STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

MIDWEST ENERGY COOPERATIVE: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MIDWEST ENERGY COOPERATIVE (EIN 38-3386126)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-07-29
IRS object ID
201532109349300448
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-07-29T11:56:51-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN383559481PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HARRIS GROUP CPA'SBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1731 S GARFIELD AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityTRAVERSE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49686ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN383386126EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MIDWEST ENERGY COOPERATIVEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMIDWBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2694451000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 127 901 E STATE STAddressLine1Txt
CityCASSOPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49031ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOHN MINERPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2694451000PhoneNum
Signature2015-07-24SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonRONALD G HARRIS CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00223494PTIN
Phone2319468930PhoneNum
Preparation2015-07-21PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerROBERT HANCEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1901 E STATE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityCASSOPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49031ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$79,498,850GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.TEAMMIDWEST.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1998FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDE ELECTRIC POWER TO MEMBERSActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee113TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$73,212,659PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$76,562,378CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,792,801PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,039,810CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$816,807PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$861,922CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$76,822,267PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$79,464,110CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$138,667PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$163,176CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,565,150PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,504,303CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$71,354,621PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$75,349,703CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$73,058,438PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$77,017,182CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,763,829PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,446,928CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$142,427,164TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$143,307,663TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$98,597,455TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$101,304,887TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$43,829,709NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$42,002,776NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionPROVIDE ELECTRIC POWER TO MEMBERSMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDE ELECTRIC POWER TO 25,782 MEMBERSDesc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document36IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee113EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$77,385,111MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$526,674OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOHN MINERPersonNm
Phone2694451064PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 127AddressLine1Txt
Address Line2901 E STATE STREETAddressLine2Txt
CityCASSOPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49031ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
KENNETH SWOPE
VICE CHAIRMA6.75Yes (X)Yes (X)$23,200$0$4
CLARENCE BARTH
CHAIRMAN2.83Yes (X)Yes (X)$15,950$0$13
RONALD ARMSTRONG
DIRECTOR2.41Yes (X)$13,700$0$13
COLYNE SORSBY
SECRETARY4.07Yes (X)Yes (X)$12,700$0$6
HARRY GENTZ
DIRECTOR2.66Yes (X)$9,700$0$13
JAMES DICKERSON
DIRECTOR3.23Yes (X)$9,700$0$13
JOHN GREEN
TREASURER2.63Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,700$0$13
BEN RUSSELL
DIRECTOR1.46Yes (X)$5,700$0$10
FRED TURK
DIRECTOR1.74Yes (X)$4,200$0$9
JERRY CAMPBELL
DIRECTORYes (X)$1,500$0$2
ROBERT HANCE
CEO57.00Yes (X)$275,552$0$85,226
JOHN MINER
CFO50.00Yes (X)$143,408$0$56,273
TERRY RUBENTHALER
VP ENGINEERI50.00$131,669$0$53,839Yes (X)
GREGORY HODGSON
LINEWORKER52.00$123,135$0$45,337Yes (X)
KURT SCHANTZ
LINEWORKER52.00$120,368$0$42,327Yes (X)
MIKE MILLER
LINEMAN IN C52.00$116,595$0$45,716Yes (X)
JIM HAAS
LINEWORKER52.00$115,212$0$45,000Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,129,989TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$373,814TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
GREEN LEAF TREE SERVICE
5280 ENGLE RDMIDDLEVILLEMI49333TREE CLEARING$2,188,296
WESTERN TEL COM
PO BOX 1317HOLLANDMI49422CONTRACTOR$1,029,161A-4273 BLUE STAR HIGHWAY
PULSE BROADBAND LLC
18044 SHEPHERD VALLEY ROADWILDWOODMO63038CONTRACTOR$625,752
HYDAKER-WHEATLAKE CO
1435 RELIABLE PARKWAYCHICAGOIL60686CONTRACTOR$497,368
DYKEMA GOSSETT
400 RENAISSANCE CENTERDETROITMI48243LEGAL SERVICES$400,876
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
ELECTRIC REV FROM MEMBERS$76,338,165$76,338,165
POLE CONTACT FEES$224,213$224,213
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$76,562,378TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,039,810TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,597,463RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$442,347ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$71,238GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$34,740CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$36,498TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$36,498ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
BOOK INCOME OF SUBSIDIARY$812,336$812,336
GAIN ON DISPOSAL OF ASSETS$13,088$13,088
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$825,424OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$79,464,110TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$78,747,964RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$716,146ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$163,176TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$523,010TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$606,979TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$374,314TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,769,949TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,866,116TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$50,852,087
DISTRIBUTIONS - MAINTENAN$5,563,766
CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS$2,726,357
TAXES - PROPERTY$1,909,367

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,662,061TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$77,017,182TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,734,959BOYAmt
EOY$1,836,489EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,988,240BOYAmt
EOY$3,526,968EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$198,847BOYAmt
EOY$188,892EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,188,458BOYAmt
EOY$1,045,791EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,458,097BOYAmt
EOY$539,539EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$165,720,140LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$54,657,566LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$107,822,769BOYAmt
EOY$111,062,574EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,848,016BOYAmt
EOY$24,681,120EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,187,778BOYAmt
EOY$426,290EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$142,427,164BOYAmt
EOY$143,307,663EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,290,266BOYAmt
EOY$16,168,541EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$303,225BOYAmt
EOY$54,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$84,621,776BOYAmt
EOY$80,082,346EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$382,188BOYAmt
EOY$5,000,000EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$98,597,455BOYAmt
EOY$101,304,887EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,829,709BOYAmt
EOY$42,002,776EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,829,709BOYAmt
EOY$42,002,776EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$142,427,164BOYAmt
EOY$143,307,663EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,446,928ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$4,273,861OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$165,720,140OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$54,657,566DepreciationAmt
Book Value$111,062,574BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$111,062,574TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (12 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - WVPA$9,854,658C
MIDWEST ENERGY, INC.$5,805,540C
WOLVERINE POWER SUPPLY COOPERATIVE$5,045,822C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES$1,264,242C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - BUCKEYE POWER$866,150C
RESCO$590,149C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$378,665C
OTHER$309,107C
FEDERATED RURAL ELECTRIC INS$251,235C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$216,663C
BUCKEYE POWER - MEMBERSHIP$98,889C
MEMBER CAPITAL SECURITIES - CFCC
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$24,681,120TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
LINE OF CREDIT$5,000,000
PSCR PAYABLE
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$5,000,000TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$79,414,524TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue-$49,586OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$49,586RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$79,464,110RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$79,464,110TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$76,804,420TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$49,586OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$49,586ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$76,854,006ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$163,176OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$163,176ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$77,017,182TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DREVENUE NETTED AGAINST EXPENSE ON THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS -49,586
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DREVENUE NETTED AGAINST EXPENSE ON THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS -49,586
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BPATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIREMENTS NOT DEDUCTED ON FINANCIALS 163,176

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
ROBERT HANCE
CEO$275,552$77,303$7,923$360,778
JOHN MINER
CFO$143,408$51,443$4,830$199,681
TERRY RUBENTHALER
VP ENGINEERING$131,669$48,769$5,070$185,508
GREGORY HODGSON
LINEWORKER$123,135$42,828$2,509$168,472
KURT SCHANTZ
LINEWORKER$120,368$38,318$4,009$162,695
MIKE MILLER
LINEMAN IN CHARGE$116,595$43,155$2,561$162,311
JIM HAAS
LINEWORKER$115,212$42,491$2,509$160,212

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 4FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationROBERT HANCE 0 3,334 0ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (9 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
JOSHUA HANCE
SON OF CEO$58,542EMPLOYEE OF COOPfalse
ROBERT HANCE
CEO$1,714,336BOARD MEMBERfalse
(no name)
OF SUPPLIERfalse
CLARENCE BARTH
CHAIRMAN$48,719,495BOARD MEMBER OFfalse
(no name)
POWER SUPPLIERfalse
RONALD ARMSTRONG
BOARD MEMBER$48,719,495BOARD MEMBER OFfalse
(no name)
POWER SUPPLIERfalse
KENNETH SWOPE
VICE CHAIRMAN$1,412,716BOARD MEMBER OFfalse
(no name)
POWER SUPPLIERfalse

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART VFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationLINE 2: ROBERT HANCE IS THE CEO OF MIDWEST ENERGY COOPERATIVE, AND A BOARD MEMBER OF RESCO, A SUPPLY COOPERATIVE. THE TRANSACTION INDICATED ON LINE 2 REPRESENTS PURCHASES MADE BY MIDWEST ENERGY COOPERATIVE FROM RESCO IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF BUSINESS. LINES 4,6, AND 8: CLARENCE BARTH, RONALD ARMSTRONG, AND KENNETH SWOPE ARE BOARD MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE AND ALSO SERVE AS BOARD MEMBERS OF RELATED POWER SUPPLY COOPERATIVES. THE AMOUNTS LISTED REPRESENT PURCHASES MADE BY MIDWEST ENERGY COOPERATIVE FROM THE RESPECTIVE POWER SUPPLY ORGANIZATIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6COOPERATIVE HAS MEMBERS AS ITS OWNERS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7AMEMBERS ELECT THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS BY REGION.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BREVIEWED BY CFO, THEN PRESENTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CPOLICY ENFORCED BY REVIEW OF COOP RECORDS AND REPORTING DISCLOSURES.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15AAMOUNT OF CEO COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY BOARD POLICY NUMBER B-04. THE AMOUNT OF COMPENSATION IS CALCULATED USING COMPARABLE MARKET DATA, BOTH INDUSTRY AND NON-INDUSTRY SPECIFIC.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE ON THE COOPERATIVE WEBSITE, AS WELL AS ON THE WEBSITES OF OTHER ORGANIZATIONS.
FORM 990, PART XILINE 9 INCLUDES AN ADJUSTMENT TO OTHER COMPREHENSIVE INCOME FOR 4,273,861 FOR AN ADJSTMENT TO EQUITY FOR AN ACCRUED PENSION LIABILITY FOLLOWING AN ACTUARIAL VALUATION OF THE POST-RETIREMENT BENEFITS OBLIGATION

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MIDWEST ENERGY INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1901 E STATE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityCASSOPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP49031ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN383401193EIN
Primary ActivitiesPROPANEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Entity TypeC CORPEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$812,336ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$9,144,667ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmt
MIDWEST ENERGY INC
M$28,000
MIDWEST ENERGY INC
N$348,949