STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

HOMER ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HOMER ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 92-0014079)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-05-11
IRS object ID
201721319349305122
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-05-11T16:14:42-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BDO USA LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13601 C STREET STE 600AddressLine1Txt
CityANCHORAGECityNm
State AbbreviationAKStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP99503ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN920014079EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HOMER ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% EMILY HUTCHISONInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlHOMEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9072358551PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13977 LAKE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityHOMERCityNm
State AbbreviationAKStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP996037680ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonEMILY HUTCHISONPersonNm
Person TitleDIRECTOR OF FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone9072358551PhoneNum
Signature2017-05-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKey E Getty CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00121200PTIN
Phone9072788878PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address69.161.24.166IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Federal Original Submission Id92085320171315000008FederalOriginalSubmissionId
Federal Original Submission Id2017-05-11FederalOriginalSubmissionIdDt
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id2363A07BEF4364FD9AE674F8CF464FF928D72A5CAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id2363A07BEF4364FD9AE674F8CF464FF928D72A5CAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBRADLEY P JANORSCHKEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13977 LAKE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityHOMERCityNm
State AbbreviationAKStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP996037680ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$99,588,242GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.HOMERELECTRIC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1946FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateAKLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDE ELECTRICAL SERVICES TO OUR MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee161TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$11,000CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$98,971,529PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$99,167,402CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$127,552PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$121,303CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$194,648PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$200,445CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$99,293,729PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$99,500,150CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$12,000PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$11,000CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$679,141PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$710,099CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$92,905,881PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$91,994,203CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$93,597,022PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$92,715,302CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,696,707PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,784,848CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$235,185,110TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$238,313,933TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$147,249,347TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$143,879,289TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$87,935,763NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$94,434,644NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO SAFELY PROVIDE RELIABLE ELECTRICITY TO OUR MEMBERS AND OUR COMMUNITY THROUGH SUPERIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INNOVATIVE ENERGY SOLUTIONS AT FAIR AND REASONABLE PRICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescHOMER ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION (HEA) OPERATES ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS AND IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE COOPERATIVE REQUIREMENTS. HEA PROVIDED A TOTAL OF 457,289,177 kWhs TO 31,191 CONSUMERS DURING 2016.Desc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document79IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee161EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$95,604,124MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$76,909OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonEMILY HUTCHISONPersonNm
Phone9072358551PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13977 LAKE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityHOMERCityNm
State AbbreviationAKStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP99603ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
WAISANEN RICHARD
PRESIDENT1.00.5Yes (X)Yes (X)$5,400$0$0
THOMAS DAVID
SECRETARY/TREASURER1.00.5Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,700$0$0
CHAY DAN
VICE PRESIDENT1.00.5Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,950$0$0
OBERTS EDWARD
DEPUTY SECRETARY1.00.5Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,850$0$0
BOOKEY KELLY
DIRECTOR1.00.5Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAREY DAVID
DIRECTOR1.00.5Yes (X)$4,500$0$0
FRY WILLIAM
DIRECTOR1.00.5Yes (X)$5,750$0$0
LEVINE EUGENE
DIRECTOR1.00.5Yes (X)$1,000$0$0
SEELINGER DONALD
DIRECTOR1.00.5Yes (X)$2,350$0$0
STEAD DONALD
DIRECTOR1.00.5Yes (X)$3,097$0$0
JANORSCHKE BRADLEY
GENERAL MANAGER40.01.0Yes (X)$283,692$0$135,100
HUTCHISON EMILY
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE40.01.0Yes (X)$167,266$0$78,444
AMBROSE JAMES
DIRECTOR OF POWER, FUEL & DISP40.00.0$205,430$0$109,906Yes (X)
PEERY MARK
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING40.00.0$203,188$0$109,134Yes (X)
LOVE JIMMY
SERVICEMAN40.00.0$186,078$0$49,487Yes (X)
JORGENSEN LARRY
POWER PRODUCTION/DISPATCH MGR40.00.0$179,808$0$92,130Yes (X)
DAY ROBERT
POWER PRODUCTION/DISPATCH MGR40.00.0$179,220$0$96,500Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,450,279TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$670,701TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K90IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
PERKINS COLE LLP
1201 THIRD AVE STE 4900SEATTLEWA98101LEGAL$515,862
BALDWIN BUTLER LLC
125 NORTH WILLOW STREETKENAIAK99611LEGAL$350,295
MCMILLEN LLC
1401 SHORELINE DR STE 100BOISEID83702CONSULTING$153,183
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$11,000AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$11,000TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
ELECTRICAL SERVICE REVENUE221000$95,303,030$95,303,030
CAPITAL CREDITS ALLOCATION221000$3,864,372$3,864,372
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$99,167,402TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$121,303TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$121,303ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$252,000RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$88,092RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$163,908RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$163,908TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$163,908RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHERDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$36,537TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$36,537ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$36,537OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$99,500,150TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$99,331,310RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$157,840ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,000TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$710,099TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,503,777TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,317TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,138,288TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$435,067TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$151,305TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,270,448TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,244,713TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER COST$61,923,926
DISTRIBUTIONS - MAINTENANCE$4,163,939
ADMIN & GENERAL$3,802,843
CONSUMER ACCOUNTS$3,076,219

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,228,361TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$92,715,302TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,600BOYAmt
EOY$3,600EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,552,770BOYAmt
EOY$2,353,661EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,315,271BOYAmt
EOY$8,975,728EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$808,763BOYAmt
EOY$699,042EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,656,879BOYAmt
EOY$3,829,449EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$417,963BOYAmt
EOY$327,765EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$262,766,182LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$106,004,937LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$156,319,040BOYAmt
EOY$156,761,245EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,110,824BOYAmt
EOY$65,363,443EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$235,185,110BOYAmt
EOY$238,313,933EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,137,644BOYAmt
EOY$11,207,137EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$135,193,100BOYAmt
EOY$130,579,699EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,918,603BOYAmt
EOY$2,092,453EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$147,249,347BOYAmt
EOY$143,879,289EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$87,935,763BOYAmt
EOY$94,434,644EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$87,935,763BOYAmt
EOY$94,434,644EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$235,185,110BOYAmt
EOY$238,313,933EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,784,848ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$285,967OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,231,990OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,231,990BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,455,342OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,393,719DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,061,623BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp
EquipmentEquipmentGrp

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$246,078,850OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$100,611,218DepreciationAmt
Book Value$145,467,632BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$156,761,245TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
INVESTMENT IN ASSOCIATED ORGS$47,166,282
UNBILLED REVENUE$6,275,502
NET NON-UTILITY PROPERTY$231,477
DEFERRED CHARGES$2,152,077
CONSTRUCTION IN PROGRESS$9,538,105
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$65,363,443TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED CREDITS$877,000
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$1,215,453
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,092,453TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$99,452,613TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Subtotal$99,452,613RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$47,537OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$47,537RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$99,500,150TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$92,667,765TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$36,537OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$36,537ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$92,704,302ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$11,000OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$11,000ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$92,715,302TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X LINE 2HEA APPLIES THE PROVISIONS OF TOPIC 740 OF THE FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING STANDARDS BOARD (FASB) ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CODIFICATION RELATING TO ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES. HEA ANNUALLY REVIEWS ITS TAX POSITIONS TAKEN IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RECOGNITION STANDARDS. IT IS HEA MANAGEMENT'S OPINION THAT IT HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS WHICH WOULD REQUIRE DISCLOSURE OR ADJUSTMENT IN THESE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XI LINE 4BREVENUE NETTED WITH EXPENSES
PART XII LINE 2DREVENUE NETTED WITH EXPENSES
PART XII LINE 4BREVENUE NETTED WITH EXPENSES

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient11RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$11,000CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
990 SCH I, PART I, LINE 2THE MEMBER SERVICES SUPERVISOR MANAGES THE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM AND MAINTAINS A COPY OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION APPROVING THE AWARD WINNERS. SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS ARE DISBURSED THROUGH THE RECIPIENT'S CHOSEN SCHOOL UPON NOTIFICATION OF THE STUDENT'S REGISTRATION BY THE SCHOOL'S FINANCIAL AID OR REGISTRAR'S OFFICE. SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS MUST BE DISTRIBUTED EQUALLY BETWEEN SEMESTERS. FUNDS MAY BE USED FOR REGISTRATION, TUITION, BOOKS, ROOM, BOARD, AND ANY ASSOCIATED STUDENT ENROLLMENT FEES. FUNDS MAY NOT BE APPLIED TOWARD TRANSPORTATION. ANY FUNDS NOT USED BY THE RECIPIENT WITHIN TWO SEMESTERS OF INITIAL REGISTRATION WILL REVERT TO THE HEA SCHOLARSHIP TRUST.
SCHEDULE I, PART IIIOBJECTIVE OF SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM TO PROVIDE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO COOPERATIVE MEMBERS AND THEIR DEPENDENTS FOR POST HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION AND/OR TECHNICAL TRAINING UNDER THE GUIDELINES OF THE ARECA EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION AND HOMER ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION'S SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
JANORSCHKE BRADLEY
GENERAL MANAGER$283,692$0$0$0$0$0$102,164$0$32,936$0$418,792$0
HUTCHISON EMILY
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE$167,266$0$0$0$0$0$63,751$0$14,693$0$245,710$0
AMBROSE JAMES
DIRECTOR OF POWER, FUEL & DISP$205,430$0$0$0$0$0$77,941$0$31,965$0$315,336$0
PEERY MARK
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING$203,188$0$0$0$0$0$77,193$0$31,941$0$312,322$0
LOVE JIMMY
SERVICEMAN$186,078$0$0$0$0$0$27,587$0$21,900$0$235,565$0
JORGENSEN LARRY
POWER PRODUCTION/DISPATCH MGR$179,808$0$0$0$0$0$60,862$0$31,268$0$271,938$0
DAY ROBERT
POWER PRODUCTION/DISPATCH MGR$179,220$0$0$0$0$0$67,104$0$29,396$0$275,720$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6OUR MEMBERS CONSIST OF CUSTOMERS WITH ELECTRICAL SERVICE TO THEIR RESIDENCE OR BUSINESS. WE DO NOT HAVE ANY STOCKHOLDERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AAMENDMENTS TO OUR BYLAWS AND ELECTION OF BOARD MEMBERS ARE THE ONLY ISSUES THAT ELIGIBLE MEMBERS MAY VOTE ON DURING OUR ANNUAL MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCE REVIEWS THE COMPLETED FORM 990 AFTER IT IS PREPARED BY THE CPA FIRM. IT IS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE ORGANIZATION REGULARLY AND CONSISTENTLY MONITORS AND ENFORCES COMPLIANCE WITH THE WRITTEN CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY BY REQUIRING QUARTERLY REVIEW OF ALL RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS BY THE BOARD FINANCE COMMITTEE PER BOARD POLICIES #723 AND #104. THE GENERAL MANAGER OBTAINS DISCLOSURES FROM AFFECTED EMPLOYEES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION FOR THE ORGANIZATION'S GENERAL MANAGER INCLUDES REVIEW AND APPROVAL BY THE BOARD, COMPLETE WITH EXTERNAL REVIEW OF THE COMPENSATION PROCESS BY AN INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT. THE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION FOR OTHER KEY EMPLOYEES OF THE ORGANIZATION IS IN ACCORDANCE WITH COMPANY POLICIES. NON-BARGAINING WAGE AND SALARY RATES ARE DETERMINED BY ANNUAL PERFORMANCE APPRAISALS AND A REVIEW OF NATIONAL COMPARABILITY DATA PROVIDED BY NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES ASSOCIATION (NRECA) COMPENSATION PROGRAM. THE COMPENSATION PLAN IS UPDATED ANNUALLY USING AN INDEPENDENT ASSOCIATION TO ENSURE THAT THE COMPENSATION MID-POINT REMAINS CONSISTENT WITH THE MARKET VALUE WHICH IS DETERMINED BY THE NATIONAL SALARY SURVEY. ALL OTHER EMPLOYEES ARE COMPENSATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH COLLECTIVELY BARGAINED AGREEMENTS WITH THEIR RESPECTIVE UNIONS. THE HUMAN RESOURCE DEPARTEMENT REGULARLY CONDUCTS COMPREHENSIVE RE-EVALUATION OF POSITIONS ON THE MATRIX AND WRITTEN DOCUMENTATION IS MAINTAINED IN CONFIDENTIAL PERSONNEL FILES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO OUR MEMBERS UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9, CHANGES IN NET ASSETSCAPITAL CREDITS RETIRED (292,702) DONATED CAPITAL INCREASE 9,250 MEMBERSHIP DECREASE (2,515)

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ALASKA ELECTRIC AND ENERGY COOPERATBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13977 LAKE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityHOMERCityNm
State AbbreviationAKStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP99603ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN920177236EIN
Primary ActivitiesELECTRICALPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateAKLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(12)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusN/APublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HEABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
ALASKA ELECTRIC AND ENERGY COOP
Q$9,459,196MNTHLY INVOICES
ALASKA ELECTRIC AND ENERGY COOP
P$61,790,646MNTHLY INVOICES