STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NEWBERRY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NEWBERRY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 57-0216285)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-09-01
IRS object ID
201722449349300312
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-09-01T11:49:06-04:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN680666858PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1K EVE MCCOY CPA LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11518 LADY STAddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBIACityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29201ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN570216285EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NEWBERRY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNEWBBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8032761121PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 477AddressLine1Txt
CityNEWBERRYCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29108ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGEORGE KEITH AVERYPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8032761121PhoneNum
Signature2017-08-31SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonK EVE MCCOYPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01301422PTIN
Phone8032569100PhoneNum
Preparation2017-09-01PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
At Submission Creation Device Id4A2263A092EB24081D95C34AC92A363E47AE7E4EAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id4A2263A092EB24081D95C34AC92A363E47AE7E4EAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerGEORGE KEITH AVERYPrincipalOfficerNm
Gross Receipts$35,109,859GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.NEC.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1940FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE THE BEST ELECTRIC SERVICE TO ALL WHO DESIRE IT WITHIN THE SYSTEM SERVICE AREA AT THE LOWEST PRICE CONSISTENT WITH THE HIGHEST STANDARDS OF SERVICE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee41TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$33,512,069PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$34,776,039CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$18,970PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$46,394CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$205,112PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$287,426CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$33,736,151PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$35,109,859CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,285,165PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$1,085,209CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$652,392PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$710,404CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$31,798,594PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$33,314,246CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$33,736,151PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$35,109,859CYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$58,556,276TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$67,070,496TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$41,085,102TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$48,465,116TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$17,471,174NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$18,605,380NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE THE BEST ELECTRIC SERVICE TO ALL WHO DESIRE IT WITHIN THE SYSTEM SERVICE AREA AT THE LOWEST PRICE CONSISTENT WITH THE HIGHEST STANDARDS OF SERVICE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$32,715,641ExpenseAmt
DescELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERSDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$32,715,641TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document42IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee41EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$34,635,871MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$473,988OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonARTHUR GUYPersonNm
Phone8032761121PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1882 WILSON RDAddressLine1Txt
CityNEWBERRYCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29108ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
JOHNNIE L DICKERT
CHAIRMAN4.001.00Yes (X)$30,759$7,800$0
WILLIAM B LOMINICK
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$38,349$0$0
BLAKE BRIGMAN
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$32,022$0$0
JOHN WAYNE NICHOLS
SECRETARY4.00Yes (X)$30,458$0$0
JAMES CRAIG KESLER
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$26,312$0$0
DOUGLAS E HIPP
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$25,173$0$0
LEON FULMER JR
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$23,295$0$0
RICHARD O KOON
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$22,053$0$0
CHARLES J BISHOP
VICE CHAIRMA4.00Yes (X)$19,509$0$0
PATTY H RUFF
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$3,584$0$0
GEORGE KEITH AVERY
PRESIDENT &57.001.00$212,119$12,762$80,143Yes (X)
JASON G MERCHANT
V.P. ENGINEE40.00$138,245$0$55,800Yes (X)
ARTHUR GUY
V.P. FINANCE40.00$108,526$0$47,176Yes (X)
RICHARD HENRY RUFF
DIRECTOR$59,287$0$0Yes (X)
TOBIE R SHEALY
DIRECTOR4.00$18,232$0$0Yes (X)
HAROLD L PITTS
DIRECTOR$18,066$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$805,989TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$20,562TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$183,119TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
LEE ELECTRICAL CONSTRUCTION INC
PO BOX 55ABERDEENNC283150055UTILITY CONSTR$1,828,533
THE DAVEY TREE EXPERT COMPANY
PO BOX 709KENTOH442400709TREE SERVICE$1,142,084
SOUTHEAST UTILITIES OF GEORGIA
1020 FRANKE INDUSTRIAL DRAUGUSTAGA30909FIBER PROJECT$678,102
CHAPEL MANNING
315 2ND AVE STE 409WARRENPA16365GIS PROJECT$254,826
WARREN CONSTRUCTION LLC
2096 HARMON QUARTERS RDPROSPERITYSC29127CONSTRUCTION$245,668
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
ELECTRIC SALES221000$34,635,871$34,635,871
QUALIFIED POLE RENTAL$140,168$140,168
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$34,776,039TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,394TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$46,394ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
CAPITAL CREDITS-ASSOC ORG221000$287,206$287,206
MISCELLANEOUS$220$220
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$287,426OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$35,109,859TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$34,923,297RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$186,562ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,085,209TotalAmt
Program Services$1,085,209ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$463,633TotalAmt
Management And General$463,633ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$246,771TotalAmt
Management And General$246,771ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,634,650TotalAmt
Program Services$1,634,650ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,162,405TotalAmt
Program Services$2,162,405ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
PURCHASED POWER$21,940,043$21,940,043
DISTRIBUTION-MAINTENANCE$2,394,713$2,394,713
TAXES$1,750,153$1,750,153
ADMIN AND GENERAL$1,683,814$1,683,814

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,748,468TotalAmt
Program Services$1,748,468ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,109,859TotalAmt
Program Services$32,715,641ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,394,218ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$802,419BOYAmt
EOY$4,079,748EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,123,594BOYAmt
EOY$2,580,457EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$467,878BOYAmt
EOY$360,020EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$68,503BOYAmt
EOY$70,851EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$81,656,513LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$24,051,430LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,913,357BOYAmt
EOY$57,605,083EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,180,525BOYAmt
EOY$2,374,337EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,556,276BOYAmt
EOY$67,070,496EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,944,062BOYAmt
EOY$2,434,983EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,490,043BOYAmt
EOY$41,765,772EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,650,997BOYAmt
EOY$4,264,361EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,085,102BOYAmt
EOY$48,465,116EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,471,174BOYAmt
EOY$18,605,380EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,471,174BOYAmt
EOY$18,605,380EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,556,276BOYAmt
EOY$67,070,496EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,134,206OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteefalseAuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$81,656,513OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$24,051,430DepreciationAmt
Book Value$57,605,083BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$57,605,083TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ACCUM. PROV. POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITS$2,511,000
DEFERRED CREDITS$1,052,685
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$700,676
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$4,264,361TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,109,859TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Subtotal$35,109,859RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$35,109,859TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$34,024,650TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$34,024,650ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,085,209OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,085,209ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$35,109,859TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAMOUNT REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS BENEFITS 0 PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS IS NOT REPORTED AS AN EXPENSE IN 0 THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING 0 PRINCIPLES (GAAP) DOES NOT RECOGNIZE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS 0 PAID AS AN EXPENSE 1,085,209ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
GEORGE KEITH AVERY
PRESIDENT & CEO$212,119$12,762$61,791$18,352$292,262$12,762
JASON G MERCHANT
V.P. ENGINEER$138,245$37,837$17,963$194,045
ARTHUR GUY
V.P. FINANCE$108,526$37,290$9,886$155,702
RICHARD HENRY RUFF
DIRECTOR$59,287$59,287
TOBIE R SHEALY
DIRECTOR$18,232$18,232
HAROLD L PITTS
DIRECTOR$18,066$18,066

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 4FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationJOHNNIE L. DICKERT 0 4,805 0 WILLIAM B. LOMINICK 0 3,179 0 JOHN WAYNE NICHOLS 0 3,908 0 RICHARD O. KOON 0 6,550 0 CHARLES J. BISHOP 0 5,328 0ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990IN ACCORDANCE WITH ITS BYLAWS, THE COOPERATIVE IS OBLIGATED TO PAY BY CREDITS TO A CAPITAL ACCOUNT FOR EACH PATRON ALL SUCH AMOUNTS IN EXCESS OF OPERATING COSTS AND EXPENSES. ALL SUCH AMOUNTS CREDITED TO THE CAPITAL ACCOUNT OF ANY PATRON SHALL HAVE THE SAME STATUS AS THOUGH THEY HAD BEEN PAID TO THE PATRON. PURSUANT TO THE BYLAWS, THE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO ITS MEMBERS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 TO BE CAPITAL CREDITS ALLOCATED FOR 2016.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6THE CORPORATION IS ORGANIZED AND OPERATED AS A COOPERATIVE. IT IS COMPRISED OF MEMBERS WHO OWN AND MANAGE THE CORPORATION. THE MEMBER IS DEFINED AS A "PERSON" ( AN INDIVIDUAL, CORPORATION, OR COOPERATIVE) ENTITLED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE COOPERATIVE'S MANAGEMENT. A PERSON MAY BECOME A MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE BY: A. APPLYING FOR MEMBERSHIP THEREIN UPON SUCH TERMS AS MAY BE ESTABLISHED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS; B. AGREEING TO PURCHASE ELECTRIC ENERGY FROM THE COOPERATIVE; C. AGREEING TO COMPLY WITH AND BE BOUND BY THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION AND BYLAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE AND ANY RULES AND REGULATIONS ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS; D. PAYING THE MEMBERSHIP FEE; E. MAINTAINING AN ACTIVE ACCOUNT IN GOOD STANDING WITH THE COOPERATIVE AS DEFINED IN THE BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7AEACH MEMBER HAS ONE VOTE. DIRECTORS ARE ELECTED BY THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7BEACH MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE SHALL BE ENTITLED TO ONLY ONE VOTE UPON EACH MATTER SUBMITTED TO A VOTE AT ANY MEETING OF THE MEMBERS. A MEMBER HAS THE RIGHT TO ELECT THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND PARTICIPATE IN THE COOPERATIVE'S BUSINESS. DIRECTORS SHALL SERVE TERMS OF THREE (3) YEARS EACH AND SHALL BE ELECTED AT EACH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS AND SHALL SERVE UNTIL A SUCCESSOR HAS BEEN ELECTED. REMOVAL - ANY MEMBER MAY BRING ONE OR MORE CHARGES FOR CAUSE AGAINST ANY ONE OR MORE TRUSTEES AND MAY REQUEST THE REMOVAL OF SUCH TRUSTEE(S) BY REASON THEREOF BY FILING WITH THE SECRETARY SUCH CHARGE(S)IN WRITING, TOGETHER WITH A PETITION SIGNED BY NOT LESS THAN TEN PERCENT OF THE THEN-TOTAL MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE. DISSOLUTION - THE COOPERATIVE MAY AUTHORIZE THE SALE, LEASE, LEASE-SALE, EXCHANGE, TRANSFER, DISSOLUTION OR OTHER DISPOSITION OF ALL OR SUBSTANTIALLY ALL OF THE COOPERATIVE'S PROPERTIES AND ASSETS ONLY UPON THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTES OF TWO-THIRDS OF THE THEN-TOTAL MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE AT A DULY HELD MEETING OF THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BA DRAFT COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT THE REGULAR BOARD MEETING PRIOR TO THE DUE DATE OF THE RETURN BEING FILED FOR THEIR REVIEW.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEWS ANY CIRCUMSTANCES THAT MAY HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. THE PRESIDENT AND CEO WILL BRING TO THE ATTENTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS POTENTIAL AREAS OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST FOR THE BOARD TO ACT UPON.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ATHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETS ANNUALLY TO REVIEW THE PERFORMANCE OF THE PRESIDENT AND CEO. THEY UTILIZE NRECA SALARY DATA FOR COMPARISON AND MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS DISCUSSES AND VOTES ON THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. THIS PROCESS WAS LAST UNDERTAKEN IN 2016. .
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO MEMBERS UPON REQUEST. CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. ANNUAL REPORTS ARE MAILED TO MEMBERS EACH YEAR AND ADDITIONAL COPIES ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9DECREASE IN OTHER EQUITIES 0 POST RETIREMENT BENEFITS ADJUSTMENT 603,100 INCREASE IN MEMBERSHIPS 410 AMOUNT REPORTED ON FORM 990, 0 PART IX, LINE 4 AS BENEFITS PAID 0 TO OR FOR MEMBERS IS NOT REPORTED 0 AS AN EXPENSE IN THE FINANCIAL 0 STATEMENTS. GENERALLY ACCEPTED 0 ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES (GAAP) 0 DOES NOT RECOGNIZE PATRONAGE 0 DIVIDENDS PAID AS AN EXPENSE. 1,085,209 PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED -524,179 DECREASE IN OTHER EQUITIES -30,334 TOTAL 1,134,206