STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

GRAND ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
GRAND ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 46-0221377)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-10-05
IRS object ID
201512789349300621
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-10-05T09:51:26-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 EAST 10TH ST PO BOX 5125AddressLine1Txt
CitySIOUX FALLSCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP571175125ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN460221377EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GRAND ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlGRANBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6052445211PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 39AddressLine1Txt
CityBISONCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57620ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonREED METZGERPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone6052445211PhoneNum
Signature2015-09-21SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLAURIE HANSONPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00851848PTIN
Phone6053391999PhoneNum
Preparation2015-09-21PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerREED METZGERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 39AddressLine1Txt
CityBISONCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57620ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$18,512,484GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.GRANDELECTRIC.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1950FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDING ELECTRICITY TO PEOPLE IN RURAL AREAS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee53TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$17,799,699PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$17,707,385CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$323,311PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$329,564CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$41,075PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$36,631CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$18,164,085PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$18,073,580CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$13,020PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$10,475CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,482,235PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$844,021CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,132,511PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,005,137CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$12,165,477PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$12,857,271CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$17,793,243PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$17,716,904CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$370,842PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$356,676CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$66,557,295TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$92,794,732TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$50,391,250TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$75,845,890TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$16,166,045NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$16,948,842NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionOUR MISSION IS TO MAKE ELECTRIC ENERGY AVAILABLE TO ALL OUR MEMBERS AT THE LOWEST COST CONSISTENT WITH SOUND ECONOMY AND GOOD MANAGEMENT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDED ELECTRIC SERVICE TO APPROXIMATELY 1,864 MEMBERS AND RETIRED 3.13 MILES OF LINES.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document77IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee53EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$18,011,925MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$346,144OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COLGAN HUBERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6052445211PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 39AddressLine1Txt
CityBISONCityNm
State AbbreviationSDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP57620ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
JOHN J LONG
PRESIDENT5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$9,482$0$0
ROSS KOPREN
VICE PRESIDENT5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$10,882$0$0
SHARON LONGWOOD
SECRETARY5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$8,432$0$0
RAYFORD ANDERSON
TREASURER5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,015$0$0
LORI BESLER
DIRECTOR5.00Yes (X)$5,982$0$0
BRAD BESLER
DIRECTOR (UNTIL NOVEMBER, 2014)5.00Yes (X)$3,877$0$0
REID PALMER
DIRECTOR5.00Yes (X)$4,932$0$0
MAXINE RASMUSSEN
DIRECTOR5.00Yes (X)$5,982$0$0
GENE STENSLAND
DIRECTOR5.00Yes (X)$7,010$0$0
ERIC ARNESON
DIRECTOR (BEGAN DECEMBER, 2014)5.00Yes (X)$350$0$0
JERRY REISENAUER
GENERAL MANAGER (RETIRED MAY, 2014)20.00Yes (X)$37,051$0$3,966
REED METZGER
GENERAL MANAGER20.00Yes (X)$83,021$0$9,566
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$184,016TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$13,532TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
KELLER CONSTRUCTION
2902 YALE COURTRAPID CITYSD57702CONTRACTOR$778,397
ELECTRICAL CONSULTANTS INC
3521 GABEL ROADBILLINGSMT59102ENGINEERS$609,190
GOVERT POWERLINE SERVICES INC
14476 MARTY ROADNEWELLSD57760CONTRACTOR$483,691
BOLDT POWER INC
PO BOX 57ISABELSD57633CONTRACTOR$254,176
C&C CONSTRUCTION
PO BOX 264FAITHSD57626CONTRACTOR$185,959
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K8CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALE OF ELECTRICITY221000$16,897,308$16,897,308
COOP CAPITAL CREDITS221000$583,272$583,272
OTHER OPERATING221000$226,695$226,695
OTHER NON-OPERATING900099$110$110
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$17,707,385TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$324,560TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$324,560ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$5,004OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$5,004OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,004TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$5,004ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$475,535GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$438,904CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$36,631TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$36,631RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$18,073,580TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$17,744,016RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$329,564ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,475TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$844,021TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$212,095TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,032,135TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$522,804TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$238,103TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,356,760TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,759,544TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$10,619,071
ADMIN & GENERAL$1,325,328
DISTRIBUTION-MAINTENANC$487,054
DISTRIBUTION-OPERATIONS$327,975

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$3,018,461TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,716,904TotalAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,870,333BOYAmt
EOY$33,624,162EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,300,000BOYAmt
EOY$2,346,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,821,955BOYAmt
EOY$2,121,735EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,970BOYAmt
EOY$55,448EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$826,070BOYAmt
EOY$1,215,248EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,459,345BOYAmt
EOY$1,283,605EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$64,533,736LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$20,489,341LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,550,833BOYAmt
EOY$44,044,395EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,706BOYAmt
EOY$23,748EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,979,409BOYAmt
EOY$7,430,391EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$657,674BOYAmt
EOY$650,000EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$66,557,295BOYAmt
EOY$92,794,732EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,499,682BOYAmt
EOY$1,772,531EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,161BOYAmt
EOY$3,191EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,861,467BOYAmt
EOY$29,034,083EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$505,124BOYAmt
EOY$8,000,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,520,816BOYAmt
EOY$37,036,085EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,391,250BOYAmt
EOY$75,845,890EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,166,045BOYAmt
EOY$16,948,842EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,166,045BOYAmt
EOY$16,948,842EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$66,557,295BOYAmt
EOY$92,794,732EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$356,676ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$426,121OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$101,712OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$101,712BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,966,221OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$640,782DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,325,439BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$49,536,383OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,848,559DepreciationAmt
Book Value$29,687,824BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,929,420OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$12,929,420BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$44,044,395TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
BASIN ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE$6,405,582C
OTHER PATRONAGE CAPITAL CREDITS$498,023C
MEMBERSHIPS$7,550C
NATIONAL RURAL UTILITIES COOPERATIVE FINANCE CORPORATION$519,236C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$7,430,391TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED CREDITS$19,915,567
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$15,518
ADVANCE FOR CONSTRUCTION$17,105,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$37,036,085TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$18,063,950TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$18,063,950RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$9,630OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$9,630RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$18,073,580TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$16,863,253TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$16,863,253ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$853,651OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$853,651ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$17,716,904TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:THE ROUND UP PROGRAM IS A VOLUNTARY PROGRAM THAT ALLOWS CUSTOMERS TO "ROUND UP" THEIR ELECTRIC BILL TO THE NEAREST DOLLAR. THE ROUNDED UP AMOUNT IS TRANSFERED INTO AN ACCOUNT THAT IS ADMINISTERED BY GRAND ELECTRIC, AT NO COST. COMMITTEE MEMBERS MEET WITH GRAND ELECTRIC REPRESENTATIVES TO DECIDE WHO THE FUNDS ARE DISTRIBUTED TO. THE FUNDS WILL BE AVAILABLE TO HELP ANY CHARITABLE PROJECTS FOR ORGANIZATIONS, GROUPS, FAMILIES, OR INDIVIDUALS WITHIN THE SERVICE TERRITORY OF GRAND ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC. NO FUNDS SHALL IN ANY WAY BE USED TO SUPPORT ANY CANDIDATE FOR POLITICAL OFFICE OR FOR ANY POLITICAL PURPOSE.
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(12) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND IS ANNUALLY REQUIRED TO FILE A RETURN OF ORGANIZATION EXEMPT INCOME FROM INCOME TAX (FORM 990) WITH THE IRS. THE COOPERATIVE BELIEVES IT HAS APPROPRIATE SUPPORT FOR ANY TAX POSITIONS TAKEN AFFECTING ITS ANNUAL FILING REQUIREMENTS, AND AS SUCH, DOES NOT HAVE ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT ARE MATERIAL TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COOPERATIVE WOULD RECOGNIZE FUTURE ACCURED INTEREST AND PENALTIES RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXEPENSE IF SUCH INTEREST AND PENALTIES ARE INCURRED. GENERALLY, THE COOPERATIVE IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO FEDERAL TAX EXAMINATIONS BY TAX AUTHORITIES FOR YEARS BEFORE 2011.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECLASS EXPENSE NETTED TO REVENUE FOR AUDIT 9,630.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ALLOCATIONS OF 2014 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2015 844,021. RECLASS EXPENSE NETTED TO REVENUE FOR AUDIT 9,630.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (13 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION HAS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AEACH MEMBER HAS ONE VOTE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BANY CHANGES TO THE BYLAWS REQUIRE A MAJORITY APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL MEETING OR AT A SPECIAL MEETING CALLED BY RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. EITHER MEETING REQUIRES A QUORUM AS DEFINED BY ARTICLE III, SECTION 4 IN THE BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHERE ARE NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE GENERAL MANAGER AND FINANCE OFFICER REVIEW THE 990 IN DETAIL. AFTER THEIR REVIEW, THE 990 IS PROVIDED TO EACH BOARD MEMBER. THE GENERAL MANAGER AND/OR FINANCE OFFICER PRESENT THE 990 TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT THE MEETING HELD PRIOR TO ITS FILING IF SO REQUESTED BY ANY BOARD MEMBER. WHETHER PRESENTED IN A BOARD MEETING OR NOT, THE 990 IS NOT FILED UNTIL EACH BOARD MEMBER HAS BEEN GIVEN A COPY OF IT AND GIVEN AMPLE TIME TO REVIEW IT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CARTICLE IV SECTION 3B, OF THE BYLAWS, IS FOLLOWED DURING THE NOMINATING OF OUR DIRECTORS. THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE IS AWARE OF THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY WHEN ELECTING NEW DIRECTORS. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY APPLIES TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE BOARD DETERMINES WHETHER A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS. IF A CONFLICT EXISTS, THE PERSON INVOLVED WOULD BE REQUIRED TO ABSTAIN FROM DISCUSSION AND VOTING ON THE MATTER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEW COMPENSATION SURVEYS FOR OTHER MANAGERS IN OUR REGION AND NEIGHBORING STATES ALONG WITH REVIEWING YEARLY PERFORMANCE. THE PROCESS WAS LAST UNDERTAKEN IN 2014.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19BYLAWS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE INCLUDED IN THE ANNUAL REPORT AND MADE AVAILABLE TO MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL MEETING.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS -417,900. ALLOCATIONS OF 2014 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2015 844,021.
FORM 990 PART VIIJERRY REISENAUER'S COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS, AS REPORTED IN PART VII AND SCHEDULE J OF THE 990, IS HALF OF HIS TOTAL COMPENSATION. GRAND ELECTRIC AND WEST RIVER COOPERATIVE TELEPHONE COMPANY, AN UNRELATED ENTITY, HAVE A MANAGEMENT AGREEMENT FOR JERRY'S SERVICES. THE AMOUNT REIMBURSED IS EQUAL TO 50% OF HIS SALARY AND BENEFITS. JERRY'S TIME IS SPLIT 50/50 BETWEEN THE TWO ENTITIES. REED METZGER'S COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS, AS REPORTED IN PART VII OF THE 990, IS HALF OF HIS TOTAL COMPENSATION. GRAND ELECTRIC AND WEST RIVER COOPERATIVE TELEPHONE COMPANY, AN UNRELATED ENTITY, HAVE A MANAGEMENT AGREEMENT FOR REED'S SERVICES. THE AMOUNT REIMBURSED IS EQUAL TO 50% OF HIS SALARY AND BENEFITS. REED'S TIME IS SPLIT 50/50 BETWEEN THE TWO ENTITIES.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E STATEMENT OF FUNCTIONAL EXPENSES:THE LABOR, PENSION AND PAYROLL TAXES REPORTED ON LINES 6-10 ARE INCLUDED IN DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE, ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE AND CUSTOMER EXPENSE. THEREFORE, LABOR, PENSION AND PAYROLL TAXES ARE SHOWN AS A REDUCTION TO OTHER EXPENSES ON LINE 24E.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F, OTHER COMPENSATION:INCLUDED IN OTHER COMPENSATION FOR GENERAL MANAGER REED METZGER IS THE ESTIMATED CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. THE CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE DOES NOT REPRESENT CURRENT YEAR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN. RATHER, IT IS AN ESTIMATE OF THE INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE PLAN AS CALCULATED BY THE PLAN ADMINISTRATOR.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4, BENEFITS PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS:THE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED THE INSTRUCTIONS TO PART IX, LINE 4, TO MEAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED FOR THE YEAR, RATHER THAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED. THIS IS CONSISTENT WITH THE BY-LAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE.