STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

EAST-CENTRAL IOWA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
EAST-CENTRAL IOWA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE (EIN 42-1445092)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-05-07
IRS object ID
201521279349301802
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-05-07T14:58:18-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 3RD AVE SE STE 300AddressLine1Txt
CityCEDAR RAPIDSCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52401ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN421445092EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST-CENTRAL IOWA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlEASTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3194434355PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 248AddressLine1Txt
CityURBANACityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52345ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSTEVEN MARLOWPersonNm
Person TitleMANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone3194434355PhoneNum
Signature2015-05-05SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM E MURRAY CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00163335PTIN
Phone3193632697PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSTEVEN MARLOWPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 248AddressLine1Txt
CityURBANACityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52345ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$23,913,133GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.ECIREC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1995FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionEAST-CENTRAL IOWA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE PROVIDES ELECTRIC ENERGY SERVICE TO APPROXIMATELY 6,943 MEMBERS TO PARTS OF 10 COUNTIES IN EAST-CENTRAL IOWA. ITS PRIMARY MISSION IS TO PROVIDE THE BEST POSSIBLE SERVICE TO ITS MEMBERS FOR THE LOWEST POSSIBLE COST.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee37TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$22,541,807PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$22,160,901CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$46,553PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$66,212CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$797,034PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,247,341CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$23,385,394PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$23,474,454CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$828,670PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$566,606CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$668,577PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$731,440CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$20,700,519PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$20,441,217CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$22,197,766PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$21,739,263CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,187,628PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,735,191CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$57,512,143TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$59,273,327TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$31,378,011TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$31,402,883TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$26,134,132NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$27,870,444NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE COOPERATIVE'S PRIMARY MISSION IS TO PROVIDE THE BEST POSSIBLE ELECTRICAL SERVICE TO ITS MEMBERS AT THE LOWEST POSSIBLE COST.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVISION OF ELECTRICITY AND ELECTRIC SERVICES TO THE COOPERATIVE'S 6,943 MEMBERS. THIS REPRESENTS 99% OF THE TOTAL REVENUE FOR THE COOPERATIVE FOR 2014.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document24IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee37EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$22,663,521MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$1,331,379OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSTEVEN MARLOWPersonNm
Phone3194434355PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12400 BING MILLER LNAddressLine1Txt
CityURBANACityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52345ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ALLEN ALBERS
DIRECTOR2.20Yes (X)$3,730$0$0
LLOYD BATHEN
DIRECTOR4.70Yes (X)$6,920$0$0
JEFF ELLIOTT
DIRECTOR5.10Yes (X)$7,175$0$0
WILLIAM FRAZIER
DIRECTOR2.80Yes (X)$5,320$0$0
CHRIS SACKETT
DIRECTOR2.90Yes (X)$5,055$0$0
DONALD SHONKA
DIRECTOR4.10Yes (X)$6,655$0$0
STEVE RAU
PRESIDENT4.30Yes (X)$6,655$0$0Yes (X)
JIM ALBERTS
SECRETARY/TREASURER4.90Yes (X)$7,185$0$0Yes (X)
BURT BYERS
VICE PRESIDENT3.60Yes (X)$5,320$0$0Yes (X)
RYAN KRESS
ASSISTANT SECRETARY/TREASU3.50Yes (X)$5,585$0$0Yes (X)
STEVEN MARLOW
MANAGER41.00$144,936$0$26,720Yes (X)
GARY MARLOW
OPERATIONS MANAGER41.00$106,683$0$19,644Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$311,219TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$46,364TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K2IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
HIGHLINE CONSTRUCTION INC
16124 OLD LAKE RDPAYNESVILLEMN56362DIST LINE REBUILD$5,202,403
MJ ELECTRIC
N2023 GREENVILLE DRGREENVILLEWI54942SUBSTATION CONSTRUCTION$182,050
WEST UNION TRENCHING
10715 HARDING RDWEST UNIONIA52175BORING/TRENCHING$180,240
MAURER TREE SERVICE
1203 BAXTER AVEFAIRBANKIA50629TREE TRIMMING$107,183
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescELECTRICITY SALESDesc
Business221000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$22,160,901TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$22,160,901RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$22,160,901TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$71,112TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$71,112ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$192,160OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$197,060OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$4,900OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$4,900TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$4,900ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$229,814GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$241,619CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$11,805TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$11,805RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCAPITAL CREDITSDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,259,146TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,259,146RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,259,146OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$23,474,454TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$23,408,242RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$66,212ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$566,606TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$230,184TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$449,860TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,396TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$551,480TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,161,261TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,676,596TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$13,707,545
DISTRIBUTION OPERATIONS$1,764,339
CONSUMER ACCOUNTS$860,538
DISTRIBUTION MAINTENANC$596,628

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,830TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,739,263TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,073,949BOYAmt
EOY$4,026,614EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,383BOYAmt
EOY$33,404EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,366,512BOYAmt
EOY$2,390,980EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,482,574BOYAmt
EOY$1,404,664EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$153,616BOYAmt
EOY$144,624EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$60,460,837LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$15,279,021LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,842,627BOYAmt
EOY$45,181,816EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,478,308BOYAmt
EOY$6,037,197EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$86,174BOYAmt
EOY$54,028EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,512,143BOYAmt
EOY$59,273,327EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,874,181BOYAmt
EOY$2,438,036EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,662,358BOYAmt
EOY$28,334,227EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$841,472BOYAmt
EOY$630,620EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,378,011BOYAmt
EOY$31,402,883EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,134,132BOYAmt
EOY$27,870,444EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,134,132BOYAmt
EOY$27,870,444EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,512,143BOYAmt
EOY$59,273,327EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,735,191ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,121OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$55,488,431OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,279,021DepreciationAmt
Book Value$40,209,410BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,972,406OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,972,406BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$45,181,816TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
HELD TO MATURITY SECURITIES$848,697C
OTHER INVESTMENTS$97,769C
ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$5,090,731C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$6,037,197TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED CREDITS$507,722
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$122,898
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$630,620TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$23,475,575TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$1,121OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,121RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$23,474,454RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$23,474,454TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$21,172,657TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$21,172,657ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$566,606OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$566,606ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$21,739,263TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED THAT IT HAD NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2014 AND 2013.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INCOME FROM EQUITY INVESTMENTS 1,121.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID 566,606.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSTEVEN MARLOWPersonNm
TitleMANAGERTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$144,936BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$0BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$0OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$25,484DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$1,236NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$171,656TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$0CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGARY MARLOWPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFAMILY MEMBER OF ORGANIZATION'S TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIAL, STEVEN MARLOWRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$125,115TransactionAmt
TransactionEMPLOYEE COMPENSATIONTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ARTICLE V. MEMBERS SECTION 1. ANY INDIVIDUAL FOR HIMSELF, OR HERSELF, AND ANY PERSON AS THE ACCREDITED AGENT AND REPRESENTATIVE ACTING ON BEHALF OF ANY FIRM, ASSOCIATION, CORPORATION, PARTNERSHIP, OR OTHER ORGANIZATION, MAY BECOME A MEMBER IN THIS COOPERATIVE BY (A) APPLYING FOR A MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATE IN THE COOPERATIVE, (B) AGREEING TO TAKE, RECEIVE, AND PAY FOR ELECTRIC UTILITY SERVICE FURNISHED BY THE COOPERATIVE AS HEREINAFTER IN SECTION 3 OF THIS ARTICLE SPECIFIED, AND (C) AGREEING TO COMPLY WITH AND TO BE BOUND BY THESE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION, THE BYLAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE, AND SUCH RULES AND REGULATIONS AS MAY FROM TIME TO TIME BE ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE COOPERATIVE; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, THAT NO INDIVIDUAL, EXCEPT AN INDIVIDUAL ACCEPTED FOR MEMBERSHIP BY THE MEMBERS AT ANY MEETINGS HEREOF OR BECOMING A MEMBER BY VIRTUE OF THE CONSOLIDATION WHICH CREATED EAST-CENTRAL IOWA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, SHALL BECOME A MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE UNLESS AND UNTIL ACCEPTED FOR MEMBERSHIP BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF NOT LESS THAN A MAJORITY OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. APPLICATIONS FOR MEMBERSHIP MAY BE REJECTED FOR JUST CAUSE. SECTION 2. THE COOPERATIVE SHALL HAVE NO CAPITAL STOCK, BUT MEMBERSHIP IN THE COOPERATIVE SHALL BE EVIDENCED BY A MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATE. MEMBERSHIP IN THE COOPERATIVE SHALL NOT BE TRANSFERABLE. SECTION 3. EACH MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE SHALL, AS SOON AS ELECTRIC ENERGY SHALL BE AVAILABLE, PURCHASE FROM THE COOPERATIVE MONTHLY NOT LESS THAN THE MINIMUM AMOUNT OF ELECTRIC ENERGY WHICH SHALL, FROM TIME TO TIME, BE DETERMINED BY RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE COOPERATIVE AND SHALL PAY THEREFORE AND FOR ALL ADDITIONAL ELECTRIC ENERGY USED BY SUCH MEMBER, THE PRICE WHICH SHALL, FROM TIME TO TIME, BE FIXED THEREFORE BY RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. EACH MEMBER SHALL ALSO PAY ALL OBLIGATIONS WHICH MAY, FROM TIME TO TIME, BECOME DUE AND PAYABLE BY SUCH MEMBER TO THE COOPERATIVE AS AND WHEN THE SAME SHALL BECOME DUE AND PAYABLE. EACH MEMBER SHALL COMPLY WITH SUCH RULES AND REGULATIONS AS MAY, FROM TIME TO TIME, BE ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. SECTION 4. THE PRIVATE PROPERTY OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE SHALL BE EXEMPT FROM EXECUTION FOR THE DEBTS OF THE COOPERATIVE AND NO MEMBER SHALL BE INDIVIDUALLY RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DEBTS OR LIABILITIES OF THE COOPERATIVE. SECTION 5. NO MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE MAY OWN MORE THAN ONE MEMBERSHIP AND EACH MEMBER HOLDING A MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATE SHALL BE ENTITLED TO ONE VOTE AND NO MORE AT ALL MEETINGS OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE. IF A HUSBAND AND WIFE HOLD A JOINT MEMBERSHIP TOGETHER, THEY SHALL BE JOINTLY ENTITLED TO ONE VOTE AND NO MORE UPON EACH MATTER SUBMITTED TO A VOTE AT A MEETING OF THE MEMBERS. THE VOTE OF EACH MEMBER OF THE COOPERATIVE SHALL BE CAST IN PERSON AND NOT BY PROXY, PROVIDED, THAT AN ABSENT MEMBER MAY CAST HIS WRITTEN VOTE UPON ANY PROPOSITION OF WHICH HE HAS BEEN PREVIOUSLY NOTIFIED IN WRITING, AND OF WHICH A COPY ACCOMPANIES HIS VOTE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ASEE EXPLANATION FOR PART VI LINE 6
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BSEE EXPLANATION FOR PART VI LINE 6
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11PRIOR TO THE 990 BEING FILED THE ORGANIZATION'S INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT WILL PRESENT THE COMPLETED 990 TO THE GOVERNING BODY. THIS EVENT IS INCLUDED AS AN AGENDA ITEM AND WILL BE NOTED IN THE MINUTES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CANNUALLY THE BOARD AND EMPLOYEES WILL COMPLETE A FORM IDENTIFYING ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS AND THE POLICY REQUIRES ANY SUCH PERSON TO NOTIFY THE ORGANIZATION OF A POTENTIAL CONFLICT IMMEDIATELY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15EACH YEAR THE SALARY RANGES IN THE WAGE AND SALARY PLAN WILL BE ADJUSTED TO REFLECT THE WAGES AND SALARIES OF OTHER ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES IN THE IOWA-WISCONSIN-ILLINOIS REGION AS FOUND IN THE LATEST AVAILABLE NATIONAL COMPENSATION SURVEY OF RURAL ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION SYSTEMS CONDUCTED BY THE NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION. FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15B: FOR EACH POSITION, THE WEIGHTED AVERAGE LOWEST, MEDIAN, AND THIRD QUARTILE WAGE OR SALARY WILL BE CALCULATED FROM THOSE OF OTHER ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES OF THE SAME SIZE AS EAST-CENTRAL IOWA REC AS DEFINED BY TOTAL UTILITY PLANT, REVENUE, AND NUMBER OF CONSUMERS. FOR POSITIONS IN THE COOPERATIVE THAT HAVE NO COMPARABLE POSITION IN THE NRECA NATIONAL COMPENSATION SURVEY, OTHER COMPARATIVE WAGES AND SALARIES FROM THE LOCAL LABOR AREA WILL BE USED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:GAIN FROM SUBSIDIARY 1,121.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:NO CHANGE FROM PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BECCA GROUP INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12400 BING MILLER LANEAddressLine1Txt
CityURBANACityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52345ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN421350925EIN
Primary ActivitiesECONOMIC DEVELOPMENTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST-CENTRAL IOWA RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income-$404ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$184,017ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BECCA GROUP INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeSTransactionTypeTxt
Involved-$404InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationCOSTMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt