D C PREPARATORY ACADEMY: Form 990, tax year 2013
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- D C PREPARATORY ACADEMY (EIN 02-0550253)
- Tax period
- 2013-07-01 to 2014-06-30
- Filed
- 2015-01-29
- IRS object ID
- 201500299349300445
- Schema version
- 2013v4.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule K
- Schedule M
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2015-01-29T13:22:59-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2014-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 521511275 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RAFFA PC | BusinessNameLine1 |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1899 L STREET NW SUITE 900 | AddressLine1 |
| City | WASHINGTON | City |
| State | DC | State |
| ZIP Code | 20036 | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2013-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 020550253 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | DC PREPARATORY ACADEMY | BusinessNameLine1 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | DCPR | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2026354590 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 707 EDGEWOOD STREET NE | AddressLine1 |
| City | WASHINGTON | City |
| State | DC | State |
| ZIP Code | 20017 | ZIPCode |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | EMILY LAWSON | PersonNm |
| Person Title | FOUNDER AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2026354590 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2015-01-29 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | FRANK H SMITH | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00639053 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2028225000 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2015-01-29 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2013 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2016-02-25 16:41:14Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | EMILY LAWSON | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 707 EDGEWOOD STREET NE | AddressLine1 |
| City | WASHINGTON | City |
| State | DC | State |
| ZIP Code | 20017 | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $22,655,806 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.DCPREP.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 2001 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | DC | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | DC PREP IS A NETWORK OF PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS SERVING STUDENTS IN WASHINGTON, DC. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 15 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 14 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 300 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 54 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $20,347,740 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $21,661,836 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $900,160 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $991,657 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $609 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $587 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $35,873 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $1,726 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $21,284,382 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $22,655,806 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $20,183 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $42,457 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $13,949,039 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $16,104,731 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $243,963 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $5,934,191 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $6,097,549 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $19,903,413 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $22,244,737 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,380,969 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $411,069 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $27,935,635 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $49,630,589 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $15,213,322 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $36,558,455 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $12,722,313 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $13,072,134 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | D.C. PREPARATORY ACADEMY'S (DC PREP) MISSION TO BRIDGE THE EDUCATIONAL DIVIDE IN THE NATION'S CAPITAL BY INCREASING THE NUMBER OF STUDENTS FROM UNDERSERVED COMMUNITIES WITH THE ACADEMIC PREPARATION AND PERSONAL CHARACTER TO SUCCEED IN COMPETITIVE HIGH SCHOOLS & COLLEGES. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $18,228,656 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $42,457 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $991,655 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | IN THE FALL OF 2003, DC PREP - A PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL - OPENED ITS FIRST CAMPUS: A SMALL MIDDLE SCHOOL WITH 100 STUDENTS IN 4TH AND 5TH GRADE. OVER THE PAST DECADE THE SCHOOL HAS EXPANDED SIGNIFICANTLY, GROWING TO FOUR CAMPUSES SERVING 1,300 STUDENTS IN PRESCHOOL - 8TH GRADE. NINETY-EIGHT PERCENT OF DC PREP STUDENTS ARE AFRICAN-AMERICAN AND 2% ARE HISPANIC; OVER 80% OF STUDENTS LIVE IN POVERTY AS MEASURED BY ELIGIBILITY FOR FREE/REDUCED PRICE MEALS. DC PREP'S STUDENTS ARE DRAMATICALLY OUTPERFORMING THEIR PEERS IN BOTH REGULAR PUBLIC AND CHARTER SCHOOLS, AND BASED ON DATA FROM THE 2014 DC-CAS, DC PREP IS THE HIGHEST-PERFORMING NETWORK OF CHARTER SCHOOLS IN WASHINGTON FOR THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE YEAR. THE EDGEWOOD MIDDLE CAMPUS CONTINUES TO BE THE #1 PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL IN THE CITY, AND OUR EDGEWOOD ELEMENTARY, A 2013 NATIONAL BLUE RIBBON SCHOOL, IS THE #1 PUBLIC CHARTER ELEMENTARY SCHOOL IN THE CITY. THE OFFICE OF THE STATE SUPERINTENDENT OF EDUCATION DESIGNATED THREE DC PREP CAMPUSES THE EDGEWOOD MIDDLE CAMPUS, BENNING MIDDLE CAMPUS, AND BENNING ELEMENTARY CAMPUS AS "REWARD" SCHOOLS, THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF DISTINCTION; AND, THE DC PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL BOARD'S LIST OF THE TEN HIGHEST-PERFORMING CHARTER SCHOOLS IN THE CITY INCLUDES EDGEWOOD MIDDLE CAMPUS, BENNING MIDDLE CAMPUS, AND EDGEWOOD ELEMENTARY CAMPUS, AND THE LIST OF THE TOP TEN SCHOOLS WITH THE GREATEST ONE-YEAR GAINS INCLUDES BENNING ELEMENTARY CAMPUS. ANOTHER POWERFUL METRIC OF OUR STUDENTS' ACADEMIC AND PERSONAL ACHIEVEMENT IS THEIR HIGH SCHOOL AND COLLEGE ACCEPTANCE RATE. TO DATE, EVERY DC PREP GRADUATE (N=275) HAS BEEN OFFERED ADMISSION TO A COLLEGE-PREP HIGH SCHOOL AND OVER 60% HAVE BEEN OFFERED ADMISSION TO A SELECTIVE INDEPENDENT, PAROCHIAL, OR PUBLIC MAGNET SCHOOL. THE REMAINING STUDENTS ENROLL IN CHARTER SCHOOLS KNOWN FOR THEIR RIGOR AND COLLEGE FOCUS. ADDITIONALLY, 95% OF THE STUDENTS IN DC PREP'S FIRST FOUR 8TH GRADE GRADUATING CLASSES (CLASSES OF 2007, 2008, 2009, AND 2010) HAVE EARNED THEIR HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMAS (ALMOST DOUBLE THE GRADUATION RATE OF STUDENTS IN DCPS), AND 80% HAVE MATRICULATED TO COLLEGE, ENROLLING IN SCHOOLS SUCH AS GEORGE MASON, GEORGETOWN, GETTYSBURG, HAMPTON, VANDERBILT, UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, AND HOWARD. WE INTEND TO CONTINUE TO INCREASE THE PERCENTAGE OF STUDENTS IN EACH GRADUATING CLASS WHO ARE BOUND FOR THE HIGHEST CALIBER HIGH SCHOOLS, ENSURING THAT ALL STUDENTS ARE ON TRACK FOR BRIGHT ACADEMIC FUTURES IN RIGOROUS HIGH SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $18,228,656 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (1) | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Invest Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | InvestTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Escrow Account | 0 | EscrowAccountInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | 0 | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (1) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 35 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 300 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 15 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 14 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WENDY SCOTT | BusinessNameLine1 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2026354590 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 707 EDGEWOOD STREET NE | AddressLine1 |
| City | WASHINGTON | City |
| State | DC | State |
| ZIP Code | 20017 | ZIPCode |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (23 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LEROY TERRY EAKIN III | ||||||||
| CHAIR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ERIC PRICE | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ARTHUR MCKEE PHD | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JENNY ABRAMSON | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| BOBBY BALDWIN | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KATHERINE BOONE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| LISA DIXON | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MICHELA ENGLISH | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PATRICK GROSS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| BRIAN JONES | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JUDY KOVLER | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MAURA MARINO | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CAROL PENSKY | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| VALERIE R WAYNE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| EMILY K LAWSON - FOUNDERCEO | ||||||||
| CEO (10/2013 TO PRESENT) | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $145,486 | $0 | $7,372 | ||
| ENRIQUE CRUZ | ||||||||
| CEO (09/2012-10/2013) | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $225,839 | $0 | $662 | |||
| WENDY SCOTT | ||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $153,737 | $0 | $12,688 | |||
| KATIE SEVERN | ||||||||
| CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER | 40.00 | $174,003 | $0 | $14,346 | Yes (X) | |||
| NICOLE BRYAN | ||||||||
| PRINCIPAL/MANAGING DIRECTOR OF EARLY CHILDHOOD | 40.00 | $137,037 | $0 | $11,018 | Yes (X) | |||
| ELIZABETH IBBY JEPPSON | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF RESOURCE DEVEL | 40.00 | $120,842 | $0 | $4,715 | Yes (X) | |||
| RAYMOND WEEDEN | ||||||||
| PRINCIPAL | 40.00 | $120,211 | $0 | $10,473 | Yes (X) | |||
| TARA O'FLAHERTY | ||||||||
| LEADERSHIP SUPPORT SPECIALIST | 40.00 | $113,563 | $0 | $6,438 | Yes (X) | |||
| CASSIE PERGAMENT | ||||||||
| PRINCIPAL | 40.00 | $101,376 | $0 | $12,107 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,292,094 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $79,819 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 9 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1 | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/City | StateContractorAddress/USAddress/State | ZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCode | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SHINBERG LEVINAS | |||||
| 4733 BETHESDA AVENUE SUITE 550 | BETHESDA | MD | 20814 | ARCHITECTURAL AND ENGINEERING SERVICES | $710,156 |
| REVOLUTION FOODS | |||||
| PO BOX 742759 | LOS ANGELES | CA | 90074 | FOOD SERVICES | $602,840 |
| END-TO-END SOLUTIONS FOR SPECIAL EDUCATI | |||||
| 714 G ST SE 201 | WASHINGTON | DC | 20003 | SPECIAL EDUCATION SERVICES | $325,206 |
| SERVICEMASTER JGW | |||||
| 7491-L2 ANGUS COURT | SPRINGFIELD | VA | 22153 | JANITORIAL SERVICES | $292,322 |
| GOLDSTAR LLC | |||||
| 2000 P STREET NW SUITE 620 | WASHINGTON | DC | 20036 | ACCOUNTING SERVICES | $188,260 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 7 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $20,231,752 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $1,430,084 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $214,161 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $21,661,836 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| CAFETERIA REVENUE | 900099 | $526,447 | $526,447 |
| PARENT PAYMENTS | 900099 | $186,427 | $186,427 |
| CHILD DEVELOPMENT CNTR | 900099 | $143,903 | $143,903 |
| TANF PROGRAM | 900099 | $98,685 | $98,685 |
| E-RATE PROGRAM | 900099 | $22,444 | $22,444 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $13,751 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $13,751 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $991,657 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $587 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $587 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | OTHER INCOME | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $1,726 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,726 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $1,726 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $22,655,806 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $991,657 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,313 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $42,457 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $42,457 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $718,923 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $95,236 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $589,700 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $33,987 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,132,554 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $11,125,993 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,905,495 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $101,066 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $265,451 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $219,255 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $42,988 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,208 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $884,181 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $762,212 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $116,320 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $5,649 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,103,622 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $908,426 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $185,382 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $9,814 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $77,000 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $26,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $51,000 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $229,119 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $229,119 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $19,079 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $16,500 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $2,579 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $371,741 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $260,217 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $55,759 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $55,765 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $301,123 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $244,790 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $53,400 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $2,933 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,880,516 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,843,325 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $27,894 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $9,297 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $770,517 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $669,719 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $97,026 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,772 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $130,271 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $105,900 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $23,102 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,269 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIRECT STUDENT COSTS | $1,425,994 | $1,425,994 | ||
| DUES/FEES/FINES | $286,669 | $227,358 | $57,517 | $1,794 |
| STAFF RELATED EXPENSES | $225,387 | $129,860 | $88,833 | $6,694 |
| PROF. DEVELOPMENT | $224,121 | $135,642 | $82,415 | $6,064 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $156,012 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,272 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $149,668 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $72 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $22,244,737 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $18,228,656 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,772,118 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $243,963 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,648,771 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,929,999 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $400,122 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $410,617 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,228,788 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $832,433 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $787,239 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,556,424 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $452,605 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $345,976 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $40,698,619 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $4,686,843 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $16,827,248 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $36,011,776 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $590,862 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,543,364 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,935,635 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $49,630,589 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,625,671 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,690,012 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $225,497 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $352,395 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $13,360,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,950,000 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,502,646 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,154 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $63,402 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,213,322 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $36,558,455 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,015,235 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,903,610 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,707,078 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,168,524 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,722,313 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $13,072,134 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,935,635 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $49,630,589 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $411,069 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$61,248 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,685,820 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $1,685,820 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $17,226,404 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $3,336,091 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $13,890,313 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $19,990,997 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $73,736 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $19,917,261 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,795,398 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,277,016 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $518,382 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $36,011,776 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| DEFERRED FINANCING COSTS, NET | $922,281 |
| DEPOSITS | $221,083 |
| DEBT SERVICE RESERVE FUND | $1,400,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $2,543,364 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | INTEREST RATE SWAP LIABILITY | Desc |
| Amt | $63,402 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $63,402 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $22,632,926 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$61,248 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $38,368 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$22,880 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $22,655,806 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $22,655,806 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $22,283,105 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $38,368 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $38,368 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $22,244,737 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $22,244,737 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART X, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | DC PREP PERFORMED AN EVALUATION OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS FOR THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2014, AND DETERMINED THAT THERE WERE NO MATTERS THAT WOULD REQUIRE RECOGNITION IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OR THAT MAY HAVE ANY EFFECT ON ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (1) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (1) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | Yes (1) | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (1) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3 | IN ALL MATERIALS, DC PREP IS DESCRIBED AS A PUBLIC SCHOOL, OPEN TO ALL ON A SPACE-AVAILABLE BASIS. |
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6 | DC PREP IS A PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL AND RECEIVED FEDERAL FUNDS FROM U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, AND THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | HIGH SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIPS | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 8 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $42,457 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | A SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE (CURRENTLY MADE UP OF THE CEO, DIRECTOR OF RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT, DIRECTOR OF ALUMNI SUPPORT, AND DIRECTOR OF HIGH SCHOOL PLACEMENT) REVIEWS REQUESTS FROM THE FAMILIES OF STUDENTS WHO REQUIRE FINANCIAL SUPPORT IN ORDER TO ATTEND AN OUTSTANDING HIGH SCHOOL. IN ALL CASES, THE FUNDS ADDRESS THE SHORTFALL BETWEEN THE SCHOLARSHIP OFFER THE STUDENT HAS RECEIVED FROM THE INSTITUTION AND THE ACTUAL COST OF TUITION AND ASSOCIATED COSTS. THE FUNDS ARE SENT DIRECTLY TO THE SCHOOL WITH A LETTER DETAILING THE PURPOSE OF THE MONEY. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | Yes (1) | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMILY K LAWSON - FOUNDERCEO | ||||||||||||||
| CEO (10/2013 TO PRESENT) | $145,486 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,206 | $0 | $166 | $0 | $152,858 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ENRIQUE CRUZ | ||||||||||||||
| CEO (09/2012-10/2013) | $185,214 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $40,625 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $662 | $0 | $226,501 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| WENDY SCOTT | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | $143,737 | $0 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,973 | $0 | $4,715 | $0 | $166,425 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KATIE SEVERN | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER | $154,003 | $0 | $20,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,187 | $0 | $5,159 | $0 | $188,349 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 4A | DURING THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2014, ENRIQUE CRUZ, CEO, RECEIVED A SEVERANCE PAYMENT OF $40,625. |
| PART I, LINE 7 | ALL BONUSES PAID TO DCPREP'S OFFICERS AND HIGHEST COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES LISTED IN FORM 990, PART VII WERE BASED ON AN APPRAISAL OF HIS/HER PERFORMANCE FOR THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2014. |
Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK
Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Bond Issuer EINBondIssuerEIN | CUSIPCUSIPNum | Bond IssuedBondIssuedDt | Issue PriceIssuePriceAmt | PurposePurposeDesc | DefeasedDefeasedInd | On Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerInd | Pool FinancingPoolFinancingInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA | ||||||||
| A | 536001131 | 254839J38 | 2005-06-15 | $5,500,000 | REPAY OUTSTANDING NOTES USED TO PURCHASE/RENOVATE THE FIRST SCHOOL BUILDING | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA | ||||||||
| B | 536001131 | 254839W25 | 2007-06-26 | $9,580,000 | REFINANCE AND FINANCE PURCHASE AND RENOVATION OF THE SECOND SCHOOL BUILDING | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Total ProceedsTotalProceedsAmt | Issuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt | Capital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmt | Substantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYr | Current RefundingCurrentRefundingInd | Advance RefundingAdvanceRefundingInd | Final Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeInd | Adequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | $5,500,000 | $198,106 | $5,301,894 | 2005 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) |
| B | $9,580,000 | $278,787 | $9,301,213 | 2007 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) |
Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Owning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd | Any Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsInd | Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropInd | Any Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsInd | Engage Bond Counsel ResearchEngageBondCounselResearchInd | Private Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPct | Private Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPct | Total Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePct | Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd | Change In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd | Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | 0 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) | 0.00000 | 0.00000 | 0.00000 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
| B | 0 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) | 0.00000 | 0.00000 | 0.00000 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) |
Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Form8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledInd | Rebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetInd | Exception To RebateExceptionToRebateInd | No Rebate DueNoRebateDueInd | Variable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueInd | Hedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd | Gross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd | Gross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedInd | Written Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | 0 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| B | 0 | 0 | 0 | Yes (1) | Yes (1) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)
| Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCd | Procedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd |
|---|---|
| A | 0 |
| B | 0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| DATE REBATE COMPUTATION PERFORMED | ISSUER NAME: DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA DATE THE REBATE COMPUTATION WAS PERFORMED: 07/29/2014 ISSUER NAME: DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA DATE THE REBATE COMPUTATION WAS PERFORMED: 07/29/2014 |
| SCHEDULE K SUPPLENTAL INFORMATION | SCHEDULE K, PART II, LINE 7: FOR THE 2005 SERIES BOND, INCLUDED IN THE TOTAL ISSUANCE COST FROM PROCEEDS ARE THE FOLLOWING: LETTER OF CREDIT FEES ($51,806), INTEREST RATE CAP ($15,400), AND CREDIT ENHANCEMENT FEES ($3,475). FOR THE 2007 SERIES BOND, INCLUDED IN THE TOTAL ISSUANCE COST FROM PROCEEDS ARE THE FOLLOWING: LETTER OF CREDIT FEES ($80,707) AND CREDIT ENHANCEMENT FEES ($5,519). |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Books And Publications BooksAndPublicationsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $10,923 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | FMV | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
Food Inventory FoodInventoryGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 1 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $24,670 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | FMV | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Desc | IMPUTED INT. | Desc |
| Contribution | 1 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $178,568 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | FMV | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Any Property That Must Be Held | 0 | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | 0 | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | 0 | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11 | INFORMATION TO COMPLETE THE FEDERAL FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE PREPARER BY DC PREP'S CONTRACTED ACCOUNTING SERVICE, ITS COO AND CEO. ONCE THE INITIAL DRAFT FORM 990 IS COMPLETED, IT IS CIRCULATED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR REVIEW PRIOR TO SUBMISSION TO THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF THE DIRECTORS AND KEY EMPLOYEES COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST FORM ON AN ANNUAL BASIS THAT IS REVIEWED BY THE CEO FOR ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS. ANY BOARD MEMBER WHO BELIEVES HIM OR HERSELF TO HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST IN A DECISION ON A SPECIFIC MATTER IS REQUIRED TO RECUSE HIM OR HERSELF FROM THE DISCUSSION AND VOTE ON SAID MATTER. DC PREP ALSO REMINDS EMPLOYEES OF THE POLICY IN THE EMPLOYEE MANUAL, WHICH EMPLOYEES ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIVING EACH YEAR. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE CEO WORKS WITH MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, USING COMPARATIVE COMPENSATION DATA OF ORGANIZATIONS OF SIMILAR SIZE IN THE CHARTER MANAGEMENT INDUSTRY, TO DETERMINE ANNUAL COMPENSATION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES. COMPENSATION OF THE CEO IS PRESENTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS BY THE CHAIR OF THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE IN EXECUTIVE SESSION OF A REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING. THE CEO IS NOT PRESENT FOR THE DISCUSSION. AS IT TAKES PLACE IN EXECUTIVE SESSION, THE NOTES FROM THAT DISCUSSION ARE NOT A PART OF THE REGULAR MINUTES FOR THE BOARD MEETING. THE CHAIR OF THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE HAS SINCE PROVIDED A WRITTEN DESCRIPTION OF THAT DISCUSSION THAT INCLUDES THOSE BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT AND ACKNOWLEDGES THEIR UNANIMOUS DECISION. TO DRAW UP ITS RECOMMENDATION FOR COMPENSATION, THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MAKES USE OF DATA OF COMPARABLE ORGANIZATIONS (MULTIPLE-CAMPUS CHARTER SCHOOLS) BASED ON RESEARCH CONDUCTED ON CHARTER SCHOOLS BY EDUCATION ORGANIZATIONS AND GROUPS. THE DATA SHOWS THAT THE CEO'S COMPENSATION IS GENERALLY IN LINE WITH ORGANIZATIONS OF SIMILAR SIZE AND ACHIEVEMENT. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THESE DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. ALSO, MANY OF THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE FROM THE DC PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL BOARD, DC PREP'S AUTHORIZER. |