AMERICAN OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2015
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- AMERICAN OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 43-0684708)
- Tax period
- 2015-01-01 to 2015-12-31
- Filed
- 2016-11-15
- IRS object ID
- 201623209349303127
- Schema version
- 2015v2.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2016-11-15T10:23:20-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2015-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | BKD LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 211 N BROADWAY SUITE 600 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ST LOUIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 631022733 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2015-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 430684708 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | American Optometric Association | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| In Care Of | % RYAN HAYES | InCareOfNm |
| Business Name Control | AMER | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3149914100 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 243 N LINDBERGH BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ST LOUIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 63141 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | RYAN P HAYES | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 3149914100 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2016-11-14 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Troy A Lindsey | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01041237 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3142315544 | PhoneNum |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2015 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2017-02-10 21:41:12Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | JONATHAN F HYMES | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 243 N LINDBERGH BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ST LOUIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 63141 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $28,611,441 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.AOA.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1936 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MO | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | AOA ADVOCATES FOR THE PROFESSION OF OPTOMETRY AND TO SERVE OPTOMETRISTS IN MEETING THE EYE CARE NEEDS OF THE PUBLIC. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 11 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 11 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 124 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 274 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $1,218,004 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | -$613,765 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $21,715,545 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $22,508,799 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $785,777 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $520,429 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $1,050,082 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $1,416,031 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $23,551,404 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $24,445,259 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $250,000 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $200,004 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $251,777 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $286,808 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $9,254,752 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $9,711,552 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $12,244,648 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $12,418,329 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $22,001,177 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $22,616,693 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,550,227 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,828,566 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $18,939,598 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $21,634,126 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $4,802,616 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $5,734,500 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $14,136,982 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $15,899,626 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | HEALTH CARE AND PUBLIC POLICY RELATED TO EYE CARE WILL UNIFORMLY RECOGNIZE OPTOMETRISTS AS PRIMARY HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS AND ENSURE THE PUBLIC HAS ACCESS TO THE FULL SCOPE OF OPTOMETRIC CARE. OPTOMETRISTS AND OTHER PROFESSIONALS WILL LOOK TO THE AMERICAN OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION FOR PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS, RESEARCH, AND EDUCATION LEADERSHIP WHICH SERVE TO ENHANCE AND ENSURE COMPETENT, QUALITY PATIENT CARE. THE PUBLIC, OPTOMETRISTS AND OTHER PROFESSIONALS WILL TURN TO THE AMERICAN OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION FOR RELIABLE AND CURRENT INFORMATION RELATED TO OPTOMETRY, EYE CARE AND HEALTH CARE POLICY. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | ADVOCACY WORKS TO PROTECT AND ENHANCE HEALTH CARE AND PUBLIC POLICY RELATING TO EYE CARE AND TO ENSURE FULL PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE ENTIRE SCOPE OF OPTOMETRIC CARE. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | COMMUNICATIONS MANAGES THE PUBLIC AFFAIRS CAMPAIGN FOR OPTOMETRIC AWARENESS ISSUES AND MANAGES/RELEASES INFORMATION ON ISSUES AFFECTING THE PROFESSION OF OPTOMETRY. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | CLINICAL CARE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND SERVICES TO ENHANCE THE SCOPE, QUALITY, AND AVAILABILITY OF PROFESSIONAL OPTOMETRIC SERVICES. IT DEVELOPS AND IMPLEMENTS PROGRAMS RELATING TO PRACTICE ADVANCEMENT/ENHANCEMENT, QUALITY ASSESSMENT ON OPTHALMIC STANDARDS AND PRODUCTS, CONTINUING EDUCATION, AND THE AVAILABILITY OF OPTOMETRIC SERVICES TO THOSE UNABLE TO OBTAIN/AFFORD CARE. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | false | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | false | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | Yes (true) | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | false | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | false | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (true) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | false | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (true) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (true) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | Yes (true) | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 308 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (true) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 124 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (true) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (true) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 11 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 11 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (true) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (true) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (true) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | Yes (true) | LocalChaptersInd |
| Policies Reference Chapters | Yes (true) | PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | false | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Own Website | Yes (X) | OwnWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | RYAN HAYES | PersonNm |
| Phone | 3149914100 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 243 N LINDBERGH BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ST LOUIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 63141 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part VII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAVID A COCKRELL OD | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT | 30.4 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $83,282 | $0 | $0 | |
| STEVEN LOOMIS OD | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT-ELECT | 25.2 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $104,782 | $0 | $0 | |
| ANDREA THAU OD | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | 15.6 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $49,124 | $0 | $0 | |
| CHRISTOPHER J QUINN OD | ||||||||
| SECRETARY-TREASURER | 17.5 | 2.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $47,195 | $0 | $0 | |
| MITCHELL T MUNSON OD | ||||||||
| IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT | 9.9 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $25,459 | $0 | $0 | |
| BARBARA L HORN OD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 11.3 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $33,106 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SAMUEL PIERCE OD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 15.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $50,793 | $0 | $0 | ||
| WILLIAM T REYNOLDS OD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 13.6 | 2.0 | Yes (X) | $41,816 | $0 | $0 | ||
| GREGORY A CALDWELL OD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 9.5 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $26,720 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ROBERT C LAYMAN OD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 10.1 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $28,040 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JAMES P DEVLEMING OD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 12.4 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $37,967 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RON BENNER OD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 5.9 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $15,984 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JONATHAN F HYMES | ||||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | 38.0 | 2.0 | Yes (X) | $308,888 | $0 | $40,400 | ||
| RENEE BRAUNS | ||||||||
| ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | 38.0 | 2.0 | Yes (X) | $270,362 | $0 | $23,513 | ||
| RYAN P HAYES | ||||||||
| CFO | 38.0 | 2.0 | Yes (X) | $154,390 | $0 | $28,282 | ||
| LENDY PRIDGEN | ||||||||
| THIRD PARTY CENTER DIRECTOR | 40.0 | 0.0 | $174,628 | $0 | $13,151 | Yes (X) | ||
| BETH KNEIB | ||||||||
| CLINICAL RESOURCES DIRECTOR | 40.0 | 0.0 | $160,102 | $0 | $9,667 | Yes (X) | ||
| MICHAEL R DUENAS | ||||||||
| ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR | 40.0 | 0.0 | $163,848 | $0 | $13,567 | Yes (X) | ||
| MICHAEL A STOKES | ||||||||
| LEGAL COUNSEL | 40.0 | 0.0 | $128,404 | $0 | $25,476 | Yes (X) | ||
| JULIE TRUTE | ||||||||
| ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR | 40.0 | 0.0 | $123,596 | $0 | $15,665 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,028,486 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $169,721 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 22 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BSI CONSTRUCTORS INC | |||||
| 6767 SOUTHWEST AVE | ST LOUIS | MO | 63143 | CONSTRUCTION GC | $1,362,282 |
| MANIFEST LLCMCMURRY TMG | |||||
| 4240 DUNCAN AVE STE 240 | ST LOUIS | MO | 63110 | WEB CONTENT & DESIGN | $933,118 |
| HILL KNOWLTON INC | |||||
| PO BOX 7247-7193 | PHILADELPHIA | PA | 191707193 | PUBLIC RELATIONS | $601,299 |
| FREEMAN AUDIO VISUAL SOLUTIONS INC | |||||
| PO BOX 650519 | DALLAS | TX | 752650519 | AUDIO VISUAL | $439,538 |
| PARTNERSHIP FOR VISION HEALTH | |||||
| 225 REINEKERS LN 700 | ALEXANDRIA | VA | 22314 | ADVERTISING | $300,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 14 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Total Contributions | $0 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MEMBERSHIP DUES | 561499 | $17,496,497 | $17,496,497 | |
| MEMBERSHIP SERVICES | 561499 | $1,856,574 | $1,818,037 | $38,537 |
| ANNUAL CONVENTION | 561499 | $3,155,681 | $3,155,681 | |
| OTHER PROGRAM SERVICE REVENUE | 561499 | $47 | $47 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $22,508,799 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $60,269 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $60,269 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $258,673 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $241,903 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $16,770 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $16,770 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $16,770 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $4,134,969 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $3,614,540 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $520,429 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $520,429 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $520,429 | ExclusionAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $1,161,858 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $309,739 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $852,119 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $852,119 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SECTION MISCELLANEOUS INCOME | 561499 | $56 | $56 | ||
| ADVERTISING & SUBSCRIPTION | 541800 | $365,829 | $365,829 | ||
| OTHER REVENUE | 900099 | $120,988 | $120,100 | $888 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $486,873 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $24,445,259 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $19,451,451 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $1,218,004 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $3,775,804 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $200,004 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $286,808 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,358,917 | TotalAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,202,550 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $353,696 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,288,506 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $507,883 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $201,300 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $110,205 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $144,174 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $51,524 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,353,500 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $372,036 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $937,769 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $574,744 | TotalAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $670,996 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,941,137 | TotalAmt |
Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,347,267 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $252,046 | TotalAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $244,228 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $858,953 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $117,943 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| EQUIPMENT RENTAL & MAINT | $198,865 |
| MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSE | $41,642 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $22,616,693 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,677,795 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,835,075 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,892,203 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,753,203 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $69,864 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $75,955 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $413,445 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $512,437 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $13,663,537 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $7,350,956 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,953,265 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,312,581 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,933,026 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $10,116,120 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,755 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,939,598 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,634,126 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,351,498 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,183,512 | EOYAmt |
Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $871,940 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $939,652 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,579,178 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,611,336 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,802,616 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,734,500 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,136,982 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $15,899,626 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,136,982 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $15,899,626 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,939,598 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,634,126 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,828,566 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$285,810 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $219,888 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consol And Sep Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Grassroots Lobbying | TotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp | |
| Total Direct Lobbying | TotalDirectLobbyingGrp | |
| Total Lobbying Expend | TotalLobbyingExpendGrp | |
| Other Exempt Purpose Expend | OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp | |
| Total Exempt Purpose Expend | TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp | |
| Lobbying Nontaxable Amount | LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp | |
| Grassroots Nontaxable | GrassrootsNontaxableGrp | |
| Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx | TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp | |
| Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx | TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp | |
| Substantially All Dues Nonded | false | SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd |
| Only In House Lobbying | false | OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd |
| Agree Carryover Prior Year | Yes (true) | AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd |
| Dues Assessments | $16,249,379 | DuesAssessmentsAmt |
| Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl CY | $1,747,606 | NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclCYAmt |
| Non Ded Lbbyng Pltcl Cyov | $398,161 | NonDedLbbyngPltclCyovAmt |
| Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl Tot | $2,145,767 | NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclTotAmt |
| Aggregate Reported Dues Ntc | $1,543,691 | AggregateReportedDuesNtcAmt |
| Carried Over | $602,076 | CarriedOverAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Art Public Exhibition Amounts | ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp | |
| Held Works Art | HeldWorksArtGrp | |
| CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund | CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp | |
| CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund | CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $978,647 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $978,647 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $3,312,245 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $2,780,233 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $532,012 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,966,058 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,485,551 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $480,507 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $7,226,587 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $2,905,172 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $4,321,415 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $180,000 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $180,000 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $0 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $6,312,581 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Federal Income Tax Liability | $0 | FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| INVESTMENT IN SUBSIDIARY | $2,359,290 |
| INTEREST RATE SWAP AGREEMENT | $252,046 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $2,611,336 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $24,711,091 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$285,810 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $551,642 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $265,832 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $24,445,259 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $24,445,259 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $23,168,335 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $551,642 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $551,642 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $22,616,693 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $22,616,693 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2D | RECONCILIATION OF REVENUE PER AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS COST OF GOODS SOLD NETTED WITH REVENUE $ 309,739 RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED WITH REVENUE $ 241,903 --------- TOTAL $ 551,642 |
| SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2D | RECONCILIATION OF EXPENSE PER AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS COST OF GOODS SOLD NETTED WITH REVENUE $ 309,739 RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED WITH REVENUE $ 241,903 --------- TOTAL $ 551,642 |
| SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2 | UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS MANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED THEIR INCOME TAX POSITIONS UNDER THE GUIDANCE INCLUDED IN ASC 740. BASED ON THEIR REVIEW, MANAGEMENT HAS NOT IDENTIFIED ANY MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECORDED OR DISCLOSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable
Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | OPTOMETRY CARES - THE AOA FOUNDATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 243 N LINDBERGH BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ST LOUIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 63141 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Recipient EIN | 237292391 | RecipientEIN |
| IRC Section | 501(C)(3) | IRCSectionDesc |
| Cash Grant | $200,004 | CashGrantAmt |
| Purpose Of Grant | CONTRIBUTION | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 1 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE I, PART I, LINE 2 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | EXPLANATION OF GRANTS MADE THE GRANTS WERE MADE TO A RELATED ORGANIZATION THAT REPORTS ON THE USE OF THE FUNDS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| First Class Or Charter Travel | Yes (X) | FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd |
| Travel For Companions | Yes (X) | TravelForCompanionsInd |
| Club Dues Or Fees | Yes (X) | ClubDuesOrFeesInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (true) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (true) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | Yes (true) | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JONATHAN F HYMES | ||||||||||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $290,541 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $18,347 | $0 | $14,575 | $0 | $25,825 | $0 | $349,288 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| RENEE BRAUNS | ||||||||||||||
| ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $263,071 | $0 | $5,000 | $0 | $2,291 | $0 | $14,575 | $0 | $8,938 | $0 | $293,875 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| RYAN P HAYES | ||||||||||||||
| CFO | $144,261 | $0 | $7,500 | $0 | $2,629 | $0 | $8,917 | $0 | $19,365 | $0 | $182,672 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LENDY PRIDGEN | ||||||||||||||
| THIRD PARTY CENTER DIRECTOR | $173,926 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $702 | $0 | $6,283 | $0 | $6,868 | $0 | $187,779 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| BETH KNEIB | ||||||||||||||
| CLINICAL RESOURCES DIRECTOR | $156,980 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $3,122 | $0 | $8,791 | $0 | $876 | $0 | $169,769 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHAEL R DUENAS | ||||||||||||||
| ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR | $161,244 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $2,604 | $0 | $9,155 | $0 | $4,412 | $0 | $177,415 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHAEL A STOKES | ||||||||||||||
| LEGAL COUNSEL | $121,314 | $0 | $5,000 | $0 | $2,090 | $0 | $6,343 | $0 | $19,133 | $0 | $153,880 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 1A | BENEFITS PROVIDED TO INDIVIDUALS LISTED ON FORM 990, PART VII TRAVEL & TRAVEL FOR COMPANIONS WERE PROVIDED TO BARBARA L. HORN, WILLIAM T. REYNOLDS, RON BENNER, DAVID A. COCKRELL, JAMES P. DEVLEMING, STEVEN LOOMIS, MITCHELL T. MUNSON, SAMUEL PIERCE, CHRISTOPHER J. QUINN, AND ANDREA THAU. ALL OF THESE REIMBURSEMENTS WERE INCLUDED IN TAXABLE WAGES. HEALTH CLUB FEE REIMBURSEMENTS WERE PROVIDED TO JONATHAN HYMES, RYAN HAYES, BETH KNEIB, MICHAEL STOKES, AND JULIE TRUTE. ALL OF THESE REIMBURSEMENTS WERE INCLUDED IN TAXABLE WAGES. |
| SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4A | LENDY PRIDGEN RECEIVED SEVERANCE PAYMENTS IN THE AMOUNT OF $15,898 AS A TERM OF EMPLOYMENT TERMINATION. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (15 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | CLASSES OF MEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERS MEMBERS CONSIST OF VARIOUS CLASSES OF LICENSED OPTOMETRISTS, RETIRED OPTOMETRISTS, PARAOPTOMETRICS, OPTOMETRIC STUDENTS, AND OTHER KEY INDIVIDUALS WHO HAVE A SUBSTANTIAL ROLE OR INTEREST IN THE PROFESSION OF OPTOMETRY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | MEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERS WHO CAN ELECT MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES, CONSISTING OF THE ASSOCIATION'S MEMBERS, MEETS ANNUALLY AT CONGRESS TO ELECT TWO TRUSTEES, EACH FOR A THREE YEAR TERM, SECRETARY/TREASURER, VICE PRESIDENT, AND PRESIDENT-ELECT TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES CONSISTS OF REPRESENTATIVES FROM EACH AFFILIATE WHOM RECEIVE VOTES BASED UPON THEIR NUMBER OF ACTIVE MEMBERS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | DECISIONS OF GOVERNING BODY SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY MEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERS THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES RETAINS THE DUTIES TO ELECT THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, RATIFY THE DECISIONS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, APPROVE THE LOCATION OF THE ANNUAL CONGRESS, AND RECEIVE AND ACT, AS DEEMED APPROPRIATE, UPON REPORTS OF ANY COMMITTEES ESTABLISHED BY THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | REVIEW PROCESS THE 990 IS COMPLETED BY THE FINANCE DEPARTMENT IN CONJUNCTION WITH ASSISTANCE FROM EXTERNAL TAX PROFESSIONALS. THE 990 IS REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT AND FORWARDED TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES PRIOR TO FINAL SUBMISSION TO THE IRS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ALL EMPLOYEES, DIRECTORS, VOLUNTEERS AND/OR TRUSTEES ARE REQUIRED ANNUALLY (OR AT THE INITIAL POINT OF SERVICE) TO SIGN THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND NOTIFY THE ORGANIZATION OF ANY POTENTIAL ISSUES. INDIVIDUALS ARE NOT PAID OR REIMBURSED FOR EXPENSES UNTIL SUCH DISCLOSURE HAS BEEN SUBMITTED TO THE LEGAL DEPARTMENT EACH YEAR. THE LEGAL DEPARTMENT REVIEWS ALL COMPLETED POLICIES AND NOTIFIES SENIOR MANAGEMENT OF ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS DISCLOSED. SENIOR MANAGEMENT AND EXTERNAL LEGAL COUNCIL THEN REVIEW THE CONFLICTS DISCLOSED TO DETERMINE ANY NECESSARY COURSE OF ACTION OR DISCLOSURE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15A | REVIEW OF TOP MANAGEMENT COMPENSATION THE ORGANIZATION UTILIZES AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT AND AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION SURVEY TO ACCUMULATE A REASONABLE WAGE BASIS FOR THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ANNUALLY REVIEWS THE INFORMATION AND SURVEY PROVIDED BY THE INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT AND APPROVES THE COMPENSATION LEVEL OF THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AS DOCUMENTED IN A WRITTEN AGREEMENT. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15B | REVIEW OF OTHER OFFICER COMPENSATION THE ORGANIZATION UTILIZES AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT TO PERFORM AND ANALYZE AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION SURVEY AND REPORT THOSE RESULTS TO HUMAN RESOURCES FOR DETERMINATION OF REASONABLE COMPENSATION OF ALL EMPLOYEES. THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR MUST APPROVE ALL EMPLOYEE WAGE CHANGES. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AVAILABLE TO PUBLIC THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 | EQUITY IN GAIN OF SUBSIDIARY $219,893 |
| FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11G | DESCRIPTION:TEMPORARY STAFF FEES TOTAL FEES:295461 |
| FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11G | DESCRIPTION:CONSULTING FEES TOTAL FEES:2595193 |
| FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11G | DESCRIPTION:ART WORK/PHOTO FEES TOTAL FEES:119469 |
| FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11G | DESCRIPTION:DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS TOTAL FEES:14293 |
| FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11G | DESCRIPTION:OUTSIDE SERVICES TOTAL FEES:326892 |
| FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11G | DESCRIPTION:LOAN SERVICE FEES TOTAL FEES:2192 |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | OPTOMETRY CARES - THE AOA FOUNDATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 243 N LINDBERGH BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ST LOUIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 63141 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 237292391 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | CHARITY | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | MO | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Exempt Code Section | 501(C)(3) | ExemptCodeSectionTxt |
| Public Charity Status | 9 | PublicCharityStatusTxt |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | AOA | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Controlled Organization | Yes (true) | ControlledOrganizationInd |
Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp
Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | AOAEXCEL INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 243 N LINDBERGH BLVD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ST LOUIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 63141 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 455262310 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | MEMBERSHIP SRVCS | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | MO | LegalDomicileStateCd |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | AOA | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Entity Type | C - CORPORATION | EntityTypeTxt |
| Share Of Total Income | $1,240,335 | ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt |
| Share Of EOY Assets | $448,506 | ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt |
| Ownership | 1.00000 | OwnershipPct |
| Controlled Organization | Yes (true) | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | false | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | Yes (true) | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | false | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | Yes (true) | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | false | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | false | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | false | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | false | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | Yes (true) | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | false | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | Yes (true) | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | false | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | false | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (true) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | false | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | false | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | false | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (7 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| OPTOMETRY CARES - THE AOA FOUNDATION | ||
| B | $200,004 | FMV |
| OPTOMETRY CARES - THE AOA FOUNDATION | ||
| J | $120,000 | COST |
| OPTOMETRY CARES - THE AOA FOUNDATION | ||
| L | $7,515 | COST |
| OPTOMETRY CARES - THE AOA FOUNDATION | ||
| O | $24,200 | COST |
| OPTOMETRY CARES - THE AOA FOUNDATION | ||
| Q | $289,483 | COST |
| AOAEXCEL INC | ||
| J | $120,000 | COST |
| AOAEXCEL INC | ||
| Q | $322,481 | COST |