CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY: Form 990, tax year 2013
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY (EIN 91-0673111)
- Tax period
- 2013-07-01 to 2014-06-30
- Filed
- 2015-07-15
- IRS object ID
- 201511969349300041
- Schema version
- 2013v4.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule F
- Schedule G
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule M
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2015-07-15T12:22:01-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2014-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 911194016 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CLARK NUBER PS | BusinessNameLine1 |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 10900 NE 4TH STREET SUITE 1700 | AddressLine1 |
| City | BELLEVUE | City |
| State | WA | State |
| ZIP Code | 98004 | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2013-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 910673111 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY | BusinessNameLine1 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | CHAR | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2536208300 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 7723 CHAMBERS CREEK ROAD | AddressLine1 |
| City | TACOMA | City |
| State | WA | State |
| ZIP Code | 98467 | ZIPCode |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | UNHI PAK | PersonNm |
| Person Title | DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & OPS | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2536208300 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2015-07-14 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | SARA ELIZABETH J HYRE | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00235495 | PTIN |
| Phone | 4254544919 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2015-07-14 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2013 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2016-02-25 16:41:14Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | ROBERT CAMNER | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 7723 CHAMBERS CREEK ROAD | AddressLine1 |
| City | TACOMA | City |
| State | WA | State |
| ZIP Code | 98467 | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $19,423,895 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.CHARLESWRIGHT.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1957 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | WA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | CHARLES WRIGHT IS AN INDEPENDENT SCHOOL FOR GIRLS AND BOYS FROM PRE-KINDERGARTEN THROUGH 12TH GRADE. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 26 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 26 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 226 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 260 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $1,037,423 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $1,543,202 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $15,282,630 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $15,743,883 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $310,930 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $465,141 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | -$56,615 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | -$37,638 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $16,574,368 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $17,714,588 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $2,621,961 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $2,524,584 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $10,154,738 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $10,280,323 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $660,934 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $4,429,637 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $4,429,556 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $17,206,336 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $17,234,463 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$631,968 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $480,125 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $51,817,552 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $56,470,356 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $3,269,092 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $4,101,520 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $48,548,460 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $52,368,836 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | PROVIDE A RIGOROUS LIBERAL ARTS PROGRAM GUIDED BY AN ETHOS OF EXCELLENCE AND COMPASSION. WITHIN A DIVERSE LEARNING COMMUNITY, WE FOSTER SELF-RELIANCE, INTEGRITY, SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY, AND HUMOR, EMPOWERING OUR STUDENTS TO ACHIEVE THEIR BEST IN MIND, BODY & SPIRIT. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $13,551,966 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $2,524,584 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $14,715,373 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | CHARLES WRIGHT IS AN INDEPENDENT SCHOOL FOR GIRLS AND BOYS FROM PRE-KINDERGARTEN THROUGH 12TH GRADE. OUR TEACHERS SUPPORT, STRETCH, AND CHALLENGE OUR STUDENTS TO BECOME RESILIENT, SELF-RELIANT, INDEPENDENT LEARNERS AND THINKERS. STUDENTS BENEFIT FROM A COMPREHENSIVE CURRICULUM THAT INCLUDES LAB SCIENCE, VISUAL AND PERFORMING ART, FOREIGN LANGUAGE AND PHYSICAL EDUCATION. CLASSROOM LEARNING IS ENHANCED BY INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETICS, CLUBS, EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING AND OUTDOOR EDUCATION. AT THE HEART OF THE CHARLES WRIGHT EXPERIENCE IS A COMMUNITY THAT HELPS STUDENTS DEVELOP THEIR FULL POTENTIAL AND BECOME INSPIRED, LIFE-LONG LEARNERS. TOTAL ENROLLMENT FOR THE 2013-2014 SCHOOL YEAR WAS 660 STUDENTS. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $13,551,966 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | Yes (1) | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | Yes (1) | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | 0 | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | Yes (1) | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | Yes (1) | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (1) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 56 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 226 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 26 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 26 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | UNHI PAK | BusinessNameLine1 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2536208300 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 7723 CHAMBERS CREEK ROAD | AddressLine1 |
| City | TACOMA | City |
| State | WA | State |
| ZIP Code | 98467 | ZIPCode |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (31 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LIZ WILLIAMS | |||||||
| BOARD CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| SARAH WEYERHAEUSER | |||||||
| BOARD VICE-CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| SUE MAYER | |||||||
| BOARD TREASURER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| DALE SOWELL | |||||||
| BOARD SECRETARY | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| SANJAY AGRAWAL | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ADAM BIRNBAUM | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KATHY DOBLER | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DANA GAUME | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BLAKE GOLDBERG | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| GEORGE GONZALES | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KATHERINE HERROD | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MANUEL IREGUI | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOHN LONG | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ANNA MEADOWCROFT | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SHERRY MONDOU | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CLIFF QUISENBERRY | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| LAURA REYNOLDS | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DOUG SHARP | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MARY JANE STACKPOLE | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SANDY KARWHITE | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOSEPH MAYER | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RITA IRVIN | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| NANCY SCHAUER | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| SHAN VIPOND | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAPHNE MACKEY | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RAJV NAGAICH | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ROBERT CAMNER | |||||||
| HEADMASTER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $273,282 | $0 | $80,620 | ||
| MICHAEL DOIDGE | |||||||
| DIR. FINANCE & OPS. | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $117,654 | $0 | $18,192 | ||
| SHARON HURT | |||||||
| ADVANCEMENT DIR. | 40.00 | $139,465 | $0 | $12,158 | Yes (X) | ||
| WILLIAM WHITE | |||||||
| UPPER SCHOOL HEAD | 40.00 | $129,837 | $0 | $20,077 | Yes (X) | ||
| DIANE HUNT | |||||||
| LOWER SCHOOL HEAD | 40.00 | $160,452 | $0 | $22,061 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $820,690 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $153,108 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 0 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Fundraising | $205,971 | FundraisingAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $1,337,231 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $393,803 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $1,543,202 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TUITION AND FEES | 611710 | $14,715,373 | $14,715,373 | |
| AUXILIARY ACTIVITIES | 611710 | $1,028,510 | $1,028,510 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $15,743,883 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $458,771 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $458,771 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $51,648 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $8,717 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $42,931 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $42,931 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $42,931 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,457,720 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $4,000 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,455,350 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $2,370 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $4,000 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $6,370 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $6,370 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $161,963 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $205,971 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $245,240 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$83,277 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$83,277 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | FLEX PLAN FORFEITURES | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $2,649 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,649 | ExclusionAmt |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $59 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $59 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $2,708 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $17,714,588 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $14,715,373 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,456,013 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,524,584 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,524,584 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $450,267 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $122,903 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $312,001 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $15,363 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,457,251 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,493,215 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,580,912 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $383,124 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $462,136 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $353,092 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $95,283 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $13,761 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,336,544 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,036,982 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $236,228 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $63,334 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $574,125 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $421,982 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $134,919 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $17,224 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $16,157 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $16,157 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $59,325 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $59,325 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $61,503 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $61,503 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $221,208 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $136,864 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $84,344 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $45,300 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,255 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $39,045 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $35,738 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,757 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $31,981 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $564,486 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $531,182 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $30,482 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $2,822 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $726 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $726 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $23,263 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,155 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $14,176 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,932 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,470,535 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,383,773 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $79,409 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $7,353 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $187,921 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $135,077 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $52,844 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| INSTRUCTIONAL | $682,307 | $682,307 |
| REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE | $101,563 | $101,563 |
| GROUNDS | $88,177 | $88,177 |
| STUDENT ACTIVITY | $82,893 | $82,893 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $788,454 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $580,069 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $139,708 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $68,677 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,234,463 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $13,551,966 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,021,563 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $660,934 | FundraisingAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,623,326 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,705,359 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $613,536 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $646,920 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $295,278 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $292,685 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $351 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,933 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,273 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,951 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,854 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $223,258 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $299,698 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $46,753,785 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $19,144,362 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $28,154,642 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $27,609,423 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,701,124 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $18,723,291 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,971,256 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,901,614 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $207,897 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $263,239 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $51,817,552 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $56,470,356 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,677,516 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,448,536 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,521,391 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,555,348 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $51,381 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $90,832 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,804 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,804 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,269,092 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,101,520 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $32,827,179 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $34,053,682 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,036,503 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,085,596 | EOYAmt |
Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,684,778 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,229,558 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $48,548,460 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $52,368,836 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $51,817,552 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $56,470,356 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $480,125 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $3,339,012 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $1,239 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Agent Trustee Etc | 0 | AgentTrusteeEtcInd |
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | Yes (1) | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
| Explanation Provided | Yes (X) | ExplanationProvidedInd |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $22,716,022 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $407,113 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $3,762,242 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $737,401 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $26,147,976 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $20,436,378 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $290,958 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $2,561,658 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $675,161 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $22,613,833 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $19,273,136 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $2,147,069 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$404,227 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $579,600 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $20,436,378 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $14,346,126 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $2,291,093 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $3,207,692 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $520,403 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $51,372 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $19,273,136 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $13,292,128 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $170,979 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $1,455,519 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $572,500 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $14,346,126 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.33090 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.42950 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.23960 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $806,653 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $806,653 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $42,605,476 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $16,964,542 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $25,640,934 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,715,585 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $2,179,820 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $535,765 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $626,071 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $626,071 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $27,609,423 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| CAPITAL PARTNERS V, LP | $168,682 | F |
| EMERGING MARKETS | $2,131,297 | F |
| MULTI-STRATEGY COMMODITIES FUND | $2,601,635 | F |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $4,901,614 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $18,623,378 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $3,339,012 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $41,474 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Revenue | -$2,523,345 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $857,141 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $17,766,237 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $61,503 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | -$113,152 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | -$51,649 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $17,714,588 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $14,803,002 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $41,474 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $113,152 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $154,626 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $14,648,376 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $61,503 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $2,524,584 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $2,586,087 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $17,234,463 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART IV, LINE 2B: | CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY ACTS AS AN AGENT FOR STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS AND THE PTA. THE MONEY IS HELD BY CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY FOR EACH ACTIVITY AND ORGANIZATION. CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY DOES NOT HAVE ACCESS TO THESE FUNDS FOR OPERATIONAL USE. THE AMOUNTS ARE CONSIDERED A LIABILITY TO CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY. |
| PART V, LINE 4: | PURE ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE HELD INTO PERPETUITY AS DESIGNATED BY THE BENEFACTOR. QUASI-ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE HELD AS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. ANNUALLY 4% IS DRAWN FROM THE ENDOWMENT BY BOARD POLICY USE TO FUND FINANCIAL AID AND OTHER OPERATIONAL EXPENSES. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | FINANCIAL AID -2,524,584. BAD DEBT RECOVERY 1,239. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | SPECIAL EVENT EXPENSES -113,152. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | SPECIAL EVENT EXPENSES 113,152. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | FINANCIAL AID 2,524,584. |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (1) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (1) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (1) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE SCHOOL PARTICIPATES IN AN ANNUAL ADVERTISEMENT WITH OTHER INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS IN THE REGION, WHERE THE NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY IS PUBLISHED IN ALL REGIONAL NEWSPAPERS AND JOURNALS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Region | CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN | RegionTxt |
| Offices | 0 | OfficesCnt |
| Employee | 0 | EmployeeCnt |
| Type Of Activities Conducted | INVESTMENTS | TypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt |
| Specific Services Provided | N/A | SpecificServicesProvidedTxt |
| Region Total Expenditures | $2,601,635 | RegionTotalExpendituresAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Subtotal Offices | 0 | SubtotalOfficesCnt |
| Subtotal Employees | 0 | SubtotalEmployeesCnt |
| Continutation Total Office | 0 | ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt |
| Continutation Total Employee | 0 | ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Office | 0 | TotalOfficeCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Subtotal Spent | $2,601,635 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Continuation Spent | $0 | ContinuationSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $2,601,635 | TotalSpentAmt |
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | Yes (1) | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | 0 | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | Yes (1) | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | 0 | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | 0 | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | 0 | BoycottCountriesInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART IV, LINE 1: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | FORM 5471 IS NOT REQUIRED TO BE FILED BECAUSE THE TRANSFER TO A FOREIGN CORPORATION DOES NOT MEET THE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Name Of Event1 | AUCTION | NameOfEvent1Amt |
| Gross Receipts Event1 | $367,934 | GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event1 | $205,971 | CharitableContriEvent1Amt |
| Gross Revenue Event1 | $161,963 | GrossRevenueEvent1Amt |
| Food And Beverage Event1 | $34,168 | FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt |
| Entertainment Event1 | $5,959 | EntertainmentEvent1Amt |
| Other Direct Expenses Event1 | $205,113 | OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt |
| Gross Receipts Total | $367,934 | GrossReceiptsTotalAmt |
| Charitable Contributions Tot | $205,971 | CharitableContributionsTotAmt |
| Gross Revenue Total Events | $161,963 | GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt |
| Food And Beverage Total Events | $34,168 | FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt |
| Entertainment Total Events | $5,959 | EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt |
| Oth Direct Expnss Total Events | $205,113 | OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt |
| Direct Expense Summary Events | $245,240 | DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt |
| Net Income Summary | -$83,277 | NetIncomeSummaryAmt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | FINANCIAL AID | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 190 | RecipientCnt |
| Non Cash Assistance | $2,524,584 | NonCashAssistanceAmt |
| Valuation Method Used | BOOK | ValuationMethodUsedDesc |
| Non Cash Assistance | FINANCIAL AID | NonCashAssistanceDesc |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | EACH YEAR STUDENTS WISHING TO APPLY FOR FINANCIAL AID FILL OUT THE NECESSARY APPLICATION FORMS. THE APPLICATIONS ARE SENT TO SSS, A 3RD-PARTY FINANCIAL AID/SCHOLARSHIP REVIEW COMPANY, WHO PROCESSES THE APPLICATIONS AND REPORTS TO THE SCHOOL THEIR DETERMINATION OF EACH APPLICANTS ESTIMATED FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (EFC). THE SCHOOL HAS A STANDING COMMITTEE, CONSISTING OF THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCIAL AID/SENIOR ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF ADMISSIONS, THE HEADMASTER, AND THE FINANCE DIRECTOR. THIS STANDING COMMITTEE REVIEWS EACH REPORT FROM SSS AND THE REPORTED EFC. THE COMMITTEE USES THE REPORTED EFC AS A STARTING POINT TO DETERMINE A CWA-REVISED EFC, WHICH ADJUSTS FOR MORE SPECIFIC FACTORS APPLICABLE TO THE APPLICANTS, SUCH AS COST OF LIVING ALLOWANCE FOR THE STUDENTS CITY OF RESIDENCE. THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE FINAL CWA-REVISED EFC AND TUITION IS THE AMOUNT OF NEED. CWA OFFERS FINANCIAL AID FOR 100% OF NEED. ANY SUBSEQUENT CHANGES TO THE FINANCIAL AID AWARDS ARE INITIATED BY THE ADMISSIONS DIRECTOR AND ARE APPROVED BY THE HEADMASTER. STUDENTS GRANTED FINANCIAL AID MUST REAPPLY FOR IT EVERY YEAR. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (1) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROBERT CAMNER | ||||||||||||||
| HEADMASTER | $255,786 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $17,496 | $0 | $73,488 | $0 | $7,132 | $0 | $353,902 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SHARON HURT | ||||||||||||||
| ADVANCEMENT DIR. | $139,465 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,112 | $0 | $5,046 | $0 | $151,623 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DIANE HUNT | ||||||||||||||
| LOWER SCHOOL HEAD | $160,452 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $12,419 | $0 | $9,642 | $0 | $182,513 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 4B | CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY HAS A 457(F) PLAN TO ACCRUE A PERCENTAGE OF COMPENSATION BASED ON PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES' CURRENT COMPENSATION PACKAGES. CURRENTLY, THE ONLY EMPLOYEE PARTICIPATING IN THIS PLAN IS THE HEADMASTER OF THE SCHOOL, ROBERT CAMNER. THIS DEFERRED COMPENSATION IS DISTRIBUTABLE IN CASH. PARTICIPANTS BECOME ENTITLED TO A PAYMENT OF AN AMOUNT EQUAL TO THE PARTICIPANT'S VESTED ACCOUNT. |
| SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN (C): | THE AMOUNT REPORTED IN COLUMN (C) FOR DEFERRED COMPENSATION REPRESENTS THE CONTRIBUTION BY CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY TO THE EMPLOYEE'S 403(B) PLAN AS WELL AS THE 457(F) PLAN. EMPLOYEES RECEIVE AN ANNUAL CONTRIBUTION TO THEIR 403(B) PLAN FROM CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY EQUAL TO A PERCENTAGE OF THEIR SALARY BASED ON LENGTH OF SERVICE WITH THE SCHOOL. CURRENTLY ONLY THE HEAD OF SCHOOL IS ELIGIBLE FOR DEFERRED COMPENSATION UNDER THE 457(F) PLAN. |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 19 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $248,244 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | MARKET QUOTATION | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (2 entries)
| Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxInd | DescDesc | ContributionContributionCnt | Noncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt | Method Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yes (X) | AUCTION ITEMS | 591 | $132,088 | FAIR MARKET VALUE |
| Yes (X) | MISCELLANEOUS | 31 | $13,471 | FAIR MARKET VALUE |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form8283 Received | 0 | Form8283ReceivedCnt |
| Any Property That Must Be Held | 0 | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | Yes (1) | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | 0 | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, COLUMN (B): | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | DONATED SECURITIES AND MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS ARE COUNTED BY THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTORS. AUCTION ITEMS ARE COUNTED BY THE NUMBER OF ITEMS RECEIVED. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART I, LINE 6, VOLUNTEERS: | PARENTS VOLUNTEER IN A NUMBER OF WAYS AT CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY. THESE INCLUDE CLASSROOM PARENTS; PARENT ASSOCIATION SUPPORT FOR FUNDRAISING ACTIVITIES SUCH AS THE ANNUAL AUCTION AND RUMMAGE SALE; SPORTS BOOSTERS; AND STUDENT ACTIVITIES AND CLUBS. THERE ARE ALSO 21 VOLUNTEER BOARD MEMBERS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11 | CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY'S FORM 990 TAX RETURN IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS. IN ADDITION, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE FINAL FORM 990 SIGNED AND FILED BY A NON-TRUSTEE FINANCIAL OFFICER. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | CHARLES WRIGHT ACADEMY REQUIRES A CONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURE STATEMENT COMPLETED BY OFFICERS, BOARD MEMBERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. THE POLICY SPECIFIES THAT NO INDIVIDUAL CAN HAVE MORE THAN A 5% MATERIAL INTEREST IN ANY ENTITY THAT IS LIKELY TO CONFLICT WITH THEIR OFFICIAL DUTIES FOR THE SCHOOL. IT IS A PRACTICE AT CWA NOT TO SELECT INDIVIDUALS TO SERVE IN ANY CAPACITY FOR THE SCHOOL, IF THEY ARE A VENDOR OR AGENT THAT WOULD OBTAIN PERSONAL GAIN FROM THIS RELATIONSHIP. THE HEADMASTER AND CHAIR OF THE BOARD REVIEW THESE DISCLOSURES FOR COMPLIANCE. THE HEADMASTER AND CHAIR OF THE BOARD ALSO REVIEW ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST TO DETERMINE WHETHER A CONFLICT EXISTS. A PERSON WHO HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST SHALL NOT PARTICIPATE IN DISCUSSION AND VOTING ON THE MATTER. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | COMPENSATION OF THE CEO (HEADMASTER) IS DETERMINED BY A COMPENSATION COMMITTEE THAT HIRES AN INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR THAT REVIEWS COMPARABILITY DATA AND PRESENTS THE FINDINGS TO THE COMMITTEE FOR THEIR REVIEW AND APPROVAL. THE LAST CONSULTATION OCCURRED JULY 16, 2014. COMPARATIVE DATA IS USED ANNUALLY IN A REVIEW OF ALL KEY POSITIONS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | BAD DEBT RECOVERY 1,239. |