STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

MOREHOUSE COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MOREHOUSE COLLEGE (EIN 58-0566205)
Tax period
2013-07-01 to 2014-06-30
Filed
2015-05-15
IRS object ID
201511359349306141
Schema version
2013v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-05-15T14:35:36-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 North Greene Street Suite 400AddressLine1
CityGreensboroCity
StateNCState
ZIP Code27401ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN580566205EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MOREHOUSE COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% DR ALAN D ROBERTSONInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlMOREBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4046812800PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1830 WESTVIEW DRIVE SWAddressLine1
Address Line2SuiteAddressLine2
CityATLANTACity
StateGAState
ZIP Code30314ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAlan D RobertsonPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone4046812800PhoneNum
Signature2015-05-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSHAWN M HUTCHINSONPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01048557PTIN
Phone4046812800PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDR JOHN SILVANUS WILSON JRPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1830 WESTVIEW DRIVE SWAddressLine1
CityATLANTACity
StateGAState
ZIP Code30314ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$182,319,169GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.MOREHOUSE.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1867FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionMOREHOUSE COLLEGE IS A HISTORICAL BLACK COLLEGE WHOSE MISSION IS TO DEVELOP MEN WITH DISCIPLINED MINDS WHO WILL LEAD LIVES OF LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body40VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent39VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1279TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers39TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$40,074TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$43,895NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$33,789,817PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$31,271,120CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$54,649,383PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$51,587,223CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$11,560,666PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$8,611,770CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$24,001,972PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$22,911,856CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$124,001,838PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$114,381,969CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$24,911,470PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$19,849,216CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$47,537,060PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$45,794,039CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$15,400PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$12,140CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,830,233CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$42,800,997PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$41,251,645CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$115,264,927PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$106,907,040CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$8,736,911PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$7,474,929CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$318,358,453TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$329,460,649TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$77,077,260TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$73,177,915TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$241,281,193NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$256,282,734NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE MISSION OF MOREHOUSE COLLEGE IS TO DEVELOP MEN WITH DISCIPLINED MINDS WHO WILL LEAD LIVES OF LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE. A PRIVATE HISTORICALLY BLACK LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE FOR MEN, MOREHOUSE REALIZES THIS MISSION BY EMPHASIZING THE INTELLECTUAL AND CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT OF ITS STUDENTS. IN ADDITION, THE COLLEGE ASSUMES SPECIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR TEACHING THE HISTORY AND CULTURE OF BLACK PEOPLE. FOUNDED IN 1867 AND LOCATED IN ATLANTA, GEORGIA, MOREHOUSE IS AN ACADEMIC COMMUNITY DEDICATED TO TEACHING, SCHOLARSHIP, AND SERVICE, AND THE CONTINUING SEARCH FOR TRUTH AS A LIBERATING FORCE. AS SUCH, THE COLLEGE OFFERS INSTRUCTIONAL PROGRAMS IN THREE DIVISIONS - BUSINESS AND ECONOMICS, HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES, AND SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS - AS WELL AS EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES THAT: 1. DEVELOP SKILLS IN ORAL AND WRITTEN COMMUNICATIONS, ANALYTICAL AND CRITICAL THINKING, AND INTERPERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS; 2. FOSTER AN UNDERSTANDING AND APPRECIATION OF WORLD CULTURES, ARTISTIC AND CREATIVE EXPMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$45,234,096ExpenseAmt
Revenue$70,290,934RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDING HIGHER EDUCATION TO STUDENTS UNDER A DEGREE PROGRAM. INSTRUCTION TO OVER 2,100 UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS IN CURRICULA SUCH AS EDUCATION, SCIENCES, HUMANITIES, AND MATH. THE COLLEGE PROVIDES ITS STUDENTS WITH THE HIGHEST QUALITY OF EDUCATION IN AN ACADEMICALLY PROGRESSIVE ENVIRONMENT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$19,849,216ExpenseAmt
Grant$19,849,216GrantAmt
DescPROVIDING SCHOLARSHIPS TO DESERVING STUDENTS. THOUGH STUDENT AID, THE COLLEGE OFFERS SUPPORT IN THE FORM OF SCHOLARSHIPS, GRANTS, LOANS, AND WORK STUDY TO STUDENTS BASED ON FINANCIAL NEED TO ALLOW STUDENTS A COLLEGE EDUCATION WHO MAY NOT OTHERWISE BE ABLE TO ATTEND.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$7,992,023ExpenseAmt
DescCONDUCTING RESEARCH AND OTHER ACADEMIC PROGRAMS FOR THE BENEFIT OF ITS STUDENT BODY AND THE GENERAL PUBLIC.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$73,075,335TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (true)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (true)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountYes (true)EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document704IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1279EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members40GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member39IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyfalseDocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (true)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedurefalseWrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDR ALAN D ROBERTSONPersonNm
Phone4046812800PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1830 WESTVIEW DRIVE SWAddressLine1
CityATLANTACity
StateGAState
ZIP Code30314ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (63 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
John S Wilson
President40.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$294,180$0$35,349
Robert Franklin
President40.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$317,982$0$55,088
Mrs Billye Aaron
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Charles G Adams
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Benjamin A Blackburn
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Dan T Cathy
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Willie J Davis
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Boris Dobrijevic
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr J Alexander M Douglas Jr
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ms Valerie Ervin
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Michael Gatewood
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
General James R Hall
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Michael Hodge
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Keith Howard
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Charles H James III
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Benjamin Jealous
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Oshea Johnson
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Dale E Jones
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Donald R Knauss
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Strive Masiyiwa
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Charles D Moody
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Otis Moss III
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Zephyrinus Okonkwo Jr
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Mike Polk
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr David Wall Rice
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Robin Richards
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Rufus Rivers
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Ratanjit S Sondhe
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Earl W Stafford Sr
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Clinton L Stevenson
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Richard Thaler Jr
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr John L Thornton
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Ralph de la Vega
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Euclid Walker
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr John A Wallace
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Dorthy Cowser Yancy
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ambassador Andrew Young
Trustee1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Robert C Davidson
Chairman1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Jim Moss
Vice-Chairman1.0Yes (X)$0$0
Mr Robert J Levin
Treasurer1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Avery A Munnings
Secretary1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Dale Jones
Assistant Secretary1.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robyn Crittenden
General Counsel40.0Yes (X)$51,024$0$16,961
Sheila Jacobs
Interm VP for Bus & Fin/CFO40.0Yes (X)$223,257$0$15,007
Phillip Howard
VP Office of Institutional Adv40.0Yes (X)$154,899$0$16,896
Willis Sheftall
Interim Provost/SVP Academic40.0Yes (X)$272,543$0$16,503
Ralph Johnson
AVP/Chief Procurement Officer40.0Yes (X)$125,258$0$14,030
William Bynum
VP Student Services40.0Yes (X)$168,003$0$16,969
Andre Bertrand
VP Campus Operations40.0Yes (X)$147,711$0$16,961
Diane Alexander
AVP Office of Information Tech40.0Yes (X)$94,400$0$12,616
Rubye Byrd
AVP Academic Affiars40.0Yes (X)$124,755$0$13,368
Renardo Hall
AVP Dean of Men40.0Yes (X)$93,812$0$11,588
Ann Watts
AVP Academic Affairs40.0Yes (X)$79,606$0$13,375
Karen Miller
SVP Admin Services/COO40.0Yes (X)$194,508$0$17,808
Terrance Dixon
AVP Enrollment Management40.0Yes (X)$119,151$0$2,416
Sulayman Clark
Chief Development Officer40.0Yes (X)$135,750$0
Alan D Robertson
VP Business & Finance/CFO40.0Yes (X)$185,916$0
Garaikai Campbell
SVP Academic Affairs/Provost40.0Yes (X)$215,986$0
John Haynes
Professor40.0$127,185$0$15,243Yes (X)
Kathleen Johnson
Exec Assit to President40.0$116,952$0$13,984Yes (X)
John Hall
Professor40.0$134,638$0$12,907Yes (X)
John P Brown
Interim VP External Relations40.0$167,074$0Yes (X)
Leroy W Richardson
Assistant to the President40.0$133,149$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,677,739TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$317,069TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K31IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Sodexo Operations LLC
PO BOX 905374CHARLOTTENC28290FOOD SERVICES$4,376,949
Georgia Power Company
805B RALPH DAVID ABERNATHY BLVDATLANTAGA30310UTILITIES$1,678,345
GCA Education Services Inc
1350 EUCLID AVE STE 1500CLEVELANDOH44115JANITORIAL SERVICES$1,216,774
City of Atlanta Water Department
PO Box 105275ATLANTAGA30348UTILITIES$1,098,026
Skinner Development Inc
5028 GOLF LINK COURTSTONE MOUNTAINGA30088CONSTRUCTION$850,990
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K53CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$262,154FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$14,098,976GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$16,909,990AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$31,271,120TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTUITION AND FEESDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$51,587,223TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$51,587,223RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$51,587,223TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$890,023TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$40,074UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$930,097ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$75,529,360SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$67,807,613SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,721,747SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,721,747TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$7,721,747ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$36,250FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$262,154ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$129,587FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$93,337TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$93,337ExclusionAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
AUXILIARY SERVICES900099$18,703,711$18,703,711
OTHER INCOME900099$4,301,482$4,301,482
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$23,005,193OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$114,381,969TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$70,290,934RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$40,074UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$12,859,989ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,849,216TotalAmt
Program Services$19,849,216ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,320,118TotalAmt
Program Services$681,435ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,288,130ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$350,553FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,182,191TotalAmt
Program Services$25,585,141ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,603,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$993,987FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,187,065TotalAmt
Program Services$949,652ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$201,801ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$35,612FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,782,596TotalAmt
Program Services$5,050,199ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,510,926ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$221,471FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,322,069TotalAmt
Program Services$1,730,915ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$492,768ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$98,386FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$491,143TotalAmt
Program Services$8,164ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$482,979ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$400,435TotalAmt
Program Services$16,315ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$384,120ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,140TotalAmt
Fundraising$12,140FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$509,265TotalAmt
Management And General$509,265ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$158,478TotalAmt
Program Services$101,449ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,017ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$55,012FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,388,223TotalAmt
Program Services$1,114,542ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,180,411ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$93,270FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$293,522TotalAmt
Program Services$5,562ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$287,960ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,293,716TotalAmt
Program Services$3,933,635ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,360,081ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,388,149TotalAmt
Program Services$1,739,143ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$479,295ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$169,711FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,491TotalAmt
Program Services$5,341ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$908ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$242FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,958,011TotalAmt
Management And General$1,958,011ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,259,776TotalAmt
Management And General$5,259,776ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,921,568TotalAmt
Management And General$1,921,568ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
PROFESSIONAL FEES$6,593,202$2,935,229$3,154,223$503,750
FOOD SERVICE$4,199,701$4,076,720$122,981
EQUIP RENTAL AND MAINTENANCE$3,385,342$2,088,537$1,142,430$154,375
UNIVERSITY CENTER EXPENSES$3,031,349$2,777,351$253,998

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,973,274TotalAmt
Program Services$426,789ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,527,742ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,743FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$106,907,040TotalAmt
Program Services$73,075,335ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$31,001,472ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,830,233FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,274,027BOYAmt
EOY$18,861,893EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,999,641BOYAmt
EOY$9,331,167EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,347,318BOYAmt
EOY$5,281,767EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,756,244BOYAmt
EOY$2,593,957EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,314,691BOYAmt
EOY$1,632,403EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$235,469,490LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$85,356,806LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$153,563,382BOYAmt
EOY$150,112,684EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,914,988BOYAmt
EOY$45,921,743EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,188,162BOYAmt
EOY$95,725,035EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$318,358,453BOYAmt
EOY$329,460,649EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,135,111BOYAmt
EOY$8,140,192EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,270,345BOYAmt
EOY$1,030,146EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,086,285BOYAmt
EOY$62,318,049EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,953,512BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,632,007BOYAmt
EOY$1,689,528EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,077,260BOYAmt
EOY$73,177,915EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,123,710BOYAmt
EOY$91,637,047EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,559,360BOYAmt
EOY$91,982,188EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$70,598,123BOYAmt
EOY$72,663,499EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$241,281,193BOYAmt
EOY$256,282,734EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$318,358,453BOYAmt
EOY$329,460,649EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$7,474,929ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$7,526,612NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$33,682,887CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$24,147,736CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$27,622,628CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$33,789,817CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$31,271,120CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$150,514,188TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$33,682,887CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$24,147,736CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$27,622,628CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$33,789,817CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$31,271,120CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$150,514,188TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$614,362SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$149,899,826PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$934,307CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,397,738CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,337,340CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,075,835CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$890,023CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$5,635,243TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$21,766,161CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$21,509,222CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$22,476,470CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$24,374,412CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$23,005,193CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$113,131,458TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$269,280,889TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$368,118,064GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.55667PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.00000PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$2,486,265AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Solicited Assets SalefalseSolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$125,825,999BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,305,817ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$16,424,963InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$6,570,968GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$137,985,811EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$129,432,458BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$928,659ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$14,762,910InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$7,905,706GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$11,392,322OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$125,825,999EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$139,825,050BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,539,405ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$5,037,841InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,795,910GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,098,246OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$129,432,458EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$120,125,728BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,319,901ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$25,292,733InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,724,293GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,189,019OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$139,825,050EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$90,311,481BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,598,264ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$28,634,604InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,418,621GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$120,125,728EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.05180BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.51760PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.43060TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$23,291,053OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$23,291,053BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$171,201,343OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$69,678,183DepreciationAmt
Book Value$101,523,160BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$40,977,094OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,678,623DepreciationAmt
Book Value$25,298,471BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Land BuildingsOtherLandBuildingsGrp
Total Book Value Land Buildings$150,112,684TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (7 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PRIVATE EQUITY FUNDS$32,082,370F
REAL ASSET FUNDS$5,470,856F
COMMINGLED FUNDS$3,066,069F
HEDGE FUNDS$15,378,390F
HIGH YIELD TRUST FUNDS$12,543,849F
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS$26,051,238F
INTERNATIONAL BONDS$1,132,263F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$95,725,035TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATIONSDesc
Amt$1,689,528Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,689,528TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$102,059,365TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$7,526,612NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$7,526,612RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$94,532,753RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$19,849,216OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$19,849,216RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$114,381,969TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$87,057,824TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$87,057,824ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$19,849,216OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$19,849,216ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$106,907,040TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART III, LINE 4ART COLLECTIONS MAINTAINING AN ART COLLECTION BY THE ORGANIZATION SERVES COLLEGE, COMMUNITY, STATE, AND NATIONAL AUDIENCES BY COLLECTING, PRESERVING, PRESENTING, AND INTERPRETING THE WORK OF ARTISTS. THE ORGANIZATION ENCOURAGES AESTHETIC AND CRITICAL AWARENESS BY ENGAGING IN RESEARCH, SCHOLARSHIP, AND COMMUNITY OUTREACH, AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF PUBLICATIONS, EXHIBITIONS, AND EDUCATION PROGRAMS. THROUGH THESE VARIED ACTIVITIES, THE ART COLLECTION PROVIDES A FORUM FOR ART, ARTISTS, AND AUDIENCES WHICH ENHANCES THE LIFE OF THE ORGANIZATION AND COMMUNITY AND BRINGS NATIONAL ATTENTION TO THE ORGANIZATION.
SCHEDULE D, PART VENDOWMENT FUND USES The College follows the provisions of ASC Subtopic 958-205, Presentation of Financial Statements relative to its endowment. The College has interpreted the Uniform Prudent Management of Institutional Funds Act (UPMIFA or the Act), as adopted in Georgia, as providing among other things, expanded flexibility by allowing the College, subject to a standard of prudence, to spend from an endowment fund without regard to the book value of the corpus of the fund. This flexibility under UPMIFA allows an expenditure that reduces the book value of the corpus of an endowment fund below its book value, which was previously not allowed. THE CURRENT SPENDING POLICY USED FOR THE ENDOWMENT FUND IS UP TO 5% OF THE ENDING BALANCE IN THE FUND, MEASURED ON THE LAST DAY OF THE PRIOR THREE FISCAL YEARS. THE ENDOWMENT FUND SPENDING IS USED AT THE DISCRETION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FURTHER THE ORGANIZATION'S MISSION.
SCHEDULE D, PART XASC 740 DISCLOSURE The College is recognized as an organization exempt from federal income taxes under Section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code (the Code) as an organization described in Section 501(c)(3) whereby only unrelated business income, as defined by Section 512(a) of the Code, is subject to federal income tax. The Colleges management has reviewed its tax positions and determined that it does not have material uncertain tax positions that should be reflected in the financial statements for 2014 or 2013.
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4B AND PART XIII, LINE 4BOTHER RECONCILING ITEMS STUDENT AID $19,849,216

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, LINE 3RACIALLY NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY MOREHOUSE COLLEGE PUBLISHES ITS NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICIES IN NUMEROUS DOCUMENTS OF THE COLLEGE INCLUDING THE SCHOOL CATALOG, STUDENT HANDBOOK REGISTRATION POSTERS, AND NEWSPAPER ADVERTISEMENTS.
SCHEDULE E, LINE 6AFINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FROM A GOVERNMENT AGENCY STUDENTS RECEIVED $4,898,608 FROM THE FEDERAL PELL GRANT PROGRAM AND $30,860,587 FROM THE FEDERAL DIRECT STUDENT LOAN PROGRAM FOR THE CURRENT FISCAL YEAR. IN ADDITION, VARIOUS FEDERAL, STATE AND LOCAL GRANTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED TO SUPPORT THE PROGRAMS OF MOREHOUSE COLLEGE.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
Phone SolicitationsYes (X)PhoneSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Solicitation Of Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (true)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRH BOLTONPersonNm
ActivityGALA CONSULTANTActivityTxt
Fundraiser Control Of FundsfalseFundraiserControlOfFundsInd
Gross Receipts$298,404GrossReceiptsAmt
Retained By Contractor$12,140RetainedByContractorAmt
Net To Organization$286,264NetToOrganizationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Gross Receipts$298,404TotalGrossReceiptsAmt
Total Retained By Contractors$12,140TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Total Net To Organization$286,264TotalNetToOrganizationAmt
Licensed StatesGALicensedStatesCd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Name Of Event1CANDLE GALANameOfEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Event1$298,404GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$262,154CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$36,250GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$10,030RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$119,557OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Other Events Total0OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Total$298,404GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$262,154CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$36,250GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$10,030RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$119,557OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$129,587DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$93,337NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarships & Student AidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient2122RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$19,849,216CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGRANT SUBSTANTIATION THE ORGANIZATION FOLLOWS FEDERAL, STATE AND INSTITUTIONAL GUIDELINES AND METHODOLOGIES FOR DETERMINING ELIGIBILITY AND AWARDING OF NEED-BASED FINANCIAL AID. FOR MERIT-BASED GRANTS, THE ORGANIZATION AWARDS THE GRANTS IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE STIPULATIONS OF THE UNDERLYING GOVERNING INSTRUMENT (I.E. DONOR ENDOWMENT AGREEMENTS, AND OTHER DONOR DOCUMENTATION). THE ORGANIZATION MAINTAINS DETAILED RECORDS OF COMPLIANCE FOR ALL GRANTS DISPERSED. ASSISTANCE TO MOREHOUSE COLLEGE STUDENTS IN THE FORM OF SCHOLARSHIPS ARE AWARDED FOR THE PURPOSE OF AIDING WITH THE COST OF ATTENDING THE UNIVERSITY, I.E. FOR TUITION, HOUSING, AND MEALS. SCHOLARSHIPS ARE BASED ON ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT, NEED, AND OTHER DONOR REQUIREMENTS SUCH AS LOCATION OF RESIDENCE. MOREHOUSE COLLEGE HAS CRITERIA FOR THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS NEEDED TO AWARD A SCHOLARSHIP.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
John S Wilson
President$294,180$0$0$0$0$35,349$329,529$0$0$0
Robert Franklin
President$317,982$0$20,280$34,808$373,070$0$0$0
Sheila Jacobs
Interm VP for Bus & Fin/CFO$223,257$0$8,400$6,607$238,264$0$0$0
Phillip Howard
VP Office of Institutional Adv$154,899$0$9,631$7,265$171,795$0$0$0
Willis Sheftall
Interim Provost/SVP Academic$272,543$0$9,363$7,140$289,046$0$0$0
William Bynum
VP Student Services$168,003$0$9,605$7,364$184,972$0$0$0
Andre Bertrand
VP Campus Operations$147,711$0$9,600$7,361$164,672$0$0$0
Karen Miller
SVP Admin Services/COO$194,508$0$4,961$12,847$212,316$0$0$0
John P Brown
Interim VP External Relations$167,074$0$167,074$0$0$0
Alan D Robertson
VP Business & Finance/CFO$185,916$0$185,916$0$0$0
Garaikai Campbell
SVP Academic Affairs/Provost$215,986$0$215,986$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 1CERTAIN BENEFITS PROVIDED A HOUSE IS PROVIDED TO THE PRESIDENT, AT THE CONVENIENCE OF THE EMPLOYER AS A CONDITION OF EMPLOYMENT. THE ESTIMATED VALUE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN TAXABLE INCOME.
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 3COMPENSATION OF THE TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIAL PRESIDENT/CEO'S COMPENSATION 1. ANNUALLY THE PRESIDENT ESTABLISHES HIS PERFORMANCE GOALS IN CONSULTATION WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. 2. ANNUALLY THE PRESIDENT REVIEWS HIS PROGRESS ON THOSE GOALS WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE WHO DOCUMENTS A PERFORMANCE REVIEW WITH THE PRESIDENT. 3. PERIODICALLY, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE PERFORMS A COMPARATIVE REVIEW OF THE PRESIDENT'S COMPENSATION AGAINST THE ORGANIZATION'S PEER INSTITUTIONS. 4. PERIODICALLY AND IN CERTAIN CASES (I.E. THE ARRIVAL OF A NEW PRESIDENT), AN OUTSIDE COMPENSATION CONSULTANT MAY ADVISE THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ON PRESIDENTIAL COMPENSATION. 5. BASED ON THE ABOVE, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ESTABLISHES THE PRESIDENT'S COMPENSATION FOR THE FOLLOWING YEAR. 6. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE DOCUMENTS THE REASONS FOR ESTABLISHING THE NEW COMPENSATION AMOUNT. 7. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE THEN RENEWS THE PRESIDENT'S CONTRACT FOR AN ADDITIONAL TERM AT THE NEW COMPENSATION LEVEL.
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED PLAN THE ORGANIZATION HAS A 457(B) DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN, LIMITED TO MANAGEMENT OR HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES. PURSUANT TO THE SCHEDULE J INSTRUCTIONS THE LINE IS MARKED "NO". THE DEFERRED COMPENSATION IS INVESTED WITH TIAA-CREF AND IS CONSIDERED THE ORGANIZATION'S PROPERTY UNTIL THE EMPLOYEE WITHDRAWS THE FUNDS. THE NON-VESTED AMOUNTS ARE INCLUDED IN THE DEFERRED COMPENSATION OF THE EMPLOYEE AND THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUAL RECEIVED PAYMENTS ASSOCIATED WITH THE PLAN: ROBERT FRANKLIN.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY
A5815068780003599002007-05-31$45,300,000REFUND BONDS AND CONSTRUCTIONYes (true)falsefalse
Rice Capital Access Program LLC-Series 2013
B5805662052013-09-10$18,998,381Future Advance Project Funding Bonfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$6,644,982$15,370,210$45,649,186$0$1,048,295$22,015,192$410,649$0$0$22,175,049$0$02010Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$0$0$18,998,381$131,291$0$0$380,000$0$0$18,487,090$0$02034falseYes (true)Yes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndRemedial Action TakenRemedialActionTakenIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalseYes (true)
Bfalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalseYes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndBusiness Name Line1GICProviderName/BusinessNameLine1Gross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
0
Afalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalse
0
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalse

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
Afalse
Bfalse

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, LINE 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE PART I, COLUMN (E) ISSUE PRICE DOES NOT AGREE WITH THE PART II, LINE 3 TOTAL PROCEEDS OF ISSUE DUE TO THE INCLUSION OF INTEREST AND OTHER INVESTMENT EARNINGS ON THE PROCEEDS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11BOARD REVIEW OF FORM 990 THE ORGANIZATION'S INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT PREPARED THE CURRENT YEAR TAX RETURN AND THIS WAS REVIEWED PRIOR TO FILING BY THE ORGANIZATION'S MANAGEMENT AND THE FINANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. A COPY OF THE FORM 990 WAS SENT TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES VIA EMAIL PRIOR TO FILING.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY THE ORGANIZATION REQUIRES ALL BOARD MEMBERS TO CONFIRM THEY ARE IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY EACH YEAR THROUGH AN AFFIRMATION OF COMPLIANCE WITH THE POLICY THROUGH EMAIL OR SOME OTHER ACCEPTABLE COMMUNICATION MEDIUM.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION PRESIDENT/CEO'S COMPENSATION 1. ANNUALLY THE PRESIDENT ESTABLISHES HIS PERFORMANCE GOALS IN CONSULTATION WITH THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE AND THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. 2. ANNUALLY THE PRESIDENT REVIEWS HIS PROGRESS ON THOSE GOALS WITH THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE WHO DOCUMENTS A PERFORMANCE REVIEW WITH THE PRESIDENT. 3. PERIODICALLY, THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE PERFORMS A COMPARATIVE REVIEW OF THE PRESIDENT'S COMPENSATION AGAINST THE ORGANIZATION'S PEER INSTITUTIONS. 4. PERIODICALLY AND IN CERTAIN CASES (I.E. THE ARRIVAL OF A NEW PRESIDENT), AN OUTSIDE COMPENSATION CONSULTANT MAY ADVISE THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE ON PRESIDENTIAL COMPENSATION. 5. BASED ON THE ABOVE, THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE ESTABLISHES THE PRESIDENT'S COMPENSATION FOR THE FOLLOWING YEAR. 6. THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE DOCUMENTS THE REASONS FOR ESTABLISHING THE NEW COMPENSATION AMOUNT. 7. THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE THEN RENEWS THE PRESIDENT'S CONTRACT FOR AN ADDITIONAL TERM AT THE NEW COMPENSATION LEVEL. OTHER OFFICERS MOREHOUSE COLLEGE HAS A POLICY FOR REVIEW AND APPROVAL FOR OFFICER AND KEY EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 16JOINT VENTURES THE ORGANIZATION INVESTS IN PARTNERSHIPS THAT MAY BE CONSTRUED TO BE JOINT VENTURES. THE ORGANIZATION HAS ENACTED ADEQUATE SAFEGUARDS FOR ITS PARTNERSHIP INVESTMENTS TO ENSURE THAT THESE ACTIVITIES DO NOT JEOPARDIZE THE ORGANIZATION'S EXEMPT STATUS.
Form 990 Part VI Line 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS (ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION AND ANY SUBSEQUENT AMENDMENTS) ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ON THE GEORGIA SECRETARY OF STATE WEBSITE. ALL RELEVANT GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, POLICIES AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
Form 990, Part IV, Line 12 and Part XII, Line 2 and 3AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT THE ORGANIZATION RECEIVES AN ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AUDIT, IN ACCORDANCE WITH GAAP, REVIEWED BY AN INDEPENDENT AUDITOR. ADDITIONALLY, AN AUDIT AS SET FORTH IN THE SINGLE AUDIT ACT AND OMB CIRCULAR A-133 HAS BEEN CONDUCTED AS A RESULT OF A FEDERAL AWARD.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HOWARD THURMAN EDUCATIONAL TRUSTBusinessNameLine1

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1830 WESTVIEW DR STE 109-7AddressLine1
CityATLANTACity
StateGAState
ZIP Code30324ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN946109302EIN
Primary ActivitiesSUPPORTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status9PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NABusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd