STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

HEALTHWISE INC: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HEALTHWISE INC (EIN 23-7455145)
Tax period
2013-07-01 to 2014-06-30
Filed
2015-02-09
IRS object ID
201520409349300967
Schema version
2013v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-02-09T14:22:18-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN460879716PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Coles Reinstein PLLCBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1960 Broadway Avenue Suite 415AddressLine1
CityBoiseCity
StateIDState
ZIP Code83706ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN237455145EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Healthwise IncorporatedBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHEALBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2083451161PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1989AddressLine1
CityBoiseCity
StateIDState
ZIP Code837011989ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonA James Balkins IIIPersonNm
Person TitleTreasurer, CSO, CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2083451161PhoneNum
Signature2015-02-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonS Jason Coles CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00455119PTIN
Phone2083452350PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDonald W KemperPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1989AddressLine1
CityBoiseCity
StateIDState
ZIP Code837011989ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$58,398,525GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.healthwise.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1975FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateIDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSee Schedule O.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent13VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee256TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$23,143,374CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$4,875PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,875CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$48,221PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$111,539CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$28,316,865PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$31,866,952CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$28,369,961PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$55,123,740CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$23,787,142PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,549,508CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$5,184,607PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,997,695CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$28,971,749PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$34,547,203CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$601,788PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$20,576,537CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$20,876,089TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$43,308,124TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$3,522,341TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$5,234,133TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$17,353,748NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$38,073,991NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSee Schedule O.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$28,057,879ExpenseAmt
Revenue$31,868,827RevenueAmt
DescSee Schedule O.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$28,057,879TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document81IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee256EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member13IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1A James Balkins III CFO CSO & TreasurerBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2083451161PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12601 N Bogus Basin RoadAddressLine1
CityBoiseCity
StateIDState
ZIP Code83701ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (46 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Margaret Peggy O'Kane
Chairperson of the Board2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Archie Clemins
Vice Chairman of the Board2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard A Skinner
Secretary2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donald W Kemper
CEO and Former Chairman50.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$360,054$0$133,978
John Billings
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Clarence H Braddock III
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan Edgman-Levitan
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Ted Epperly
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James Everett
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daina Middleton
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ruth Prince
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kristi Saucerman
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr John Wennberg
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James R Bell
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Steven Schneider
Director2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James V Giuffre
President & Chief Operating Officer50.00Yes (X)$269,627$0$92,769
Dr Martin Gabica
Chief Medical Officer50.00Yes (X)$248,519$0$45,387
Dr Michael Barry
Chief Science Officer32.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
A James Balkins III
CSO, CFO & Treasurer40.00Yes (X)$213,813$0$37,609
Neal Benz
Chief Technology Officer50.00Yes (X)$209,206$0$30,550
Christine Fisler
Chief Integration Officer50.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard Wexler
Chief Clinical Integration Officer50.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eileen Casal
General Counsel50.00Yes (X)$235,617$0$30,300
Molly Mettler
Senior VP24.00Yes (X)$92,679$0$16,621
Mitzi Jensen
Senior VP50.00Yes (X)$176,983$0$20,505
Leslie Kelly Hall
Senior VP50.00Yes (X)$185,445$0$29,318
Benjamin Moulton
Senior VP50.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Karen Baker
Senior VP50.00Yes (X)$197,316$0$26,224
Jason Burum
Senior VP50.00Yes (X)$198,586$0$27,324
Carol Casler
VP50.00Yes (X)$114,476$0$17,570
Phyllis Royston
VP50.00Yes (X)$129,036$0$17,045
Miriam Beecham
VP50.00Yes (X)$117,995$0$34,085
Stephen Tad Arnt
VP50.00Yes (X)$144,933$0$28,606
Kevin Harbauer
VP50.00Yes (X)$152,571$0$32,740
Christine Calhoun
VP50.00Yes (X)$118,265$0$28,364
Russell Van Horne
VP50.00Yes (X)$131,689$0$15,982
Darra Wray
VP50.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Diana Stilwell
VP50.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Lauber
Account Executive50.00$227,849$0$35,605Yes (X)
Brigid Runyon
Account Executive50.00$227,433$0$17,996Yes (X)
David Mink
Sales Manager50.00$159,072$0$30,536Yes (X)
Dr Adam Husney
Medical Director32.00$171,177$0$28,334Yes (X)
Dr Kathleen Romito
Medical Director32.00$158,173$0$19,634Yes (X)
James Watkins
Business Development Director50.00$145,499$0$17,184Yes (X)
Debbie Johnson
Account Executive50.00$145,035$0$31,555Yes (X)
Mark Parsons
Partner Development Director50.00$134,214$0$27,739Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$4,665,262TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$873,560TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K44IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Slalom Consulting
PO Box 101416PasadenaCA911891416Consulting Services$169,239
Group Avantica Inc
2680 Bayshore Pkwy Ste 416Mountain ViewCA94043Consulting Services$148,924
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd
All Other Contributions$23,143,374AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$18,796,776NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$23,143,374TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescBook training/consultiDesc
Business511130BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,875TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,875RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,875TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$122,832TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$122,832ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$925,000SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$936,293SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$11,293SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$11,293TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$11,293ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$34,178,610GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$2,338,492CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$31,840,118TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$31,840,118RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Misc. fees/rebates/ref900099$14,427$14,427
Honoraria900099$9,000$9,000
Customer finance charg900099$2,994$2,994

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$413TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$413RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$26,834OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$55,123,740TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$31,868,827RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$111,539ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,206,477TotalAmt
Program Services$3,098,753ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,107,724ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,477,290TotalAmt
Program Services$15,370,119ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,107,171ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,057,244TotalAmt
Program Services$928,109ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$129,135ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,311,250TotalAmt
Program Services$1,904,440ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$406,810ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,497,247TotalAmt
Program Services$1,257,302ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$239,945ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$439,070TotalAmt
Management And General$439,070ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,977TotalAmt
Management And General$38,977ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,874TotalAmt
Management And General$3,874ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,737,670TotalAmt
Program Services$1,545,058ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$192,612ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$130,157TotalAmt
Program Services$129,780ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$377ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$107,757TotalAmt
Program Services$38,653ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$69,104ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,427,822TotalAmt
Program Services$23ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,427,799ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$631,603TotalAmt
Program Services$625ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$630,978ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$952,610TotalAmt
Program Services$793,161ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$159,449ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$327,867TotalAmt
Program Services$323,108ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,759ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$886,167TotalAmt
Management And General$886,167ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$86,735TotalAmt
Management And General$86,735ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Publications/Subscripti$109,348$82,151$27,197
Memberships and Dues$55,413$18,638$36,775
Sales/Use Tax$33,138$33,138
Expendable Furniture an$19,861$19,861

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,626TotalAmt
Program Services$2,567,959ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General-$2,558,333ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,547,203TotalAmt
Program Services$28,057,879ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,489,324ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,706,132BOYAmt
EOY$6,449,600EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,734,681BOYAmt
EOY$9,228,452EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,006,539BOYAmt
EOY$3,389,030EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,123BOYAmt
EOY$29,037EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$620,727BOYAmt
EOY$704,074EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$16,746,206LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$6,429,492LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,710,507BOYAmt
EOY$10,316,714EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$894,679BOYAmt
EOY$12,889,920EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$145,701BOYAmt
EOY$301,297EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,876,089BOYAmt
EOY$43,308,124EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,601,919BOYAmt
EOY$4,157,599EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$920,422BOYAmt
EOY$1,076,534EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,522,341BOYAmt
EOY$5,234,133EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,353,748BOYAmt
EOY$38,073,991EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,353,748BOYAmt
EOY$38,073,991EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,876,089BOYAmt
EOY$43,308,124EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$20,576,537ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$143,706NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$225CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year$23,143,374CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$23,143,599TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$27,224,776CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$28,484,153CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$30,522,297CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$30,341,850CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$34,195,325CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$150,768,401TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$27,225,001CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$28,484,153CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$30,522,297CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$30,341,850CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$57,338,699CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$173,912,000TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$12,423,914CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,921,113CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$11,867,040CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,744,392CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$6,481,514CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$51,437,973TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$12,423,914CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$10,921,113CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$11,867,040CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,744,392CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$6,481,514CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$51,437,973TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$122,474,027PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$21,223CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$23,531CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$51,801CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$54,221CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$120,539CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$271,315TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$21,223CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$23,531CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$51,801CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$54,221CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$120,539CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$271,315TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$858CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$623CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,009CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,994CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$5,484TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$27,246,224CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$28,508,542CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$30,574,721CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$30,397,080CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$57,462,232CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$174,188,799TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.70310PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.60280PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00160InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00180InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part IV Form990ScheduleAPartIVGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceForm 990, Schedule A, Part III, Line 12FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCustomer Finance ChargesExplanationTxt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

Total Direct Lobbying TotalDirectLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$5,900FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Lobbying Expend TotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$5,900FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$34,547,203FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$34,553,103FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$1,000,000FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$250,000FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$1,000,000CurrentYearAmt
Total$4,000,000TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Lobbying Ceiling$6,000,000LobbyingCeilingAmt

Avg Total Lobbying Expend AvgTotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$0CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$0CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$1,995CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$5,900CurrentYearAmt
Total$7,895TotalAmt

Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$250,000CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$250,000CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$250,000CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$250,000CurrentYearAmt
Total$1,000,000TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grassroots Ceiling$1,500,000GrassrootsCeilingAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-A, Line 1fFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe nontaxable lobbying amount is determined from the table in Section II-A and is based on our "other exempt purpose expenditures" of $34,547,203 as reported on Line 1e and on Form 990, Part I, Line 18 for the Current Year.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,275,909OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,275,909BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,936,085OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,707,063DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,229,022BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,534,212OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,722,429DepreciationAmt
Book Value$811,783BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$10,316,714TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$55,267,445TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$143,706NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$143,706RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$55,123,739RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$1OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$55,123,740TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$34,547,202TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$34,547,202ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$34,547,203TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Rounding adjustment of $1
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Rounding adjustment of $1

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (6 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Europe01Program ServicesHealth Info/Tools$15,116
North America03Program ServicesHealth Info/Tools$22,681
East Asia & Pacific01Program ServicesHealth Info/Tools$2,175
North America025Program ServicesHealth Info/Tools$22,401
Europe00Program ServicesTravel Expenses$2,093
North America00Program ServicesTravel Expenses$14,836
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees30SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee30TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$79,302SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$79,302TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule F, Part I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHealthwise, as part of its exempt mission, licenses its consumer health information to various organizations and governments in Canada, Western Europe, India, and Australia. As part of our licensing, we have various arrangements (e.g. independent contractors) for medical review and consulting services related to our health content. These expenses are offset by licensing of Healthwise intellectual property, including health information content. From time to time, Healthwise will have employees from the United States travel to our clients in Canada and other countries. All amounts listed reflect expenditures only, as we do not have any investments in these regions.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgYes (1)CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Donald W Kemper
CEO and Former Chairman$337,031$0$22,794$0$229$0$117,850$0$16,128$0$494,032$0$0$0
James V Giuffre
President & Chief Operating Officer$253,422$0$15,809$0$396$0$75,514$0$17,255$0$362,396$0$0$0
Dr Martin Gabica
Chief Medical Officer$240,349$0$7,774$0$396$0$24,821$0$20,566$0$293,906$0$0$0
A James Balkins III
CSO, CFO & Treasurer$204,666$0$8,751$0$396$0$20,354$0$17,255$0$251,422$0$0$0
Neal Benz
Chief Technology Officer$199,329$0$9,481$0$396$0$14,295$0$16,255$0$239,756$0$0$0
Eileen Casal
General Counsel$227,587$0$7,256$0$774$0$22,824$0$7,476$0$265,917$0$0$0
Mitzi Jensen
Senior VP$168,685$0$8,040$0$258$0$11,997$0$8,508$0$197,488$0$0$0
Leslie Kelly Hall
Senior VP$176,322$0$8,349$0$774$0$12,809$0$16,509$0$214,763$0$0$0
Karen Baker
Senior VP$187,899$0$8,625$0$792$0$12,661$0$13,563$0$223,540$0$0$0
Jason Burum
Senior VP$168,020$0$30,404$0$162$0$9,828$0$17,496$0$225,910$0$0$0
Miriam Beecham
VP$113,945$0$3,630$0$420$0$6,375$0$27,710$0$152,080$0$0$0
Stephen Tad Arnt
VP$122,005$0$22,868$0$60$0$8,750$0$19,856$0$173,539$0$0$0
Kevin Harbauer
VP$147,573$0$4,698$0$300$0$10,808$0$21,932$0$185,311$0$0$0
Michael Lauber
Account Executive$62,165$0$165,264$0$420$0$15,315$0$20,290$0$263,454$0$0$0
Brigid Runyon
Account Executive$89,400$0$137,812$0$221$0$15,947$0$2,049$0$245,429$0$0$0
David Mink
Sales Manager$69,301$0$89,591$0$180$0$11,253$0$19,283$0$189,608$0$0$0
Dr Adam Husney
Medical Director$165,793$0$5,294$0$90$0$11,729$0$16,605$0$199,511$0$0$0
Dr Kathleen Romito
Medical Director$153,017$0$5,066$0$90$0$10,768$0$8,866$0$177,807$0$0$0
James Watkins
Business Development Director$122,924$0$22,437$0$138$0$8,760$0$8,424$0$162,683$0$0$0
Debbie Johnson
Account Executive$58,234$0$86,440$0$361$0$10,584$0$20,971$0$176,590$0$0$0
Mark Parsons
Partner Development Director$112,950$0$21,174$0$90$0$7,995$0$19,744$0$161,953$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Schedule J, Part I, Line 4aChristine Fisler was the Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer of the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. prior to its merger with Healthwise. Following the merger, Ms. Fisler served as the Healthwise Chief Integration Officer until June 13, 2014. Under the terms of a Separation Agreement dated May 23, 2014, and in exchange for a general release of claims and a confidential and proprietary developments acknowledgement, Ms. Fisler received a lump sum payment of $279,974, less applicable taxes, and was allowed to continue her medical and dental benefits until June 30, 2014.
Form 990, Schedule J, Part I, Line 4bOn May 5, 2011 the Organization entered into a retention agreement with the CEO to provide incentive compensation to further continue his employment with the Organization. Under the terms of the agreement, the Organization will pay the CEO a lump sum of $500,000 provided he remains continuously employed until April 15, 2016. An additional payment of $100,000 will be provided to the CEO based on his continued employment through April 15, 2017. Schedule J, Column C and Part VII, Section A, Form 990 include $100,000 of accrued compensation for the calendar year 2013. On July 22, 2011 the Organization entered into a retention agreement with its President and Chief Operating Officer (COO) to provide incentive compensation to him to continue his employment with the Organization. Under the terms of this agreement, the Organization will pay the COO a lump sum payment of $300,000 provided he remains employed by the Organization through July 15, 2017. Schedule J, Column C and Part VII, Section A, Form 990 include $50,000 of accrued compensation for the calendar year 2013. In connection with the merger of the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. (the Foundation), the Organization entered into retention agreements with four (4) key employees to provide incentive compensation to them to continue their employment with the Organization for a period of time following the merger. The key employees are: Dr. Michael Barry, Chief Science Officer and President for the Foundation division; Ben Moulton, Senior VP; Diana Stilwell, VP; and Richard Wexler, Chief Clinical Integration Officer. Under the terms of these agreements, the Organization will pay the employee a lump sum provided they remain with the company for the term as defined in the agreement. Dr. Barry's agreement also provides for the lump sum payment if his employment is terminated prior to the retention date due to death, disability, specified change of control events or by the employee for good reason or by the Organization for other than cause (as specified and defined in the agreement). The total lump sum due under the agreements is approximately $513,000.
Form 990, Schedule J, Part I, Line 5aIn order for Healthwise to meet its mission of maximizing delivery of consumer health information and tools, Healthwise works with a variety of organizations that are active in the field of health education ranging from other nonprofit organizations to for-profit web portals. In order to accomplish this exempt mission, a small number of our employees (less than 5%) are charged with the assignment of enhancing our distribution through building relationships with these organizations. These Healthwise employees' compensation is based partially on the results of their efforts tied to gross revenues received. It should be noted that none of the compensation is paid on net revenue. The setting of these employees' total compensation is reviewed carefully in comparison to market studies as benchmarks for reasonableness.
Form 990, Schedule J, Part I, Line 7In the course of fulfilling its exempt mission, Healthwise endeavors to measure its mission accomplishment through tracking of mission points. Mission points are not tied to gross or net revenue. Annually, the Board determines if any additional compensation above the employees' base remuneration is to be paid based on mission accomplishment as measured by mission points - the fulfillment of mission efforts through the development of new health information materials and other mission criteria. This compensation is discretionary by the Board and is therefore considered non-fixed. If the mission accomplishment is achieved, then the Board takes into account the financial capabilities of Healthwise to pay such additional compensation so as not to jeopardize its operating ability, as well as reviews total compensation to assure that all compensation falls within the reasonable remuneration factors as a tax-exempt organization. Once the Board establishes if there will be a payment and determines the percentage of base pay used to calculate such payment, then the formula used to determine the payment is applied to all employees, including officers. When paid, the amount of such mission based remuneration is a percentage of the employee's compensation. Certain officers of Healthwise are eligible for this additional compensation based on a multiplier of up to 2.2 times the Board approved percentage.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Molly Mettler
Officer/Family$92,679Employment0
See Note 2 below
See Note #2 below$23,143,374See Note #2 belowYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule L, Part IV, Line 1Molly Mettler is a family member of Donald Kemper, CEO. She is also an officer of the organization.
Schedule L, Part IV, Line 2On February 15, 2014, the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. (the Foundation) and Healthwise, Incorporated (Healthwise) entered into a Merger Agreement. On April 1, 2014, the Foundation formally merged with Healthwise. Upon consummation of the merger, six (6) of the Foundation's Board members became Board members of Healthwise. For more details on the merger transaction, see the additional information for Form 990, Part VIII, Line 1f in Schedule O.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part I, Line 1The greatest untapped resource in health care is the consumer. Healthwise is helping to tap it over 200 million times a year. We are systematically expanding the role of the patient in health care to do more for themselves and to share with their doctors in developing care plans and making medical decisions. Founded in 1975 with the simple mission "to help people make better health decisions," Healthwise has become the world's most widely used source of unbiased, evidence-based consumer health information. The premise for Healthwise's mission is even more applicable today than it was in 1975. Healthwise has stood true to its objectives and purposes stated in its formation documents, including: To plan, develop, evaluate and promote practical health education programs that can play an important role in helping the individual: 1. To understand his/her health and how to preserve it. 2. To understand the nature of various diseases. 3. To make intelligent use of available health services. 4. To improve his/her behavior regarding health-affecting practices and activities. To further advance the Healthwise mission, Healthwise merged with the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. (the Foundation), a nonprofit with the world's greatest depth of knowledge about shared decision making, on April 1, 2014. The Foundation, which now operates as a division of Healthwise, continues to focus on research and advocacy in the area of shared medical decision making and promotes patient engagement in health care through regulatory, policy and quality initiatives - supporting and spreading the mission of helping people make better health decisions. In FY 2014 people turned to Healthwise information and tools over 200 million times. Through the use of its books and other print materials, point-of-care patient education, online Healthwise knowledgebase, interactive multimedia virtual-coaching conversations, ongoing behavior change programs, shared decision making tools and products, and other materials, Healthwise helps people take a more active role in their health and health care. Healthwise information and tools help people self-manage chronic disease, provide self-care for minor and acute problems, and participate in shared decision-making with their health care providers for critical treatment options. Healthwise works with a broad network of organizations throughout the U.S., Canada and the world. Hospitals, health plans, consumer health portals, disease management companies, clinics, electronic medical records companies, and government agencies provide Healthwise information to their patients, members and the general public. Historically, Healthwise's funding has come from government contracts, foundation grants, donations, and largely, license fees charged to its distribution network of hospitals, clinics, health plans and health websites. All funds are reapplied to the pursuit of the Healthwise health education-focused mission. Nearly all people who access Healthwise information are provided the materials free of charge by the sponsoring organization. Healthwise is a not-for-profit organization based in Boise, ID with an office in Boston, MA. Healthwise has been nationally recognized not only for the quality of its content, but also for the quality of its workplace culture. Those interested in learning more about Healthwise are invited to visit its web site at www.healthwise.org and www.informedmedicaldecisions.org.
Form 990, Part III, Line 1The Healthwise mission is to help people make better health decisions. Healthwise provides high quality consumer health information, educational solutions and tools to individuals, and educational and support services needed by hospitals, clinics, disease management organizations, government agencies, health portals and book sellers to support better health decisions. Healthwise also advocates for policies and practices that encourage and support the active role of individuals in managing their health and promoting their own health. As a result of the merger with the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. on April 1, 2014, Healthwise sponsors research on shared medical decision making and advocates for the use of shared medical decision making and patient engagement in health care.
Form 990, Part III, Line 4aEverything Healthwise does is in support of our mission to help people make better health decisions. Our focus is on getting the right information and tools to the right person at the right time to help them do three things critical to the improvement of health care in America: 1. To help them provide as much care for themselves as they can do. This includes medical self care and wellness activities along with navigating the health care system. 2. To help them ask for the care they need. We give the patient plain-language guidelines for when medications, treatments and tests are recommended for specific medical conditions. 3. To help them say "no" to care that is not right for them. It is often up to the patient to determine when the risks of a treatment outweigh the benefits. As a result of the merger with the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. on April 1, 2014, the Organization's program services have been enhanced to include the development of shared medical decision making programs as well as research into and advocacy of shared medical decision making in a variety of health care settings. In the past year Healthwise information and tools were used over 200 million times by people hoping to take an informed role in their own health care and wellness. Our purpose is achieved every time an individual uses our information and tools to make better health and health care decisions.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2Donald Kemper, CEO, is married to Molly Mettler, Senior Vice President. Dr. Michael Barry, Chief Science Officer, is the Medical Director to the John D. Stoeckle Center for Primary Care Innovation (Stoeckle Center) at Massachusetts General Hospital and is also employed part time by Massachusetts General Hospital, a member of the Partners Healthcare System; Susan Edgman-Levitan, a Healthwise Director, is the Executive Director of the Stoeckle Center at Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Steven Schneider, a Healthwise Director until March 31, 2014, has business relationships with Dr. Martin Gabica, CMO, and Dr. Ted Epperly, a Healthwise Director.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 4On March 27, 2014, in connection with and subject to the closing of the merger of the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. with Healthwise, the Board of Directors and the Members approved and adopted Amended and Restated Bylaws which became effective on April 1, 2014. The Amended and Restated Bylaws contain the following significant changes: increases the number of Members and Directors to 13 for a 2-year period with reductions in size to 11 and 9 in 2016 and 2018, respectively; provides an initial 2-year term for all 13 Members and Directors and a three (3) class staggered Board thereafter; identifies actions reserved to the Board; changes the quorum requirements for meetings until 2018 to a majority plus one for Member meetings and to a majority plus one for Director meetings for specified actions reserved to the Board; changes the voting requirements at Member and Director meetings until 2019 to 2/3rds of those present and voting; permits Directors to receive reasonable compensation for attendance in person at any regular or special meeting of the Board; and defines the responsibilities of the Chief Executive Officer.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11Prior to filing the Form 990, each member of the Board of Directors is provided a copy of the Form 990 to review. The directors are encouraged to ask any questions regarding the filing and are given the opportunity to contact the CEO, CFO and/or General Counsel. If a regular board meeting is not scheduled prior to the filing, then at the discretion of the board, if they deem it advisable, a special meeting may be called to discuss the Form 990.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cAll board members, officers and key employees are required to comply with the Healthwise conflict of interest policy during their employment or service. Annually, they are required to review the policy and sign a disclosure form identifying any actual or possible conflicts of interest (as defined in the policy). The General Counsel reviews the completed disclosures and presents any actual or possible conflicts of interest that have been disclosed to the Board for review and a determination of whether a conflict exists. In addition, the General Counsel annually reviews with the Board potential, pending and actual transactions between Healthwise and organizations which have an affiliation with a Board member, officer or key employee (based on their disclosures) for a determination of whether a conflict exists and to seek approval or ratification of the transaction and its related agreements, as necessary or required.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The following procedures are in place for setting and reviewing CEO, officers and key employees' compensation: 1. Compensation is reviewed and approved by the Board-established Audit, Finance and Compensation Committee (AFC Committee) consisting of disinterested persons. Persons with conflicts of interest are not involved in this review or approval for any position that may involve such conflict. 2. Compensation is reviewed and approved using comparable compensation data for similarly qualified persons in functionally comparable positions at similarly situated organizations. The source data used is based on multiple compensation surveys. 3. There is contemporaneous documentation and record keeping with respect to the deliberations and decisions regarding the compensation arrangements. The documentation includes terms of compensation, members of the committee/board present for the decision and discussion, comparable data used and the basis for the decision made. 4. The Board of Directors has access to all AFC Committee decisions regarding the results of this process and, in addition, the Board directly handles the setting of the compensation for the CEO, Donald Kemper, and his spouse, Molly Mettler, who currently holds the position of Senior Vice President. 5. Additionally, the AFC Committee, under the direction of the Board of Directors, periodically engages independent compensation consultants to review and analyze total compensation for specific officer positions, and the terms and compensation relating to retention and incentive compensation agreements and severance plans, against survey and/or peer group data and/or industry and comparable benchmark data. In connection with these engagements, the AFC Committee generally seeks an opinion from the independent compensation consultant on the reasonableness of the compensation package and/or terms relating to the retention and/or incentive agreement or severance plan. In 2014, in connection with the merger of the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. (Foundation), the AFC Committee engaged an independent compensation consultant to review and analyze the total compensation for key Foundation officers, the terms and compensation relating to executive incentive retention agreements with the key Foundation officers, and a Foundation severance plan which was transferred to Healthwise upon consummation of the merger (collectively Merger Compensation Matters). The review, deliberation, approval and documentation process specified in items 1-4 above, along with the analysis and opinion of the independent compensation consultant, was used by the AFC Committee and/or Board with regard to the Merger Compensation Matters. 6. Also, in 2014, the AFC Committee engaged an independent compensation consultant to review and analyze director compensation amounts to be paid to directors for attendance in person at any regular or special meeting against comparable survey and industry data. The Board reviewed and approved the director compensation after taking into account the independent compensation consultant's analysis using comparability data. The Board's deliberations and decisions were contemporaneously documented and placed within the company records. The documentation includes terms of compensation, members of the Board present for the decision and discussion, comparable data used, and the basis for the decision made.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19A copy of any of these documents, such as but not limited to, the Form 990, Articles of Incorporation, Bylaws, conflict of interest policy and financial statements are available upon request from the CEO, General Counsel or the CFO's office.
Form 990, Part VIII, Line 1fOn April 1, 2014, Healthwise merged with the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Inc. (the Foundation) in a transaction treated as an acquisition for accounting purposes. As a result of the acquisition, the Foundation ceased to exist as a legal entity. The Foundation was a not-for-profit private foundation whose mission to "inform and amplify the patient's voice in health care decisions" was closely aligned with the Healthwise mission to "help people make better health decisions". The Foundation's programs and services included the development of shared medical decision making programs and products, research into shared decision making, and advocacy of shared medical decision making in a variety of settings. The acquisition allows both organizations to work together to continue research into and promotion of shared decision making and to create new shared decision making products to help consumers make medical decisions with their health professional. As a result of the merger, the Foundation's research and advocacy functions now operate as a division of Healthwise. Healthwise did not transfer any consideration as part of the acquisition and recognized an inherent contribution received of $23,143,374. The following table summarizes the April 1, 2014 acquisition-date fair values of the assets acquired and the liabilities assumed. Cash and cash equivalents 4,346,598 Accounts receivable 154,293 Prepaid expenses 149,063 Investments 18,886,127 Furniture and equipment 16,678 Grants commitments payable (162,739) Accounts payable (81,300) Other accrued expenses (165,346) Net assets contributed (Unrestricted) 23,143,374
Form 990, Part IX, line 24eEquipment Rental: Program service expenses 0. Management and general expenses 6,401. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 6,401. Donations: Program service expenses 0. Management and general expenses 3,689. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 3,689. Staff Procurement: Program service expenses 0. Management and general expenses 3,418. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 3,418. Foreign Exchange Gains/Losses: Program service expenses 0. Management and general expenses -3,882. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses -3,882.