STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

KAPPA KAPPA GAMMA FRATERNITY INC: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
KAPPA KAPPA GAMMA FRATERNITY INC (EIN 31-4221880)
Tax period
2015-07-01 to 2016-06-30
Filed
2017-03-22
IRS object ID
201720819349300247
Schema version
2015v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-03-22T18:00:06-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN350921680PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CROWE HORWATH LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line110 West Broad StreetAddressLine1Txt
Address Line2Suite 1700AddressLine2Txt
CityColumbusCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP432153713ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN314221880EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Kappa Kappa Gamma FraternityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlKAPPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6142286515PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1530 E Town StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityColumbusCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43215ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKari KittrellPersonNm
Person TitleExecutive DirectorPersonTitleTxt
Signature2017-03-22SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonRachel SpurlockPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00520729PTIN
Phone6144690001PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Kari KittrellBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1530 E Town StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityColumbusCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43215ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$8,723,039GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.kappakappagamma.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1870FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionKappa Kappa Gamma is an organization of women, which seeks for every member throughout her life bonds of friendship, mutual support, opportunities for self-growth, respect for intellectual development, and an understanding of and an allegiance to positive ethical principles.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee76TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers165TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$752,309TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$416,362PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$719,433CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$4,633,295PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$5,671,696CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$199,354PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$57,784CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$901,604PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$917,878CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$6,150,615PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$7,366,791CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$8,032PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$5,038CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,955,743PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,818,398CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,474,047PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$5,232,373CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$5,437,822PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$7,055,809CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$712,793PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$310,982CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$11,155,131TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$11,700,439TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,419,669TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$2,092,052TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$9,735,462NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$9,608,387NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionFounded in 1870, Kappa Kappa Gamma is one of the oldest women's fraternities. The Fraternity has a total membership of more than 260,000 women, with 141 collegiate chapters in the United States and Canada and 285 alumnae associations worldwide. Kappa Kappa Gamma Fraternity is an organization of women, which seeks for every member throughout her life bonds of friendship, mutual support, opportunities for self-growth, respect for intellectual development, and understanding of and an allegiance to positive ethical principles.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescMEMBER SERVICES: PROVIDES FUNDS FOR EXTENSION, SPECIAL TASK FORCES, SPECIFIC AREAS OF CHAPTER AND ALUMNAE ASSISTANCE, AND FOR THE EXPENSES OF FRATERNITY COUNCIL AND OTHER VOLUNTEER COMMITTEES. THERE ARE 139 ACTIVE COLLEGIATE CHAPTERS AS WELL AS 253 ACTIVE ALUMNAE ASSOCIATIONS WITH OVER 266,000 MEMBERS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCOMMUNICATION: PROVIDES FUNDS TO PUBLISH THE KEY, WHICH IS THE OFFICIAL MAGAZINE OF THE FRATERNITY. THE KEY IS THE MAIN SOURCE OF COMMUNICATION TO THE MEMBERS OF KAPPA KAPPA GAMMA FRATERNITY AND IT HIGHLIGHTS ALL OF THE AVAILABLE PROGRAMS. PROVIDES FUNDS FOR THE WWW.KAPPAKAPPAGAMMA.ORG WEBSITE AND ALL MANNERS OF COMMUNICATION.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescLEADERSHIP, EDUCATIONAL AND TRAINING CONFERENCE/CONVENTIONS: PROVIDES FUNDS FOR THE CONTINUATION OF COLLEGIATE AND ALUMNAE EDUCATION AND TRAINING. ALSO PROVIDES FUNDS FOR LEADERSHIP AND TRAINING CONFERENCES. THE PURPOSE OF THE CONVENTION AND LEADERSHIP AND TRAINING CONFERENCE IS TO CONSIDER REPORTS, PROVIDE LEADERSHIP TRAINING AND TO TRANSACT SUCH BUSINESS AS MAY BE BROUGHT BEFORE IT.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$0TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (true)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredfalseScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document21IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee76EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Initiation Fees And Cap Contri$1,180,985InitiationFeesAndCapContriAmt
Gross Receipts For Public Use$0GrossReceiptsForPublicUseAmt
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HEATHER ROOTBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6142286515PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1530 EAST TOWN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityColumbusCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43215ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
No Listed Persons CompensatedYes (X)NoListedPersonsCompensatedInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Beth Uphoff Black
President10.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elizabeth Bailey
Vice President10.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nancy Eyermann Foland
Treasurer10.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Suzanne Dalton
Board Member10.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Collett Beers Rangitsch
Board Member10.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kimberly Connell
Board Member10.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gail Owen
Board Member10.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan Pile
Board Member10.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kari Kittrell
Executive Director40.0Yes (X)$104,034$0$14,681
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$104,034TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$14,681TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KfalseTotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Watkins Printing Company
1401 East 17th AveColumbusOH43211Printing$272,472
Vorys Sater Seymour and Pease
PO Box 73487ClevelandOH44193Legal$123,926
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd
Related Organizations$719,433RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Total Contributions$719,433TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Membership Dues900099$3,306,385$3,306,385
Registration Fees900099$1,279,562$1,279,562
Insurance Fees from Members524296$1,054,110$1,054,110
Rent from Related Party531390$30,515$30,515
Interest on Notes Receivable900001$1,124$1,124

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$5,671,696TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$245,200TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$245,200UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$690,487TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$690,487UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,137,361SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,323,769SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,008OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$186,408SecuritiesAmt
Other-$1,008OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$187,416TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$187,416UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$20,714GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$31,471CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$10,757TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$10,757RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Related Party Cost Based Reimbursement900099$222,113$222,113
Subscriptions511120$4,038$4,038
Advertising Income541800$6,400$6,400

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,597TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$5,597RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$238,148OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,366,791TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$5,895,049RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$752,309UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,038TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$118,895TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,401,133TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,002TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$94,874TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$118,494TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$164,426TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,050TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,237TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,328TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$369,732TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$143,756TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,562TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$179,795TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$886,322TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
FRATERNITY EDUCATION AND CONFERENCES$2,126,825
CHAPTER AND ALUMAE ASSISTANCE$661,932
KEY PRINTING AND PUBLICATION$268,155
COLONIZATION AND INSTALLATION$156,538

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$68,715TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,055,809TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$175,992BOYAmt
EOY$265,673EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$880,986BOYAmt
EOY$1,222,080EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$173,545BOYAmt
EOY$266,316EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,907BOYAmt
EOY$31,382EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$224,510BOYAmt
EOY$228,184EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$4,027,268LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$2,987,336LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$946,208BOYAmt
EOY$1,039,932EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,441,274BOYAmt
EOY$6,722,116EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,139,610BOYAmt
EOY$1,211,005EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,099BOYAmt
EOY$713,751EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,155,131BOYAmt
EOY$11,700,439EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$901,334BOYAmt
EOY$1,706,044EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$237,646BOYAmt
EOY$50,403EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$216,635BOYAmt
EOY$301,009EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,054BOYAmt
EOY$34,596EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,419,669BOYAmt
EOY$2,092,052EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,735,462BOYAmt
EOY$9,608,387EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,735,462BOYAmt
EOY$9,608,387EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,155,131BOYAmt
EOY$11,700,439EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$310,982ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$438,057NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee EtcfalseAgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (true)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,701,071BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,250ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$263,518InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$201,779GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$6,254AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$5,231,770EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,810,174BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$350ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$83,473InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$186,566GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$6,360AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$5,701,071EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,231,015BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions-$634ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$777,291InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$191,785GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$5,713AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$5,810,174EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,105,010BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,737ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$468,151InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$179,860GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$167,468OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$5,555AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$5,231,015EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,274,983BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$13,670ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$166,728InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$172,437GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$161,063OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$5,541AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$5,105,010EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.0BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.9782PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.0218TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (true)RelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$82,229OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$82,229BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,112,050OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,582,158DepreciationAmt
Book Value$529,892BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,832,989OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,405,178DepreciationAmt
Book Value$427,811BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,039,932TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
FUND OF FUNDS$742,646F
HEDGE FUND LTD PARTNERSHIP$300,922F
US GOVERNEMENT AGENCY OBLIGATIONS$15,000F
CORPORATE BONDS$152,437F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$1,211,005TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Interest Receivable$6,390
Due from Kappa Kappa Gamma Foundation$707,361
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$713,751TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDue To Kappa Kappa Gamma FoundationDesc
Amt$34,596Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$34,596TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$6,708,855TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$438,057NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$31,471OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$406,586RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$7,115,441RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$29,237InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$222,113OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$251,350RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$7,366,791TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$6,835,930TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$31,471OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$31,471ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$6,804,459ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$29,237InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$222,113OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$251,350ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$7,055,809TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part IV, Line 2b Explanation of escrow agreementKappa Kappa Gamma Fraternity holds assets for certain alumnae associations and chapter house corporations that do not have active house boards. The funds have been transferred to be held for the use of those chapters.
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4 Intended uses of endowment fundsKappa Kappa Gamma Foundation, a related organization, maintains and administers endowments that are used for the Leadership Academy for the Kappa Kappa Gamma Fraternity. The funds are raised and granted by the Kappa Kappa Gamma Foundation. The Kappa Kappa Gamma Fraternity must apply for the grants before receiving the funds.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteThe Fraternity is organized as a not-for-profit corporation, and has obtained exemption from federal income taxes under Section 501(c)(7) of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code. Income from certain activities, not directly related to its tax-exempt purpose, is subject to federal income taxes. Net investment income is also subject to income taxes, except to the extent such income is set aside and utilized for tax-exempt purposes. Guidance issued by the FASB requires the Fraternity to recognize a tax liability only if it is more-likely-than-not the tax position would be sustained in a tax examination, with a tax examination being presumed to occur. The amount recognized is the largest amount of tax liability that is greater than 50% likely of being realized on examination. For tax positions not meeting the more-likely-than-not test, no tax liability is recorded. The Fraternity has examined this issue and has determined there are no material contingent tax liabilities or questionable tax positions. The Fraternity does not expect the total amount of uncertain tax positions to significantly change in the next 12 months. The Fraternity recognizes interest and/or penalties related to income tax matters in income tax expense. The Fraternity did not have any amounts accrued for interest and penalties at June 30, 2016 and 2015.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2(d) Other revenues in audited financial statements not in form 990COST OF GOODS SOLD - 31471
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4(b) Other revenues in form 990 not in audited financial statementsCOST BASED REIMBURSEMENT - 222113
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 2(d) Other expenses in audited financial statements not in form 990COST OF GOODS SOLD - 31471
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statementsCOST BASED REIMBURSEMENT - 222113

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Kappa Kappa Gamma FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 38AddressLine1Txt
CityColumbusCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP432160038ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN316049792RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$5,038CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantFINANCIAL AID TO THOSE IN NEEDPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds.FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Fraternity contributes net income from the Rose McGill Magazine program to the Kappa Kappa Gamma Foundation in support of the Foundation's exempt purpose. Grant documentation maintained by the Fraternity ensures funds are used for their intended purpose.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S COMPENSATIONIN FY 2016, THE ORGANIZATION REVIEWED AND APPROVED THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S COMPENSATION. HOWEVER NO OUTSIDE STUDIES OR SURVEYS WERE UTILIZED.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b OFFICERS OR KEY EMPLOYEES COMPENSATIONTHE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT HAVE ANY OTHER OFFICERS OR KEY EMPLOYEES. THEREFORE, THIS QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO" PER THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 1a Delegate broad authority to a committeeArticle VI Fraternity Council: The administration of the affairs of the Fraternity shall be vested in the Trustees know as the Fraternity Council, who are elected officers of the Fraternity. In the interim between general Conventions, Fraternity business and property shall be managed by or under the direction of the Fraternity Council, except where the law, the Fraternity Articles of Incorporation, Bylaws or Standing Rules require that an action be authorized by the General Convention.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6 Classes of members or stockholdersThe Fraternity has a total membership of more than 260,000 women, with 141 collegiate chapters in the United States and Canada and 285 alumnae associations. The general convention nominates the members of the governing body for the Kappa Kappa Gamma Fraternity. General Convention is composed of the following voting members in good standing, entitled to one vote, and voting in person: 1. Fraternity Council 2. Regional Directors 3. Province Directors 4. Chairmen of Standing Committees 5. Retiring Leadership Consultants 6. One delegate from each chapter in good standing 7. One delegate from each alumnae association in good standing desiring representation. The alumnae associations shall each be entitled to one vote. Any action to amend the Fraternity Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws is subject to the approval of a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the general convention.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing bodySee narrative for Part VI, Section A, Line 6.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b Decisions requiring approval by members or stockholdersSee narrative for Part VI, Section A, Line 6.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyUpon completion of the tax return by an independent tax preparer, management performs a detailed review of the Form 990. The final Form 990 as filed with the IRS is then provided to every voting member of the Fraternity Council, which is the organizations governing body. The Fraternity Council reviews the Form 990 with the assistance of the independent tax preparer.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyThe Fraternity Council, Fraternity Finance Committee members, Managers and Officers review the conflict of interest policy annually. Each Council member, Finance Committee member, Manager and Officer indicates whether there are any conflicts and these conflicts are reviewed by the Council. If any conflicts exist, that individual does not participate in the decision involving the related party.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicThe governing documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements may be made available upon request and after Council approval.
Form 990, Part VIII, Line 11d Other Miscellaneous RevenueMISCELLANEOUS INCOME - Total Revenue: 5597, Related or Exempt Function Revenue: 5597, Unrelated Business Revenue: , Revenue Excluded from Tax Under Sections 512, 513, or 514: ;

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KAPPA KAPPA GAMMA FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 38AddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP432160038ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN316049792EIN
Primary ActivitiesEDUCATIONPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status7PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KAPPA KAPPA GAMMA FRATERNITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
KAPPA KAPPA GAMMA FOUNDATION
C$719,433COST
KAPPA KAPPA GAMMA FOUNDATION
Q$222,113COST