STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

FOUR COUNTY ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORP: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
FOUR COUNTY ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORP (EIN 56-0227152)
Tax period
2015-01-01 to 2015-12-31
Filed
2016-05-02
IRS object ID
201601239349300445
Schema version
2015v2.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2016-05-02T12:18:39-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN540504608PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BROWN EDWARDS & COMPANY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1319 MCCLANAHAN STREET SWAddressLine1Txt
CityROANOKECityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP24014ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN560227152EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FOUR COUNTY ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlFOURBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9102592171PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 667AddressLine1Txt
CityBURGAWCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP284250667ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMITCHELL L KEELPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone9102592171PhoneNum
Signature2016-04-18SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMELISSA C STANLEYPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00720497PTIN
Phone5403450936PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2016-09-27 15:27:22ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMITCHELL L KEELPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 667AddressLine1Txt
CityBURGAWCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP284250667ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$97,663,234GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.FOURCTY.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE HIGHLY RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICES, INNOVATIVE ENERGY SOLUTIONS AND OUTSTANDING SERVICE TO OUR MEMBERS AND COMMUNITIES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee95TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$94,463,504PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$94,032,500CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$126,409PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$445,566CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$3,168,741PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$3,185,168CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$97,758,654PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$97,663,234CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,906,641PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$2,958,240CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,096,396PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,196,016CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$86,738,703PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$88,104,264CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$90,741,740PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$92,258,520CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$7,016,914PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$5,404,714CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$200,580,553TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$202,941,946TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$126,526,419TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$125,683,592TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$74,054,134NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$77,258,354NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE HIGHLY RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICES, INNOVATIVE ENERGY SOLUTIONS AND OUTSTANDING SERVICE TO OUR MEMBERS AND COMMUNITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescFOUR COUNTY ELECTRIC IS A NOT-FOR-PROFIT ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE OWNED BY THE PEOPLE IT SERVES. AS A HOMETOWN UTILITY, FOUR COUNTY IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING SAFE, RELIABLE AND AFFORDABLE ENERGY TO ITS MORE THAN 32,000 COMMERCIAL AND RESIDENTIAL MEMBER-OWNERS IN SIX NORTH CAROLINA COUNTIES, INCLUDING BLADEN, DUPLIN, PENDER, SAMPSON, COLUMBUS AND ONSLOW COUNTIES. TODAY, MORE THAN 5,000 MILES OF OVERHEAD, UNDERGROUND, AND TRANSMISSION LINES PROVIDE RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO OVER 32,000 SERVICES WHICH INCLUDE RESIDENCES, FARMS, BUSINESSES, INDUSTRIES, CHURCHES, AND SCHOOLS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document26IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee95EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$93,658,322MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$672,494OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GARY CHITWOODBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9102592171PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 667AddressLine1Txt
CityBURGAWCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP284250667ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
BERTICE LANIER
VICE PRESIDENT4.75Yes (X)Yes (X)$16,381$0$0
FRANKLIN WILLIAMS
PRESIDENT7.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$18,856$0$0
RW BLANCHARD JR
DIRECTOR5.00Yes (X)$15,281$0$0
GEORGE HOLLINGSWORTH
DIRECTOR5.75Yes (X)$16,656$0$0
S EUGENE JORDAN
SECRETARY/TREASURER5.75Yes (X)Yes (X)$16,381$0$0
KENNETH THORNTON
DIRECTOR3.75Yes (X)$13,631$0$0
ARLESTER FULLWOOD
DIRECTOR5.75Yes (X)$16,656$0$0
JOHN MATTHIS
DIRECTOR4.25Yes (X)$15,281$0$0
E CARLTON RAYNOR
DIRECTOR5.50Yes (X)$17,206$0$0
RONALD J ALLEN
DIRECTOR4.50Yes (X)$15,556$0$0
MITCHELL KEEL
CEO40.00Yes (X)$265,554$0$206,770
GARY CHITWOOD
VICE PRES. FINANCE & ACCTG40.00Yes (X)$121,517$0$88,001
CYNTHIA MOORE
VICE PRES. HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$124,758$0$81,036Yes (X)
DANIEL ALLEN
VICE PRES. CUSTOMER SERVICE40.00$113,616$0$11,901Yes (X)
JOHN W MCGAVOCK
VICE PRESIDENT OPERATIONS40.00$112,304$0$8,816Yes (X)
DOUGLAS KRYNICKI
VICE PRES. INFORMATION TECH40.00$110,533$0$39,630Yes (X)
GREGG A COHN
VICE PRES. ENGINEERING40.00$103,212$0$38,427Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,113,379TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$474,581TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ROWE TREE CO
6640 MALPASS CORNER RDCURRIENC28435RIGHT OF WAY CREW$930,619
SOUTHEASTERN DATA COOP INC
100 ASHFORD CENTER NORTH SUITE 500ATLANTAGA30338SOFTWARE & BILLING$569,593
CAPE FEAR BUILDING MAINTENANCE INC
4490 SAWMILL ROADLELANDNC28451CONSTRUCTION - BUILDING IMPROVEMENTS$359,092
ELECTRICOM
PO BOX 319PAOLIIN47454INSTALLATION OF FIBER$238,043
SOUTHEAST WOODLAND SERVICES
431 CAINES LANDING RDCONWAYSC29526RIGHT OF WAY CREW$235,595
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K9CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
ELECTRICITY TO MEMBERS221000$91,679,367$91,679,367
PATRONAGE ALLOCATION221000$1,823,853$1,823,853
CONTRIBUTION IN AID OF CONSTRUCTI221000$374,178$374,178
ELECTRIC PROPERTY RENTAL221000$155,102$155,102
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$94,032,500TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$445,566TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$445,566ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS221000$2,958,240$2,958,240
DISCOUNT ON CAPITAL CREDITS221000$226,928$226,928
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$3,185,168OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$97,663,234TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$97,062,566RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$600,668ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,958,240TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,113,379TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$82,637TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$369,084TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$293,237TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,194,925TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,412,550TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,616TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$63,169,181
DISTRIBUTION MAINTENANC$3,903,682
ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERA$3,417,357
CONSUMER ACCOUNTS$2,426,541

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,860,091TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$92,258,520TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,248,228BOYAmt
EOY$2,731,842EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,713,505BOYAmt
EOY$7,589,964EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,667,155BOYAmt
EOY$7,328,856EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,290,382BOYAmt
EOY$4,970,635EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,571,733BOYAmt
EOY$1,555,509EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,034,445BOYAmt
EOY$4,367,127EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$214,674,252LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$54,557,725LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$159,371,796BOYAmt
EOY$160,116,527EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,683,309BOYAmt
EOY$14,281,486EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$200,580,553BOYAmt
EOY$202,941,946EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,519,000BOYAmt
EOY$7,701,409EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$2,000,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,933,039BOYAmt
EOY$102,090,865EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,074,380BOYAmt
EOY$13,891,318EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$126,526,419BOYAmt
EOY$125,683,592EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,054,134BOYAmt
EOY$77,258,354EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,054,134BOYAmt
EOY$77,258,354EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$200,580,553BOYAmt
EOY$202,941,946EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$5,404,714ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$2,200,494OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,088,755OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$7,088,755BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,527,945OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,377,053DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,150,892BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$201,033,059OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$51,180,672DepreciationAmt
Book Value$149,852,387BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,024,493OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,024,493BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$160,116,527TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
NRUCFC CERTIFICATES$1,243,349C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL CERTIFICATES$12,819,728C
MEMBERSHIPS$24,697C
DIVERSIFIED ENERGY LLC$1,000C
SPECIAL FUNDS$192,712C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$14,281,486TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED CREDITS$1,024,603
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$1,588,103
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITS$11,278,612
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$13,891,318TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$94,103,888TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$94,103,888RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$3,559,346OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$3,559,346RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$97,663,234TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$92,258,520TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$92,258,520ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$92,258,520TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCONTRIBUTIONS IN AID OF CONSTRUCTION 374,178. DISCOUNTS ON CAPITAL CREDITS 226,928. RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS 2,958,240.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
MITCHELL KEEL
CEO$265,554$0$0$0$0$0$188,344$0$18,426$0$472,324$0$0$0
GARY CHITWOOD
VICE PRES. FINANCE & ACCTG$121,517$0$0$0$0$0$71,112$0$16,889$0$209,518$0$0$0
CYNTHIA MOORE
VICE PRES. HUMAN RESOURCES$124,758$0$0$0$0$0$69,500$0$11,536$0$205,794$0$0$0
DOUGLAS KRYNICKI
VICE PRES. INFORMATION TECH$110,533$0$0$0$0$0$26,613$0$13,017$0$150,163$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION OPERATES AS A COOPERATIVE. ANY PERSON, BUSINESS, ORGANIZATION, ASSOCIATION, OR AGENCY IS ELIGIBLE TO BECOME A MEMBER OF, AND RECEIVE ELECTRIC SERVICE FROM, FOUR COUNTY EMC. HOWEVER, NO PERSON SHALL HAVE MORE THAN ONE MEMBERSHIP IN THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS ELECTED BY THE MEMBERSHIP AT THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS. EACH ACTIVE MEMBER IS ALLOWED ONE VOTE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BACTIVE MEMBERS MUST APPROVE OF THE DISPOSAL OF A SIGNIFICANT PERCENTAGE OF THE ORGANIZATION'S ASSETS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE 990 IS REVIEWED BY ACCOUNTING PERSONNEL BEFORE FURNISHING IT TO THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER AND THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THEIR APPROVAL. THIS REVIEW INCLUDES COMPARING THE 990 TO THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND REQUIRED ANNUAL FILINGS WITH THE RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CCONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE COVERED UNDER THE ORGANIZATION'S CODE OF CONDUCT, WHICH STATES, "EMPLOYEES ARE ENCOURAGED TO TALK TO SUPERVISORS, MANAGERS, OR OTHER APPROPRIATE PERSONNEL ABOUT OBSERVED ILLEGAL OR UNETHICAL BEHAVIOR, AS WELL AS ACTUAL OR SUSPECTED VIOLATIONS OF THE POLICY OF WHICH THEY ARE AWARE, OR CONCERNS ABOUT THE PAST COURSE OF ACTION IN A PARTICULAR SITUATION". A COPY OF THE POLICY IS POSTED AT EACH OFFICE LOCATION AND A COPY CAN BE REQUESTED FROM A SUPERVISOR. EMPLOYEES ARE NOTIFIED ONCE A YEAR ABOUT THE POLICY. EMPLOYEES ARE EXPECTED TO COOPERATE IN INTERNAL INVESTIGATIONS OF MISCONDUCT. DIRECTORS ARE SIMILARLY ENCOURAGED TO DISCUSS SUCH ISSUES WITH FELLOW DIRECTORS OR WITH THE PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD. ONCE A YEAR,MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PROVIDE WRITTEN DOCUMENTATION OF ANY KNOWN CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. NO SUCH CONFLICTS WERE NOTED DURING THE REPORTING YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE ORGANIZATION PERIODICALLY USES THE SERVICES OF A CONSULTING SERVICE WHICH COMPARES THE ORGANIZATION'S COMPENSATION WITH THAT OF SIMILAR ORGANIZATIONS FOR ALL CLASSES OF EMPLOYEES. SALARIES OF MANAGEMENT PERSONNEL, INCLUDING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, ARE REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, AND FILES ARE MAINTAINED FOR THE REVIEW PROCESS BY WHICH MERIT RAISES ARE GRANTED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19A COPY OF THE BYLAWS ARE PROVIDED TO NEW MEMBERS. A CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENT IS PROVIDED TO THE MEMBERS AS A PART OF THE ORGANIZATION'S ANNUAL REPORT. THE FULL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST FROM THE ORGANIZATION'S OFFICE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS A PART OF THE ORGANIZATION'S CODE OF CONDUCT, WHICH IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST FROM THE ORGANIZATION'S OFFICE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS -2,958,240. CONTRIBUTIONS IN AID OF CONSTRUCTION -374,178. FAS 158 AMORTIZATION ADJUSTMENT 1,131,924.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE PROCESS OF FINANCIAL STATEMENT REVIEW AND OVERSIGHT HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.