STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 25-0397695)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-05-12
IRS object ID
201721329349300322
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-05-12T07:24:30-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN161117932PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BUFFAMANTE WHIPPLE BUTTAFARO PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1201 WEST THIRD STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityJAMESTOWNCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP14701ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN250397695EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCENTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7243992931PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 329/716 ROUTE 368AddressLine1Txt
CityPARKERCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP16049ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMATTHEW P BOSHAWPersonNm
Person TitleCEO/GENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone7243992931PhoneNum
Signature2017-05-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDAVID V DITANNA CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01368498PTIN
Phone7166645104PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address72.45.244.226IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-05-12IPDt
IP Tm08:22:54IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdC1641C755FAE8BFA68E5F255C356D4C173D5CA7FAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdE5BD525FC50DAD61E144D01FF2A687F1F5CA4450AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMATTHEW BOSHAWPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 329/716 ROUTE 368AddressLine1Txt
CityPARKERCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP16049ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$40,264,568GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
All Affiliates IncludedYes (1)AllAffiliatesIncludedInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.CENTRAL.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StatePALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVISION OF ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION SERVICE ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS TO MEMBERS IN RURAL PA.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee84TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$212,875PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$228,812CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$19,234,975PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$20,580,173CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$19,447,850PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$20,808,985CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,383,391PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,586,051CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$501,815PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$558,207CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$16,311,222PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$16,699,058CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$18,196,428PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$18,843,316CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,251,422PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,965,669CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$110,350,677TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$114,932,162TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$74,625,520TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$78,487,794TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$35,725,157NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$36,444,368NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionPROVISION OF ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION SERVICE ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS TO MEMBERS IN RURAL PENNSYLVANIA.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVISION OF ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION SERVICE ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS TO MEMBERS IN RURAL PENNSYLVANIADesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPROVISION OF ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION SERVICE ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS TO MEMBERS IN RURAL PENNYSLVANIADesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document15IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee84EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$38,600,225MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$844,558OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DENNIS BEGGSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7243992931PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 329AddressLine1Txt
CityPARKERCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP16049ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ALTHEA SMITH
SECRETARY/TREAS5.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$17,325$0$0
BETTE WALTERS
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$14,990$0$0
KENNETH D DURRETT
VICE PRESIDENT3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$15,081$0$0
RICHARD WEAVER
DIRECTOR3.75Yes (X)$12,825$0$0
JODY WEAVER
PRESIDENT6.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$18,050$0$0
WILLIAM EICHNER
DIRECTOR4.50Yes (X)$14,290$0$0
KENNETH ETZEL
DIRECTOR4.20Yes (X)$14,416$0$0
NANCY LENDYAK
DIRECTOR4.50Yes (X)$15,875$0$0
DENNIS W BEGGS
CFO40.00Yes (X)$118,902$0$45,120
MATTHEW BOSHAW
GENERAL MANAGER40.00Yes (X)$209,341$0$61,991
FRED TERWILLIGER
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING AN40.00$122,788$0$45,532Yes (X)
STEPHANIE DEAL
DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESOURCE40.00$112,028$0$31,082Yes (X)
JEFFREY SCOTT BEST
LINEMAN40.00$111,679$0$27,405Yes (X)
GREG BLY
LINEMAN40.00$115,033$0$29,371Yes (X)
DOUGLAS MCQUISTON
LINEMAN40.00$115,084$0$30,769Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,027,707TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$271,270TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K17IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
HAZLETT TREE SERVICE
14919 ARNOLD DRIVETOWNVILLEPA16360TREE TRIMMING$1,526,961
ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT CO
PO BOX 640032PITTSBURGHPA15264TREE TRIMMING$884,384
OSMOSE UTILITIES SERVICES INC
980 ELLICOTT STREETBUFFALONY14209POLE INSPECTION$204,249
DICK MCCALL INC
1591 KITTANNING PIKEPETROLIAPA16050MAINTENANCE$131,947
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$228,812TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$228,812ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$844,562PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$844,562PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$844,562TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$844,562ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$38,645,158GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$19,455,583CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$19,189,575TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$19,189,575RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
PAT CAP OF ASSOC. ORGS221000$543,157$543,157
EQUITY IN EARNINGS OF SUB221000$2,879$2,879
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$546,036OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$20,808,985TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$19,192,454RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,616,531ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,586,051TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$558,207TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,946,401TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,842,296TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
DISTRIBUTION MAINTENANC$4,527,710
ADMINISTRATION AND GEN$2,833,421
DISTRIBUTION OPERATIONS$1,925,886
CONSUMER ACCOUNTS$1,080,723

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$542,621TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,843,316TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,482,358BOYAmt
EOY$3,564,736EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,039,596BOYAmt
EOY$3,926,954EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,500,504BOYAmt
EOY$5,333,595EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$715,056BOYAmt
EOY$574,798EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,858,703BOYAmt
EOY$1,755,917EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$128,299,928LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$38,432,141LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$88,241,749BOYAmt
EOY$89,867,787EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,512,711BOYAmt
EOY$9,908,375EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,350,677BOYAmt
EOY$114,932,162EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,249,650BOYAmt
EOY$5,125,196EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$65,490,713BOYAmt
EOY$66,860,116EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,885,157BOYAmt
EOY$6,502,482EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,625,520BOYAmt
EOY$78,487,794EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,164,367BOYAmt
EOY$4,769,705EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,560,790BOYAmt
EOY$31,674,663EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,725,157BOYAmt
EOY$36,444,368EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,350,677BOYAmt
EOY$114,932,162EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,965,669ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$1,246,458OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$116,713,770OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$31,200,279DepreciationAmt
Book Value$85,513,491BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,485,947OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,231,862DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,254,085BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,100,211OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,100,211BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$89,867,787TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescINVESTMENTS IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONSDesc
Book Value$9,908,375BookValueAmt
Method ValuationCMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$9,908,375TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCUMULATED POST RETIREMENT BENEFIT OBLIGATION$4,750,896
DEFERRED CREDITS$1,451,586
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR STORMS$300,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$6,502,482TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$40,264,568TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$19,455,583OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$19,455,583RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$20,808,985RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$20,808,985TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$36,712,848TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$19,455,583OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$19,455,583ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$17,257,265ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,586,051OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,586,051ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$18,843,316TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM TAXES ON INCOME PURSUANT TO SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. CONSEQUENTLY, THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS REFLECT NO PROVISION FOR TAXES ON INCOME. INCOME TAX RETURNS THAT REMAIN OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY TAXING AUTHORITIES INCLUDE 2013 AND LATER YEARS.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:POWER COST 19,455,583.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:POWER COST 19,455,583.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDIT 1,586,051.
PART XII, LINE 4B ADJUSTMENTS:CAPITAL CREDIT RETIREMENTS OF $1,586,051 REPORTED ON PART IX STATEMENT OF FUNCTIONAL EXPENSES ON THE FORM 990, HOWEVER, ON THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS THEY ARE REPORTED AS A REDUCTION TO PATRONAGE CAPITAL.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DENNIS W BEGGS
CFO$118,902$0$0$0$0$0$23,931$0$21,189$0$164,022$0$0$0
MATTHEW BOSHAW
GENERAL MANAGER$200,647$0$0$0$8,694$0$39,392$0$22,599$0$271,332$0$0$0
FRED TERWILLIGER
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING AN$122,788$0$0$0$0$0$24,590$0$20,942$0$168,320$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6LINE 6 EXPLANATION - MEMBERS OF RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ARE CONSUMERS OF ELECTRICITY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ALINE 7A EXPLANATION - GOVERNING BODY IS ELECTED BY MEMBERS BY BALLOT VOTE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BLINE 11A EXPLANATION - A COPY WILL BE INCLUDED IN THE BOARD PACKAGE FOR REVIEW PRIOR TO THE BOARD MEETING. MANAGER OF ACCOUNTING & BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT WILL REVIEW AND ANSWER ANY QUESTIONS THAT THE BOARD MAY HAVE. THE BOARD WILL VOTE ON APPROVING FORM 990 FOR FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CANNUAL REVIEW AND SIGNATURE OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICIES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15AN OUTSIDE CONSULTANT FROM NRECA PROVIDES THE BENCHMARKS FOR THE DIFFERENT TIERS OF EMPLOYEES. THESE FIGURES ARE PROVIDED TO THE BOARD. THE BOARD THEN APPROVES THE BENCHMARKS. THE BOARD APPROVES THE CEO'S SALARY, WHILE THE CEO APPROVES THE DEPARTMENT DIRECTORS' SALARIES BASED ON THE BENCHMARKS AND THE BUDGET APPROVED BY THE BOARD. THESE BENCHMARKS ARE UPDATED EVERY FEW YEARS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT THE MAIN OFFICE UPON REQUEST
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:MEMBERSHIP FEES -2,815. GAIN ON RETIREMENT OF ESTATE CAPITAL CREDITS 24,799. TOTAL OTHER COMPREHENSIVE LOSS -1,268,442.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
CENTRAL ELECTRIC SERVICES CORPORATION
PO BOX 329 ROUTE 368 EASTPARKERPA16049251869786SATELLITE INTERNETPACENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCC1.000000
COOPERATIVE SOLUTIONS INC
PO BOX 329 ROUTE 368 EASTPARKERPA16049251822768BUSINESS SERVICESPACENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCC1.000000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd