STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

AVADIAN CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
AVADIAN CREDIT UNION (EIN 63-0207315)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-09-26
IRS object ID
201712699349301016
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-09-26T11:49:07-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN461498870PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BARFIELD MURPHY SHANK & SMITH LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11121 RIVERCHASE OFFICE RDAddressLine1Txt
CityBIRMINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35244ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN630207315EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AVADIAN CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlAVADBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2059852836PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1ONE RIVERCHASE PARKWAY SOUTHAddressLine1Txt
CityBIRMINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35244ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonLINDA CENCULAPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2059852836PhoneNum
Signature2017-08-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCYNTHIA A HUDSON CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00029332PTIN
Phone2059825500PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address74.254.230.2IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-08-15IPDt
IP Tm11:24:02IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id5915DC5327FA1F89BA31A0B26DFC079BDC351E39AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id046B2781A3BA27AB369A0AC458135EF3F88C931EAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerLINDA CENCULAPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1ONE RIVERCHASE PARKWAY SOUTHAddressLine1Txt
CityBIRMINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35244ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$47,732,352GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.AVADIANCU.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1934FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateALLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE THRIFT OPPORTUNITIES AND LOW COST LOANS TO MEMBERSActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent13VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee283TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers15TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$72,259TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$20,059,069PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$23,221,331CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,713,792PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,446,461CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$10,275,355PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$13,440,461CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$33,048,216PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$39,108,253CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$40,450PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$38,241CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$11,544,459PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,919,328CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$18,029,763PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$21,855,284CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$29,614,672PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$35,812,853CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,433,544PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,295,400CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$618,353,010TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$730,885,581TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$549,748,133TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$660,524,895TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$68,604,877NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$70,360,686NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE THRIFT OPPORTUNITIES AND LOW COST LOANS TO MEMBERS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Desc78,642 MEMBERS SERVED TO PROMOTE THRIFT OPPORTUNITIES AND LOW COST LOANSDesc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document15138IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee283EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member13IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LAURIE SHOOKBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2059852836PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1ONE RIVERCHASE PARKWAY SOUTHAddressLine1Txt
CityBIRMINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35244ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
GARY CANNADY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEITH MILLING
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JIM GUNN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NANCY MORGAN
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENNIS DEARING
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW AUSTIN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELBERT BALCH
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEBORAH GIVEN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TANDY KEY
DIRECTOR- PART YEAR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROLAND COBURN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LOWELL BRYANT
DIRECTOR- PART YEAR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TERRY DAVIS
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CALVIN NELSON
CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LINDA RUETHEMANN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT KIRKLAND
VICE CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LINDA CENCULA
CEO48.00$323,553$0$58,783Yes (X)
WILLIAM R CHANCELLOR
SR VP LENDING & COLLECTION48.00$169,253$0$34,644Yes (X)
KIM MURDOCH
SR VP OPERATIONS48.00$155,265$0$44,201Yes (X)
LAURIE SHOOK
SR VP CONTROLLER48.00$146,932$0$60,013Yes (X)
STANTON DAVIS
VP MARKETING48.00$139,861$0$21,632Yes (X)
PARKER STEELE
VP/LEGAL COUNSEL48.00$148,063$0$31,135Yes (X)
ALPESH PATEL
VP INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY48.00$125,194$0$22,571Yes (X)
STEVEN THRASHER
AVP/MORTGAGE LENDING48.00$119,054$0$15,105Yes (X)
JAMES DISMUKES
AFS PROGRAM MANAGER48.00$135,102$0$36,208Yes (X)
THOMAS TRIPLETT
COMPLIANCE MANAGER48.00$103,634$0$14,940Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,565,911TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$339,232TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
FITZMARTIN INC
2917 CENTRAL AVENUE SUITE 210HOMEWOODAL35209ADVERTISING CONSULTANT$494,797
JACK HENRY & ASSOCIATES INC
PO BOX 609MONETTMO65708DATA PROCESSOR$416,572
CAROUSEL INDUSTRIES OF NA
PO BOX 842084BOSTONMA022842084CYBER SECURITY$230,980
LENDING SOLUTIONS INC
2200 POINT BLVDELGINIL60123CALL CENTER SERVICES$200,293
VERNON C BICE JR
5713 MACON DR SEHUNTSVILLEAL35802MANAGEMENT CONSULTING$190,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K16CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescLOAN INTEREST INCOMEDesc
Business522130BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$23,221,331TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$23,221,331RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$23,221,331TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,657,030TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,657,030ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$88,093TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$88,093ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$81,985RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$8,582RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$73,403RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$73,403TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$73,403ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,509,910SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,895,038OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,423,794SecuritiesAmt
Other$2,191,723OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$86,116SecuritiesAmt
Other-$296,685OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$210,569TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$210,569ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
OTHER ACCOUNT FEES522130$5,201,816$5,201,816
NSF AND CHECK FEES522130$4,230,557$4,230,557
CREDIT CARD FEES522130$3,175,833$3,175,833

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$670,759TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$598,500RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$72,259UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$13,278,965OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$39,108,253TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$36,428,037RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$72,259UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,607,957ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,241TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,481,103TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,320,641TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$894,550TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,532,451TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$690,583TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$193,890TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$227,337TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$78,517TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,790,896TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,406,224TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,703,506TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,185,129TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$288,387TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,934TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,212,284TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,276,223TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$220,348TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
BAD DEBTS$3,329,870
CHECK AND LOAN SERVICIN$1,983,302
OTHER OPERATING EXPENSE$1,796,981
CONTRACT LABOR$403,493

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$727,963TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,812,853TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,116,547BOYAmt
EOY$12,467,430EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,188,896BOYAmt
EOY$50,405,706EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$396,440,848BOYAmt
EOY$479,583,425EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,460,664BOYAmt
EOY$7,783,473EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$45,072,585LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$10,884,114LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,410,318BOYAmt
EOY$34,188,471EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$131,863,098BOYAmt
EOY$133,176,276EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$350,000BOYAmt
EOY$395,180EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$190,753BOYAmt
EOY$163,502EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,331,886BOYAmt
EOY$12,722,118EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$618,353,010BOYAmt
EOY$730,885,581EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,075,490BOYAmt
EOY$1,432,971EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$8,600,699EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$547,672,643BOYAmt
EOY$650,491,225EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$549,748,133BOYAmt
EOY$660,524,895EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$68,604,877BOYAmt
EOY$70,360,686EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$68,604,877BOYAmt
EOY$70,360,686EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$618,353,010BOYAmt
EOY$730,885,581EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,295,400ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$331,696NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$1,207,895OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$3,861,179InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,552,929OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$12,414,108BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$22,069,836OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,113,155DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,956,681BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$450,291OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$431,859DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,432BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,138,350OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,339,100DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,799,250BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$34,188,471TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCRUED BENEFITS$1,946,048
MEMBER DEPOSITS$648,545,177
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$650,491,225TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$39,413,520TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$39,413,520RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$305,267OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$305,267RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$39,108,253TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$36,118,120TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$36,118,120ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included-$305,267OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt-$305,267ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$35,812,853TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT BY STATUTE FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES EXCEPT FOR CERTAIN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES FOR WHICH THE NET TAXABLE INCOME IS SUBJECT TO INCOME TAXES UNDER THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX (UBIT) REGULATIONS. TAX POSITIONS INITIALLY NEED TO BE RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS WHEN IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT THE POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE TAX AUTHORITIES. AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2016 AND 2015, THE CREDIT UNION HAD NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS BASED ON AN ASSESSMENT OF MANY FACTORS INCLUDING EXPERIENCE AND INTERPRETATIONS OF TAX LAWS APPLIED TO THE FACTS OF EACH MATTER FOR ALL OPEN TAX YEARS.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:OTHER LOSSES NETTED WITH EXPENSES -192,005. RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST INCOME -8,582. OTHER LOSSES ON DISPOSED ASSETS NETTED WITH EXPENSES -104,680.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSE NETTED AGAINST INCOME -8,582. OTHER LOSSES ON DISPOSED ASSETS NETTED WITH EXPENSES -104,680. OTHER LOSSES NETTED WITH EXPENSES -192,005.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
UNITED WAY OF CENTRAL ALABAMA INC
PO BOX 320189BIRMINGHAMAL35232630288846501(C)(3)$22,812GENERAL SUPPORT
MAGIC MOMENTS INC
2112 11TH AVENUE SOUTH SUITE 219BIRMINGHAMAL35205630887875501(C)(3)$11,429GENERAL SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION ENSURES PROPER USE OF CONTRIBUTED FUNDS BY ONLY CONTRIBUTING TO QUALIFIED 501(C)(3) ORGANIZATIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
LINDA CENCULA
CEO$301,428$0$22,125$0$0$0$49,608$0$9,175$0$382,336$0$0$0
WILLIAM R CHANCELLOR
SR VP LENDING & COLLECTION$158,430$0$10,823$0$0$0$25,595$0$9,049$0$203,897$0$0$0
KIM MURDOCH
SR VP OPERATIONS$145,105$0$10,160$0$0$0$30,800$0$13,401$0$199,466$0$0$0
LAURIE SHOOK
SR VP CONTROLLER$139,010$0$7,922$0$0$0$49,274$0$10,739$0$206,945$0$0$0
STANTON DAVIS
VP MARKETING$131,726$0$8,135$0$0$0$12,846$0$8,786$0$161,493$0$0$0
PARKER STEELE
VP/LEGAL COUNSEL$140,097$0$7,966$0$0$0$17,793$0$13,342$0$179,198$0$0$0
JAMES DISMUKES
AFS PROGRAM MANAGER$95,494$0$39,608$0$0$0$23,389$0$12,819$0$171,310$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6AVADIAN CREDIT UNION IS A NON-PROFIT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION THAT IS OWNED AND OPERATED BY ITS MEMBERS. IN ORDER TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THE CREDIT UNION, AN INDIVIDUAL CAN MEET ANY OF THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS BELOW: -IF YOU LIVE, WORK, WORSHIP OR ATTEND SCHOOL IN THE FOLLOWING COUNTIES: AUTAUGA, BALDWIN, BLOUNT, CALHOUN, CHEROKEE, COFFEE, COLBERT, CULLMAN, DALLAS, DEKALB, ELMORE, ETOWAH, GENEVA, HOUSTON, JACKSON, JEFFERSON, LAUDERDALE, LAWRENCE, LEE, LIMESTONE, MADISON, MARION, MARSHALL, MOBILE, MONTGOMERY, MORGAN, PIKE, RANDOLPH, SHELBY, ST. CLAIR, TALLADEGA, TUSCALOOSA, WALKER, OR WINSTON. -IF YOU ARE AN EMPLOYEE OF AN AVADIAN SELECT EMPLOYEE GROUP. -IF YOU ARE RELATED BY BLOOD OR MARRIAGE TO MEMBERS OF AVADIAN CREDIT UNION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION ELECT BOARD MEMBERS AT THEIR ANNUAL MEETING. ANY OPEN POSITIONS ON THE BOARD ARE FILLED AT THIS TIME. IN ORDER FOR A BOARD MEMBER TO BE ELECTED A QUORUM MUST BE PRESENT AT THE MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BBYLAW CHANGES ARE VOTED ON BY MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BUPON COMPLETION OF THE CREDIT UNION'S FORM 990, THE RETURN IS PRESENTED TO THE BOARD AT A BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING. AT THE MEETING, THE BOARD MEMBERS REVIEW THE TAX RETURN AND ARE FREE TO ASK ANY QUESTIONS OR ENGAGE IN DISCUSSION REGARDING ANY TOPIC COVERED IN THE RETURN. ONCE THE GOVERNING BODY HAS REVIEWED AND APPROVED THE FORM 990, THE RETURN IS FILED WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS MONITORED THROUGH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE PERSONNEL POLICY FOR EMPLOYEES. THIS POLICY REQUIRES THAT ANY CONFLICT OF INTEREST OR POTENTIAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST BE REPORTED IN WRITING TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE CREDIT UNION WHETHER THE CONFLICT ARISES FROM ACTIONS OF AN EMPLOYEE, DIRECTOR OR OFFICIAL OF THE CREDIT UNION OR FROM A FAMILY MEMBER OF ANY EMPLOYEE, DIRECTOR OR OFFICIAL OF THE CREDIT UNION. BOARD AND COMMITTEE MEMBERS MUST COMPLETE AN ANNUAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEW THE CEO'S SALARY ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. THE BOARD REVIEWS THE PERFORMANCE OF THE CEO WHILE TAKING INTO ACCOUNT THE OVERALL PERFORMANCE OF THE CREDIT UNION. ADDITIONALLY, THE BOARD USES "CUES" COMPENSATION SURVEYS IN CONJUNCTION WITH COMPEASE DATA, WHICH PROVIDES INDEPENDENT COMPARABLE SALARY DATA FOR THE DELIBERATION AND DECISION MAKING PROCESS. COMPENSATION FOR OTHER OFFICERS, KEY EMPLOYEES & MANAGEMENT OFFICIALS IS DETERMINED ON A YEARLY BASIS BY THE CEO. THE CEO USES SIMILAR SALARY SURVEY DATA WHILE TAKING INTO CONSIDERATION THE TYPE OF WORK PERFORMED, SUPERVISOR PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS, AND THE OVERALL PERFORMANCE OF THE CREDIT UNION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE CREDIT UNION MAKES AVAILABLE ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS VIA THE NCUA WEBSITE WHICH CAN BE FOUND AT WWW.NCUA.GOV. OTHER DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PENSION ADJUSTMENT -1,207,895.
PART XII, LINE 2CNO CHANGES HAVE OCCURRED IN THE PROCESS FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.
SECTION 1.263(A)-1(F) DE MINIMIS SAFE HARBOR ELECTIONAVADIAN CREDIT UNION ONE RIVERCHASE PARKWAY SOUTH BIRMINGHAM, AL 35244 EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: 63-0207315 FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2016 AVADIAN CREDIT UNION IS MAKING THE DE MINIMIS SAFE HARBOR ELECTION UNDER REG. SEC. 1.263(A)-1(F).
SECTION 1.263(A)-3(N) ELECTIONAVADIAN CREDIT UNION ONE RIVERCHASE PARKWAY SOUTH BIRMINGHAM, AL 35244 EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: 63-0207315 FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2016 AVADIAN CREDIT UNION IS MAKING THE ELECTION TO CAPITALIZE REPAIR AND MAINTENANCE COSTS UNDER REG. SEC. 1.263(A)-3(N).