STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION (EIN 58-6033837)
Tax period
2014-07-01 to 2015-06-30
Filed
2015-11-16
IRS object ID
201513209349304436
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-11-16T11:15:00-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 North Greene Street Suite 400AddressLine1Txt
CityGreensboroCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27401ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN586033837EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% CYNTHIA COYLEInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7065426677PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1394 SOUTH MILLEDGE AVE STE 100AddressLine1Txt
CityATHENSCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30602ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCYNTHIA COYLEPersonNm
Person TitleExecutive Director & CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7065426677PhoneNum
Signature2015-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonALLISON H FRANKLINPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00448640PTIN
Phone3362753394PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCYNTHIA COYLEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1394 MILLEDGE AVENUE SUITE 100AddressLine1Txt
CityATHENSCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30602ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$325,711,930GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.UGAFOUNDATION.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO SUPPORT THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIAActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body47VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent44VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers53TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$1,837,617TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$61,801,918PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$73,213,395CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$783,995PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,052,393CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$41,386,057PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$46,988,784CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$6,069,633PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$5,267,053CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$110,041,603PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$126,521,625CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$35,873,114PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$53,342,862CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$19,577PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,496,608CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$14,724,529PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$16,000,301CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$50,617,220PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$69,343,163CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$59,424,383PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$57,178,462CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$1,016,279,551TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,046,965,721TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$73,047,972TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$86,220,681TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$943,231,579NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$960,745,040NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO SUPPORT THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIAMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$65,161,252ExpenseAmt
Grant$53,342,862GrantAmt
Revenue$3,128,143RevenueAmt
DescThe University of Georgia Foundation ("The Foundation") was chartered in 1937 to establish and maintain endowments for the support of the academic programs of the University of Georgia. The Foundation manages funds established with the Foundation in accordance with the instructions of the donor and provides financial support upon request to the University of Georgia for scholarships, faculty salary supplement, awards and lectureships and operating programs involving fundraising and constituent relations.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$65,161,252TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsYes (true)ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (true)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document351IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryCSForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members47GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member44IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCYNTHIA COYLEPersonNm
Phone7065426677PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1394 MILLEDGE AVENUE SUITE 100AddressLine1Txt
CityATHENSCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30602ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (48 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
John P Spalding
Chair8.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kenneth G Jackson
Vice-Chair5.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Andrew Head
Secretary2.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Douglas
Treasurer4.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel P Amos
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathryn L Ash
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID BATTLE
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gary Bridgeman
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Terry S Brown
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Victor Corrigan
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD COURTS
TRUSTEE1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
John H Crawford IV
Trustee4.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Darren W DeVore
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael H Godwin
Trustee0.50.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Henry D Gregory Jr
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
C William Griffin
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Samuel D Holmes
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gail J Hunnicutt
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sarah C Irby
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephen Joiner
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steve C Jones
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Timothy Keadle
Ex-officio Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jefferson B A Knox
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
John O Knox Jr
Trustee2.50.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Emily D Lawson
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Russell C Lindner
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Keith W Mason
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
James McCurry
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jere W Morehead
Ex-officio Trustee3.040.0Yes (X)$0$463,842$139,972
C Read Morton Jr
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
John S Neel Jr
Trustee0.50.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas H Paris III
Trustee3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Neal J Quirk
Trustee5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
William N Searcy
Trustee1.50.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stanley W Shelton
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephen W Smith
Trustee0.50.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert H Stolz
Trustee3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Barry Storey
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary Lou C Swift
Trustee2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Brenda A Thompson
Trustee1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan C Waltman
Trustee3.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles S Williams Jr
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Young
Trustee5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KELLY KERNER
EX-OFFICIO TRUSTEE3.040.0Yes (X)$0$181,087$26,126
JOHN MANGAN
TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUSAN SHERMAN
TRUSTEE0.50.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID SHIPLEY
EX-OFFICIO TRUSTEE0.540.0Yes (X)$0$277,271$43,436
CYNTHIA COYLE
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR & CFO40.00.0Yes (X)$0$225,357$37,390
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$1,147,557TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$246,924TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
MCN BUILD LLC WIRE
1214 28TH STREET NWWASHINGTONDC20007CONTRACTING SERVICES$3,851,123
COOPER CARRY
191 PEACHTREE STREET NEATLANTAGA30303ARCHITECTURAL SVCS$510,620
PRIME BUCHHOLZ ASSOCIATES INC
PO BOX 16011LEWISTONME04243INVESTING SERVICES$456,414
BLACKBAUD
PO BOX 930256ATLANTAGA31193SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT$320,981
TRUMPS CATERING
2026 S MILLEDGE AVE STE BATHENSGA30605CATERING SERVICES$276,848
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K16CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$882,687FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$5,969,793RelatedOrganizationsAmt
All Other Contributions$66,360,915AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$10,700,305NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$73,213,395TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RENTS FROM STUDY ABROAD531110$800,550$800,550
INVESTMENT FEE FROM RELATED ORGANIZATIONS525990$251,843$251,843
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,052,393TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,187,079TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$1,837,617UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$7,349,462ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,224,701TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,224,701ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$58,005RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$33,464RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$24,541RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$24,541TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$24,541ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$235,654,328SecuritiesAmt
Other$786,139OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$197,707,195SecuritiesAmt
Other$931,567OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$37,947,133SecuritiesAmt
Other-$145,428OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$37,801,705TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$37,801,705ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$510,140FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$882,687ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$518,079FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$7,939TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$7,939ExclusionAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
EVENT REGISTRATIONS900099$560,203$560,203
LICENSE PLATE REVENUE900099$583,460$583,460
OTHER900099$882,087$882,087
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$2,025,750OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$126,521,625TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$3,078,143RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$1,837,617UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$48,392,470ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,341,194TotalAmt
Program Services$53,341,194ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,668TotalAmt
Program Services$1,668ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$135,835TotalAmt
Program Services$38,227ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$97,608ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$243,574TotalAmt
Program Services$25,555ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$218,019ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$689,503TotalAmt
Management And General$689,503ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$584,020TotalAmt
Program Services$442,195ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,267ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$78,558FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$777,369TotalAmt
Program Services$692,011ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,697ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$54,661FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,071,691TotalAmt
Program Services$785,341ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$91,955ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$194,395FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$210,595TotalAmt
Fundraising$210,595FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,168,756TotalAmt
Program Services$1,037,557ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,972ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$90,227FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,237,128TotalAmt
Program Services$1,145,883ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$58,440ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,805FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,202,621TotalAmt
Program Services$4,503,681ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$283,182ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$415,758FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,025,287TotalAmt
Program Services$424,361ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$600,926FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$173,295TotalAmt
Program Services$125,866ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,429ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
TRANSFERS & DISTRIBUTIONS$1,527,665$1,527,665
PROFESSIONAL DUES/MEMBERSHIPS$269,264$198,100$28,464$42,700
MONETARY AWARDS$216,232$216,232
OTHER EXPENSES$1,467,466$655,716$35,767$775,983

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$69,343,163TotalAmt
Program Services$65,161,252ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,685,303ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,496,608FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,912,474BOYAmt
EOY$12,169,854EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,238,688BOYAmt
EOY$84,390,074EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,696,357BOYAmt
EOY$53,324,694EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,330,725BOYAmt
EOY$2,046,527EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$638,101BOYAmt
EOY$179,349EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$238,110BOYAmt
EOY$211,206EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$45,031,125LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$4,521,131LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,003,493BOYAmt
EOY$40,509,994EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$366,147,316BOYAmt
EOY$400,707,504EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$472,517,288BOYAmt
EOY$448,817,586EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,556,999BOYAmt
EOY$4,608,933EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,016,279,551BOYAmt
EOY$1,046,965,721EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,388,190BOYAmt
EOY$7,979,160EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,589,967BOYAmt
EOY$17,730,814EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$63,069,815BOYAmt
EOY$60,510,707EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,047,972BOYAmt
EOY$86,220,681EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,032,619BOYAmt
EOY$102,055,010EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$430,372,477BOYAmt
EOY$410,425,377EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$421,826,483BOYAmt
EOY$448,264,653EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$943,231,579BOYAmt
EOY$960,745,040EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,016,279,551BOYAmt
EOY$1,046,965,721EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$57,178,462ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$38,524,414NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$1,140,587OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
College OrganizationYes (X)CollegeOrganizationInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$15,382,754CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$36,456,143CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$60,835,966CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$61,801,918CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$73,213,395CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$247,690,176TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$15,382,754CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$36,456,143CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$60,835,966CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$61,801,918CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$73,213,395CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$247,690,176TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$3,798,643SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$243,891,533PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,336,855CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$6,465,284CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$8,902,295CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,092,298CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$9,187,079CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$38,983,811TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$8,287,933CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$6,379,722CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,042,031CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,937,619CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,025,750CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$25,673,055TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$312,347,042TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.78083PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.72894PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Protection Natural HabitatYes (X)ProtectionNaturalHabitatInd
Total Easements1TotalEasementsCnt
Total Acreage111.58TotalAcreageCnt
Historic Structure Easements1HistoricStructureEasementsCnt
States Easements Held1StatesEasementsHeldCnt
Written Policy MonitoringfalseWrittenPolicyMonitoringInd

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$2,317,808AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Solicited Assets SalefalseSolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$789,347,115BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$39,206,433ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,371,694InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$29,157,638OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$806,767,604EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$668,945,744BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$35,115,851ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$110,322,009InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$25,036,489OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$789,347,115EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$586,470,032BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$24,633,626ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$77,031,040InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$19,188,954OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$668,945,744EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$598,438,386BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$15,964,667ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$9,076,686InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$18,856,335OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$586,470,032EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$450,987,974BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,371,493ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$90,571,298InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$12,736,828OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$539,193,937EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.09931BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.52123PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.37945TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,200,359OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$21,200,359BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,898,986OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,593,983DepreciationAmt
Book Value$16,305,003BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,931,780OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,927,148DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,004,632BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Land BuildingsOtherLandBuildingsGrp
Total Book Value Land Buildings$40,509,994TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp

Closely Held Equity Interests CloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$2,464,238BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CASH & SHORT-TERM INVESTMENTS$1,962,288F
MARKETABLE ALTERNATIVES$296,675,400F
NON-MARKETABLE ALTERNATIVES$86,385,595F
SPLIT INTEREST INVESTMENTS$21,651,647F
COMMINGLED FIXED INCOME$35,195,906F
BENEFICIAL INT IN PERP TRUST$4,482,512F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$448,817,586TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
FUNDS HELD FOR OTHERS$47,271,921
OBLIGATIONS RELATED TO DEFERRED GIFTS$10,307,646
DERIVATIVE FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS$2,476,363
OTHER DEFERRED REVENUE$454,777
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$60,510,707TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$88,286,909TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$38,524,414NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$867,132OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$37,657,282RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$125,944,191RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$577,434InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$577,434RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$126,521,625TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$70,773,448TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$2,007,719OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$2,007,719ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$68,765,729ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$577,434InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$577,434ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$69,343,163TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART II, LINE 9The Foundation holds one conservation easement. The perpetual conservation easement consists of 111.584 acres located in Madison County, Georgia. The purposes of the conservation easement are to preserve and protect the conservation values of the property and to maintain permanently the dominant woodland, scenic, open and natural character of the property, including land and water resources; to protect plants and animals and plant and animal communities on or affected by the property's management; and to prevent any use of the property that will significantly impair or interfere with the conservation values or interests of the property.
PART III, LINE 4ORGANIZATION'S ART COLLECTIONS Works of Art recorded on the UGA Foundation's balance sheet are maintained by the University of Georgia's, Georgia Museum of Art, the official collector and keeper of important works of art for the University, to care and use the work for museum purposes. The museum maintains and manages a permanent collection of art. Works not meeting Museum standards may still be determined of value to the University for decorative, instructional or resale purposes. All works of Art are held for further benefit of the University.
PART V, LINE 4The Endowments are maintained to support the academic purposes of the University of Georgia, including scholarships, fellowships, awards, lectureships, research, training and professorships.
PART X, LINE 2FIN 48 (ASC 740) DISCLOSURE The Foundation is exempt from federal income taxes under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 501(a) as a nonprofit organization described in IRC Section 501(c)(3). The Internal Revenue Service has determined that the Foundation is not a private foundation under Section 509(a) of the IRC. The Foundation is subject to federal income tax on unrelated business income. The Foundation does not have any material unrecognized tax positions that should be recognized in the consolidated financial statements for 2015 and 2014.
PART XI, LINE 2DCHANGE IN VALUE OF ANNUITIES (399,177) CHANGE IN CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF LIFE INSURANCE 88,309 CHANGE IN FAIR VALUE OF DERIVATIVES (634,005) CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN PERPETUAL TRUST (185,326) FUNDRAISING EXPENSES RECLASS 518,079 RENTAL EXPENSE RECLASS 33,464 INCOME FROM SUBSIDIARY 1,445,788 TOTAL 867,132
PART XII, LINE 2DEXPENSE FROM SUBSIDIARY 1,456,176 FUNDRAISING EXPENSE RECLASS 518,079 RENTAL EXPENSE RECLASS 33,464 TOTAL 2,007,719

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the CaribbeanRegionTxt
Offices1OfficesCnt
Employee36EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedProgram ServicesTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Specific Services ProvidedSUPPORT ACADEMIC PRGMSSpecificServicesProvidedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$1,456,176RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices1SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees36SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office1TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee36TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$1,456,176SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$1,456,176TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (true)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (true)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (true)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (true)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMONITORING THE USE OF GRANT FUNDS THE GRANT MADE BY THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION WAS MADE TO UGA ECOLODGE AND RESEARCH STATION, S.A., A WHOLLY OWNED FOREIGN CORPORATION. THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION EXPECTS THE FUNDS TO BE USED FOR THE UNIVERSITY'S STUDY ABROAD PROGRAM, AND AS SUCH, SUBSEQUENTLY MONITORS THE GRANT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyfalseAgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1GALAEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$527,157GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$262,353CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$264,804GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$238,023OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2BALLEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$295,814GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$221,414CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$74,400GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$113,140OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Other Events Total14OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Other Events$569,856GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt
Charitable Contri Other Events$398,920CharitableContriOtherEventsAmt
Gross Revenue Other Events$170,936GrossRevenueOtherEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Other Events$4,247RentFcltyCostsOtherEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Other Events$162,669OthDirectExpnssOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$1,392,827GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$882,687CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$510,140GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$4,247RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$513,832OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$518,079DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$7,939NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedfalseGrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (5 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDescPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
BROAD STREETATHENSGA30602586001998GOV'T$31,826,192N/AN/ASCHOLARSHIPS & OTHER SUPPORT
NATIONAL MERIT SCHOLARSHIP
PO BOX 99389CHICAGOIL60693362307745501(C)(3)$91,000N/AN/ASCHOLARSHIPS
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
1 SELIG CIRCLE BUTTS MEHRE BUILDINATHENSGA30602580652581501(C)(3)$3,531,152N/AN/ASCHOLARSHIPS & CONSTRUCTION
UGA REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION
1280 SOUTH LUMPKIN STREETATHENSGA30602582491922501(C)(3)$17,885,630N/AN/ACONSTRUCTION PROJECTS
Georgia 4-H Foundation
Hoke Smith AnnexATHENSGA30602580832988501(C)(3)$7,220N/AN/AGENERAL SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org5Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, QUESTION 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMONITORING THE USE OF GRANT FUNDS The grants made by the University of Georgia Foundation were made to the University of Georgia, related organizations and public charities for use in their exempt mission. Accordingly, the University of Georgia Foundation expects the recipients to use the funds for proper purposes, and as such, does not subsequently monitor the grants.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Jere W Morehead
Ex-officio Trustee$0$440,842$0$0$0$23,000$0$131,528$0$8,444$0$603,814$0$0
KELLY KERNER
EX-OFFICIO TRUSTEE$0$176,757$0$0$0$4,330$0$16,326$0$9,800$0$207,213$0$0
DAVID SHIPLEY
EX-OFFICIO TRUSTEE$0$276,776$0$0$0$495$0$24,024$0$19,412$0$320,707$0$0
CYNTHIA COYLE
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR & CFO$0$225,189$0$0$0$168$0$29,201$0$8,189$0$262,747$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 1AHEALTH OR SOCIAL CLUB DUES THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION PROVIDES CERTAIN EXECUTIVES WITH TAXABLE COMPENSATION TO REIMBURSE THE EXPENSE OF MEMBERSHIP DUES AND APPROPRIATE INITIATION FEES FOR A SOCIAL OR COUNTRY CLUB USED FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION BUSINESS ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES.
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4BSUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN JERE MOREHEAD RECEIVED $100,000 FROM A SUPPLEMENTAL NON QUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN, PAID BY THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA, A RELATED ORGANIZATION.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp
Books And PublicationsBooksAndPublicationsGrp
Clothing And Household GoodsClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp
Cars And Other VehiclesCarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution181ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$9,145,305NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp

Real Estate Other RealEstateOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution3ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$565,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAPPRAISALMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescHORSESDesc
Contribution9ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$990,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAPPRAISALMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE M, LINE 31The organization has a gift acceptance committee and policy. The committee reviews any non-standard contribution that the organization accepts.
SCHEDULE M, LINE 32BThe University of Georgia Foundation utilizes Merrill Lynch as a broker to sell publicly traded securities.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11A copy of the finalized Form 990 was submitted to each member of the governing body via secure email for their review before filing.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12COfficers, Directors and Trustees must fill out an annual disclosure of interests which is reviewed by the University of Georgia Foundation Audit Committee.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15The University of Georgia Foundation does not have any employees. There is an administrative services agreement between the University of Georgia and The University of Georgia Foundation. Individuals who provide services to the Foundation are employees of the University of Georgia. The University of Georgia reviews performance and establishes compensation that follows University policies.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19Organization documents are available on the website and upon request.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9CHANGE IN VALUE OF ANNUITIES (399,177) CHANGE IN CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF LIFE INSURANCE 88,309 CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN PERPETUAL TRUST (185,326) CHANGE IN FMV OF DERIVATIVE FINANCIAL INSTRUMENT (634,005) NET INCOME OF SUBSIDIARY (10,388) TOTAL (1,140,587)

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (6 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt
THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
BROAD STREETATHENSGA30602586001998PUBLIC UNIVERGANAfalse
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
1 SELIG CIRCLEATHENSGA30602580652518SUPPORT UGAGAUGAfalse501(C)(3)5
UGA RESEARCH FOUNDATION
200 DW BROOKS DRIVEATHENSGA30602581353149SUPPORT UGAGANAfalse501(C)(3)7
UGA REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION
229 COLLEGE AVE SUITE 200ATHENSGA30601582491922SUPPORT UGAGAUGA RESEARCHfalse501(C)(3)11e
THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF GEORGIA FDN
270 WASHINGTON STREETATLANTAGA30334586333106SUPPORTGANAfalse501(C)(3)5
Georgia 4-H Foundation
Hoke Smith AnnexATHENSGA30602580832988SUPPORT UGAGAUGAfalse501(C)(3)5

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UGA ECOLODGE AND RESEARCH STATION SABusinessNameLine1Txt

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1SANTA ELENA DE MONTEVERDEAddressLine1Txt
CityPUNTARENASCityNm
Province Or StateCOSTA RICAProvinceOrStateNm
CountryCSCountryCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesSEE PART VIIPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile Foreign CountryCSLegalDomicileForeignCountryCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UGA FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeC CORPEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income-$10,389ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$2,792,771ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (11 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
B$31,826,192CASH
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
B$3,531,152CASH
UGA REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION
B$17,885,630CASH
GEORGIA 4-H FOUNDATION
B$7,220CASH
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
J$800,550RENT REVENUE
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
C$5,219,793CASH
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
R$1,962,519CASH & PROPERTY
UGA RESEARCH FOUNDATION
C$750,000CASH
UGA ECOLODGE SAN LUIS & RESEARCH STATION
B$1,668CASH
USG FOUNDATION
R$4,750CASH
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
R$1,347,762CASH

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART IV, LINE 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMANAGE COSTA RICA STUDY ABROAD PROGRAM & SUPPORT RESEARCH.ExplanationTxt