STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

NORTH AMERICAN ELECTRIC RELIABILITY CORP: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NORTH AMERICAN ELECTRIC RELIABILITY CORP (EIN 20-4821888)
Tax period
2015-01-01 to 2015-12-31
Filed
2016-05-10
IRS object ID
201621319349302797
Schema version
2015v2.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2016-05-10T16:02:58-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GRANT THORNTON LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11100 PEACHTREE STREET SUITE 1200AddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30309ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN204821888EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1North American Electric Reliability CorpBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% MANAGEMENTInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4044462560PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13353 Peachtree Road NE Suite STE 60AddressLine1Txt
CityAtlantaCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30326ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMICHAEL A WALKERPersonNm
Person TitleSr. VP/CFO/TREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone4044462500PhoneNum
Signature2016-05-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMichele N MelchiorPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00488037PTIN
Phone4044462500PhoneNum
Preparation2016-05-10PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2016-09-27 15:27:22ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMICHAEL A WALKERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13353 Peachtree Road NESTE 600AddressLine1Txt
CityAtlantaCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30326ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$63,688,649GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.nerc.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2006FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNJLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo enhance the reliability and security of the bulk power in North America.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee230TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers2300TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$58,766,485PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$63,486,737CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income-$6,312PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$6,792CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$57,572PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$159,707CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$58,702,601PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$63,333,822CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,500PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,500CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,220,030PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$36,702,990CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$21,388,723PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$25,633,415CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$54,611,253PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$62,338,905CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,091,348PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$994,917CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$51,177,783TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$55,029,893TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$38,726,843TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$41,584,036TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$12,450,940NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$13,445,857NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionCOORDINATING, PROMOTING, AND COMMUNICATING THE RELIABILITY OF BULK POWER SYSTEM OF NORTH AMERICA, BY SETTING AND ENFORCING STANDARDS, ANALYZING SYSTEMS EVENTS, AND ASSESSING AND REPORTING ON THE ADEQUACY OF THE BULK POWER SYSTEM.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescCoordinating, promoting, communicating and enforcing the reliability of the bulk power system of North America, NERC's members are the eight regional entities, load serving entities, users, owners and operators of the bulk power system, as well as large and small end-use customers and governmental representatives. The load serving entities account for virtually all the electricity supplied in the US, Canada, and a portion of Baja California North Mexico.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescActing as the electric reliability organization of the United States as certified by the federal energy regulatory commission and for Canada as recognized by applicable government and regulatory authorities in such countries.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxYes (true)SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document57IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee230EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldDEStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMANAGEMENTPersonNm
Phone4044462560PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13353 PEACHTREE ROAD NE STE 600AddressLine1Txt
CityAtlantaCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30326ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Fred Gorbet
Chairman13.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$132,500$0$0
Paul F Barber
Trustee9.00.0Yes (X)$117,500$0$0
Bob Clarke
Vice-Chair (As of 8/15/2015)9.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$99,375$0$0
Janice Case
Trustee13.00.0Yes (X)$107,500$0$0
David Goulding
Trustee11.00.0Yes (X)$107,500$0$0
Douglas Jaeger
Vice-Chair (Through 8/15/2015)10.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$64,063$0$0
Kenneth Peterson
Trustee11.00.0Yes (X)$107,500$0$0
Bruce A Scherr
Trustee (Through 2/15/2015)9.00.0Yes (X)$13,438$0$0
Jan Schori
Trustee9.00.0Yes (X)$107,500$0$0
Roy Thilly
Trustee11.00.0Yes (X)$107,500$0$0
Gerry W Cauley
President & CEO55.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$757,481$0$80,985
George Hawkins
Trustee (As of 2/12/2015)7.00.0Yes (X)$85,313$0$0
Charles A Berardesco
SR. VP/GEN. COUNS./SEC.49.00.0Yes (X)$443,307$0$50,757
Mark G Lauby
Sr. VP & Chief Reliability off58.00.0Yes (X)$373,418$0$73,623
Michael A Walker
Sr. VP/CFO/TREASURER47.00.0Yes (X)$421,854$0$78,092
Janet L Sena
Sr. VP & Dir. of Policy46.00.0Yes (X)$333,201$0$38,256
Thomas Burgess
VP Reliabilty (Thru 7/1/2015)46.00.0Yes (X)$219,155$0$32,557
Stan Hoptroff
VP & CTO46.00.0Yes (X)$259,249$0$13,792
Sonia C Mendonca
Deputy Gen. Counsl&VP Compl.46.00.0Yes (X)$308,895$0$59,645
Marcus Sachs
Sr. VP and Chief Security Off.47.00.0Yes (X)$257,105$0$28,022
Timothy E Roxey
VP & E-ISAC operations off.41.00.0Yes (X)$268,374$0$52,874
Rebecca J Michael
Sr. Dir. Reliability50.00.0$292,494$0$69,595Yes (X)
Jonathan S Jones
Senior Director of Finance46.00.0$265,043$0$39,967Yes (X)
Holly A Hawkins
Associate General Counsel45.00.0$262,887$0$23,430Yes (X)
Robert W Cummings
Sr. Dir. Eng. & Reliability51.00.0$243,465$0$57,021Yes (X)
James Merlo
Sr. Director Reliability57.00.0$244,682$0$30,742Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$6,000,299TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$729,358TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K130IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Battlle Pacific Northwest Division
POBox 84262SEATTLEWA981245562CRISP data sharing$5,212,290
Atlanta Financial Center LLC
3353 Peachtree Road NE Suite 100ATLANTAGA30326Landloard-ATL$1,654,551
Computer Technology Solutions Inc
300 Riverchase Parkway EastBIRMINGHAMAL35244Consulting Firm$1,302,230
Behringer Harvard 1325 G Street LLC
1325 G St NwWASHINGTONDC200053104Landloard-DC$942,696
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
3109 W Dr MLK Jr BlvdTAMPAFL33607Project consulting$667,917
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K27CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
ASSESSMENTS900099$55,308,376$55,308,376
PENALTY SANCTIONS900099$900,000$900,000
TESTING FEES900099$1,683,977$1,683,977
THIRD-PARTY FUNDING900099$5,273,658$5,273,658
WORKSHOPS900099$249,726$249,726

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$71,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$71,000RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$63,486,737TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,761TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$10,761ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$188,684RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$348,547RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$159,863RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$159,863TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$159,863ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$2,311OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$6,280OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$3,969OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$3,969TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$3,969ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISCELLANEOUS- AMEX POINTSDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$156TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$156ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$156OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$63,333,822TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$63,486,737RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion-$152,915ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,500TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,200,330TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,231,243TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,312,886TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,230,581TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,727,950TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$372,328TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$111,453TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63,200TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,657,640TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,599,889TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,187,552TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,819,156TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,068,938TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,272,962TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,407TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,116,797TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$279,532TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER EXPENSESDesc
Total$29,561TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,338,905TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,768,653BOYAmt
EOY$32,260,259EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,042,143BOYAmt
EOY$8,048,696EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,059,002BOYAmt
EOY$3,986,346EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$756,727BOYAmt
EOY$1,291,805EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$15,711,410LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$7,409,678LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,929,366BOYAmt
EOY$8,301,732EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$621,892BOYAmt
EOY$1,141,055EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,177,783BOYAmt
EOY$55,029,893EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,930,613BOYAmt
EOY$10,048,001EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,620,792BOYAmt
EOY$22,743,496EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,151,411BOYAmt
EOY$1,641,044EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,024,027BOYAmt
EOY$7,151,495EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,726,843BOYAmt
EOY$41,584,036EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,485,940BOYAmt
EOY$9,735,857EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,965,000BOYAmt
EOY$3,710,000EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,450,940BOYAmt
EOY$13,445,857EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,177,783BOYAmt
EOY$55,029,893EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$994,917ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Grassroots LobbyingTotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp
Total Direct LobbyingTotalDirectLobbyingGrp
Total Lobbying ExpendTotalLobbyingExpendGrp
Other Exempt Purpose ExpendOtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp
Total Exempt Purpose ExpendTotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp
Lobbying Nontaxable AmountLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
Grassroots NontaxableGrassrootsNontaxableGrp
Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non TxTotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp
Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non TxTotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp
Substantially All Dues NondedfalseSubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd
Only In House LobbyingfalseOnlyInHouseLobbyingInd
Agree Carryover Prior YearYes (true)AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd
Dues Assessments$55,308,376DuesAssessmentsAmt
Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl CY$79,779NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclCYAmt
Non Ded Lbbyng Pltcl Cyov-$24,949NonDedLbbyngPltclCyovAmt
Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl Tot$54,830NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclTotAmt
Aggregate Reported Dues Ntc$17,670AggregateReportedDuesNtcAmt
Carried Over$37,160CarriedOverAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
LandLandGrp
BuildingsBuildingsGrp

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,380,676OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$607,866DepreciationAmt
Book Value$772,810BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,196,545OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,356,944DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,839,601BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,134,189OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,444,868DepreciationAmt
Book Value$689,321BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$8,301,732TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED COMPENSATION$1,038,351
ACCRUED RETIREMENT LIABILITIES$1,878,830
DEFERRED RENT$3,734,314
INSURANCE RESERVE$500,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$7,151,495TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$63,682,369TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Subtotal$63,682,369RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$348,547OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$348,547RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$63,333,822TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$62,687,453TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$348,548OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$348,548ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$62,338,905ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$62,338,905TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2The corporation has received a determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service concluding that it is exempt from federal income taxes under section 501(c)(6) of the internal revenue code. The corporation is subject to income taxes on revenues related to unrelated business activities. The corporation is subject to a proxy tax related to nondeductible lobbying and political expenses incurred. There was no proxy tax incurred in 2015 or 2014. The corporation recognizes the tax benefit from an uncertain tax position only if it is more likely than not that the tax position will be sustained on examination by the taxing authority, based on the technical merits of the position. The corporation is no longer subject to federal and state tax examinations by the respective taxing authorities for the years prior to 2012. Tax years 2012 through 2015 remain subject to examination by major tax jurisdictions.
RECONCILIATION OF REVENUE, SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2bRECLASS OF RENTAL EXPENSES -$348,547
RECONCILIATION OF EXPENSES, SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DRECLASS OF RENTAL EXPENSES $348,548.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
North America00Program ServicesRegulatory Obligations$5,062,604
North America00Program ServicesRegulatory Obligations$148,815
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$5,211,419SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$5,211,419TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule F, Part I, Line 2Expenditures are accounted for based upon the location of the activities.
Schedule FCountry - Canada
Schedule FCountry - Mexico

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Gerry W Cauley
President & CEO$479,815$0$237,500$0$40,166$0$45,792$0$35,193$0$838,466$0$0$0
Charles A Berardesco
SR. VP/GEN. COUNS./SEC.$332,038$0$94,134$0$17,135$0$37,208$0$13,549$0$494,064$0$0$0
Mark G Lauby
Sr. VP & Chief Reliability off$265,963$0$102,229$0$5,226$0$38,516$0$35,107$0$447,041$0$0$0
Michael A Walker
Sr. VP/CFO/TREASURER$296,646$0$113,202$0$12,006$0$42,953$0$35,139$0$499,946$0$0$0
Janet L Sena
Sr. VP & Dir. of Policy$240,834$0$87,538$0$4,829$0$35,986$0$2,270$0$371,457$0$0$0
Thomas Burgess
VP Reliabilty (Thru 7/1/2015)$160,706$0$56,163$0$2,286$0$24,846$0$7,711$0$251,712$0$0$0
Stan Hoptroff
VP & CTO$234,458$0$22,469$0$2,322$0$11,542$0$2,250$0$273,041$0$0$0
Sonia C Mendonca
Deputy Gen. Counsl&VP Compl.$240,029$0$66,838$0$2,028$0$29,751$0$29,894$0$368,540$0$0$0
Rebecca J Michael
Sr. Dir. Reliability$225,397$0$64,811$0$2,286$0$30,550$0$39,045$0$362,089$0$0$0
Marcus Sachs
Sr. VP and Chief Security Off.$205,557$0$50,000$0$1,548$0$25,710$0$2,312$0$285,127$0$0$0
Timothy E Roxey
VP & E-ISAC operations off.$206,863$0$54,653$0$6,858$0$27,642$0$25,232$0$321,248$0$0$0
Jonathan S Jones
Senior Director of Finance$223,233$0$41,000$0$810$0$7,770$0$32,197$0$305,010$0$0$0
Holly A Hawkins
Associate General Counsel$207,661$0$54,686$0$540$0$19,521$0$3,909$0$286,317$0$0$0
Robert W Cummings
Sr. Dir. Eng. & Reliability$188,062$0$51,839$0$3,564$0$26,153$0$30,868$0$300,486$0$0$0
James Merlo
Sr. Director Reliability$193,508$0$50,400$0$774$0$24,433$0$6,309$0$275,424$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part I, Line 4bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIn 2015, NERC establised a 457f Plan for executive officers. Awarded contributions to the plan in 2015 totalled $271,200. Awards vest over time. No awards vested in 2015, and no amounts were paid out of the plan.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (15 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6Membership in the corporation is voluntary and is open to any person or entity that has an interest in the reliable operation of the North American bulk power system and that registers with the corporation as a member, maintains its registration in accordance with the bylaws, and complies with the other conditions and obligations of membership as specified in the bylaws. Membership in a regional entity shall not be a condition for membership in the corporation. The secretary of the corporation shall maintain a roster of the members of the corporation. Members do not share in the profits or revenues of the corporation.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7aIndependent trustees are elected by the member representatives committee, which is elected by the members.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7bThe member representatives committee and the Board of Trustees must each approve changes to the bylaws and the organization's rules of procedure. They are subject to review and approval by the United States Federal Energy Regulatory Commission ("FERC"). Decisions of the compliance committee of the Board of Trustees regarding enforcement matters for U.S entities are subject to review and approval by FERC.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11bThe organization must use the following process for preparation and review of its IRS Form 990: (1) each year, an outside CPA firm prepares a draft of the Form 990, working with the Chief Financial Officer. The CFO may also engage the services of outside counsel in preparing the draft Form 990. (2) Prior to filing the Form 990 each year, the Corporate Controller, Senior Director of Finance, CFO and General Counsel review the draft form 990. (3) Prior to filing the Form 990 each year, the draft Form 990 is sent to all members of the Board of Trustees for review. The Finance and Audit Committee (FAC) and the Corporate Governance and Human Resources Committee (CGHRC) include the review of the draft Form 990 on a meeting agenda, with the FAC review focused on the financial aspects and the CGHRC focused on the corporate governance aspects. (4) The minutes of the meetings of the FAC and the CGHRC record the timing and nature of that review. (5) The CFO prepares a memorandum for the file each year describing the timing, nature, and individuals involved in the preparation and review of the form 990.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12cThe organization's conflict of interest and business ethics policy for Trustees, officers, and employees require assurance in writing annually from all employees, including Trustees, confirming the absence of any conflict of interest. The annual forms are reviewed by the organization's general counsel.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a & 15bNERC uses the following processes for determining the compensation of independent trustees, the chief executive officer, other officers, and key employees: (A) Trustee compensation - consistent with its mandate, as amended from time to time, the CGHRC shall annually review the compensation plan for independent Trustees. The CGHRC evaluates the amount of work and level of responsibility Trustees are being asked to undertake and, from time to time, examines market data from peer organizations with respect to the compensation of the independent trustees, and is authorized to engage a consultant or other third party resource to assist in such review. The CGHRC discusses potential modifications to the Trustee compensation plan during an open meeting, and reports its recommendations to the Board at an open meeting. Any modifications to the compensation plan for independent Trustees must be approved by the Board during an open meeting, and take effect as determined by the Board. (B) Chief Executive and other officer compensation - the annual compensation, including incentive compensation, of the CEO is determined by the Board of Trustees, after review and recommendation by the CGHRC. The Committee and Board consider market data for peer group organizations provided by an independent consultant, as well as the degree to which the organization and CEO have achieved established annual goals. The decisions of the Committee and Board are documented and kept on file in the human resources department. The annual compensation, including incentive compensation, of other officers is reviewed, determined and documented in a similar fashion, except that the final compensation determinations are, upon recommendation of the CEO, approved by the CGHRC, rather than the Board of Trustees. (C) Key employees - the annual compensation of other key employees is determined by the CEO, after consultation with the CGHRC concerning overall corporate compensation structure, taking account of the degree to which organizational and personal goals have been achieved. The CEO also uses comparability data provided by an independent consultant in these determinations. The recommendations of the CEO are documented and kept on file in the human resources department.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19The organization's bylaws, governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and other corporate policies, and detailed budget are all posted and available for public inspection on its website. The organization provides copies of its audited financial statements upon request, and files such statements with FERC. The Form 990 is also available on guidestar.org and by request to the organization.
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:E-ISAC TOTAL FEES:5901343
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:RELIABILITY RISK MGT. TOTAL FEES:1960674
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:RELIABILITY ASSESMENT&ANALYSIS TOTAL FEES:1195074
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:ADMIN SERVICES TOTAL FEES:818314
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:COMPLIANCE SERVICES TOTAL FEES:298485
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:TRAINING EDUCATION CERTIF. TOTAL FEES:640590
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:OTHER SERVICES TOTAL FEES:773743
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:MAINTENCE SERVICES TOTAL FEES:69417