STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

OPEN DOOR COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTERS: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
OPEN DOOR COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTERS (EIN 95-2671433)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-04-29
IRS object ID
201721219349300957
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-04-29T12:30:00-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN472251777PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHW LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17797 N First Street Suite 15AddressLine1Txt
CityFresnoCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP93720ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN952671433EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Open Door Community Health CentersBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlOPENBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7078268633PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1670 Ninth Street Suite 203AddressLine1Txt
CityArcataCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95521ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJames BellaPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7078268633PhoneNum
Signature2017-04-17SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJeremy WarePreparerPersonNm
PTINP00642659PTIN
Phone5595495400PhoneNum
Preparation2017-04-15PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address96.67.208.101IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJames BellaPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1670 Ninth Street Suite 203AddressLine1Txt
CityArcataCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95521ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$65,629,322GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.opendoorhealth.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1971FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionOpen Door Community Health Centers (ODCHC) exists to provide primary health care - medical, dental and behavioral - and health care education to the residents of Del Norte and Humboldt Counties, California and surrounding rural areas, ODCHC operates 14 clinics and three mobile clinics. In 2016, ODCHC served 55,159 unique individuals, providing 269,015 provider/patient/encounters. Of its patients, 22% are known to live at or below 100% FPL and, cumulatively, 40% are known to live at or below 200% FPL; 5% are uninsured and 75% rely on some form of public insurance. ODCHC provides health care services to all who seek it regardless of the inability to pay.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee697TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$7,632,262PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$8,968,611CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$49,202,749PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$56,069,972CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$15,412PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$16,340CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$672,789PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$574,399CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$57,523,212PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$65,629,322CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$34,077,839PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$37,559,388CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$22,114,904PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$24,672,280CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$56,192,743PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$62,231,668CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,330,469PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,397,654CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$32,706,613TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$49,787,673TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$16,647,933TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$30,307,044TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$16,058,680NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$19,480,629NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionOpen Door Community Health Centers (ODCHC) exists to provide primary health care - medical, dental and behavioral - and health care education to the residents of Del Norte and Humboldt Counties, California and surrounding rural areas, ODCHC operates 14 clinics and three mobile clinics. In 2016, ODCHC served 55,159 unique individuals, providing 269,015 provider/patient/encounters. Of its patients, 22% are known to live at or below 100% FPL and, cumulatively, 40% are known to live at or below 200% FPL; 5% are uninsured and 75% rely on some form of public insurance. ODCHC provides health care services to all who seek it regardless of the inability to pay.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$52,295,420ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$50,665,058RevenueAmt
DescOpen Door Community Health Centers (ODCHC) exists to provide primary health care - medical, dental and behavioral - and health care education to the residents of Del Norte and Humboldt Counties, California and surrounding rural areas, ODCHC operates 14 clinics and three mobile clinics. In 2016, ODCHC served 55,159 unique individuals, providing 269,015 provider/patient/encounters. Of its patients, 22% are known to live at or below 100% FPL and, cumulatively, 40% are known to live at or below 200% FPL; 5% are uninsured and 75% rely on some form of public insurance. ODCHC provides health care services to all who seek it regardless of the inability to pay.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$52,295,420TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document59IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee697EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJames A Bella JrPersonNm
Phone7078268633PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1670 Ninth Street Number 203AddressLine1Txt
CityArcataCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95521ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Sydney Fisher Larson
President10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathleen E Moxon
Vice President10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Felicia Oldfather
Treasurer10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cyn Van Fleet
Secretary10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Zuretti Goosby
Board Member10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elizabeth Murguia
Board Member10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jim Pfingstel
Board Member10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Neal Sanders
Board Member10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lindsay Righter
Board Member10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Connie Stewart
Board Member10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alison Talbot
Board Member10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cheyenne Spetzler
COO400Yes (X)$208,958$0$0
Hermann Spetzler
CEO400$339,630$0$0Yes (X)
James A Bella
CFO400$215,755$0$0Yes (X)
Willard Hunter
Co- Medical Director400$278,247$0$0Yes (X)
Julie Ohnemus
Co-Medical Director400$238,814$0$0Yes (X)
Carter Wright
Dentist400$258,903$0$0Yes (X)
Jason Christensen
Physician400$238,588$0$0Yes (X)
Kelvin Vu
Physician400$263,528$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,042,423TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$0TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K56IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Barton Associates
PO Box 417844BostonMA02241Professional Recruiting$1,156,211
OCHIN Inc
707 SW Washington Street Suite 1200PortlandOR97205Software Support$1,396,350
CompHealth
35 Nutmeg DriveTrumbullCT06611Professional Recruiting$1,002,145
Above and Beyond Cleaning Services
1570 McCullen AvenueEurekaCA95503Janitorial$496,776
Pacific Builders
880 L StreetArcataCA95521Construction Services$329,036
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$8,894,451GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$74,160AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$67,015NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$8,968,611TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescNet patient service revenueDesc
Business621400BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$50,665,058TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$50,665,058RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,404,914TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$5,404,914RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$56,069,972TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,340TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$16,340ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMeaningful use and other incentivesDesc
Business621400BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$556,750TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$556,750RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$17,649TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$17,649RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$574,399OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$65,629,322TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$56,644,371RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$16,340ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,281,404TotalAmt
Program Services$517,061ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$764,343ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,143,016TotalAmt
Program Services$24,201,657ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,941,359ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$912,875TotalAmt
Program Services$759,371ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$153,504ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,977,824TotalAmt
Program Services$2,611,053ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,366,771ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,244,269TotalAmt
Program Services$1,823,764ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$420,505ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,668,874TotalAmt
Program Services$2,598,992ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$69,882ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,037TotalAmt
Program Services$35,463ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,574ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,264TotalAmt
Program Services$20,071ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,193ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,036,969TotalAmt
Program Services$4,015,976ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,993ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,022TotalAmt
Program Services$4,707ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,315ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$369,773TotalAmt
Program Services$265,952ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$103,821ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,335,030TotalAmt
Program Services$1,541,879ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$793,151ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,984,591TotalAmt
Program Services$2,416,344ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$568,247ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$342,126TotalAmt
Program Services$139,276ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$202,850ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$477,200TotalAmt
Program Services$453,638ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,562ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,728,252TotalAmt
Program Services$1,549,015ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$179,237ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$273,517TotalAmt
Program Services$219,399ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,118ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Supplies$8,688,622$8,574,219$114,403$0
Postage and shipping$118,707$107,594$11,113$0
Equipment$534,862$433,588$101,274$0

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,434TotalAmt
Program Services$6,401ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,033ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,231,668TotalAmt
Program Services$52,295,420ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,936,248ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,585BOYAmt
EOY$29,762EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,564,364BOYAmt
EOY$13,245,219EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,798,494BOYAmt
EOY$2,167,924EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,268,220BOYAmt
EOY$3,085,940EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$562,090BOYAmt
EOY$578,780EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$416,689BOYAmt
EOY$877,541EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$31,086,670LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$14,252,167LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,922,200BOYAmt
EOY$16,834,503EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,142,971BOYAmt
EOY$12,968,004EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,706,613BOYAmt
EOY$49,787,673EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,365,256BOYAmt
EOY$4,301,625EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$239,687BOYAmt
EOY$303,076EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,560,777BOYAmt
EOY$21,423,516EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,482,213BOYAmt
EOY$4,278,827EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,647,933BOYAmt
EOY$30,307,044EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,058,680BOYAmt
EOY$19,480,629EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,058,680BOYAmt
EOY$19,480,629EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,706,613BOYAmt
EOY$49,787,673EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,397,654ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$24,295NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$11,476,605CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,249,433CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,600,287CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$7,632,262CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,968,611CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$41,927,198TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$26,903,549CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$31,029,815CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$39,259,510CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$49,202,749CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$50,665,058CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$197,060,681TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$38,380,154CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$38,279,248CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$45,859,797CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$56,835,011CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$59,633,669CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$238,987,879TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$238,987,879PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$14,356CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$16,002CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$20,166CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$15,412CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$16,340CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$82,276TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$14,356CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$16,002CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$20,166CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$15,412CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$16,340CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$82,276TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$673,811CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,160,448CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$586,500CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$297,500CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$574,399CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,292,658TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$39,068,321CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$39,455,698CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$46,466,463CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$57,147,923CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$60,224,408CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$242,362,813TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.98607PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.98309PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00034InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00038InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part III, Line 12FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOther revenues.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,151,196OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,151,196BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,816,291OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,100,867DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,715,424BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,028,208OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,510,260DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,517,948BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,107,118OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,641,040DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,466,078BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,983,857OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,983,857BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$16,834,503TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Investments$1,074,674
Assets limited as to use$11,893,330
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$12,968,004TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescThird party settlementsDesc
Amt$4,278,827Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$4,278,827TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$65,629,322TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$0NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$65,629,322RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$65,629,322TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$62,231,668TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$62,231,668ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$62,231,668TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule D, Part X, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Center has been recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as a non-profit corporation as described in Sec. 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) and is exempt from federal and state income taxes on related income pursuant to Sec. 501(a) of the IRC and California Revenue and Taxation code Section 23701(d). Tax returns are generally open and subject to examination by the appropriate government agencies in the United States and California for three years after they are filed.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Hermann Spetzler
CEO$338,630$0$1,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$339,630$0$0$0
Cheyenne Spetzler
COO$207,958$0$1,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$208,958$0$0$0
James A Bella
CFO$214,755$0$1,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$215,755$0$0$0
Willard Hunter
Co- Medical Director$260,182$0$18,065$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$278,247$0$0$0
Julie Ohnemus
Co-Medical Director$222,984$0$15,830$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$238,814$0$0$0
Kelvin Vu
Physician$243,349$0$20,179$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$263,528$0$0$0
Jason Christensen
Physician$219,858$0$18,730$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$238,588$0$0$0
Carter Wright
Dentist$208,397$0$50,506$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$258,903$0$0$0

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Real Estate Commercial RealEstateCommercialGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$3,150NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Drugs And Medical Supplies DrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$63,865NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bWorking closely with the appropriate management staff, the CFO gathers and presents the data to the CPA preparing the Form 990 and then presents the draft Form 990 to the Finance Committee of the Board of Directors prior to the Board's review and formal acceptance in a monthly meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cPersonnel Policies require disclosure of any transactions or business situations (involving the employee and immediate family) which may present a conflict of interest by providing financial benefit resulting from that employees relationship with ODCHC. Board members receive no compensation for their services and are required to provide written Conflict of Interest agreements which are reviewed periodically.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The Board of Directors reviews local, state and national independently prepared salary surveys of community health centers periodically. This data is evaluated in aggregate and with consideration for comparable scope of duties, unique rural conditions, and general economic conditions as well as the economic stability and viability of the organization.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Available upon request.