STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

COAST ELECTRIC POWER ASSN: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
COAST ELECTRIC POWER ASSN (EIN 64-0169075)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-07-14
IRS object ID
201501959349301315
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-07-14T14:40:08-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN631035228PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Jackson Thornton & Co PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1P O Box 96AddressLine1Txt
CityMontgomeryCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP361010096ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN640169075EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Coast Electric Power AssociationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCOASBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2283637000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1P O Box 2430AddressLine1Txt
CityBay St LouisCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39521ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRobert J OcchiPersonNm
Person TitlePresident & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2283637000PhoneNum
Signature2015-07-01SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonPatrick CooperPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00856177PTIN
Phone3348347660PhoneNum
Preparation2015-06-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRobert J OcchiPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1P O Box 2430AddressLine1Txt
CityBay St LouisCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39521ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$207,234,170GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.coastepa.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo provide electricity to rural areas of Hancock, Harrison, and Pearl River counties.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee292TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$191,422,921PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$204,230,870CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$198,974PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$364,219CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,063,614PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$2,589,684CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$193,685,509PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$207,184,773CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$12,647,928PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$14,577,072CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,280,064PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,299,329CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$179,757,517PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$191,308,372CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$193,685,509PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$207,184,773CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$335,990,497TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$341,830,060TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$184,415,486TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$177,999,029TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$151,575,011NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$163,831,031NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionWe exist to provide our member/owners superior service and dependable electricity at the lowest possible price, and to improve the economy and quality of life in our community.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescUtilizing 6,821 miles of electric distribution lines, Coast Electric Power Association provided 1,722,746,752 Kilowatt Hours of electric energy to approximately 79,000 residential, commercial and industrial members located in Harrison, Hancock and Pearl River counties (Mississippi).Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document66IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee292EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$198,995,928MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$5,657,828OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Robert J OcchiBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2283637000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line118020 Hwy 603AddressLine1Txt
CityKilnCityNm
State AbbreviationMSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP39556ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
James Ginn
Director/Chairman11.00Yes (X)$39,500$0$0
Gilbert Arceneaux
Director/Vice Chairman10.00Yes (X)$39,900$0$0
Frank McClinton
Director/Secretary/Treasurer11.00Yes (X)$38,100$0$0
James Baldree
Director10.00Yes (X)$38,100$0$0
Richard Dossett
Director11.00Yes (X)$38,100$0$0
Gordon Lee
Director6.00Yes (X)$32,100$0$0
Charles Lopez
Director12.00Yes (X)$38,900$0$0
William Mooney
Director11.00Yes (X)$38,500$0$0
Gordon Redd Jr
Director10.00Yes (X)$37,300$0$0
Robert J Occhi
President & CEO50.00$487,095$0$18,876Yes (X)
John Holston
VP of Financial & Administration43.00$221,298$0$24,305Yes (X)
Charles S Brown
VP of Engineering50.00$186,135$0$21,120Yes (X)
Steve Pitzer
VP of Harrison County Operations40.00$184,159$0$19,480Yes (X)
Louis Lee Jr
VP of Pearl River County Operations43.00$177,856$0-$896Yes (X)
Newton G Johnson
VP of Hancock County Operations45.00$176,561$0$12,144Yes (X)
Clement Ladner
VP of Safety45.00$181,941$0$11,874Yes (X)
Marilyn Sefton
VP of HR50.00$177,413$0$16,235Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,132,958TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$123,138TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
S&S Line Service Inc
PO Box 485LaurelMS39441Right of Way Contractor$2,031,246
Southeastern Data Coop
100 Ashford Center North Suite 500AtlantaGA30338Software Provider$974,994
Asplundh Tree Expert Co
1700 Solutions CenterChicagoIL60677Right of Way Clearing$883,247
DCL Construction LLC
26071 Highway 603KilnMS39556Line Locates$624,418
Service Electric Company
PO Box 277790AtlantaGA30384Substation Builder$508,340
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K12CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Sales of Electricity221000$198,995,928$198,995,928
Patronage Capital221000$5,234,942$5,234,942
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$204,230,870TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$243,979TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$243,979ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$2,580,414PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$2,580,414PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,580,414TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,580,414ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$120,240OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$120,240OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$120,240TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$120,240ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$58,667GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$49,397CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,270TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$9,270RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$207,184,773TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$204,240,140RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,944,633ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,577,072TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,299,329TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,885,051TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,201,697TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Cost of Power$142,648,321
Dist Exp - Maintenance$11,188,063
Admin & Gen Expenses$8,023,410
Dist Exp - Operations$7,001,483

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,360,347TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$207,184,773TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,682,652BOYAmt
EOY$1,694,980EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,400,521BOYAmt
EOY$20,737,715EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,003BOYAmt
EOY$6,189EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,964,360BOYAmt
EOY$2,128,041EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$505,008BOYAmt
EOY$409,435EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$308,158,278LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$75,758,791LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$228,824,223BOYAmt
EOY$232,399,487EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,302,293BOYAmt
EOY$63,711,266EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,291,437BOYAmt
EOY$20,742,947EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$335,990,497BOYAmt
EOY$341,830,060EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,584,002BOYAmt
EOY$20,240,710EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$103,437,685BOYAmt
EOY$101,338,251EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,393,799BOYAmt
EOY$56,420,068EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$184,415,486BOYAmt
EOY$177,999,029EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$470,208BOYAmt
EOY$471,998EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$151,104,803BOYAmt
EOY$163,359,033EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$151,575,011BOYAmt
EOY$163,831,031EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$335,990,497BOYAmt
EOY$341,830,060EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$12,256,020OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,274,745OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,274,745BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$28,594,145OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,004,695DepreciationAmt
Book Value$23,589,450BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$275,289,388OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$70,754,096DepreciationAmt
Book Value$204,535,292BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$232,399,487TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (11 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Patronage Capital - SMEPA$57,499,894C
Patronage Capital - NRUCFC$957,316C
Patronage Capital - EPA's of Mississippi$556,660C
Patronage Capital - Arkansas Electric$27,324C
Patronage Capital - NRTC$4,748C
Patronage Capital - SEDC$252,683C
Captial Term Certificates$1,965,096C
Patronage Capital - CoBank$509,740C
Patronage Capital - Federated Rural Electric Insurance$490,133C
Investments in Economic Development Projects$1,445,661C
Other Investments in Associated Organizations$2,011C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$63,711,266TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Deferred Debits$970,680
Regulatory Asset$15,007,467
Restricted Investments$4,764,800
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$20,742,947TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Accumulated Postretirement Benefit Obligation$14,600,800
Fair Value of Swap Agreement$7,575,788
Go Zone Bonds Payable$32,395,000
Regulatory Liability$1,848,480
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$56,420,068TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$207,184,773TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$207,184,773RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$207,184,773TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$192,607,701TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$192,607,701ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$14,577,072OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$14,577,072ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$207,184,773TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:The Association is exempt from income taxes under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(12). Management has evaluated the Association's tax positions and concluded that the Association has taken no uncertain tax positions that require adjustment to the financial statements. With few exceptions, the Association is no longer subject to income tax examinations by the federal, state, or local tax authorities for years before 2011.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Reclassification of income items included in expense on financial statement
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Assignment of Current Year Margins to Members 14,577,072.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Robert J Occhi
President & CEO$372,458$0$79,733$0$34,904$0$1,298$0$17,578$0$505,971$0$0$0
John Holston
VP of Financial & Administration$180,266$0$39,126$0$1,906$0$3,061$0$21,244$0$245,603$0$0$0
Charles S Brown
VP of Engineering$151,226$0$33,447$0$1,462$0-$628$0$21,748$0$207,255$0$0$0
Steve Pitzer
VP of Harrison County Operations$149,898$0$32,435$0$1,826$0-$1,584$0$21,064$0$203,639$0$0$0
Louis Lee Jr
VP of Pearl River County Operations$144,892$0$31,008$0$1,956$0-$8,576$0$7,680$0$176,960$0$0$0
Newton G Johnson
VP of Hancock County Operations$143,656$0$31,008$0$1,897$0-$1,605$0$13,749$0$188,705$0$0$0
Clement Ladner
VP of Safety$146,662$0$31,008$0$4,271$0$4,611$0$7,263$0$193,815$0$0$0
Marilyn Sefton
VP of HR$142,280$0$31,008$0$4,125$0-$1,047$0$17,282$0$193,648$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 4bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationRobert J. Occhi - $25,236ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 4Bylaws: Election of officers changed from the January meeting of the Board of Directors to the first meeting of the Board of Directors each year after the Annual Meeting in November. Officers will take office the first of June of the following year. Articles of Incorporation: Changed annual meeting to the first Thursday of November each year and changed the office of the corporation and the post office address from Bay St. Louis, MS to Hancock County, MS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6Because Coast Electric Power Association is chartered and incorporated under Mississippi law as a not-for-profit cooperative, the charter requires that each person receiving electric service from the association be a member.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aAt each annual meeting of the members, one-third (1/3) of the total number of directors shall be elected by ballot, by and from the members, to serve for a term of three (3) years as provided by law. If the election of directors shall not be held at the annual meeting, or if such annual meeting is not held, each director shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected and qualified.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe business and affairs of the Association are managed by the Board of Directors which exercises all of the powers of the Association except such as are by law, or by the Certificate of Consolidation of the Association, or by the bylaws, conferred upon or reserved to the members.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11Once the Form 990 is completed, the VP of Financial & Administrative Services and the accounting department supervisor reviews the Form 990. After the Form 990 has been reviewed by these individuals, each member of the board of directors receives a copy of the form for his/her review. The VP of Financial & Administrative Services and the accounting department supervisor present a general overview of the forms' questions and answers. Once the presentation is complete, the board members are given an opportunity to ask questions. Once all questions have been satisfactorily answered, the President/CEO will sign the e-file authorization form allowing the Form 990 to be transmitted to the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cNew vendors are reviewed for possible conflicts with directors/officers. Directors/officers are required to report any new affiliations they may enter into.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15An executive compensation review was presented to the Board of Directors. The following components were included in the review: (1) Compensation Strategy; (2) Total Executive Compensation Philosophy Statement; (3) Elements of a Compensation Program; (4) Detailed Market Data; (5) Form 990 Explanation; (6) Discussion of Goal Sharing Programs; (7) Review of Current Benefits and Incentives. A recommendation was made to the Board concerning the range movement for the CEO pay grade based on information from the detailed market survey. The CEO and top management pay is based on a pay for performance system where the performance evaluation "grade" is entered into a comprehensive spreadsheet. The spreadsheet is designed to compute a pay raise based on a matrix of four performance levels (average, good, excellent and outstanding) divided into the lower third, middle third and upper third of the pay range.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19Coast Electric Power Association's governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are available to the public upon request at the main office in Kiln, Mississippi.
Form 990, Part IX, Line 4The instructions to the 2014 Form 990 indicate that organizations exempt under Section 501(c)(12) should report patronage dividends paid to their members in Part IX, Line 4 of the Form 990. Coast Electric Power Association has interpreted the words "patronage dividends paid" in the instructions to mean margins that are assigned or assignable to the members. According to Coast Electric Power Association's bylaws, the net margins of the cooperative are assigned and allocated to the members. Therefore, the amount listed in Part IX, Line 4 represents the entire net margins assignable to the members for the calendar year ended December 31, 2014.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in memberships 1,790. Retirement of capital credits -4,008,507. Actuarial gain (loss) 716,300. Gain on retirement of capital credits 969,365. Assignment of Current Year Margins to Members 14,577,072.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2CCoast Electric Power Association has not changed its process of selection or oversight for the year ended December 31, 2014.
Form 990409A DOCUMENT CORRECTION UNDER IV.B, VII.C & VII.D OF IRS NOTICE 2010-6 STATEMENT REQUIRED UNDER XII.B OF IRS NOTICE 2010-6 Coast Electric Power Association (the "Taxpayer") hereby attaches to its 2014 Form 990 this statement containing the following information required by Section XII.B of IRS Notice 2010-6: (1)The name and taxpayer identification number of each service provider (hereinafter collectively referred to as the "Service Provider") affected by the document failure are: Ronald G. Barnes SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Jeremy L. Bond SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Steven L. Broussard SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Charles Scott Brown SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Russell C. Carothers, III SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Damali M. Clark SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request John C. Holston SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Newton G. Johnson SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Clement L. Ladner SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Kendall T. Ladner SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Louis D. Lee, Jr. SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Bruce G. Marie, Jr. SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Eugene T. Moore SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Steven R. Pitzer SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request Marilyn J. Sefton SSN: Available to the IRS Upon Request (2)The nonqualified deferred compensation plans with respect to which such failures have occurred are the Employment Agreements and Deferred Compensation Plans with each of the above-named Service Providers. (3)The document failures are eligible for the correction under the terms of Notice 2010-6 and are corrected under Sections IV.B, VII.C and VII.D thereof, as applicable. The Taxpayer has taken all actions required and otherwise met all requirements for correction of the document failures as of December 31, 2013, the last day of the Taxpayer's taxable year in which the correction is made. The date of correction of the document failures is September 30, 2014. No event causing the inclusion of an amount in income under Section 409A of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the "Code"), by the Service Provider has occurred. (4)The approximate present values of the amount involved in the document failures described in Sections IV.B, VII.C and VII.D of Notice 2010-6 as of September 30, 2014 are set forth below. No amount is required to be reported by the Taxpayer as includible in income under Section 409A(a) of the Code as part of the correction and no percentage of the amount involved in each document failure is required to be included in income under Section 409A(a) of the Code as part of the correction. Ronald G. Barnes $32,770 Jeremy L. Bond $7,758 Steven L. Broussard $36,020 Charles Scott Brown $17,716 Russell C. Carothers, III $8,696 Damali M. Clark $2,269 John C. Holston $115,508 Newton G. Johnson $46,419 Clement L. Ladner $40,806 Kendall T. Ladner $8,130 Louis D. Lee, Jr. $56,038 Bruce G. Marie, Jr. $8,061 Eugene T. Moore $8,789 Steven R. Pitzer $93,888 Marilyn J. Sefton $28,349