEPS, BEGINNING WITH AN INVITATION FOR POTENTIAL PARTNERS TO SUBMIT A PROJECT NOTE AND HIGH-LEVEL BUDGET TO INITIATE DISCUSSIONS ON THE SCOPE OF THE PROJECT. THIS STAGE ALSO INCLUDES THE COMPLETION OF AN ORGANIZATIONAL QUESTIONNAIRE, WHICH PROVIDES INFORMATION ON THE APPLICANT ORGANIZATION'S MISSION AND GOALS, AS WELL AS THE APPLICANT'S GOVERNANCE POLICIES, GOVERNMENT FILINGS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OR ANNUAL REPORTS. TO COMPLY WITH ANTI-TERRORISM LEGISLATION, THE FOUNDATION SCRUTINIZES THE APPLICANT ORGANIZATION, ITS BOARD MEMBERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES AGAINST BOTH SUBSCRIBED AND PUBLISHED ANTI-TERRORISM WATCH LISTS. IF THE FOUNDATION DETERMINES THAT A PROJECT SHOULD MOVE FORWARD, THE FOUNDATION WILL INVITE THE APPLICANT TO COMPLETE A PROPOSAL AND DETAILED BUDGET. DURING THIS PROPOSAL DEVELOPMENT STAGE, THE FOUNDATION CONDUCTS FURTHER DUE DILIGENCE PROCEDURES. THIS MAY INCLUDE ENGAGING A THIRD PARTY TO REVIEW THE APPLICANT ORGANIZATION TO CONFIRM ITS TRACK RECORD AND CAPACITY TO UNDERTAKE AND REPORT ON THE PROJECT. THE FOUNDATION MAY ALSO CONDUCT AN ON-SITE DUE DILIGENCE VISIT TO MEET WITH THE APPLICANT ORGANIZATION'S STAFF AND OTHER STAKEHOLDERS. ONCE THE APPLICANT SUBMITS THE PROPOSAL AND BUDGET, THE FOUNDATION WILL CONDUCT AN ANALYSIS OF THE BUDGET, TESTING BUDGET ASSUMPTIONS FOR REASONABLENESS. THE FOUNDATION MAY ALSO SEEK THIRD PARTY REVIEW OF THE PROPOSAL TO VALIDATE THE PROJECT DESIGN. AFTER THE PROPOSAL DEVELOPMENT AND DUE DILIGENCE STAGE, LOW-RISK PROJECTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE PRESIDENT/CEO FOR APPROVAL. ALL OTHER PROJECTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR APPROVAL. ONCE APPROVED, A CONTRACT BETWEEN THE PARTIES IS EXECUTED AND PAYMENTS ARE ISSUED BASED ON PERFORMANCE. THROUGH THE LIFECYCLE OF THE PROJECT, THE FOUNDATION ASSESSES WHETHER THE ORGANIZATION IS CARRYING OUT ACTIVITIES CONSISTENT WITH THE PURPOSES FOR WHICH THE FUNDS WERE APPROVED. THIS IS DONE BY USING FINANCIAL AND NARRATIVE REPORTING FROM THE ORGANIZATION, AND WHERE APPLICABLE ON-SITE PROJECT VISITS, MEETINGS WITH THE ORGANIZATION AS WELL AS THIRD PARTY REVIEWS AND REPORTS. AN ASSESSMENT OF COMPLIANCE WITH ANTI-TERRORISM LEGISLATION AND OTHER DUE DILIGENCE PROCEDURES ARE DONE ON AN ANNUAL BASIS FOR MULTI-YEAR PROJECTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (64 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtAddress Line2USAddress/AddressLine2TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
ACCION International
56 Roland StreetSuite 300BOSTONMA02129132535763501(c)3$2,765,826FINANCIAL INCLUSION
Boulder Institute of Microfinance
120 E Washington St Suite 200SyracuseNY13202201175839501(c)3$300,000FINANCIAL INCLUSION
BRAC USA Inc
110 WILLIAM STREET 29TH FLOORNEW YORKNY10038208456741501(c)3$7,318,632YOUTH LEARNING
Catholic Relief Services
228 W Lexington StBALTIMOREMD212013413135563422501(c)3$5,486,729FINANCIAL INCLUSION
Massachusetts Institute Of Technology
77 Massachusetts AveCAMBRIDGEMA021394307042103594501(c)3$1,152,697Youth Learning
Microfinance Information Exchange Inc
1901 Pennsylvania Ave NWSTE 307WASHINGTONDC20006364502299501(c)3$862,372FINANCIAL INCLUSION
University System of New Hampshire
73 Main StreetCarsey Institute Huddleston HallDURHAMNH03824026000937501(c)3$200,000FINANCIAL INCLUSION
Wellesley College
106 Central StreetWELLESLEYMA02481042103637501(c)3$875,753Youth Learning
international bank for reconstruction and dev
MSN P 3-300 The World Bank Group1818 H Street NWWASHINGTONDC20433Non-Profit$5,610,462FINANCIAL INCLUSION
INTERNATIONAL RESCUE COMMITTEE INC
122 EAST 42ND STREETNEW YORKNY101681289135660870501(c)3$1,956,594YOUTH Learning
INTERNATIONAL YOUTH FOUNDATION
One East Pratt StreetSUITE 701BALTIMOREMD21202382935397501(c)3$149,973Youth Learning
UNITED NATIONS Capital Development Fund
TWO UN PLAZA26TH FLOORNew YorkNY10017OTHER$7,425,312FINANCIAL INCLUSION
American University of Beirut
3 dag hammarskjold plazaNEW YORKNY100172303135596846501(c)3$3,122,879Youth Learning
GSMA MOBILE FOR DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION INC
1000 abernathy roadatlantaGA30328371552838501(c)3$1,056,833financial inclusion
TechnoServe Inc
1120 19th St NWWashingtonDC20036132626135501(c)3$7,016,435Youth Learning
The Education For Employment FoundationInc
624 Ninth Street NW Suite 400washingtonDC20001820578781501(c)3$24,916youth Learning
The Skoll Foundation
250 University AvePalo AltoCA94301113659133501(c)3$249,498youth learning
Duke University
PO box 90600DurhamNC27708560532129501(c)3$5,760,492Youth Learning
michigan state university
427 N Shaw Lane Rm 308east lansingMI488241035386005984501(c)3$5,484,508youth learning
Tufts University
20 Professors RowmedfordMA02155042103634501(c)3$1,034,308Youth Learning
World Affairs Council of Northern California
312 Sutter StreetSan FranciscoCA94108941156356501(c)3$247,112Youth Learning
Arizona State University
PO Box 877705TempeAZ852877705Other$7,229,301Youth Learning
Bankable Frontier Associates LLC
48 Grove StreetSuite 303SomervilleMA02144204108833OTHER$2,701,834FINANCIAL INCLUSION
CHILDFUND INTERNATIONAL USA
2821 EMERYWOOD PARKWAYRICHMONDVA23294540536100501(C)3$1,447,694Youth Learning
INTERNATIONAL FINANCE CORPORATION
2121 PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE NWWASHINGTONDC20433non-profit$5,371,811Youth Learning
MATHEMATICA POLICY RESEARCH
1100 1ST STREET NEWASHINGTONDC200024221OTHER$1,684,777Youth Learning
ONE ACRE FUND
1742 TATUM STREETFalcon HeightsMN55113203668110501(C)3$3,232,874FINANCIAL INCLUSION
STANFORD UNIVERSITY
355 GALVEZ STREETSTANFORDCA943056108941156365501(C)3$1,630,218Youth Learning
THE SMALL ENTERPRISE EDU AND PROMOTION NETWORK INC
1611 N Kent Street Suite 610ArlingtonVA22209133840611501(C)3$938,139FINANCIAL INCLUSION
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA BERKELEY
356 STEPHENS HALLBERKELEYCA947202314943067788501(C)3$4,055,996YOUTH LEARNING
UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA
200 OAK STREET SEMINNEAPOLISMN55455416007513other$546,128Youth Learning
BRIDGE2RWANDA INC
1818 N TAYLOR STREETLittle RockAZ72207261205347501(c)3$249,942youth learning
DALBERG CONSULTING - US LLC
1 FARRAGUT SQUARE SOUTH SUITE 3001634 EYE STREET NWWASHINGTONDC20006other$248,725YOUTH LEARNING & financial inclusion
EDUCATION DEVELOPMENT CENTER INC
43 foundry avenuewalthamMA02453042241718501(c)3$2,868,681Youth Learning
PACT INSTITUTE INC
1828 L STREET NW SUITE 300WASHINGTONDC20036522131854501(c)3$50,000FINANCIAL INCLUSION
SHINING HOPE FOR COMMUNITIES INC
175 VARICK ST 6TH FLOORNEW YORKNY10014271493201501(c)3$247,848Youth Learning
THE FOUNDATION CENTER
79TH FIFTH AVENEW YORKNY10003131837418501(c)3$250,000Youth Learning
VILCAP INC
2200 CENTURY PARKWAY 100ATLANTAGA30345274059343501(c)3$249,998FInancial Inclusion
root capital inc
955 MASSACHUSETTS AVE 5TH FLOORCAMBRIDGEMA02139043478123501(c)3$1,040,065financial inclusion
Indego Africa Project
51 W 52nd StreetNew YorkNY10019205874831501(c)3$160,000Youth Learning
Howard University
2400 Sixth Street NWWashintgonDC20059530204707501(c)3$10,000Financial Inclusion & Youth Learning
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes AvePittsburghPA15213250969449501(c)3$469,323Youth Learning
Harvard University Office for Sponsored Programs
1350 Massachusets Ave Suite 600CambridgeMA02138042103580501(c)3$312,773Financial Inclusion & Youth Learning
The Global Development Incubator Inc
1634 Eye Street NWSuite 300WashingtonDC20006141945286501(c)3$956,840Finanicial Inclusion
Educate
PO Box 12302DenverCO80212841648407501(c)3$245,000Youth Learning
Cooperative Housing Foundation
8601 Georgia AveSuite 800Silver SpringMD20910520846183501(c)3$3,667,478Youth Learning
COOPERATIVE LEAGUE OF THE USA
1401 New York Ave NWSuite 1100WashingtonDC20005362007481501(c)3$2,073,769Youth Learning
Mercy Corps
45 SW Ankeny StreetPortlandOR97204911148123501(c)3$4,384,607Financial Inclusion
Firelight Foundation
740 Front streetSuite 380Santa CruzCA95060272795006501(c)3$67,500Youth Learning
Social Impact Inc
2300 Clarendon BouleardWuite 1000ArlingtonVA22201Other$64,000Youth Learning
African Center for Ecoomic Transformation
1776 K Street NWSuite 200WashingtonDC20006113803281501(c)3$249,992Youth Learning
aKoma Media LLC
780 third avenue 7th floorNew yorkNY10017Other$249,131Youth Learning
American Near East Refugee Aid
1111 14th st nw suite 400WASHINGTONDCWA20005501(c)3$50,000YOUTH LEARNING
BILL HILLARY AND CHELSEA CLINTON FOUNDATION
1271 AVENUE OF THE AMERICAS42ND FLOORNEW YORKNY10020311580204501(C)3$250,000yOUTH LEARNING
Heifer Project International
1112 16th st NWSUITE 520WASHINGTONDC20036351019477501(c)3$2,737,882Youth Learning
Innovations for Poverty Action
101 whitney avenew havenCT06510061660068501(c)3$225,000Youth Learning
KIVA Microfunds
kivaorg 875 howard st ste 340San FranciscoCA94103710992446501(c)3$1,641,593Financial Inclusion
Plan International Inc
155 plan wayPO BOX 7670WARWICKRI02887510169168501(c)3$250,000Youth learning
Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors INC
6 west 48th street10th floorNew YorkNY10036133615533501(c)3$457,746Financial Inclusion
Samasource INC
2017 Mission Street Suite 301 76suite 300san FranciscoCA94110262547062501(c)3$1,300,052Youth Learning
The Batonga Foundation
2000 Massachusetts Ave NWWashingtonDC20036205927387501(c)3$249,890Youth Learning
The Malala Fund
9121 florida avenue NWsuite 53347washingtonDC20009811397590501(c)3$250,000Youth Learning
The Resolution Project
1120 avenue of the americas4th floorNew YorkNY10036264394051501(c)3$158,822Youth Learning
West African Research Association Inc
Boston UniversityAfrican Studies Center 232 Bay staBostonMA02215521690509501(c)3$15,000Youth learning
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org56Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org10TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE FOUNDATION USES RISK CRITERIA AND TOOLS TO GUIDE THE APPROVAL OF PROJECTS THAT ARE CONSISTENT WITH THE FOUNDATION'S MANDATE AND TO MONITOR THE USE OF PROJECT FUNDS. THE FOUNDATION'S PROJECT AND PARTNER SELECTION AS WELL AS MANAGEMENT PROCESS INCLUDES SEVERAL STEPS, BEGINNING WITH AN INVITATION FOR POTENTIAL PARTNERS TO SUBMIT A PROJECT NOTE AND HIGH-LEVEL BUDGET TO INITIATE DISCUSSIONS ON THE SCOPE OF THE PROJECT. THIS STAGE ALSO INCLUDES THE COMPLETION OF AN ORGANIZATIONAL QUESTIONNAIRE, WHICH PROVIDES INFORMATION ON THE APPLICANT ORGANIZATION'S MISSION AND GOALS, AS WELL AS THE APPLICANT'S GOVERNANCE POLICIES, GOVERNMENT FILINGS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OR ANNUAL REPORTS. TO COMPLY WITH ANTI-TERRORISM LEGISLATION, THE FOUNDATION SCRUTINIZES THE APPLICANT ORGANIZATION, ITS BOARD MEMBERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES AGAINST BOTH SUBSCRIBED AND PUBLISHED ANTI-TERRORISM WATCH LISTS. IF THE FOUNDATION DETERMINES THAT A PROJECT SHOULD MOVE FORWARD, THE FOUNDATION WILL INVITE THE APPLICANT TO COMPLETE A PROPOSAL AND DETAILED BUDGET. DURING THIS PROPOSAL DEVELOPMENT STAGE, THE FOUNDATION CONDUCTS FURTHER DUE DILIGENCE PROCEDURES. THIS MAY INCLUDE ENGAGING A THIRD PARTY TO REVIEW THE APPLICANT ORGANIZATION TO CONFIRM ITS TRACK RECORD AND CAPACITY TO UNDERTAKE AND REPORT ON THE PROJECT. THE FOUNDATION MAY ALSO CONDUCT AN ON-SITE DUE DILIGENCE VISIT TO MEET WITH THE APPLICANT ORGANIZATION'S STAFF AND OTHER STAKEHOLDERS. ONCE THE APPLICANT SUBMITS THE PROPOSAL AND BUDGET, THE FOUNDATION WILL CONDUCT AN ANALYSIS OF THE BUDGET, TESTING BUDGET ASSUMPTIONS FOR REASONABLENESS. THE FOUNDATION MAY ALSO SEEK THIRD PARTY REVIEW OF THE PROPOSAL TO VALIDATE THE PROJECT DESIGN. AFTER THE PROPOSAL DEVELOPMENT AND DUE DILIGENCE STAGE, LOW-RISK PROJECTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE PRESIDENT/CEO FOR APPROVAL. ALL OTHER PROJECTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR APPROVAL. ONCE APPROVED, A CONTRACT BETWEEN THE PARTIES IS EXECUTED AND PAYMENTS ARE ISSUED BASED ON PERFORMANCE. THROUGH THE LIFECYCLE OF THE PROJECT, THE FOUNDATION ASSESSES WHETHER THE ORGANIZATION IS CARRYING OUT ACTIVITIES CONSISTENT WITH THE PURPOSES FOR WHICH THE FUNDS WERE APPROVED. THIS IS DONE BY USING FINANCIAL AND NARRATIVE REPORTING FROM THE ORGANIZATION, AND WHERE APPLICABLE ON-SITE PROJECT VISITS, MEETINGS WITH THE ORGANIZATION AS WELL AS THIRD PARTY REVIEWS AND REPORTS. AN ASSESSMENT OF COMPLIANCE WITH ANTI-TERRORISM LEGISLATION AND OTHER DUE DILIGENCE PROCEDURES ARE DONE ON AN ANNUAL BASIS FOR MULTI-YEAR PROJECTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
TONI TIEMENS
DEPUTY DIRECTOR, COMMUNICATION$131,430$7,700$7,085$9,204$155,419
REETA ROY
PRESIDENT/CEO$600,000$169,500$12,604$8,227$790,331-$169,500
ANN MILES
DIRECTOR, FINANCIAL INCLUSION$291,976$9,573$37,605$339,154
PETER MATERU
DIRECTOR, EDU LEARNING & YOUTH$207,002$36,950$11,575$34,487$290,014
PEGGY WOO
CFO$164,638$26,797$4,867$196,302
LINDSAY WALLACE
DIRECTOR, LEARNING & STRATEGY$147,863$8,374$9,203$165,440
JAMES COOKE
DIRECTOR, FINANCE & ACCOUNTING$144,579$7,789$9,197$161,565

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, LINE 1 - SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATIONThe MasterCard Foundation has a travel policy which allows members of the Board of Directors to travel first class. STAFF: ALL AIR TRAVEL MUST BE BY COACH CLASS AT THE BEST POSSIBLE FARE AVAILABLE for North America travel. For travel outside North America staff may travel in Premium Economy. ANY EXCEPTIONS TO THE FOREGOING MUST RECEIVE PRIOR WRITTEN AUTHORIZATION BY THE PRESIDENT/CEO. PRESIDENT/CEO: ALL AIR TRAVEL WITHIN NORTH AMERICA MUST BE BY COACH CLASS AT THE BEST POSSIBLE FARE AVAILABLE. Any travel outside of North America can BE BY BUSINESS CLASS. These payments are not reported on Canada's equivalent of the form W-2.
Schedule J Question 7In 2016, MasterCard Foundation paid a bonus to its CEO. The amount is fixed based on a formula provided in her employment contract.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART VI LINE 7BTHE BYLAWS OF THE FOUNDATION STATE THAT NOMINATIONS OF QUALIFIED CANDIDATES TO BE ELECTED AS DIRECTORS OF THE BOARD OF THE FOUNDATION SHALL BE MADE BY THE BOARD OF THE FOUNDATION, UPON CONSULTATION WITH, BUT NOT UNDER THE CONTROL OR DIRECTION OF MASTERCARD INCORPORATED. MOREOVER, THE BYLAWS STATE THAT DIRECTORS OF THE FOUNDATION SHALL BE REQUIRED TO SATISFY THE QUALIFICATIONS OUTLINED IN THE BYLAWS, AS DETERMINED BY A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FOUNDATION AND A MAJORITY OF THE VOTES CAST AT A PROPERLY CONSTITUTED MEETING OF THE NOMINATING AND CORPORATE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF MASTERCARD INCORPORATED. AMENDING CERTAIN SECTIONS OF THE FOUNDATION'S BYLAWS ALSO REQUIRES APPROVAL BY MASTERCARD, INCORPORATED.
PART VI LINE 11THE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY DELOITTE LLP ("DELOITTE"), BASED ON THE INFORMATION PROVIDED BY THE FOUNDATION'S STAFF. THE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY FOUNDATION'S STAFF. PRIOR TO FILING, THE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO EACH MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. DELOITTE SIGNS AS PREPARER AND THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER SIGNS ON BEHALF OF THE FOUNDATION.
PART VI LINE 12CFOUNDATION OFFICERS MUST COMPLY WITH THE EMPLOYEE CODE OF CONDUCT WHICH REQUIRES AN INITIAL DISCLOSURE FORM BEFORE HIS OR HER INVOLVEMENT WITH ANY OPERATIONS OF THE FOUNDATION. THIS DISCLOSURE IDENTIFIES ANY RELATIONSHIPS, POSITIONS OR CIRCUMSTANCES IN WHICH THE INDIVIDUAL MAY BE INVOLVED THAT HE OR SHE BELIEVES COULD CAUSE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. THIS INITIAL DISCLOSURE MUST BE CONFIRMED ANNUALLY AND UPDATED WHENEVER SUBSTANTIAL CHANGES OCCUR. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE GOVERNED UNDER THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST PROVISIONS SET OUT IN THE FOUNDATION'S BYLAWS AND CODE OF CONDUCT FOR DIRECTORS. FOR BOTH OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS THE DISCLOSURE FORMS ARE REVIEWED AS THEY ARE SUBMITTED AND ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS ARE ADDRESSED. BOARD MEMBERS WITH A CONFLICT OF INTEREST DO NOT VOTE ON ANY MATTER RELATED TO THE ISSUE FOR WHICH THEY HAVE A CONFLICT, OR RESIGN FROM THE BOARD, AS APPLICABLE.
PART VI LINE 15A AND 15 BGovernance and Nominations Committee APPROVES COMPENSATION OF PRESIDENT/CEO AND CFO. PRESIDENT/CEO APPROVES COMPENSATION OF ALL EMPLOYEES. EXTERNAL CONSULTANTS ARE ENGAGED TO PREPARE COMPENSATION STRUCTURE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES USING COMPARATOR GROUPS AND MARKET DATA. THE FOUNDATION REVIEWS COMPENSATION PLANNING DATA PROVIDED BY EXTERNAL CONSULTANT FOR SALARY ADJUSTMENTS EVERY OTHER YEAR. IN ADDITION, EXTERNAL CONSULTANTS ARE ENGAGED TO PERFORM COMPETITIVE REVIEW OF COMPENSATION FOR THE POSITIONS OF PRESIDENT/CEO, CFO AND KEY EMPLOYEES AS REQUIRED.
PART VI LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC THROUGH THE FOUNDATION'S WEBSITE