PRAIRIE MEADOWS RACE TRACK & CASINO INC: Form 990, tax year 2015
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- PRAIRIE MEADOWS RACE TRACK & CASINO INC (EIN 42-1244913)
- Tax period
- 2015-01-01 to 2015-12-31
- Filed
- 2016-11-11
- IRS object ID
- 201633169349303658
- Schema version
- 2015v2.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2016-11-11T13:57:13-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2015-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 861065772 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Deloitte Tax LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 50 South Sixth Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Minneapolis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 55402 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2015-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 421244913 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | Inc | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | PRAI | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 5159671000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO Box 1000 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Altoona | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 50009 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Brian Wessels | PersonNm |
| Person Title | VP of Finance/CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 5159671000 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2016-11-11 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | 0 | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Chris Meskimen | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01314196 | PTIN |
| Phone | 6123974000 | PhoneNum |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2015 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2017-02-10 21:41:12Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Brian Wessels | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO Box 1000 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Altoona | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 50009 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $2,148,316,327 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | www.prairiemeadows.com | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1984 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | IA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | Operated exclusively for the promotion of social welfare in central Iowa. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 13 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 13 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 1739 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 0 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $9,311,487 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | -$2,188,468 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $2,105,814,273 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $2,147,982,557 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | -$81,344 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $60,536 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $12,091 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $224,143 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $2,105,745,020 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $2,148,267,236 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $20,261,646 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $15,751,269 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $58,106,207 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $58,740,989 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $2,030,434,620 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $2,072,828,818 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $2,108,802,473 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $2,147,321,076 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$3,057,453 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $946,160 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $116,526,924 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $112,160,757 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $35,096,955 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $29,799,058 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $81,429,969 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $82,361,699 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | See Schedule O.Pursuant to Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(4), Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino is not organized for profit but is operated exclusively for the promotion of social welfare. The promotion of social welfare includes providing a source of recreation for the community, and providing a generally positive economic impact on central Iowa. Pursuant to Section 99F.6(4)(A) of the Iowa Code, Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino is required to distribute and does distribute its profits for "educational, civic, public, charitable, patriotic, or religious" uses as defined in Section 99B.7(3)(B) of the Iowa Code. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $2,136,289,932 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $15,751,269 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $2,148,206,699 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Inc. (PMRC) is a not-for-profit corporation made up of members who live and work in central Iowa. As a not-for-profit corporation, and pursuant to section 99F.6(4)(A) of the Iowa Code, PMRC is required to distribute its profits for "educational, civic, public, charitable, patriotic, or religious" uses as defined in Section 99B.7(3)(B) of the Iowa Code. Accordingly, PMRC's profits have been distributed as required by Iowa Code.See Continuation on Schedule O.In 2015, approximately $9.1 million of PMRC's profits were distributed to Polk County, $3.9 million to the City of Des Moines, and approximately $2.9 million was distributed to organizations such as the Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines ($750,000), City of Altoona ($500,000), YMCA ($400,000), Des Moines Partnership ($300,000), Polk County School Districts ($685,701) and Iowa College Foundation ($90,275). | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $2,136,289,932 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 29230 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 27905 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 1739 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 13 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 13 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | Yes (1) | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Written Policy Or Procedure | 0 | WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Brian Wessels | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 5159671000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO Box 1000 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Altoona | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 50009 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robert Myers | ||||||||
| Chairman | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jack Peters | ||||||||
| Past Chair | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $300 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Mark Hedberg | ||||||||
| Immediate Vice-Chair | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $150 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Linda Grandquist | ||||||||
| Vice Chair | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $300 | $0 | $0 | ||
| R Michael Knapp | ||||||||
| Secretary | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Mark Cooper | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Diana Ewing | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| EJ Giovannetti | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Lisa Moody-Tunks | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $300 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Kurt Rasmussen Start 1115 | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Paul Rogness | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $300 | $0 | $0 | ||
| John Rowen End 1115 | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $300 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Karen Novak Swalwell | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Martha Willits | ||||||||
| Board Director | 4.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Gary Palmer | ||||||||
| President/CEO | 55.00 | 0.00 | $674,011 | $0 | $39,833 | Yes (X) | ||
| Ann Atkin | ||||||||
| VP of Operations/COO | 55.00 | 0.00 | $355,901 | $0 | $30,543 | Yes (X) | ||
| Brian Wessels | ||||||||
| VP Finance/CFO | 55.00 | 0.00 | $328,826 | $0 | $47,850 | Yes (X) | ||
| Hector Morales | ||||||||
| Director of Table Games | 55.00 | 0.00 | $190,661 | $0 | $36,521 | Yes (X) | ||
| Clinton Pursley | ||||||||
| Director of Security | 55.00 | 0.00 | $184,924 | $0 | $32,317 | Yes (X) | ||
| Paul Johnson | ||||||||
| Director of Slots | 55.00 | 0.00 | $185,484 | $0 | $24,244 | Yes (X) | ||
| Elaine Castelline | ||||||||
| Director of Accounting | 55.00 | 0.00 | $185,723 | $0 | $33,257 | Yes (X) | ||
| Clay Willey | ||||||||
| Director of Hospitality | 55.00 | 0.00 | $185,746 | $0 | $34,703 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,292,926 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $279,268 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 19 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Global Payments | |||||
| 10 Glenlake Parkway North Tower | Atlanta | GA | 30328 | Check Processing | $620,812 |
| Sportech | |||||
| 1095 Wndwrd Ridge Pkwy Bldg 300 | Alpharetta | GA | 30005 | Totasilator Services | $370,689 |
| Roberts Communication Network LLC | |||||
| 4175 Cameron St Ste B-10 | Las Vegas | NV | 89103 | Transmission Processing | $269,303 |
| Paycom Payroll LLC | |||||
| 7501 West Memorial Road | Oklahoma City | OK | 73142 | Payroll Processing | $229,406 |
| Brick Gentry ET AL PC | |||||
| 6701 Westown Pkwy | West Des Moines | IA | 50266 | Legal Fees | $224,563 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 12 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Casino & Hotels | 721120 | $2,077,895,805 | $2,073,103,628 | $4,792,177 |
| Pari-Mutuel Revenue | 721120 | $50,046,911 | $50,046,911 | |
| Food and Beverage | 722320 | $16,795,999 | $12,331,349 | $4,464,650 |
| Gift Shop | 453220 | $280,513 | $280,513 | |
| Equibase Pub Inc. | 900099 | $12,322 | $12,322 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $2,951,007 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $2,896,347 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $54,660 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $2,147,982,557 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $12,094 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $12,094 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $97,533 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $49,091 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $48,442 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $48,442 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $48,442 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Returned Grants | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $224,143 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $224,143 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $224,143 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $2,148,267,236 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $2,138,895,213 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $9,311,487 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $60,536 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $15,751,269 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $15,751,269 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,487,493 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,487,493 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $42,087,450 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $42,087,450 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,906,127 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,906,127 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,976,798 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,976,798 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,283,121 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,233,890 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $49,231 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $161,527 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $161,527 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $85,016 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $85,016 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,210,300 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,210,300 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,268,614 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,092,001 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $176,613 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $922,992 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $922,992 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $15,476,132 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $15,449,949 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $26,183 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $71,878 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $32,817 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $39,061 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,316 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,316 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $38,961 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $38,961 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $19,079,413 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $19,079,413 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,697,073 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,697,073 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| Casino and Pari-Mutuel | $1,930,371,107 | $1,930,371,107 |
| State Gaming Taxes | $43,352,332 | $43,352,332 |
| Purse & Purse Supplemen | $18,550,048 | $18,550,048 |
| Simulcast & Satellite | $6,605,180 | $6,605,180 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $31,932,929 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $25,585,935 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $6,346,994 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,147,321,076 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,136,289,932 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $11,031,144 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,983,869 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,756,398 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $50,373,084 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $35,347,315 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,378,645 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $768,342 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $336,315 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $428,651 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,693,079 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,260,705 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $141,640,420 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $89,105,465 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $60,692,541 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $52,534,955 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $69,391 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $64,391 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $116,526,924 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $112,160,757 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,613,653 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $15,989,417 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,483,302 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $13,809,641 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $35,096,955 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,799,058 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $81,429,969 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $82,361,699 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $81,429,969 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $82,361,699 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $116,526,924 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $112,160,757 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $946,160 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$14,430 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $72,500,364 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $34,059,417 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $38,440,947 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $59,631,263 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $47,198,580 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $12,432,683 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $9,508,793 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $7,847,468 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,661,325 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $52,534,955 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Polk County Payable | $9,876,876 |
| City of Des Moines Payable | $3,885,640 |
| Current Notes Payable | $47,125 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $13,809,641 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $211,095,576 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $211,095,576 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $1,937,171,660 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $1,937,171,660 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $2,148,267,236 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $210,163,846 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $210,163,846 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $1,937,157,230 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $1,937,157,230 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $2,147,321,076 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part X, Line 2: | As of December 31, 2015 and 2014, the Non-profit has determined that there are currently no tax benefits or liabilities associated with uncertain tax positions. No interest or penalties have been accrued in the statements of activities and change in net assets. The Non-profit's calendar years 2012 through 2014 remain subject to examination by the governing tax authorities. |
| Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Adjustment of Casino, Pari-Mutuel, Food and Beverage, Banquet, Gift Shop Revenues from Net Revenues to Gross Revenues 1,936,874,659. Equibase Income, Misc. Income - Coin Float, Returned Grant 248,559. Reclass gain on sale of fixed assets 48,442. |
| Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Adjustment of Casino, Pari-Mutuel, Food and Beverage, Banquet, Gift Shop Revenues from Net Revenues to Gross Revenues 1,936,874,658. Equibase Income, Misc. Income - Coin Float, Returned Grant 234,130. Reclass gain on sale of fixed assets 48,442. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (24 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Branstad-Reynolds Scholarship Fund | |||||||
| 1601 - 22nd St | West Des Moines | IA | 50266 | 273956456 | 501(c)(3) | $10,000 | Scholarship Program |
| Iowa College Foundation | |||||||
| 505 5th Ave Suite 1034 | Des Moines | IA | 50309 | 420745995 | 501(c)(3) | $90,275 | Scholarship Program |
| Community Foundation of Des Moines | |||||||
| 1915 Grand Ave | Des Moines | IA | 50309 | 426139033 | 501(c)(3) | $750,000 | Grand View University Student Center |
| City of Altoona | |||||||
| 407 8th St SE | Altoona | IA | 50009 | 426004210 | Gov't | $500,000 | Economic Development Contribution |
| Young Mens Christian Association | |||||||
| 501 Grand Ave | Des Moines | IA | 50309 | 420680438 | 501(c)(3) | $400,000 | YMCA Capital Campaign |
| Greater Des Moines Partnership | |||||||
| 601 Locust St Suite 700 | Des Moines | IA | 50309 | 421489668 | 501(c)(6) | $300,000 | Partnership 2017 Invested Campaign |
| City of Des Moines | |||||||
| 25 East First St | Des Moines | IA | 50309 | 426004514 | Gov't | $3,885,640 | Tax Rate Sharing Contribution |
| Polk County | |||||||
| 5885 NE 14th St | Des Moines | IA | 50313 | 426004519 | Gov't | $9,129,652 | Net Receipts Contribution |
| Ankeny Community School District | |||||||
| 306 SW School St | Ankeny | IA | 50023 | 426021919 | Gov't | $91,489 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Ballard Community School District | |||||||
| 509 North Main Avenue | Huxley | IA | 50124 | 426025573 | Gov't | $46 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Bondurant Farrar Community School District | |||||||
| 300 Garfield St SW | Bondurant | IA | 50035 | 426037271 | Gov't | $14,699 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Carlisle Community School District | |||||||
| 430 School Street | Carlisle | IA | 50047 | 420898003 | Gov't | $5,314 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Collins Maxwell Community School District | |||||||
| 14142 NE 112th St | Maxwell | IA | 50161 | 426036681 | Gov't | $111 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Dallas Center Grimes School District | |||||||
| 1414 Walnet St Suite 200 | Dallas Center | IA | 50063 | 426001334 | Gov't | $16,722 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Des Moines Independent Schools | |||||||
| 901 Walnut St | Des Moines | IA | 50309 | 426001433 | Gov't | $297,757 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Johnston Community School District | |||||||
| 5608 Merle Hay Rd | Johnston | IA | 50131 | 426002176 | Gov't | $59,216 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Madrid Community School District | |||||||
| 201 North Main | Madrid | IA | 50156 | 426002506 | Gov't | $222 | 2015 School District Grant |
| North Polk Community School District | |||||||
| 13930 NE 6th St | Alleman | IA | 50007 | 426023656 | Gov't | $12,883 | 2015 School District Grant |
| PCM Community School District | |||||||
| PO Box 610 | Monroe | IA | 50170 | 421358436 | Gov't | $67 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Saydel Community School District | |||||||
| 5740 NE 14th St | Des Moines | IA | 50313 | 426017814 | Gov't | $10,739 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Southeast Polk Community School District | |||||||
| PO Box 391 | Altoona | IA | 50009 | 420863054 | Gov't | $60,832 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Urbandale Community School District | |||||||
| 11152 Aurora Ave | Urbandale | IA | 50322 | 426039212 | Gov't | $31,189 | 2015 School District Grant |
| West Des Moines Community School District | |||||||
| 1480 NW 108th St | Clive | IA | 50325 | 421355170 | Gov't | $83,029 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Woodward Granger School District | |||||||
| 306 West 3rd St | Woodward | IA | 50276 | 420888438 | Gov't | $1,387 | 2015 School District Grant |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 23 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 1 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Site visits are done with selected grantees. All grantees are required to sign a grant agreement and return a completed grant evaluation report at the conclusion of the year or the project. Reports are reviewed and logged. Appropriate action is taken if a grantee has not completed their proposed project or if funds were left over and not spent. Any unused funds are returned to us. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Idemnification Gross Up Pmts | Yes (X) | IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gary Palmer | ||||||||||||||
| President/CEO | $463,439 | $0 | $158,973 | $0 | $51,599 | $0 | $21,602 | $0 | $18,231 | $0 | $713,844 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Ann Atkin | ||||||||||||||
| VP of Operations/COO | $268,664 | $0 | $58,907 | $0 | $28,330 | $0 | $21,917 | $0 | $8,626 | $0 | $386,444 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Brian Wessels | ||||||||||||||
| VP Finance/CFO | $256,616 | $0 | $57,212 | $0 | $14,998 | $0 | $22,040 | $0 | $25,810 | $0 | $376,676 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Hector Morales | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Table Games | $156,318 | $0 | $31,595 | $0 | $2,748 | $0 | $16,290 | $0 | $20,231 | $0 | $227,182 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Clinton Pursley | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Security | $150,885 | $0 | $30,065 | $0 | $3,974 | $0 | $15,561 | $0 | $16,756 | $0 | $217,241 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Paul Johnson | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Slots | $151,187 | $0 | $29,613 | $0 | $4,684 | $0 | $15,268 | $0 | $8,976 | $0 | $209,728 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Elaine Castelline | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Accounting | $146,633 | $0 | $29,244 | $0 | $9,846 | $0 | $15,450 | $0 | $17,807 | $0 | $218,980 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Clay Willey | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Hospitality | $147,733 | $0 | $29,151 | $0 | $8,862 | $0 | $14,058 | $0 | $20,645 | $0 | $220,449 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part I, Line 1a | PMRC occasionally provides tax gross-up payments for small prizes won during the year. |
| Part I, Line 7 | Board of Directors set criteria and goals based on the business strategic plan. The formula is set prior to or early in the tax year, and based on the formula is paid, if due. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7a | A thirteen-member board composition is based on the bylaws. The board is comprised of five at-large representatives that have been selected from the community, four members appointed by Polk County, one member appointed by the Greater Des Moines Partnership, one member appointed by the Polk-Des Moines Taxpayers Association, one member appointed by the South Central Iowa Federation of Labor, and the five at-large representatives nominate one member affiliated with the horse industry and the full board votes on the nomination. The Greater Des Moines Partnership has the right to appoint two additional non-voting consultants to the board. None of the members received compensation for their services to the Non-Profit and they must meet IRGC Licensing requirements. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7b | The Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission (IRGC) has oversight of our gaming and racing activities. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11 | Form 990 is prepared by an external tax accounting firm and then reviewed by the accounting staff including the VP/CFO. The final review is done by the executive committee made up of board members before it is submitted to the federal government. A copy is given to each board member prior to the filing of the Form 990. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | A conflict of interest letter is sent each year to members of the board and staff along with the conflict of interest policy, asking members to disclose any potential conflict of interest. The members are asked to update the conflict of interest memo any time during the year. The board chair or board counsel reminds members before an item that requires deliberations and decision making that they are to disclose any conflict and abstain from voting. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | The compensation for the officers and CEO are determined using a compensation committee, an ad hoc committee of the Executive Committee. Data is based on industry surveys, documented compensation of persons holding similar positions in similar organizations, expert compensation studies or other comparable data. Any decision is documented as well as any action is taken by the decision making body. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | The governing documents are available on request as are the financial statements. The conflict of interest policy is accessible on our website and on request. |
| Form 990, Part XI, line 9: | Additional K-1 Income/(Expenses) -14,430. |