AMERICAN ACADEMY OF DERMATOLOGY ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2015
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- AMERICAN ACADEMY OF DERMATOLOGY ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 36-4367987)
- Tax period
- 2015-01-01 to 2015-12-31
- Filed
- 2016-11-14
- IRS object ID
- 201643199349306594
- Schema version
- 2015v2.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule C
- Schedule D
- Schedule F
- Schedule G
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule O
- Schedule R
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2016-11-14T13:35:50-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2015-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 381357951 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | PLANTE & MORAN PLLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 10 S Riverside Plaza 9th Floor | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Chicago | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 60606 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2015-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 364367987 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | AMERICAN ACADEMY OF DERMATOLOGY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | ASSOCIATION INC | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | AMER | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8473300230 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 930 EAST WOODFIELD ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SCHAUMBURG | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 601734729 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | STEVE DEBNAR | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 8473300230 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2016-11-09 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | David Lowenthal | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00378651 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3122071040 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2016-11-09 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2015 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2017-02-10 21:41:12Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | STEVE DEBNAR | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 930 EAST WOODFIELD ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SCHAUMBURG | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 601734729 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $18,970,915 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.AADASSOCIATION.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 2000 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MN | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | Promoting leadership in dermatology and excellence in patient care through research and advocacy. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 24 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 17 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 713 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $681,597 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $18,329 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $174,250 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $88,791 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $11,238,818 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $11,361,424 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $542,833 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $370,919 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $260,720 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $223,547 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $12,216,621 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $12,044,681 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $106,235 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $129,229 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,011,459 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $4,950,464 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $62,383 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $47,001 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $4,589,124 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $5,042,473 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $9,769,201 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $10,169,167 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,447,420 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,875,514 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $17,236,214 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $17,943,864 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $8,164,004 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $8,823,949 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $9,072,210 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $9,119,915 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | To represent the interests of dermatologists and their patients. To Influence and be a credible resource for public and private entities related to all policies and regulations that have the potential to affect the delivery of dermatologic care. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | Advocacy and Policy - Developing position statements and testimony, lobbying and serving as a resource for federal and state legislative and regulatory entities related to the delivery of quality dermatologic care and skin disease research and prevention. Health Care Delivery (Dermatologic Practice)- Providing Academy members with assistance and education related to appropriately running an efficient practice including compliance with relevant regulations, implementation of health information technology, coding and reimbursement, and general practice management issues. | Desc |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | Yes (1) | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | Yes (1) | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | Yes (1) | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | Yes (1) | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | Yes (1) | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | Yes (1) | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 29 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 0 | EmployeeCnt |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 24 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 17 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | 0 | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Other Website | Yes (X) | OtherWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | STEVE DEBNAR | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 8472401128 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 930 E WOODFIELD RD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SCHAUMBURG | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 60173 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (43 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mark Lebwohl MD | |||||||||
| President of the Board | 0.00 | 25.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $127,750 | $0 | ||
| Abel Torres MD JD | |||||||||
| President-Elect of the Board | 0.00 | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $30,000 | $0 | ||
| Timothy G Berger MD | |||||||||
| Vice President of the Board | 0.00 | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $30,000 | $0 | ||
| Kenneth Tomecki MD | |||||||||
| Vice President-Elect of the Board | 0.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Suzanne M Olbricht MD | |||||||||
| Secretary-Treasurer of the Board | 0.00 | 15.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $157,750 | $0 | ||
| Barbara Mathes MD | |||||||||
| Assistant Secretary-Treasurer of the Board | 0.00 | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $50,000 | $0 | ||
| Brett M Coldiron MD | |||||||||
| Immediate Past President of the Board | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $1,000 | $40,105 | $0 | ||
| Elise A Olsen MD | |||||||||
| Immediate Past Vice President of the Board | 0.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $10,000 | $0 | ||
| Marc D Brown MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Janet G Hickman MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Mark D Kaufmann MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Gary S Wood MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Neal D Bhatia MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Kevin D Cooper MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Shelia Fallon Friedlander MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Jane M Grant-Kels MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Robert T Brodell MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Julie A Hodge MD MPH | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| George J Hruza MD MBA | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Paul A Storrs MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Stephen H Mandy MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Jack S Resneck Jr MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Kathryn Schwarzenberger MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Carrie L Kovarik MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Robert D Durst Jr MD | |||||||||
| Board Director | 0.00 | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Elaine C Weiss | |||||||||
| Executive Director & CEO | 0.00 | 50.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $554,229 | $66,463 | |||
| Steven J Debnar | |||||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | 0.00 | 42.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $176,876 | $50,613 | |||
| Barbara Greenan | |||||||||
| Senior Director, Advocacy & Policy | 0.00 | 47.00 | $0 | $247,692 | $32,947 | Yes (X) | |||
| Sarah Tancredi | |||||||||
| Managing Director, Administration | 0.00 | 41.00 | $0 | $234,967 | $54,932 | Yes (X) | |||
| Naheed Ali | |||||||||
| Senior Director, Community & Corporate Relations | 0.00 | 46.00 | $0 | $209,678 | $45,534 | Yes (X) | |||
| Melanie Tolley Hall | |||||||||
| Senior Director, Integrated Communications | 0.00 | 46.00 | $0 | $196,978 | $38,714 | Yes (X) | |||
| Cacinda Kuhn | |||||||||
| Senior Director, Member Engagement | 0.00 | 45.00 | $0 | $190,529 | $40,079 | Yes (X) | |||
| Krista Kauper | |||||||||
| Senior Director, Constituent Relations | 0.00 | 51.00 | $0 | $187,019 | $30,555 | Yes (X) | |||
| Shawn Friesen | |||||||||
| Director, Legislative & Political Advocacy | 0.00 | 45.00 | $0 | $173,714 | $49,291 | Yes (X) | |||
| Timothy Moses | |||||||||
| Director, Meetings & Conventions | 0.00 | 47.00 | $0 | $170,701 | $28,443 | Yes (X) | |||
| Erik Horn | |||||||||
| Director, Information Technology | 0.00 | 43.00 | $0 | $170,048 | $46,879 | Yes (X) | |||
| Leslie Lloyd | |||||||||
| Director, Regulatory & Payment Policy | 0.00 | 48.00 | $0 | $161,705 | $48,076 | Yes (X) | |||
| Lara Lowery | |||||||||
| Director, Creative & Publishing | 0.00 | 43.00 | $0 | $156,424 | $27,939 | Yes (X) | |||
| Suzanne Lothary | |||||||||
| Director, Marketing | 0.00 | 43.00 | $0 | $146,197 | $43,730 | Yes (X) | |||
| Debra Gist | |||||||||
| Senior Director, Education | 0.00 | 42.00 | $0 | $136,186 | $3,747 | Yes (X) | |||
| Christine O'Connor | |||||||||
| Associate Director, Congressional Policy | 0.00 | 49.00 | $0 | $133,137 | $27,617 | Yes (X) | |||
| Maribeth Laws | |||||||||
| Director, Advocacy & Policy Operations | 0.00 | 50.00 | $0 | $130,294 | $8,368 | Yes (X) | |||
| Cynthia Del Boccio | |||||||||
| Director, Executive Office | 0.00 | 44.00 | $0 | $129,922 | $24,937 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,000 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $3,951,901 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $668,864 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 0 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ponte Gadea Washington | |||||
| 270 Biscayne Blvd Way | Miami | FL | 33131 | Rental | $687,593 |
| Elsevier Inc | |||||
| PO Box 628239 | Orlando | FL | 32862 | Member Subscriptions | $443,584 |
| Healthsperien LLC | |||||
| 1299 Pennsylvania Ave NW | Washington | DC | 20004 | Consulting and Legal Services | $195,000 |
| Walsworth Publishing Company | |||||
| PO Box 310287 | Des Moines | IA | 50331 | Printing Services | $150,062 |
| Capitol Counsel LLC | |||||
| 901 15th ST NW Suite 500 | WASHINGTON | DC | 20005 | Consulting Services | $144,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| All Other Contributions | $88,791 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $88,791 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MEMBERSHIP DUES | 900099 | $9,391,406 | $9,391,406 | ||
| JAAD & OTHER ROYALTIES | 900099 | $967,162 | $967,162 | ||
| ADVERTISING | 541800 | $600,707 | $600,707 | ||
| MAILING LIST RENTAL REVENUE | 541860 | $202,844 | $127,409 | $75,435 | |
| MEETINGS | 900099 | $199,305 | $193,850 | $5,455 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $11,361,424 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $384,355 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $384,355 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,877,729 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,891,165 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$13,436 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$13,436 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$13,436 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $258,616 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $35,069 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $223,547 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $223,547 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $12,044,681 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $9,936,212 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $681,597 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,338,081 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $117,250 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,700 | TotalAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,279 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,889,569 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $267,816 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $548,653 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $244,426 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $77,295 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $25,623 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $249,100 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $47,001 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $57,724 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $592,261 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $247,163 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $612,375 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $134,720 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $727,677 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,132,683 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $276,948 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $76,995 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $37,493 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| Books & Subscriptions | $540,440 |
| STAFF EDUCATION | $92,660 |
| Membership Dues | $73,287 |
| RECRUITMENT | $48,701 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $39,328 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $10,169,167 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $811,932 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $654,598 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $827,694 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,778,057 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $63,750 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $347,227 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $314,225 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $219,561 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $233,646 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $1,104,131 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $774,534 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $406,592 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $329,597 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,617,217 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,848,804 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,942,241 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,784,937 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,236,214 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $17,943,864 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $94,100 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $78,824 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,228,077 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,181,070 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $841,827 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,564,055 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,164,004 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,823,949 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,929,710 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,119,915 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $142,500 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,072,210 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,119,915 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,236,214 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $17,943,864 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,875,514 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$380,313 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$1,447,496 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp
Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | AADA POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1445 NEW YORK AVENUE NW | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20005 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributions Rcvd Dlvr | $142,700 | ContributionsRcvdDlvrAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantially All Dues Nonded | 0 | SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd |
| Only In House Lobbying | 0 | OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd |
| Agree Carryover Prior Year | Yes (1) | AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd |
| Dues Assessments | $9,738,588 | DuesAssessmentsAmt |
| Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl CY | $1,249,738 | NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclCYAmt |
| Non Ded Lbbyng Pltcl Cyov | -$1,032,732 | NonDedLbbyngPltclCyovAmt |
| Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl Tot | $217,006 | NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclTotAmt |
| Aggregate Reported Dues Ntc | $1,168,631 | AggregateReportedDuesNtcAmt |
| Taxable | -$951,625 | TaxableAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I-A, Line 1: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | The American Academy of Dermatology Association PAC (AADA PAC or SkinPAC) supported campaigns of candidates running for federal office (U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate) in 2015. AADA PAC's political activities included, but not limitied to, contributions to federal candidate PACs, national political party campaigns, congressional campaign committees, and participating in political fundaraising events for federal candidates. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $720,532 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $474,462 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $246,070 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $383,599 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $300,072 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $83,527 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $329,597 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | DUE FROM RELATED ORGANIZATION | Desc |
| Book Value | $2,784,937 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $2,784,937 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | DUE TO RELATED ORGANIZATION | Desc |
| Amt | $1,564,055 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $1,564,055 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $11,641,677 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$380,313 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $35,069 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$345,244 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $11,986,921 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $57,724 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $36 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $57,760 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $12,044,681 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $11,593,972 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $1,483,645 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $1,483,645 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $10,110,327 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $57,724 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $1,116 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $58,840 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $10,169,167 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part X, Line 2: | Accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America require management to evaluate tax positions taken by the Academy and recognize a tax liability if the Academy has taken an uncertain position that more likely than not would not be sustained upon examination by the IRS or other applicable taxing authorities. Management has analyzed the tax positions taken by the Academy and has concluded that as of December 31, 2015 and 2014, there are no uncertain positions taken or expected to be taken that would require recognition of a liability or disclosure in the combined financial statements. The Academy is subject to routine audits by taxing jurisdictions; however, there are currently no audits for any tax periods in progress. Management believes it is no longer subject to income tax examinations for years prior to 2012. |
| Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | INVENTORY COSTS NETTED AGAINST REVENUES 35,069. |
| Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | OTHER EXPENSE INCLUDED IN INVESTMENT INCOME 36. |
| Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments: | INVENTORY COSTS NETTED AGAINST REVENUES 35,069. COMPENSATION ALLOCATED TO AFFILIATED ORGANZIATION 1,448,576. |
| Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments: | Returned Grant Funds 1,080. OTHER EXPENSE INCLUDED IN INVESTMENT INCOME 36. |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | 0 | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (4 entries)
| RegionRegionTxt | EmployeeEmployeeCnt | Type Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt | Specific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxt | Region Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Europe (Including Iceland & Greenland) | 6 | European Academy of Dermatology & Venereology Congress | Meeting Attendance | $4,685 |
| North America | 14 | World Congress of Dermatology | Meeting Attendance | $2,251 |
| North America | 1 | Affinity Directors Meeting | Meeting Attendance | $390 |
| Central America and the Caribbean | 1 | Affinity Directors Meeting | Meeting Attendance | $1,278 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Subtotal Offices | 0 | SubtotalOfficesCnt |
| Subtotal Employees | 22 | SubtotalEmployeesCnt |
| Continutation Total Office | 0 | ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt |
| Continutation Total Employee | 0 | ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Office | 0 | TotalOfficeCnt |
| Total Employee | 22 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Subtotal Spent | $8,604 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Continuation Spent | $0 | ContinuationSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $8,604 | TotalSpentAmt |
Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Region | North America | RegionTxt |
| Purpose Of Grant | international volunteer programs | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
| Cash Grant | $675 | CashGrantAmt |
| Manner Of Cash Disbursement | check | MannerOfCashDisbursementTxt |
Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (4 entries)
| Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxt | RegionRegionTxt | RecipientRecipientCnt | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Manner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| European Academy of Dermatology & Venereology | Europe (Including Iceland & Greenland) | 6 | $4,685 | CHECK |
| WORLD CONGRESS OF DERMATOLOGY | North America | 14 | $2,251 | CHECK |
| AFFINTY DIRECTORS MEETING | North America | 1 | $390 | CHECK |
| AMERICAN DERMATOLOGIC ASSOCIATION | Central America and the Caribbean | 1 | $1,278 | CHECK |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | 0 | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | 0 | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | 0 | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | 0 | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | 0 | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | 0 | BoycottCountriesInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Academy's leadership meets with International Foundation for Dermatology to review the Foundation's work in the prevention and treatment of skin diseases. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Mail Solicitations | Yes (X) | MailSolicitationsInd |
| Email Solicitations | Yes (X) | EmailSolicitationsInd |
| Phone Solicitations | Yes (X) | PhoneSolicitationsInd |
| Agrmt Prof Fundraising Acty | Yes (1) | AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd |
Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp
Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | National Capital Teleservices LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 300 Fifth Street NW | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Washington | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20002 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Activity | Funds Solicitation / Telemarketing for SkinPAC | ActivityTxt |
| Fundraiser Control Of Funds | 0 | FundraiserControlOfFundsInd |
| Gross Receipts | $0 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Retained By Contractor | $47,001 | RetainedByContractorAmt |
| Net To Organization | $47,001 | NetToOrganizationAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Retained By Contractors | $47,001 | TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt |
| Total Net To Organization | $47,001 | TotalNetToOrganizationAmt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (9 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| California Society of Dermatology | |||||||
| 980 9th Street | Sacramento | CA | 95814 | 205050410 | 501(C)(6) | $15,000 | State Advocacy Fund |
| Georgia Society Of Dermatologists | |||||||
| 6134 Poplar Bluff Circle | Norcross | GA | 30092 | 581333683 | 501(C)(6) | $7,500 | State Advocacy Fund |
| OHIO DERMATOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION | |||||||
| 2110 Mary Drive NE | Warren | OH | 44483 | 311242595 | 501(C)(6) | $7,500 | State Advocacy Fund |
| Florida Society of Derm & Dermatologic Surgery | |||||||
| 1189 Magnolia Falls Drive | Jacksonville | FL | 32258 | 591747553 | 501(C)(6) | $5,000 | State Advocacy Fund |
| Colorado Dermatologic Society | |||||||
| 4528 S Ulser Street | Denver | CO | 80155 | 841189756 | 501(C)(3) | $14,000 | State Advocacy Fund |
| Maryland Dermatologic Society | |||||||
| 1211 Cathedral Street | Baltimore | MD | 21201 | 521250975 | 501(C)(3) | $15,000 | State Advocacy Fund |
| Kentucky Dermatology Association | |||||||
| 2920 Ciffwaynde | Louisville | KY | 40241 | 616104843 | 501(C)(6) | $15,000 | State Advocacy Fund |
| Medical Society of Virginia | |||||||
| 2924 Emerywood Parkway | Richmond | VA | 23294 | 540299956 | 501(C)(6) | $9,000 | State Advocacy Fund |
| Dermatology Foundation | |||||||
| 1550 Sherman Ave | Evanston | IL | 60201 | 046115524 | 501(C)(3) | $14,850 | Delegates/Other Organizations |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 3 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 6 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | International Volunteer Programs | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 5 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $2,700 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Recipients of the grant are required to complete a survey that states what field in dermatology the resident is entering and where the resident will be practicing, such as Rural or Urban area. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (17 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suzanne M Olbricht MD | ||||||||||||||
| Secretary-Treasurer of the Board | $0 | $157,750 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $157,750 | $0 | $0 |
| Elaine C Weiss | ||||||||||||||
| Executive Director & CEO | $0 | $436,554 | $0 | $106,253 | $0 | $11,422 | $0 | $38,506 | $0 | $27,957 | $0 | $620,692 | $0 | $106,253 |
| Steven J Debnar | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | $0 | $167,293 | $0 | $8,389 | $0 | $1,194 | $0 | $20,410 | $0 | $30,203 | $0 | $227,489 | $0 | $8,389 |
| Barbara Greenan | ||||||||||||||
| Senior Director, Advocacy & Policy | $0 | $230,250 | $0 | $16,789 | $0 | $653 | $0 | $27,533 | $0 | $5,414 | $0 | $280,639 | $0 | $11,789 |
| Sarah Tancredi | ||||||||||||||
| Managing Director, Administration | $0 | $213,899 | $0 | $13,172 | $0 | $7,896 | $0 | $25,910 | $0 | $29,022 | $0 | $289,899 | $0 | $11,172 |
| Naheed Ali | ||||||||||||||
| Senior Director, Community & Corpora | $0 | $196,874 | $0 | $11,772 | $0 | $1,032 | $0 | $23,740 | $0 | $21,794 | $0 | $255,212 | $0 | $11,772 |
| Melanie Tolley Hall | ||||||||||||||
| Senior Director, Integrated Communic | $0 | $185,669 | $0 | $10,730 | $0 | $579 | $0 | $18,298 | $0 | $20,416 | $0 | $235,692 | $0 | $10,730 |
| Cacinda Kuhn | ||||||||||||||
| Senior Director, Member Engagement | $0 | $181,565 | $0 | $7,770 | $0 | $1,194 | $0 | $13,050 | $0 | $27,029 | $0 | $230,608 | $0 | $0 |
| Krista Kauper | ||||||||||||||
| Senior Director, Constituent Relatio | $0 | $172,827 | $0 | $8,840 | $0 | $5,352 | $0 | $20,303 | $0 | $10,252 | $0 | $217,574 | $0 | $8,840 |
| Shawn Friesen | ||||||||||||||
| Director, Legislative & Political Ad | $0 | $164,766 | $0 | $8,708 | $0 | $240 | $0 | $20,061 | $0 | $29,230 | $0 | $223,005 | $0 | $8,708 |
| Timothy Moses | ||||||||||||||
| Director, Meetings & Conventions | $0 | $160,568 | $0 | $9,390 | $0 | $743 | $0 | $18,936 | $0 | $9,507 | $0 | $199,144 | $0 | $9,390 |
| Erik Horn | ||||||||||||||
| Director, Information Technology | $0 | $159,796 | $0 | $9,737 | $0 | $515 | $0 | $19,467 | $0 | $27,412 | $0 | $216,927 | $0 | $6,737 |
| Leslie Lloyd | ||||||||||||||
| Director, Regulatory & Payment Polic | $0 | $148,454 | $0 | $12,837 | $0 | $414 | $0 | $18,737 | $0 | $29,339 | $0 | $209,781 | $0 | $7,837 |
| Lara Lowery | ||||||||||||||
| Director, Creative & Publishing | $0 | $147,855 | $0 | $8,209 | $0 | $360 | $0 | $17,512 | $0 | $10,427 | $0 | $184,363 | $0 | $8,209 |
| Suzanne Lothary | ||||||||||||||
| Director, Marketing | $0 | $135,482 | $0 | $10,475 | $0 | $240 | $0 | $16,789 | $0 | $26,941 | $0 | $189,927 | $0 | $8,475 |
| Christine O'Connor | ||||||||||||||
| Associate Director, Congressional Po | $0 | $127,563 | $0 | $5,106 | $0 | $468 | $0 | $15,165 | $0 | $12,452 | $0 | $160,754 | $0 | $0 |
| Cynthia Del Boccio | ||||||||||||||
| Director, Executive Office | $0 | $122,458 | $0 | $6,777 | $0 | $687 | $0 | $14,522 | $0 | $10,415 | $0 | $154,859 | $0 | $6,777 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 3 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Compensation review procedures are performed by a related organization, American Academy of Dermatology (AAD). | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6 | AADA is an association representing approximately 19,000 Dermatologists, who become members of the Academy. The Academy has ten classes of members but only Fellows and Life and Honorary members who were Fellows are eligible to vote and serve in any elective office. Members annually elect the President to a three year term as President elect, President, and Past President and Vice-President to two year term as Vice-President elect and Vice President. Additionally, members also elect four Directors to serve a four year term. Proposed amendments to the by-laws by the Board of Directors are subject to approval by the membership. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7a | SEE EXPLANATION OF LINE 6 ABOVE. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7b | SEE EXPLANATION OF LINE 6 ABOVE. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11 | The Board retained the services of an independent CPA firm to prepare the organization's Form 990. Management reviews the completed Form 990 and provides a full copy to the Board of Directors' prior to filing. The return is posted on a secured web site for their review. Board members are given a reasonable period of time to contact either management or the CPA firm with any questions. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | Officers, directors, committee members, editors, speakers, and key employees are annually required to complete a conflict of interest disclosure statement as a precursor to their service to the organization. Detailed below is the Disclosure process: Disclosure Process 1. The individuals covered are required to electronically submit a disclosure statement acknowledging a duty to serve the Academy in good faith and with undivided loyalty. These individuals are to describe all personal or professional circumstances which might create a potential conflict of interest with the interests of the Academy. Accompanying this policy statement as Exhibit A is a sample copy of such a disclosure statement. Members who do not submit a yearly conflict of interest disclosure, may lose the right to hold office and, except in unusual circumstances approved in advance by the Board of Directors, to participate in Academy programs as a faculty member, presenter, or scientific exhibit contributor, or participate on a council, committee or task force. Review Process 1.Officers, directors, chairmen and members of councils, committees, and task forces, the editors of JAAD and senior staff will submit their statements directly onto the academy website. 2.The statements are provided at every committee meeting to all committee members. If necessary, the chairmen will forward those that appear to have conflicts which could prevent them from serving to the Secretary-Treasurer with any relevant observations or recommendations. 3.The Secretary-Treasurer will review all statements submitted for further review and if necessary will forward to the Ethics Committee, while at the same time informing the Board of Directors of any conflicts that appear especially significant. 4.The Ethics Committee will review and initiate any request for further information and promptly prepare a report to the Secretary-Treasurer regarding its findings. The Secretary-Treasurer will report to the Board of Directors on any items found by the Committee to be of special significance. All disclosure statements will be retained on the Academy server. They will be available electronically for review by members of the Board of Directors and staff, and upon request by Academy members. They will be available to the council, committee and task force members to review prior to all conference calls and meetings. All members filing an annual disclosure statement will be obligated to promptly update any change in circumstances which might give rise to an actual or potential conflict of interest. Members also should verbally disclose and update their conflict of interest form for any relevant conflicts that may occur during a conference call or meeting that do not already appear on the disclosure form. Chairmen of councils, committee and task forces are required to include in the summation report any conflict of interests that have been expressed by a member during a meeting or conference call. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | Compensation and Review Procedures are performed by a related organizaiton, American Academy of Dermatology (AAD). The competitive market is typically defined in terms of revenue and company size. To define competitive market the Academy considers the following as valid resources for comparable market data: Companies with similar operating budget; Companies with roughly same number of employees; and Companies who operate under like circumstances. Compensation decisions are recommended by the Compensation Committee that consists of Independent Officers of the Board of Directors and approved by the Board of Directors. The decisions are based on analysis of comparable market data. Other officers or key employees of the organization: Compensation of Key employees of the organization is determined in the same fashion of the Executive Director although their compensation decisions are approved by the Executive Director. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | The Academy's governing documents and conflict of interest policies are available on the Academy's web site for the membership and public to view. The Annual Financial Statements are published in Dermatology World, the Academy's magazine, and are available on GuideStar. |
| Form 990, Part XI, line 9: | Officer Compensation allocated to AADA on financial statements -1,448,576. Returned Grant Funds 1,080. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMERICAN ACADEMY OF DERMATOLOGY INC | |||||||||
| 930 EAST WOODFIELD ROAD | SCHAUMBURG | IL | 60173 | 410793046 | MEMBERSHIP ASSOCIATION FOR DERMATOLOGISTS. | IL | 501(c)(3) | Line 9 | 0 |
| aMERICAN ACADEMY OF DERMATOLOGY ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE | |||||||||
| 1445 NEW YORK AVENUE NW | WASHINGTON | DC | 20005 | POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE SUPPORTING DERMATOLOGISTS | DC | 527 | 0 | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (1) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |