STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

MAGIC VALLEY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MAGIC VALLEY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 74-0758801)
Tax period
2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
Filed
2017-11-09
IRS object ID
201733139349300418
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-11-09T07:53:32-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN740758801EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MAGIC VALLEY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMAGIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9565141200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 267AddressLine1Txt
CityMERCEDESCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP785700267ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOHN W HERRERAPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone9565141200PhoneNum
Signature2017-11-08SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2017-11-01PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address65.182.80.152IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-11-08IPDt
IP Tm10:42:09IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdBB0A6EFF21CE0653C6B3B49029A3E11A3F81D504AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id587910E538FB33049B4D87AFCCD061243FC33F22AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJOHN W HERRERAPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 267AddressLine1Txt
CityMERCEDESCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP785700267ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$216,379,603GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.MAGICVALLEY.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee283TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$211,328,916PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$215,787,507CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$97,215PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$140,560CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$406,696PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$443,339CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$211,832,827PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$216,371,406CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$125,915PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$8,480CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$20,563,639PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$17,912,125CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,960,145PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,066,469CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$178,183,128PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$184,384,332CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$211,832,827PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$216,371,406CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$379,629,971TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$402,925,448TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$154,814,881TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$165,762,319TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$224,815,090NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$237,163,129NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO ENHANCE PEOPLE'S LIVES BY SAFELY PROVIDING THE MOST RELIABLE AND AFFORDABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE BY KEEPING OUR MEMBER'S BEST INTEREST IN MIND.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS - 118,434 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END WERE PROVIDED ELECTRICITY ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document9IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee283EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$204,872,821MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$880,784OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention Policy0DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DANE HOCOTTBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9565141200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 3/4 MILE WEST HWY 83AddressLine1Txt
CityMERCEDESCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP785700267ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MARTIN GARCIA
PRESIDENT8.60Yes (X)Yes (X)$38,391$0$0
REYNALDO LOPEZ
VICE-PRESIDENT6.60Yes (X)Yes (X)$31,391$0$0
BARBARA S MILLER
SECRETARY/TREASURER6.80Yes (X)Yes (X)$28,391$0$0
MG DYER
ASST SECRETARY/TREASURER (JAN-JUNE)1.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,946$0$0
ROLANDO ALANIZ
ASST SECRETARY/TREASURER7.90Yes (X)Yes (X)$31,891$0$0
DOUGLAS MARTIN
DIRECTOR5.40Yes (X)$24,891$0$0
NILA T WIPF
DIRECTOR6.70Yes (X)$28,891$0$0
JOHN W HERRERA
GENERAL MANAGER50.00Yes (X)$276,114$0$141,624
DANE HOCOTT
SERVICES DIVISION MANAGER40.00Yes (X)$130,480$0$59,584
FELIPE AMAYA
TECHNICAL SERVICES MANAGER40.00$116,926$0$29,532Yes (X)
ATANACIO HINOJOSA
WESTERN DIVISION MANAGER40.00$129,029$0$31,745Yes (X)
BRIAN ACOSTA
EASTERN DIVISION MANAGER40.00$127,937$0$46,344Yes (X)
JESUS S ALANIS
LEAD LINEMAN/ASSISTANT SUPERINTENDENT40.00$106,213$0$36,422Yes (X)
ABRAHAM QUIROGA
BUSINESS & EMPLOYEE DEVELO40.00$109,469$0$30,943Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,182,960TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$376,194TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
T & D SOLUTIONS
PO BOX 11948ALEXANDRIALA71315CONSTRUCTION$6,308,393
ASPLUNDH TREE EXPERT CO
PO BOX 532729ATLANTAGA30353TREE TRIMMING$1,275,267
UTILITEC
1911 WOODSLEE DRIVETROYMI48083BILLING SERVICES$866,278
QPI&M INC
PO BOX 947EDNATX77957POLE INSPECTION & MAINTENANCE$490,134
NOBLE TEXAS BUILDERS
435 S TEXAS BLVDWESLACOTX78596BUILDING CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$290,581
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$198,635,816$198,635,816
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$11,648,773$11,648,773
SERVICE FEES221000$5,502,918$5,502,918
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$215,787,507TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$110,311TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$110,311ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$6,000RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$6,000RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$6,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$6,000ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$31,149OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$900OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$30,249OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$30,249TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$30,249ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$4,480GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$7,297CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$2,817TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$2,817RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPOLE ATTACHMENT INCOMEDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$440,156TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$440,156ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$440,156OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$216,371,406TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$215,784,690RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$586,716ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,480TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,912,125TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$794,594TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,036,035TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,966,936TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,569,209TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$699,695TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,830,738TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,358,534TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$153,387,412
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$6,331,513
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$5,931,500
CONSUMER EXPENSE$2,895,861

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$648,774TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$216,371,406TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,459,784BOYAmt
EOY$2,345,098EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,376,684BOYAmt
EOY$204,245EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,336,331BOYAmt
EOY$9,448,405EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,955,553BOYAmt
EOY$3,974,142EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,778,324BOYAmt
EOY$5,300,779EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$341,709,892LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$62,603,282LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$264,381,132BOYAmt
EOY$279,106,610EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,113,050BOYAmt
EOY$102,489,244EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$229,113BOYAmt
EOY$56,925EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$379,629,971BOYAmt
EOY$402,925,448EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,563,784BOYAmt
EOY$21,267,802EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$906,980BOYAmt
EOY$876,204EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$126,060,615BOYAmt
EOY$133,527,492EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,283,502BOYAmt
EOY$10,090,821EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$154,814,881BOYAmt
EOY$165,762,319EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$472,400BOYAmt
EOY$484,585EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$224,342,690BOYAmt
EOY$236,678,544EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$224,815,090BOYAmt
EOY$237,163,129EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$379,629,971BOYAmt
EOY$402,925,448EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$12,348,039OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$30,846InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$214,094OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$244,940BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,939,931OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,130,969DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,808,962BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$311,337,966OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$58,472,313DepreciationAmt
Book Value$252,865,653BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,187,055OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$17,187,055BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$279,106,610TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (10 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$3,414,887C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - TEC$1,413,537C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES - CFC$3,418,855C
INVESTMENT IN CFC MEMBERSHIP$1,000C
OTHER INVESTMENTS$1,060C
CONTRIBUTED CAPITAL - STEC$11,199,850C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - STEC$82,752,993C
MEMBER CAPITAL SECURITIES - CFC$100,000C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - COBANK$168,582C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRTC$18,480C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$102,489,244TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$7,017,746
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES$3,073,075
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$10,090,821TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$216,390,779TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$19,373OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$19,373RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$216,371,406RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$216,371,406TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$198,478,654TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$19,373OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$19,373ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$198,459,281ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$17,912,125OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$17,912,125ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$216,371,406TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR SCHOLARSHIPS TO ENABLE STUDENTS FROM RURAL AREAS TO ATTEND COLLEGE, TECHNICAL SCHOOL OR OTHER POST SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTION. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE RURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED. ALSO PURSUANT TO SECTION 74.3013 OF THE TEXAS PROPERTY CODE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED AN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND WITH AMOUNTS DESIGNATED UNCLAIMED UNDER STATE LAW. THE AMOUNTS DEPOSITED INTO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND ARE APPROVED BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND CAN ONLY BE USED FOR THE STIMULATION AND IMPROVEMENT OF BUSINESS AND COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY FOR ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT IN RURAL COMMUNITIES. ANY AMOUNTS SO DEPOSITED INTO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FUND ARE STILL PAYABLE TO THE PERSON TO WHOM THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT WAS MADE BUT UNCLAIMED.
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE ADOPTED THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES RECORDED IN NON-OPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSES 19,373.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES RECORDED IN NON-OPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSES 19,373.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 17,912,125.
SCHEDULE DPART IX: THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5 PERCENT OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK. PART XII, LINE 4B: PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE - $17,912,125 FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID OR ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JOHN W HERRERA
GENERAL MANAGER$255,957$0$5,910$0$14,247$0$134,460$0$7,164$0$417,738$0$0$0
DANE HOCOTT
SERVICES DIVISION MANAGER$114,245$0$3,926$0$12,309$0$44,185$0$15,399$0$190,064$0$0$0
ATANACIO HINOJOSA
WESTERN DIVISION MANAGER$113,936$0$2,928$0$12,165$0$16,657$0$15,088$0$160,774$0$0$0
BRIAN ACOSTA
EASTERN DIVISION MANAGER$112,092$0$3,639$0$12,206$0$28,902$0$17,442$0$174,281$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFROM 990, PART II, COLUMN CFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. JOHN W HERRERA: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 122,937 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 11,523 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 134,460 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (122,937) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 62,477 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 74,000 DANE HOCOTT: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 38,921 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,264 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 44,185 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (38,921) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 28,485 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 33,749 ATANACIO HINOJOSA: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 11,398 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,259 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 16,657 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (11,398) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 28,485 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 33,744 BRIAN ACOSTA: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 23,643 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,259 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 28,902 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (23,643) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 28,485 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 33,744ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (17 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE. 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE; 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION; 3. THE DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS; 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION, REVIEW AND APPROVAL PRIOR TO FILING. THE DISCUSSION AND REVIEW WAS PERFORMED AT THE BOARD MEETING IMMEDIATELY BEFORE FILING THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW AND BE FAMILIAR WITH THE POLICIES OUTLINED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY ACTION OR SITUATION THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE POLICY TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS REVIEWED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS USE A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE SURVEY SHOWS COMPARATIVE SALARIES FOR GENERAL MANAGERS FROM COOPERATIVES LOCATED IN TEXAS AND THE NATION. THE BOARD AND THE GENERAL MANAGER USE A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICER AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY. THE SURVEY INCLUDES SALARIES FROM SIMILAR COOPERATIVES THROUGHOUT TEXAS AND THE NATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES A SUMMARIZED AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, OR GOVERNING DOCUMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN FIN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IXALTHOUGH THE COOPERATIVE IS NO LONGER A RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) BORROWER, ITS ACCOUNTING RECORDS ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RUS UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTING DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1 - 23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1 - 23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. IN AN EFFORT TO EXPLAIN WHY THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 DO NOT AGREE TO THE TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID THE FOLLOWING RECONCILIATION IS PROVIDED. TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 9,830,629 LESS DIRECTORS FEES REPORTED ON 1099-MISC (186,792) LESS EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS REPORTED ON LINE 5 (201,208) PLUS SALARIES AND WAGES ALLOCATED TO NONOPERATING MARGINS 3,676 PLUS SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 2,293,923 PLUS SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING & OTHER ACCOUNTS 2,609,281 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 14,349,509
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: GENERAL OFFICE EXPENSE $ 2,764,053 OUTSIDE SERVICES EMPLOYED 458,114 INJURIES AND DAMAGES 562,653 PROPERTY INSURANCE 115,572 REGULATORY COMMISSION EXPENSE 335,901 DIRECTORS EXPENSES 57,522 DUES IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS 20,019 ANNUAL AND DISTRICT MEETING EXPENSE 69,203 OUT OF TOWN BUSINESS MEETINGS 154,336 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 1,394,127 TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENERAL EXPENSE PER 990 $ 5,931,500
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2016 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 1ALL GRANTS AND DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA. ALL DONATIONS ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT AND/OR DONATION MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PART II.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 17,912,125. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED -5,576,271. NET INCREASE IN MEMBERSHIPS 12,185.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAVE ASSIGNED MEMBERS TO AN AUDIT COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.