STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION (EIN 95-1184903)
Tax period
2015-01-01 to 2015-12-31
Filed
2016-11-15
IRS object ID
201603209349315955
Schema version
2015v2.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2016-11-15T17:05:21-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S FLOWER STREET 41ST FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityLOS ANGELESCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90071ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN951184903EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSANDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8777322848PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16545 SEQUENCE DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CitySAN DIEGOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP92121ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonASHLEE MICALEPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8777322848PhoneNum
Signature2016-11-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCHRISTOPHER M PEKULAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00734965PTIN
Phone2133304800PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2017-02-10 21:41:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTERESA HALLECKPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16545 SEQUENCE DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CitySAN DIEGOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP92121ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$251,061,382GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.SDCCU.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1938FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSTATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNION PROVIDING FINANCIAL SERVICES TO MEMBERSActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1025TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers11TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$2,636,521TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$2,312,353NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$193,645,165PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$215,807,492CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$23,418,666PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$25,442,635CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$19,765,438PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$9,811,255CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$236,829,269PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$251,061,382CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$48,839,848PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$61,345,254CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$92,513,617PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$101,829,797CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$141,353,465PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$163,175,051CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$95,475,804PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$87,886,331CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$6,731,716,805TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$7,169,792,526TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$5,825,996,687TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$6,176,187,887TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$905,720,118NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$993,604,639NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionA NOT-FOR-PROFIT CREDIT UNION WHOLLY OWNED BY ITS MEMBERSMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDE LOAN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO MEMBERSHIPDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPROVIDE DEPOSIT PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO MEMBERSHIPDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPROVIDE OTHER FINANCIAL SERVICES TO MEMBERSHIPDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (1)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document73849IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1025EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower Policy0WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAZStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MS ASHLEE MICALE CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8777322848PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16545 SEQUENCE DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CitySAN DIEGOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP92121ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
TERESA HALLECK
CEO & PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,199,513$0$4,395,077
ILAN AWERBUCH
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA HONEYCUTT
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD COLLINS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVE REUEL
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$861$0$0
SHIRLEY JACKSON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAURIE LEVENSON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTOPHER HART
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LINDE HOTCHKISS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEN VAN RIPER
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HEATHER BENJAMIN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHITRAPHOL T VONGSAWAD
COO40.00Yes (X)$417,377$0$109,346
ASHLEE N MICALE
EXECUTIVE VP & CFO40.00Yes (X)$362,358$0$23,755
HEATHER E MOSHIER
EXECUTIVE VP - IT40.00$367,305$0$94,858Yes (X)
DALE TURNER
EVP - REAL ESTATE40.00$349,744$0$24,373Yes (X)
NATHAN S SCHMIDT
EVP - MARKETING & BUSINESS40.00$294,165$0$30,619Yes (X)
MICHELLE PAGNI
EVP - HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$289,400$0$43,320Yes (X)
PATRICK COSGROVE
EVP - CONSUMER LENDING40.00$281,684$0$38,363Yes (X)
MARC A MATHEWS
VP - BUSINESS LOAN ORIGINA40.00$217,663$0-$24,626Yes (X)
CAROLYN KISSICK
SVP, OPS & CARD SERVIES40.00$226,930$0$14,984Yes (X)
PATRICIA ZERVIC
SVP, REAL ESTATE40.00$217,880$0$16,794Yes (X)
MICHAEL CORPUZ
SVP, BUSINESS LENDING40.00$209,500$0$13,364Yes (X)
BRADLEY BATES
DIRECTOR OF INTERNAL AUDIT40.00$223,000$0$16,239Yes (X)
ROD CALVAO
DIRECTOR & FORMER CEO1.00$425,000$0-$308,969Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$5,082,380TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$4,487,497TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K15IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SHEPPARD MULLIN RICHTER & HAMPTON LLP
333 SOUTH HOPE ST 43RD FLLACA90071LEGAL SERVICES$3,214,054
VACO LA JOLLA LLC
5410 MARYLAND WAY STE 460BRENTWOODTN37027TEMPORARY STAFFING$1,396,464
UNIVERSAL PROTECTION SERVICE LP
PO BOX 101034PASADENACA91189SECURITY SERVICES$812,262
MICROSOFT LICENSING GP
1401 ELM ST FL 5 DEPT 842467DALLASTX75202LICENSING SERVICES$703,301
ACCENTURE LLC
PO BOX 70629CHICAGOIL60673MORTGAGE DOCUMENTS SW LICENSING$653,894
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K19CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INTEREST INCOME522100$161,559,323$161,559,323
FEE INCOME522200$54,248,169$51,611,648$2,636,521
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$215,807,492TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$21,904,826TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$21,904,826ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$3,537,809OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$3,537,809OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,537,809TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,537,809ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
OTHER INCOME522100$2,613,807$2,613,807
PROVISION FOR LOANS522100$2,360,000$2,360,000
MEMBER INVESTMENT SERVICES522100$2,068,638$2,068,638

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,768,810TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,768,810RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$9,811,255OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$251,061,382TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$222,982,226RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,636,521UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$25,442,635ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,872,418TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,294,831TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,502,642TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,098,267TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,577,096TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,287,648TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$947,103TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,000TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,377,898TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,168,411TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,140,138TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,375,508TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$359,929TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,038,482TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,083,841TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$639,876TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
LOAN PROCESSING EXPENSE$5,224,997
COMPUTER MAINTENANCE$4,828,483
OTHER OPERATING LOSSES$3,914,242
EQUIPMENT EXPENSE$2,235,946

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,190,295TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$163,175,051TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$316,469,140BOYAmt
EOY$473,388,666EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,077,214,695BOYAmt
EOY$4,974,572,970EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,806,128BOYAmt
EOY$5,067,552EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$123,901,041LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$69,246,765LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,482,281BOYAmt
EOY$54,654,276EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,906,704,776BOYAmt
EOY$1,434,860,997EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$374,039,785BOYAmt
EOY$227,248,065EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,731,716,805BOYAmt
EOY$7,169,792,526EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,020,351BOYAmt
EOY$39,209,850EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,759,976,336BOYAmt
EOY$6,136,978,037EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,825,996,687BOYAmt
EOY$6,176,187,887EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$905,720,118BOYAmt
EOY$993,604,639EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$905,720,118BOYAmt
EOY$993,604,639EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,731,716,805BOYAmt
EOY$7,169,792,526EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$87,886,331ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$1,810NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$17,000PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Expended527 Activities$17,000Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$17,000TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL Filed0Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CALIFORNIA CREDIT UNION LEAGUE PACBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12855 E GUASTI ROAD SUITE 600AddressLine1Txt
CityONTARIOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP91761ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN942329967EIN
Paid Internal Funds$17,000PaidInternalFundsAmt
Contributions Rcvd Dlvr$17,000ContributionsRcvdDlvrAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I-A, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION MADE A CONTRIBUTION TO THE CALIFORNIA CREDIT UNION LEAGUE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITEE WHICH IS INVOLVED IN PROMOTING LEGISLATIVE AND REGULATORY MATTERS OF IMPORTANCE TO THE CREDIT UNION INDUSTRY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,718,959OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$12,718,959BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$36,496,985OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$18,152,727DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,344,258BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,772,822OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,612,097DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,160,725BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$58,481,022OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$44,481,941DepreciationAmt
Book Value$13,999,081BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,431,253OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,431,253BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$54,654,276TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
GOVERNMENT INVESTMENTS$160,556F
GOVERNMENT INVESTMENTS$1,094,200,441C
FHLB OF SAN FRANCISCO$40,500,000F
REPO AGREEMENTS INVESTMENT$300,000,000F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$1,434,860,997TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
MEMBERS' SHARES$5,836,978,037
CALIFORNIA TREASURY DEPOSITS$300,000,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$6,136,978,037TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$251,061,382TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$251,061,382RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$251,061,382TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$163,175,051TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$163,175,051ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$163,175,051TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14). AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES THAT ARE IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME (AS DEFINED IN SECTION 512) DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. MANY STATES HAVE SIMILAR LAWS. THE SPECIFIC APPLICATION OF SECTION 512 TO THE VARIOUS ACTIVITIES CONDUCTED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS HAS BEEN AT ISSUE FOR MANY YEARS. DURING 2007 THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) ISSUED A SERIES OF TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDA (TAM) TO A NUMBER OF STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS LOCATED THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY. IN THESE TAMS, THE IRS RULED CERTAIN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO BE SUBJECT TO TAXATION AS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. IN LIGHT OF THE TAMS, THE CREDIT UNION HAS ASSESSED ITS ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX LIABILITY. MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THAT NO LIABILITY EXISTS FROM FEDERAL OR STATE TAXATION OF ACTIVITIES DEEMED TO BE UNRELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE. FASB CODIFICATION TOPIC 740, INCOME TAXES, PROVIDES GUIDANCE FOR HOW UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS SHOULD BE RECOGNIZED, MEASURED, DISCLOSED AND PRESENTED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THIS REQUIRES THE EVALUATION OF TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN THE COURSE OF PREPARING THE CREDIT UNION'S TAX RETURNS TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE TAX POSITIONS ARE MORE LIKELY THAN NOT TO BE SUSTAINED "WHEN CHALLENGED OR "WHEN EXAMINED" BY THE APPLICABLE TAX AUTHORITY. TAX POSITIONS NOT DEEMED TO MEET THE MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT THRESHOLD WOULD BE RECORDED AS A TAX EXPENSE AND LIABILITY IN THE CURRENT YEAR. FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2015 AND 2014, MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THAT THERE ARE NO MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
TERESA HALLECK
CEO & PRESIDENT$759,066$0$433,752$0$6,695$0$4,387,765$0$7,312$0$5,594,590$0$0$0
CHITRAPHOL T VONGSAWAD
COO$347,377$0$70,000$0$0$0$89,455$0$19,891$0$526,723$0$0$0
ASHLEE N MICALE
EXECUTIVE VP & CFO$317,358$0$45,000$0$0$0$23,155$0$600$0$386,113$0$0$0
HEATHER E MOSHIER
EXECUTIVE VP - IT$312,305$0$55,000$0$0$0$88,270$0$6,588$0$462,163$0$0$0
DALE TURNER
EVP - REAL ESTATE$299,494$0$50,250$0$0$0$19,438$0$4,935$0$374,117$0$0$0
NATHAN S SCHMIDT
EVP - MARKETING & BUSINESS$244,165$0$50,000$0$0$0$17,108$0$13,511$0$324,784$0$0$0
MICHELLE PAGNI
EVP - HUMAN RESOURCES$239,400$0$50,000$0$0$0$42,363$0$957$0$332,720$0$0$0
PATRICK COSGROVE
EVP - CONSUMER LENDING$231,684$0$50,000$0$0$0$23,935$0$14,428$0$320,047$0$0$0
MARC A MATHEWS
VP - BUSINESS LOAN ORIGINA$135,000$0$82,663$0$0$0-$32,455$0$7,829$0$193,037$0$0$0
CAROLYN KISSICK
SVP, OPS & CARD SERVIES$196,930$0$30,000$0$0$0$8,622$0$6,362$0$241,914$0$0$0
PATRICIA ZERVIC
SVP, REAL ESTATE$217,880$0$0$0$0$0$8,913$0$7,881$0$234,674$0$0$0
MICHAEL CORPUZ
SVP, BUSINESS LENDING$209,500$0$0$0$0$0$6,738$0$6,626$0$222,864$0$0$0
BRADLEY BATES
DIRECTOR OF INTERNAL AUDIT$198,000$0$25,000$0$0$0$8,384$0$7,855$0$239,239$0$0$0
ROD CALVAO
DIRECTOR & FORMER CEO$0$0$0$0$425,000$0-$308,969$0$0$0$116,031$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1ATHE FOLLOWING DIRECTORS WERE PROVIDED BENEFITS AND REIMBURSEMENTS RELATING TO TRAVEL FOR COMPANIONS: STEVE REUEL - $861 THE FOLLOWING EMPLOYEES WERE PROVIDED BENEFITS AND REIMBURSEMENTS RELATING TO A CAR ALLOWANCE: CHITRAPHOL T. VONGSAWAD - $7,477 HEATHER E. MOSHIER - $5,608 NATHAN S. SCHMIDT - $5,608
PART I, LINE 4BSCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4B: SDCCU PROVIDES CERTAIN OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, KEY EMPLOYEES AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EXECUTIVES WITH A SPLIT-DOLLAR SUPPLEMEMTAL EXECUTIVE RETIREMENT PLAN (SERP) TO AUGMENT RETIREMENT INCOME FOR THESE EMPLOYEES. AMOUNTS CREDITED TO PARTICIPANTS ARE EARNED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS AND BASED ON CERTAIN ACTUARIAL FACTORS. THE AMOUNTS ARE ALSO SUBJECT TO FORFEITURE IF CERTAIN EMPLOYMENT CONDITIONS AND VESTING PERIODS ARE NOT MET. FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2015, THE INDIVIDUALS LISTED IN SCHEDULE J, PART II HAD AN AMOUNT RELATING TO THE SERP BENEFITS LISTED AS DEFERRED COMPENSATION LISTED IN COLUMN C: TERESA HALLECK - $4,377,165 CHITRAPHOL T. VONGSAWAD - $78,855 HEATHER E. MOSHIER - $77,670 ASHLEE N. MICALE - $12,555 DALE C. TURNER - $8,970 NATHAN S. SCHMIDT - $9,165 MICHELLE PAGNI - $32,406 PATRICK M. COSGROVE - $13,336 MARC A. MATHEWS - $(43,054) ROD CALVAO - $(633,969) THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING SERP PAYMENTS REPORTABLE AS COMPENSATION: ROD CALVAO - $425,000

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CREDIT UNION IS A NOT-FOR-PROFIT ORGANIZATION MADE UP OF MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS MAY ELECT ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE. MEMBERS MAY NOMINATE CANDIDATES FOR THE BOARD THROUGH A PETITION PROCESS SET FORTH IN THE BYLAWS. A NOMINATION COMMITTEE ALSO NOMINATES CANDIDATES. IF MEMBERS FAIL TO NOMINATE A CANDIDATE FOR AN OPEN BOARD POSITION, THEN THE NOMINATION COMMITTEE'S CANDIDATE MAY BE APPOINTED TO THE BOARD WITHOUT AN ELECTION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BCERTAIN DECISIONS MADE BY THE CREDIT UNION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE SUBJECT TO REGULATORY OR MEMBERSHIP APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER ("CEO") AND CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER ("CFO"), WHO CONSULT WITH EXTERNAL CPA FIRMS AND LEGAL COUNSEL AS NEEDED TO ENSURE THE ACCURACY AND SUFFICIENCY OF ALL RESPONSES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHERE ARE REGULAR COMPLIANCE REVIEWS BY THE CREDIT UNION'S COMPLIANCE OFFICER AND A THIRD (3RD) PARTY VENDOR WHICH ADDRESSES COMPLIANCE WITH ALL CREDIT UNION POLICIES. IN ADDITION, REGULATORS AND CPA'S MONITOR COMPLIANCE DURING THEIR PERIODIC AND ANNUAL AUDITS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15HUMAN RESOURCES PARTICIPATES IN SURVEYS AND PROVIDES COMPARABILITY DATA ON COMPENSATION FOR KEY OFFICERS TO THE CEO. OUTSIDE PROFESSIONALS ALSO VALIDATE THE COMPENSATION DATA ON A PERIODIC BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC BY COMPLYING WITH THE PUBLIC DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS SET FORTH IN THE REGULATIONS FOR IRC SECTION 6104 AT 26 C.F.R. SECTION 301.604

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
FRESH START REAL ESTATE LLC
6545 SEQUENCE DRIVESAN DIEGOCA92121452981200REAL ESTATECA$344,722$345,731SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION
SD FINANCIAL GROUP LLC
6545 SEQUENCE DRIVESAN DIEGOCA92121452980994E-COMMERCE - INACTIVECA$0$0SAN DIEGO COUNTY CREDIT UNION