STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

MISSISSIPPI HIGHER EDUCATION ASSISTANCE CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MISSISSIPPI HIGHER EDUCATION ASSISTANCE CORPORATION (EIN 64-0642776)
Tax period
2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Filed
2025-11-12
IRS object ID
202523169349305692
Schema version
2024v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-11-12T13:27:43+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN440160260PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Forvis Mazars LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 3667AddressLine1Txt
CityLittle RockCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP722033667ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN640642776EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MISSISSIPPI HIGHER EDUCATION ASSISTANCE CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMISSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6013215555PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 5008AddressLine1Txt
CityJacksonCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39296ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWilliam F AlvisPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6013215556PhoneNum
Signature2025-11-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAmber SherrillPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00748683PTIN
Phone5013721040PhoneNum
Preparation2025-11-12PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1William F AlvisBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 5008AddressLine1Txt
CityJacksonCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39296ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$8,626,790GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresshttps://mheac.get2college.org/mheac.htmlWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1980FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSECONDARY MARKET FOR STUDENT LOANS, APPROXIMATELY 4,972 CLIENTS WERE SERVED IN 2024.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body12VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent12VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers1TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,759,850PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,185,522CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$5,401,650PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$4,791,497CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$619,841PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$649,771CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$9,781,341PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$8,626,790CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$830,000PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$822,000CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$8,179,973PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,940,746CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$9,009,973PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$7,762,746CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$771,368PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$864,044CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$117,087,253TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$98,577,498TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$83,282,653TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$63,908,854TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$33,804,600NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$34,668,644NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSecondary Market for Student Loans, Approximately 4,972 clients were served in 2024. The primary source of funds to acquire the student loans was the issuance of tax-exempt bonds and taxable notes. In July 2014, the Corporation amended its Articles of Incorporation expanding its exempt purpose and refinanced its tax-exempt bonds with taxable bonds. The Corporation is the parent of Woodward Hines Education Foundation (WHEF) which provides administrative, staffing and management services to the Corporation. in addition, WHEF provides college planning services to students and parents including college access and financial aid counseling in the state of Mississippi through its three college planning centers.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$6,757,909ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$4,791,497RevenueAmt
DescTHE CORPORATION SERVICED STUDENT LOANS INCURRED UNDER THE HIGHER EDUCATION ACT OF 1965 AS AMENDED. THE PRIMARY SOURCE OF FUNDS WAS THE ISSUANCE OF TAX-EXEMPT BONDS AND TAXABLE NOTES. IN 2014, THE CORPORATION ISSUED TAXABLE BONDS TO REFINANCE ITS DEBT AND IS NO LONGER ELIGIBLE TO ISSUE TAX-EXEMPT BONDS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$822,000ExpenseAmt
Grant$822,000GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescFUNDS CONTRIBUTED TO WOODWARD HINES EDUCATION FOUNDATION FOR ITS GENERAL OPERATIONS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$7,579,909TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentfalseReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document0IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members12GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member12IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersfalsePoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedurefalseWrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1William F AlvisBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6013215555PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12616 Lakeward DrAddressLine1Txt
CityJacksonCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39216ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Debra McGee
Board Member/Board Vice Chair1.01.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$6,900$0
Nathan Slater
Board Member/Board Chair1.02.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$10,800$0
Andrew Mullins
Board Member Through 5/28/241.01.0Yes (X)$0$2,700$0
Camille Young
Board Member1.01.0Yes (X)$0$2,400$0
Carla Kirkland
Board Member Beg 5/28/241.01.0Yes (X)$0$3,900$0
Cedric Bradley
Board Member1.01.0Yes (X)$0$6,900$0
David Martin
Board Member1.01.0Yes (X)$0$6,300$0
Eddie Carlisle
Board Member Through 5/28/241.01.0Yes (X)$0$1,500$0
Errick Simmons
Board Member Beg 5/28/241.01.0Yes (X)$0$4,200$0
Haley Fisackerly
Board Member1.01.0Yes (X)$0$1,500$0
John Hill
Board Member1.01.0Yes (X)$0$7,800$0
Michael Cormack
Board Member1.01.0Yes (X)$0$5,700$0
Mike Highfield
Board Member Beg 5/28/241.01.0Yes (X)$0$3,000$0
Robert Leard
Board Member1.01.0Yes (X)$0$7,200$0
James McHale
President/CEO1.040.0Yes (X)$0$293,500$70,527
Minette Ketchings
COO/Secretary1.040.0Yes (X)$0$166,764$31,849
William Alvis
CFO/Treasurer1.040.0Yes (X)$0$205,906$54,666
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$736,970TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$157,042TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NAVIENT SOLUTIONS INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 8003AddressLine1Txt
CityFISHERSCityNm
State AbbreviationINStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP46038ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesSERVICING FEESServicesDesc
Compensation$248,771CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$3,185,522GovernmentGrantsAmt
Total Contributions$3,185,522TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
STUDENT LOAN INTEREST522294$4,719,993$4,719,993
LATE FEES522294$71,504$71,504

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$4,791,497TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$649,771TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$649,771ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,626,790TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,791,497RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$649,771ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$822,000TotalAmt
Program Services$822,000ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,095,107TotalAmt
Program Services$5,095,107ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$280,565TotalAmt
Program Services$280,565ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
CONSOLIDATION REBATE$779,851$779,851
ADMINISTRATION & LOAN FEES$664,885$482,048$182,837
BAD DEBT$62,693$62,693
BOND FEES$57,645$57,645

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,762,746TotalAmt
Program Services$7,579,909ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$182,837ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,834BOYAmt
EOY$10,249EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,528,253BOYAmt
EOY$2,598,016EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,030,513BOYAmt
EOY$92,190,967EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$223,239BOYAmt
EOY$4,958EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$0LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$0LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,294,414BOYAmt
EOY$3,773,308EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$117,087,253BOYAmt
EOY$98,577,498EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$191,653BOYAmt
EOY$147,010EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$83,091,000BOYAmt
EOY$63,761,844EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$83,282,653BOYAmt
EOY$63,908,854EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,804,600BOYAmt
EOY$34,668,644EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,804,600BOYAmt
EOY$34,668,644EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$117,087,253BOYAmt
EOY$98,577,498EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$864,044ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$590,678CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$564,680CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$689,594CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,759,850CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,185,522CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,790,324TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,757,430CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,010,123CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,282,569CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,401,650CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,791,497CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$31,243,269TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$8,348,108CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,574,803CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,972,163CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,161,500CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,977,019CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$40,033,593TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$40,033,593PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$165,095CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$111,559CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$275,163CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$619,841CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$649,771CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,821,429TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$165,095CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$111,559CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$275,163CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$619,841CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$649,771CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,821,429TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$8,513,203CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,686,362CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,247,326CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,781,341CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,626,790CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$41,855,022TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.95648PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.9655PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.04InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.0345InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$6,993,823TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$6,993,823RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$1,632,967OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1,632,967RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$8,626,790TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$6,129,779TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$6,129,779ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,632,967OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,632,967ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$7,762,746TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2MANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED THEIR INCOME TAX POSITIONS UNDER THE GUIDANCE INCLUDED IN ASC 740. BASED ON THEIR REVIEW, MANAGEMENT HAS NOT IDENTIFIED ANY MATERIAL TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECORDED OR DISCLOSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4(b) Other revenues in form 990 not in audited financial statementsINTEREST INCOME/EXPENSE DIFFERENCE FROM AUDIT - 644635 EXPENSES INCLUDED IN REVENUE ON AUDIT REPORT - 988332
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statementsINTEREST INCOME/EXPENSE DIFFERENCE FROM AUDIT - 644635 EXPENSES INCLUDED IN REVENUE ON AUDIT REPORT - 988332

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Woodward Hines Education FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 5008AddressLine1Txt
CityJacksonCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39296ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN640860939RecipientEIN
IRC Section501 (c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$822,000CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc
Purpose Of GrantGeneral OperationsPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant fundsFormAndLineReferenceDesc
Explanationmanagement of Woodward Hines Education foundation provides monthly financial reports to the Corporation's Board of Directors. In addition, management provides status updates of its activities to the Corporation's Board at its Board Meetings held 5 times a year.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
James McHale
President/CEO$0$292,708$0$0$0$792$0$65,927$0$4,600$0$364,027$0$0
William Alvis
CFO/Treasurer$0$205,114$0$0$0$792$0$26,129$0$28,537$0$260,572$0$0
Minette Ketchings
COO/Secretary$0$165,972$0$0$0$792$0$20,204$0$11,645$0$198,613$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 3WOODWARD HINES EDUCATION FOUNDATION, A RELATED ENTITY, ESTABLISHED THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO THROUGH AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT, A COMPENSATION SURVEY OR STUDY, AND APPROVAL BY THE BOARD.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLANJAMES MCHALE PARTICIPATES IN THE 457(F) PLAN AND IS THE SOLE PARTICIPANT. HE RECEIVED CONTRIBUTIONS OF $30,500 IN 2024. HE WILL NOT BE VESTED IN THE PLAN UNTIL JANUARY 31, 2029.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15 A & BThe process of determining compensation is managed by a related organization, Woodward Hines Education Foundation. Currently the Corporation has no employees. THE RELATED ORGANIZATION'S EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ASSUMES THE RESPONSIBILITY FOR DETERMINING FAIR AND COMPETITIVE COMPENSATION FOR THE ORGANIZATION'S OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPROVES THE COMPENSATION OF THE ORGANIZATION'S OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES. AN INDEPENDENT CONSULTING FIRM WAS PAID TO PERFORM A COMPENSATION STUDY FOR ALL POSITIONS IN 2022 TO DETERMINE SALARIES FOR 2023-2025. THIS WILL BE REPEATED EVERY THREE TO FOUR YEARS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyThe CFO and COO review the document after completion. Once the final draft is received, the document is loaded to an online board portal for the CEO and board of directors review.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyCOI forms are completed annually by officers and directors and employees of the related organization. the Corporate Secretary reviews the forms as does the CEO. the CEO and Corporate Secretary monitor business dealings throughout the year for potential conflicts. Actual conflicts of interest are reported to either the Corporate Secretary, the chair of the Audit Committee or general counsel. Individuals with potential or actual conflicts are prohibited from participating in deliberations and decisions in the transaction.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicGoverning documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements are available to the public upon request
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c Organization Committee Oversight of AuditThe Corporation maintains an audit committee which assumes the responsibility for oversight of the financial statement audit by independent Certified Public Accountants. This process has not changed from the prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Woodward Hines Education FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 5008AddressLine1Txt
CityJacksonCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39296ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN640860939EIN
Primary ActivitiesHigher Education ServicesPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMSLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusType IPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Mississippi Higher Education Assistance CorporationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Woodward Hines Education Foundation
B$822,000Fair Market Value
Woodward Hines Education Foundation
M$398,353Fair Market Value