STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

SOUTH CENTRAL POWER COMPANY: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SOUTH CENTRAL POWER COMPANY (EIN 31-4311730)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-08-11
IRS object ID
201512239349302066
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-08-11T16:09:57-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN314311730EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SOUTH CENTRAL POWER COMPANYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSOUTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8002825064PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12780 Coonpath RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityLancasterCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43130ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMark McCradyPersonNm
Person TitleDirector of AccountingPersonTitleTxt
Phone7406896299PhoneNum
Signature2015-08-11SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRichard LemondsPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12780 Coonpath RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityLancasterCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43130ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$280,758,542GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.southcentralpower.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSouth Central Power exists to deliver safe, reliable electric service that adds value to the lives of our members.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee240TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$258,915,343PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$267,855,219CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$269,004PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$259,292CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$9,927,569PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$12,644,031CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$269,111,916PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$280,758,542CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$17,782,579PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$21,428,839CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$22,804,569PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$23,259,044CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$228,524,768PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$236,070,659CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$269,111,916PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$280,758,542CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$428,541,111TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$444,568,689TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$190,002,343TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$192,903,236TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$238,538,768NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$251,665,453NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSouth Central Power exists to deliver safe, reliable electric service that adds value to the lives of our members.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$0ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescSale of Electricity and Other Services to Members.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$0TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document40IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee240EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$267,078,957MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$776,262OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMark McCradyPersonNm
Phone8002825064PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12780 Coonpath RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityLancasterCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43130ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Kenneth D Davis
Chairmant/Trustee3Yes (X)Yes (X)$23,647$0$0
Richard C Poling
Vice Chairman/Trustee8Yes (X)Yes (X)$24,715$0$0
Thomas F Lamb
Secretary/Trustee3Yes (X)Yes (X)$16,620$0$0
James D Evans
Treasurer/Trustee3Yes (X)Yes (X)$24,729$0$0
Mike Hummel
Asst Vice Chairman/Trustee4Yes (X)Yes (X)$24,415$0$0
Lawrence Kobi
Asst Secretary/Trustee3Yes (X)Yes (X)$8,200$0$0
Harold E Cooper
Asst Treasurer/Trustee12Yes (X)Yes (X)$30,615$0$0
Alan Gabriel
Trustee4.5Yes (X)$8,000$0$0
Michael Vinka
Trustee4Yes (X)$16,620$0$0
Stephen A Johnson
Trustee4Yes (X)$24,515$0$0
Franklin Lucas
Trustee4Yes (X)$25,515$0$0
Richard Lemonds
President/CEO45Yes (X)$346,267$0$110,307
Rebecca Witt
Chief Financial Officer50$201,336$0$82,072Yes (X)
Thomas Musick
VP Operations/Engineering48$175,788$0$50,602Yes (X)
Susan Everly
Vice Pres Human Resources40$171,120$0$6,126Yes (X)
Jim Meyers
Vice President Operations40$161,583$0$15,871Yes (X)
Tim Malone
Director of Engineering40$160,314$0$22,893Yes (X)
Cathy Bitler
Vice Pres Customer Service49$139,462$0$64,225Yes (X)
Brad Markwood
Director Community Dev40$113,129$0$9,348Yes (X)
Jeff Haidet
Dir Application Development48$112,988$0$25,172Yes (X)
Aaron Shambrock
Dir Technical Services55$110,227$0$40,866Yes (X)
Mark McCrady
Dir Finance & Accounting44$105,569$0$51,900Yes (X)
Chris Hall
Superintendent of Operations45$100,072$0$29,547Yes (X)
Ajit Kadakia
Executive Vice President0$294,030$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,419,476TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$508,929TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K13IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Asplundh
1700 Solutions CenterChicagoIL60677Right of Way Clearing$8,239,581
Davis H Elliot Co
951 Enterprise DrLexingtonKY40510Facilities Construction$2,405,178
Quality Lines
22283 Township Road 177ForestOH45843Facilities Construction$931,234
Revspring Inc
26996 Network PlaceChicagoIL60673Bill Printing & Mailing$749,434
All Utilities & Excavating Inc
7630 Pine Grove RoadAmandaOH43102Facilities Construction$606,733
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K19CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSale of Electricity & Other ServicesDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$267,855,219TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$267,855,219RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$267,855,219TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$259,292TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$259,292ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Gen & Trans Capital Credits221000$11,099,493$0$0$11,099,493
Other Capital Credits221000$1,544,538$0$0$1,544,538

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$12,644,031OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$280,758,542TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$267,855,219RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$12,903,323ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,428,839TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$573,858TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,588,901TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,684,398TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,516,126TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$895,761TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$185,209TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$47,056TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$496,662TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$560,857TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,526,675TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$497,237TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$342,597TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,712,692TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,462,234TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$496,774TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Cost of Power Purchased$184,538,094
Kilowatt Hour Taxes$9,700,676
Property Taxes$6,527,410
Right a Way Expenses$8,261,093

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,715,393TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$280,758,542TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$139,568BOYAmt
EOY$143,770EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,943,613BOYAmt
EOY$6,642,020EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,032,450BOYAmt
EOY$31,275,063EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,023,278BOYAmt
EOY$5,305,000EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$342,889BOYAmt
EOY$466,250EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$401,931,368LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$132,567,439LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$262,147,949BOYAmt
EOY$269,363,929EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$243,586BOYAmt
EOY$248,645EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,872,883BOYAmt
EOY$122,992,976EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,794,895BOYAmt
EOY$8,131,036EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$428,541,111BOYAmt
EOY$444,568,689EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,443,273BOYAmt
EOY$32,783,032EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$140,096,515BOYAmt
EOY$146,120,204EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,462,555BOYAmt
EOY$14,000,000EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$190,002,343BOYAmt
EOY$192,903,236EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$238,538,768BOYAmt
EOY$251,665,453EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$238,538,768BOYAmt
EOY$251,665,453EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$428,541,111BOYAmt
EOY$444,568,689EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$0NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$13,126,685OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,662,824OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,662,824BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,942,944OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,061,928DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,881,016BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,157,638OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$11,246,829DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,910,809BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$373,167,962OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$116,258,682DepreciationAmt
Book Value$256,909,280BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$269,363,929TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
National Rural Utilities Finance Corp$1,436,077C
Buckeye Power Inc$113,563,898C
National Information Solutions Corp$63,022C
Federated Rural Electric Insurance$431,913C
National Rural Telecommunications Coop$305,285C
Cobank$6,469,346C
Rural Electric Supply Cooperative$719,448C
Arkansas Electric Cooperative$787C
Miller Development Company$3,200C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$122,992,976TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$266,862,413TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$0NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$266,862,413RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$13,896,129OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$13,896,129RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$280,758,542TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$245,433,574TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included-$13,896,129OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$13,896,129ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$259,329,703ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$21,428,839OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$21,428,839ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$280,758,542TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4bInterest Income of $259,292, Other Services of $992,806, Generation & Transmission Capital Credits of $11,099,493, and Other Capital Credits of $1,544,538.
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 2dInterest Income of ($259,292), Other Services of ($992,806), Generation & Transmission Capital Credits of ($11,099,493), and Other Capital Credits of ($1,544,538).
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bPatronage Capital (Capital Credits) Allocated to Members for 2014. See Main Form, Part IX-Statement of Functional Expenses, Line 4, Benefits Paid to or for Members.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Richard Lemonds
President/CEO$346,267$0$0$0$0$0$85,207$0$25,100$0$456,574$0$0$0
Rebecca Witt
Chief Financial Officer$201,336$0$0$0$0$0$73,045$0$9,026$0$283,407$0$0$0
Thomas Musick
VP Operations/Engineering$175,788$0$0$0$0$0$25,502$0$25,100$0$226,390$0$0$0
Cathy Bitler
Vice Pres Customer Service$139,462$0$0$0$0$0$55,199$0$9,026$0$203,687$0$0$0
Tim Malone
Director of Engineering$160,314$0$0$0$0$0$1,793$0$21,100$0$183,207$0$0$0
Jim Meyers
Vice President Operations$161,583$0$0$0$0$0$1,626$0$14,245$0$177,454$0$0$0
Susan Everly
Vice Pres Human Resources$171,120$0$0$0$0$0$1,406$0$4,720$0$177,246$0$0$0
Mark McCrady
Dir Finance & Accounting$105,569$0$0$0$0$0$26,800$0$25,100$0$157,469$0$0$0
Aaron Shambrock
Dir Technical Services$110,227$0$0$0$0$0$15,766$0$25,100$0$151,093$0$0$0
Ajit Kadakia
Executive Vice President$0$0$0$0$294,030$0$0$0$0$0$294,030$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4457 Deferred Compensation Plan: Ajit Kadakia-Former Executive Vice President is a participant.
Schedule J, Part IIAjit Kadakia Line 10 Column (B)(iii), Other Compensation - the Payout of unused Vacation and Sick Time.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 6Any person, firm, partnership, political subdivision, government agency or instrumentality, limited liability company, association, corporation or body politic shall become a member of the Cooperative by accepting electric or monthly recurring service from the Cooperative as evidenced by payment of an invoice for such service unless they specifically decline membership. Each member agrees to: (a) comply and be bound by the Articles of Incorporation and the Code of Regulations of the Cooperative; (b) provide the Cooperative without charge such easements and rights of way that allow for the distribution of electric energy to serve such member or other members or patrons of the Cooperative.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7aEach member shall be entitled to one (1) vote and no more upon each matter submitted to a vote of the members. The Secretary of the Board prepares a ballot for electing trustees which is mailed at least thirty (30) days prior to the annual meeting of members. The member votes, signs and returns the ballot. A Ballot Certification committee appointed by the Board of Trustees tabulate the votes and determine the successful candidates. The results are announced at the annual meeting of members.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7bChanges to the Code of Regulations of the organization are subject to approval by the members of the organization.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bCopies of the Form 990 are distributed to each trustee at one of the regularly scheduled board meetings. The form is reviewed by them at this time.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cEach year a questionnaire is given to each Officer, Director or Trustee and Key Employee asking them to confirm that they have access to and have read the cooperative's policy regarding conflicts of interest. If there are any exceptions to the policy, they are to disclose it at that time.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The Cooperative retains an independent consultant and makes use of the annual National Compensation Survey of Rural Electric Distribution Systems from NRECA (National Rural Electric Cooperative Assoc.) to determine pay grades and pay ranges. Based on the recommendation of the consultant and the survey results, the Cooperative creates an annual Wage and Salary Plan that is submitted to the Board of Trustees for review and approval. Every employee is evaluated annually by their supervisor and compensated, within the Wage and Salary Plan, based on performance.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19The Code of Regulations and the Annual Report with financial information can be accessed through the Cooperative's website. In addition, the Code of Regulations, Annual Report with financial information and the Conflict of Interest Policy are available upon request.
Form 990, Part IX, Line 4Per the instructions, Section 501(c)(12) organizations should report patronage dividends paid on Line 4-Benefits paid to or for members. As stated in the Code of Regulations, "The Cooperative is obligated to pay by credits to a capital account for each patron all such amounts in excess of operating costs and expenses. "Within a reasonable time after the close of the fiscal year, the total value of Net Margins is allocated to each patrons account. This allocation of current year's Net Margins is what we are using to reflect the value of patronage dividends paid. The current policy is to retire the credits allocated to each patron after 20 years, provided the financial condition of the Cooperative will not be impaired by the retirement. Also, the Code of Regulations states "If any patron or former patron fails to claim any cash retirement of capital credits or other payment from the Cooperative within (4) years after the payment of the same has been made available to him by notice or check mailed to him at his last address furnished by him to the Cooperative, such failure shall be and constitutes an irrevocable assignment and gift by such patron of such capital credit or other payment to the Cooperative. "After the (4) fourth year and proper notifications are made to the patron, the current policy is to reallocate these gifts or unclaimed capital credits in the current year to the current patrons. Each year reallocations are made, but the value of these reallocations is not included in Part IX-Line 4 for the current year since the amount reallocated would have been included in the Form 990 for the year in which they were originally allocated.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9The other changes in net assets or fund balances is the Allocation of 2014 Patronage Capital (Capital Credits) of $21,428,839 and the Retirement of prior years Patronage Capital of ($8,302,154) for a net increase of $13,126,685.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1South Central Power Company FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12780 Coonpath RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityLancasterCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43130ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN465166907EIN
Primary ActivitiesDonations to CharitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status9PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Filing CompanyBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Miller DevelopmentBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12780 Coonpath RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityLancasterCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43130ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN310675913EIN
Primary ActivitiesReal Estate DevelopmentPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$0ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$3,200ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1OwnershipPct
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1South Central Power Company FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypebTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$146,268InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationCash payment made to Foundation.MethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt