MEDICAL CARE DEVELOPMENT INCORPORATED: Form 990, tax year 2014
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- MEDICAL CARE DEVELOPMENT INCORPORATED (EIN 01-6022787)
- Tax period
- 2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
- Filed
- 2015-08-12
- IRS object ID
- 201502249349302325
- Schema version
- 2014v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2015-08-12T14:02:55-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2014-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 010523282 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Berry Dunn McNeil & Parker | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO Box 1100 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Portland | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ME | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 041041100 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2014-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 016022787 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Medical Care Development Inc | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | MEDI | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2076227566 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 11 Parkwood Drive | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Augusta | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ME | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 04330 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Edward Miles | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2076227566 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2015-08-12 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Barbara J McGuan CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00219457 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2077752387 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2015-08-12 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2014 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2016-02-25 16:41:14Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Mark E Battista MD | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 11 Parkwood Drive | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Augusta | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ME | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 04330 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $46,136,287 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.mcd.org | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1966 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | ME | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | Improve the health and well-being of people | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 14 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 14 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 1125 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 158 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $23,228,301 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $120,501 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $20,768,875 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $45,921,006 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $62,568 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $26,659 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $44,059,744 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $46,068,166 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $25,041,037 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $28,336,019 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $18,154,219 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $16,916,292 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $43,195,256 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $45,252,311 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $864,488 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $815,855 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $24,474,882 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $20,875,967 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $17,109,555 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $12,694,650 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $7,365,327 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $8,181,317 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | Medical Care Development's mission is to improve the health and well-being of people both nationally and internationally. We do this in partnership with communities, organizations, and governments by developing and operating creative, compassionate, and practical programs, and by providing technical advice and assistance to enhance the capacity of others. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $3,883,891 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $4,176,934 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | Since 1966, MCD Public Health has been a transforming force in public health, earning a reputation for responsive innovative health initiatives that make an impact. Our highly qualified staff share a passionate commitment to creating, implementing, and supporting results-based programs that improve the quality of people's lives on a daily basis in Maine and throughout the U.S. Public Health programs are designed to enhance the effectiveness of Maine's health care and public health system in helping the people of Maine to stay healthy. MCD works with hospitals, nurses, insurers, municipalities, other employers and individuals to help them adopt new practice methods, to develop new community programs, and to find new sources of financing for prevention programs. Activities include training, quality improvement coaching and facilitation, curriculum development, and linking providers with community-based supports for their clients. Public Health also works with community-based organizations and public health groups to design, implement, evaluate and spread health promotion and disease prevention. Activity areas include HIV, Diabetes , Oral Health, Cardiovascular Disease, Women's Health, Substance Abuse Prevention, and Cancer Screening and Prevention, Worksite Wellness, Early Childhood, and Public Policy. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $19,433,203 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $20,634,493 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | MCD Communities offers a broad spectrum of support services to over 300 individuals in safe, supportive living environments throughout Maine. MCD Communities programs include assisted living homes for seniors dealing with physical dependencies or loss of cognitive function, psychiatric group homes for adults struggling with severe mental illness, and homes for adults with developmental and intellectual disabilities. The communities we foster are communities in the truest sense: people working together to ensure everyone enjoys the security and support they need to live their life to the fullest. MCD Communities' credo is simple: respect, dignity, independence and personal growth. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $17,288,264 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $21,109,579 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | Medical Care Development International (MCDI) is a division of Medical Care Development, Inc., a private, non-profit voluntary organization whose mission is to enhance the well-being of people and communities in developing nations through the provision of technical assistance to the health sector to include water and sanitation. To this end, MCDI collaborates with institutions and the people they serve to design, implement, manage and evaluate innovative health and health-related programs. Since 1977, MCDI has provided technical assistance in over 25 countries and institutions in Africa through various donors. MCDI has also provided services in Latin America and the Caribbean, Asia, and the Middle East. MCDI is currently focused on the implementation of integrated malaria control programs utilizing indoor residual spraying (IRS), intermittent preventive treatment of malaria in pregnancy (IPTp), and malaria case management to include strengthening diagnostic capacity. In addition, it focuses on the implementation of interventions addressing Millennium Development Goals (4, 5, and 6) related to maternal and child health. MCDI further designs and implements water supply and sanitation programs with an emphasis on community solutions such as Community Led Total Sanitation (CLTS). | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Expenses | $40,605,358 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | Yes (1) | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | Yes (1) | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | 0 | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | Yes (1) | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | Yes (1) | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part V | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVInd |
| IRP Document | 103 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 1125 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | Yes (1) | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Foreign Country | BN | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | EK | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | MA | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | UK | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | SF | ForeignCountryCd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 14 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 14 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | Yes (1) | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | 0 | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Edward Miles | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2076227566 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 11 Parkwood Dr | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Augusta | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | ME | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 04330 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Russell C Barbour PhD | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Alan J Barker MD | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Doris Browne MD | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Jack Ginty | ||||||||
| Chair | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Craig Gray | ||||||||
| Secretary | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Alfred W Hoadley PhD | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Donna Mundy | ||||||||
| Treasurer | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Gary Bisson | ||||||||
| Vice Chair | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Linda Crawford | ||||||||
| Past Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Alexandra Warhol Cook | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Sebastian Milardo | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Carrie Fortino | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Lisa Miller | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Lloyd Mitchell | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Rick Peyser | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Donald McCrann | ||||||||
| Past Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Evelyn Kieltyka | ||||||||
| Past Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Angela Westhoff | ||||||||
| Past Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Mark E Battista MD | ||||||||
| President & CEO | 40.00 | $383,371 | $0 | $20,034 | Yes (X) | |||
| Edward W Miles | ||||||||
| CFO | 40.00 | $228,788 | $0 | $23,223 | Yes (X) | |||
| Joseph Carter | ||||||||
| Director of International Div | 40.00 | $333,656 | $0 | $26,039 | Yes (X) | |||
| Maureen Conley | ||||||||
| Director of MCD Communities | 40.00 | $210,450 | $0 | $21,116 | Yes (X) | |||
| Kathleen Perkins | ||||||||
| Director of Public Health | 40.00 | $150,095 | $0 | $20,121 | Yes (X) | |||
| Christopher Schwabe | ||||||||
| Health Economist | 40.00 | $244,082 | $0 | $22,530 | Yes (X) | |||
| Lee Yellott | ||||||||
| Chief of Party | 40.00 | $138,588 | $0 | $14,739 | Yes (X) | |||
| Eric Dimbleby | ||||||||
| Director of IT | 40.00 | $139,836 | $0 | $25,086 | Yes (X) | |||
| Carol Park | ||||||||
| Head of Finance, International Division | 40.00 | $123,515 | $0 | $4,085 | Yes (X) | |||
| Reed Thorndahl | ||||||||
| Senior Program Officer | 40.00 | $117,998 | $0 | $30,818 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,070,379 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $207,791 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 13 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt | Address Line1ContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CityNm | Province Or StateContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/ProvinceOrStateNm | CountryContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CountryCd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Management Sciences for Health | |||||||||
| 200 Rivers Edge Drive | Medford | MA | 02155 | Supply Chain Management | $952,594 | ||||
| Johns Hopkins University | |||||||||
| 615 North Wolfe Street | Baltimore | MD | 21205 | Technical Assistance | $518,556 | ||||
| Ifakara Health Institute | |||||||||
| Investigative Services | $479,489 | Plot 463 Kilo Avenue PO Box 78373 | Dar es Salaam | Ifakara | TZ | ||||
| Partners in Hope | |||||||||
| Administrative Services | $414,080 | M1 Rd Area 36 | Lilongwe | MI | |||||
| Africare | |||||||||
| 440 R Street NW | Washington | DC | 20001 | Support Services | $369,389 | ||||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 14 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| All Other Contributions | $120,501 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $120,501 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| International | 623000 | $21,109,579 | $21,109,579 |
| Community Living | 623000 | $20,634,493 | $20,634,493 |
| Public Health | 623000 | $4,176,934 | $4,176,934 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $45,921,006 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $20,480 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $20,480 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $70,000 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $4,300 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $70,021 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | -$1,900 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$21 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $6,200 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $6,179 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $6,179 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $46,068,166 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $45,921,006 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $26,659 | ExclusionAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,416,894 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $85,140 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,331,754 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $19,551,874 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $18,254,107 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,297,767 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $233,480 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $228,439 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $5,041 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,207,108 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,381,769 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $825,339 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $926,663 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $814,371 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $112,292 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $302,321 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $302,321 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $69,028 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $33,921 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $35,107 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $149,436 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $143,436 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,390 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $2,390 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,846 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,846 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,086,878 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,930,210 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $156,668 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $225,830 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $223,841 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,989 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,837,493 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,752,830 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $84,663 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $118,272 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $104,662 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $13,610 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,316,251 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,938,391 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $377,860 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,193,108 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,168,615 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $24,493 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $36,870 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $26,856 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $10,014 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $124,470 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $120,511 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,959 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $839,005 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $747,311 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $91,694 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $724,047 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $684,168 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $39,879 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical Supplies/Food | $1,522,843 | $1,497,729 | $25,114 |
| Training | $1,484,625 | $1,479,375 | $5,250 |
| Service Provider Tax | $958,690 | $958,690 | |
| Indirect/Allocated Cost | -$77,111 | $168,422 | -$245,533 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $45,252,311 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $40,605,358 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,646,953 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part X | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXInd |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,064,039 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $761,439 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,365,338 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,488,841 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,831,369 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,743,022 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,962,391 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,749,567 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $83,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $83,000 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $501,586 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $934,583 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $21,347,471 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $13,988,288 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,869,928 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,359,183 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $359,682 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $540,157 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $192,069 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $185,961 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $245,480 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $30,214 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $24,474,882 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $20,875,967 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,481,490 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,207,664 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,976,533 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,127,449 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $59,613 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,984 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,280,853 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,419,682 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,311,066 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,914,871 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,109,555 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,694,650 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,145,075 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,018,238 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $220,252 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $163,079 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,365,327 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,181,317 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $24,474,882 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $20,875,967 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $815,855 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $135 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $21,907,338 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $22,797,686 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $21,717,995 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $23,228,301 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $120,501 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $89,771,821 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $21,907,338 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $22,797,686 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $21,717,995 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $23,228,301 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $120,501 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $89,771,821 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $26,133,128 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $63,638,693 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $21,643 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $19,955 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $6,274 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $28,926 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $20,480 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $97,278 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $89,869,099 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $127,767,987 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.70810 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.69670 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part II, Section A, Line 1 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | In 2014, it was determined that monies received from various government agencies were contingent on the Organization providing services. As a result, the 2014 totals for this line are substantially lower than in prior years when the government monies were deemed grants. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
Total Grassroots Lobbying TotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $0 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Total Direct Lobbying TotalDirectLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $2,390 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Total Lobbying Expend TotalLobbyingExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $2,390 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $45,249,921 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $45,252,311 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $1,000,000 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $250,000 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $0 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $0 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Year Minus3 | $1,000,000 | CurrentYearMinus3Amt |
| Current Year Minus2 | $1,000,000 | CurrentYearMinus2Amt |
| Current Year Minus1 | $1,000,000 | CurrentYearMinus1Amt |
| Current Year | $1,000,000 | CurrentYearAmt |
| Total | $4,000,000 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Lobbying Ceiling | $6,000,000 | LobbyingCeilingAmt |
Avg Total Lobbying Expend AvgTotalLobbyingExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Year Minus3 | $527 | CurrentYearMinus3Amt |
| Current Year Minus2 | $1,703 | CurrentYearMinus2Amt |
| Current Year Minus1 | $578 | CurrentYearMinus1Amt |
| Current Year | $2,390 | CurrentYearAmt |
| Total | $5,198 | TotalAmt |
Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Year Minus3 | $250,000 | CurrentYearMinus3Amt |
| Current Year Minus2 | $250,000 | CurrentYearMinus2Amt |
| Current Year Minus1 | $250,000 | CurrentYearMinus1Amt |
| Current Year | $250,000 | CurrentYearAmt |
| Total | $1,000,000 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grassroots Ceiling | $1,500,000 | GrassrootsCeilingAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Agent Trustee Etc | 0 | AgentTrusteeEtcInd |
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | Yes (1) | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
| Explanation Provided | Yes (X) | ExplanationProvidedInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $922,758 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $922,758 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $16,544,139 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $10,720,192 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $5,823,947 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,389,642 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,828,008 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $561,634 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,490,932 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,440,088 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $50,844 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $7,359,183 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Resident Security Deposits | $5,230 |
| Estimated Third Party Settlements | $2,909,641 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $2,914,871 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $46,066,455 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $135 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $135 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $46,066,320 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $1,846 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $1,846 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $46,068,166 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $45,250,465 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $45,250,465 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $1,846 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $1,846 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $45,252,311 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part IV, Line 2b: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | The residents in MCD's assisted living facilities each retain approximately $75 from their monthly SSI payments (the remainder is paid to MCD for room & board). The $75 is used by the residents to pay for personal and other incidental expenses. MCD reports the balance in the accounts as an other asset (resident funds) and also as a corresponding liability on the balance sheet. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (3 entries)
| RegionRegionTxt | OfficesOfficesCnt | EmployeeEmployeeCnt | Type Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt | Specific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxt | Region Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sub-Saharan Africa | 5 | 74 | Program Services - Malaria Prevention & Treatment | Indoor residual spraying, insecticide & drug resistance monitoring, bed net distribution, Malaria care for children | $17,126,320 |
| Sub-Saharan Africa | 1 | 6 | Program Services - Child Survival | Increasing the life of long-lasting insecticide treated bed nets | $318,146 |
| Sub-Saharan Africa | 3 | 54 | Program Services - Water Supply & Sanitation | Improving sanitation knowledge at the community level | $2,609,727 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Subtotal Offices | 9 | SubtotalOfficesCnt |
| Subtotal Employees | 134 | SubtotalEmployeesCnt |
| Continutation Total Office | 0 | ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt |
| Continutation Total Employee | 0 | ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Office | 9 | TotalOfficeCnt |
| Total Employee | 134 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Subtotal Spent | $20,054,193 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Continuation Spent | $0 | ContinuationSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $20,054,193 | TotalSpentAmt |
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | 0 | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | 0 | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | Yes (1) | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | 0 | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | 0 | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | 0 | BoycottCountriesInd |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (1) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mark E Battista MD | ||||||||||||||
| President & CEO | $283,271 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $100,100 | $0 | $3,665 | $0 | $16,369 | $0 | $403,405 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Edward W Miles | ||||||||||||||
| CFO | $199,600 | $0 | $20,000 | $0 | $9,188 | $0 | $8,212 | $0 | $15,011 | $0 | $252,011 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Joseph Carter | ||||||||||||||
| Director of International Div | $234,884 | $0 | $89,100 | $0 | $9,672 | $0 | $6,202 | $0 | $19,837 | $0 | $359,695 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Maureen Conley | ||||||||||||||
| Director of MCD Communities | $182,852 | $0 | $27,000 | $0 | $598 | $0 | $7,808 | $0 | $13,308 | $0 | $231,566 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Kathleen Perkins | ||||||||||||||
| Director of Public Health | $135,189 | $0 | $13,750 | $0 | $1,156 | $0 | $1,851 | $0 | $18,270 | $0 | $170,216 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Christopher Schwabe | ||||||||||||||
| Health Economist | $208,334 | $0 | $32,500 | $0 | $3,248 | $0 | $7,672 | $0 | $14,858 | $0 | $266,612 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Lee Yellott | ||||||||||||||
| Chief of Party | $124,418 | $0 | $9,000 | $0 | $5,170 | $0 | $1,637 | $0 | $13,102 | $0 | $153,327 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Eric Dimbleby | ||||||||||||||
| Director of IT | $126,482 | $0 | $13,000 | $0 | $354 | $0 | $6,715 | $0 | $18,371 | $0 | $164,922 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part I, Line 4b | Mark Battista participated in a supplemental nonqualified retirement plan. Amounts related to this plan, reported on Page 2 of Schedule J, include $90,750 in column B(iii). |
| Part I, Line 7 | The Organization has a discretionary bonus program for its employees. Any such bonus payments are non-fixed in nature and are awarded at the discretion of organizational management. Awarding of bonuses or other performance payments is based on the performance of the individual employee based on criteria specific to the position of the employee and the division where the employee is assigned. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1 | In September 2014, MCD restated its Articles and Bylaws governing composition of the Board of Directors. Two new classes of Directors were created: Honorary Directors and Local International Directors. Neither of these two categories has voting rights; and in the aggregate, the number of Honorary and Local International Directors may not exceed 16, and there is no minimum number. In 2014 there were no Honorary Directors and three (3) Local International Directors. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 4 | Pursuant to a 9-month review of Governance by the MCD Board of Directors the entire Medical Care Development, Inc. by-laws were revised. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6 | There shall be not less than ten (10) nor more than thirty-three (33) Corporate Members selected by the Board of Directors and which shall be organizations with the interest,resources and capacity to fulfill the roles and duties of Corporate Members as defined in this Article and as may be amended from time to time or otherwise prescribed by the Board of Directors. Each Corporate Member shall appoint an individual representative authorized by the Member to vote and otherwise act on its behalf. The following organizations are Members of the Corporation as of the 2014 Annual Meeting of the Corporation: American Cancer Society, New England Division; American Heart Association, Founders Affiliate; Bingham Program; Maine Dental Association; Maine Hospital Association; Maine Medical Association; Maine Municipal Association; Maine Osteopathic Association; Maine State Nurses' Association; University of Maine. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7a | The total number of Directors constituting the Board of Directors shall be not less than ten (10) or more than thirty-five (35) and the number of voting directors shall be not less than ten (10) or more than nineteen (19). Directors shall be elected by the Board of Directors at any regularly-scheduled meeting of the Board of Directors or at a special meeting of the Board of Directors duly called for that purpose. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7b | The governing documents reserve a number of specified powers to the corporate members. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11 | The CFO and Accounting Manager review the near-final draft. The CEO then does a separate review. Upon completion of that review and resolution of any questions, the draft return is forwarded to the Finance Committee for their review, and if needed, a Committee meeting is convened to discuss and resolve any further questions. The resulting draft is finalized, and prior to filing, it is distributed to the voting members of the Board of Directors. The return is subsequently filed with the IRS. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | Review of conflict of interest is done annually at the board meeting. In addition, the finance department (CFO) is responsible for monitoring and enforcing compliance with the Organization's conflict of interest policy. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | MCD's bylaws require that the compensation of the President " shall be fixed from time to time by the Board of Directors." Each year, following a formal review of the President's performance, the Personnel Committee of the Board of Directors recommends to the full Board of Directors a renewal of the President's employment agreement with updated terms that includes any changes in the President's compensation for the following year. The Committee's Chair and Committee members may review compensation of presidents of other non-profits, the compensation history of MCD's President, and other information including annual industry survey of executive compensation information, in developing that recommendation; the Committee may request a formal, external comparative compensation survey, as was commissioned in 2007, and the Committee reviewed externally-sourced compensation information in 2012. The full Board of Directors provides input on performance and reviews and votes on the entire recommended contract, including compensation. MCD's bylaws require that the President determine reasonable compensation amounts for employees. The President reviews the performance of senior executives annually, and periodically consults industry surveys of executive compensation, 990's of comparable organizations and other sources, to determine such compensation. A formal external comparative compensation survey was commissioned in 2007, and the President reviews externally-sourced compensation data for comparable executive positions periodically. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | The Organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request. |
| Form 990, Part X, Line 10: Land, Buildings, and Equipment | Section 1.263(a)-3(n) Election: Medical Care Development, Inc. 11 Parkwood Drive Augusta, ME 04330 EIN: 01-6022787 Medical Care Development, Inc. is electing to capitalize repair and maintenance costs under Regulation Section 1.263(a)-3(n). |