CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF COLORADO: Form 990, tax year 2016
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF COLORADO (EIN 84-0500890)
- Tax period
- 2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
- Filed
- 2017-11-14
- IRS object ID
- 201723189349308222
- Schema version
- 2016v3.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2017-11-14T15:26:43-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2016-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 841474365 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Holben Hay Lake Balzer CPAs LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1777 S Harrison Street 1000 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Denver | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 80210 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2016-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 840500890 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Premier Members Credit Union | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | PREM | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3036577000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5505 Arapahoe Avenue | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Boulder | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 80303 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Mark Wiete | PersonNm |
| Person Title | Chief Financial Officer | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 3036577276 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2017-11-09 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Sheila M Balzer | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00967957 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3037592727 | PhoneNum |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 199.189.170.18 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2017-11-09 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 15:28:12 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | MS | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | 6C9B1A35775087DBDB8A6D25ECA509C7F6C27838 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | B64BBC76E68E34C88954DB314195C2AC838F48D8 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2016 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2021-01-29 14:40:06Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Mark Wiete | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5505 Arapahoe Ave | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Boulder | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 80303 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $44,987,938 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | www.pmcu.org | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1950 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | CO | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | To promote thrift and provide lower cost credit to the members of the credit union by affording them the opportunity to accumulate payments on shares and to make loans from these shares to its members. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 15 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 15 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 313 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 22 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $23,233 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | -$10,707 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $30,289,817 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $42,582,211 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,767,259 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $2,093,594 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $12,083 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $23,233 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $32,069,159 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $44,699,038 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $11,399,085 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $17,139,467 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $18,170,974 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $19,304,326 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $29,570,059 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $36,443,793 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,499,100 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $8,255,245 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $874,762,687 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $926,220,200 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $773,834,542 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $817,328,910 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $100,928,145 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $108,891,290 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | To promote thrift and provide lower cost credit to the members of the credit union by affording them the opportunity to accumulate payments on shares and make loans from these shares to its members. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | Provide a wide variety of financial products and services to members of the credit union. Over 64,000 members served. | Desc |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | Yes (1) | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 16075 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 313 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 15 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 15 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | Yes (1) | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | Yes (1) | LocalChaptersInd |
| Policies Reference Chapters | Yes (1) | PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | 0 | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | 0 | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | The Organization | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 3036577000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5505 Arapahoe Avenue | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Boulder | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 80303 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wayne Turnacliff | |||||||
| Co-Chair Person | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jim Clemmer | |||||||
| Treasurer | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Ken Black | |||||||
| Co-Secretary | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Wade Payne | |||||||
| Director | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Lynel Vallier | |||||||
| Director | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Joanne Tilley | |||||||
| Director | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Mark Gisi | |||||||
| Chair Person | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Janet Beaver | |||||||
| Vice-Chair Person | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Harvey A Kamionka | |||||||
| Co-Treasurer | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Michael Meyers | |||||||
| Secretary | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jim Ellis | |||||||
| Director | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Brian Gisi | |||||||
| Director | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Elaine Hutchings | |||||||
| Director | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Peter Jansky | |||||||
| Director | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Harvey E Kamionka | |||||||
| Director | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Carlos Pacheco | |||||||
| Chief Executive Officer | 40.00 | $443,989 | $0 | $29,994 | Yes (X) | ||
| Rick Allen | |||||||
| CEO/President | 40.00 | $435,311 | $0 | $30,926 | Yes (X) | ||
| Brian Resch | |||||||
| Chief Administrative Offic | 40.00 | $209,196 | $0 | $25,943 | Yes (X) | ||
| Jason Bauer | |||||||
| Chief Marketing Officer | 40.00 | $141,962 | $0 | $22,973 | Yes (X) | ||
| Matt Rarden | |||||||
| Chief Operating Officer | 40.00 | $200,141 | $0 | $13,511 | Yes (X) | ||
| Mark Rowan | |||||||
| Chief Information Officer | 40.00 | $170,616 | $0 | $18,273 | Yes (X) | ||
| Lindsay Sandham | |||||||
| Chief Lending Officer | 40.00 | $191,408 | $0 | $18,135 | Yes (X) | ||
| Mark Wiete | |||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | 40.00 | $263,823 | $0 | $22,246 | Yes (X) | ||
| Claire Lindley | |||||||
| VP Finance | 40.00 | $154,527 | $0 | $13,487 | Yes (X) | ||
| Jessica Hoyle | |||||||
| SVP Retail Delivery | 40.00 | $130,279 | $0 | $11,742 | Yes (X) | ||
| Danielle DeCamillis | |||||||
| VP Mortgage Operations | 40.00 | $124,122 | $0 | $8,408 | Yes (X) | ||
| Steven Shrader | |||||||
| VP Retail Operations | 40.00 | $123,830 | $0 | $11,215 | Yes (X) | ||
| Chad Wilcox | |||||||
| SVP Lending Operations | 40.00 | $129,061 | $0 | $11,495 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,718,265 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $238,348 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 18 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jack Henry & Associates | |||||
| PO Box 609 | Monett | MO | 65708 | Data Processor | $1,004,305 |
| FISERV | |||||
| PO Box 99924 | Grapevine | TX | 76099 | Data Processor | $747,860 |
| 247 Networks | |||||
| 7000 S Yosemite Ste 250 | Englewood | CO | 80112 | Communication Network | $442,449 |
| Doctus Partner LLC | |||||
| 4232 Wadsworth Blvd | Wheat Ridge | CO | 80033 | Building Rents | $363,725 |
| Holst & Boettcher LLP | |||||
| PO Box 298 | Longmont | CO | 80502 | Legal Services | $250,604 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 21 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interest on Loans to Members | 522100 | $29,262,119 | $29,262,119 |
| Other Income | 522100 | $6,265,824 | $6,265,824 |
| Fees and Other Charges to Members | 522100 | $5,002,340 | $5,002,340 |
| Misc Other Operating Income | 522100 | $2,051,928 | $2,051,928 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $42,582,211 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $2,016,899 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,016,899 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $365,595 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $288,900 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $76,695 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $76,695 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $76,695 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Non-Member ATM Fees | Desc |
| Business | 522100 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $23,233 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $23,233 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $23,233 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $44,699,038 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $42,658,906 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $23,233 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,016,899 | ExclusionAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,056,446 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $11,464,554 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $944,626 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,720,451 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $953,390 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $39,807 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $192,818 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,743,113 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $887,935 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,540,176 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,646,850 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $405,272 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,774 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,350,753 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $105,616 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| Provision for Loan Loss | $3,256,827 |
| Interest/Dividends Paid | $2,007,844 |
| Account/Loan Servicing | $1,927,253 |
| Goodwill Amortization E | $1,079,292 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $118,996 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $36,443,793 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,342,073 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,890,734 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $66,975,884 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $69,641,872 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,374,417 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,761,858 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $589,697,069 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $681,799,130 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $26,444,869 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $12,201,283 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,834,684 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,243,586 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $167,488,404 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $122,658,879 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,073,387 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,994,096 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $21,976,769 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,230,045 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $874,762,687 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $926,220,200 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,940,666 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,531,076 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $761,893,876 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $802,797,834 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $773,834,542 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $817,328,910 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,629,465 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,629,465 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $97,298,680 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $105,261,825 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $100,928,145 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $108,891,290 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $874,762,687 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $926,220,200 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $8,255,245 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$292,100 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $3,138,595 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $3,138,595 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $12,533,148 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $4,074,156 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $8,458,992 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $564,660 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $562,229 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $2,431 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $10,208,466 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $7,564,898 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $2,643,568 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $14,243,586 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| Nonperpetual Capital at Corporate CU | $500,005 | C |
| Perpetual Capital at Corporate CU | $1,268,886 | C |
| Available-for-sale Securities | $113,861,600 | F |
| Held-to-maturity Securities | $3,337,743 | C |
| Other Investments | $3,690,645 | C |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $122,658,879 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Members' Share and Deposit Accounts | Desc |
| Amt | $802,797,834 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $802,797,834 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $44,782,904 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Revenue | $83,866 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $83,866 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $44,699,038 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $44,699,038 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $36,527,659 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $83,866 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $83,866 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $36,443,793 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $36,443,793 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part X, Line 2: | The Credit Union is exempt, by statute, from federal and state income taxes on income related to its core purpose. The Credit Union pays tax on any unrelated business taxable income. The Credit Union had no significant tax liability for the year ended December 31, 2016. All income from the CUSO flows into the Credit Union and, as a result, is also tax exempt. ASC 740, Accounting for Uncertainty in Income Taxes prescribes a minimum recognition threshold and measurement methodology that a tax position taken or expected to be taken in a tax return is required to meet before being recognized in the financial statements. It also provides guidance for de-recognition, classification, interest and penalties, accounting in interim periods, disclosure, and transition. The Credit Union and its wholly-owned subsidiary are under regular audit by the tax authorities. The Credit Union believes that it has appropriate support for the positions taken on its tax returns and that its annual tax provision includes amounts sufficient to pay any assessments. Further, management believes that the Credit Union's tax-exempt status would be upheld in an examination. Nonetheless, the amounts ultimately paid, if any, upon resolution of the issues raised by the taxing authorities may differ materially from the amounts accrued for each year. The Credit Union and its CUSO file income tax returns in the United States federal and Colorado state jurisdictions. The Credit Union and its CUSO are no longer subject to income tax examinations for Colorado state income taxes before 2013 or for United States federal income taxes before 2013. The Credit Union classifies any interest on underpayments of income tax as 'Interest Expense', and classifies penalties in connection with underpayments of tax as 'Other Expense'. |
| Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | Gain on sale of building 83,866. |
| Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | Gain on sale of building 83,866. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Travel For Companions | Yes (X) | TravelForCompanionsInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (1) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlos Pacheco | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Executive Officer | $413,943 | $0 | $29,346 | $0 | $700 | $0 | $12,440 | $0 | $17,554 | $0 | $473,983 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Rick Allen | ||||||||||||||
| CEO/President | $405,965 | $0 | $29,346 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $12,472 | $0 | $18,454 | $0 | $466,237 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Brian Resch | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Administrative Offic | $171,639 | $0 | $37,557 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,981 | $0 | $16,962 | $0 | $235,139 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Jason Bauer | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Marketing Officer | $116,820 | $0 | $25,142 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,011 | $0 | $16,962 | $0 | $164,935 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Matt Rarden | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Operating Officer | $162,938 | $0 | $37,203 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,118 | $0 | $5,393 | $0 | $213,652 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Mark Rowan | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Information Officer | $137,697 | $0 | $32,919 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,179 | $0 | $11,094 | $0 | $188,889 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Lindsay Sandham | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Lending Officer | $157,443 | $0 | $33,965 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,094 | $0 | $10,041 | $0 | $209,543 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Mark Wiete | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | $218,083 | $0 | $45,740 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $10,116 | $0 | $12,130 | $0 | $286,069 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Claire Lindley | ||||||||||||||
| VP Finance | $130,180 | $0 | $24,347 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,519 | $0 | $6,968 | $0 | $168,014 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL
Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (15 entries)
| Loan PurposeLoanPurposeTxt | Loan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationInd | Original PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmt | Balance DueBalanceDueAmt | DefaultDefaultInd | Board Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd | Written AgreementWrittenAgreementInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlos Pacheco | ||||||
| FIRST MORTGAGE | Yes (X) | $608,000 | $533,412 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) |
| Brian Resch | ||||||
| FIRST MORTGAGE | Yes (X) | $308,000 | $245,129 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Jason Bauer | ||||||
| FIRST MORTGAGE | Yes (X) | $364,000 | $325,800 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Mark Rowan | ||||||
| FIRST MORTGAGE | Yes (X) | $294,000 | $258,731 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Mark Wiete | ||||||
| FIRST MORTGAGE | Yes (X) | $383,920 | $373,128 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Matt Rarden | ||||||
| FIRST MORTGAGE | Yes (X) | $286,500 | $272,133 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Lindsay Sandham | ||||||
| FIRST MORTGAGE | Yes (X) | $225,001 | $219,221 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Mark Wiete | ||||||
| HOME EQUITY LINE OF CREDIT | Yes (X) | $65,000 | $64,333 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Mark Rowan | ||||||
| HOME EQUITY LINE OF CREDIT | Yes (X) | $100,000 | $47,229 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Lindsay Sandham | ||||||
| FIRST MORTGAGE | Yes (X) | $280,000 | $279,559 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Matt Rarden | ||||||
| AUTO LOAN | Yes (X) | $36,000 | $36,000 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Mark Wiete | ||||||
| AUTO LOAN | Yes (X) | $42,424 | $42,092 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Matt Rarden | ||||||
| HOME EQUITY LINE OF CREDIT | Yes (X) | $25,000 | $9,807 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Lindsay Sandham | ||||||
| AUTO LOAN | Yes (X) | $31,174 | $31,174 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Lindsay Sandham | ||||||
| AUTO LOAN | Yes (X) | $27,541 | $24,110 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Balance Due | $2,761,858 | TotalBalanceDueAmt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2 | Mark Gisi, Chair Person of the Board of Directors, and Brian Gisi, Board of Director-Member, have a family relationship. Harvey A. Kamionka, Treasurer of the Board of Directors, and Harvey E. Kamionka, Board of Director-Member, also have a family relationship. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6 | Premier Members Credit Union, formerly doing business as Boulder Valley Credit Union is a member-owned financial cooperative that is operated for the benefit of the employees and retirees of the Boulder Valley School District, the employees and retirees of the International Business Machines (IBM) Corporation, and certain related organizations, who work in Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho and Utah, teachers and retirees of the Adams County School District, various approved select employee groups and their families and the individuals who joined the Credit Union by contributing to select charitable organizations. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7a | The members of the credit union annually elect the Board of Directors to serve for multiple-year terms by mailing in ballots or voting at an annual meeting. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7b | Various decisions made by the Board of Directors for a credit union are subject to approval by the members of the credit union as set forth in NCUA rules and regulations and applicable state regulations. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | The completed Form 990 is reviewed by the Chief Executive Officer/President, the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer prior to filing. The President/CEO and Chief Executive Officer are both authorized to sign and file the return. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | At time of hire and at least once each year, all employees are asked to complete a written acknowledgment to disclose any potential conflicts of interest. Credit union volunteers are similarly requested to disclose any such conflicts of interest upon taking office. The Board of Directors reviews the Code of Conduct Policy annually. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | For President/CEO compensation, the Board Chair Person annually conducts research on executive compensation, utilizing industry survey data from organizations such as CUES and D. Hilton. The Board approves the recommended compensation structure for the CEO position. For top management compensation, the credit union utilized BalancedComp as an independent compensation consultant, and also validates BalancedComp's data against industry surveys such as CUES. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | The organization's governing documents and conflict of interest policy are are available for review upon request at the credit union. Monthly financial statements are available and on display at the credit union. Quarterly financial data is accessible to the public at www.ncua.gov. |
| Form 990, Part XI, Line 2C | Selection of the auditors and oversight of the auditors is done by the Supervisory Committee. There were no changes to the selection or oversight practices during 2016. Holben Hay Lake Balzer, CPAs LLC was engaged to perform the Credit Union's December 31, 2016 opinion audit. |