STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 48-0499309)
Tax period
2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31
Filed
2025-11-13
IRS object ID
202513179349303046
Schema version
2024v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-11-13T09:59:52-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480499309EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlVICTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6202272139PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1335AddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP678011335ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSHANE LAWSPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6202272139PhoneNum
Signature2025-11-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2025-11-09PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSHANE LAWSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1335AddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP678011335ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$74,944,417GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.VICTORYELECTRIC.NETWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1945FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee80TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$71,744,215PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$74,528,413CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$576,285PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$329,245CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$63,916PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$70,166CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$72,384,416PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$74,927,824CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$80,374PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$72,624CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$5,674,137PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$6,029,940CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,373,441PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,542,298CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$58,683,017PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$60,973,582CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$71,810,969PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$74,618,444CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$573,447PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$309,380CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$190,296,293TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$192,313,303TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$108,409,666TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$105,223,533TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$81,886,627NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$87,089,770NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE A SAFE, RELIABLE SERVICE AT A COMPETITIVE RATE, PROVIDE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OPPORTUNITIES AND SERVICES FOR OUR MEMBERS, AND ENSURE THE FINANCIAL STABILITY OF THE COOPERATIVE THROUGH THE USE OF PRUDENT BUSINESS PRACTICES AND THE LATEST TECHNOLOGY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 20,568 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (1)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document41IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee80EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$75,118,582MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$1,593,886OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ANGELA UNRUH CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6202272139PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13230 N 14TH AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67801ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
KENNY WEHKAMP
TRUSTEE10.00Yes (X)$25,780$0$0
JOHN LEIS
TRUSTEE5.00Yes (X)$31,545$0$0
JIM IMEL
TRUSTEE7.00Yes (X)$26,855$0$0
PATRICK MORSE
TRUSTEE5.00Yes (X)$29,980$0$0
KENNETH SCHULTE
TRUSTEE4.00Yes (X)$5,935$0$0
JAMES DARYL TIEBEN
PRESIDENT6.30Yes (X)$29,080$0$0Yes (X)
CEDRIC DREWES
VICE PRESIDENT8.00Yes (X)$40,278$0$0Yes (X)
RANDY QUINT
TRUSTEE4.50Yes (X)$26,680$0$0
TERRI LARSON
SECRETARY-TREASURER7.00Yes (X)$26,080$0$0Yes (X)
JAMES L OCHS
TRUSTEE7.00Yes (X)$36,078$0$0
MEGAN EVANS
TRUSTEE7.00Yes (X)$34,560$0$0
ANTHONY S LAWS
CEO60.00$404,651$0$155,083Yes (X)
ANGELA K UNRUH
CFO48.00$205,333$0$86,048Yes (X)
DENZIL MCGILL
CIO45.00$189,012$0$105,380Yes (X)
RYAN MILLER
VP OF OPERATIONS48.00$160,771$0$129,270Yes (X)
AMY GRASSER
VP OF CORPORATE SERVICES/HR45.00$154,190$0$67,372Yes (X)
ROB HENRY
VP OF ENGINEERING50.00$148,362$0$72,207Yes (X)
TED MCATEE
JOURNEYMAN LINEMAN53.10$149,468$0$90,129Yes (X)
JESUS RUIZ
JOURNEYMAN LINEMAN49.20$143,017$0$57,821Yes (X)
PATRICK DEAVER
JOURNEYMAN LINEMAN45.40$132,499$0$83,842Yes (X)
ROSS ACKERMAN
JOURNEYMAN LINEMAN46.60$132,049$0$62,113Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,132,203TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$909,265TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K39IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ELECTRICOMM INC
PO BOX 8324TOPEKAKS66608OIL SITE SAMPLES, SITE SURVEYS, ENGINEER$2,108,067
PENNICK SERVICES INC
23903 12 RDMONTEZUMAKS67867DIRECTIONAL DRILLING SERVICES$534,079
NISC
PO BOX 1147MANDANND58554BILLING & SOFTWARE SERVICES$390,585
KANSAS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE
PO BOX 4267TOPEKAKS66604ASSESSMENTS, SUBSCRIPTION DUES, SAFETY M$289,942
GWALTNEY INCDIAMOND ROOFING
PO BOX 37DODGE CITYKS67801ROOF REPLACEMENT$234,224
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$71,308,841$71,308,841
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$2,810,414$2,810,414
TRANSMISSION/WHEELING221000$208,402$208,402
SERVICE FEES221000$200,756$200,756
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$74,528,413TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$282,310TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$282,310ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$4,747RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$4,747RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,747TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,747RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$48,080OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$1,145OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$46,935OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,935TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$46,935RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$6,151GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$15,448CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$9,297TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$9,297RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPOLE ATTACHMENT INCOMEDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$74,716TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$74,716ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$74,716OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$74,927,824TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$74,570,798RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$357,026ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,624TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,000TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,029,940TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,969,961TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,577,890TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$763,871TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$928,046TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$302,530TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,565,511TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,911,876TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$45,657,760
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$2,819,986
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$1,700,243
TRANSMISSION EXPENSE$539,848

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$778,358TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,618,444TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,534,386BOYAmt
EOY$2,002,059EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,265,137BOYAmt
EOY$466,873EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,666,372BOYAmt
EOY$6,511,981EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,156BOYAmt
EOY$722EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,751,952BOYAmt
EOY$5,588,613EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,305,831BOYAmt
EOY$1,140,019EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$206,747,274LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$72,830,091LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$128,978,105BOYAmt
EOY$133,917,183EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,770,531BOYAmt
EOY$42,665,228EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,823BOYAmt
EOY$20,625EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$190,296,293BOYAmt
EOY$192,313,303EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,267,467BOYAmt
EOY$6,057,856EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,405,993BOYAmt
EOY$94,624,138EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,736,206BOYAmt
EOY$4,541,539EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$108,409,666BOYAmt
EOY$105,223,533EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,886,627BOYAmt
EOY$87,089,770EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,886,627BOYAmt
EOY$87,089,770EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$190,296,293BOYAmt
EOY$192,313,303EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$309,380ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$4,893,763OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$801,275OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$801,275BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,928,997OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,553,359DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,375,638BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$181,445,269OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$63,527,594DepreciationAmt
Book Value$117,917,675BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,571,733OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,749,138DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,822,595BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$133,917,183TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CFC MEMBER CAPITAL SECURITIES$100,000C
CFC CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES$305,839C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - COBANK$405,347C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRUCFC$278,268C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$159,092C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - KEPCO$5,446,418C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - SEPCO$34,331,566C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - OTHER$506,855C
CONTRIBUTED CAPITAL - SEPCO$1,131,843C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$42,665,228TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$1,567,827
ACCRUED OPERATING TAXES & FEES$1,533,735
DEFERRED CREDITS$1,439,977
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$4,541,539TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$74,917,257TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$74,917,257RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$10,567OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$10,567RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$74,927,824TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$68,577,937TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$68,577,937ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$6,040,507OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$6,040,507ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$74,618,444TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE UTILIZES THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:GENERATOR EXPENSES 10,567.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 6,029,940. RECLASS OF GENERATOR EXPENSES 10,567.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS, SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4B:FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
VFW POST 1714
909 13TH AVENUEDODGE CITYKS67801480514856501(C)(19)$10,000$0COBANK SHARING SUCCESS GRANT
DODGE CITY AREA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
PO BOX 939DODGE CITYKS67801480198165501(C)(6)$5,539$0ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP, STATE OF THE CITY ADDRESS, ANNUAL GOLF TOURNAMENT, DODGE CITY DAYS HAMBURGER FEED
DODGE CITY-FORD COUNTY DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION
PO BOX 818DODGE CITYKS67801480990726501(C)(6)$5,500$0ANNUAL PLEDGE, YOUTH ENTREPRENEURSHIP COMPETITION
USD 459 BUCKLIN
PO BOX 8BUCKLINKS67834480721243GOVERNMENT$5,409$0FOOTBALL FIELD UPGRADES
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org3TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSECONDARY EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIPS FOR COOPERATIVE MEMBERS AND/OR THEIR DEPENDENTS.GrantTypeTxt
Recipient10RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$10,000CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedCASH RECEIVEDValuationMethodUsedDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 2:SCHOLARSHIPS FOR SECONDARY EDUCATION ARE AWARDED ANNUALLY TO ASSIST QUALIFIED INDIVIDUALS IN FURTHERING THEIR EDUCATION. TO BE ELIGIBLE A CANDIDATE OR CANDIDATE'S PARENTS OR LEGAL GUARDIAN MUST BE AN ACTIVE MEMBER OF THE VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION. APPLICANT MUST ENROLL OR BE ENROLLED AT AN ACCREDITED EDUCATIONAL OR TRAINING INSTITUTION AND HAVE A GPA OF 3.5 OR BETTER. 10 SCHOLARSHIPS ARE AWARDED BY AN INDEPENDENT SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE AND ARE BASED ON A SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION PROCESS.
PART II:ALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS, AND/OR DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA, AND ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ANTHONY S LAWS
CEO$401,131$0$0$0$3,520$0$116,892$0$38,191$0$559,734$0$0$0
DENZIL MCGILL
CIO$186,212$0$0$0$2,800$0$71,331$0$34,049$0$294,392$0$0$0
ANGELA K UNRUH
CFO$199,852$0$0$0$5,481$0$50,438$0$35,610$0$291,381$0$0$0
RYAN MILLER
VP OF OPERATIONS$155,905$0$0$0$4,866$0$93,522$0$35,748$0$290,041$0$0$0
TED MCATEE
JOURNEYMAN LINEMAN$148,158$0$0$0$1,310$0$55,200$0$34,929$0$239,597$0$0$0
AMY GRASSER
VP OF CORPORATE SERVICES/HR$150,643$0$0$0$3,547$0$33,034$0$34,338$0$221,562$0$0$0
ROB HENRY
VP OF ENGINEERING$144,622$0$0$0$3,740$0$38,947$0$33,260$0$220,569$0$0$0
PATRICK DEAVER
JOURNEYMAN LINEMAN$130,752$0$0$0$1,747$0$61,644$0$22,198$0$216,341$0$0$0
JESUS RUIZ
JOURNEYMAN LINEMAN$142,322$0$0$0$695$0$21,919$0$35,902$0$200,838$0$0$0
ROSS ACKERMAN
JOURNEYMAN LINEMAN$131,428$0$0$0$621$0$23,405$0$38,708$0$194,162$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II, COLUMN C:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE, AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. ANTHONY S. LAWS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 92,742 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 24,150 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 116,892 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (92,742) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 100,223 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 124,373 DENZIL MCGILL: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 58,182 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 13,149 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 71,331 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (58,182) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 53,761 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 66,910 ANGELA UNRUH: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 36,231 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 14,207 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 50,438 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (36,231) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 58,155 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 72,362 RYAN MILLER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 82,528 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 10,997 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 93,522 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (82,528) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 45,002 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 55,996 TED MCATEE: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 48,497 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 6,703 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 55,200 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (48,497) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 24,195 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 30,898 AMY GRASSER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 22,305 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 10,729 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 33,034 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (22,305) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 41,151 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 51,880 ROB HENRY: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 29,298 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 9,649 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 38,947 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (29,298) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 41,499 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 51,148 PATRICK DEAVER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 54,270 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 7,374 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 61,644 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (54,270) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 26,616 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 33,990 JESUS RUIZ: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 14,826 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 7,093 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 21,919 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (14,826) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 24,195 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 31,288 ROSS ACKERMAN: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 16,031 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 7,374 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 23,405 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (16,031) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 26,616 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 33,990ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonEVANN DREWESPersonNm
Relationship With OrgFAMILY RELATIONSHIP - EMPLOYEE OFFICER (C. DREWES)RelationshipWithOrgTxt
Cash Grant$1,000CashGrantAmt
Type Of AssistanceSCHOLARSHIPTypeOfAssistanceTxt
Assistance PurposeSECONDARY EDUCATIONAssistancePurposeTxt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, PART IV, LINE 27:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSECONDARY EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIPS ARE AWARDED ANNUALLY TO ASSIST QUALIFIED INDIVIDUALS IN FURTHERING THEIR EDUCATION. TO BE ELIGIBLE A CANDIDATE OR CANDIDATE'S PARENTS OR LEGAL GUARDIAN MUST BE AN ACTIVE MEMBER OF THE VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION. APPLICANT MUST ENROLL OR BE ENROLLED AT AN ACCREDITED EDUCATIONAL OR TRAINING INSTITUTION AND HAVE GPA OF 3.5 OR BETTER. SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS ARE DECIDED BY AN INDEPENDENT SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE AND CHOSEN THROUGH A SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION PROCESS. DURING THE YEAR, EMPLOYEE OFFICER CEDRIC DREWES DAUGHTER, EVANN DREWES, WENT THROUGH THE APPLICATION PROCESS AND WAS SELECTED BY THE SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1ATHE COOPERATIVE HAS 11 BOARD MEMBERS; ALL 11 ARE ALLOWED TO VOTE, HOWEVER, THE BOARD PRESIDENT VOTES ONLY IN THE CASE OF A TIE SHOULD ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD NOT BE PRESENT AT ANY GIVEN MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2A BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP EXISTS BETWEEN KENNY WEHKAMP (TRUSTEE) AND SHANE LAWS (CEO). BOTH INDIVIDUALS SERVE ON THE BOARD OF SUNFLOWER ELECTRIC POWER CORPORATION AT THE REQUEST OF AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COOPERATIVE. ANGELA UNRUH (CFO) AND CEDRIC DREWES (TRUSTEE) SERVE AS ALTERNATES FOR THESE POSITIONS ON SUNFLOWER'S BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENT TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION 5. AMENDMENT TO THE BYLAWS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW AND BE FAMILIAR WITH THE POLICIES OUTLINED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY ACTION OR SITUATION THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE POLICY TO THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS REVIEWED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES USE THE EXPERTISE OF AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT AND A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO. THE BOARD AND THE CEO USE THE EXPERTISE OF AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT AND A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY OF ANY SUCH DOCUMENT. ANNUALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES A COPY OF THE BALANCE SHEET AND INCOME STATEMENT TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH THE ANNUAL REPORT. THE ANNUAL REPORT AND BYLAWS CAN BE FOUND ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS, KEY EMPLOYEES AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICERS, KEY EMPLOYEES, AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN, AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST TO COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:THE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED FOR RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE USOA DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1-23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1-23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE USOA.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL SALARIES, BENEFITS, & OTHER $ 3,055,144 TRAINING 100,873 OFFICE SUPPLIES 337,611 OUTSIDE SERVICES 166,971 INSURANCE 119,973 EMPLOYEE ACTIVITIES 22,980 TRUSTEES 371,271 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 519,288 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 214,240 REGULATORY COMMISSION 1,324 MEMBER MEETING 97,045 ADVERTISING 17,052 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 5,023,772 LESS: RECLASS OF SCHOLARSHIPS TO PART IX, LINE 2 (10,000) LESS: RECLASS OF TRUSTEE FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (312,851) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (1,947,414) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (1,053,264) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 1,700,243
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 5,547,851 LESS: TRUSTEE FEES REPORTED ON FORMS 1099-NEC (312,851) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (543,153) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 3,037,775 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 353,777 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 8,083,399
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE. ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2024 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E:OTHER EXPENSES IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS $ 472,982 CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INFORMATION 215,883 GENERATOR EXPENSE 10,567 SALES EXPENSE 78,709 OTHER DEDUCTIONS 217 TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 778,358
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED 6,029,940. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - TOTAL -1,321,254. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - DISCOUNT 185,077.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR REVIEWING, OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR.